Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Router table comparison 2026

The best router tables, compared.

Top pick: SKIL SRT1039 Best value: Charnwood W012 – About £88.50 for an 8 kg bench table, 4.4 from 182 UK reviews, if you will drill the plate for a 1/4 inch router. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A router table is a flat top with the router underneath, so the cutter sticks up through an insert plate and you move the timber past the bit. You usually already own a handheld router and want support for narrow strips, repeat mouldings, and larger cutters. Look for a flat top, a square fence, a flush plate, a hose-sized dust port, and a no-volt switch on 230 V mains. Five amazon.co.uk tables were, and none includes a router. Voltage, fit, fence, dust and size are set out in the [router table buying guide](/hub/routers/router-table/sub/router-table-buying-guide).

A router table is a flat top with the router underneath, so the cutter sticks up through an insert plate and you move the timber past the bit.

SKIL SRT1039

Best overall

SKIL SRT1039
6.4/10∼ £269

18 products checked · 54 hrs invested · +18,400 readers

5 of 5: Best router tables compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 5
Best overall
SKIL SRT1039
Trend CRT/MK3
Best value
Charnwood W012
Trend WRT
BOXURN BX-RT150
6.4/10
9.0/10
8.0/10
8.6/10
5.4/10
∼ £269
∼ £259
∼ £89
∼ £349
∼ £149
4.5(485)
4.5(293)
4.4(182)
4.4(102)
3.8(18)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

Where will the table stand?

The best router tables in detail

SKIL SRT1039

Rank 1

SKIL SRT1039

∼£269

Our view

The SKIL SRT1039, listed at about £269.32, adds above-table adjustment, bit storage, and a large aluminium fence. The amazon line states 120 V and 11 kg. Stars are 4.5 from 485 reviews, but the review texts in the stored sample are not from the United Kingdom. A travel adaptor does not change voltage. Electrical Safety First says a non-dual-voltage tool needs a transformer, not a simple adaptor, and a 110 V site transformer is not a documented match for this 120 V table. Do not fit a UK plug to it. No router is in the included list. It only suits you if you already understand a 120 V supply. It does not suit a BS 1363 230 V bench out of the box.

Pros

  • Above-table router adjustment
  • Dual-sided bit storage
  • Fence and two featherboards in the box

Cons

  • Listing states 120 V
  • No UK review texts in the stored sample
  • Item dimension line is not usable

Best for: You already understand a 120 V supply and what a transformer would have to do.

Less suitable: You expect a BS 1363 230 V bench table out of the box.

Specifications

Model
SKIL SRT1039
Brand
SKIL
Price
∼£269
Customer rating
4.5/5(485)
Format
Benchtop portable
Voltage
120 V
Router in box
No
Fence
16 x 24 in fence
Weight
11 kg
Above table
Yes
Router fit
Clamp plate

Common questions

Is this a 230 V UK table?

The listing states 120 V. A travel adaptor does not change voltage. Electrical Safety First advises a transformer for non-dual-voltage tools, not a simple adaptor.

Is a router included?

No. The included components list the table and accessories, not a router.

Can I adjust the bit above the table?

Yes. A bullet states above-table router adjustment.

Trend CRT/MK3

Rank 2

Trend CRT/MK3

∼£259

Our view

The Trend CRT/MK3, listed at about £258.55, is a 240 V portable benchtop table with a laminated 610 x 405 mm top, a 68 mm fence, a 57 mm dust port, and an NVR switch at the table edge. It is 4.5 from 293 UK reviews. No router is named in the included-components line. UK reviews say non-Trend bases may need the plate drilled, and that the instructions are often diagrams only. Treat the 1 kg amazon weight as a listing error against Trend's 13.6 kg page. It is the top pick if you want a 240 V bench table with an NVR. It is a poor fit if you need standing height.

Pros

  • NVR switch at the table edge
  • 4.5 from 293 UK reviews
  • 57 mm dust port
  • 240 V, with a 610 x 405 mm laminated top

Cons

  • Diagram-only instructions in reviews
  • Non-Trend bases may need the plate drilled
  • Amazon weight line of 1 kg conflicts with Trend's 13.6 kg

Best for: You want a 240 V bench table with an NVR and Trend-compatible routing.

Less suitable: You need standing height or you cannot drill the plate for some routers.

Specifications

Model
Trend CRT/MK3
Brand
Trend
Price
∼£259
Customer rating
4.5/5(293)
Format
Portable benchtop
Voltage
240 V
NVR switch
Yes
Dust outlet
57 mm
Router in box
No
Fence
68 mm fence
Table size
610 x 405 mm
Weight
13.6 kg
Router fit
Trend; others drill

Common questions

Is a router included?

No router is named in the included-components line.

Does it have a no-volt release switch?

Yes. The bullets state an NVR switch at the table edge.

Will a non-Trend router fit?

UK reviews say non-Trend bases may need the plate drilled. The fence bullet mentions screw holes for direct router mounting.

Charnwood W012

Rank 3

Charnwood W012

∼£89

Our view

The Charnwood W012, listed at about £88.50, is an 8 kg melamine-faced MDF bench table for 1/4 inch routers, with a 40 mm dust port, clamps, and a feather board. It scores 4.4 from 182 UK reviews. UK buyers report drilling the plate and shimming flush inserts. Charnwood's page cites about 190 mm maximum face plate and about 260 mm under the table. No fence is named in the bullets, and no NVR is stated on the listing. It is the best value if you already own a 1/4 inch router and you will drill the plate. It is a poor fit if you want a named fence, an NVR, or a 1/2 inch workshop router without drilling.

Pros

  • Listed at £88.50
  • 4.4 from 182 UK reviews
  • Clamps and a feather board included
  • 40 mm dust outlet on an 8 kg bench table

Cons

  • Plate is not pre-drilled
  • No fence named in the bullets
  • No NVR stated

Best for: You own a 1/4 inch router and you accept drilling the plate.

Less suitable: You want a named fence, an NVR, or a 1/2 inch workshop router without drilling.

Specifications

Model
Charnwood W012
Brand
Charnwood
Price
∼£89
Customer rating
4.4/5(182)
Format
Bench top
Voltage
240 V
Dust outlet
40 mm
Router in box
No
Fence
No named fence
Table size
430 x 400 mm
Weight
8 kg
Above table
No
Router fit
1/4 in, drill plate

Common questions

Is a router included?

No. The included-components line is the table only.

Do I need to drill the insert plate?

UK reviews repeatedly say you mark and drill the plate yourself. Charnwood's page cites about 190 mm maximum face plate and about 260 mm under the table.

Is there a no-volt release switch?

Not stated on this listing. Power switching is often left to the router's own switch in reviews.

Trend WRT

Rank 4

Trend WRT

∼£349

Our view

The Trend WRT, listed at about £349.44, is a 27.5 kg free-standing 240 V table with an 804 x 604 mm top, an NVR, a 57 mm dust port, and stated edge planing at 1.4 mm and 2.4 mm. UK reviews praise standing height and a DeWalt fit, and they warn about photo-only instructions. No router is named in the included-components line. One UK review says a Trend T12 was not compatible with the NVR, so check your router before you rely on the table switch. It suits you if you want standing height and you have space for 27.5 kg. It is a poor fit if you need a light bench table.

Pros

  • 804 x 604 mm laminated top
  • Insert rings, mitre fence, finger boards and a push stick
  • 4.4 from 102 UK reviews
  • 240 V, NVR, and a 57 mm dust port

Cons

  • About £349.44
  • 27.5 kg
  • Router and NVR pairing is not universal

Best for: You want standing height and you have space for 27.5 kg.

Less suitable: You need a light benchtop table or a guaranteed T12 pairing with the NVR.

Specifications

Model
Trend WRT
Brand
Trend
Price
∼£349
Customer rating
4.4/5(102)
Format
Free standing
Voltage
240 V
NVR switch
Yes
Dust outlet
57 mm
Router in box
No
Fence
68 mm fence
Table size
804 x 604 mm
Weight
27.5 kg
Router fit
DeWalt named in reviews

Common questions

Is a router included?

No router is named in the included-components line.

Can it edge plane?

Bullets state edge planing at 1.4 mm and 2.4 mm.

Will every Trend router match the NVR?

One UK review says a Trend T12 was not compatible with the NVR. Check your router model before relying on the table switch.

BOXURN BX-RT150

Rank 5

BOXURN BX-RT150

∼£149

Our view

The BOXURN BX-RT150, listed at about £149.46, is a 7.48 kg benchtop table with a stated safety switch and a main top of about 17.7 by 13 inches. It scores 3.8 from 18 reviews, and those texts are from the United States, not UK opinion. The notes cite a friction mount and a loose fence track. The listing does not state mains voltage, and it does not state an NVR. The bullet allows a base plate up to 6 inches, about 152 mm. A bullet also mentions a jigsaw or circular saw. Treat that as listing text only. Do not mount a saw in the plate. It is a small bench table if you will check the mount yourself. It is a poor fit if you need UK review evidence, an NVR, or a large router base.

Pros

  • Compact top with an extension
  • 7.48 kg stated
  • Title states that no router is included

Cons

  • 3.8 from 18 reviews
  • No UK review texts in the stored sample
  • Mains voltage is not stated

Best for: You want a small bench table and you will check the mount yourself.

Less suitable: You need UK review evidence, an NVR, or a large router base.

Specifications

Model
BOXURN BX-RT150
Brand
BOXURN
Price
∼£149
Customer rating
3.8/5(18)
Format
Benchtop portable
Router in box
No
Table size
17.7 x 13 in
Weight
7.48 kg
Router fit
Base to 152 mm

Common questions

What router base size fits?

The bullet states a base plate up to 6 inches. Larger bases will not fit.

Is voltage stated?

No. This listing does not state mains voltage for the table switch.

Is a router included?

No. The title and the highlight say no router.

How we compared

Five amazon.co.uk listings were scored from the stored pages and the review notes already on file. Shelf date 19 October 2026. There is no laboratory test. Stars are the listing line, not a workshop trial. SKIL and BOXURN review texts in that sample are not treated as UK opinion. The highest score is the top pick. The lowest price among the 240 V tables with a UK review sample is the best value. One of each. The weights below sum to 100.

1

Voltage

25%

UK mains are nominally 230 V with a BS 1363 plug. A stated 240 V scores. A stated 120 V does not. A pin adaptor does not change voltage. Where voltage is not stated, that row is left open.

2

Router fit

25%

Points use the stated plate and the body clearance. A plate you must drill, or a base limit of about 152 mm, scores below a table whose UK reviews name a common 1/2 inch router. No router is in any box.

3

Fence and plate

20%

A named fence, insert rings, and hold-downs score. Clamps and a feather board without a named fence score less. A flush plate is assumed only where the listing or the reviews describe one.

4

Dust port and switch

15%

A stated outlet and a no-volt release score. A port is a hose size, not a claim that the table meets a workplace dust limit. An NVR that is not in the box is not scored as present.

5

Size and price

15%

Bench or floor-standing is scored against the stated top and weight. The lowest shelf price does not outrank a 240 V table with UK reviews. The amazon 1 kg line on the CRT/MK3 is not used.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Router table buying guide

Buy the voltage and the plate before you buy a star line. UK mains are nominally 230 V. A stated 120 V is a different supply, and a pin adaptor does not change it. None of these five tables includes a router. A UK review sample is not the same thing as a star line whose texts are from the United States.

What is a router table?

A router table is a flat top with the router mounted underneath. The cutter sticks up through an insert plate, and you move the timber past the bit. UK buyers usually already own a handheld router and want support for narrow strips, repeat mouldings, and larger cutters. On the listings in this set, quality is a flat top, a square fence, a flush plate, a hose-sized dust port, and a no-volt switch on 230 V mains. None of the five amazon.co.uk tables captured on 19 October 2026 includes a router.

Best for

  • A garage bench and a 1/4 inch router you will mount yourself
  • A 240 V bench where you want the NVR on the table
  • Standing height, if you have floor space for about 27.5 kg

Not ideal for

  • A buyer who expects a router in the box
  • UK 230 V mains if the listing states 120 V
  • A reader who needs UK review texts for the SKIL or BOXURN table

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Assuming the plate is pre-drilled

    UK reviews of the W012 say you mark and drill the plate. Charnwood cites about 190 mm maximum face plate and about 260 mm under the table. Non-Trend bases on the CRT/MK3 often need the same work.

  2. 2

    Treating 120 V as UK mains

    The SKIL listing states 120 V. A travel adaptor does not change voltage. Do not fit a UK plug to that table. A 110 V site transformer is not a documented match for it.

  3. 3

    Mounting a saw in the plate

    A BOXURN bullet mentions a jigsaw or a circular saw. That is listing text. Do not mount either in the plate. The title of that table says no router, and the other four tables are router tables only.

What to weigh up

Voltage and router fit

High

UK mains are nominally 230 V, and the plug on a mains tool is BS 1363. In this set Trend and Charnwood state 240 V. The SKIL SRT1039 states 120 V. BOXURN does not state a voltage for the table switch. A pin adaptor changes the pin shape. It does not change the voltage. Electrical Safety First says a non-dual-voltage tool needs a transformer, not a travel adaptor. A 110 V site transformer is a different supply again, and it is not a documented match for this 120 V table.

Fence, dust, switch and size

High

A fence you can set square matters more than a star line. Both Trend tables include a 68 mm fence, and the WRT bullets add finger boards, a mitre fence, a lead-on pin and a push stick. The W012 includes clamps and a feather board. No fence is named in those bullets. The SKIL listing states a large aluminium fence and two featherboards, on a 120 V line. BOXURN review notes, from the United States, describe a loose fence track. A proud plate catches the timber. Dust and the switch sit together.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A 1/4 inch router on a bench

You already own a 1/4 inch router, the base is under about 190 mm, and the body is under about 260 mm. The Charnwood W012 is the best value at about £88.50, with 4.4 from 182 UK reviews. You drill the plate. No fence is named, and no NVR is in the box.

Our recommendation

View offer

A 240 V bench with an NVR

You have a 1/2 inch Trend or DeWalt router and you want the switch on the table. The Trend CRT/MK3 is the top pick at about £258.55: 240 V, a 68 mm fence, a 57 mm port, and 4.5 from 293 UK reviews. Some non-Trend bases need the plate drilled.

Our recommendation

View offer

Standing height and floor space

You want to stand at the table and you have room for about 27.5 kg. The Trend WRT is about £349.44, with an 804 x 604 mm top, an NVR, and 4.4 from 102 UK reviews. Check the router against the NVR. One UK review says a Trend T12 did not pair with it.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about router tables

Which router table is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is the Trend CRT/MK3 at about £258.55. It is a 240 V benchtop table with a 610 x 405 mm top, a 68 mm fence, a 57 mm dust port, and an NVR. amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 293 UK reviews. No router is in the box, and some non-Trend bases need the plate drilled. The 1 kg amazon weight conflicts with Trend's 13.6 kg page. Choose it for a 240 V bench with an NVR, not for standing height.
How much does a router table cost on amazon.co.uk?
On the five listings captured on 19 October 2026, the Charnwood W012 is about £88.50, the BOXURN BX-RT150 about £149.46, the Trend CRT/MK3 about £258.55, the SKIL SRT1039 about £269.32, and the Trend WRT about £349.44. None of those prices includes a router. Charnwood's own page showed £79 including VAT, which is not the amazon shelf price used here. A 2024 press list of other tables, including a WRT at about £370, is not this shelf.
What should you check before you buy a router table?
Check voltage first. UK mains are nominally 230 V with a BS 1363 plug. Trend and Charnwood state 240 V. The SKIL listing states 120 V, and a pin adaptor does not change voltage. Then check the router base against the plate. The W012 is not pre-drilled, and Charnwood cites about 190 mm maximum face plate and about 260 mm under the table. Then look for a fence, hold-downs, a dust port, and whether an NVR is in the box. No listing here includes a router.
Is a router included with these tables?
No. On all five tables the included line is the table, or the table plus fences and insert rings, not a router. You mount the router you already own. The W012 is stated for a 1/4 inch router. The CRT/MK3 suits many Trend routers, and UK reviews of the WRT also name a DeWalt DWE625. Some other bases need the plate drilled. Do not mount a circular saw or a jigsaw in the plate because a BOXURN bullet mentions one.
Can you use the SKIL table on UK mains?
The SKIL SRT1039 listing states 120 V. A travel adaptor does not change voltage. Electrical Safety First says a non-dual-voltage tool needs a transformer, not a simple adaptor, and a 110 V site transformer is not a documented match for this 120 V table. Do not fit a UK plug to it. The star line is 4.5 from 485 reviews, but the review texts in the stored sample are not from the United Kingdom. Above-table adjustment does not change the voltage.
Does a dust port mean the table meets workplace dust rules?
No. A port is a hose size, not a COSHH certificate, and a domestic vacuum is not Class M. Trend states 57 mm. Charnwood states 40 mm. BOXURN and SKIL do not state an outlet. At work, HSE router guidance asks for Class M or Class H extraction, examined at least every 14 months. Hardwood dust has a workplace limit of 3 mg/m³ over 8 hours, and softwood 5 mg/m³. Those limits bind employers. PUWER 1998 applies at work, not automatically in a private garage.
When is a table better than holding the router?
A table earns the space when you pass narrow strips, repeat a moulding, or use a larger cutter with the router fixed underneath. Feed from right to left. Wealden states that the cutter, seen from above, rotates anti-clockwise. Do not climb-cut, and do not tape a trigger on. If you still want the cutter in your hands on a large panel, a palm router stays the lighter tool.
Do you have to drill the insert plate?
On the Charnwood W012, UK reviews say you mark and drill the plate yourself. Charnwood cites about 190 mm maximum face plate and about 260 mm under the table. Trend plates suit many Trend routers. UK reviews say non-Trend bases may need the CRT/MK3 plate drilled. WRT reviews name a DeWalt DWE625, but one UK review says a Trend T12 was not compatible with that table's NVR. Check the router against the plate and the switch before you rely on either. A proud plate will catch the timber.

Our verdict

The top pick for a 240 V bench is the Trend CRT/MK3 at about £258.55, with an NVR, a 57 mm dust port, and 4.5 from 293 UK reviews. The best value is the Charnwood W012 at about £88.50 if you own a 1/4 inch router and you will drill the plate. The Trend WRT is the floor-standing table in this set, at about £349.44 and 27.5 kg. The SKIL listing states 120 V, and the BOXURN review texts are not from the United Kingdom. None of these scores is a laboratory test, and none of the tables includes a router.

Best overall
SKIL SRT1039

SKIL SRT1039

View offer
Best value
Charnwood W012

Charnwood W012

About £88.50 for an 8 kg bench table, 4.4 from 182 UK reviews, if you will drill the plate for a 1/4 inch router.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
RoutersRouter tablesamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to router tables

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, used for this page in October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are from the five amazon.co.uk listings captured on 19 October 2026. HSE dust limits and PUWER apply at work. They are not a certificate for a domestic table.

  1. HSE, Wood dust (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. HSE, WD5 Routers (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. legislation.gov.uk, PUWER 1998 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. Trend, CRT/MK3 240 V (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. Trend, The fixed router (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. Charnwood, W012 bench top router table (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. Wealden, Safe use of a router (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Electrical Safety First, Travel advice (retrieved 19 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the listings. This is not a laboratory test.