Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Hollow wall anchor setting tool comparison 2026

The best Hollow wall anchor setting tools, compared.

Top pick: TOPWAY molly gun Best value: TOPWAY molly gun – Tool-only plier at about £9.79 with 4.6 from 930 ratings. You supply the sleeves, and the stated stroke is 14 mm. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A hollow wall anchor setting tool is a hand plier that pulls a metal cavity anchor's screw back so the legs fold behind plasterboard instead of spinning. In the UK you buy one after ordinary plugs tear out of a stud wall, for curtain rails, mirrors, light shelves and towel rails. It is the wrong fixing for a basin or a large television on the board alone. Judge the jaw, the stroke and whether the sleeve matches the board and the hole printed for that anchor. The wall must be a board with a clear void. A stud wants a screw into the timber or metal. A dot-and-dab lining often wants a fixing that reaches the masonry. Use the drill size printed for that anchor, because M4, M5 and M6 charts do not share one bit. Read the load from the anchor maker. A published UK example in board up to 12.5 mm is 12 kg. See the [hollow wall anchor setting tool buying guide](/hub/screws-and-accessories/hollow-wall-anchor-setting-tool/sub/hollow-wall-anchor-setting-tool-buying-guide).

A hollow wall anchor setting tool is a hand plier that pulls a metal cavity anchor's screw back so the legs fold behind plasterboard instead of spinning.

TOPWAY molly gun

Best overall

TOPWAY molly gun
9.2/10∼ £10

36 products checked · 64 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

10 of 10: Best Hollow wall anchor setting tools compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 10
Best overall
TOPWAY molly gun
T.K.Excellent 60-piece kit
Philoch M4-M6 gun
Brackit 88-piece kit
HXX1020 pliers kit
NERDON cavity gun
Becho gun and plugs
LIBRATON six-size kit
LIYOU 72-piece set
CRCFSUK M5 kit
9.2/10
9.2/10
9.0/10
8.8/10
8.8/10
8.8/10
8.6/10
8.2/10
7.4/10
6.2/10
∼ £10
∼ £23
∼ £8
∼ £19
∼ £15
∼ £10
∼ £18
∼ £25
∼ £16
∼ £18
4.6(930)
4.6(801)
4.5(249)
4.4(3,474)
4.4(114)
4.4(2)
4.3(71)
4.1(152)
3.7(36)
3.1(3)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best Hollow wall anchor setting tools in detail

TOPWAY molly gun

Rank 1

TOPWAY molly gun

∼£10

Our view

The TOPWAY 405500 listing is about £9.79 and shows 4.6 from 930 ratings. It is a tool only, with a stated 14 mm stroke, and no anchors in the box. It is the best value card in this set on price plus rating count for a plier you pair with your own sleeves. That is an editorial sort, not a load test.

Pros

  • about £9.79
  • 4.6 from 930 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • Compact metal tool for plasterboard cavity anchors

Cons

  • No sleeves in the box
  • 14 mm stroke may not set a long M5, as one review found

Best for: Occasional plasterboard jobs when you already have M4 or M5 cavity anchors.

Less suitable: Long anchors that need a longer pull, or a buyer who wants sleeves in the same box.

Specifications

Model
TOPWAY molly gun
Brand
TOPWAY
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.6/5(930)
Sizes
No M-size list
Anchors in box
No
Substrate
Plasterboard cavity
Body
Metal, 14 mm stroke
Weight
420 g
Included
Tool only

Common questions

Are anchors included with the TOPWAY gun?

No. The listing is a setting tool for cavity wall anchors. You buy the sleeves separately.

What stroke does the listing state?

14 mm maximum working stroke, and a 16-times arm-force figure. A UK review says it would not compress long TIMco 75 mm M5 anchors.

What do UK reviews repeat?

Most say it is easier than setting mollies by hand and sturdy for occasional jobs. A minority report a strong squeeze to start, or a plastic grip that slipped off the screw head.

T.K.Excellent 60-piece kit

Rank 2

T.K.Excellent 60-piece kit

∼£23

Our view

The T.K.Excellent HU-XI-86 listing is about £22.99 and shows 4.6 from 801 ratings. You get a metal gun and 60 zinc-plated molly bolts in three sleeve sizes, in a box. The shear field says High and gives no kilogram. Review themes are confidence on plasterboard and hard handles.

Pros

  • about £22.99
  • 4.6 from 801 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • 60 anchors and a box

Cons

  • M-thread and sleeve-diameter wording do not match
  • Handles are hard to start, in more than one review

Best for: A plasterboard house where you want three sleeve diameters and a gun together.

Less suitable: A buyer who needs a stated M6 count, or a light squeeze.

Specifications

Model
T.K.Excellent 60-piece kit
Brand
T.K.Excellent
Price
∼£23
Customer rating
4.6/5(801)
Sizes
8 and 11 mm sleeves
Anchors in box
60 molly bolts
Substrate
Drywall, plasterboard
Body
Metal, rubber grips
Load figure
High, no kg
Weight
1330 g
Case
Durable box
Included
Gun and 60 bolts

Common questions

Does this kit include a storage box?

Yes. The bullets describe a durable box with the gun and 60 molly bolts.

What sizes are printed?

8 x 34 mm, 11 x 36 mm and 11 x 50 mm. The title also says M4 M5. A review says you need an 8 mm or 11 mm drill.

What do UK reviews repeat?

Buyers praise a secure mount where plastic plugs failed, and say the handles need a strong squeeze. One buyer could not get the handles to pull at all.

Philoch M4-M6 gun

Rank 3

Philoch M4-M6 gun

Our view

The Philoch listing is about £7.99 and shows 4.5 from 249 ratings. It is a tool only, stated for M4, M5 and M6, at 16.3 x 12.5 x 2.7 cm and 460 g. Reviews include missing E-clips and a frame one buyer calls plastic, against a metal claim on the card.

Pros

  • about £7.99
  • 4.5 from 249 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • States M4, M5 and M6

Cons

  • No anchors and no instructions in the reviews
  • Missing clips and a plastic-frame report

Best for: A cheap plier for a few M4 to M6 cavity anchors you already own.

Less suitable: Trade use, or anyone who needs the sleeves and a case in one box.

Specifications

Model
Philoch M4-M6 gun
Brand
Philoch
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
4.5/5(249)
Sizes
M4, M5 and M6
Anchors in box
No
Substrate
Stud walls, plasterboard
Body
Metal, rubber grips
Weight
460 g
Included
Tool only

Common questions

Which anchors does the Philoch listing name?

M4, M5 and M6 cavity anchors. No anchors are in the box.

Can it be used on plasterboard?

The listing says it sets cavity fixings in hollow stud walls. Reviews describe plasterboard shelves and a hollow door.

What do UK reviews repeat?

It does the job if you squeeze hard. Several buyers found retaining clips missing, so the pins fell out. One says the frame is plastic.

Brackit 88-piece kit

Rank 4

Brackit 88-piece kit

∼£19

Our view

The Brackit MT2152 listing on amazon.co.uk is about £18.99 and shows 4.4 from 3,474 ratings. It is a kit: a steel setting tool, M4 and M5 molly sizes, a case and instructions. The title and the bullet counts do not match. Review themes include solid holds on plasterboard and tools that broke after repeated squeezes. This card is the top pick only as the most-reviewed kit in this set, not as a load test.

Pros

  • about £18.99
  • 4.4 from 3,474 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • Case, instructions and four stated sleeve lengths

Cons

  • Title says 88 pieces; bullets list 80 sleeves
  • UK reviews include broken pins and stripped threads

Best for: A stud-wall house where you want a case of M4 and M5 sleeves with the plier.

Less suitable: A job that needs M6, or a buyer who wants a tool-only plier and branded sleeves.

Specifications

Model
Brackit 88-piece kit
Brand
Brackit
Price
∼£19
Customer rating
4.4/5(3,474)
Sizes
M4 and M5, four lengths
Anchors in box
80 sleeves
Substrate
Plasterboard, hollow block
Body
Steel, non-slip grip
Weight
1430 g
Case
Plastic case
Included
Tool, sleeves, case

Common questions

Does the Brackit kit include a setting tool?

Yes. The listing describes a specialist setting gun with a non-slip grip, plus molly bolts and a plastic carry case.

Which anchor sizes does the listing count?

The bullets say 28 M4 x 39 mm, 20 M4 x 45 mm, 22 M5 x 45 mm and 10 M5 x 58 mm. That is 80 sleeves. The title says 88 pieces and mentions wall hooks.

What do UK reviews repeat?

Many buyers use it on stud walls where plastic plugs failed. Others report a pin that wore through, threads that stripped, and a screw head too small for the jaw without a washer.

HXX1020 pliers kit

Rank 5

HXX1020 pliers kit

∼£15

Our view

The HXX1020 listing is about £14.96 and shows 4.4 from 114 ratings. The title names M4, M5 and M6 cavity dowels with a metal plier. Counts and a brand name are not stated on the listing. There is no kilogram on the card. Reviews include both jobs that stayed up and a jaw groove that chipped.

Pros

  • about £14.96
  • 4.4 from 114 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • M4, M5 and M6 named together

Cons

  • Anchor counts not stated
  • A review describes a plastic groove that failed

Best for: A mid-price plier when you want M4 to M6 named on the title.

Less suitable: A buyer who needs a counted kit or a known brand.

Specifications

Model
HXX1020 pliers kit
Brand
n/a
Price
∼£15
Customer rating
4.4/5(114)
Sizes
M4, M5 and M6
Anchors in box
Named, uncounted
Substrate
Drywall, hollow block
Body
Metal, rubber grips
Weight
1300 g
Included
Tool and dowels

Common questions

Does the HXX1020 come with a storage box?

The listing questions ask about a box. The bullets do not confirm one. A review mentions a carry case and plugs.

Which threads does the title name?

M4, M5 and M6 metal cavity dowels. It does not say how many of each.

What do UK reviews repeat?

User reports mention brackets and a dartboard. Others say it needs a strong hand, and one plastic groove chipped by the 12th anchor.

NERDON cavity gun

Rank 6

NERDON cavity gun

∼£10

Our view

The NERDON listing is about £9.99 and shows 4.4 from 2 ratings. It is a 388 g metal tool for M4, M5 and M6, with no anchors. Two reviews are not a durability record. One buyer needed two hands and saw the pull-back slip after about 10 holes.

Pros

  • about £9.99
  • States M4, M5 and M6
  • 388 g tool only

Cons

  • Only 2 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • No instructions, in the review that mentions them

Best for: A spare plier when you already own M4 to M6 sleeves.

Less suitable: Anyone choosing on review volume. This card has two ratings.

Specifications

Model
NERDON cavity gun
Brand
NERDON
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.4/5(2)
Sizes
M4, M5 and M6
Anchors in box
No
Substrate
Plasterboard, hollow brick
Body
Metal, rubber handles
Weight
388 g
Included
Tool only

Common questions

Does the NERDON tool include anchors?

No. The package quantity is 1 and the listing records no anchors.

Will the listing claim M6?

Yes. The title and a bullet say M4, M5 and M6 hollow wall anchors, for plasterboard among other boards.

What do the two UK reviews say?

One set a shelf bracket in plasterboard and felt the mechanism slip after about 10 holes. The other bought it as a replacement and does not report a break. Two reviews is a thin sample.

Becho gun and plugs

Rank 7

Becho gun and plugs

∼£18

Our view

The Becho listing is about £17.88 and shows 4.3 from 71 ratings. You get one gun and 24 anchors across M4, M5 and M6. There is no kilogram on the card. Four UK reviews note repeated DIY use for one buyer, and a twisted handle for another.

Pros

  • about £17.88
  • M4, M5 and M6 counts are printed
  • 750 g pack

Cons

  • No load figure
  • A review calls it too flimsy for trade

Best for: A small counted set of three metric sizes with a gun.

Less suitable: Daily trade use, on the evidence of the review that returned a twisted handle.

Specifications

Model
Becho gun and plugs
Brand
Becho
Price
∼£18
Customer rating
4.3/5(71)
Sizes
M4, M5 and M6
Anchors in box
24 metal anchors
Substrate
Plasterboard, stud walls
Body
Metal, rubber grips
Weight
750 g
Included
Gun and 24 anchors

Common questions

How many plugs are in the Becho pack?

10 of M4 x 32 mm, 8 of M5 x 52 mm and 6 of M6 x 65 mm, plus one fixing gun.

Does a review say it fits other anchors?

Yes. One buyer says it suits other manufacturers' anchors from the shops. That is one report.

What do UK reviews repeat?

Four reviews are on the listing. Praise is easy use on stud walls. Criticism is a flimsy feel for trade use, and one twisted handle that was returned.

LIBRATON six-size kit

Rank 8

LIBRATON six-size kit

∼£25

Our view

The LIBRATON 919021 listing is about £24.99 and shows 4.1 from 152 ratings. It is the widest size list in this set: six lengths from M4 x 32 mm to M6 x 65 mm, plus a tool, for a stated 3-38 mm panel. The 65 lb line is a seller claim. Seven UK reviews do not describe a snapped tool.

Pros

  • about £24.99
  • Six stated metric sizes
  • Tool included

Cons

  • 65 lb is not a sourced safe working load
  • One review reports a water-damaged box

Best for: A buyer who wants M4, M5 and M6 lengths in one box and accepts a claim, not a datasheet.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a published safe working load before they hang a heavy item.

Specifications

Model
LIBRATON six-size kit
Brand
LIBRATON
Price
∼£25
Customer rating
4.1/5(152)
Sizes
Six sizes, M4-M6
Anchors in box
30 molly bolts
Substrate
Board, 3-38 mm
Body
Aluminium, steel head
Load figure
65 lb claim
Weight
880 g
Case
Box
Included
30 bolts and tool

Common questions

Does the LIBRATON kit include a setting tool?

Yes. The bullets say 30 molly bolts in six sizes and one setting tool.

What weight does the listing print?

65 lb, plus a line that says 12 times stronger than plastic anchors. Neither line cites a test method.

What do UK reviews repeat?

Seven reviews are on the listing. They say it works if you hold it correctly, that quality is only fair, and that one box arrived water damaged.

LIYOU 72-piece set

Rank 9

LIYOU 72-piece set

∼£16

Our view

The LIYOU LY1020 listing is about £15.99 and shows 3.7 from 36 ratings. The title is a 72-piece molly set with a carbon-steel tool. A bullet also says jack nut. There is no kilogram. Reviews include a first-use break and a missing latch plate.

Pros

  • about £15.99
  • M3 to M6 named
  • Use steps are printed on the listing

Cons

  • Molly and jack-nut words conflict
  • Reviews include a break on first use

Best for: A buyer who has read the six steps and only needs light cavity anchors.

Less suitable: A buyer who needs one mechanism named clearly, or a tool with a large review count.

Specifications

Model
LIYOU 72-piece set
Brand
LIYOU
Price
∼£16
Customer rating
3.7/5(36)
Sizes
M3, M4, M5, M6
Anchors in box
72 pieces stated
Substrate
Drywall, hollow block
Body
Carbon steel, PVC grips
Weight
1000 g
Case
Durable box
Included
Tool and anchors

Common questions

Is this a molly set or a jack-nut set?

The title says molly bolts. One bullet calls it a jack-nut tool kit. Treat that as a conflict, not as proof the jaw fits both.

Does it come with a box?

Yes. The bullets say a durable box. A review expected a latch plate and says it was missing.

What do UK reviews repeat?

Five reviews are on the listing. One says easy and good quality. Others say the tool was poorly made, broke on first use, or arrived without a latch plate.

CRCFSUK M5 kit

Rank 10

CRCFSUK M5 kit

∼£18

Our view

The CRCFSUK M5 kit is about £17.99 and shows 3.1 from 3 ratings. You get 30 M5 anchors in three lengths, 30 screws, a tool and a case. The written review says the grip would not set the bolts. Three ratings cannot support a quality claim.

Pros

  • about £17.99
  • Three M5 lengths with matching screws
  • Case included

Cons

  • 3.1 from 3 ratings
  • The review on the listing says the tool did not expand the anchors

Best for: Only if you specifically want an M5-only set and can return it easily.

Less suitable: A first plasterboard kit. The review count is three and the written review is a failure.

Specifications

Model
CRCFSUK M5 kit
Brand
CRCFSUK
Price
∼£18
Customer rating
3.1/5(3)
Sizes
M5, three lengths
Anchors in box
30 anchors, 30 screws
Substrate
Drywall, hollow doors
Body
Carbon steel claimed
Weight
900 g
Case
Pre-sorted case
Included
Anchors, screws, tool

Common questions

What board thicknesses does the listing state?

5-10 mm for the M5 x 37, 7-21 mm for the M5 x 52, and 20-34 mm for the M5 x 65. A separate line says objects up to 24 mm thick.

Does it claim a shelf load?

The listing questions ask about shelves. The bullets say mounting objects. There is no kilogram.

What does the UK review say?

The listing shows 3 ratings. The written review says the buyer drilled 9 mm holes and the pistol grip would not expand the bolts. Three ratings is a thin sample.

How we compared

Ten amazon.co.uk listings were scored from the stored pages and the review notes already on file, scraped on 19 October 2026. There is no laboratory test. Stars are the listing line, not a workshop trial. The top pick is the Brackit 88-piece kit, the most-reviewed kit in this set. The best value is the TOPWAY molly gun, a tool-only plier, on price plus rating count. Neither award is a load test. The weights below sum to 100.

1

Clear void

25%

The wall has to be a board with a void behind it. A timber or metal stud wants a screw into the stud. A dot-and-dab lining often wants a fixing that reaches the masonry, not a sleeve folded in the board.

2

Sleeve and board

20%

Sleeve length has to match the measured panel, including tiles. One maker lists an M5 x 37 for 6-15 mm board. Longer rows start around 24 mm of substrate. A kit of one length fails on a different wall.

3

Jaw and stroke

20%

The jaw has to fit the screw head and have enough stroke to fold the legs. Short heads need a washer in several UK reviews. One listing states a 14 mm maximum stroke, and a review says it would not set a long M5.

4

Drill on the packet

15%

The drill diameter is the one printed for that anchor. One chart is 8 mm, 10 mm and 12 mm for M4, M5 and M6. Another maker's chart uses 7 mm, 9 mm and 10 mm for its own parts. Do not mix the charts.

5

Maker load

10%

Read the load from the anchor maker. A published UK example for an expanding cavity fixing in board up to 12.5 mm is 12 kg safe working load. A 65 lb line on a listing is not that figure.

6

One mechanism

10%

Prefer a listing that names M4 to M6 cavity anchors only. A title that also says jack nut, riveter or toggle has not specified the jaw. DuoHM, spring toggles and jack nuts are not set with this plier.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Hollow wall anchor setting tool buying guide

Decide the wall and the sleeve before you decide the plier. A kit is only useful when the sleeves match the board you measured. A tool-only plier makes sense when you already buy anchors to the maker's chart. Load figures belong to that chart, not to a converted pound line on a listing. The ten cards here were not load-tested.

What is a hollow wall anchor setting tool?

A hollow wall anchor setting tool is a hand plier. It pulls the screw of a metal cavity anchor, a molly bolt or an interset, straight back so the legs fold against the rear of plasterboard instead of spinning. In the UK you buy one after ordinary plugs tear out of a stud wall, for curtain rails, mirrors, light shelves and towel rails. Do not treat it as a fixing for a basin or a large television on the board alone. Stars on the amazon.co.uk cards are buyer opinions.

Best for

  • Stud walls, for rails, mirrors and light shelves
  • A buyer who already uses branded sleeves and only needs a jaw
  • Someone weighing a kit against a tool-only plier

Not ideal for

  • A basin, a radiator or a large television on the board alone
  • A dot-and-dab wall that needs a fixing into the masonry
  • A jack nut, a spring toggle or a fixing that does not use this plier

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Driving the screw before the legs fold

    The plier has to pull the screw back until the legs resist. If you drive the screw first, the anchor can spin in the hole. Seat the lugs, squeeze, then refit the screw.

  2. 2

    One drill bit for every thread

    The drill diameter is the one printed for that anchor. One chart is 8 mm, 10 mm and 12 mm for M4, M5 and M6. Another uses 7 mm, 9 mm and 10 mm for its own parts. Do not mix the charts.

  3. 3

    Reading 65 lb as a safe working load

    A 65 lb line, and a claim of twelve times a plastic anchor, has no test method on the card. A published UK example for an expanding cavity fixing in board up to 12.5 mm is 12 kg safe working load. Read the load from the anchor maker.

What to weigh up

Wall, sleeve length and drill

High

The wall must be a board with a clear void. A timber or metal stud wants a screw into the stud. A dot-and-dab lining often wants a fixing that reaches the masonry, and British Gypsum's Site Book puts medium loads on dabbed linings on a masonry plug, not on a sleeve in the board. Sleeve length has to match the measured panel, including tiles. Fischer's HM 5 x 37 is listed for 6-15 mm board. Rawlplug's longer Interset rows start around 24 mm of substrate.

Jaw, stroke and stated load

High

The jaw must fit the screw head and have enough stroke to fold the legs. Short heads need a washer in several UK reviews. TOPWAY states a 14 mm maximum stroke, and one review says that card would not set a long TIMco M5. Prefer a tool whose listing names M4 to M6 cavity anchors only. A title that also says jack nut, riveter or toggle has not specified the jaw. Fischer DuoHM prints 20 kg in 12.5 mm board and does not use this plier. Read the load from the anchor maker.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Stud-wall rails and shelves

You want curtain rails and light shelves on a stud wall, with M4 and M5 sleeves in a case. The Brackit 88-piece kit is the top pick at about £18.99, with 4.4 from 3,474 ratings. The title and the bullet counts do not match, and some UK reviews report a broken pin.

You already own the sleeves

You already buy cavity anchors and only need a jaw for M4 or M5. The TOPWAY molly gun is the best value at about £9.79, with 4.6 from 930 ratings. It is a tool only, with a stated 14 mm stroke, and a review says it would not set a long M5.

Our recommendation

View offer

Counted M4 to M6 in one box

You want M4, M5 and M6 counted in one box. The Becho gun and plugs list 10 of M4 x 32 mm, 8 of M5 x 52 mm and 6 of M6 x 65 mm, at about £17.88 and 4.3 from 71 ratings. There is no kilogram on the listing, and a review calls it too flimsy for trade.

Common questions about Hollow wall anchor setting tools

What is a hollow wall anchor setting tool?
A hollow wall anchor setting tool is a hand plier that pulls the screw of a metal cavity anchor straight back so the legs fold behind plasterboard instead of spinning. You buy one for rails, mirrors and light shelves on a stud wall after ordinary plugs tear out. It needs a board with a clear void. It is not a fixing for a basin or a large television on the board alone, and it does not set a spring toggle or a jack nut.
How much does a hollow wall anchor setting tool cost on amazon.co.uk?
On the ten amazon.co.uk listings captured on 19 October 2026, shelf prices run from about £7.99 to about £24.99. Tool-only pliers sit about £7.99 to £9.99. Kits and a tool sold with a few dowels sit about £14.96 to £18.99. The dearest two kits are about £22.99 and about £24.99. These are the captured shelf prices, not a market average. A named long-arm plier can cost more than the dearest kit here and still be only a tool.
What should you check before you buy?
Confirm the wall is a board with a void, then match the sleeve length to the panel, including tiles. Use the drill diameter printed for that anchor, and do not mix charts from different makers. The jaw has to fit the screw head and have enough stroke. Short heads often need a washer. Read the load from the anchor maker. A UK example for an M5-class expanding fixing in board up to 12.5 mm is 12 kg safe working load.
Is a tool-only plier better than a kit?
A tool-only plier leaves you to supply the sleeves, which suits you if you already buy anchors to a maker's chart. A kit adds sleeves and often a case, and it only helps when those sleeves fit your board. Reviews in this set most often fault the bolts in the box. The best value is the tool-only plier at about £9.79. The top pick is the most-reviewed kit at about £18.99, and that award is the review count, not a load test.
Is 65 lb a safe working load?
No. A 65 lb line, and a line that says twelve times stronger than plastic anchors, appears on one kit here. Neither line cites a test method, so do not treat it as a safe working load. Read the load from the anchor maker. A published UK example for an expanding cavity fixing in board up to 12.5 mm is 12 kg, with a typical failure of 48 kg. One maker prints 22 kg, 22 kg and 37 kg for its own M4, M5 and M6 in that board.
How do you set a metal cavity anchor?
Drill the diameter printed for that anchor, seat the lugs against the face, and squeeze until the legs resist. Then refit the screw. Do not drive the screw before the legs have folded, or the anchor can spin. One drill bit does not suit every thread. The full sequence, and the point where you should stop, is in how to use a hollow wall anchor setting tool. If the face has already blown out, call a professional rather than squeezing again.
When is a plasterboard plug the better route?
Use a plasterboard wall plug comparison when the fixing is a plug that does not need this jaw, or when you are still choosing between a plastic plug and a metal cavity anchor. Ordinary plugs are what tear out of a stud wall, which is why people buy the plier. A dot-and-dab lining is different again: medium loads there are often taken on a masonry plug, not on a sleeve in the board. This plier does not set spring toggles or jack nuts.
When should you call a professional?
Call a professional for a basin, a radiator or a frame-fixed load, for a dabbed wall that needs more than a hook, and when the plasterboard face has already blown out. Cupboards and basins in the published UK fixing table go into studs, a fixing channel or masonry, not into an expanding sleeve in board up to 12.5 mm. If the jaw will not pull, or the kit is not as described, Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9, is the satisfactory-quality rule. This comparison did not load-test any listing.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Brackit 88-piece kit at about £18.99. It is the most-reviewed kit in this set, at 4.4 from 3,474 amazon.co.uk ratings, with M4 and M5 sleeves, a case and a steel plier. The title and the bullet counts do not match, and UK reviews include broken pins. The best value is the TOPWAY molly gun at about £9.79, with 4.6 from 930 ratings. It is a tool only, with a stated 14 mm stroke, so you supply the sleeves and a long M5 may not set. Neither card was load-tested.

Best overall
TOPWAY molly gun

TOPWAY molly gun

View offer
Best value
TOPWAY molly gun

TOPWAY molly gun

Tool-only plier at about £9.79 with 4.6 from 930 ratings. You supply the sleeves, and the stated stroke is 14 mm.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
Hollow wall anchorsPlasterboard fixingsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to Hollow wall anchor setting tools

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, used for this page in October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are from the ten amazon.co.uk listings captured on 19 October 2026. There is no laboratory test. A 65 lb listing line is not a safe working load.

  1. Fischer UK, metal cavity fixing HM (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. Fischer UK, cavity fixing DuoHM (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. Rawlplug, SM Interset (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. Rawlplug, AT-88 setting tool (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. British Gypsum Site Book (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. Wonkee Donkee, metal anchor expansion tools (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. Rapid, how hollow wall anchors work (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9 (retrieved 19 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the listings. This is not a laboratory test.