Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Firelighter comparison 2026

The best firelighters, compared.

Top pick: Log Barn (200) – Score 96, shared with two Ecoblaze listings, and the largest review count that is not a copy of another file in this set: 4.7 from 22,250 reviews. Best value: Ecoblaze (200) – Same score of 96, at about £10.99 and about 5.5p a piece, with 4.7 from 13,099 reviews. Cheaper tickets in this set have lower scores. Updated 22.10.2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A firelighter is a small solid starter for charcoal, briquettes, logs or kindling. You are choosing between waxed wood wool and a white cube. These eleven UK review files describe a piece that catches without petrol, burns long enough for the fuel to take, and leaves little chemical smell. A gas lighter wand is a different product. Count, form and a printed burn claim are in the [firelighter buying guide](/hub/grill-accessories/firelighter/sub/firelighter-buying-guide). Ten of the eleven amazon.co.uk listings are wood wool, a waxed shaving sold as a block or a stick. This amazon.co.uk file’s material field says wood and does not print kerosene, and the bullets do not state a burn time, so the listing does not settle the composition.

A firelighter is a small solid starter for charcoal, briquettes, logs or kindling. You are choosing between waxed wood wool and a white cube.

Log Barn (200)

Best overall

Log Barn (200)
9.6/10∼ £13

38 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

11 of 11: Best firelighters compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 11
Best overall
Log Barn (200)
Ecoblaze (1,000)
Best value
Ecoblaze (200)
KEPLIN (200)
Zip cubes (480)
Munnie (200)
Munnie (400)
Fox Bunny (200)
Fastblaze (200)
Ecoblaze high-density (200)
EMBO (32)
9.6/10
9.6/10
9.6/10
9.4/10
9.0/10
8.2/10
8.2/10
7.8/10
8.8/10
8.7/10
7.2/10
∼ £13
∼ £37
∼ £11
∼ £12
∼ £28
∼ £10
∼ £14
∼ £10
∼ £9
∼ £8
∼ £4
4.7(22,250)
4.7(13,100)
4.7(13,099)
4.6(2,450)
4.6(364)
4.5(74)
4.5(74)
4.4(40)
4.3(637)
4.2(599)
4.2(21)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

Where will you light it?

The best firelighters in detail

Log Barn (200)

Rank 1

Log Barn (200)

∼£13

Our view

The Log Barn KNIND-10 is 200 wax-dipped wood-shaving blocks at £12.99, about 6.5p each, with an item weight of 1.89 kg and an origin field of United Kingdom. The listing claims a burn of up to 10 minutes and no scent, and it tells you to use one piece on kindling or two or three if you light kiln-dried logs without kindling. It shows 4.7 from 22,250 reviews, the largest file in this set. In the first 50 UK reviews, buyers often describe one piece lighting a stove, barbecue or pizza oven without a chemical smell. Loose pieces, a damp box and a black sack instead of a box are the repeated complaints. Ready to Burn is named for the firm’s logs and kindling, not as a certificate number on these firelighters. The same 4.7 star line on Ecoblaze’s 200-count costs £2 less.

Pros

  • 4.7 from 22,250 reviews, the largest file in this set
  • Untreated wood shavings dipped in wax, with no liquid chemicals claimed
  • Printed dose: one piece on kindling, two or three without
  • Origin field says United Kingdom

Cons

  • £12.99, about 6.5p a piece, dearer than Ecoblaze’s 200-count
  • Loose pieces, a damp box and a black sack instead of a box
  • Ready to Burn is not a certificate number on this page

Best for: You light a stove, barbecue or pizza oven often and want the largest independent UK review file.

Less suitable: You want the lowest price per piece, or a wax grade named on the listing.

Specifications

Model
Log Barn (200)
Brand
Log Barn
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
4.7/5(22,250)
Count
200
Piece price
6.5p
Burn claim
Up to 10 min
Odour
No scent
Material
Waxed shavings
Origin
United Kingdom

Common questions

What are these firelighters made from?

The bullets say untreated wood shavings dipped in wax, with no liquid chemicals. The material field says wood. The scent field says no scent.

How many does Log Barn say to use?

One piece on top of kindling. Two or three if you are lighting kiln-dried logs or heat logs without kindling. The bullet also says not to hold the firelighter while you light it.

What do the UK reviews repeat?

In the first 50 UK reviews, buyers often describe one piece lighting a stove, barbecue or pizza oven without a chemical smell. Loose pieces, a damp box and a black sack instead of a box also appear.

Ecoblaze (1,000)

Rank 2

Ecoblaze (1,000)

∼£37

Our view

The Ecoblaze EBFL-L-5 is 1,000 wood-wool blocks at £36.99, about 3.7p each, with a burn claim of up to 8 minutes and a resealable box. The bullets say 100 percent wood wool, free from harmful chemicals, and odourless. The star line reads 4.7 from 13,100. The first 50 UK review bodies match the 200-count Ecoblaze listing, so they are not a separate sample of this box. The burn line here is 8 minutes, not the 10 minutes printed on the 200-count. Item weight is not stated. That copied review file is the limit on reading the stars as proof of the larger box.

Pros

  • 1,000 pieces at about 3.7p each
  • Resealable box on the listing
  • Burn claim of up to 8 minutes is printed
  • Bullets say wood wool, free from harmful chemicals

Cons

  • Review texts match the 200-count Ecoblaze file
  • Burn claim is 8 minutes, shorter than the 200-count’s 10
  • £36.99 to pay up front
  • Item weight is not stated

Best for: You already use the 200-count Ecoblaze and want the lower piece price in one order.

Less suitable: You want an independent review sample of the 1,000 box, or you only light a few fires a year.

Specifications

Model
Ecoblaze (1,000)
Brand
Ecoblaze
Price
∼£37
Customer rating
4.7/5(13,100)
Count
1,000
Piece price
3.7p
Burn claim
Up to 8 min
Odour
No scent
Material
Wood wool

Common questions

Is this the same pack as the 200-count Ecoblaze?

No. This file is 1,000 pieces, model EBFL-L-5, at £36.99, with a burn claim of up to 8 minutes and a resealable box.

Can the star line be read on its own?

The line says 4.7 from 13,100. The review texts in this saved listing match the 200-count Ecoblaze file, so they are not a separate sample of the 1,000 box.

What does the listing say they are made of?

The bullets say 100 percent wood wool, free from harmful chemicals, and odourless. The material field says wood.

Ecoblaze (200)

Rank 3

Ecoblaze (200)

∼£11

Our view

The Ecoblaze EBFL is 200 wood blocks at £10.99, about 5.5p each, with an item weight of 1.9 kg. A bullet claims a burn of up to 10 minutes and that a single match is enough. It shows 4.7 from 13,099 reviews, the same star line as Log Barn at £2 less. Across the first 50 UK reviews, buyers often say the blocks light easily, with little smell, on a log burner, barbecue or chimney. Courier damage is the repeated complaint, not a failed light. The material field says wood, with no wax line and no chemical-free certificate on the page. Indoor use is asked on the listing and not answered in a bullet, and the origin field is blank.

Pros

  • £10.99 for 200 blocks, about 5.5p each
  • 4.7 from 13,099 reviews
  • UK reviews often describe an easy light with little smell
  • Rank in this file is 1 in Charcoal Starters

Cons

  • Courier damage is the repeated complaint
  • No wax line and no chemical-free certificate
  • Indoor use is asked and not answered in a bullet

Best for: You want a 200-count wood-block box at a lower piece price than Log Barn, with a large review file.

Less suitable: You need a named wax recipe, a stated origin, or the 1,000-count piece price.

Specifications

Model
Ecoblaze (200)
Brand
Ecoblaze
Price
∼£11
Customer rating
4.7/5(13,099)
Count
200
Piece price
5.5p
Burn claim
Up to 10 min
Odour
No scent
Material
Wood

Common questions

How long does the listing say they burn?

A bullet says up to 10 minutes, and that a single match is enough. That is the listing claim, not a timed test in this file.

What are they made of?

The material field says wood. The form is block. There is no wax line and no chemical-free certificate on this page.

What do the UK reviews repeat?

Across the first 50 UK reviews, buyers often say they light easily, with little smell, on a log burner, barbecue or chimney. Courier damage is the repeated complaint, not a failed light.

KEPLIN (200)

Rank 4

KEPLIN (200)

∼£12

Our view

The KEPLIN pack is 200 wood, wax and wool sticks at £11.99, about 6p each, with an item weight of 1.4 kg and an origin field of China. The bullet says around 10 minutes, three pieces for dried logs, and one piece with kindling. It shows 4.6 from 2,450 reviews. In the first 50 UK reviews, buyers often praise an easy light and no petrol smell, and one buyer counted 202 pieces. The repeated fault is uneven size, with thin pieces that mean using two, plus a box with no inner bag. One review says they burned out in under 5 minutes. The unit-count field says 1.00 while the title says 200, and the scent field says Wood while a bullet says no unpleasant odour.

Pros

  • 4.6 from 2,450 reviews
  • Printed dose: one with kindling, three for dried logs
  • 1.4 kg stated for the 200 sticks
  • UK reviews often report no petrol smell

Cons

  • Uneven size, so thin pieces mean using two
  • Cardboard box with no inner bag
  • One review reports under 5 minutes against the 10-minute claim
  • Unit-count field disagrees with the 200-pack title

Best for: You want wood, wax and wool sticks with a large review file below the two 4.7 boxes.

Less suitable: You need pieces of even size, or an origin field that says United Kingdom.

Specifications

Model
KEPLIN (200)
Brand
KEPLIN
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
4.6/5(2,450)
Count
200
Piece price
6.0p
Burn claim
Around 10 min
Odour
No odour
Material
Wood, wax, wool
Origin
China

Common questions

How many pieces are in the pack?

The title and the included-in-pack bullet say 200. The unit-count field says 1.00 1. One reviewer counted 202.

What burn time is printed?

The bullet says around 10 minutes. It also says three pieces for dried logs, and one piece with kindling. One review says they burned out in under 5 minutes.

What do the UK reviews repeat?

In the first 50, buyers often praise an easy light and no petrol smell. The repeated fault is uneven size, with thin pieces that mean using two, and a box with no inner bag.

Zip cubes (480)

Rank 5

Zip cubes (480)

∼£28

Our view

This Zip listing, with a brand field of Protecker, is 480 cubes sold as 12 packs of 40 at £27.99, about 5.8p each. The material field says wood and the scent field says no scent. It shows 4.6 from 364 reviews, and the origin field says Ireland. The bullets do not state kerosene or a burn time, so the file does not say whether these are the kerosene cubes sold in UK shops. In the first 50 UK reviews, buyers say the cubes light open fires and smokeless fuel, and that the sheet is hard to snap. Wet packs, short deliveries and a mention of kerosene also appear. A complaint says a 33 percent extra photo was not what arrived.

Pros

  • 480 cubes in 12 packs of 40
  • 4.6 from 364 reviews
  • UK reviews describe use on open fires and smokeless fuel
  • About 5.8p a cube at the captured price

Cons

  • No burn time, and no kerosene line, on the listing
  • Reviewers say the sheet is hard to snap
  • Wet packs and short deliveries appear in the sample
  • Brand field says Protecker while the title says Zip

Best for: You already break cube sheets for a stove or smokeless fuel and want a multipack.

Less suitable: You want a printed composition, or a loose wood-wool piece that catches from a match.

Specifications

Model
Zip cubes (480)
Brand
Zip
Price
∼£28
Customer rating
4.6/5(364)
Count
480
Piece price
5.8p
Odour
No scent
Material
Wood
Origin
Ireland

Common questions

Does this listing say the cubes contain kerosene?

No. The material field says wood, the product type says solid fire fuel, and the scent field says no scent. The bullets do not answer the listing’s own question about what they are made of.

How many cubes are in the order?

The title says 12 packs of 40, which is 480. Reviews include short deliveries and a complaint that a 33 percent extra photo was not what arrived.

What do the UK reviews repeat?

In the first 50, buyers say the cubes light open fires and smokeless fuel, and that the sheet is hard to snap. Wet packs and a mention of kerosene also appear.

Munnie (200)

Rank 6

Munnie (200)

∼£10

Our view

The Munnie MU5664-SFP is a 200-count stick pack at £10.49, about 5.2p each, with an origin field of United Kingdom. The material field says wax and wood, and the bullets say eco wood wool and wax, odourless, and free from chemicals and accelerants. It shows 4.5 from 74 reviews. In the 44 UK reviews in the file, buyers like a quick light without a chemical smell, and several say the pieces are tiny, so three or four are needed. The item-weight field says 10 kg, which does not sit with other 200-count wood-wool packs here at about 1.4 kg to 1.9 kg. The same review texts appear on the 400-count Munnie listing. No burn time is printed.

Pros

  • Bullets say odourless and free from chemicals and accelerants
  • Origin field says United Kingdom
  • UK reviews describe a quick light without a chemical smell
  • £10.49 at the captured price

Cons

  • Pieces described as tiny, so three or four are used
  • Item weight of 10 kg is not a usable pack mass
  • 74 reviews, shared with the 400-count listing
  • No printed burn time

Best for: You want a UK-origin stick and you will use several pieces each time you light.

Less suitable: You need one piece to do the job, or a weight you can trust on the listing.

Specifications

Model
Munnie (200)
Brand
Munnie
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.5/5(74)
Count
200
Piece price
5.2p
Odour
Odourless
Material
Wax and wood
Origin
United Kingdom

Common questions

What does the listing say they contain?

The material field says wax and wood. The bullets say eco wood wool and wax, odourless, non-toxic, and free from chemicals and accelerants.

Why is the weight hard to use?

The item-weight field says 10 kg. Other 200-count wood-wool packs in this set are about 1.4 kg to 1.9 kg. Do not treat 10 kg as the pack mass.

What do the UK reviews repeat?

In the 44 UK reviews, buyers like a quick light without a chemical smell. Several say the pieces are tiny, so three or four are needed. The same texts appear on the 400-count Munnie listing.

Munnie (400)

Rank 7

Munnie (400)

∼£14

Our view

The Munnie MU5665-SFP title says 400 sticks at £13.99, about 3.5p each if that count arrives, against the 200-count at £10.49. Both item-weight fields say 10 kg, so neither figure is a reliable mass. The star line is 4.5 from 74 on both listings, and the UK review bodies largely match, including texts that describe a pack of 200. Buyers say the sticks are smaller than shop firelighters, so three or four are used, and one review calls the wool loose straw. The bullets match the smaller pack: wax and wood, odourless, and free from chemicals and accelerants. If 400 pieces are in the box, the piece price is among the lowest wood-wool figures here. The file does not prove that count with a separate review sample.

Pros

  • Title count of 400 at £13.99, about 3.5p if the count is real
  • Same odourless and no-accelerant bullets as the 200-count
  • Origin field says United Kingdom
  • Lower cash outlay than the Ecoblaze 1,000 box

Cons

  • Reviews largely match the 200-count, including texts that say 200
  • 10 kg weight field is duplicated from the smaller pack
  • Sticks described as small, so three or four are used
  • Only 74 reviews on the shared star line

Best for: You want a low piece price and you will count the sticks before you rely on 400.

Less suitable: You need a review file that is clearly about the 400-count box.

Specifications

Model
Munnie (400)
Brand
Munnie
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.5/5(74)
Count
400
Piece price
3.5p
Odour
Odourless
Material
Wax and wood
Origin
United Kingdom

Common questions

How is this different from Munnie’s 200 pack?

The title says 400 pieces and the model is MU5665-SFP, at £13.99. The 200 pack is MU5664-SFP at £10.49. Both item-weight fields say 10 kg.

Are the reviews separate?

The star line is 4.5 from 74 on both listings. The UK review bodies largely match, including texts that describe a pack of 200.

What do those reviews say about size?

Buyers say the sticks are smaller than shop firelighters, so three or four are used, and one review calls the wool loose straw.

Fox Bunny (200)

Rank 8

Fox Bunny (200)

∼£10

Our view

Fox Bunny Fl200 is 200 solid pieces at £9.99, about 5p each, with an item weight of 1.34 kg. There is no material field and no burn-minute line. The bullets say natural and odourless, and that ignition is quick without kindling or paper. It shows 4.4 from 40 reviews, and only 15 UK review bodies are in the file. Those 15 praise a fast light and no paraffin smell. Three say the pieces or the box are much smaller than expected, so two are used where one was planned. One review says a single piece was enough for briquettes. Fifteen texts against a star count of 40 is the limit on how far the praise can travel.

Pros

  • £9.99 and 1.34 kg for a 200-count
  • Unscented, with a claim that kindling or paper is not required
  • The 15 texts praise a fast light and no paraffin smell
  • Rank in this file is 3 in Charcoal Starters

Cons

  • No material field and no burn time
  • Pieces or the box described as much smaller than expected
  • Only 15 review bodies against a star count of 40

Best for: You want a low-priced unscented solid and you will check the size against the photo.

Less suitable: You need a named material, or a review file large enough to judge a season of fires.

Specifications

Model
Fox Bunny (200)
Brand
Fox Bunny
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.4/5(40)
Count
200
Piece price
5.0p
Odour
Unscented

Common questions

What are they made of?

The listing does not give a material field. The bullets say natural and odourless. The form is solid and the scent is unscented.

Is there a burn time?

No minute figure is printed. A bullet says ignition is quick and that kindling or paper is not required.

What do the UK reviews say?

Fifteen UK reviews are in the file. They praise a fast light and no paraffin smell. Three say the pieces or the box are much smaller than expected.

Fastblaze (200)

Rank 9

Fastblaze (200)

Our view

Fastblaze is 200 pieces at £8.99, about 4.5p each. A bullet says wood wool rope and candle wax, odourless, burning for up to 10 minutes. The title says Fastblaze, the brand field says ecoblaze, and the manufacturer field says Zebra Renewables. It shows 4.3 from 637 reviews. In the first 50 UK reviews, buyers say the pieces light easily and have no smell. The repeated fault is uneven size, a plastic bag, and doubt about whether 200 pieces are in the bag. The only image URL in the file is a small thumbnail, so the photo is a weak check on what arrives.

Pros

  • £8.99 for a claimed count of 200
  • Candle wax and wood wool named in a bullet
  • Up to 10 minutes claimed
  • UK reviews often report an easy light and no smell

Cons

  • Brand field says ecoblaze while the title says Fastblaze
  • Uneven size, and doubt about the count of 200
  • Supplied in a plastic bag in the review sample
  • 4.3 from 637, below the 4.7 boxes

Best for: You want a low ticket for waxed wood wool and you will count the pieces when they arrive.

Less suitable: You need one brand name on the page, or pieces of even size.

Specifications

Model
Fastblaze (200)
Brand
Fastblaze
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.3/5(637)
Count
200
Piece price
4.5p
Burn claim
Up to 10 min
Odour
Odourless
Material
Wool and wax

Common questions

Which brand is on the listing?

The title says Fastblaze. The brand field says ecoblaze. The manufacturer field says Zebra Renewables.

What are they made from?

A bullet says wood wool rope and candle wax, odourless, burning for up to 10 minutes. The material field says wood.

What do the UK reviews repeat?

In the first 50, buyers say they light easily and have no smell. The repeated fault is uneven size, a plastic bag, and doubt about the count of 200.

Ecoblaze high-density (200)

Rank 10

Ecoblaze high-density (200)

Our view

The high-density Ecoblaze is 200 compressed pieces at £7.99, about 4p each, with a long-burn bullet of 13 minutes. The title and the package-dimensions line say 3.4 kg. One review says the pack is not 3.4 kg and that the package shows 2.1. It shows 4.2 from 599 reviews. Reviews often say the pieces are slow to catch with a match and then burn a long time. In the first 50 UK reviews, the repeated fault is a compressed piece that is harder to light than loose wood wool, with praise for a long burn and little residue once it is alight. Material and odour are not stated. The manufacturer field says Zebra Renewables.

Pros

  • £7.99, about 4p a piece
  • 13-minute burn claim, the longest printed line in this set
  • Reviewers who get them alight report a long burn and little residue
  • Title count is 200

Cons

  • Harder to light with a match than loose wood wool
  • 3.4 kg on the title, against a review that cites 2.1 on the package
  • Material and odour are not stated
  • 4.2 from 599 reviews

Best for: You want a long printed burn and you already light compressed starters with a long lighter.

Less suitable: You want a piece that catches from a household match on the first try.

Specifications

Model
Ecoblaze high-density (200)
Brand
Ecoblaze
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
4.2/5(599)
Count
200
Piece price
4.0p
Burn claim
13 min

Common questions

What weight is printed?

The title and the package-dimensions line say 3.4 kg. One review says the pack is not 3.4 kg, probably under 3 kg, and that the package shows 2.1.

What burn time is printed?

The long-burn bullet says 13 minutes. Reviews often say the pieces are slow to catch with a match and then burn a long time.

What do the UK reviews repeat?

In the first 50, the repeated fault is a compressed piece that is harder to light than loose wood wool. Praise is a long burn and little residue once it is alight.

EMBO (32)

Rank 11

EMBO (32)

Our view

The EMBO Cooks-32p-box is 32 spruce and pine cubes at £3.99, about 12.5p each, the short box in this set. The title and a bullet say 190 g, while the item-weight field says 220 g. It shows 4.2 from 21 reviews, and only four UK reviews are in the file. Those four say the cubes light a barbecue or a table-top fire pit, and one says two were enough for that pit. No defect is described in those four texts. A bullet says sustainable spruce and pine, odourless, with no harsh chemical smell. Four reviews are not a season of barbecues, and there is no printed burn time.

Pros

  • £3.99 for a 32-cube trial box
  • Spruce and pine named, with an odourless claim
  • Four UK reviews describe a barbecue or a table-top pit
  • One review says two cubes were enough for that pit

Cons

  • About 12.5p a cube, the dearest piece price in this set
  • Only four review bodies against 21 stars
  • 190 g on the title against 220 g in the weight field
  • No printed burn time

Best for: You want a small trial box for a table-top fire pit or a single barbecue.

Less suitable: You light a stove through winter, or you need a large UK review file.

Specifications

Model
EMBO (32)
Brand
EMBO
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.2/5(21)
Count
32
Piece price
12.5p
Odour
Odourless
Material
Spruce, pine

Common questions

How heavy is the box?

The title and a bullet say 190 g for 32 cubes. The item-weight field says 220 g. Both figures are in the file.

What are the cubes made from?

A bullet says sustainable spruce and pine, odourless, with no harsh chemical smell. The material field says pine wood.

What do the UK reviews say?

Four UK reviews are in the file. They say the cubes light a barbecue or a table-top fire pit, and one says two were enough for that pit. No defect is described.

How we compared

This is not a lab test. Each score uses the amazon.co.uk star line and the review count in the display file. A printed burn minute does not add points. The badge is a listing signal from these scores, not a certificate and not a timed burn. Stars contribute up to 70 points: the star rating divided by 5, times 70, then rounded. Review volume adds up to 30 points: log10 of the count, times 10, capped at 30. The cap stops a huge count from outscoring a lower star line. The top pick is Log Barn, which shares 96 with two Ecoblaze listings and has the largest review count that is not a copy of another file in this set. The best value is Ecoblaze 200, at about £10.99 and about 5.5p a piece, on the same score of 96. Neither badge means the pack complies with BS EN 1860-3:2023 or carries a Ready to Burn certificate number.

1

Star rating

70%

The amazon.co.uk star rating divided by 5, times 70, then rounded. A 4.7 becomes 66, a 4.6 becomes 64, a 4.5 becomes 63, a 4.4 becomes 62, a 4.3 becomes 60 and a 4.2 becomes 59. A printed burn minute does not add points.

2

Review volume

30%

Log10 of the amazon.co.uk review count, times 10, capped at 30. A file of about 1,000 reviews already hits the cap, so 13,099 reviews and 22,250 reviews both add 30. Forty reviews add about 16 points. Twenty-one reviews add about 13.

Independent review
Last updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Firelighter buying guide

Choose the form, then the price per piece, then whether the review file belongs to that pack. A printed minute line is a claim. Prices below are the amazon.co.uk shelf prices in the product files, not a live check.

What to check on a firelighter

A firelighter here is a small solid starter for charcoal, briquettes, logs or kindling. Ten of the eleven amazon.co.uk listings are wood wool, a waxed shaving sold as a block or a stick. Protecker’s Zip multipack is a cube sheet of 480, and EMBO is 32 spruce and pine cubes. A gas lighter wand is a different product. UK supermarket Zip labels often say kerosene.

Best for

  • A weekend kettle cook who wants a 200-count wood-wool box and will check the price per piece
  • A stove household that wants a large UK review file and still uses dry logs

Not ideal for

  • A refillable gas lighter wand, or petrol poured on charcoal
  • Anyone who needs a Ready to Burn number or a BS EN 1860-3 certificate on the listing

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Treating the 10 kg field as the pack

    Both Munnie listings print an item weight of 10 kg. Other 200-count wood-wool packs here are about 1.4 kg to 1.9 kg. Do not divide the price by 10 kg, and do not plan storage around that figure.

  2. 2

    Reading a copied star line as a new sample

    The Ecoblaze 1,000 file shows 4.7 from 13,100, and the first 50 UK review bodies match the 200-count listing. Both Munnie packs share 4.5 from 74, including texts that describe a pack of 200.

  3. 3

    Pouring petrol on a bed that will not catch

    RoSPA, GOV.UK and London Fire Brigade say firelighters go on cold fuel, never petrol or paraffin, and never a second dose once the bed is alight. Do not cook in the lighting flame, and do not barbecue indoors, in a tent, a garage, on a balcony or under an awning.

What to weigh up

Form, count and price per piece

High

Wood wool is what ten listings sell, as a block or a stick. Zip is a cube sheet of 480 and EMBO is 32 spruce and pine cubes. Use the title count. About 3.5p to 6.5p is the band on the 200-and-up natural packs. EMBO is about 12.5p because the box is short. Do not use Munnie’s 10 kg field. High-density Ecoblaze at about £7.99 is the cheap ticket that reviews describe as harder to light.

Burn claim, odour and conflicts

High

Up to 10 minutes is printed on Ecoblaze 200, KEPLIN, Log Barn and Fastblaze. Ecoblaze 1,000 prints up to 8 minutes. High-density Ecoblaze prints 13 minutes. The other five packs have no minute line. Treat every minute figure as a claim. Then check whether the file disagrees with itself: copied reviews on Ecoblaze 1,000, a shared Munnie sample, a Fastblaze brand field that says ecoblaze, and a Zip listing that does not state kerosene.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Weekend kettle cook

You want a 200-count wood-wool box and a chimney, and you should look at the price per piece before the ticket price. Ecoblaze 200 is about £10.99, about 5.5p a piece, with 4.7 from 13,099 reviews and a listing claim of up to 10 minutes. Courier damage is the repeated complaint. The material field says wood, with no wax line on the page.

Our recommendation

View offer

Stove most evenings

You light most winter evenings, so odour and a review file you can read matter, and you still need dry logs. Log Barn is 200 wax-dipped wood-shaving blocks at about £12.99, with 4.7 from 22,250 reviews, the largest file in this set. Reviews often describe one piece lighting a stove without a chemical smell. Loose pieces and a damp box appear in that sample.

Our recommendation

View offer

Occasional table-top cook

You light a pizza oven or a table-top pit now and then, so a short box is enough. EMBO is 32 spruce and pine cubes at about £3.99, about 12.5p each, with 4.2 from 21 reviews and only four UK review texts in the file. Those four describe a barbecue or a table-top pit. There is no printed burn time.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about firelighters

Which firelighter is the top pick in this set?
The top pick is Log Barn, 200 wax-dipped blocks at about £12.99. It shows 4.7 from 22,250 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest file here that is not copied from another listing, and it shares a score of 96 with two Ecoblaze files. The listing claims up to 10 minutes and no scent. Reviews often describe one piece lighting a stove or barbecue with little chemical smell. Loose pieces and a damp box are the repeated complaints. Ready to Burn on the page refers to the firm’s logs, not these firelighters.
Which listing is the best value?
The best value is Ecoblaze 200 at about £10.99, about 5.5p a piece, with 4.7 from 13,099 amazon.co.uk reviews and the same score of 96 as Log Barn. A bullet claims a burn of up to 10 minutes. That is a listing claim, not a timed test. Courier damage is the repeated complaint. High-density Ecoblaze at about £7.99 and Fastblaze at about £8.99 are cheaper tickets with lower scores. EMBO at about £3.99 works out at about 12.5p a cube.
How much does a firelighter pack cost on amazon.co.uk?
In the product files for this comparison, the eleven packs run from EMBO’s 32 cubes at about £3.99 to the Ecoblaze 1,000-count box at about £36.99. Most 200-count natural boxes sit between about £7.99 and about £12.99. Munnie 400 is about £13.99. Zip’s 480 cubes are about £27.99. On the 200-and-up natural packs the piece price is about 3.5p to 6.5p. EMBO is about 12.5p. These are the shelf prices saved with the research, not a live check.
Should you buy wood wool or white cubes?
Ten of these eleven listings are wood wool, sold as a block or a stick. Reviews describe loose wood wool as easy to light with a match. Zip, brand field Protecker, is 480 cubes at about £27.99 and does not state kerosene or a burn time. EMBO is 32 spruce and pine cubes at about £3.99, with four UK review texts. Use a cube sheet if you already snap one for a stove. Use wood wool if you want a piece those reviews describe catching from a match.
Can you use petrol to light a barbecue?
No. RoSPA, GOV.UK outdoor fire safety and London Fire Brigade say to put firelighters on cold fuel, never to use petrol or paraffin, and never to add starter once the bed is alight. Do not barbecue indoors or in a tent, garage, balcony or awning. If flames reach a fence or shed, leave and call 999. If someone is ill after a fire indoors or in a tent, get fresh air, and call 999 for breathing trouble, confusion or collapse. A star rating is not a safety certificate.
Do these packs meet BS EN 1860-3 or Ready to Burn?
Do not treat them as compliant. BS EN 1860-3:2023 covers barbecue firelighters for solid fuel. None of these amazon.co.uk pages states the standard. Ready to Burn, on GOV.UK’s pages for wood, is for logs and wood briquettes under 2 m³, with a logo and a certificate number. Log Barn mentions that mark for its firewood and kindling, not as a number on this firelighter page. The England manufactured-solid-fuel rules do not name firelighters.
When is charcoal ready to cook on?
The Food Standards Agency says to wash your hands after handling firelighters and charcoal, and to cook when the coals are glowing with a grey powdery surface. Do not cook in the lighting flame. About 5 cm of charcoal is GOV.UK’s rule of thumb for a normal cook. Put the firelighter on cold fuel. A weekend kettle in this set is aimed at a 200-count wood-wool box used with a separate chimney starter. Never add more starter once the bed is alight.
Why is the Ecoblaze 1,000 star line hard to use?
The line reads 4.7 from 13,100. The first 50 UK review bodies in that file match the 200-count Ecoblaze listing, so they are not a separate sample of the 1,000 box. The burn claim on the larger box is up to 8 minutes, against 10 minutes on the 200-count. The piece price is about 3.7p if you pay about £36.99 up front. Read that score as the shared star line, not as 13,100 separate reviews of the larger box.

Our verdict

In this set the top pick is Log Barn, 200 wax-dipped wood-shaving blocks at about £12.99. It shows 4.7 from 22,250 reviews, the largest file that is not a copy of another listing here, and it shares the score of 96 with two Ecoblaze files. The listing claims a burn of up to 10 minutes and no scent. Loose pieces, a damp box and a sack instead of a box are the repeated complaints. The best value is Ecoblaze 200 at about £10.99, about 5.5p a piece, with 4.7 from 13,099 reviews. High-density Ecoblaze at about £7.99 and Fastblaze at about £8.99 are cheaper tickets with lower scores. EMBO at about £3.99 is about 12.5p a cube. Neither badge is a timed burn or a Ready to Burn number.

Best overall
Log Barn (200)

Log Barn (200)

Score 96, shared with two Ecoblaze listings, and the largest review count that is not a copy of another file in this set: 4.7 from 22,250 reviews.

View offer
Best value
Ecoblaze (200)

Ecoblaze (200)

Same score of 96, at about £10.99 and about 5.5p a piece, with 4.7 from 13,099 reviews. Cheaper tickets in this set have lower scores.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Grill accessoriesFirelightersamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Guides to firelighters

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources used for this comparison. Listing prices, stars, and review counts are the amazon.co.uk lines in the product files. They are not a live price check.

  1. BSI — BS EN 1860-3:2023, firelighters for barbecuing (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  2. Air Quality (Domestic Solid Fuels Standards) (England) Regulations 2020 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  3. GOV.UK — selling manufactured solid fuels in England (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  4. GOV.UK — smoke control area rules (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  5. RoSPA — barbecue safety (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  6. GOV.UK — fire safety outdoors (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  7. Food Standards Agency — BBQ food safety (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  8. London Fire Brigade — barbecue safely leaflet (retrieved 22.10.2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars, and review counts are the UK listing lines. We did not run a lab test.