Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Palm router comparison 2026

The best Palm routers, compared.

Top pick: Trend T1EPS dual-base – Only listing sold with trim and plunge bases, at 710 W and 240 V, and the highest star line at 4.6 from 51 reviews. Best value: KATSU 710W trimmer – Lowest shelf price in the set, about £41.99, with 4.5 from 3,892 reviews. It does not take the top-pick badge. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A palm router, also called a trim router, is a one-handed woodworking router with a compact body, a collet and usually a fixed trim base. You buy one to round an edge, flush-trim laminate or cut a hinge recess. Wattage alone does not tell you whether the shank fits, whether the depth lock holds, or whether a speed range is actually stated. If the cut has to start in the face of the board, the [fixed base or plunge base](/hub/routers/palm-router/sub/palm-router-vs-plunge-router) guide sets that fork before you treat a trimmer as a plunge router. A fixed base follows an edge or a template.

A palm router, also called a trim router, is a one-handed woodworking router with a compact body, a collet and usually a fixed trim base. You buy one to round an edge, flush-trim laminate or cut a hinge recess.

Trend T1EPS dual-base

Best overall

Trend T1EPS dual-base
9.1/10∼ £116

34 products checked · 47 hrs invested · +16,200 readers

10 of 10: Best Palm routers compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 10
Best overall
Trend T1EPS dual-base
Best value
KATSU 710W trimmer
Anesty palm router
Avhrit 21V cordless
KATSU 101742 trimmer
DEWINNER DET321PRO
CtopoGo CT-370
SINGTIP 800W palm router
BATOCA 12V cordless
INMOZATA MT-0017
9.1/10
9.0/10
9.0/10
9.0/10
9.0/10
8.8/10
8.6/10
8.4/10
8.2/10
7.2/10
∼ £116
∼ £42
∼ £49
∼ £90
∼ £43
∼ £46
∼ £43
∼ £44
∼ £70
∼ £46
4.6(51)
4.5(3,892)
4.5(729)
4.5(112)
4.5(75)
4.4(88)
4.3(694)
4.2(58)
4.1(17)
3.6(25)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best Palm routers in detail

Trend T1EPS dual-base

Rank 1

Trend T1EPS dual-base

∼£116

Our view

The Trend T1EPS is the only tool in this set sold with both a trim base and a plunge base, at £116 with 4.6 from 51 reviews, 710 W, and 240 V stated. The bullets claim 37 mm of trim depth and 60 mm of plunge, a 1/4 inch double-locking collet, and an offset dust spout. UK reviewers use the two bases for hinge jigs on doors and mention dust extraction with a Henry vacuum. Bits are not on the included-components line, and a UK review notes that no starter bits were supplied. Plunge handles feel large to one reviewer, and one says this model cannot be used in a router table. One unit arrived broken and was replaced, and another review says a loose cutter damaged the base. The item-weight line of 5.33 kg is the kit figure as printed. It is the top pick when you need a plunge start on a named 240 V compact Trend, and it is the wrong spend if a fixed-base edge at about £42 is the whole job.

Pros

  • Trim and plunge bases are claimed, at 37 mm and 60 mm
  • 240 V, 710 W, and a 1/4 inch collet are stated
  • 4.6 from 51 reviews, the highest star line in the set
  • UK reviews of hinge jigs and extraction with a Henry vacuum

Cons

  • Bits are not on the included-components line
  • 51 reviews, a much smaller file than the KATSU’s 3,892
  • One UK review says it cannot go in a router table
  • £116, against corded fixed-base kits near £42

Best for: Hinge jigs and other cuts that need a plunge, on a compact 1/4 inch 240 V tool, with cutters bought separately.

Less suitable: Edge trimming only, a router table, or a 1/2 inch workshop plunge router.

Specifications

Model
Trend T1EPS dual-base
Brand
Trend
Price
∼£116
Customer rating
4.6/5(51)
Base
Trim and plunge
Collet
1/4 inch
Speed
6 speeds, 30,000 rpm
Power
Corded
Output
710 W
Voltage
240 V
Bits
None listed
Dust port
Yes
Weight
5.33 kg

Common questions

Is this a full-size plunge router?

No. It is a 1/4 inch, 710 W compact tool. The listing claims a trim base to 37 mm and a plunge base to 60 mm. The 2,200 W and 2,300 W Trend plunge routers are a different class.

Are bits included?

The included-components line names the 240 V UK router. It does not name a bit set. A UK review notes that no starter bits were supplied.

Can it go in a router table?

One UK review says this model cannot be used in a router table. The listing does not claim table use.

KATSU 710W trimmer

Rank 2

KATSU 710W trimmer

∼£42

Our view

The KATSU 710 W trimmer is the lowest shelf price in this set at £41.99, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 3,892 reviews. UK reviewers describe hinge seats, signs, rebates, and guitar binding channels, and several treat it as a weekend tool rather than a site router. One review says the base can interchange with a Makita RT0700 base, which is a fit note about the base and not a claim that this is a Makita. The highlight says 1/4 inch and 3/8 inch collets, while one UK review says a 1/4 inch bit would not fit. Variable speed is claimed, and the specification table does not give an rpm range. Rough castings, fan noise, and a bit that slipped outward in one of two samples come up in the UK reviews. One unit died on the second light cut after the return window. On these scores it is the best value for occasional fixed-base work if you confirm the collet before you buy cutters.

Pros

  • £41.99 with 4.5 from 3,892 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • UK reviews of hinge seats, rebates, signs, and guitar binding channels
  • Variable speed is claimed on the listing
  • One UK review says the base interchanges with Makita RT0700 bases

Cons

  • One UK review says a 1/4 inch bit would not fit
  • The specification table gives no rpm range
  • Bit slip, rough castings, and one early failure are in the UK reviews

Best for: Occasional fixed-base trimming, hinge seats, and rebates when you can check the collet on the tool.

Less suitable: A cut that must start with a plunge, or a shank that has to be 6 mm rather than 1/4 inch or 3/8 inch.

Specifications

Model
KATSU 710W trimmer
Brand
KATSU
Price
∼£42
Customer rating
4.5/5(3,892)
Base
Fixed, 89 mm
Collet
1/4 and 3/8 inch
Speed
Variable, no rpm
Power
Corded
Output
710 W
Voltage
220–240 V
Weight
2.6 kg

Common questions

Which collets does this KATSU listing claim?

The item highlight says 1/4 inch and 3/8 inch collets. One UK review says a 1/4 inch bit would not fit, so check the collet on the tool before you rely on the highlight.

Does the listing give a speed range?

It says variable speed. The specification table does not give a minimum or maximum rpm.

What is the shelf price and review count?

The captured amazon.co.uk price is £41.99, with 4.5 from 3,892 reviews.

Anesty palm router

Rank 3

Anesty palm router

∼£49

Our view

The Anesty palm router is £49.20 with 4.5 from 729 reviews, and the listing states 240 V. UK reviewers describe it as a first router for occasional DIY, balanced if you build the depth in passes, and adequate on softwood with the kit bits. The specification line says 2 horsepower while a bullet stays in the 710 W class, and the page does not reconcile them. The base diameter is listed at 64 mm, with a claimed speed range of 10,000–30,000 rpm and a 15-piece 1/4 inch set. The repeated UK comment is that the bits are the weak part. Reviewers also say dust goes everywhere unless a hose is connected, and one could not see the cut without extra light through the plastic. At 3.12 kg it is heavier than the KATSU 710 W, and rank 1 in Power Routers is a sales rank, not a test result. It is the corded kit to consider when you want 240 V printed and a large review file, and you still budget for a better cutter and extraction.

Pros

  • 240 V is stated, at £49.20
  • 4.5 from 729 reviews, with UK comments on occasional DIY
  • A speed range of 10,000–30,000 rpm is claimed
  • Base diameter is listed at 64 mm

Cons

  • The 2 horsepower specification line conflicts with a 710 W-class bullet
  • Included bits are the repeated weak point in UK reviews
  • Dust without a hose, and a poor sight line without extra light
  • 3.12 kg, heavier than the cheaper KATSU

Best for: Occasional fixed-base DIY when you want 240 V on the page and a review file larger than the £116 Trend’s 51 reviews.

Less suitable: A plunge start, a day of trade work, or a cut that depends on the boxed bits and no extractor.

Specifications

Model
Anesty palm router
Brand
Anesty
Price
∼£49
Customer rating
4.5/5(729)
Base
Fixed, 64 mm
Collet
1/4 inch
Speed
10,000–30,000 rpm
Power
Corded
Output
2 hp and 710 W
Voltage
240 V
Bits
15 pieces
Weight
3.12 kg

Common questions

Is the horsepower figure the same as 710 W?

No. The specification line says 2 horsepower. A bullet describes a motor in the 710 W class. The page does not reconcile them.

What do UK reviews say about dust?

Reviewers say dust goes everywhere unless the tool is connected to extraction, and one says the cut is hard to see without extra light.

Are the included bits praised?

The repeated UK comment is that the bits are the weak part, though some softwood jobs were finished with them.

Avhrit 21V cordless

Rank 4

Avhrit 21V cordless

∼£90

Our view

The Avhrit 21 V cordless kit is £89.99 with 4.5 from 112 reviews, and the included line lists two batteries, a charger, 15 bits, guides, and a toolbox. UK reviews describe DIY chamfers, a cedar bench, and an oak edge after the buyer changed the kit bit. One reviewer said the batteries lasted a session and that the tool was quieter than their corded router. The speed lines do not agree: a bullet says 0–3,300 rpm and the specification line says 33,000 rpm. One review title calls the depth cutter poor. Wattage is not stated, and the item weight is 4.28 kg, which is heavy for a palm tool. The charger plug type is not described. It is a cordless option for light DIY if you treat the two speed figures as unresolved and you change the kit bit before an oak edge.

Pros

  • Two batteries and a charger are on the included line
  • 4.5 from 112 reviews, with UK notes on a cedar bench and chamfers
  • One UK reviewer said the batteries lasted a session
  • 15 bits, a roller guide, and a straight guide are listed

Cons

  • A bullet says 0–3,300 rpm and the specification line says 33,000 rpm
  • One review title calls the depth cutter poor
  • 4.28 kg on the item-weight line
  • The charger plug type is not described

Best for: Light cordless DIY, such as a chamfer or a softwood bench, if you can accept the unresolved speed figures.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs one agreed rpm range, or an oak edge cut with the bit that arrived in the case.

Specifications

Model
Avhrit 21V cordless
Brand
Avhrit
Price
∼£90
Customer rating
4.5/5(112)
Base
Fixed
Collet
1/4 inch
Speed
3,300 and 33,000 rpm
Power
Battery
Voltage
21 V
Bits
15 pieces
Dust port
Yes
Weight
4.28 kg

Common questions

Which speed figure should you trust?

You should not pick one. A bullet says 0 to 3300 rpm and the specification line says 33000 rpm. The listing does not explain the clash.

What is in the box?

The included line lists the router, two batteries, a charger, 15 bits, a roller guide, a straight guide, a wrench, and a toolbox.

How have UK reviewers used it?

Reviews describe DIY chamfers, a cedar bench, and an oak edge after the buyer changed the kit bit. One title calls the depth cutter poor.

KATSU 101742 trimmer

Rank 5

KATSU 101742 trimmer

∼£43

Our view

The KATSU 101742 is £42.99 with 4.5 from 75 reviews, and the bullets claim 6 mm, 8 mm, and 1/4 inch collets. One UK reviewer noticed the claimed soft start in use, and others describe latch plates, a guitar cavity, and pockets cut with an 8 mm spiral bit. One reviewer put the body in a small table after being surprised by it. Depth is not settled on the page: one bullet says about 20 mm with a quick lock and another claims a 0–40 mm scale. UK reviews say the manual has no diagrams and that the quick-release lock nut will not stay tight. One reviewer said the body is not earthed and modified it, and the same review says it does not restart if power returns while the switch is left on. Voltage is not stated, and one reviewer could not fit any bit they already owned. It is the KATSU to open when those three collet sizes are the reason to buy, after you have tried a bit in the collet.

Pros

  • 6 mm, 8 mm, and 1/4 inch collets are claimed
  • A UK reviewer noticed the claimed soft start
  • UK reviews cover latch plates, a guitar cavity, and an 8 mm spiral pocket
  • Maximum speed is listed at 35,000 rpm

Cons

  • Depth bullets conflict: about 20 mm against a 0–40 mm scale
  • The lock nut will not stay set, in UK reviews
  • Voltage is not stated, and one reviewer reported the body was not earthed
  • One reviewer could not fit any bit they already owned

Best for: A fixed-base job that needs the three claimed collet sizes, including an 8 mm spiral, after a fit check.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a stated voltage and a depth figure that the listing agrees with itself.

Specifications

Model
KATSU 101742 trimmer
Brand
KATSU
Price
∼£43
Customer rating
4.5/5(75)
Base
Fixed trimmer
Collet
6 mm, 8 mm, 1/4 in
Speed
35,000 rpm max
Power
Corded
Output
710 W
Bits
3 bits
Dust port
Yes
Weight
2.48 kg

Common questions

How is this KATSU different from B00LVVJ99U?

This listing, model 101742, claims 6 mm, 8 mm, and 1/4 inch collets, soft start, and about 20 mm of depth. The other KATSU claims 1/4 inch and 3/8 inch collets and does not state that depth.

Does it include many bits?

The bullets say three router bits, plus collets, a trimmer base, wrenches, and guides. It is not a 15-piece kit.

What do UK reviews say about the manual?

One UK review says the manual has no diagrams. Another says a locking nut works loose.

DEWINNER DET321PRO

Rank 6

DEWINNER DET321PRO

∼£46

Our view

The DEWINNER DET321PRO is £45.89 with 4.4 from 88 reviews, and the bullets claim six speeds from 13,000 to 33,000 rpm plus 1/4 inch, 6 mm, and 8 mm collets. UK reviewers used it for shelf lighting channels, round-overs, 18 mm MDF curves, edge tape, and an oak worktop edge they called clean. A 15-bit case and a bag are claimed, though the included-components line is thinner than the bullet list, and voltage is not stated. One UK review says the height adjuster is awkward and the rubber palm grip started to detach after a few days. Another says the guide will not hold depth. Two review texts describe an SDS drill, so they are not evidence about this cutter. A bullet that mentions low speed for metal is not a verified metal-cutting rating. It suits a first round-over or rebate if the height lock holds on scrap.

Pros

  • Six speeds from 13,000 to 33,000 rpm are claimed
  • 1/4 inch, 6 mm, and 8 mm collets are claimed
  • UK reviews of shelf channels, edge tape, MDF curves, and an oak worktop edge
  • A 15-bit case is claimed

Cons

  • Height adjustment and a guide that will not hold depth, in UK reviews
  • Rubber palm grip detaching after a few days, in one UK review
  • Voltage is not stated
  • Two review texts are about an SDS drill, not this router

Best for: A first round-over, rebate, or edge-tape pass when you want three collet sizes and a stated speed band.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a stated mains voltage, or a height lock that UK reviews already describe as unreliable.

Specifications

Model
DEWINNER DET321PRO
Brand
DEWINNER
Price
∼£46
Customer rating
4.4/5(88)
Base
Fixed
Collet
1/4 in, 6 mm, 8 mm
Speed
13,000–33,000 rpm
Power
Corded
Output
710 W
Bits
15 bits
Weight
2.58 kg

Common questions

Which collets are claimed?

The bullets say 1/4 inch, 6 mm, and 8 mm spring collets, plus straight and curved guides.

What have UK reviewers used it for?

Reviews mention shelf lighting channels, round-overs, 18 mm MDF curves, rebates, edge tape, and an oak worktop edge.

What wore first?

One UK review says the height adjuster is awkward and the rubber palm grip started to detach after a few days.

CtopoGo CT-370

Rank 7

CtopoGo CT-370

∼£43

Our view

The CtopoGo CT-370 is £42.99 with 4.3 from 694 reviews, an 800 W claim, a 220 V specification line, and a 12-piece 1/4 inch bit set. UK reviewers have cut oak hinge recesses and door frames, and several say the transparent case makes the cut easier to see. The specification block gives 30,000 rpm as a maximum and does not list a variable-speed range. The repeated criticism is the kit: bits and bearings fail quickly, spanners are too soft or the wrong size, and guides and the guard come loose. Several reviews say a bit dropped mid-cut and ruined the work, and one says the collet later refused bits it had accepted. The fine adjuster is called cheap plastic. A 220 V line does not say that a BS 1363 plug is fitted. It can take a first hinge recess after practice on scrap, and the boxed cutters are the part you should replace before an oak door.

Pros

  • 4.3 from 694 reviews at £42.99
  • UK reviews of oak hinge recesses and door frames
  • A transparent case that reviewers say helps them see the cut
  • A 12-piece 1/4 inch bit set is claimed in the box

Cons

  • No variable-speed range in the specification block
  • Kit bits, bearings, and soft spanners are a repeated UK complaint
  • Bits dropping mid-cut, and a collet that later refused bits
  • 220 V is printed, and the plug type is not stated

Best for: A first fixed-base hinge recess or edge, after practice on scrap and with a cutter you trust.

Less suitable: A job that needs a speed dial, or anyone treating the 12 boxed bits as cutters for oak.

Specifications

Model
CtopoGo CT-370
Brand
CtopoGo
Price
∼£43
Customer rating
4.3/5(694)
Base
Fixed
Collet
1/4 inch
Speed
30,000 rpm max
Power
Corded
Output
800 W
Voltage
220 V
Bits
12 pieces
Weight
2.52 kg

Common questions

Is a speed dial listed?

The specification block gives a maximum of 30000 rpm. It does not list a variable-speed range.

What do UK reviews say about the bits?

Reviews say the tool cut oak hinge recesses, and also that kit bits burn on MDF and that the fine adjuster is plastic.

What voltage is printed?

The specification line says 220 V. The plug type is not stated on the listing.

SINGTIP 800W palm router

Rank 8

SINGTIP 800W palm router

∼£44

Our view

The SINGTIP listing is £43.99 with 4.2 from 58 reviews, an 800 W claim, and a stated maximum of 30,000 rpm. UK reviewers say it is strong enough for small jobs, that hinge rebates were possible after practice on scrap, and that the depth setting was easy. The specification block does not list a speed range, and one UK review says there is no speed control. The title says 6.35 mm bits, while one UK review says the bits would not enter the collet and suspects a 6 mm collet. Included bit bearings are reported to burn. The printed dimensions of 10 x 10 x 10 mm are not a usable size for this tool. One review measured the body nearer 63 mm than the 65 mm a table lift expects. It is a low-price fixed trimmer if you check the collet with a real bit and you do not need a dial.

Pros

  • £43.99 with UK reviews of small jobs and hinge rebates after scrap practice
  • 800 W and a 30,000 rpm maximum are stated
  • One UK review found the depth setting easy
  • A 15-piece bit set and guides are claimed

Cons

  • One UK review says there is no speed control
  • One UK review says the bits would not enter and suspects a 6 mm collet
  • Kit-bit bearings are reported to burn
  • Printed size of 10 x 10 x 10 mm is not usable

Best for: A small fixed-base rebate when you have checked that a 1/4 inch bit enters the collet.

Less suitable: A wider cutter that needs a slower speed, or a 65 mm router-lift body.

Specifications

Model
SINGTIP 800W palm router
Brand
SINGTIP
Price
∼£44
Customer rating
4.2/5(58)
Base
Trimmer base
Collet
6.35 mm claimed
Speed
30,000 rpm max
Power
Corded
Output
800 W
Voltage
220 V
Bits
15 pieces
Weight
2.45 kg

Common questions

Does this SINGTIP have a speed dial?

The specification block does not list a speed range. One UK review says the tool has no speed control.

Will the included bits fit?

The title says 6.35 mm bits. One UK review says the bits would not enter the collet and suspects a 6 mm collet.

Can the printed size be used?

The item dimensions say 10 x 10 x 10 mm. That figure does not describe a palm router, so it is not a size you can use.

BATOCA 12V cordless

Rank 9

BATOCA 12V cordless

∼£70

Our view

The BATOCA 12 V cordless router is £69.99 with 4.1 from 17 reviews, a stated 19,500 rpm, and a listed weight of 792 g. The box claim is two 2.0 Ah batteries, a USB-C cable rather than a separate charger brick, two straight bits, one cove bit, and a vacuum hose connector, with a claimed depth of 0–40 mm. The listing limits it to laminate, plywood, MDF, softwood, and PVC, and says it is not for structural cutting or hard dense materials. None of the stored review texts is marked United Kingdom, so the 4.1 line is not a UK record. Non-UK reviews call it small for tight places, and they also say the on/off switch is awkward, the base plastic feels cheap, and the height moved after lock-down. One of those reviews found it underpowered for 1/8 inch MDF. A variable-speed dial is not claimed. It is a light cordless option only for a short shallow cut in soft material, and only if you accept that the written reviews are not from the UK.

Pros

  • 792 g, the lightest tool in this set
  • Two 2.0 Ah batteries and a USB-C cable are claimed
  • A vacuum hose connector and a straight guide are in the included line
  • The listing states a depth range of 0–40 mm

Cons

  • 17 reviews, and the stored texts are not marked United Kingdom
  • No variable-speed dial is claimed; the speed line is 19,500 rpm
  • Non-UK reviews report the height moving after lock-down
  • The charger is a USB-C cable, and the plug on that cable is not described

Best for: A short, shallow trim in softwood, MDF, or laminate where a lead is the problem and UK review texts are not required.

Less suitable: Oak, a deep recess, or anyone reading the 4.1 line as United Kingdom opinion.

Specifications

Model
BATOCA 12V cordless
Brand
BATOCA
Price
∼£70
Customer rating
4.1/5(17)
Base
Fixed
Collet
1/4 inch
Speed
19,500 rpm
Power
Battery
Voltage
12 V
Bits
3 bits
Dust port
Yes
Weight
0.792 kg

Common questions

Are the 17 reviews from the UK?

The star line is 4.1 from 17 on the amazon.co.uk listing. The review texts stored with this listing are not marked United Kingdom.

How does it charge?

The listing says two 2.0 Ah batteries and a USB-C cable, not a separate charger brick. The plug on that cable is not described.

Is variable speed listed?

The speed line is 19500 rpm. A variable-speed dial is not claimed.

INMOZATA MT-0017

Rank 10

INMOZATA MT-0017

∼£46

Our view

The INMOZATA MT-0017 is £45.99 with 3.6 from 25 reviews, the weakest star line in this set. Two UK reviews say the tool gave an electric shock at switch-on. Several UK reviews say the metal body becomes too hot to hold during a longer cut. The listing claims 800 W, six speeds from 10,000 to 33,000 rpm, a transparent base, a dust hood, and a 15-piece 1/4 inch case, and voltage is not stated. Some reviewers did cut hinge recesses and curved edges, and one describes about two days on window routing. Those jobs do not cancel the shock reports. More than one UK review says instructions were missing, a trim guide would not stay tight, an included bit failed on a softwood groove, and one unit stopped within about 30 minutes. This is the listing to leave, not a budget stand-in for the KATSU at a similar price.

Pros

  • Six speeds from 10,000 to 33,000 rpm are claimed
  • A transparent base, a dust hood, and a 15-piece case are claimed
  • Some UK reviews describe hinge recesses and curved edges

Cons

  • Two UK reviews report an electric shock at switch-on
  • The body becomes too hot to hold, in several UK reviews
  • 3.6 from 25 reviews, with missing instructions in more than one review
  • A trim guide that would not stay tight, and a kit bit that failed on softwood

Best for: No routine job in this comparison, until a shock report has been dealt with by the seller and you have stopped using that unit.

Less suitable: Any buyer comparing it with the corded kits near £42–£49 that do not carry UK shock reports.

Specifications

Model
INMOZATA MT-0017
Brand
INMOZATA
Price
∼£46
Customer rating
3.6/5(25)
Base
Fixed
Collet
1/4 inch
Speed
10,000–33,000 rpm
Power
Corded
Output
800 W
Bits
15 pieces
Dust port
Yes
Weight
2.8 kg

Common questions

Do UK reviews mention an electric shock?

Yes. Two UK reviews say the tool gave an electric shock at switch-on. Those reports are a reason to stop using it and speak to the seller, not a measured fault rate.

Does the body stay cool?

Several UK reviews say the metal body becomes too hot to hold during a longer cut.

What speed does the listing claim?

A bullet says six speeds from 10000 to 33000 rpm, and the maximum speed line says 33000 rpm.

How we compared

We compared ten amazon.co.uk palm-router listings kept for this set. Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the UK lines on those listings. The 0–100 score on each card is the star rating multiplied by 20, so 4.6 becomes 92 and 4.5 becomes 90. The review count is not added on top of the stars. It stays in the label, so 4.6 from 51 reviews is not the same evidence as 4.5 from 3,892. Collets, speeds, voltages and box contents are listing claims unless a sentence names a UK review. This is not a laboratory test.

1

Amazon star rating

100%

The whole 0–100 score is the amazon.co.uk star rating multiplied by 20. The Trend T1EPS at 4.6 scores 92. The KATSU 710 W at 4.5 scores 90. The INMOZATA at 3.6 scores 72. Review volume does not change that number. It is stated beside the stars so you can judge the evidence.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Palm router buying guide

A palm router is the compact tool you pick up for an edge, a hinge recess or a small cavity, not for a deep mortice. This set is ten amazon.co.uk listings, from about £41.99 to £116. The top pick is the Trend T1EPS because it is the only row with a trim base and a plunge base. The best value is the KATSU 710 W, the lowest shelf price, with 4.5 from 3,892 reviews. Scores are the star rating times 20. Collets, speeds and voltages are listing claims unless a sentence names a UK review.

What is a palm router?

A palm router, also called a trim router, is a one-handed woodworking router with a compact body, a collet and, usually, a fixed trim base. A fixed base follows an edge or a template. A plunge base starts a cut in the face of a board. In this amazon.co.uk set, only the Trend T1EPS is sold as both trim and plunge. The bullets claim 37 mm of trim depth and 60 mm of plunge. The other nine listings are fixed-base palm tools, corded or cordless.

Best for

  • A hinge recess or edge on a corded fixed base, after you have practised on scrap
  • A plunge start for a hinge jig on a compact 240 V, 1/4 inch tool

Not ideal for

  • A deep mortice, or a half-inch workshop plunge router
  • A 110 V site supply, or anyone reading 220 V as a UK plug

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Using a palm tool for a deep mortice

    A fixed trim base follows an edge. It does not replace a workshop plunge router for a deep mortice. In this set only the Trend T1EPS claims a plunge base, and that claim is 60 mm, not a full-size half-inch machine.

  2. 2

    Reading 220 V as a UK plug

    A printed 220 V or 220–240 V is not proof of a BS 1363 plug, and it is not a 110 V site tool. Home use is a 230 V supply. UK construction often uses 110 V from a centre-tapped transformer, which is a different product.

  3. 3

    One full-depth pass

    Take shallow passes and feed against the cutter rotation. One full-depth cut is a common way to burn the timber or drop the bit. Practise the depth on scrap before a door or an oak edge.

  4. 4

    Treating two speed lines as one fact

    The Avhrit bullet says 0 to 3,300 rpm and the specification line says 33,000 rpm. The listing does not explain the clash. Do not buy it on the assumption that one of those figures is the settled speed.

What to weigh up

Base and collet

High

The base decides whether you can start the cut. A fixed trim base follows an edge, a bearing or a template. A plunge base is what a hinge jig and many stopped cuts need. In this set only the Trend T1EPS is sold with both. The bullets claim 37 mm of trim depth and 60 mm of plunge, on a 1/4 inch collet, at 710 W and 240 V, for about £116. Bits are not on the included-components line, and one UK review says it cannot go in a router table.

Speed, supply and boxed bits

High

The Trend claims six levels and a 30,000 rpm maximum. The DEWINNER claims 13,000 to 33,000 rpm. The Anesty claims 10,000 to 30,000 rpm. The older KATSU says variable speed and gives no rpm range. The CtopoGo specification gives 30,000 rpm as a maximum only. One UK review of the SINGTIP says there is no speed control. The Avhrit bullet says 0 to 3,300 rpm and the specification line says 33,000 rpm. Corded tools here claim 710 W or 800 W. That is not a 2,200 W half-inch plunge router.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Hinge jig with a plunge

You need the cutter to enter the face of a door, not only follow an edge. The Trend T1EPS is the only listing here sold with a trim base and a plunge base, at about £116, 710 W and 240 V, with 4.6 from 51 reviews. Bits are not in the included line. One UK review says it cannot go in a router table.

Occasional edges on a budget

You want a corded fixed base for hinge seats, rebates or edge work, and the lowest shelf price in this set. The KATSU 710 W is about £41.99, with 4.5 from 3,892 reviews. Variable speed is claimed and no rpm range is given. One UK review says a 1/4 inch bit would not fit, so check the collet on the tool.

240 V printed, fixed base

You want 240 V printed and a larger review file than the Trend’s 51 reviews, for occasional fixed-base DIY. The Anesty is about £49.20, with 4.5 from 729 reviews, a claimed speed of 10,000–30,000 rpm and a 64 mm base. The 2 horsepower line conflicts with a 710 W-class bullet. Included bits are the repeated weak point in UK reviews.

Common questions about Palm routers

What is the top pick in this palm router comparison?
The top pick is the Trend T1EPS at about £116. It is the only listing here sold with a trim base and a plunge base, at 710 W and 240 V, with 4.6 from 51 reviews. Bits are not on the included-components line. One UK review says it cannot go in a router table. Choose it when the cut has to start in the face of the board, not for a fixed-base edge at about £42.
How much does a palm router cost on amazon.co.uk?
In this amazon.co.uk set, corded fixed-base kits sit at about £41.99 to £49.20. The cordless kits are the BATOCA at about £69.99 and the Avhrit at about £89.99. The Trend T1EPS is about £116. These are shelf prices from the listings, not a national shop survey, and they can move. Workshop Trend plunge routers such as the T8 and T14 are a different category and are not on this page.
What should you check before you buy a palm router?
A fixed base follows an edge or a template. Only the Trend T1EPS also claims a plunge base. Then match the shank: these are 1/4 inch machines, and a 6 mm shank is not a 1/4 inch shank. Look for a speed range with two figures. Read 220 V as a printed line, not as a BS 1363 plug. Treat boxed bits as a starter set, and buy a separate cutter for oak or a door.
Does 220 V on the listing mean a UK plug?
No. A line that says 220 V or 220–240 V is not proof of a BS 1363 plug or of 110 V site use. The Trend T1EPS and the Anesty state 240 V. The CtopoGo specification line says 220 V, and the plug type is not stated on the listing. Several other listings do not state a voltage. Home use is a 230 V tool. A 110 V construction supply from a centre-tapped transformer is a different product.
Should you buy the INMOZATA palm router?
The INMOZATA MT-0017 is about £45.99 with 3.6 from 25 reviews, the lowest score here at 72. Two UK reviews say the tool gave an electric shock at switch-on. Several UK reviews say the body becomes too hot to hold. Those reports are not a measured fault rate. They are a reason to stop using that unit and speak to the seller, not to treat it as a stand-in for the KATSU 710 W.
Can the Trend T1EPS go in a router table?
One UK review of the Trend T1EPS says this model cannot be used in a router table, and the listing does not claim table use. A compact 1/4 inch body is a different fit from a full-size workshop router. Plate material and trim-router fit are covered in the router insert plate comparison. For a hinge jig on this page, the T1EPS is the listing that claims a plunge base.
Are the boxed router bits suitable for oak?
No. UK reviews of the Anesty, CtopoGo, SINGTIP and INMOZATA often say the bearings fail early, and CtopoGo reviewers say kit bits burn on MDF. The Trend included-components line does not name a bit set. Buy a separate cutter for a door or an oak edge, and practise the depth on scrap. One full-depth pass is a common way to burn the timber.
Is the BATOCA star rating a United Kingdom review record?
No. The amazon.co.uk capture shows 4.1 from 17 reviews. The review texts stored with this listing are not marked United Kingdom. The listing limits the tool to laminate, plywood, MDF, softwood and PVC, and says it is not for structural cutting or hard dense materials. The speed line is 19,500 rpm, with no variable-speed dial claimed, and the listed weight is 792 g.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Trend T1EPS at about £116. It is the only listing in this set sold with a trim base and a plunge base, at 710 W and 240 V, with 4.6 from 51 reviews, so the score is 92. Bits are not on the included-components line, and one UK review says it is not for a router table. The best value is the KATSU 710 W at about £41.99, with 4.5 from 3,892 reviews, the lowest shelf price in the set. One UK review says a 1/4 inch bit would not fit, and the specification table gives no rpm range. The other eight listings have no badge. The scores are the star rating times 20. They are not a laboratory test.

Best overall
Trend T1EPS dual-base

Trend T1EPS dual-base

Only listing sold with trim and plunge bases, at 710 W and 240 V, and the highest star line at 4.6 from 51 reviews.

View offer
Best value
KATSU 710W trimmer

KATSU 710W trimmer

Lowest shelf price in the set, about £41.99, with 4.5 from 3,892 reviews. It does not take the top-pick badge.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsRoutersamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to Palm routers

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources used for the dust, noise, electrical and consumer-rights points on this page. Prices, stars and review counts are from the amazon.co.uk listings in this set, as in the digest of 16 October 2026.

  1. HSE — Wood dust (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. HSE WD5 — On-tool extraction (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. British Woodworking Federation — Portable on-tool extraction (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. HSE WIS23 — COSHH and wood dust (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. HSE L108 — Controlling noise at work (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. HSE — Electrical equipment (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. PUWER 1998 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 22 (retrieved 16 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk with the tag pcuk26-21. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk lines used for this set. We did not run a laboratory test.