Usually in to hear a siren
You want a loud puck under the sink, washer and cylinder, and a stopcock that turns. Four local sirens at one basket price, with replaceable 9 V cells, and no phone alert.
The best water leak alarms, compared.
Top pick: ABUS Smartvest Pro water detector Best value: Geevon 100 dB water leak alarm, 4-pack – Four sirens at about £39.99, 4.5 from 3,063 reviews, with 9 V cells included, when someone is in to hear them. Updated 20.10.2026.
A water leak alarm warns when water reaches a probe on a floor, in a tray, or on a short cable. An alarm on the floor leaves the claim with the insurer. Siren, Wi-Fi, and a panel are separated in the [water leak alarm buying guide](/hub/burglar-protection/water-leak-alarm/sub/water-leak-alarm-buying-guide). It beeps, it sends a message, or it does both. A shut-off valve is a separate product and sits outside this comparison. Howden’s guide draws that line and says you should check with the insurer before you treat a detector as a condition of cover.
A water leak alarm warns when water reaches a probe on a floor, in a tray, or on a short cable. An alarm on the floor leaves the claim with the insurer.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 11Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
Will someone be in to hear a siren?
The ABUS FUWM45000 is a wireless water detector at £7.39 that alarms through a Smartvest Pro panel, and the bullets say it is not compatible with the first-generation Smartvest. Amazon shows 5.0 from one review, and that review is in German on the UK listing, so there is no second buyer in the file. That buyer put the included battery in, placed the unit beside a washing machine, and got a panel alarm plus a push notification. The listing does not print a siren decibel, an IP rating or a battery life, and there is no sensing cable. Without the panel the detector has nothing of its own to shout through, which is a compatibility line rather than a described defect. A 5.0 from one review would overstate the evidence, so this row stays an accessory for a system you already own. You buy it only when Smartvest Pro is already on the wall.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Smartvest Pro is already installed and you want one water zone beside a machine or under a sink.
Less suitable: You are buying a first water alarm, or your panel is the original Smartvest.
Specifications
Common questions
Will this ABUS detector work without an alarm panel?
The listing says it reports water to the Smartvest Pro system and starts scenes on that system. It is not compatible with Smartvest first generation.
How do you install it?
The assembly line says place it on the surface to be monitored. The bullets say the battery is included and replaceable.
How many UK reviews are captured?
The listing shows 5.0 from 1 review. That review describes a panel alarm and a push after a test. It states no fault.
The VETOUCH L6201 is a standalone siren at £39.99 with a listed 100 dB tone, an LED, and volume steps the bullets set by a double-press. Across 122 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.6, the highest star rating in this set among listings with more than a handful of reviews. Buyers report a trip on a small splash, batteries already fitted, and a body small enough for under a sink, including one account of a save in an RV. The title and the item count say five detectors, while included components say one detector and a manual, so you do not know the pack size until it arrives. The bullets say two AAA and up to five years; the table says one A cell. Reviews also describe trips in a bathroom cupboard when the buyer can see no water, and a battery change that means four plugs and screws rather than a slide-off cover. Until the parcel matches the title, this is a loud single-room siren with a listing that disagrees with itself.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want one loud local siren and you will check how many units are actually in the box.
Less suitable: You are paying £39.99 on the assumption that five detectors will arrive, or you need a phone alert.
Specifications
Common questions
Does this VETOUCH alarm need Wi-Fi?
The bullets say it is standalone: no hub, no Wi-Fi and no app. It sirens and flashes on the unit.
How many detectors are in the box?
The title, pack count and item count say five. The included-components line says one detector and a manual. Both lines are on the listing.
Can you change the volume?
The bullets say a double-press cycles high, medium, low and mute, and that silence re-arms after 5 seconds.
The Geevon 21601-4 is four floor sirens at £39.99, each taking a 9 V cell the bullets include, with a 100 dB claim and no app. It carries 4.5 from 3,063 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest file in this set. Buyers put a battery in, slide a unit under a kickboard or beside a machine, and report a puddle test that trips. One return says the prongs sit too high for a thin film, so a slow weep can miss the contacts even when the room is the right one. Another buyer hears something closer to an alarm clock than a smoke alarm and would not trust it in a basement, garage or attic. At about £10 a sensor it is the best value here when someone is usually in to hear four points. It will not text you, and the 100 dB figure is the listing claim, not a measurement we made.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You are usually at home and want four audible points for one basket price.
Less suitable: The house is often empty, or the leak you fear is a thin film rather than a puddle.
Specifications
Common questions
What battery does the Geevon 4-pack use?
A 9 V 6F22 alkaline cell per detector, included. The bullets say you fit the battery, then place the unit. No wiring.
Does it connect to an app?
The bullets describe a local 100 dB siren only. The compatible-devices line says Home Security System but names no protocol.
Will the prongs catch a thin leak?
The listing does not state a millimetre threshold. One reviewer returned a unit because the ground clearance missed a shallow leak and only suited a pool of water.
The SEBSON GS153 single is a 60 x 60 x 24.2 mm floor siren at £17.99 with a sealed lithium cell sold as a 10-year battery, an 85 dB beep, and no Wi-Fi. The listing shows 4.5 from 1,907 reviews, and that same review text appears on the two-pack and the three-pack, so treat it as one sample. A damp cloth on the terminals keeps the beep going, and buyers report early warnings by external doors and under a boiler cupboard. Reviewers say the feet hold the electrodes about 1 mm off the floor, so a thin film can miss them. Battery reports land at about 21 months, three years, three and a half years, and one unit dead at seven years, and you cannot change the cell. A minority hear only a short beep, and one buyer lost the tone through floorboards and carpet. You place this where you will hear 85 dB and where water can pool to the contacts. When the low-battery beep starts, the whole puck is the spare part.
Pros
Cons
Best for: One audible point in a room you are in, such as under a boiler cupboard.
Less suitable: You are often out, or you want a battery you can swap.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the SEBSON GS153 need Wi-Fi?
No. The bullets describe a floor sensor that sounds 85 dB when the contacts get wet, with a beep when the cell is low.
Can you replace the battery?
The spec table says the 10-year lithium battery is not replaceable. Reviewers report units that died well before 10 years and could not be re-celled.
How big is it?
60 x 60 x 24.2 mm, and the listing weight is 60 g.
The SEBSON two-pack is two GS153 sirens at £29.99, the same 60 mm body, 85 dB beep and sealed 10-year claim as the single. Amazon still shows 4.5 from 1,907 reviews, and that text matches the one-pack and the three-pack rather than a second sample. The table says one CR123A included while the box is two detectors, which clashes with a sealed cell in each unit. You get two audible points, so a sink and a washing machine can each have a puck, and you still only hear them if you are in earshot. The electrodes-about-1 mm comment and the early battery deaths travel with the shared reviews, so the second unit does not fix either limit. It is the pack when two local beeps are the job and a dead cell means a new detector, not a new battery.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a local beep at the sink and another at the washing machine, and you accept sealed cells.
Less suitable: You need a phone alert, or you wanted two independently reviewed products.
Specifications
Common questions
Is the pack of two a different alarm from the single?
The model is 2_X_WD_GS153. Size, 85 dB and the 10-year sealed-cell claim match the single GS153. You get two units.
Are the 1,907 reviews unique to this pack?
The review text matches the one-pack and the three-pack. Treat 1,907 as a shared listing figure, not three separate samples.
Does it alert a phone?
No remote alert is specified. It is a local siren.
The SEBSON three-pack is three GS153 sirens at £41.99, listed at 85 dB with the same sealed lithium claim. The star line is again 4.5 from 1,907 reviews, shared with the smaller packs, so the extra units do not bring extra evidence. Item count and the size field say three detectors, while the number-of-packs field says 1, so confirm three bodies when the parcel arrives. The table also says one CR123A included, which cannot describe three sealed units without a clash. At this price you are close to a four-pack of sirens that use replaceable 9 V cells and a larger review file, though those prongs sit higher. Three local sirens suit a house where someone is in to hear them, and they still do not ping a phone or shut the water off.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want three local beeps and you have already accepted the sealed GS153 cell.
Less suitable: You want replaceable batteries, a phone alert, or a review file that is not shared with the smaller packs.
Specifications
Common questions
How many units are in this SEBSON listing?
Item count and the highlight say three. The number-of-packs field says 1. The size field says pack of 3.
Is the battery replaceable?
The bullets and the battery description say it is a non-replaceable lithium cell sold with a 10-year claim.
Will it notify you away from home?
No. There is no Wi-Fi or app on this listing. Someone has to hear the 85 dB siren.
The SwitchBot W4402010 is a white Wi-Fi leak sensor at £19.99 that puts a 1 m cable on the floor, sounds a listed 100 dB siren, and sends app and email alerts. Across 1,552 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.5, and the bullets say you join 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi without an extra hub. Reviewers who wet-tested it got the phone alert, and several treat that alert as the real warning when the unit is in a loft and the siren is hard to hear. The cable lets the radio body sit outside a tight or shielded gap under a sink, which is the point of this shape rather than a plain puck. The spec table says one A cell while the bullets say two AAA and up to 24 months, so you cannot treat either line as settled. At least one buyer has to reconnect Wi-Fi regularly, which is the recurring complaint in the reviews we read rather than one repeated hardware fault. It is the top pick in this set when you want one cabled point and a phone warning without buying a hub, and it still only warns: it does not turn the stopcock.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You leave the house and want one cabled sensor that pings a phone without a separate hub.
Less suitable: You need several rooms for this money, or the router you can use is 5 GHz only.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the SwitchBot listing include a sensing cable?
Yes. The title, shape line and included components all say a water leak detector with a 1 m sensor cable.
Does this listing say you need a separate hub?
The bullets say you connect it to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and do not need an extra hub. App and email alerts are claimed.
How loud is the siren on the listing?
The spec table says 100 decibels. Reviewers disagree about whether that is loud in a loft.
The X-Sense SWS54 is a £55.99 kit of three sensors and the SBS50 mains base, with a 110 dB claim on both and an app that can mute the alarm. Amazon shows 4.5 from 1,414 reviews. One buyer uses the three heads on a boiler, a stopcock and a washing machine, and reviewers who caught a real leak describe a loud alarm. The parts list includes six AAA cells while the table says two CR123A, so both lines stay on the record, and the adapter’s plug face is not stated as a BS 1363 plug. Two of three units on one account started low-battery chirps inside 12 months that a fresh cell and a reset did not clear. Android pairing text did not match the double-press the hardware wanted. The bullets claim about 0.3 mm sensitivity and IP66, and there is no sensing cable. You buy it when three points and a base you can hear in another room are worth the highest price in this set.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want three wet points and a base you can hear elsewhere, and you can plug that base into the mains.
Less suitable: You only need one sensor, or you will not accept an extra powered box.
Specifications
Common questions
What is in the X-Sense SWS54 box?
Three water detectors, six AAA batteries, one SBS50 base station, a power adapter, a power cable and a manual.
Do the sensors need the base station?
This kit is sold as sensors plus the SBS50. The listing describes the base using the app and sounding with the sensors. It is not a siren-only puck.
Which batteries does the listing name?
The included-components line says six AAA batteries. The spec table says two CR123A batteries. Both are printed.
The SONOFF SNZB-05P without a cable is a 48 x 48 x 21 mm Zigbee drip sensor at £19.31, rated 4.5 from 411 reviews, and the bullets tell you to buy a cable separately or choose the other ASIN. Reviewers report fast trips on a small wet patch under a sink and beside an aquarium, and many run it in Home Assistant. The same listing prints a 1 dB sound level and a CR2477 with a claim of more than five years. More than one unit arrived with that cell flat, and some SmartThings buyers had to find an extra driver before it joined. Buyers who expected Wi-Fi were surprised, because the sensor does not join a router on its own. Reviewers also say the shape is for drips, not a deep flood across a floor. You use it in a tray once a supported Zigbee hub is paired, and you skip it if you needed a cable or a siren in the room.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A drip tray or an aquarium once a supported Zigbee hub is already paired.
Less suitable: You need a cable under an appliance, or you do not own a coordinator.
Specifications
Common questions
Will this SONOFF sensor join Wi-Fi on its own?
No. The listing is Zigbee 3.0 and names SONOFF hubs and SmartThings Hub v3. Reviewers who had no coordinator could not pair it.
Is a detection cable in the box?
Not on this ASIN. The bullets say the cable is a separate purchase or part of the cable kit.
How loud is the sensor itself?
The spec table says 1 decibel. Alerts are an app push, or the gateway sounder if you set a local scene.
The SONOFF SNZB-05P with cable, model SNZB-05P+WLDC200, is a Zigbee 3.0 sensor at £19.63 whose title includes a detection cable and whose page still requires a hub. It is rated 4.3 from 200 amazon.co.uk reviews. A reviewer ran the cable under a bath and describes a trip from a single drop, and others pair it with SmartThings or Home Assistant once a coordinator is already running. The listing sound level is 1 dB, so any noise you hear comes from a gateway scene, not from this puck. The included-components line prints only a quick guide, which does not match the cable in the title, so check the parcel. SONOFF’s help page lists NSPanel Pro, iHost, ZB Bridge variants, SmartThings Hub v3 and Home Assistant with a dongle, and it excludes Philips, Alexa, IKEA and Fritzbox gateways. It is the cable to buy when that hub is already yours, and it is a silent box if it is not.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You already run a supported Zigbee hub and want a cable under a bath or a machine.
Less suitable: You have no coordinator, or you expected a siren on the sensor itself.
Specifications
Common questions
How is this different from the SONOFF without a cable?
The model is SNZB-05P+WLDC200 and the title includes a detection cable. Price, hub and 1 dB sound level are otherwise the same class of product.
Does the cable remove the need for a hub?
No. Alerts are still via the Zigbee hub and app. The cable only moves the wet point.
What battery does the listing specify?
One CR2477, included, with a claim of more than five years.
The VBESTLIFE overflow alarm is an £8.49, 9 V buzzer with a probe printed at 30 x 12 mm and a 120 dB claim, meant for a tank or a drip rather than a whole floor. It sits at 3.8 from 18 amazon.co.uk reviews. Praise in that thin file is that it is sensitive and simple, and one reviewer heard it two floors up, including use as a boat water-tank overflow. The same notes call it flimsy, and one unit started sounding for no stated reason after about ten days. The probe is light, so a reviewer doubts it will sit on a floor and catch an early leak, and a self-adhesive patch was missing from one of two units in another order. The spec table does not name the cell beyond 9 V alkaline; one buyer describes a PP9. It can watch a tank overflow if you accept an 18-review sample, and it is a poor substitute for a floor puck under a washing machine.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A tank or overflow where a small 9 V probe is enough and a short review file is acceptable.
Less suitable: You want a floor sensor for a kitchen, a utility or a whole room.
Specifications
Common questions
Is this a floor puck for a whole room?
The listing sells it as an overflow and leakage alarm for tanks, fish tanks, kitchens and similar points. The probe size printed is 30 x 12 mm.
Does it need a battery?
Yes. The table says 9 V alkaline. It does not name the cell code. One reviewer calls it a PP9.
How many reviews are on the listing?
3.8 out of 5 from 18 reviews. Six review texts were read for this page.
Scores use the eleven amazon.co.uk listings kept for this page, with prices, stars and review counts taken from those files. Shelf prices were not rechecked live on 19 October 2026. There is no lab test. A printed decibel figure and a printed battery life are listing claims, and review notes on early battery beeps are anecdote. SEBSON’s 1,907 reviews are treated as one shared sample across three pack ASINs. Weights follow alert path, the hub you already own, probe contact, the battery line, then loudness and coverage. They sum to 100.
Alert path
30%A local siren, a phone or email alert, or a panel push. An empty house makes a siren-only puck the wrong job. Every product in this set only alerts.
Hub you already own
20%SONOFF SNZB-05P needs a Zigbee 3.0 coordinator from the hubs its help page lists. ABUS FUWM45000 needs Smartvest Pro. SwitchBot’s bullets say 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and no extra hub. X-Sense includes the SBS50 base.
Probe contact
20%A cable reaches under a machine. Review notes put SEBSON electrodes about 1 mm up and say Geevon prongs can miss a thin leak. Millimetre claims on the listings are not a measurement made for this page.
Battery line
15%Where the bullets and the spec table disagree, both lines stay on the record. A sealed 10-year claim is not scored as measured life.
Loudness and coverage
15%Listed sound level and how many points the pack actually covers. SONOFF’s 1 dB row is not treated as a room siren. One puck does not see a whole house.
Choose the alert path first, then the hub you already own, then whether water will reach the probes. Price comes after those three. Every listing here only warns. A shut-off valve is a different buy.
A water leak alarm warns when water reaches a probe on a floor, in a tray, or on a short cable. It beeps, it sends a message, or it does both. Every product kept on this page only alerts. A shut-off valve is a separate product and sits outside this comparison. Howden’s guide draws that line and says you should check with the insurer before you treat a detector as a condition of cover.

SONOFF SNZB-05P needs a coordinator from the hubs on its help page. ABUS FUWM45000 needs Smartvest Pro, not the first generation. A sensor with nothing to join is a silent box.
Water has to reach the contacts. SEBSON electrodes sit about 1 mm up in reviewer notes, and Geevon prongs can miss a thin film. Test with a damp cloth at the low point.
Printed battery life and printed decibels were not measured for this page. SEBSON review notes land well under 10 years. A 100 dB claim does not show the tone will carry from a loft.
The first filter is who hears the warning. SEBSON, Geevon, VETOUCH and VBESTLIFE only siren in the room. SwitchBot and X-Sense add an app. SONOFF alerts through a Zigbee gateway, and a local noise needs a scene on that gateway because the listing sound level is 1 dB. ABUS alerts through Smartvest Pro. If the house is empty, a siren-only puck is the wrong job. The second filter is the hub you already own. SONOFF SNZB-05P is Zigbee 3.0.
A sensor in the wrong place never trips. Cables on the SwitchBot and on the SONOFF cable ASIN reach under machines. Review notes put SEBSON electrodes about 1 mm off the floor. A Geevon return says the prongs missed a shallow leak. SONOFF and SwitchBot claim about 0.5 mm. X-Sense claims about 0.3 mm. VBESTLIFE prints a 30 × 12 mm probe for a tank or overflow, which is a poor substitute for a floor puck under a washing machine.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You want a loud puck under the sink, washer and cylinder, and a stopcock that turns. Four local sirens at one basket price, with replaceable 9 V cells, and no phone alert.
You need an app or email alert and someone who will act. One cabled Wi-Fi point, with no extra hub claimed on the bullets. It still only warns.
Place a sensor without plumbing. Buy the cable ASIN only if a supported Zigbee coordinator is already paired. Philips, Alexa, IKEA and Fritzbox gateways are excluded on SONOFF’s help page.
The top pick is the SwitchBot Wi-Fi water leak detector with a 1 m cable at about £19.99: 4.5 from 1,552 reviews, app and email alerts, and no extra hub claimed. The bullets say two AAA cells and the table says one A cell, and Wi-Fi dropouts appear in reviews. The best value is the Geevon 100 dB 4-pack at about £39.99, 4.5 from 3,063 reviews, for four audible points when someone is in to hear them. The prongs can miss a thin leak, and there is no phone alert. X-Sense at about £55.99 covers three points plus a base. SONOFF stays a hub accessory at a listed 1 dB. ABUS at about £7.39 is a Smartvest Pro zone with one review.

Geevon 100 dB water leak alarm, 4-pack
Four sirens at about £39.99, 4.5 from 3,063 reviews, with 9 V cells included, when someone is in to hear them.
Editorial

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources used for this comparison, last checked on 19.10.2026.
Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.
This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. The notes use amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources, and a commission does not change which product is the top pick or the best value.