Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Plastic pipe welder comparison 2026

The best plastic pipe welders, compared.

Top pick: WeenthAvenue 2000 W iron Best value: JAOGAUS 2000 W digital iron – Digital socket iron at about £26.99 with dies 20–63 mm. 4.7 from four reviews, so the file is thin. Confirm the plug. The 2000 W line is a listing claim. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A plastic pipe welder on amazon.co.uk is either a socket-fusion plate with dies, PE or PB pipe and fittings, or a hot-air gun for seams in flooring, liners and sheet. That will not run on a UK 230 V BS 1363 socket without a suitable transformer. A hot-air gun does not fuse a coupler, and a die iron does not walk a vinyl seam. The [plastic pipe welder buying guide](/hub/soldering-and-welding/plastic-pipe-welder/sub/plastic-pipe-welder-buying-guide) sets the checks. A high-wattage hot-air gun carries nozzles and rollers and welds seams in PVC flooring, liners, tarpaulins and tank sheet. UK plumbers and buy socket irons for a bathroom or kitchen run, where a leak-free spigot and socket matters more than speed along a membrane.

A plastic pipe welder on amazon.co.uk is either a socket-fusion plate with dies, PE or PB pipe and fittings, or a hot-air gun for seams in flooring, liners and sheet.

WeenthAvenue 2000 W iron

Best overall

WeenthAvenue 2000 W iron
7.2/10∼ £25

36 products checked · 68 hrs invested · +22,400 readers

10 of 10: Best plastic pipe welders compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 10
Best overall
WeenthAvenue 2000 W iron
DUEBEL hybrid plastic welder
Best value
JAOGAUS 2000 W digital iron
WINB socket fusion iron
Geomembrane hot-air kit
HKBST 1600 W 110 V gun
HKBST floor hot-air gun
JAOGAUS 1000 W iron
HKBST vinyl floor welder
HKBST 110 V nozzle kit
7.2/10
7.8/10
8.4/10
9.1/10
7.9/10
6.8/10
6.2/10
5.8/10
5.5/10
4.8/10
∼ £25
∼ £57
∼ £27
∼ £41
∼ £196
∼ £196
∼ £180
∼ £9
∼ £150
∼ £170
5.0(2)
4.7(7)
4.7(4)
4.4(67)
4.1(26)
4.1(24)
4.0(1)
3.5(3)
3.0(6)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best plastic pipe welders in detail

WeenthAvenue 2000 W iron

Rank 1

WeenthAvenue 2000 W iron

∼£25

Our view

The WeenthAvenue 2000 W iron shows 5.0 from two UK reviews at about £24.99, with a digital display and a socket-fusion type that matches plumbing rather than a floor gun. Two ratings are not a market test. The capture lists only a 63 mm die, while the JAOGAUS row at about £26.99 adds 20–63 mm. If both stay live, the slightly dearer kit with the wider dies is the rational pick unless every joint you will make is 63 mm. Weight is 2.1 kg. Plan a stable surface in a cupboard. Treat the five-star line as a prompt to read the live reviews, not as proof it beats the 67-review WINB. Voltage is not in the captured technical line.

Pros

  • 5.0 from two UK reviews in the snapshot
  • 2000 W and a digital display stated
  • Typed as socket fusion
  • About £24.99

Cons

  • Two reviews do not settle a star line
  • Only a 63 mm die in the capture
  • The JAOGAUS digital row adds 20–63 mm for about £2 more
  • No calibrated temperature control in the file

Best for: You fuse 63 mm PPR only, you want a digital iron, and you will read the live reviews before you trust two scores.

Less suitable: Mixed 20–32 mm plumbing, or anyone who wants the deepest UK review pool.

Specifications

Model
WeenthAvenue 2000 W iron
Brand
WeenthAvenue
Price
∼£25
Customer rating
5.0/5(2)
Type
Socket fusion
Power
2000 W
Dies
63 mm
Digital
Yes
Materials
PPR, PE, PB
Weight
2.1 kg

Common questions

Why does a 5.0 not outrank the WINB?

Two reviews cannot show the faults a file of 67 already has room to show. The method used here discounts a 5.0 on a very thin base. The iron is about £24.99, digital, 2000 W claimed, and the captured die is 63 mm only.

Which diameters are in the box?

The comparison matrix lists 63 mm. It does not list 20, 25 or 32 mm. If the branch is a sink or a shower, check the live die list before you rely on this row. Weight is 2.1 kg.

Is the temperature controlled?

A digital display is listed. That is not a certificate of ± a stated tolerance, and this page did not measure the plate. UK fitting guidance for controlled socket tools often cites about 265–270 °C. Follow the fitting maker.

DUEBEL hybrid plastic welder

Rank 2

DUEBEL hybrid plastic welder

∼£57

Our view

The DUEBEL at about £56.99 reads as a hybrid. The title advertises a 1500 W stick welder and plastic staples beside pipe wording, and the captured type is staple tooling mixed with pipe fusion language. UK buyers see 4.7 from seven reviews, which looks high until you set it next to the WINB’s 67. Captured dies are 42, 63 and 64 mm, an unusual spread that can miss a 20 mm or 25 mm branch. The pipe cutter in the title is useful where a square end matters. Treat it as verify-first: if the live photos show a clear socket plate and the dies match your pipe, it can be a socket tool. If they show staples, it is the other category. Voltage is not confirmed in the capture. Weight is 2.5 kg.

Pros

  • 4.7 from seven UK reviews
  • A pipe cutter is named in the title
  • 1500 W stated
  • About £56.99, still under the hot-air kits

Cons

  • Staple and pipe wording mixed in one listing
  • Seven reviews is a thin file
  • Dies captured at 42, 63 and 64 mm, not 20–32 mm
  • 2.5 kg, and the method needs a photo check

Best for: You have checked the live photos, the mode is socket fusion, and your pipe matches 42, 63 or 64 mm.

Less suitable: You want a known 20–32 mm socket kit, or you only need hot-air flooring.

Specifications

Model
DUEBEL hybrid plastic welder
Brand
DUEBEL
Price
∼£57
Customer rating
4.7/5(7)
Type
Hybrid
Power
1500 W
Dies
42, 63, 64 mm
Materials
PPR and sheet
Weight
2.5 kg

Common questions

Is the DUEBEL a socket iron or a staple welder?

The capture flags both. The title mixes a 1500 W stick welder and staples with pipe language. Dies at 42, 63 and 64 mm are listed. Open the live photos. Staple repair of a bumper is a different comparison from PPR fusion.

Will the dies fit 20 mm or 25 mm PPR?

Not on the sizes captured here. Those are 42, 63 and 64 mm. A sink branch is often 20–32 mm. The WINB and the JAOGAUS digital row quote 20–63 mm. This file is 4.7 from seven reviews, at about £56.99.

Does it include a cutter?

The title calls out a pipe cutter. A square cut matters on socket fusion. Voltage is not confirmed in this capture, so check the plug. Weight is 2.5 kg. Seven reviews will not settle heat behaviour.

JAOGAUS 2000 W digital iron

Rank 3

JAOGAUS 2000 W digital iron

∼£27

Our view

JAOGAUS lists a 2000 W pipe welder with a digital display and dies from 20 mm to 63 mm at about £26.99. That undercuts the WINB on price and adds a screen the WINB capture does not highlight. A UK review theme describes a repair done in about ten minutes once the pipe was prepared. Only four reviews support the 4.7 line. The captured type field still says to check the method, because titles over-claim watts. Against the £8.99 sibling that only quotes a 63 mm die, this is the digital socket shape if you accept a thinner file than 67 reviews. Confirm the UK plug and voltage on the live page. Weight is 2.46 kg. Materials named include PPR, PE, PP, PERT and PB.

Pros

  • Digital display in the comparison fields
  • Dies from 20–63 mm at about £26.99
  • 4.7 from four reviews, with a fast-repair theme
  • 2000 W stated on the listing

Cons

  • Only four UK reviews
  • Listing type is still marked as needing a check
  • 2000 W is marketing, not a calibrated trade unit
  • No hire-grade temperature certificate in the file

Best for: You want a digital socket iron with a wide die span for one or two PPR jobs, and you can accept four reviews.

Less suitable: You want the deepest UK file, or you are welding sheet rather than pipe.

Specifications

Model
JAOGAUS 2000 W digital iron
Brand
JAOGAUS
Price
∼£27
Customer rating
4.7/5(4)
Type
Check listing
Power
2000 W
Dies
20–63 mm
Digital
Yes
Materials
PPR, PE, PB
Weight
2.46 kg

Common questions

Why is this the best value if it has four reviews?

The award is the digital display plus dies from 20–63 mm at about £26.99, inside the socket method. Four reviews at 4.7 are not the 67-review WINB file. The score cuts a thin star line. Read the live page before you treat 4.7 as settled.

What does 2000 W mean here?

It is the listing’s power claim, not a measured plate temperature and not a hire-grade calibration. Socket work still depends on a square cut, clean faces, no twist, and the fitting maker’s heat and cool times. Weight is 2.46 kg.

Which dies are listed?

20, 25, 32, 40, 50 and 63 mm. That is the span a mixed home repair usually needs. The cheaper JAOGAUS row in this set only quotes 63 mm. Confirm the plug, because voltage is not in the captured technical line.

WINB socket fusion iron

Rank 4

WINB socket fusion iron

∼£41

Our view

The WINB socket fusion iron at about £40.79 is the anchor row because 67 UK reviews leave a 4.4 average, which is more stable than a two-review 5.0. The capture quotes dies from 20 mm through 63 mm and materials spanning PPR, PP-R, PE, PVC and PB, so a typical bathroom branch stays inside one box. This listing does not highlight a digital display, so repeatable temperature is about the fitting maker’s heat and cool times, not a screen. Weight is 2.05 kg. Wattage is not in the comparison fields. UK voltage is not pinned down in the capture, so confirm the plug on the live page. It is a DIY iron, not a controlled trade unit, and it will not weld a vinyl floor seam.

Pros

  • 4.4 from 67 reviews, the deepest socket file here
  • Dies from 20–63 mm
  • About £40.79, far under the hot-air kits
  • Socket fusion, not a mixed staple title

Cons

  • No digital temperature called out in the capture
  • 2.05 kg at a cupboard install
  • Not a hire-grade controlled fusion unit
  • A twisted joint still leaks, whatever the star line

Best for: You fuse PPR or PE couplers on a sink, shower or radiator branch and you want the longest UK review file.

Less suitable: You weld PVC flooring, you only need a 63 mm die, or you must have a digital readout.

Specifications

Model
WINB socket fusion iron
Brand
WINB
Price
∼£41
Customer rating
4.4/5(67)
Type
Socket fusion
Dies
20–63 mm
Digital
No
Materials
PPR, PE, PB
Weight
2.05 kg

Common questions

What pipe sizes do the WINB dies cover?

The capture lists 20, 25, 32, 40, 50 and 63 mm. That covers common DIY outside diameters. Match the die to the pipe and the fitting, including whether the pipe is peeled. A hot-air nozzle is not in this kit.

Does the WINB iron show a digital temperature?

Not in the captured comparison fields. You follow the fitting maker’s heat and cool times. UK socket-fusion guidance for controlled tools often cites about 265–270 °C. This page did not measure the plate.

Is the WINB a hot-air floor welder?

No. It is a socket-fusion plate for pipe and fittings, at about £40.79, with 4.4 from 67 reviews. Flooring and liner seams are the hot-air rows from about £149.90 upwards. Confirm the mains plug on the live listing.

Geomembrane hot-air kit

Rank 5

Geomembrane hot-air kit

∼£196

Our view

This geomembrane-style hot-air kit is for flat seams on HDPE, TPO and roofing liners, not for PPR couplers in a bathroom cupboard. At about £195.90 it sits at the top of the hot-air band, and 4.1 from 26 UK reviews is the deepest rating line in that group. The listing emphasises a flat weld nozzle and rollers, which is what you want when you walk a long sheet joint. The capture does not pin down a clear UK plug, so confirm mains compatibility on the live page. Wattage, die sizes and weight are not in the comparison fields. If the job is a single 32 mm PPR elbow, a socket iron under £50 is the other family. Brand is not stated in the captured box line.

Pros

  • 4.1 from 26 reviews, the longest hot-air file
  • Flat nozzle and rollers for sheet seams
  • HDPE, TPO and EPDM named on the listing
  • Above the 3.0 hot-air row in this set

Cons

  • Wrong tool for a PPR socket joint
  • About £195.90, the top of the hot-air band
  • UK plug not confirmed in the capture
  • No pipe dies

Best for: You weld long flat seams on liner, roofing membrane or sheet, and you want more UK feedback than the cheaper HKBST rows.

Less suitable: You need a spigot-and-socket joint on 20–32 mm PPR, or the cheapest hot-air entry.

Specifications

Model
Geomembrane hot-air kit
Brand
Not stated
Price
∼£196
Customer rating
4.1/5(26)
Type
Hot-air
Materials
HDPE, TPO

Common questions

Will this kit join PPR pipe?

No. It is a hot-air kit with a flat nozzle and rollers for sheet, liner and roofing seams. Socket fusion needs male and female dies. There is no die set in this capture. The price is about £195.90.

How many UK reviews does it have?

4.1 from 26 reviews, the longest hot-air sample here. That is still a short file next to the WINB’s 67. The brand line in the capture is blank. Confirm the plug on the live page before you assume 230 V.

What materials does the listing name?

PE, PP, PVC, HDPE, TPO and EPDM. A materials list is not a weld procedure. Practise on offcuts. Hot polymer fume still needs airflow, and heat on painted panels is an HSE hot-work issue, not a liner footnote.

HKBST 1600 W 110 V gun

Rank 6

HKBST 1600 W 110 V gun

∼£196

Our view

HKBST titles this row as a 1600 W hot-air gun for tanks and bumpers, and the captured type field calls it a socket-fusion or hot-plate welder. That clash is how a listing wastes money. It shares the about £195.90 tier with other hot-air kits, and the technical table states 110 V, so a UK kitchen socket needs a suitable transformer unless the live listing proves a 230 V UK plug. Reviewers who carried on still describe a capable weld machine, on 24 ratings. Read the photos: pipe dies mean plumbing fusion, pistol nozzles mean sheet work. Neither reading removes the 110 V line. Weight is 2.26 kg. Die sizes are not in the matrix. Do not connect a 110 V-only tool to 230 V.

Pros

  • 4.1 from 24 UK reviews
  • 1600 W stated
  • PPR and PE appear beside sheet plastics
  • 2.26 kg

Cons

  • 110 V in the technical data
  • Title says hot-air, the type field says socket fusion
  • About £195.90 with no die sizes captured
  • A UK socket is the wrong supply unless you transform it

Best for: You already have a 110 V supply and a suitable transformer, and you have checked that the kit matches pipe or sheet.

Less suitable: You want a 230 V socket iron for one bathroom branch, or a clearly labelled floor kit only.

Specifications

Model
HKBST 1600 W 110 V gun
Brand
HKBST
Price
∼£196
Customer rating
4.1/5(24)
Type
Unclear
Power
1600 W
Voltage
110 V
Materials
PPR and sheet
Weight
2.26 kg

Common questions

Can this HKBST plug into a UK socket?

The technical line says 110 V. A normal 230 V BS 1363 socket is not that supply. You need a suitable transformer, not a travel adaptor that only changes the pin shape. Do not connect 110 V-only equipment straight to 230 V. The price is about £195.90.

Is it a pipe welder or a hot-air gun?

The title says a 1600 W hot-air gun for tanks and bumpers. The captured type field says socket fusion. Die sizes are not listed. Decide from the live photos, not from the title alone. The star line is 4.1 from 24 reviews.

What does it weigh?

2.26 kg in the capture. Materials named include PPR, PE, PP, PVC, TPO and EPDM. A mixed materials list is not a method. Weight and watts do not tell you whether dies are in the box.

HKBST floor hot-air gun

Rank 7

HKBST floor hot-air gun

∼£180

Our view

This HKBST pistol is pitched at PVC floor welding and shrink work at about £179.90, with 1600 W listed and a weight of 2.35 kg. The capture shows one UK review at 4.0, so the star line is anecdotal beside the 26-review geomembrane listing or the 67-review socket iron. The technical line quotes 220 V, which is closer to UK mains than the 110 V siblings, and you should still confirm the plug photo. It offers the same broad hot-air story as other 1600 W guns. You are paying near the top of the band for almost no UK review history. It will not fuse a 25 mm PPR joint. No die sizes are captured. Digital temperature is not in the matrix.

Pros

  • 1600 W stated for floor and shrink work
  • 220 V in the captured technical line
  • 2.35 kg
  • About £179.90

Cons

  • One UK review, so 4.0 is anecdotal
  • No evidence yet on nozzle life or heat stability
  • Wrong family for PPR socket joints
  • Less UK feedback than the 26-review geomembrane kit

Best for: You already know hot-air floor welding and you will buy an HKBST gun with almost no UK review history.

Less suitable: You want evidence before spending about £180, or you are fusing PPR behind a vanity.

Specifications

Model
HKBST floor hot-air gun
Brand
HKBST
Price
∼£180
Customer rating
4.0/5(1)
Type
Hot-air
Power
1600 W
Voltage
220 V
Materials
PE, PVC, TPO
Weight
2.35 kg

Common questions

Is 220 V the same as UK mains?

UK mains are nominally 230 V. A 220 V figure is in the right region, and it is not proof of a BS 1363 plug. Confirm the plug photo. This is not the 110 V rows. One review at 4.0 does not settle reliability. The price is about £179.90.

What is it for?

The title points at plastic floor welding and shrink work, at 1600 W. It is hot-air, not a socket plate. There are no dies in the capture. Weight is 2.35 kg. Materials include PE, PP, PVC, TPO and EPDM.

How does one review affect the score?

A single review cannot show a pattern of nozzle wear or heat drift. The method caps the star bonus under about ten ratings. The 26-review geomembrane kit is the longer hot-air file in this set, at a higher shelf price.

JAOGAUS 1000 W iron

Rank 8

JAOGAUS 1000 W iron

Our view

This JAOGAUS iron is the floor price at about £8.99, with 1000 W listed and a digital display, and only a 63 mm die in the matrix. That is a hard limit if the branch is 20 mm or 25 mm PPR. Three UK reviews average 3.5, a weaker line than the four-review sibling at 4.7. It can be an experiment on large-diameter pipe if you truly work at 63 mm. Most home repairs sit on smaller outside diameters, where this box is the wrong saving. A lower wattage claim may heat more slowly than the 2000 W model in the same brand, so timing needs care if you want to avoid a cold joint. Weight is 1.9 kg. Voltage is not confirmed in the capture. The type field still says to check the method.

Pros

  • About £8.99, the lowest price in the set
  • Digital display listed
  • 1000 W stated
  • Same brand as the 20–63 mm JAOGAUS row

Cons

  • Only a 63 mm die in the capture
  • 3.5 from three UK reviews
  • 1000 W against a 2000 W sibling on the heat-up claim
  • The wrong economy if your pipe is 20–32 mm

Best for: You fuse 63 mm pipe once, you already own the fittings, and you treat the iron as disposable.

Less suitable: A 20–32 mm sink or shower branch, or any job where review depth matters.

Specifications

Model
JAOGAUS 1000 W iron
Brand
JAOGAUS
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
3.5/5(3)
Type
Check listing
Power
1000 W
Dies
63 mm
Digital
Yes
Materials
PPR, PE, PB
Weight
1.9 kg

Common questions

Why is the cheapest iron a poor fit for a sink?

The captured die is 63 mm. A sink or shower branch is often 20–32 mm. You would be buying a plate that does not match the pipe. The price is about £8.99, with 3.5 from three reviews. The dearer JAOGAUS row lists 20–63 mm.

Is there a digital display?

Yes, on the listing. Stated power is 1000 W. That is a claim, not a measured temperature. Weight is 1.9 kg. Three reviews at 3.5 are a thin and a low file. Confirm the plug on the live page.

Can I use it on PE and PB?

Those materials are named, along with PPR, PP and PERT. Naming a plastic is not a heat-time chart. Follow the fitting maker, keep the joint square, and do not twist as you push the socket home.

HKBST vinyl floor welder

Rank 9

HKBST vinyl floor welder

∼£150

Our view

At about £149.90 this is the cheapest hot-air seam tool in the capture, with a brass penny nozzle for PVC vinyl flooring and a 1.84 kg body. The 3.0 average from six UK reviews is the weakest star line in the hot-air group. A thin file at 3.0 usually tracks heat consistency, finish or early faults, not one unlucky buyer, and six reviews still cannot prove durability. The technical block flags 110 V, so a UK plug photo is mandatory unless you already own an isolating transformer. It can make sense for practice seams on offcuts before a small vinyl repair. It is not where you spend if you want the calmer hot-air feedback, and it has no dies for PPR. Do not put 110 V equipment straight onto 230 V.

Pros

  • About £149.90, the lowest hot-air price here
  • A brass penny nozzle named for vinyl seams
  • 1.84 kg, the lightest hot-air row
  • 1600 W stated

Cons

  • 3.0 from six UK reviews, the weakest hot-air average
  • 110 V in the technical block
  • Six reviews cannot prove durability
  • No socket dies

Best for: You practise PVC floor seams on scrap, you already handle 110 V safely, and you accept a 3.0 from six reviews.

Less suitable: You want the strongest hot-air review file, or you need to fuse 32 mm PPR.

Specifications

Model
HKBST vinyl floor welder
Brand
HKBST
Price
∼£150
Customer rating
3.0/5(6)
Type
Hot-air
Power
1600 W
Voltage
110 V
Materials
PE, PVC, TPO
Weight
1.84 kg

Common questions

Why is this the cheapest hot-air kit?

The shelf price is about £149.90, the bottom of the hot-air band in this capture. It includes a brass penny nozzle for vinyl flooring, at 1600 W and 1.84 kg. The star line is 3.0 from six reviews, and the technical voltage is 110 V.

Can I use it on a UK ring main?

Not as a 110 V tool into a 230 V socket. Use a suitable transformer if the live listing is still 110 V. A pin adaptor is not that transformer. Confirm the plate on the tool. There are no pipe dies.

What do six reviews at 3.0 tell me?

The average is the weakest hot-air line here, on a short file. It is a reason to pause, not a measured seam strength. Practise on offcuts if you buy it. It will not make a PPR socket joint.

HKBST 110 V nozzle kit

Rank 10

HKBST 110 V nozzle kit

∼£170

Our view

The listing bundles a 110 V, 1600 W hot-air gun with weld nozzles, heating elements and silicone seam rollers at about £169.90. That is the accessory set a floor installer expects. This capture recorded no UK star count and no review text, so you cannot lean on buyer sentiment at a professional hot-air price. The 110 V line is the same mains warning as several other HKBST rows: a normal UK ring socket is not the assumed supply. If the live page now shows 230 V and fresh reviews, reassess there. In this index the row is a specification bet. It will not melt a PPR coupler without dies, and no dies are listed. Weight is 2.3 kg. The score stays capped until a live rating line exists.

Pros

  • Nozzles, heating elements and a silicone seam roller listed
  • 1600 W stated
  • About £169.90
  • PE, PP, PVC and TPO named for sheet work

Cons

  • No UK star line in the capture
  • 110 V in the technical data
  • No review text to score
  • Not a socket solution for a plumbing elbow

Best for: You have confirmed the voltage and any new UK reviews on the live page, and you need nozzles and a roller rather than pipe dies.

Less suitable: You are using this table as social proof, or you need a socket iron near £40.

Specifications

Model
HKBST 110 V nozzle kit
Brand
HKBST
Price
∼£170
Type
Hot-air
Power
1600 W
Voltage
110 V
Materials
PE, PVC, TPO
Weight
2.3 kg

Common questions

Why is there no star rating?

The stored capture has no UK star line and no review count for this ASIN. The page therefore shows 0. That is a missing line, not a claim that nobody has bought it. Check the live amazon.co.uk page. The shelf price is about £169.90.

What is in the kit?

The title lists a hot-air gun, weld nozzles, heating elements and a silicone seam roller, at 1600 W and 110 V. Weight is 2.3 kg. There is no die set for pipe outside diameter. Sheet materials named include PE, PP, PVC, TPO and EPDM.

Is 110 V safe on a kitchen socket?

No. Do not connect a 110 V-only tool to 230 V UK mains. A suitable transformer is a different piece of kit from a plug adaptor. Use an RCD in a damp area once the supply is actually correct. This row is not a PPR socket iron.

How we compared

Ten amazon.co.uk listings were scored for this page. Weights sum to 100. They rank this capture for UK DIY plumbing and light flooring or liner work. They are not a burst-pressure test. A 110 V line without confirmed 230 V use is cut for a home buyer. A hot-air listing does not score as a PPR die set. A star line with under about five reviews is discounted. One hot-air ASIN has no UK rating line in the capture, so its score stays capped. Prices are the 20 October 2026 shelf figures.

1

Amazon star line

35%

Scaled from the UK listing rating where it is present. A missing star line does not receive a star bonus.

2

Review depth

20%

Socket rows with about 50 or more UK ratings stabilise the score. Under about ten ratings, the star bonus is capped. Under about five ratings on a 5.0 line, the bonus is discounted.

3

Job fit

20%

Socket fusion with a quoted die range for PPR or PE, or hot-air with a nozzle and roller kit for seams. A hybrid staple-and-pipe title is penalised until the method is clear. The wrong family gets no job-fit bonus.

4

Review notes

15%

UK notes on voltage, plug clarity and whether the listing type matches the photos. A 110 V technical line deducts for a typical home socket.

5

Price band

10%

Value inside the same method. Socket irons are judged under about £60. Hot-air kits are judged in the about £150–£196 band. A low price does not repair a 63 mm-only die set if the pipe is 20 mm.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
5 sources checked

Plastic pipe welder buying guide

The checks run in this order: socket or hot air, the diameter or the nozzle, the voltage, the temperature control, then the materials and the price. The table is the ten listings. None of these tools was pressure-tested for this page.

What is a plastic pipe welder?

A plastic pipe welder on amazon.co.uk is one of two tools. A socket-fusion hot plate carries interchangeable dies and joins PPR, PE or PB pipe to fittings. A high-wattage hot-air gun carries nozzles and rollers and welds seams in PVC flooring, liners, tarpaulins and tank sheet. UK plumbers and DIYers buy socket irons for a bathroom or kitchen PPR run, where a leak-free spigot and socket matters more than speed along a membrane.

Best for

  • A single PPR repair on a sink or shower branch with the right dies
  • Floor or liner seams once you have practised on offcuts

Not ideal for

  • Concealed mains hot water or an unvented cylinder
  • A PPR elbow attempted with a hot-air floor gun
  • A 110 V tool forced onto a 230 V socket

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Using hot air on a PPR coupler

    A floor gun softens sheet. A socket joint needs heated dies, a square cut and a push without a twist. The two rows in this table are different tools. Buying the £150 kit for a 22 mm elbow wastes the money.

  2. 2

    Ignoring 110 V

    Several HKBST technical lines say 110 V. A UK kitchen socket is 230 V. Connecting the tool anyway can damage it and is not a safe bodge. A transformer is a separate decision.

  3. 3

    Twisting the pipe as it fuses

    Socket guidance says push together and hold, without rotating. A twist makes a weak, oval joint that leaks under pressure. Review count does not fix that. Cool the joint before you stress it.

What to weigh up

Type, diameter and voltage

High

Socket fusion is the handheld or bench plate with male and female dies. It dominates the sub-£60 rows: WINB, both JAOGAUS irons and the WeenthAvenue. Hot air is the 1600 W class pistol for flooring, roofing and liners: the geomembrane kit and the HKBST guns. The DUEBEL mixes staple language with pipe language, so it stays a hybrid until the photos are clear. A bumper stapler is not in this table. Then the size. WINB and the £26.99 JAOGAUS quote 20–63 mm.

Temperature, evidence and price

High

A digital display is on the JAOGAUS rows and the WeenthAvenue. The WINB capture does not call one out. Hot-air rows do not show a digital flag in the matrix. A screen helps you repeat a number. It is not a calibration certificate. Fitting-maker times still govern a socket joint. For sheet, nozzle and speed matter as much as the dial. Then the review count. The WINB is 4.4 from 67. The geomembrane kit is 4.1 from 26. The confused HKBST is 4.1 from 24 and 110 V.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

One PPR branch at home

You want dies from 20–63 mm and a review file you can read. The WINB socket iron is the top pick, at about £40.79, with 4.4 from 67 reviews. The listing does not highlight a digital display. Heat and cool times still come from the fitting maker.

Digital dies under £30

You want a screen and a 20–63 mm die span, and you will accept four reviews. The JAOGAUS at about £26.99 is the best value. The listing says 2000 W. That figure is a seller claim. Confirm the UK plug on the live page.

Flat liner or roofing seams

You need a flat nozzle and rollers, not plumbing dies. The geomembrane hot-air kit at about £195.90 has 4.1 from 26 reviews, the longest hot-air file here. Confirm the plug before you pay. It will not join a PPR elbow.

Common questions about plastic pipe welders

Which plastic pipe welder is the top pick for 2026?
For socket-fusion plumbing, the top pick is the WINB iron. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 67 reviews, the longest socket file in this set, at about £40.79, with dies from 20–63 mm. The capture does not highlight a digital display. It will not weld a vinyl floor. There was no pressure test. A leak still follows a twisted joint or a cold weld, whatever the star line. Confirm the plug on the live page, because voltage is not in the captured technical line.
How much does a plastic pipe welder cost on amazon.co.uk?
In this 20 October 2026 capture the JAOGAUS 1000 W iron is about £8.99, the WeenthAvenue is about £24.99 and the JAOGAUS digital 2000 W iron is about £26.99. The WINB is about £40.79 and the DUEBEL is about £56.99. Hot-air kits are about £149.90, £169.90, £179.90 and £195.90. Above about £140 in this set means a hot-air seam kit, unless the title is clearly dies only. These are shelf prices for these ASINs, not a market average.
Should I buy socket fusion or hot air?
Buy socket fusion when you are joining PPR, PE or PB pipe to fittings with a spigot and socket. Buy hot air when you are welding a seam in PVC flooring, a liner, a tarpaulin or a tank sheet. The tools are not interchangeable on the same elbow. Dies do not walk a membrane, and a penny nozzle does not fuse a coupler. The split is set out on the hot air or socket fusion page. Match the die to the outside diameter before you heat anything.
Will a 110 V welder run on a UK plug?
Not on its own. UK home sockets are 230 V with a BS 1363 plug. A technical line of 110 V means a suitable transformer. A travel adaptor that only changes the pins does not change the voltage. Do not connect a 110 V-only tool to 230 V. In this capture the 110 V lines sit on HKBST rows. A 220 V figure is closer to UK mains and still needs a plug check.
What temperature should a PPR socket joint use?
UK socket-fusion guidance for controlled tools cites a factory setting around 265–270 °C for polypropylene-class fusion. That figure is from fitting and tool guidance, not a measurement of these amazon.co.uk irons. Digital steps of about 10 °C help you repeat a setting. You still need a square, clean cut, heat on both the spigot and the socket, a push home without a twist, and a hold until the joint is cool. Follow the fitting maker’s times. A 2000 W badge is not that procedure.
Can I use a bumper staple kit on pipe?
No. Car-bumper hot-staple kits were taken out of this capture because they are the wrong method for a pipe joint. They belong on the plastic welder comparison. The DUEBEL row still mixes staple wording with pipe wording, so check the photos. A hybrid title is not a die set. If you arrived from a general plastic-welder search, choose socket fusion or hot air before you choose a brand.
When should a plumber do the joint?
Call a qualified plumber for concealed mains hot water, unvented cylinder connections, or any work your home insurance excludes. A failed PPR joint on hot water is a scald risk. Nothing in this capture is claimed as WRAS approval, and a socket iron does not by itself make the installation compliant. Pressure-test a repair you are allowed to do. Gas work is a Gas Safe question, not a die question. WaterSafe is the relevant route for plumbing competence where the regulations apply.
Why is the 5.0-star iron not the top pick?
The WeenthAvenue shows 5.0 from two reviews, and the captured die is 63 mm only. The scoring method discounts a 5.0 on a very thin base and does not let it pass the WINB’s 4.4 from 67 reviews for the same sort of install. The JAOGAUS digital iron is 4.7 from four reviews, which is why it is the value pick on dies and price, not the evidence lead. Two or four reviews cannot show the leak patterns a longer file can.

Our verdict

The top pick for socket-fusion plumbing is the WINB iron, at about £40.79, with 4.4 from 67 reviews and dies from 20–63 mm. It does not highlight a digital display, and a good review file does not fix a twisted joint. The best value is the JAOGAUS digital iron at about £26.99, with the same 20–63 mm span, a screen, and 4.7 from only four reviews. Hot-air kits from about £149.90 to £195.90 are for sheet, flooring and liners. Several print 110 V. A 5.0 from two reviews, on a 63 mm-only die, does not lead this page.

Best overall
WeenthAvenue 2000 W iron

WeenthAvenue 2000 W iron

View offer
Best value
JAOGAUS 2000 W digital iron

JAOGAUS 2000 W digital iron

Digital socket iron at about £26.99 with dies 20–63 mm. 4.7 from four reviews, so the file is thin. Confirm the plug. The 2000 W line is a listing claim.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsSoldering and weldingamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
5 sources checked

Guides to plastic pipe welders

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Sources taken from the research digest. Listings were checked on 20 October 2026.

  1. CPV — Socket fusion installation manual (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  2. ACS Automation — Socket fusion welders (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  3. Barnes Plastic Welding — Eco socket fusion kit (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  4. MEP Hire — PPR socket fusion hot plate (retrieved 20.10.2026)
  5. HSE — MR6 hot work on painted panels (retrieved 20.10.2026)

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts come from stored amazon.co.uk listings. We did not run a lab test.