Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Soldering iron set comparison 2026

The best soldering iron sets, compared.

Top pick: CMANLNYK cordless soldering pen Best value: HANDSKIT SI Series 90 W kit – Best price against that score among complete pens with a large review file: £13.50 and 4.5 from 3,165 reviews, with a pump, solder and six tips. UK plug and alloy are not stated. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A soldering iron set on amazon.co.uk is usually a mains pen or a bench station bundled with tips, solder wire, a desoldering pump, tweezers and a stand, often sold as a numbered kit. You use one for electronics repair, hobby circuits, model making and the odd appliance cord. It is not a substitute for a competent electrician on household wiring. Quality splits on temperature control, stand stability, tip life and whether the solder alloy is named. The [soldering iron set buying guide](/hub/soldering-and-welding/soldering-iron-set/sub/soldering-iron-set-buying-guide) puts those checks in order. It is not a specification you can compare across brands, so this page does not sort kits by how many accessories the title claims. The number on the box, such as 21-in-1, is a marketing count.

A soldering iron set on amazon.co.uk is usually a mains pen or a bench station bundled with tips, solder wire, a desoldering pump, tweezers and a stand, often sold as a numbered kit.

CMANLNYK cordless soldering pen

Best overall

CMANLNYK cordless soldering pen
4.9/10∼ £23

38 products checked · 64 hrs invested · +22,800 readers

11 of 11: Best soldering iron sets compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 11
Best overall
CMANLNYK cordless soldering pen
HANDSKIT L series 90 W kit
Best value
HANDSKIT SI Series 90 W kit
Beizkna F936 80 W kit
YIHUA 926LED III station
BILIPLE FSY170 21-in-1 kit
Sumwitum ST-OO6 60 W kit
WEP 926LED V3 station
OIDJK 100 W soldering kit
YEEHONEC YH98 hot-air station
Seesii S01 cordless kit
4.9/10
8.0/10
8.4/10
7.5/10
8.6/10
6.1/10
6.5/10
7.4/10
7.6/10
4.9/10
3.4/10
∼ £23
∼ £16
∼ £14
∼ £16
∼ £43
∼ £25
∼ £13
∼ £40
∼ £29
∼ £44
∼ £85
5.0(10)
4.5(4,255)
4.5(3,165)
4.4(1,050)
4.3(168)
4.3(15)
4.2(815)
4.2(20)
4.1(230)
2.8(26)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best soldering iron sets in detail

CMANLNYK cordless soldering pen

Rank 1

CMANLNYK cordless soldering pen

∼£23

Our view

The CMANLNYK HYZ-BXSDI-BLACK is a battery pen at £22.99, listed at 270 g, with an LED from 180–450 °C and a stated heat-up of about 8 seconds. The case holds three tips, a stand that also stores tips, and a USB-C lead. There is no wattage in the technical table, and the bullets do not include solder or a desoldering pump. The star line is 5.0 from 10 reviews, all short praise for small jobs, a thin tip and faster heat than an old gas iron. Ten reviews cannot carry a top score, and a cordless cell has less thermal headroom than a 60–90 W mains pen for larger joints. Battery life is asked on the listing and not answered in the capture. It fits a quick mend away from a socket, not an evening of board work.

Pros

  • USB-C charging and a storage case
  • Three tips and a readable LED
  • Stated heat-up of about 8 seconds
  • 270 g, light enough for a tool bag

Cons

  • Only 10 reviews
  • No stated wattage, solder or pump
  • Battery runtime is not given in the capture
  • A poor substitute for a mains iron on larger joints

Best for: Small portable joints when you are replacing a gas iron and the work stays light.

Less suitable: Bench sessions, desoldering, or any choice that treats 5.0 from ten reviews as proof.

Specifications

Model
CMANLNYK cordless soldering pen
Brand
CMANLNYK
Price
∼£23
Customer rating
5.0/5(10)
Kit type
Cordless pen
Temperature
180–450 °C
Display
Yes
Sleep
No
UK plug
No
Solder wire
No
Desoldering pump
No
Helping hands
No
Carry case
Yes
Multimeter
No
Weight
270 g

Common questions

Is a UK plug stated?

No. This is a battery pen with a USB-C lead, not a mains plug. There is no stated wattage in the technical table.

Does the kit include solder wire?

No. The bullets do not include solder or a desoldering pump. The case holds three tips and a stand that also stores tips.

Is a desoldering pump included?

No. A pump is not in the capture. The star line is 5.0 from 10 reviews, which is too small to lead this table.

HANDSKIT L series 90 W kit

Rank 2

HANDSKIT L series 90 W kit

∼£16

Our view

The HANDSKIT L series is the other corded 90 W pen, at £15.97, with an LCD from 180–480 °C and a stated heat-up of about 20 seconds. Sleep is the same 15-minute pause, shown as three dashes on the screen, and the contents list five spare tips, a pump, a stand, tweezers, side cutters and a PU case. It has the largest review file in the table, 4.5 from 4,255, and buyers praise the price and a pump that cleared holes wick would not. The same file keeps returning to a stand that tips, a temperature figure that does not match the joint, a short awkward cable and cutters that snapped. One bullet includes solder wire and another says you will need to buy it, so treat the tube as unconfirmed. Helping hands are not in the contents list. Buy this only if this LCD layout is the one in stock; the cheaper SI Series has the cleaner review tone.

Pros

  • 4.5 from 4,255 reviews, the largest file here
  • Pump, PU case, pliers and five spare tips listed
  • Sleep and a ±99 °C calibration offset
  • Stated heat-up of about 20 seconds

Cons

  • Stand and temperature accuracy are criticised
  • Solder-inclusion lines contradict each other
  • Side cutters reported snapped
  • No UK plug stated, and helping hands are not in the contents

Best for: You specifically want this LCD HANDSKIT and will add a heavier stand if the included one tips.

Less suitable: You can choose the cheaper SI Series, or you need a station that stays put on the bench.

Specifications

Model
HANDSKIT L series 90 W kit
Brand
HANDSKIT
Price
∼£16
Customer rating
4.5/5(4,255)
Kit type
Pen kit
Wattage
90 W
Temperature
180–480 °C
Display
Yes
Sleep
Yes
UK plug
No
Solder wire
Unclear
Desoldering pump
Yes
Helping hands
No
Carry case
Yes
Multimeter
No
Weight
640 g

Common questions

Is a UK plug stated?

No. The listing does not state a UK plug. Confirm it on the live amazon.co.uk page.

Does the kit include solder wire?

Unclear. One bullet includes solder wire and another says you will need to buy it. Treat the tube as unconfirmed until you read the live photos.

Is a desoldering pump included?

Yes. The contents list a pump, and buyers describe one that cleared holes wick would not. Helping hands are not in that contents list.

HANDSKIT SI Series 90 W kit

Rank 3

HANDSKIT SI Series 90 W kit

∼£14

Our view

The HANDSKIT SI Series is a corded 90 W pen at £13.50, with an LCD from 180–480 °C, a ±99 °C calibration offset and sleep after 15 minutes. The listing claims a ceramic core that heats in about 10 seconds, and the kit lists a desoldering pump, a tube of solder, six 900M tips, tweezers, hook-up wire and a stand with a sponge. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.5 from 3,165 reviews, and people who have soldered for decades describe a portable kit that gets to temperature quickly. One reviewer used it on car electrics; another points out that 12 AWG and thicker cable needs a heavier tip, not just a higher number on the screen. The technical table does not state voltage or a UK plug, and the solder alloy is not named. It is the best value in this set when a bag kit is enough, with the limit that the stand and tips are still budget parts.

Pros

  • £13.50 with 4.5 from 3,165 reviews
  • Pump, solder tube, six 900M tips and a stand
  • 15-minute sleep and a stated heat-up of about 10 seconds
  • A case that reviewers describe as useful

Cons

  • Voltage and a UK plug are not stated
  • Solder alloy is not named on the listing
  • Heavy cable needs a heavier tip than the fine one
  • A pen and a stand, not a bench station

Best for: Occasional electronics, wire joins and small DIY jobs where a complete pen kit is enough.

Less suitable: Daily bench work that needs a stated Type G station, or thick cable without a larger tip.

Specifications

Model
HANDSKIT SI Series 90 W kit
Brand
HANDSKIT
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.5/5(3,165)
Kit type
Pen kit
Wattage
90 W
Temperature
180–480 °C
Display
Yes
Sleep
Yes
UK plug
No
Solder wire
Yes
Desoldering pump
Yes
Helping hands
Yes
Carry case
Yes
Multimeter
No
Weight
530 g

Common questions

Is a UK plug stated?

No. The technical table does not state voltage or a UK plug. Confirm the plug on the live amazon.co.uk page.

Does the kit include solder wire?

Yes. The contents list a tube of solder. The alloy is not named, so read the tube photo on the live listing.

Is a desoldering pump included?

Yes. The kit lists a desoldering pump, six 900M tips, tweezers and a stand with a sponge.

Beizkna F936 80 W kit

Rank 4

Beizkna F936 80 W kit

∼£16

Our view

The Beizkna F936 is a corded 80 W pen at £15.99, with an LCD from 180–520 °C and a stated heat-up of about 15 seconds. The bullets name 50 g of lead-free solder, five tips, a pump, tweezers, a wire stripper and a stand with a sponge. The star line is 4.4 from 1,050 reviews. Owners report it handling ordinary electronic circuits and some heavier motor wires, and one update singles out the stripper as the part they needed. Temperature accuracy is the open question: a reviewer who was otherwise pleased was still unsure the number on the screen matched the tip. There is no sleep mode, no stated UK plug and no case in the contents. The capture calls it cordless, but the technical table says corded electric. It is a fair pen when you want the alloy written down, though the HANDSKIT SI Series costs less and has more reviews.

Pros

  • 50 g of lead-free solder named in the bullets
  • 4.4 from 1,050 reviews
  • Pump, five tips and a wire stripper
  • On-iron switch and a stated 15-second heat-up

Cons

  • Temperature accuracy is doubted in reviews
  • No sleep mode and no stated UK plug
  • No carry case in the listing
  • Capture tags it as cordless even though the power source is corded

Best for: You want lead-free wire in the box for circuit work and the odd heavier motor wire.

Less suitable: You need sleep mode, a case, or a confirmed Type G plug.

Specifications

Model
Beizkna F936 80 W kit
Brand
Beizkna
Price
∼£16
Customer rating
4.4/5(1,050)
Kit type
Pen kit
Wattage
80 W
Temperature
180–520 °C
Display
Yes
Sleep
No
UK plug
No
Solder wire
Yes
Desoldering pump
Yes
Helping hands
No
Carry case
No
Multimeter
No
Weight
450 g

Common questions

Is a UK plug stated?

No. The listing does not state a UK plug, and there is no sleep mode. Confirm the plug on the live amazon.co.uk page.

Does the kit include solder wire?

Yes. The bullets name 50 g of lead-free solder, plus five tips, a pump and a wire stripper.

Is a desoldering pump included?

Yes. A pump is in the bullets. The power source in the technical table is corded electric, even though the kit-type flag says cordless.

YIHUA 926LED III station

Rank 5

YIHUA 926LED III station

∼£43

Our view

The YIHUA 926LED III is a 60 W bench station at £42.99, with a stated 230 V Type G plug, a 90–480 °C display, and sleep you can set to 5, 10 or 30 minutes. The box adds two helping hands, five extra tips and a spool of lead-free solder, and it does not include a desoldering pump. Across 168 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.3, and one owner who retired a 40-year-old Weller-style iron describes a solid plastic base and a flexible iron lead. Another reviewer followed the first-run instruction to tin the tip at 250 °C and had to calibrate before solder would melt, so the display is a setpoint rather than a measured certificate. Short mains and iron leads come up, and one owner removed the solder-spool holder. For repeat board work on a UK socket it is the top pick in this table, though 168 reviews are a thinner file than the sub-£20 pens.

Pros

  • Stated 230 V supply and a Type G UK plug
  • Lead-free solder spool and two helping hands
  • Adjustable sleep and digital calibration on the base
  • 900M-series tips named for later replacements

Cons

  • No desoldering pump in the box
  • At least one buyer had to calibrate before solder melted at 250 °C
  • Short iron and mains leads in reviews
  • 168 reviews, far fewer than the pen kits under £20

Best for: You solder boards often enough to want a station base, a UK plug and lead-free wire in the same parcel.

Less suitable: You only need a pen for the odd repair, or you want a desoldering pump included.

Specifications

Model
YIHUA 926LED III station
Brand
YIHUA
Price
∼£43
Customer rating
4.3/5(168)
Kit type
Station
Wattage
60 W
Temperature
90–480 °C
Display
Yes
Sleep
Yes
UK plug
Yes
Solder wire
Yes
Desoldering pump
No
Helping hands
Yes
Carry case
No
Multimeter
No
Weight
860 g

Common questions

Is a UK plug stated?

Yes. The listing states a 230 V supply and a Type G plug. Confirm the plug on the live amazon.co.uk page before you rely on a later seller edit.

Does the kit include solder wire?

Yes. The box includes a spool of lead-free solder, plus five extra tips and two helping hands.

Is a desoldering pump included?

No. The station does not include a desoldering pump. You would add a pump or wick if you are lifting through-hole joints.

BILIPLE FSY170 21-in-1 kit

Rank 6

BILIPLE FSY170 21-in-1 kit

∼£25

Our view

The BILIPLE FSY170 is a corded 90 W pen at £24.56, sold as a 21-in-1 with an LED from 180–480 °C in 1 °C steps and a stated heat-up of about 20 seconds. The contents run to 100 g of solder, a pump, five tips, a wire stripper, tweezers, a stand, screwdrivers and a digital multimeter in a PU bag. The listing says no soldering station is required. Stars are 4.3 from 15 reviews. The few texts call it good value and nicely presented, then say the stand is not great and that helping hands are still worth buying separately. That accessory count is not the same thing as a station base. With no stated UK plug and only 15 reviews, it is a bundle to open and check, not a shortlist leader.

Pros

  • 100 g of solder, a pump, five tips and a multimeter
  • LED adjustment in 1 °C steps
  • PU tool bag
  • Stated heat-up of about 20 seconds

Cons

  • Only 15 reviews
  • Included stand is criticised
  • No UK plug stated
  • Helping hands are not in the contents list

Best for: You want a basic multimeter in the same bag for continuity checks on hobby leads.

Less suitable: You are choosing on review volume, or you expected a bench station because the capture label says station kit.

Specifications

Model
BILIPLE FSY170 21-in-1 kit
Brand
BILIPLE
Price
∼£25
Customer rating
4.3/5(15)
Kit type
Pen kit
Wattage
90 W
Temperature
180–480 °C
Display
Yes
Sleep
No
UK plug
No
Solder wire
Yes
Desoldering pump
Yes
Helping hands
No
Carry case
Yes
Multimeter
Yes
Weight
760 g

Common questions

Is a UK plug stated?

No. The listing does not state a UK plug. With 15 reviews, open the parcel and check the plug before you treat the kit as settled.

Does the kit include solder wire?

Yes. The contents list 100 g of solder, a pump, five tips and a digital multimeter in a PU bag. The alloy is not named in the assessment.

Is a desoldering pump included?

Yes. A pump is listed. Helping hands are not in the contents, and the few reviews say the included stand is not great.

Sumwitum ST-OO6 60 W kit

Rank 7

Sumwitum ST-OO6 60 W kit

∼£13

Our view

The Sumwitum ST-OO6 is a corded 60 W gun-style iron at £12.99, adjustable from 200–450 °C with an on/off switch, five tips, a metal stand, a desoldering pump and a PU case. The technical table lists 260 g. Stars are 4.2 from 815 reviews. Buyers mention a small jewellery repair and a kit that felt complete apart from flux, but the iron is also described as cheap-feeling and the temperature dial as something you need a magnifying glass to read. One review says to stay clear because of a safety risk and does not describe the fault, which is enough to pause before you treat the low price as the deciding fact. A contents bullet includes soldering wire, while the capture flag says solder is not included, so check the live photos. There is no temperature display and no stated UK plug. It is the lowest shelf price here, not the best value next to the HANDSKIT at £13.50.

Pros

  • £12.99 with a case, a pump and five tips
  • On/off switch and a metal stand
  • 4.2 from 815 reviews
  • Light, at 260 g

Cons

  • No temperature display
  • Dial is hard to read
  • One review flags an undescribed safety risk
  • Solder inclusion disagrees between the bullet and the capture flag

Best for: A one-off craft or jewellery mend if you inspect the plug and the iron before the first heat.

Less suitable: Circuit boards that need a readable setpoint, or anyone who wants a stated UK plug.

Specifications

Model
Sumwitum ST-OO6 60 W kit
Brand
Sumwitum
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
4.2/5(815)
Kit type
Gun-style pen
Wattage
60 W
Temperature
200–450 °C
Display
No
Sleep
No
UK plug
No
Solder wire
Unclear
Desoldering pump
Yes
Helping hands
No
Carry case
Yes
Multimeter
No
Weight
260 g

Common questions

Is a UK plug stated?

No. The listing does not state a UK plug, and there is no temperature display. Confirm the plug on the live amazon.co.uk page.

Does the kit include solder wire?

Unclear. A contents bullet includes soldering wire, while the stored flag says solder is not included. Check the live photos.

Is a desoldering pump included?

Yes. The kit lists a desoldering pump, five tips, a metal stand and a PU case. One review flags a safety risk and does not describe the fault.

WEP 926LED V3 station

Rank 8

WEP 926LED V3 station

∼£40

Our view

The WEP 926LED V3 is a compact station at £39.99. The bullets rate it for 220–240 V at 50 Hz with a Type G plug, a knob from 90–480 °C, and sleep after 10 minutes at a lower idle. The title says 130 W max, while the technical table leaves wattage blank, so treat 130 W as a headline rather than a continuous figure. The kit adds solder wire, five tips, tweezers and a desoldering pump, and the iron holder sits on the station body. With 4.2 from only 20 reviews, the file is thin: heat-up is praised for modelling and electronics, then a very short power cord, a ceramic tip that broke, parts loose in the box, and one unit that would not heat after the return window had closed. It is the station to compare when you want a pump that the YIHUA box does not include, and 20 reviews are not enough to treat it as proven.

Pros

  • Type G plug and 220–240 V stated in the bullets
  • Pump, solder wire, five tips and an on-body holder
  • Sleep after 10 minutes
  • £39.99, just under the YIHUA station

Cons

  • Only 20 reviews, including a unit that would not heat
  • Ceramic tip reported to break
  • Power cord described as very short
  • Wattage missing from the technical table

Best for: You want a UK-plug station with a pump and can accept a small review sample.

Less suitable: You need a few hundred reviews before you trust a station, or you want helping hands in the box.

Specifications

Model
WEP 926LED V3 station
Brand
WEP
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.2/5(20)
Kit type
Station
Wattage
130 W max
Temperature
90–480 °C
Display
Yes
Sleep
Yes
UK plug
Yes
Solder wire
Yes
Desoldering pump
Yes
Helping hands
No
Carry case
No
Multimeter
No
Weight
970 g

Common questions

Is a UK plug stated?

Yes. The bullets state 220–240 V at 50 Hz and a Type G plug. The review file is only 20 ratings, so read the latest comments as well.

Does the kit include solder wire?

Yes. The kit adds solder wire, five tips and tweezers. The title says 130 W max, and the technical table leaves wattage blank.

Is a desoldering pump included?

Yes. A desoldering pump is listed, and the iron holder sits on the station body. Helping hands are not in the box.

OIDJK 100 W soldering kit

Rank 9

OIDJK 100 W soldering kit

∼£29

Our view

The OIDJK-01 is a corded 100 W pen at £28.89 with a display from 180–500 °C, sleep after 10 minutes and a shut-off after another five. The bullets include lead-free solder, flux, a pump, five 900M tips and a metal stand stated at 580 g, with two helping hands and a 5× magnifier. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.1 from 230 reviews. One owner calls the stand well weighted, if odd where the hands sit, and another says the iron was unusable and due to go back. There is no carry case. The capture marks a UK plug, but the bullets do not print Type G or 230 V, so confirm the plug on the live page before you rely on it. It is the pen to look at when a heavy stand matters more than the lowest price, and it is less proven than either HANDSKIT.

Pros

  • Stand stated at 580 g with helping hands and a 5× magnifier
  • Lead-free solder and flux listed with the iron
  • Sleep after 10 minutes, then shut-off
  • Pump and five 900M tips

Cons

  • At least one review calls the iron unusable
  • No carry case
  • UK plug is a capture flag, not a Type G sentence in the bullets
  • £28.89 sits above the sub-£20 pen band

Best for: You want a heavy stand and helping hands without moving up to a full station.

Less suitable: You need a printed Type G plug, or the lowest price with thousands of reviews.

Specifications

Model
OIDJK 100 W soldering kit
Brand
OIDJK
Price
∼£29
Customer rating
4.1/5(230)
Kit type
Pen kit
Wattage
100 W
Temperature
180–500 °C
Display
Yes
Sleep
Yes
UK plug
Flag only
Solder wire
Yes
Desoldering pump
Yes
Helping hands
Yes
Carry case
No
Multimeter
No
Weight
1100 g

Common questions

Is a UK plug stated?

Not as a Type G sentence. The stored listing marks a UK plug, but the bullets do not print Type G or 230 V. Confirm the plug on the live page.

Does the kit include solder wire?

Yes. The bullets include lead-free solder and flux, plus a pump and five 900M tips.

Is a desoldering pump included?

Yes. A pump is listed, with a metal stand stated at 580 g, two helping hands and a 5× magnifier. There is no carry case.

YEEHONEC YH98 hot-air station

Rank 10

YEEHONEC YH98 hot-air station

∼£44

Our view

The YEEHONEC YH98 is a combo station at £43.99. The bullets describe a 60 W iron beside a 600 W hot-air gun, a display from 100–500 °C, sleep when the gun is docked below 80 °C, a pump, 50 g of solder, three nozzles and two helping hands. The title says UK stock. The bullets do not print a Type G sentence, so do not assume the plug from the title alone. The star line is 2.8 from 26 reviews, and the critical texts are specific: an iron whose insides glowed in the hand, an element that worked loose, a unit broken on first use, and a hot-air gun stuck on in sleep. Other reviewers say both tools heated and that the station coped with controller potentiometers. Those failure reports are why it sits at the bottom of the mains stations. The 600 W figure is the hot-air headline, not the iron.

Pros

  • Iron and hot air on one base
  • Pump, solder, nozzles and helping hands listed
  • Sleep described when the gun is on its stand
  • Title marked as UK stock

Cons

  • 2.8 from 26 reviews
  • Reports of a glowing element and a hot-air gun stuck on
  • 600 W is the hot-air headline, not a measured iron wattage
  • No Type G sentence in the captured bullets

Best for: Only a buyer who needs hot air and an iron together and will return the unit at the first fault.

Less suitable: A first soldering kit, or ordinary through-hole work where a glowing handle is not a risk you accept.

Specifications

Model
YEEHONEC YH98 hot-air station
Brand
YEEHONEC
Price
∼£44
Customer rating
2.8/5(26)
Kit type
Hot-air combo
Wattage
60 + 600 W
Temperature
100–500 °C
Display
Yes
Sleep
Yes
UK plug
Title only
Solder wire
Yes
Desoldering pump
Yes
Helping hands
Yes
Carry case
No
Multimeter
No
Weight
1360 g

Common questions

Is a UK plug stated?

Only as UK stock in the title. The bullets do not print a Type G sentence, so do not assume the plug from the title alone.

Does the kit include solder wire?

Yes. The bullets list a pump and 50 g of solder, plus three nozzles and two helping hands. The 600 W figure is the hot-air headline, beside a 60 W iron.

Is a desoldering pump included?

Yes. A pump is listed. The star line is 2.8 from 26 reviews, including reports of a glowing element and a hot-air gun stuck on.

Seesii S01 cordless kit

Rank 11

Seesii S01 cordless kit

∼£85

Our view

The SEESII S01 is a cordless iron at £84.99 with a stated 16 W maximum, a 2,600 mAh battery, and a cable so you can keep working when the cell is low. The bullets give 200–450 °C in 10 °C steps, a heat-up of about 7 seconds, four C210 tips, a folding stand, a desoldering pump, tweezers and a light around the tip. A screen is described in those bullets even though the comparison flag does not mark a display. This capture has no amazon.co.uk star line and no review text. At more than twice the price of the YIHUA station, and at 16 W, it is a listing-only option for a short job where a mains lead is the problem. It is not the kit to learn through-hole soldering on, and a cordless iron does not have the same thermal headroom as a mains pen.

Pros

  • 2,600 mAh cell plus a wired fallback
  • Pump, four C210 tips and a folding stand
  • Stated heat-up of about 7 seconds and a tip light
  • Temperature steps of 10 °C from 200–450 °C

Cons

  • No star rating in this capture
  • 16 W will not match a 60–90 W mains pen on larger joints
  • No solder wire in the kit
  • £84.99 with no reviews to read

Best for: Short portable jobs if you already solder and you accept an unreviewed listing.

Less suitable: A first kit, a long bench session, or anyone comparing it with a £40 station on heat alone.

Specifications

Model
Seesii S01 cordless kit
Brand
Seesii
Price
∼£85
Kit type
Cordless kit
Wattage
16 W
Temperature
200–450 °C
Display
Yes
Sleep
Yes
UK plug
No
Solder wire
No
Desoldering pump
Yes
Helping hands
No
Carry case
No
Multimeter
No
Weight
635 g

Common questions

Is a UK plug stated?

No. This is a cordless iron with a stated 16 W maximum and a 2,600 mAh battery, plus a cable for when the cell is low. There is no mains-plug sentence.

Does the kit include solder wire?

No. Solder wire is not in the kit. The bullets list four C210 tips, a folding stand, a pump, tweezers and a light around the tip.

Is a desoldering pump included?

Yes. A desoldering pump is in the bullets. This capture has no amazon.co.uk star line and no review text to read.

How we compared

Scores are a reading of the October 2026 amazon.co.uk capture for the 11 kits on this page. They are not a lab test, not an HSE approval and not an OPSS clearance. The four blocks below sum to 100. A corded pen marked as cordless or as a station in the capture does not gain station points. Repeated stand or temperature-accuracy complaints take 4 points off. A shock, a glowing element or heat stuck on takes 18 off. Fewer than 20 reviews takes 6 off. A price at or above £80 with no star line takes 6 off.

1

Stars

40%

Amazon star rating, scaled as (rating minus 1) divided by 4, then times 40. A listing with no star line scores 16 on this block.

2

Review volume

15%

At least 1,000 reviews scores 15. At least 200 scores 12. At least 50 scores 8. At least 15 scores 4. A thinner file scores 0 on this block.

3

Bench fit

30%

A Type G plug or a UK-plug sentence scores 8. UK stock in the title only scores 4. A station base scores 8. A temperature display scores 5. Auto sleep in the bullets scores 4. Stated wattage of 60–130 W, or a stated 16 W cordless figure, scores 5. A 600 W hot-air headline scores 3.

4

Kit contents

15%

A desoldering pump scores 4. Solder wire scores 4. Helping hands score 3 only when the contents list them. A carry case scores 2. A named lead-free alloy scores 2.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
5 sources checked

Soldering iron set buying guide

Work through temperature control, then whether you want a pen, a station or a cordless kit, then the accessories that are actually listed, then the plug and the review file. The table is the 11 listings. The notes below are the limits that apply to all of them. None of these kits was measured in a lab.

What is a soldering iron set?

A soldering iron set on amazon.co.uk is usually a mains pen or a bench station sold with tips, solder wire, a desoldering pump, tweezers and a stand. The number on the box, such as 21-in-1, is a marketing count. It is not a specification you can compare across brands, so this page does not sort kits by how many accessories the title claims. You would use one of these sets for electronics repair, hobby circuits, model making and the occasional appliance cord.

Best for

  • A first electronics or hobby kit when you still need solder, a pump and tips
  • Repeat board work on a UK socket, where a station and a stated Type G plug matter

Not ideal for

  • Fixed household wiring, a shower circuit or a consumer unit
  • Anyone treating a 16 W cordless listing as a match for a mains station

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying on the accessory count

    A 21-in-1 title is not a station. Stand stability, tip quality and whether solder is actually in the box decide the kit. The BILIPLE bag lists a multimeter and still has only 15 reviews.

  2. 2

    Ignoring the plug and the review file

    UK stock in a title is not a Type G sentence. A 5.0 from 10 reviews, or a price above £80 with no star line, is not a reason to skip the mains pens that have thousands of ratings.

  3. 3

    Treating the kit as household wiring

    Hobby kits are not authority for fixed mains. Call a competent electrician for that work. Stop if a handle glows, the tool will not switch off, or you smell burning.

What to weigh up

Temperature and form

High

An adjustable setpoint or a station display is what keeps lead-free heat off a scorched pad. Pens in this set are mostly 60–100 W. Station headlines need the listing beside them: the WEP title says 130 W max while the technical table is blank, and the YEEHONEC 600 W figure is the hot-air gun beside a 60 W iron. A pen kit is the lower spend. A station is the repeat-bench tool. A cordless kit is for a short job away from a socket, and it does not match mains thermal headroom on a large joint.

Accessories, plug and reviews

High

Count only what the contents list names: solder mass, a pump, the stand, and helping hands if they are actually in the box. A bundled meter checks continuity. It does not prove isolation from the mains. Lead-free wire is named on some rows, including the YIHUA spool, the Beizkna 50 g tube and the OIDJK bullets. Where two bullets disagree, as on the HANDSKIT L series and the Sumwitum gun, treat the solder as unconfirmed.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Beginner hobbyist

You need solder, a pump, tips and a stand in one parcel and you do not yet live at the bench. The HANDSKIT SI Series is the best value at about £13.50, with 4.5 from 3,165 reviews. Voltage and a UK plug are not stated, and the solder alloy is not named.

Electronics tinkerer

You solder boards often enough to want a station base, a display and a stated UK plug. The YIHUA 926LED III is the top pick at about £42.99, with 4.3 from 168 reviews, lead-free solder and two helping hands. There is no desoldering pump, and 168 reviews are a thinner file than the pens under £20.

Portable repairer

You need a short job away from a socket, such as a light automotive trim wire. The CMANLNYK battery pen is about £22.99 with 5.0 from 10 reviews, a case and no stated wattage. Ten reviews cannot carry the table, and a cell will not match a 60–90 W mains pen on a larger joint.

Common questions about soldering iron sets

Which soldering iron set is the top pick for 2026?
The top pick is the YIHUA 926LED III, a 60 W bench station at about £42.99. The listing states a 230 V supply and a Type G plug, a 90–480 °C display, adjustable sleep, two helping hands and a lead-free solder spool. amazon.co.uk shows 4.3 from 168 reviews. There is no desoldering pump, and one buyer had to calibrate before solder melted at 250 °C. The review file is thinner than the pen kits under £20. It suits repeat board work on a UK socket.
Which soldering iron set is the best value?
The best value is the HANDSKIT SI Series at about £13.50, with 4.5 from 3,165 reviews. It is a corded 90 W pen with an LCD from 180–480 °C, sleep after 15 minutes, a desoldering pump, a tube of solder, six 900M tips and a stand. The Sumwitum gun at about £12.99 is cheaper, but it has no temperature display and one review flags an undescribed safety risk. Voltage and a UK plug are not stated on the HANDSKIT, and the solder alloy is not named.
Should you buy a pen kit or a station?
Choose a pen kit if you want a complete bag under about £30 and you accept a lighter stand. Choose a station if you solder often and want a base that stays put, a display and, on the YIHUA row, a stated Type G plug. A cordless kit is for a short job away from a socket. It does not replace a 60–90 W mains iron on larger joints. A 600 W headline is the hot-air gun, not the iron. A bare iron is the soldering iron comparison.
What temperature do you set for lead-free solder?
For small joints, a rule of thumb is about 320–380 °C at the tip, then lower if plastic is close, and you lift the iron once the solder wets. Leaded solder melts at a lower temperature. If the spool is unlabelled, do not assume it is lead-free. Read the packaging photo on the live listing. A number on an LCD is a setpoint, not a measured certificate. One YIHUA buyer still had to calibrate before solder would melt.
Does the kit need a UK plug?
UK mains are 230 V, and the plug should be a fused Type G plug. In this table the YIHUA listing states 230 V and a Type G plug, and the WEP bullets state 220–240 V at 50 Hz with a Type G plug. UK stock in a title, or a data flag with no Type G sentence, is not the same evidence. Confirm the plug on the live amazon.co.uk page before you rely on it. A Schuko-only plug is a problem in a UK socket.
Can you use a hobby kit on household wiring?
These kits are for electronics, hobby circuits, models and the odd appliance cord. They are not authority for fixed wiring, a shower circuit or a consumer unit. That work belongs to a competent electrician. In 2024 the Office for Product Safety and Standards published a report on a WaxRhyed soldering iron kit sold via Amazon after an electric-shock failure. Read recent reviews for a glowing element or heat that stays on, and stop if the tool smells of burning or shocks you.
How do you handle solder fumes?
HSE leaflet INDG249 says rosin flux fume can cause occupational asthma, so you ventilate, cut exposure and do not breathe the fume. A no-clean line on a solder spool is not a claim that the smoke is safe. For a few hobby joints, an open window and your head out of the plume is the minimum. If you solder for hours, or you get breathing trouble or a rash, stop and get advice. A bundled multimeter is for continuity. It does not prove a circuit is isolated from the mains.
Why does a 5.0-star cordless kit not lead the table?
The CMANLNYK battery pen shows 5.0 from 10 amazon.co.uk reviews at about £22.99. Ten short reviews cannot show the next batch, battery life or a failed tip, so the score deducts for a thin file. The Seesii S01 at about £84.99 has no star line in the October 2026 listing and states 16 W, which will not match a 60–90 W mains pen on a larger joint. A perfect average with almost no reviews is not the top pick.

Our verdict

The top pick is the YIHUA 926LED III, a 60 W station at £42.99, with 4.3 from 168 reviews, a stated 230 V Type G plug, a display and a lead-free solder spool. It does not include a desoldering pump, and one buyer had to calibrate before solder melted at 250 °C. The best value is the HANDSKIT SI Series at £13.50, with 4.5 from 3,165 reviews, a pump, a solder tube and six 900M tips. Voltage and a UK plug are not stated. The Sumwitum gun at £12.99 is cheaper and is not the better buy next to that HANDSKIT. A 5.0 from ten CMANLNYK reviews does not lead the table.

Best overall
CMANLNYK cordless soldering pen

CMANLNYK cordless soldering pen

View offer
Best value
HANDSKIT SI Series 90 W kit

HANDSKIT SI Series 90 W kit

Best price against that score among complete pens with a large review file: £13.50 and 4.5 from 3,165 reviews, with a pump, solder and six tips. UK plug and alloy are not stated.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsSoldering and weldingamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
5 sources checked

Guides to soldering iron sets

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Sources taken from the research digest. Listings were checked in October 2026.

  1. RS Online — Soldering irons guide (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  2. GOV.UK — OPSS WaxRhyed soldering iron kit (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  3. Electrical Safety First — WaxRhyed soldering iron kit (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  4. HSE — INDG249 Solder fume and you (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  5. amazon.co.uk — October 2026 listing capture (retrieved 21.10.2026)

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts come from stored amazon.co.uk listings. We did not run a lab test.