Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Welding table comparison 2026

The best welding tables, compared.

Top pick: MegaMaxx TIG top Best value: OLBRUS folding bench – 4.6 from 43 reviews and a folding perforated top at about £195.24, if the 2.6 inch spacing fits your clamps. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

Most are folding benches, perforated tops or small carts. None publishes a flatness figure you can treat as a workshop datum. Occasional brackets, and a car that has to come back into the garage, point to a folding bench. Repeat frames point to a hole grid that matches the clamps you already own. Plasma cutting needs bars that slag can fall through, not a solid plate. A table does not take welding fume out of the room. The [welding table buying guide](/hub/soldering-and-welding/welding-table/sub/welding-table-buying-guide) sets the order: job, holes, then the load line read twice. A welding table is a steel surface for fabrication, not a fume extractor. The amazon.co.uk set splits into a few jobs.

Most are folding benches, perforated tops or small carts. None publishes a flatness figure you can treat as a workshop datum.

MegaMaxx TIG top

Best overall

MegaMaxx TIG top
8.1/10∼ £180

38 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +22,100 readers

11 of 11: Best welding tables compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 11
Best overall
MegaMaxx TIG top
Nukeson modular table
YESWELDER folding panels
Best value
OLBRUS folding bench
MoPei 140 cm platform
MegaMaxx plasma bench
London Boutique 36 × 24 in
GarveeMore 112 cm
Techigher folding bench
Lidzopas 90 × 60 cm
Koioplie folding bench
8.1/10
8.0/10
7.2/10
8.1/10
8.2/10
7.4/10
6.6/10
6.2/10
5.8/10
5.7/10
5.2/10
∼ £180
∼ £400
∼ £112
∼ £195
∼ £200
∼ £156
∼ £112
∼ £110
∼ £88
∼ £113
∼ £113
5.0(13)
5.0(1)
4.7(8)
4.6(43)
4.4(78)
4.2(7)
–
–
–
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best welding tables in detail

MegaMaxx TIG top

Rank 1

MegaMaxx TIG top

∼£180

Our view

The MegaMaxx TIG top gives an existing bench a 5 mm mild-steel fixture surface with 144 holes. At £179.95 it avoids paying for another leg frame, and the amazon.co.uk listing shows 5.0 from 13 reviews, the strongest supported rating in this set. The slot-and-tab construction is intended to be assembled and welded, so it asks more of you than an unfold-and-use bench. Two UK reviews mention a bow or warp, although one says the top was pressed and tack-welded flat during assembly. The seller also describes 16 mm or 20 mm holes without resolving which diameter belongs to this SKU, and no pitch is stated. It is our top pick for a competent fabricator who already owns a rigid base, but it is not a complete ready-made table.

Pros

  • 5 mm mild-steel fixture top
  • 5.0 from 13 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • 144 holes and UK manufacture claimed

Cons

  • Legs and supporting bench are not included
  • Hole diameter is unresolved and two UK reviews mention bowing

Best for: A capable home fabricator adding a fixture top to an existing rigid bench.

Less suitable: Anyone wanting a complete, pre-assembled table with a confirmed tooling pitch.

Specifications

Model
MegaMaxx TIG top
Brand
MegaMaxx
Price
∼£180
Customer rating
5.0/5(13)
Type
Tabletop only
Hole system
16 or 20 mm
Thickness
5 mm
Folding
No

Common questions

Does this include legs?

No. The seller says it sits on a bench you already have. Included components are marked not included.

Are the holes 16 mm or 20 mm?

The seller says 144 holes of 16 mm or 20 mm. This listing does not say which diameter this SKU is, and it does not state the pitch.

Did UK buyers find it flat?

Two of the six UK reviews describe warp or a slight bow. One tack-welded and pressed it flat. Others call the fit and weight good.

Nukeson modular table

Rank 2

Nukeson modular table

∼£400

Our view

The Nukeson is the largest complete fabrication bench here at 1,200 × 600 mm, with a 5 mm top and adjustable height from 880 to 960 mm before the wheels are added. Its welded top, flat-packed legs and included wheels make it a more substantial starting point than the folding benches. The seller says British steel is used and that the table has been load-tested to 2 tonnes, though this is a seller test rather than independent verification. At £399.95 it is also by far the most expensive listing in the comparison. The amazon.co.uk rating is 5.0, but it comes from only one review, and the hole diameter and pitch are not published. It is the stronger choice for a permanent workshop corner, provided you confirm how you will fixture work before ordering.

Pros

  • 1,200 × 600 mm, 5 mm steel top
  • Adjustable 880–960 mm frame with wheels
  • Complete modular bench rather than a top only

Cons

  • Highest price in the comparison
  • Only one review and no stated hole system

Best for: A permanent garage or workshop corner needing a larger, heavier complete bench.

Less suitable: Fold-away storage or buyers who need a confirmed 16 mm fixture ecosystem.

Specifications

Model
Nukeson modular table
Brand
Nukeson
Price
∼£400
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
Type
Modular table
Top size
120 × 60 cm
Thickness
5 mm
Load
2,000 kg
Height
88–96 cm
Wheels
Included

Common questions

What size is the top?

The seller states length 1,200 mm, width 600 mm, and height adjustable from 880 to 960 mm, not including wheels.

What load does the seller claim?

The seller says the table has been load tested to 2 tonnes. The listing has no second, conflicting figure. That test is the seller’s, not an independent test.

Does the price include legs?

Yes. Included components are the top, legs and wheels. The top is described as fully welded; the rest is flat-packed.

YESWELDER folding panels

Rank 3

YESWELDER folding panels

∼£112

Our view

The YESWELDER is a 6.83 kg folding tray made from three carbon-steel panels, so it is easy to carry and quick to unfold. Its seller-stated load is about 30 kg, which places it well below the heavier benches in this comparison. The amazon.co.uk listing shows 4.7 from eight reviews, although the review bodies available in the data are from the United States and should not be presented as UK experience. One of those reviews reports that the perforated plate can deform under hard clamping, which is a relevant caution for fixture work. The seller does not state the hole diameter or pitch, so clamp compatibility remains uncertain. Choose it for portable spark containment and light pieces, not as a substitute for a rigid fabrication bench.

Pros

  • Only 6.83 kg and folds without tools
  • Three panels help contain sparks
  • 4.7-star amazon.co.uk listing

Cons

  • Load is limited to about 30 kg
  • Hole system is not stated by the seller

Best for: Portable light-duty welding where a compact tray is more useful than a full bench.

Less suitable: Heavy assemblies or hard clamping that needs a rigid, documented fixture surface.

Specifications

Model
YESWELDER folding panels
Brand
YESWELDER
Price
∼£112
Customer rating
4.7/5(8)
Type
Folding tray
Load
30 kg
Folding
Yes
Weight
6.83 kg

Common questions

How much weight does the seller allow?

The bullet says 30 kg. The catalogue load field is 29.94 kg. The table itself is listed at 6.83 kg.

Does it need tools to unfold?

The seller says no. The catalogue says assembly is not required.

Are the reviews on this file from the UK?

The star line is 4.7 from 8 on the amazon.co.uk listing. The five review bodies in the file are from the United States. One of them says the holed plate deforms if clamped hard.

OLBRUS folding bench

Rank 4

OLBRUS folding bench

∼£195

Our view

The OLBRUS combines a 33.4 × 23.8 inch perforated surface with a folding frame that weighs 18.2 kg. Its amazon.co.uk listing shows 4.6 from 43 reviews, giving it more rating evidence than the similarly priced specialist benches in this comparison. The 0.63 inch holes are spaced 2.6 inches apart, so the top is not a standard 16 mm by 50 mm fixture system and should not be bought on that assumption. The seller does not publish top thickness; a US review measured about 0.08 inch, but that is not UK listing evidence. Powder coating can also interrupt the return path, so clamp directly to clean metal on the workpiece. This is the best-value option for a folding perforated bench, provided its unusual pitch fits the way you clamp.

Pros

  • Folds at a manageable 18.2 kg
  • 4.6 from 43 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Perforated top with a 1,000 lb seller claim

Cons

  • 2.6 inch hole spacing is not a standard 50 mm grid
  • Seller does not publish top thickness

Best for: Garage welders who want a reviewed, fold-away perforated bench without buying a full fixture system.

Less suitable: Existing 16 mm by 50 mm tooling or work that requires a published flatness tolerance.

Specifications

Model
OLBRUS folding bench
Brand
OLBRUS
Price
∼£195
Customer rating
4.6/5(43)
Type
Folding bench
Top size
85 × 60 cm
Hole system
0.63 in, 2.6 in
Load
454 kg
Height
85 cm
Folding
Yes
Weight
18.2 kg

Common questions

Is the hole grid a 16 mm / 50 mm system?

No. The seller states 0.63 inch holes spaced 2.6 inches apart. That is neither 16 mm on 50 mm nor 5/8 inch on 2 inch.

What thickness is published?

The seller does not state thickness. One US review in the file measured about 0.08 inch, about 2 mm. That review is not a UK review.

Can you earth the welder to the table?

A US review says the powder coat means you should earth the workpiece, not the table. That review is not a UK review.

MoPei 140 cm platform

Rank 5

MoPei 140 cm platform

∼£200

Our view

The MoPei provides a long 36 × 140 cm galvanised platform with height adjustment from 70 to 110 cm in 10 cm steps. Four castors and a folding mechanism make it unusually adaptable for long work in a shared garage, and the amazon.co.uk listing shows 4.4 from 78 reviews. One UK reviewer says the folded platform fitted in a car boot, while another wanted a transport lock because it could slide open. Its narrow slotted surface is sold for several jobs, including use as a step platform, rather than as a dedicated precision fixture table. The seller states a 500 kg load, but the listing does not give a top thickness or hole pitch. It suits mobile support and long light assemblies better than repeat frames that need accurate stops.

Pros

  • Wide 70–110 cm height range
  • Long 140 cm platform with four castors
  • 4.4 from 78 amazon.co.uk reviews

Cons

  • No published top thickness or fixture pitch
  • One UK review says it can slide open during transport

Best for: Long workpieces and multipurpose garage use where height adjustment and mobility matter.

Less suitable: Precision jig work or buyers who need a broad, standardised fixture grid.

Specifications

Model
MoPei 140 cm platform
Brand
MoPei
Price
∼£200
Customer rating
4.4/5(78)
Type
Folding platform
Top size
36 × 140 cm
Hole system
Slots
Load
500 kg
Height
70–110 cm
Folding
Yes
Wheels
Four castors

Common questions

Can this be used for welding?

The seller says it can be a welding table or a metal bench, and also a step platform. A UK review mentions welding among other jobs. It is not sold as a 16 mm fixture grid.

What height does it set to?

The seller says 70 to 110 cm in 10 cm steps, with locking pins and screws. The catalogue minimum height is 70 cm.

Does it fold for a car?

One UK review says the folded platform fitted in a car boot. Another says it slides open in transport and needs a lock it does not have.

MegaMaxx plasma bench

Rank 6

MegaMaxx plasma bench

∼£156

Our view

The MegaMaxx plasma bench uses removable cutting bars over an open area intended to receive dust and sparks from manual plasma cutting. Its 830 × 450 mm surface stands at 900 mm and rolls on steel wheels, giving it a clearly defined job rather than pretending to be a universal fixture grid. The seller says it is designed in the UK and manufactured in Norfolk, and the amazon.co.uk listing shows 4.2 from seven reviews. One UK reviewer reports missing nuts and bolts, so check the flat-pack hardware before beginning assembly with 10 mm and 13 mm spanners. The seller's 2 tonne strength-test statement does not match the catalogue's 4,000 lb figure. It is a useful specialist bench for plasma work, but a poor choice if you mainly need repeatable welding fixtures.

Pros

  • Removable bars suit manual plasma cutting
  • 900 mm working height with steel wheels
  • Seller states UK manufacture

Cons

  • Only seven amazon.co.uk reviews
  • One UK review reports missing assembly hardware

Best for: Manual plasma cutting where sparks and debris need space below the cut.

Less suitable: TIG or MIG fabrication that needs a regular clamp-and-stop hole grid.

Specifications

Model
MegaMaxx plasma bench
Brand
MegaMaxx
Price
∼£156
Customer rating
4.2/5(7)
Type
Plasma bench
Top size
83 × 45 cm
Hole system
Cutting bars
Load
2,000 kg
Height
90 cm
Wheels
Steel wheels

Common questions

Is this a welding fixture table?

No. The seller describes a plasma cutting surface with removable bars and an area under the cut for dust and sparks.

What load is printed?

The seller says it was strength-tested to 2 tonnes. The catalogue field says 4,000 pounds. Those figures are not the same.

Where does the seller say it is made?

The seller says it was designed in the UK and manufactured in Norfolk. The country-of-origin field says United Kingdom.

London Boutique 36 × 24 in

Rank 7

London Boutique 36 × 24 in

∼£112

Our view

The London Boutique bench gives you a stated 36 × 24 inch perforated top with 5/8 inch holes on 2 inch centres. That published pattern is more useful than the unspecified slots on many cheaper listings, and the side tray offers somewhere to keep small tools. The seller states a 0.14 inch carbon-steel top and a 1,500 lb load, but neither claim is supported by UK review evidence in the file. The 2 inch spacing is 50.8 mm, so it is not the same as a true 16 mm hole on a 50 mm grid. Its catalogue dimensions and weight exactly match another ASIN, while the actual working height is not stated. It can be a low-cost perforated bench, but buy tooling to the published imperial pattern rather than assuming metric compatibility.

Pros

  • Published 5/8 inch holes on 2 inch centres
  • 36 × 24 inch working surface
  • Side tray and levelling feet claimed

Cons

  • No amazon.co.uk star line
  • Working height is not stated

Best for: Budget fixture work using clamps and stops that match the stated imperial pattern.

Less suitable: Anyone already invested in a precise 16 mm by 50 mm tooling system.

Specifications

Model
London Boutique 36 × 24 in
Brand
London Boutique
Price
∼£112
Type
Perforated bench
Top size
91 × 61 cm
Hole system
5/8 in, 2 in
Thickness
3.6 mm
Load
680 kg
Wheels
Levelling feet
Weight
27.1 kg

Common questions

Will 16 mm clamps on a 50 mm grid fit?

The holes are stated as 5/8 inch, which is close to 16 mm. The spacing is 2 inch, which is 50.8 mm, not 50 mm. A true 50 mm grid is not what this listing describes.

How thick is the top?

The bullet says 0.14 inch carbon steel. That is the only thickness in the file.

Why is the catalogue height 10 cm?

The dimensions line is 93.8 × 69 × 10 cm and the weight is 27.1 kg, the same figures as Lidzopas B0HGLDB4D1. Working height is not stated.

GarveeMore 112 cm

Rank 8

GarveeMore 112 cm

∼£110

Our view

The GarveeMore provides a 112 × 53 cm folding top with a stated height range of 63.5 to 81.3 cm. Four lockable wheels, three long clamp slots and 0, 30 and 90 degree tilt make it one of the more adjustable portable benches in the set on paper. The seller also claims tool-free assembly in about 10 minutes, which is useful if the bench cannot stay out permanently. However, the load copy moves between 230 kg, about 227 kg dynamic and about 454 kg static, so there is no single capacity to rely on. Its catalogue dimensions of 10 × 10 × 10 mm are plainly not the bench size, and there is no amazon.co.uk star line. It is a practical-looking folding option, but check the delivered model before loading or fixturing it heavily.

Pros

  • 112 × 53 cm top with three long slots
  • Height and tilt adjustment
  • Four lockable wheels claimed

Cons

  • Several incompatible load figures
  • No UK star line and an incorrect catalogue size

Best for: A shared garage where height adjustment, wheels and fold-away storage are priorities.

Less suitable: Heavy work that requires one verified load rating or a standardised fixture-hole system.

Specifications

Model
GarveeMore 112 cm
Brand
GarveeMore
Price
∼£110
Type
Folding bench
Top size
112 × 53 cm
Hole system
Three slots
Load
230 / 454 kg
Height
63.5–81.3 cm
Folding
Yes
Wheels
Four lockable
Weight
23 kg

Common questions

What load should you trust?

The title says 230 kg and the catalogue field is 226.8 kg. The same bullet also says about 227 kg dynamic and about 454 kg static. Keep both until the seller defines them.

How high does it go?

The seller says 63.5 to 81.3 cm, with tilt at 0, 30 and 90 degrees.

Is the catalogue size 10 mm?

The dimensions field says 10 × 10 × 10 mm. That cannot be a 112 × 53 cm bench. Use the title size.

Techigher folding bench

Rank 9

Techigher folding bench

∼£88

Our view

At £87.99, the Techigher gives you a 110 × 53 cm folding steel surface that can tilt to 0, 30 or 90 degrees and roll on two wheels. It is the lowest-priced bench in this comparison, so it suits occasional repairs where storage matters more than a documented fixture grid. The slots may help with general clamping, but the seller gives no pitch and does not list a clamp set. More importantly, the listing states both 180 kg and 226 kg for the load, without explaining the difference. There is also no amazon.co.uk star line to show how UK buyers have found the mechanism or flatness. Treat it as a budget folding work surface rather than evidence of a precision welding table.

Pros

  • Lowest shelf price in this comparison
  • 110 × 53 cm working area
  • Folds, tilts and has two wheels

Cons

  • Conflicting 180 kg and 226 kg load claims
  • No UK star line or stated slot pitch

Best for: Occasional welding and repair work where a low price and compact storage matter.

Less suitable: Repeat fabrication that depends on a known hole grid, verified flatness or a clearly documented load.

Specifications

Model
Techigher folding bench
Brand
Techigher
Price
∼£88
Type
Folding bench
Top size
110 × 53 cm
Hole system
Slots
Load
180 / 226 kg
Folding
Yes
Wheels
Two
Weight
23 kg

Common questions

What load is stated?

The title and the catalogue field say 180 kg. A bullet also says 226 kg. Both stay on the record.

Does it include clamps?

No. The listing asks whether clamps are included. The bullets describe slots, not a clamp set.

What size should you use?

The bullet says 110 × 53 cm. The catalogue dimensions are 10 × 10 × 10 mm, which cannot be this table.

Lidzopas 90 × 60 cm

Rank 10

Lidzopas 90 × 60 cm

∼£113

Our view

The Lidzopas puts a 90 × 60 cm steel surface on four castors at a stated minimum height of 86 cm. Its 5/8 inch holes may accept suitable imperial tooling, but the seller does not publish the pitch or the top thickness. Mobility is also less clear than it first appears because one line says two castors lock while another says all four are lockable. The stated load reaches 680 kg, yet there is no UK star line or review in the file to test that claim against normal use. At 27.1 kg it remains movable, though it is less convenient to lift than the 18.2 kg OLBRUS or the light YESWELDER tray. Consider it only if the delivered wheel arrangement and hole spacing meet your needs.

Pros

  • Compact 90 × 60 cm top
  • Four castors for workshop movement
  • 5/8 inch holes are stated

Cons

  • Top thickness and hole pitch are unpublished
  • Seller copy conflicts over how many castors lock

Best for: Moving occasional fabrication work around a small workshop without folding the table.

Less suitable: Precision fixturing or buyers who need verified load and castor specifications.

Specifications

Model
Lidzopas 90 × 60 cm
Brand
Lidzopas
Price
∼£113
Type
Mobile bench
Top size
90 × 60 cm
Hole system
5/8 in
Load
680 kg
Height
86 cm
Wheels
Four castors
Weight
27.1 kg

Common questions

How thick is the top?

The listing does not say. It asks how thick the top is and leaves the answer blank, so the thickness is not stated.

Do all four castors lock?

The bullets say four swivel castors, two of them lockable. The item highlight says four lockable wheels. Both lines are in the same file.

What load does the seller state?

The bullets say up to 680 kg. The catalogue load field is 680.39 kg. No review in the file checks that figure.

Koioplie folding bench

Rank 11

Koioplie folding bench

∼£113

Our view

The Koioplie is presented as a folding carbon-steel bench with two wheels and tilt positions at 0, 30 and 90 degrees. That format is useful when a garage bench must move and store against a wall, and the seller suggests assembly takes about 10 to 15 minutes. The problem is identifying exactly what arrives: the title says 44 × 21 inches, while the same listing also prints several other footprints and height ranges. Its capacity is similarly tied to the model, despite a catalogue figure of 453.59 kg and an 'up to 1,000 lb' claim. There is no amazon.co.uk star line to clarify which variant UK buyers received. The folding idea is sound, but this particular listing is too ambiguous for a confident size-sensitive purchase.

Pros

  • Folding frame with two wheels
  • Three stated tilt positions
  • Carbon-steel top and powder-coated frame claimed

Cons

  • Several sizes and height ranges share one listing
  • Capacity varies by model and there is no UK star line

Best for: A buyer able to confirm the exact variant before ordering for occasional garage work.

Less suitable: Projects where delivered size, working height and capacity must be known in advance.

Specifications

Model
Koioplie folding bench
Brand
Koioplie
Price
∼£113
Type
Folding bench
Hole system
Slots
Load
454 kg
Folding
Yes
Wheels
Two
Weight
23 kg

Common questions

Which size is this listing?

The title says 44 × 21 in. The bullets also list 30 × 20, 46 × 18 and 41 × 21 in. The catalogue block is 76.2 × 51 × 75 cm. Treat the size as unresolved.

What is the load?

The catalogue field is 453.59 kg. The bullet says up to 1,000 lb and that capacity varies by model.

Does the top tilt?

The seller says 0, 30 and 90 degrees, and that some models tilt to 45 degrees.

How we compared

We compared 11 welding table listings on amazon.co.uk. The score is an editorial comparison score. It is not a laboratory test, a load test, or a measurement of flatness. UK star ratings and review counts carry 30 points, with little weight below ten reviews and none where the listing has no UK star line. Stated size, thickness, hole pattern, height, mobility and assembly carry 30. How clearly the product fits a folding bench, a fixture top, a plasma bench or a permanent table carries 25. Shelf price against the specification you can actually read carries 15. Conflicting loads, missing flatness and very small review files reduce the score. Seller load claims are recorded and not treated as independently verified. The weights below sum to 100.

1

UK rating evidence

30%

The amazon.co.uk star rating and review count. Confidence drops sharply below ten reviews, and a listing with no UK star line scores nothing on this part.

2

Useful specification

30%

Stated top size, thickness, hole diameter and pitch, working height, mobility and assembly. Missing or conflicting details reduce the score.

3

Fitness for the stated job

25%

How clearly the listing is a folding bench, a fixture top, a plasma cutting bench or a permanent fabrication table.

4

Value

15%

Shelf price against the usable specification and the review evidence in this set. This is not a claim about the lowest price on the wider market.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
9 sources checked

Welding table buying guide

Choose the job before the star rating. A folding bench, a fixture top and a plasma cutting surface are different products. Then check whether the hole pattern is printed, and whether the load line agrees with itself.

What is a welding table?

A welding table in this comparison is a steel surface for fabrication, not a fume extractor. The amazon.co.uk set splits into a few jobs. A fixture top is a gridded plate, sometimes without legs: the MegaMaxx TIG top is 5 mm mild steel at about £179.95, with 144 holes stated as 16 mm or 20 mm and no pitch. A folding or mobile bench is most of the set, about £87.99 to £195.24, with slots or imperial holes, wheels, and sometimes tilt at 0, 30 and 90 degrees.

Best for

  • A garage that must fold the bench away before the car comes back in
  • A fabricator adding a 5 mm top to a bench they already own

Not ideal for

  • Datum work that needs a published flatness, or a job that will be inspected as structural
  • Indoor employee welding with no plan for local exhaust ventilation

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Trusting the higher of two load figures

    Techigher prints 180 kg and 226 kg. GarveeMore prints 230 kg and about 454 kg static. The higher line is not the capacity. Keep both until the seller defines them.

  2. 2

    Mixing 28 mm tooling with a 16 mm top

    16 mm on 50 mm centres, 28 mm on 100 mm centres, and 5/8 inch on a 2 inch grid are different systems. 5/8 inch is close to 16 mm. A 2 inch pitch is not 50 mm.

  3. 3

    Earthing through powder coat

    A coated top is a poor return path. Earth to clean metal on the workpiece. A welding table also does not extract fume or make garage welding safe.

What to weigh up

Job, holes and flatness

High

Job comes first. Occasional brackets and a garage that must clear point to a folding bench. Repeat frames point to a fixture grid. Plasma cutting needs bars that slag can fall through, not a solid plate. Do not buy a £90 bench to do datum work, or a fixture table you cannot get through the door. Holes come next. Prefer a stated diameter and a stated pitch. 16 mm on 50 mm centres is the open system makers describe for the UK. 28 mm on 100 mm centres suits a shop that already owns that tooling.

Load, size and price

High

Read the load twice and keep the conflict. Techigher’s title says 180 kg and a bullet also says 226 kg. GarveeMore’s title says 230 kg and a bullet also cites about 454 kg static. The MegaMaxx plasma bench and the Nukeson state about 2 tonnes as the seller’s test, not ours, and the plasma catalogue also prints 4,000 lb. The YESWELDER states about 30 kg. A stated kilogram rating is not a point load. Size is the title size, then a review if someone measured it.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Garage that must clear

You need a bench you can fold away so the car can come back in. The OLBRUS folding bench is about £195.24, 18.2 kg, with 4.6 from 43 amazon.co.uk reviews. The holes are 0.63 inch on a 2.6 inch spacing, not a 16 mm by 50 mm grid, and the seller does not publish thickness or flatness.

Repeat frames on a bench you have

You already have a rigid base and you want a fixture top. The MegaMaxx TIG top is 5 mm mild steel at about £179.95, with 144 holes and 5.0 from 13 reviews. Legs are not included, the diameter is printed as 16 mm or 20 mm with no pitch, and two UK reviews mention a bow.

Our recommendation

View offer

A corner that stays put

You want a complete heavier bench, not a top and not a fold-away cart. The Nukeson is 1,200 × 600 mm with a 5 mm top at about £399.95, height 880–960 mm before the wheels, and a seller load test of 2 tonnes. The star line is 5.0 from one review, and the hole system is not stated. A marketplace bench is the wrong datum if the fabrication will be inspected as structural.

Common questions about welding tables

Which welding table is the top pick in this set?
For a fixture top on a bench you already have, the top pick is the MegaMaxx TIG top at about £179.95. It is 5 mm mild steel with 144 holes and 5.0 from 13 amazon.co.uk reviews. Legs are not included, and the seller prints 16 mm or 20 mm without a pitch. Two UK reviews mention a bow. It is not a flatness test, and it is not a claim about every welding table on sale in Britain.
How much does a welding table cost on amazon.co.uk?
Shelf prices in these eleven amazon.co.uk listings run from about £87.99 to £399.95. Entry benches in this set sit around £88 to £113. The MegaMaxx plasma bench is about £155.95, the MegaMaxx TIG top about £179.95, the OLBRUS about £195.24 and the MoPei about £199.99. The Nukeson is about £399.95. Maker tables from £549 are a different channel and are not these ASINs.
What should you check before you buy a welding table?
Start with the job: a folding bench, a fixture grid, or a plasma surface. Then read the hole diameter and the pitch. 5/8 inch is close to 16 mm, but a 2 inch grid is not a 50 mm grid, and 0.63 inch on 2.6 inch centres is a third pattern. If flatness and thickness are not printed, you do not have them. Read the load twice and keep both figures when they disagree.
Will 16 mm clamps fit a 5/8 inch welding table?
5/8 inch is 15.875 mm, so it is close to 16 mm, but closeness is not a fit. The London Boutique states 5/8 inch holes on 2 inch centres, and 2 inches is 50.8 mm, not 50 mm. The OLBRUS states 0.63 inch holes at 2.6 inch spacing. A 28 mm system on 100 mm centres is a different shop. Buy the clamps to the pattern the listing actually prints.
Does a welding table control welding fume?
No. A steel top does not extract fume. The Health and Safety Executive treats all welding fume, including mild steel, as able to cause lung cancer, and expects engineering controls for indoor welding, typically local exhaust ventilation. These listings are not an extracted bench. What that means in a home garage is set out in welding fume in a home garage.
Why do some welding tables print two load figures?
Several listings disagree with themselves. Techigher prints 180 kg and 226 kg. GarveeMore’s title says 230 kg and a bullet also cites about 454 kg static. The MegaMaxx plasma bench states a 2 tonne seller test and the catalogue also prints 4,000 lb. Keep both figures. The higher number is not the capacity, and none of these scores is an independent load test.
Can you earth the welder through the table?
Earth the return to clean metal on the workpiece. Powder coat and paint interrupt the path, which is why a coated top is a poor earth. That point is in a US review of the OLBRUS, so it is not UK customer opinion, and it matches the practical rule for a coated surface. Do not run the return through the coating and hope the clamp bites.
When should you not use a marketplace welding table?
Call a professional when indoor employee welding has no plan for local exhaust, when the job is in a tank, pit or closed vehicle, when hot work sits against hidden insulation, or when the fabrication will be inspected as structural. A marketplace bench is the wrong datum for that last case. Employees using the bench are also in scope of the work-equipment rules, which a folding cart does not satisfy by itself.

Our verdict

The top pick is MoPei 140 cm platform, with the highest score in this comparison (8.2 out of 10, from 78 amazon.co.uk reviews). For a folding perforated bench, the best value is the OLBRUS at about £195.24, with 4.6 from 43 reviews and a 2.6 inch hole spacing that is not a 50 mm grid. None of these scores is a flatness scan, a load test, or a claim about every welding table on sale in Britain.

Best overall
MegaMaxx TIG top

MegaMaxx TIG top

View offer
Best value
OLBRUS folding bench

OLBRUS folding bench

4.6 from 43 reviews and a folding perforated top at about £195.24, if the 2.6 inch spacing fits your clamps.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Soldering and weldingWelding tablesamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
9 sources checked

Guides to welding tables

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings in this set, last checked on 16 October 2026.

  1. HSE, mild steel welding fume bulletin (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. HSE, controlling welding risks (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. HSE, protect your workers (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. HSE, WL3 extracted bench (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. HSE, other welding risks (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. Provision and Use of Work Equipment Regulations 1998 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. Consumer Rights Act 2015 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. BPT, welding table guide (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  9. ESCCO, which Siegmund system (retrieved 16 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices and review counts are from amazon.co.uk listings. We did not lab-test these tables.