Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Plasterboard wall plug comparison 2026

The best plasterboard wall plugs, compared.

Top pick: Gripit Blue, pack of 6 – The listing pairs a defined shear line on 15 mm board with the 25 mm bit and the screws, at about £8.98, with 4.6 from 6,661 reviews. Best value: PlasPlugs hollow plugs, 50 – About £3.99 for 50 dedicated hollow plasterboard plugs, 4.6 from 931 reviews, when you already have screws and the bit the gauge names. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A plasterboard wall plug holds a screw in gypsum board when the hole misses a timber stud or the masonry behind the board. In the UK you use one on a stud partition or on skimmed board. A suitable plug names the wall, the load direction and the board thickness, and it says whether the screw and the drill bit are in the pack. Shear hangs flat against a vertical wall. Tension pulls straight out, including a ceiling. A cantilever shelf or a television arm gets weaker as it stands further off the wall. A metal self-drill is the light option. A winged nylon plug or a metal sleeve covers an ordinary hollow-wall fitting. A toggle or a cam fixing is the step up when you need a published figure and a cavity deep enough for the mechanism to open. A cupboard, a basin or a swing-out television belongs on the frame or a bridge into the block. Wall, load and pack are covered in the [plasterboard wall plug buying guide](/hub/screws-and-accessories/plasterboard-wall-plug/sub/plasterboard-wall-plug-buying-guide).

A plasterboard wall plug holds a screw in gypsum board when the hole misses a timber stud or the masonry behind the board. In the UK you use one on a stud partition or on skimmed board.

Gripit Blue, pack of 6

Best overall

Gripit Blue, pack of 6
9.6/10∼ £9

38 products checked · 64 hrs invested · +22,800 readers

11 of 11: Best plasterboard wall plugs compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 11
Best overall
Gripit Blue, pack of 6
fischer DuoTec 10, 20
Best value
PlasPlugs hollow plugs, 50
PlasPlugs multi-size, 52
Soyoyora 164-piece kit
Lemiyoo 70-piece metal set
Weniubit 100-piece self-drill
JASOLYI M4 × 38 mm, 25
Wavanta 100-piece plugs and screws
PEAPIN 60-pack hollow anchors
NEBURORA 120-piece, three sizes
9.6/10
9.2/10
8.8/10
8.0/10
8.2/10
8.6/10
7.8/10
6.7/10
7.4/10
7.0/10
6.0/10
∼ £9
∼ £13
∼ £4
∼ £4
∼ £7
∼ £6
∼ £9
∼ £8
∼ £6
∼ £5
∼ £7
4.6(6,661)
4.6(1,413)
4.6(931)
4.5(2,001)
4.5(36)
4.4(1,071)
4.4(223)
4.3(10)
4.1(254)
4.1(149)
3.8(22)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best plasterboard wall plugs in detail

Gripit Blue, pack of 6

Rank 1

Gripit Blue, pack of 6

Our view

The Gripit Blue pack is listed at about £8.98 for six cam fixings, a 25 mm flat bit and screws, for 9.5–15 mm plasterboard. Across 6,661 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.6, UK buyers describe flush television mounts on stud walls and wings that lock behind the board. The caution defines 113 kg as shear on 15 mm board with the object flat to a vertical wall, and it excludes cantilever and full-motion brackets. The maker sheet’s 20 kg tension figure is not in the title, so the headline kilogram is not a pull-out rating. One review says a large flat screwdriver is needed to open the wings, which means a driver alone does not finish the job. The 25 mm hole is much larger than a 10 mm toggle, and six pieces will not cover a room of pictures. It is the top pick in this set because the listing pairs a defined shear line with the bit and the screws, not because the star line proves the kilogram.

Pros

  • About £8.98 with a 25 mm flat bit and screws stated in the box
  • 4.6 from 6,661 reviews, the largest sample in this set
  • Caution defines 113 kg as shear on 15 mm plasterboard
  • UK reviews name flush television mounts and wings locking behind the board

Cons

  • 113 kg is shear only, and full-motion television brackets are excluded
  • The 25 mm hole is much larger than a 10 mm toggle
  • A pack of six is not a bulk kit for pictures
  • One review needed a large flat screwdriver to open the wings

Best for: A flush fitting on 9.5–15 mm plasterboard when you want the bit, the screws and a shear figure on the listing.

Less suitable: A full-motion television arm, a dot-and-dab bridge into the block, or a job that cannot take a 25 mm hole.

Specifications

Model
Gripit Blue, pack of 6
Brand
Gripit
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.6/5(6,661)
Fixing type
Cam wing fixing
Stated load
113 kg shear, 15 mm
Drill hole
25 mm
Screws included
Yes
Drill bit
Yes, 25 mm
Substrate
9.5–15 mm board
Pack
6 fixings
Material
Polyacetal

Common questions

What load does the Gripit listing define?

The caution defines 113 kg as maximum shear on 15 mm plasterboard with the object flat to a vertical wall. It excludes cantilever and full-motion TV brackets.

What drill size does the pack need?

The listing states a 25 mm hole and includes a 25 mm flat drill bit in the box.

What do UK reviews repeat?

Flush TV mounts on plasterboard, the included bit, and wings locking behind the board. One review says a large flat screwdriver is needed to open the wings.

fischer DuoTec 10, 20

Rank 2

fischer DuoTec 10, 20

∼£13

Our view

The Fischer DuoTec 10 box is listed at about £12.99 for 20 nylon gravity toggles and a 10 mm hole, and the included-components field lists plugs only. Across 1,413 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.6, buyers describe the toggle dropping behind the board once the cavity is wide enough. The maker table, which is not printed on the listing, quotes about 0.20 kN (about 20 kg) in 12.5 mm plasterboard at a 625 mm span, for tension, shear and oblique load. The higher 120 mm-span row is the wrong row for a normal stud bay. UK reviews also name a cavity too narrow for the toggle, a screw that misses the toggle hole, and thin instructions that send people to a video. The material field says Wool while the bullets say nylon, so the nylon line is the one to follow. At the highest price in this set you still supply the screw.

Pros

  • 10 mm hole, smaller than the Gripit 25 mm hole
  • 4.6 from 1,413 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Maker table covers tension, shear and oblique load on 9.5 mm and 12.5 mm board
  • Listing names plasterboard, gypsum fibreboard, OSB, MDF and chipboard

Cons

  • Screws are not in the box
  • Highest price in this set at about £12.99
  • A narrow cavity stops the toggle opening
  • The material field says Wool while the bullets say nylon

Best for: A hollow stud wall where you already own suitable screws and the cavity is deep enough for the toggle.

Less suitable: Solid brick, a dab gap you must bridge into the block, or a buyer who wants screws and a bit in the same box.

Specifications

Model
fischer DuoTec 10, 20
Brand
fischer
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
4.6/5(1,413)
Fixing type
Nylon gravity toggle
Stated load
Table off listing
Drill hole
10 mm
Screws included
No
Drill bit
No
Substrate
Plasterboard and boards
Pack
20 plugs
Material
Nylon

Common questions

Are screws included in the DuoTec box?

The included-components field lists plugs only. The bullet says to use compatible wood, chipboard or metric screws and hooks.

What hole size do reviewers use?

The diameter field is 10 mm and UK reviews describe a 10 mm hole before the toggle drops behind the board.

What fails in UK reviews?

A cavity too narrow for the toggle, a screw missing the toggle hole, and thin instructions that send some buyers to installation videos.

PlasPlugs hollow plugs, 50

Rank 3

PlasPlugs hollow plugs, 50

Our view

PlasPlugs FCS-SCF552 is listed at about £3.99 for 50 winged nylon hollow-wall plugs, with 4.6 from 931 amazon.co.uk reviews. UK reviews mention a gauge hole for the drill bit and a poker to check depth, which matters because the raw listing does not print one millimetre size. The title does not include screws, and the bullet sends you to the pack instructions for the screw size. There is no kilogram on the card. One UK review doubts heavy items after fitting shelves, while others describe light to moderate loads. One buyer did not own the bit the gauge called for, so the low price still assumes a matching drill bit at home. It is the best value here for a dedicated plasterboard nylon pack, not a heavy fixing with a published load table.

Pros

  • Lowest price in the set at about £3.99 for 50 plugs
  • 4.6 from 931 reviews
  • Dedicated hollow plasterboard plugs rather than a masonry assortment
  • Reviews mention a gauge and a depth poker on the pack

Cons

  • Screws are not in the title
  • No kilogram is printed on the listing
  • Drill size sits on the pack gauge, not as a single millimetre in the raw text
  • One review doubts them after fitting shelves

Best for: Light and moderate fittings on hollow plasterboard when you already have screws and the bit the gauge names.

Less suitable: A published heavy load, solid brick, or anyone who needs screws in the box.

Specifications

Model
PlasPlugs hollow plugs, 50
Brand
PlasPlugs
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.6/5(931)
Fixing type
Winged nylon plug
Stated load
No kilogram
Drill hole
Pack gauge
Screws included
No
Drill bit
No
Substrate
Hollow plasterboard
Pack
50 plugs
Material
Nylon

Common questions

Does the PlasPlugs 50-pack include screws?

The title does not include screws. The bullet says the recommended screw size is in the pack instructions.

What do reviewers say about the gauge?

UK reviews mention a gauge hole for the bit and a poker to check hole depth. One buyer did not own the required bit size.

Are they for heavy loads?

There is no kilogram on the listing. One UK review doubts heavy items after fitting shelves; others describe light to moderate loads.

PlasPlugs multi-size, 52

Rank 4

PlasPlugs multi-size, 52

Our view

The PlasPlugs multi-size pack is listed at about £4.22 for 52 assorted grey nylon plugs, with 4.5 from 2,001 reviews. The title covers brick, stone, cement, concrete and hollow cavity drywall, so this is an assortment rather than a dedicated plasterboard anchor. One review lists 5 mm, 6.5 mm, 8 mm and 10 mm and wanted 6 mm and 7 mm that were not in the mix. Several buyers say the plugs break off more easily than expected when they are driven. Screws are not included, and there is no kilogram. The large review count shows people using them in brick and in plasterboard, which is also why the pack is a weak match if you only needed a winged hollow plug with a gauge.

Pros

  • About £4.22 for 52 plugs, with 4.5 from 2,001 reviews
  • Reviews describe use in brick as well as plasterboard
  • Several diameters in one assortment
  • A low price for mixed small holes around the house

Cons

  • Not a dedicated plasterboard anchor
  • No screws and no kilogram
  • The mix can omit the diameter you actually need
  • Several reviews say the plugs break when they are driven

Best for: A mixed bag of nylon plugs when some holes are masonry and some are hollow board.

Less suitable: A plasterboard-only job that needs a winged hollow plug, a gauge, or a stated load.

Specifications

Model
PlasPlugs multi-size, 52
Brand
PlasPlugs
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.5/5(2,001)
Fixing type
Multi-purpose nylon
Stated load
No kilogram
Drill hole
Per plug size
Screws included
No
Drill bit
No
Substrate
Brick and drywall
Pack
52 plugs
Material
Nylon

Common questions

Is this pack only for plasterboard?

The title lists brick, stone, cement, concrete and hollow cavity drywall. The listing is an assortment, not a dedicated heavy plasterboard anchor.

Which sizes appear in reviews?

One review lists 5 mm, 6.5 mm, 8 mm and 10 mm and wanted 6 mm and 7 mm that were not in the mix.

What breaks in UK reviews?

Several buyers say plugs break off more easily than expected when driven.

Soyoyora 164-piece kit

Rank 5

Soyoyora 164-piece kit

Our view

Soyoyora lists 82 steel self-drilling anchors and 82 zinc screws at about £6.99, with 4.5 from 36 amazon.co.uk reviews. The bullet names plasterboard, hollow bricks, wallboard and slate, and it says heavy-duty capacity without printing a kilogram. One UK review limits them to soft walls such as plasterboard, not hard surfaces, and other reviews describe curtain poles, pictures and lightweight shelves. The material field says manganese steel while a bullet says carbon steel, so the alloy line is not settled on the page. Thirty-six reviews is a small sample beside Gripit or Lemiyoo. The piece count is the reason to open the box, and the review count is the reason not to treat it as a proved heavy fixing.

Pros

  • 82 anchors and 82 screws, matching the 164-piece title
  • About £6.99 with a plastic box
  • The listing names plasterboard and drywall
  • UK reviews describe curtain poles, pictures and light shelves

Cons

  • Only 36 reviews
  • No kilogram despite heavy-duty wording
  • Manganese steel on one field and carbon steel in a bullet
  • One review says they suit soft walls, not hard surfaces

Best for: A large box of self-drill anchors for pictures and light shelves on plasterboard, if you accept a small review sample.

Less suitable: A hard wall, a published heavy load, or anyone who needs a deep UK review record.

Specifications

Model
Soyoyora 164-piece kit
Brand
Soyoyora
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
4.5/5(36)
Fixing type
Self-drill metal
Stated load
No kilogram
Drill hole
No pre-drill
Screws included
Yes, 82 screws
Drill bit
No
Substrate
Plasterboard, drywall
Pack
82 anchors, 82 screws
Material
Steel, line conflicts

Common questions

What is in the Soyoyora 164-piece box?

The bullet lists 82 steel wall anchors and 82 zinc screws in a plastic box, matching the 164-piece title.

Do UK reviews limit the wall type?

Yes. One review says they suit soft walls such as plasterboard, not hard surfaces.

What load should you assume?

The bullet says heavy-duty capacity but prints no kilogram. UK reviews describe curtain poles, pictures and lightweight shelves.

Lemiyoo 70-piece metal set

Rank 6

Lemiyoo 70-piece metal set

Our view

The Lemiyoo box is listed at about £5.99 as 70 pieces: 20 short and 15 long zinc-alloy self-drilling anchors, M4 × 32 mm and M4 × 42 mm, plus 35 screws, with 4.4 from 1,071 reviews. The listing claims self-tapping threads and no pre-drill on plasterboard, composite board and wooden board. UK reviews say the supplied screws can bite so hard that the anchor spins and chews a larger hole, and some buyers switch to a smaller screw than the one in the box. The title’s 70 pieces includes those screws, so you do not receive 70 anchors. There is no kilogram, only heavy-duty wording. Two lengths in a plastic box are useful for light board fixes if you are ready to change the screw. It is not a stand-in for a published toggle table.

Pros

  • Two anchor lengths and 35 screws at about £5.99
  • 4.4 from 1,071 reviews
  • Self-tapping claim aimed at gypsum board
  • A plastic box keeps the short and long anchors apart

Cons

  • Supplied screws can spin the anchor and enlarge the hole
  • The 70-piece title counts the screws as well as the anchors
  • No kilogram is printed on the listing
  • Heavy-duty wording is not a British Gypsum safe working load

Best for: Pictures and light fittings on plasterboard when you can fit a smaller screw if the supplied one spins the anchor.

Less suitable: A heavy shelf, a hard masonry wall, or anyone who reads 70 pieces as 70 anchors.

Specifications

Model
Lemiyoo 70-piece metal set
Brand
Lemiyoo
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.4/5(1,071)
Fixing type
Self-drill metal
Stated load
No kilogram
Drill hole
No pre-drill
Screws included
Yes, 35 screws
Drill bit
No
Substrate
Gypsum and wood board
Pack
35 anchors, 35 screws
Material
Zinc alloy

Common questions

How many anchors are in the Lemiyoo box?

The contents bullet lists 20 short and 15 long anchors plus 35 screws. The title counts 70 pieces including the screws.

Do UK reviews mention spinning plugs?

Yes. Several say the supplied screws bite so hard that the anchor spins and chews a larger hole; others use a smaller screw than supplied.

Is a drill bit required?

The listing claims self-tapping threads with no pre-drill. A screwdriver is implied rather than a separate masonry bit.

Weniubit 100-piece self-drill

Rank 7

Weniubit 100-piece self-drill

Our view

Weniubit lists 50 zinc-alloy anchors and 50 screws at about £8.99, with 4.4 from 223 reviews, and a bullet says up to 20 kg per point on straight gypsum board. That seller figure sits above British Gypsum’s generic 6 kg safe working load for a metal self-drive in a single layer, so the bullet is not that table. The listing mixes a no pre-drill claim with wording about making a hole with a screwdriver, and the title also names concrete and bricks. UK reviews say tips snap, holes end up large with a poor bite, and a pilot start helps. Some buyers say they would rather drill a plastic plug. It is a mid-price metal kit with a number on the page that you should read as a seller bullet.

Pros

  • 50 anchors and 50 screws in a storage box
  • A 20 kg bullet is printed, unlike most self-drill cards here
  • 4.4 from 223 reviews
  • A self-drilling claim aimed at gypsum board

Cons

  • The 20 kg line is a seller bullet, not the British Gypsum 6 kg self-drive row
  • UK reviews report brittle tips snapping
  • The title names concrete and bricks as well as plasterboard
  • Pilot-hole wording conflicts with the no pre-drill claim

Best for: Light fittings on straight plasterboard if you start a pilot and stay well under the printed 20 kg bullet.

Less suitable: Anyone who wants the British Gypsum self-drive figure, or a hard wall the reviews say the tip cannot take.

Specifications

Model
Weniubit 100-piece self-drill
Brand
Weniubit
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.4/5(223)
Fixing type
Self-drill metal
Stated load
Up to 20 kg bullet
Drill hole
Wording conflicts
Screws included
Yes, 50 screws
Drill bit
No
Substrate
Board, brick, concrete
Pack
50 anchors, 50 screws
Material
Zinc alloy

Common questions

What load does the Weniubit bullet print?

It says up to 20 kg per attachment point on straight gypsum board. That is a seller bullet, not the British Gypsum 6 kg self-drive table.

Do you need a pilot hole?

The listing mixes no pre-drilling with making a hole using a screwdriver. UK reviews say a pilot start helps because the tip can snap.

What do UK reviews criticise?

Brittle tips snapping, large holes with poor bite, and a preference for a drilled plastic plug instead.

JASOLYI M4 × 38 mm, 25

Rank 8

JASOLYI M4 × 38 mm, 25

Our view

JASOLYI lists 25 zinc-plated M4 × 38 mm molly-style sleeves at about £8.31, with the screw already in the sleeve and a size line for 10–16 mm board. The amazon.co.uk page shows 4.3 from 10 reviews, the smallest sample in this set. One review says five sleeves snapped in the middle once they were in the wall, and another would not use this size for a television without checking the weight. The listing says heavy duty and prints no kilogram. One bullet also names concrete, which fights a hollow-board molly description. No drill bit is included, and the hole diameter is not in the raw text. Ten reviews are not enough to treat a snapped-sleeve report as a one-off.

Pros

  • The screw is already fitted in the metal sleeve
  • The size line quotes 10–16 mm board
  • A metal sleeve rather than a plastic wing
  • About £8.31 for 25 anchors

Cons

  • Only 10 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • One review reports five sleeves snapped in the wall
  • No kilogram and no drill diameter in the raw text
  • Concrete wording conflicts with a hollow-board molly description

Best for: A small metal-sleeve job on 10–16 mm board when you can accept a ten-review sample and check the load yourself.

Less suitable: A television, damp board, or anyone who needs a published kilogram and a large UK review count.

Specifications

Model
JASOLYI M4 × 38 mm, 25
Brand
JASOLYI
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
4.3/5(10)
Fixing type
Molly sleeve
Stated load
No kilogram
Drill hole
Diameter not stated
Screws included
Yes, pre-fitted
Drill bit
No
Substrate
Board 10–16 mm
Pack
25 anchors
Material
Zinc-plated steel

Common questions

What board thickness does JASOLYI quote?

The size line says suitable thickness 10–16 mm for the hollow sheet.

What do the ten UK reviews warn about?

One review says five sleeves snapped in the middle once in the wall. Another would not use this size for a TV without checking weight.

Is a drill bit included?

The listing does not state a drill bit. You drill a hole, insert until the teeth bite, then tighten to expand behind the board.

Wavanta 100-piece plugs and screws

Rank 9

Wavanta 100-piece plugs and screws

Our view

Wavanta lists 50 polypropylene butterfly plugs and 50 zinc screws at about £5.99, with an 8 mm drill in the bullet and 4.1 from 254 reviews. UK reviews repeat the 8 mm hole, then say the supplied screws are thin, strip the plastic thread, and can be too long or too short once the fitting is thicker than about 6–7 mm. There is no kilogram on the listing. Reviews describe light or medium duty once the back of the plug draws up behind the board. A humid-environment claim sits on the card without a load figure to go with it. The hole size is clearer than on several nylon packs in this set. The screw complaint is why the stars sit below the 4.6 nylon and toggle cards.

Pros

  • An 8 mm hole is stated in the bullet and repeated in reviews
  • 50 plugs and 50 screws at about £5.99
  • Reviews describe the back drawing up on hollow board
  • A clearer drill size than packs that only show a gauge

Cons

  • 4.1 from 254 reviews, below the 4.6 cards in this set
  • Supplied screws strip the plastic thread
  • Screws can miss the thread when the fitting is thicker than about 6–7 mm
  • No kilogram is printed on the listing

Best for: Light hollow-board fittings when you will change the screw if the supplied one strips the thread.

Less suitable: A thick bracket, a heavy shelf, or anyone who must use only the screws in the box.

Specifications

Model
Wavanta 100-piece plugs and screws
Brand
Wavanta
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.1/5(254)
Fixing type
Butterfly plug
Stated load
No kilogram
Drill hole
8 mm
Screws included
Yes, 50 screws
Drill bit
No
Substrate
Plasterboard, hollow
Pack
50 plugs, 50 screws
Material
Polypropylene

Common questions

What drill size does Wavanta state?

The bullet says drill an 8 mm hole, insert the tube, then tighten until the screw stops. UK reviews repeat 8 mm.

What is wrong with the supplied screws?

UK reviews say they are thin, strip the plastic thread, and can be too long or too short to engage when the fitting is thicker than about 6–7 mm.

Are they for heavy shelves?

There is no kilogram on the listing. Reviews describe light or medium duty once the back draws up.

PEAPIN 60-pack hollow anchors

Rank 10

PEAPIN 60-pack hollow anchors

Our view

PEAPIN lists nylon expanding hollow anchors with screws at about £4.79, with 4.1 from 149 reviews. The bullet recommends a 10 mm twist or triangle bit, while one review says the seller advised 8 mm, so the hole size is not settled. UK reviews say the supplied screws are too short to reach the back of the plug, which means the wings never pull up. One detailed review of a test on scrap 12.5 mm board reports about half of the plugs failed. The title says heavy duty and 60 pieces, a review counts 30 anchors and 30 screws, and an M8 thread field sits beside 3.5 × 50 mm screws in that review. Another review says the instructions were missing. The price is low, and the failure pattern is the part you should read before you trust the heavy-duty wording.

Pros

  • About £4.79 with screws included in the box
  • The wings are meant to draw up as the screw tightens
  • The listing names plasterboard cavities and hollow doors
  • A lower shelf price than the larger-sample metal kits

Cons

  • Reviews say the screws are too short to lock the wings
  • Drill size conflicts between 10 mm in the bullet and 8 mm in seller advice
  • One scrap-board account in the reviews reports about half failed
  • Pack count and thread size disagree across the listing

Best for: A trial of a cheap nylon hollow anchor only if you bring a longer screw and confirm the drill size first.

Less suitable: A finished shelf or television where a spun collar or a snapped plug would leave a large hole.

Specifications

Model
PEAPIN 60-pack hollow anchors
Brand
PEAPIN
Price
∼£5
Customer rating
4.1/5(149)
Fixing type
Nylon expanding
Stated load
No kilogram
Drill hole
8 mm or 10 mm
Screws included
Yes
Drill bit
No
Substrate
Plasterboard cavity
Pack
30 + 30 in a review
Material
Nylon

Common questions

What drill bit do PEAPIN buyers use?

The bullet recommends a 10 mm twist or triangle bit, not an impact bit. One review says the seller advised 8 mm instead.

Why do wings fail to lock?

UK reviews say the supplied screws are too short to reach the back of the plug, so the wings never pull up.

What failure rate appears in reviews?

One detailed UK account on scrap 12.5 mm board reports about half failed. Others describe spinning collars and snapped plastic.

NEBURORA 120-piece, three sizes

Rank 11

NEBURORA 120-piece, three sizes

Our view

NEBURORA lists a 120-piece galvanised self-drill set in 30 mm, 35 mm and 40 mm lengths at about £6.99, with 3.8 from 22 reviews, the lowest average in this comparison. A UK buyer would not trust them with weight beyond a picture, and another says the anchors bent easily going into plasterboard. The bullets mix self-tapping with no power tools and a hammer tap to start the bolt, so the install method is not one instruction. There is no kilogram on the card. Three lengths in a compartment box are the practical part of the listing if the tip actually bites. The star line is the reason to keep this box for pictures only, if you use it at all.

Pros

  • Three lengths, 30 mm, 35 mm and 40 mm, in one box
  • Screws included across those lengths
  • About £6.99 for 120 pieces
  • A no-power-tools bullet suits a very light picture if the tip bites

Cons

  • Lowest stars in the set, 3.8 from 22 reviews
  • UK text limits trust to pictures and reports bending
  • Hammer-tap wording conflicts with the no-drill bullets
  • No kilogram is printed

Best for: Very light picture hooks on plasterboard if you accept the weakest review line in this set.

Less suitable: Shelves, curtain poles with any real weight, or anyone choosing a fixing on stars alone.

Specifications

Model
NEBURORA 120-piece, three sizes
Brand
NEBURORA
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
3.8/5(22)
Fixing type
Self-drill metal
Stated load
No kilogram
Drill hole
No pre-drill
Screws included
Yes, three lengths
Drill bit
No
Substrate
Plasterboard, stucco
Pack
120 pieces, 3 lengths
Material
Galvanised steel

Common questions

What do UK reviewers say about load?

A UK buyer would not trust them with weight beyond a picture. Another says they bent easily going into plasterboard.

Do you need a drill?

Bullets mix self-tapping direct screwing with a hammer tap to start the bolt. That conflict is on the listing, not resolved in reviews.

Why is the star line lower?

The listing shows 3.8 from 22 reviews, the lowest average in this comparison set.

How we compared

Eleven amazon.co.uk listings were scored from the stored pages and the review notes already on file. Shelf date 19 October 2026. There is no laboratory test and no UKCA mark was verified on these listings. Stars are the listing line, not a workshop trial. The top pick and the best value follow the stored awards on those cards. The weights below sum to 100. They are an editorial sort, not a load test.

1

Job match

40%

The wall, the load direction and the mechanism have to agree. A plug that only opens behind the board is the wrong product for solid brick, and the wrong product for a dab gap if the load must reach the block.

2

Star line

18%

The amazon.co.uk star line is buyer satisfaction, not a load test. A high average does not prove a printed kilogram.

3

Review sample

18%

Stored review counts on these cards run from 10 to 6,661. A ten-review sample is not treated as a deep UK record.

4

Listing consistency

12%

Conflicts on the card count against it: a material field that disagrees with the bullets, a piece count that includes the screws, or a drill size that is not settled.

5

Value

12%

Shelf prices are the 19 October 2026 extracts. Piece count in the cheaper band is not the same as a published load figure, a drill bit, or screws in the box.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Plasterboard wall plug buying guide

Start with the wall and the direction of the load, then read what the pack actually contains. A star line is buyer satisfaction. It does not prove a kilogram printed on a different brand’s packet.

What a plasterboard wall plug has to match

A plasterboard wall plug holds a screw in gypsum board when the hole misses a stud or the masonry behind the board. UK shoppers meet the same fitting as plasterboard fixings, drywall anchors and hollow wall plugs. Quality is the mechanism plus a load figure that names shear, tension or cantilever, and the board thickness it was written for. Name the wall before the brand. A hollow stud partition, dot and dab over masonry, and a solid wall with a skim are three different jobs.

Best for

  • Pictures and light shelves on a hollow stud wall
  • A flush mirror, curtain pole or radiator where you will drill and read a load table

Not ideal for

  • A kitchen cabinet, a basin, or a swing-out television arm on a short board-only plug
  • Dot and dab when the load must bridge into the block

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    A masonry plug in hollow board

    A plug that needs solid material will spin in a cavity. Name the wall before you buy. A hollow stud, a dab gap and a skimmed solid wall are not the same hole.

  2. 2

    A shear kilogram on a cantilever

    Shear is the object flat to a vertical wall. A shelf or a television arm gets weaker as it stands further off the wall. Gripit’s 113 kg line is shear on 15 mm board, and the listing excludes full-motion brackets.

  3. 3

    Buying on piece count

    The cheaper band mostly buys how many pieces are in the box. A 70-piece title can include the screws. Over-tightening until the gypsum powders, and thin screws that strip the thread, show up in UK reviews on more than one card.

What to weigh up

Wall and load direction

High

Name the wall before you choose a mechanism. A hollow stud partition lets a toggle, a cam or a winged plug open behind the board. Dot and dab over masonry is a gap, and a short plug that only grips the board does not carry the load into the block. Fischer DDF is specified for a 45 mm dab gap. Corefix Connect 100 states 55 kg per fixing into the block, safety factor 2. Both sit outside this comparison. Solid brick or block with a skim needs a masonry fixing, not a hollow-wall anchor.

Pack contents and the printed kilogram

High

Read four lines on the pack: screws or not, drill bit or not, drill diameter, and board thickness. Gripit Blue states a 25 mm flat bit and screws for 9.5–15 mm board. DuoTec 10 is a 10 mm hole and plugs only. The PlasPlugs 50-pack does not put screws in the title, and reviews describe a gauge rather than one millimetre in the raw text. A self-drill box can include screws and still claim no pre-drill. UK reviews say that screw can spin the anchor or strip the thread.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A flush fitting on hollow board

You want the bit, the screws and a shear figure on the listing for 9.5–15 mm plasterboard. Gripit Blue is the top pick at about £8.98. The caution defines 113 kg as shear on 15 mm board with the object flat to the wall, and it excludes a full-motion television bracket. The 25 mm hole is large.

Own screws, deep cavity

You already own suitable screws and the cavity is deep enough for a toggle to drop behind the board. Fischer DuoTec 10 is about £12.99 for 20 nylon toggles and a 10 mm hole. The maker table is not printed on the listing. Screws are not in the box.

Light fittings, lowest plasterboard pack

You want a dedicated hollow plasterboard nylon pack and you already have screws and the bit the gauge names. PlasPlugs hollow plugs, 50, is the best value at about £3.99, with 4.6 from 931 reviews. There is no kilogram on the card.

Common questions about plasterboard wall plugs

Which plasterboard wall plug is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is Gripit Blue, six fixings at about £8.98. The box includes a 25 mm flat bit and screws. The caution defines 113 kg as shear on 15 mm plasterboard, with the object flat to a vertical wall, and it excludes full-motion television brackets. amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 6,661 reviews. That pairing of a defined shear line, the bit and the screws is why it leads this set. The stars are not a load test.
How much does a plasterboard wall plug cost on amazon.co.uk?
Prices are the amazon.co.uk extracts from 19 October 2026, not a live re-price. The entry band runs from about £3.99 to about £6.99. The mid band is about £8.31 to about £8.99. The highest price in this set is Fischer DuoTec 10 at about £12.99 for 20 plugs, with no screws in the box. A cheap pack mostly buys piece count. Gripit Blue and DuoTec are both 4.6 stars, so the star line does not choose between them.
What should you check before you buy a plasterboard wall plug?
Name the wall first: a hollow stud partition, dot and dab over masonry, or solid wall with a skim. Then name the load. Shear hangs flat on a vertical wall. Tension pulls out. A cantilever gets weaker as it stands further off the wall. Match the mechanism, and read whether screws and a drill bit are in the pack, plus the drill diameter and the board thickness. Do not copy a kilogram from a different brand’s packet. Stars show buyer satisfaction, not a load test.
Is 113 kg a pull-out rating for a plasterboard fixing?
No. The Gripit caution defines 113 kg as maximum shear on 15 mm plasterboard, with the object flat to a vertical wall. Tension on the maker sheet is 20 kg, and that line is not in the title. Cantilever falls as the load moves off the wall: 40 kg at 50 mm, 31 kg at 75 mm and 25 kg at 150 mm. The minimum board is 9.5 mm. Do not use 113 kg for a full-motion bracket.
What load should you assume for a metal self-drill?
British Gypsum’s generic table gives a metal self-drive a safe working load of 6 kg in a single layer and 8 kg in a double layer. A seller bullet that says up to 20 kg is not that row. Heavy BS 5234 fixtures, including basins, cupboards and shelving, belong on the frame or a fixing channel. Shear, tension and cantilever limits are in the heavy loads guide.
Can these plugs fix into a dot-and-dab wall?
A plug that only opens behind the board does not bridge a dab gap into the block. Fischer DDF allows a 45 mm gap. Corefix Connect 100 states 55 kg per fixing into the block, with a safety factor of 2. Neither product is in this comparison. If the cavity itself is the job, use the cavity wall plug comparison. Check for cables before you drill. If you cannot tell stud, dab or solid masonry, do not guess the plug.
Are screws included with plasterboard wall plugs?
It depends on the pack. Gripit Blue states screws and a 25 mm bit. Lemiyoo, Soyoyora, Weniubit, Wavanta, PEAPIN, JASOLYI and NEBURORA include screws. Fischer DuoTec 10 lists plugs only. The PlasPlugs 50-pack does not put screws in the title, and the bullet sends you to the pack instructions for the screw size. A low price can still assume a drill bit you already own. The Lemiyoo title’s 70 pieces includes the screws, so that count is not 70 anchors.
When should you call a professional?
Call a professional for a basin, a grab rail, a boiler or a kitchen run, and for a full-motion bracket the maker excludes. Call one when the board is damp or blown, or when you cannot tell a stud partition from dot and dab or solid masonry. A masonry plug in hollow board, and over-tightening until the gypsum powders, are mistakes a printed kilogram will not fix. Consumer Rights Act 2015 covers goods that are not as described. No UKCA mark was verified on these listings.

Our verdict

The top pick is Gripit Blue at about £8.98: six cam fixings, a 25 mm flat bit and screws, for 9.5–15 mm plasterboard. The caution defines 113 kg as shear on 15 mm board with the object flat to a vertical wall, and it excludes cantilever and full-motion television brackets. amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 6,661 reviews. The best value is the PlasPlugs 50-pack of winged nylon hollow plugs at about £3.99, with 4.6 from 931 reviews. Screws are not in the title and no kilogram is printed. Fischer DuoTec 10 at about £12.99 is the 10 mm toggle if you already own screws and the cavity is deep enough. None of these scores is a laboratory test. Prices are the 19 October 2026 extracts.

Best overall
Gripit Blue, pack of 6

Gripit Blue, pack of 6

The listing pairs a defined shear line on 15 mm board with the 25 mm bit and the screws, at about £8.98, with 4.6 from 6,661 reviews.

View offer
Best value
PlasPlugs hollow plugs, 50

PlasPlugs hollow plugs, 50

About £3.99 for 50 dedicated hollow plasterboard plugs, 4.6 from 931 reviews, when you already have screws and the bit the gauge names.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
Plasterboard fixingsHollow wall anchorsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to plasterboard wall plugs

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Sources from the research digest. Prices and star lines are amazon.co.uk extracts from 19 October 2026, not a live re-price.

  1. British Gypsum safe working loads for plasterboard fixings (Gyproc table) (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. Gripit product range data sheet (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. fischer DuoTec load table (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. fischer DuoBlade plasterboard fixing (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. Homebuilding & Renovating, plasterboard fixings (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. fischer DDF dot and dab fixing (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. Corefix Connect 100 at B&Q (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Consumer Rights Act 2015 (retrieved 19 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Listings were checked on amazon.co.uk. This is not a laboratory test, and it does not promise the cheapest price.