Home Windows user
You want fewer typed passwords on a laptop or mini PC and you can keep a PIN as the fallback. The longest amazon.co.uk review record in this set is the practical starting point, with Enhanced Sign-in Security left off.
The best fingerprint scanners, compared.
Top pick: Tosuny desktop reader Best value: JIANBOLAND 1.5 m Hello reader – About £25.99 with 3.5 from 320 ratings, the lowest price among Hello readers here with at least 100 ratings. Updated 20.10.2026.
A fingerprint scanner is usually a USB reader that signs you into 10 or 11 through, either as a nano dongle or on a short desktop cable. One listing is a wall terminal for a fingerprint, a 125 kHz fob or a, and it does not log you into. You judge a reader by whether lists it under options, whether the listing states Security when that mode is on, and whether reviews describe false rejects. A printed false-acceptance figure is a seller claim, not a measurement from this comparison. The checks before you pay are in the [fingerprint scanner buying guide](/hub/burglar-protection/fingerprint-scanner/sub/fingerprint-scanner-buying-guide). A fingerprint scanner reads a finger and matches it to a stored template. The Security says that fallback has to be strong enough on its own. A finger is not a replacement for the or for the account password.
A fingerprint scanner is usually a USB reader that signs you into 10 or 11 through, either as a nano dongle or on a short desktop cable.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 12Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
What do you want the scanner to do?
The Tosuny desktop reader costs £49.37 and shows 4.8 from 9 amazon.co.uk reviews, a high average on a short list. The listing describes a zinc-alloy body of 18 × 6 × 3 cm and 125 g, a 1.5 m cable, and both USB-A and USB-C, with 10 fingerprints per Windows account and a claimed recognition time under 0.3 seconds. A vendor Smart ID function is said to encrypt a chosen folder, and that function sits beside Windows Hello sign-in rather than replacing it. The warranty line is 90 days, and the included-components field says no. It says the rates exceed industry standards and does not print the percentages. Nine reviews leave 4.8 unsettled, and Enhanced Sign-in Security is absent from the page.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a cabled zinc-alloy reader with a USB-C claim and you accept a nine-review average.
Less suitable: You want either a long rating history or a listing that states Enhanced Sign-in Security.
Specifications
Common questions
Does it quote a false-acceptance rate?
The listing says the rates exceed industry standards and does not print the percentages.
What warranty is stated?
The listing says a manufacturer warranty of 90 days.
Can it encrypt files?
The bullets describe a vendor Smart ID function that encrypts a chosen folder. That is separate from Windows Hello sign-in.
The ARCANITE AKFSD-07 is a 9 g nano reader at £37.22, and it carries the only large rating line in this set: 4.3 from 4,749 amazon.co.uk ratings. The listing says Windows 10 and 11 Hello, up to 10 fingerprints, a 360° sensor, and authentication in 0.05 seconds, which is the seller’s timing rather than a stopwatch from this comparison. The body is listed at 2.1 × 1.7 × 1.2 cm. Several UK reviews describe instant setup on Windows 11. Others say the small pad rejects the finger, or that only some USB ports work. Enhanced Sign-in Security is absent from the listing, so a Windows 11 PC that blocks non-ESS readers can still leave it out of Sign-in options. It is the top pick when you want the longest public review record, and a poor spend when that security mode has to stay on.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want the nano Windows Hello reader with the longest amazon.co.uk review record in this set.
Less suitable: You need Enhanced Sign-in Security left on, or you need a cable to reach a tower under the desk.
Specifications
Common questions
How many amazon.co.uk ratings are on the listing line?
4.3 out of 5 from 4,749 ratings.
How fast does the seller say it is?
The listing says authentication in 0.05 seconds and storage of up to 10 fingerprints. That timing is a seller claim, not a stopwatch from this comparison.
Does every review call it reliable?
No. Several UK reviews praise instant Windows 11 setup. Others say the small pad rejects the finger, or that only some USB ports work.
The TNP nano reader costs £29.99 and sits at 3.9 from 261 amazon.co.uk ratings. The aluminium body is listed at 5.1 g, 21 mm by 17 mm, with a depth of 12 mm. Unlike most USB readers in this set, the cap is 5 fingerprints, not 10. The listing says Windows 10 and 11 Hello and describes a vendor function that encrypts a folder. Some reviews call it plug and play on Windows 10 and 11, while others say a plastic surround comes off or that recognition fails a large share of the time. Enhanced Sign-in Security is absent, so the extra fraction of a star over the £25.99 JIANBOLAND does not buy that mode.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a light nano reader with a few hundred ratings, and five stored fingerprints are enough.
Less suitable: Several people each need more than one finger, or you need a cable on a tower under the desk.
Specifications
Common questions
How many fingerprints can you enrol?
The listing says up to 5, not 10.
How heavy is it?
The listing says 5.1 g, and 21 mm by 17 mm with a depth of 12 mm.
What do reviews say about the body?
Some call it plug and play on Windows 10 and 11. Others say a plastic surround comes off, or that recognition fails a large share of the time.
The VBESTLIFE reader is a zinc-alloy USB nano dongle at £27.99, rated 3.9 from 115 amazon.co.uk reviews. The listing says Windows 10 and 11, 10 fingerprints per account, 360° touch, and recognition within 0.5 seconds. Dimensions and weight are missing from the technical block, and Enhanced Sign-in Security is absent from the page. Some UK reviews say Windows saw the reader straight away. Others say Hello left it off the list until fingerprint devices were enabled in settings, which one reviewer described as off by default. At 3.9 from 115 it has more evidence than the two-review listings, and a shorter record than the ARCANITE’s thousands. The metal body is a materials line, and it does not by itself show fewer false rejects.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a nano reader with more than a hundred ratings and ten prints per account, at a price under £30.
Less suitable: You need a cable to reach a tower under the desk, or a listing that states Enhanced Sign-in Security.
Specifications
Common questions
Does Windows see it immediately?
Some UK reviews say yes. Others say Hello did not list it until fingerprint devices were enabled in settings, which one reviewer described as off by default.
What is the body made of?
The listing says zinc alloy. It does not give dimensions or weight in the technical block.
How many fingerprints?
The listing says 10 fingerprints per user account, and fingerprints for more than one account.
This JIANBOLAND reader is the cabled option with a real sample: £25.99 and 3.5 from 320 amazon.co.uk ratings, with a stated 1.5 m cable and up to 10 fingerprints. The listing claims recognition under 0.5 seconds and prints a seller false-acceptance rate of 0.001%, which is a seller figure from the page. A UK review says it fails to work while enhanced Windows biometric security is left on, so it is a weak match when that mode has to stay enabled. Another UK review says the Windows prompt suggested a swipe, and a flat press worked better. At 3.5, a large minority of buyers are unhappy, which is the trade for the lowest price among the readers here with hundreds of ratings. It is the best value in this set when you want a desk cable and you can accept that security-mode limit.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want the cheapest well-reviewed cabled reader in this set and you can live with a 3.5 average.
Less suitable: You need Enhanced Sign-in Security left on, or you want a rating closer to the ARCANITE’s 4.3.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the listing say it supports Enhanced Sign-in Security?
It does not. A UK review says it does not work while enhanced Windows biometric security is left on.
Should you swipe or press?
A UK review says the Windows prompt suggested a swipe, and a flat press worked better. The sensor style in the bullets is not described as a swipe reader.
How long is the cable?
The listing says 1.5 m, for desk placement on a home or office PC.
The Diyeeni mini reader is the cheapest listing here, at £19.32, and it shows 3.5 from 32 amazon.co.uk ratings. It claims Windows 10 and 11, 360° touch, up to 10 fingerprints, recognition in 0.5 seconds, and a weight of 14 g. The seller prints a recognition rate of 0.0002% and a rejection rate of 2%, and those percentages sit on the listing as marketing figures. Reviews disagree on Windows Hello: one says it works every time after a Windows update, and another says it is incompatible with Windows Hello on a Windows 11 Lenovo. The comparison row therefore stays at claimed. Thirty-two ratings are enough to see that split, and they are short of a settled sign-in record.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want the lowest price in the set and you are ready to return it if Windows Hello never lists it.
Less suitable: You need a reader whose reviews agree it signs in on Windows 11.
Specifications
Common questions
Do the reviews agree it works with Windows Hello?
No. One review says it works every time after a Windows update. Another says it is not Windows Hello compatible on a Windows 11 Lenovo.
What rates does the seller print?
The listing says a recognition rate of 0.0002% and a rejection rate of 2%. Those figures are not an independent test.
How many fingerprints?
The listing says up to 10.
The Gugxiom D3WT3WY is a cabled Windows 10 and 11 reader at £20.59, with a 1.5 m cable, up to 10 fingerprints, LED lighting, and a one-touch lock. The listing gives 12 × 7 × 3 cm and 90 g, and the box line is the reader plus a user manual. The amazon.co.uk line is 3.0 from 2 reviews, and only one review text block is in the file. Enhanced Sign-in Security is absent, and no recognition time is given. Two reviews leave the LED and the lock untested in any meaningful sample. The low shelf price is real, and the sign-in record is still a pair of ratings.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want the cheapest cabled body in this set and you treat two reviews as a known limit.
Less suitable: You want a rating sample in the hundreds, or a reader with Enhanced Sign-in Security stated.
Specifications
Common questions
Is the cable 1.5 m?
Yes. The listing says the reader connects by a 1.5 m USB cable. It does not say the cable is detachable.
Can each person have their own login?
The listing says each family member can use a separate Windows account and register a fingerprint, up to 10 fingerprints.
How many reviews are on the listing line?
The saved listing shows 3.0 out of 5 from 2 reviews. Only one review text block is in the file.
The Anskyloe WH01 is a cabled Windows 10 and 11 reader at £26.99, with a 1.5 m Y-split the listing says can act as a desktop power button. That power-button function is stated as unsupported on laptops, and the listing says the reader is not compatible with Mac or Linux. It claims up to 10 fingerprints and recognition in under 0.5 seconds, with a one-click lock and RGB modes, on a body of 5.5 × 5.5 × 2 cm and 50 g. The amazon.co.uk line is 2.3 from 3 reviews, which is too small a sample to treat the power-button idea as proven. A seller false-acceptance figure of 0.001% is printed, and that is not a measurement from this comparison. The warranty line reads 1, with no period spelled out.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You have a Windows desktop and you specifically want the Y-split power-button claim, knowing the review count is three.
Less suitable: You need a laptop reader, a Mac, or a star line with more than a handful of ratings.
Specifications
Common questions
Will this sign in on a Mac?
The listing says it is not compatible with Mac or Linux. It is described for Windows 10 and 11.
Can it switch a desktop on?
The listing describes a Y-split so the reader can act as a desktop power button, and it says that power-button function is not supported on laptops.
How many fingerprints can it store?
The listing says up to 10 fingerprints, with a seller-stated recognition time under 0.5 seconds.
The Kensington VeriMark Desktop 2.0, model K64741WW, is the only listing in this set that states Windows Hello Enhanced Sign-in Security and Microsoft SDCP. On amazon.co.uk it is £76.19, with the brand line ACCO Brands, and the bullets name USB-C and USB-A plus Windows on Intel and ARM. The saved listing has no customer-review line, so the star rating is not available, and fingerprint capacity is blank. The amazon technical block lists 1.5 × 2.9 × 2.9 cm and 60 g, and it leaves cable length blank. Kensington’s own UK page, separate from the amazon listing, quotes a 1.2 m cable, a false-acceptance rate of 0.0001%, a false-rejection rate of 2.2%, and a two-year warranty. Those manufacturer figures are a brand specification, and the older VeriMark Desktop is a different model that does not support Enhanced Sign-in Security. You pay the highest price here for a stated security mode, with no amazon.co.uk review count to set beside it.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You need a desktop reader whose listing states Enhanced Sign-in Security, and you can buy it without an amazon.co.uk star count.
Less suitable: You wanted a low-cost first attempt, or you expected the older VeriMark Desktop to carry the same ESS claim.
Specifications
Common questions
Does this listing state Enhanced Sign-in Security?
Yes. The amazon.co.uk bullets name Microsoft SDCP and Windows Hello Enhanced Sign-in Security. The older VeriMark Desktop is a different model and does not support that mode.
Is there a star rating in the saved listing?
No customer-review line is in the saved listing, so there is no star rating to quote.
Which ports does it name?
The bullets say USB-C and USB-A, for Windows PCs including Intel and ARM.
This JIANBOLAND listing at £28.99 is a cabled Windows 10 and 11 reader with a 1.5 m lead, a one-click lock, and a claim of up to 10 fingerprints in under 0.5 seconds. The raw amazon.co.uk file has no out-of-five line, so the rating stays unavailable even though review text is present. A UK review says Windows 11 still asks for a PIN as well as the fingerprint, which matches how Windows Hello is set up. The seller prints a false-acceptance rate of 0.001% and a false-rejection rate of 0.1%, and neither figure comes from a test in this comparison. The package line is 10.4 × 6.8 × 2.7 cm and 70 g. Enhanced Sign-in Security is absent from the listing, and £28.99 sits above the other JIANBOLAND, which does show 3.5 from 320 ratings.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want this exact 1.5 m JIANBOLAND cable and you can judge it without a published star count.
Less suitable: You want a rating line you can compare, or a listing that states Enhanced Sign-in Security.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the listing show a star rating?
The raw amazon.co.uk file has no out-of-five listing line, so there is no star rating to quote, even though review text is present.
How many fingerprints does it claim?
The listing says up to 10 fingerprints and a seller-stated false-acceptance rate of 0.001%. That rate is not a test from this comparison.
Does Windows still ask for a PIN?
A UK review says Windows 11 still requires a PIN as well as the fingerprint. That matches how Windows Hello is set up, not a second sensor spec.
The KamKorda KAM-MUFR is a mini USB reader at £30.00, listed at 2 × 1 × 1.5 cm and 2 g, with up to 10 fingerprints and a 360° touch. The saved listing has no out-of-five line. A bullet prints a mega.nz link for a Windows 11 driver and says Windows 10 drivers auto-install from a USB 3.0 port, which is a weaker driver source than a reader Windows recognises by itself. A UK review says three USB hubs were not recognised and a direct PC port worked. The listing also claims file encryption beside Hello sign-in. Review text in the file describes the box as the dongle only. Enhanced Sign-in Security is absent from the page.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You already accept a third-party driver download and you can plug the dongle straight into the PC.
Less suitable: You want Windows to recognise the reader without a file-host link, or you only have a spare socket on a hub.
Specifications
Common questions
Where does the listing say to get the Windows 11 driver?
A bullet prints a mega.nz link for the Windows 11 driver, and says Windows 10 drivers auto-install from a USB 3.0 port.
Do UK reviews mention USB hubs?
Yes. One review says three hubs were not recognised and a direct PC port worked.
Is there a star rating on the listing line?
The saved listing has no out-of-five line, so there is no star rating to quote.
The FusyTuly unit is a door and attendance terminal at £42.90, built for a fingerprint, a 125 kHz fob, or a PIN. The listing describes up to 1,000 users and 100,000 records, with 10 blue ID fobs in the box and USB import and export of those records. It says there is no Wi-Fi and no monthly subscription, and it gives an operating range of −20 °C to 70 °C and 0–90% relative humidity, with no IP rating stated. The raw amazon.co.uk file has no star line. A fingerprint used to identify staff is special category data, and the ICO expects a data-protection impact assessment plus an Article 6 and Article 9 basis before a workplace clock goes on the wall. The £42.90 shelf price leaves that legal work, and Windows sign-in, outside the box.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You are specifying a standalone door or attendance terminal and you already have the data-protection questions in hand.
Less suitable: You want to sign in to Windows on a home PC, or you hoped to fit a staff clock from the shelf price alone.
Specifications
Common questions
Will this log me into Windows?
No. The listing describes a time-and-attendance and access terminal with fingerprint, ID card, or PIN. It does not mention Windows Hello.
Does it need a subscription?
The listing says no Wi-Fi and no monthly subscription, with USB import and export of records.
Can it be used outdoors?
The listing gives an operating range of −20 °C to 70 °C and does not state an IP rating, so outdoor suitability is not stated.
This comparison uses the twelve amazon.co.uk listings in the set, the review notes already on those pages, and public UK sources. There is no lab test. A seller false-acceptance percentage is not scored as a measured result. The highest score is the top pick. The best value is the lowest shelf price among Windows Hello readers with at least 100 amazon.co.uk ratings.
Amazon evidence
35%Star rating on amazon.co.uk, with a hard deduction when the count is under about 30 or the saved listing has no out-of-five line. A missing star line is no evidence. It is not treated as zero stars.
Listing fit for the job
30%Windows Hello stated, a usable shape such as a nano dongle or a stated cable, and a fingerprint cap. Stated Enhanced Sign-in Security adds points. The door terminal scores low because it is a different product.
Review outcome
20%UK review notes about false rejects, USB ports and hubs, and a reader that stays hidden while enhanced biometric security is on. Thin files stay low on this part of the score.
Value
15%Shelf price in GBP against a Hello reader a UK review record can support. A low price does not score when Hello is disputed in the reviews or the star line is missing.
Most of these listings are USB readers for Windows Hello. One is a door terminal. The split matters more than the sensor slogan, because a staff clock will not sign you into a PC, and a nano dongle will not reach a tower under the desk.
A fingerprint scanner on this page reads a finger and matches it to a stored template. In this UK set that usually means a USB reader for Windows 10 or 11 through Windows Hello. You plug in a nano dongle or a short desktop reader, enrol a finger under Sign-in options, and Windows still keeps a PIN. The National Cyber Security Centre says that fallback has to be strong enough on its own. A finger is not a replacement for the PIN or for the Microsoft account password.

The FusyTuly unit is a fingerprint, fob or PIN terminal for a door or a clock. It does not mention Windows Hello. A cupboard or a PC login needs a different product.
A printed rate such as 0.001% is a seller figure. It is not a measurement from this comparison, and it does not show that UK reviews are free of false rejects.
Review notes in this set include hubs that were not recognised and direct ports that worked. Turn Enhanced Sign-in Security off only if you accept that existing ESS enrolments and passkeys are removed.
Decide the job before the brand. A Windows sign-in reader and a door or attendance terminal answer different questions, and mixing them wastes the purchase. The USB readers in this set are described for Windows 10 or 11. The Anskyloe listing says it is not for Mac. Do not read Mac or Linux support into the other pages from one review. On Windows 11 24H2, Microsoft says a reader that does not support Enhanced Sign-in Security can stay blocked until you turn that mode off.
Match the shape to the PC. A nano dongle suits a laptop or a port you can reach. A cabled reader suits a tower under the desk. Stated cables on the no-name listings here are 1.5 m. Kensington’s UK page quotes 1.2 m for the Desktop 2.0, while the amazon row leaves cable length blank. Most USB listings say up to 10 fingerprints. The TNP listing says up to 5, so several people each storing more than one finger will run out. Separate people still need separate Windows accounts.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You want fewer typed passwords on a laptop or mini PC and you can keep a PIN as the fallback. The longest amazon.co.uk review record in this set is the practical starting point, with Enhanced Sign-in Security left off.
The tower is out of reach, so a dongle on a hub is the wrong shape. You want a stated cable and a front port, and you can live with a middling average if the rating count is in the hundreds.
You are specifying a standalone clock for a fingerprint, a fob or a PIN, and you already have the data-protection questions in hand. This is not a Windows sign-in reader, and the shelf price does not include an ICO impact assessment.
The top pick is the ARCANITE AKFSD-07, about £37.22, because 4.3 from 4,749 amazon.co.uk ratings is the only large review line in this set. Enhanced Sign-in Security is not stated on that listing, and some UK reviews describe a small pad that rejects the finger. The best value is the JIANBOLAND 1.5 m Hello reader at about £25.99, with 3.5 from 320 ratings, if you can accept a UK review that says it stays blocked while enhanced Windows biometric security is on. If that mode has to stay on, the Kensington VeriMark Desktop 2.0 is the only listing here that states it, and it has no amazon.co.uk star line.

JIANBOLAND 1.5 m Hello reader
About £25.99 with 3.5 from 320 ratings, the lowest price among Hello readers here with at least 100 ratings.
Editorial

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources for this comparison, last checked on 19.10.2026. Prices and star lines are from the amazon.co.uk listings on that date.
Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.
This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Listings and review notes are from amazon.co.uk, with public UK sources where a sentence names them. This is not a lab test.