Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Wi-Fi water leak alarm vs battery alarm

Updated: 20.10.2026

A siren protects the person who can hear it. A radio sensor protects nobody until it has a network. The Wi-Fi water leak alarm vs battery alarm choice is that split, not a longer feature list. Peter F. compared amazon.co.uk listings in this set and did not measure radio range in a house. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. None of them close the stopcock. The model-by-model table is the [water leak alarm comparison](/hub/burglar-protection/water-leak-alarm). Pack size and the 10-year battery claim sit on the [buying guide](/hub/burglar-protection/water-leak-alarm/sub/water-leak-alarm-buying-guide).

A siren protects the person who can hear it. A radio sensor protects nobody until it has a network. The Wi-Fi water leak alarm vs battery alarm choice is that split, not a longer feature list. Peter F.

Our top picks

On this page

A siren only helps inside earshot

SEBSON, Geevon, VETOUCH and VBESTLIFE have no remote alert. If you work from home and the kitchen door is open, that is a complete alarm. SEBSON GS153 claims 85 dB and sells a sealed cell. Geevon’s four-pack at £39.99 claims 100 dB, with a 9 V cell in each puck and 4.5 from 3,063 reviews. VETOUCH claims 100 dB, but the title and the components line disagree on five detectors or one. VBESTLIFE at £8.49 is 3.8 from 18 reviews. If nobody is in, the siren is noise in an empty room until you turn the stopcock.

Wi-Fi and a base station when you are out

SwitchBot is the no-extra-hub claim in this set. At £19.99 and 4.5 from 1,552 reviews, it says 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, app and email alerts, and about 1 m of cable. It does not claim 5 GHz. At least one buyer reconnects Wi-Fi regularly. A metal cupboard can block 2.4 GHz, which is why the cable lets the radio sit outside the sink. X-Sense SWS54 is the other phone path: three sensors and the SBS50 base at £55.99, 4.5 from 1,414 reviews. The base arrives in the box, so you are not using a Zigbee hub you already own. You still need a socket, and the listing does not state a BS 1363 plug face.

Zigbee and Smartvest are not Wi-Fi

Zigbee is not Wi-Fi, and a Smartvest detector is not a siren on its own. SONOFF SNZB-05P is Zigbee 3.0. The no-cable listing is £19.31, 4.5 from 411 reviews, and the cable version is £19.63, 4.3 from 200 reviews. Both still need a hub. The help page lists NSPanel Pro, iHost, ZB Bridge variants, SmartThings Hub v3 and Home Assistant with a dongle, and excludes Philips, Alexa, IKEA and Fritzbox. The sound level is 1 dB. More than one CR2477 arrived flat. ABUS FUWM45000, at £7.39, needs Smartvest Pro, not the first generation. The UK listing is 5.0 from one German-language review, with no printed siren figure. TP-Link’s Tapo T300, not in this set, still says a hub is required.

Which side to buy

If someone is home and can hear a claimed 85 to 100 dB in that room, a SEBSON or Geevon pack is the match. Neither will text you, and a thin film can miss raised contacts. If the house is empty, choose SwitchBot for one 2.4 GHz point with a cable, or X-Sense when three points and a base are worth £55.99. If Zigbee or Smartvest Pro is already running, then SONOFF or ABUS, and not otherwise. A phone alert does not close the main. Howden separates a warning from a shut-off, and every product here only warns. Who should skip each model is on the best water leak alarm page. A cellar you cannot hear is the basement and loft page.

Common questions

Is a battery siren enough if I work from home?
Yes, if you will hear it and you will turn the water off. SEBSON at a claimed 85 dB and Geevon at a claimed 100 dB are built for that occupied house. They are not enough for a loft you only visit monthly, or for a week away, because the beep has nobody to reach. Test the tone with a damp cloth before you rely on it.
What fails when I go on holiday?
The siren still sounds, and nobody acts. A standalone puck does not send a text. SwitchBot’s app path, or the X-Sense base, is what changes that, provided the Wi-Fi or the base stays up. A notification still does not close the stopcock, so someone has to be able to get to the house or ask a neighbour to turn the valve.
Does Zigbee mean Wi-Fi?
No. SONOFF SNZB-05P speaks Zigbee 3.0 to a coordinator. It does not join a broadband router by itself. The help page names hubs that work and excludes Philips, Alexa, IKEA and Fritzbox. The listing sound level is 1 dB, so the puck is not the siren. Treat a smart sensor on a Zigbee box as needs the hub, unless the listing says otherwise.
Which listings in this set truly need no hub?
SwitchBot claims no extra hub, on 2.4 GHz only. SEBSON, Geevon, VETOUCH and VBESTLIFE need no hub because they have no radio alert at all. X-Sense includes the SBS50 base in the box, so you are not using a hub you already owned, but you are still pairing to that base. SONOFF and ABUS need equipment that is not in their parcels.
Why is the X-Sense base different from a Zigbee hub I must already own?
The SBS50 arrives in the SWS54 kit, with the three sensors, at £55.99. You are buying the listener and the probes together. A SONOFF puck at about £19 assumes the listener is already on your network, and unsupported gateways are excluded. The X-Sense base still needs mains power, and the plug face is not stated as BS 1363.
Will 2.4 GHz work under a stainless sink?
Sometimes it will not. Metal cupboards attenuate 2.4 GHz, which is why SwitchBot’s cable lets the radio body sit outside the gap. If the app drops while the probe is in the tray, move the body, not the sensing end. The listing does not claim 5 GHz, so a 5 GHz-only SSID will not do.
Does a phone alert turn the water off?
No. An app notification, an email or a panel push tells you water reached the probe. Howden distinguishes that alert from a shut-off valve. You, or someone you can contact, still close the inside stop valve. Fitting the sensor does not change what the policy covers.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources used for this comparison, last checked on 19.10.2026.

  1. ABI, Burst pipes and water leaks (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  2. Howden, Escape of water and your home insurance (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  3. Howden, A guide to water leak detection systems (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  4. Aviva, summer escape-of-water release (July 2026) (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  5. Tesco Insurance, Escape of water advice (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  6. Thames Water, how to find and use your inside stop valve (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  7. Thames Water, leaks at home (retrieved 19.10.2026)
  8. RiskSTOP, Water leak detection alarms (retrieved 19.10.2026)