Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Scroll saw comparison 2026

The best scroll saws, compared.

Top pick: Einhell TE-SS 406 Vario FP Best value: Einhell TC-SS 406E – About £99.99 with a stated 50 mm cut, a table to 47°, and 4.3 from 256 reviews. Check the table and the tensioner first. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A scroll saw is a benchtop fret saw. A fine blade moves up and down through a table while you steer the wood. That is the right machine for tight curves, fretwork, puzzles, and thin model parts. It is the wrong machine for ripping a sheet, demolition, or thick structural timber, where a circular saw, a jigsaw, or a hand coping saw is the better tool. Wattage here only runs from 70 W to 150 W, so watts are a weak way to pick a winner. The [scroll saw buying guide](/hub/power-saws/scroll-saw/sub/scroll-saw-buying-guide) puts throat, blades, and dust in order before you use the table. Do not use it to rip a sheet, to demolish, or to cut thick structural timber.

A scroll saw is a benchtop fret saw. A fine blade moves up and down through a table while you steer the wood. That is the right machine for tight curves, fretwork, puzzles, and thin model parts.

Einhell TE-SS 406 Vario FP

Best overall

Einhell TE-SS 406 Vario FP
7.0/10∼ £209

26 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

7 of 7: Best scroll saws compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 7
Best overall
Einhell TE-SS 406 Vario FP
Bucktool SSA18BV
Dremel MS20
Best value
Einhell TC-SS 406E
Katsu 100150
Katsu 100149
Generic 16 inch
7.0/10
7.1/10
7.3/10
6.6/10
5.9/10
4.3/10
1.0/10
∼ £209
∼ £228
∼ £100
∼ £100
∼ £100
∼ £90
∼ £181
5.0(4)
4.6(77)
4.5(1,040)
4.3(256)
4.0(2)
3.5(2)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

Where will the saw live?

The best scroll saws in detail

Einhell TE-SS 406 Vario FP

Rank 1

Einhell TE-SS 406 Vario FP

∼£209

Our view

The Einhell TE-SS 406 Vario FP, at £209.21, is a 130 W bench saw with a stated 50 mm cut, an aluminium table to 45° left and right, and a listed weight of 9.04 kg. The box is the saw, two blades, a fretsaw-blade adapter and a flexible shaft. A bullet says a foot pedal can be connected and switched separately, but the pedal itself is not in the included line, and no numeric speed range is stated. The listing asks whether the saw takes pinless blades and does not answer. The star line is 5.0 from four reviews, and the raw texts are one review from Spain and one from Germany, so that score is not a United Kingdom owner verdict. Voltage is missing from the listing. At this price you are paying above the TC-SS 406E for features that page states more clearly, without a UK review file to check them.

Pros

  • Stated 50 mm cut and a table to 45° left and right
  • Fretsaw-blade adapter and a flexible shaft in the box
  • Listing describes a socket for a separate foot pedal
  • Spare-parts row on the listing says eight years for the EU

Cons

  • 5.0 from four reviews, with no United Kingdom review text
  • £209.21 and no numeric speed range
  • Pinless fit is asked on the page and not answered
  • Foot pedal is not in the included-components line

Best for: A buyer who specifically wants the shaft and the fretsaw adapter and will not treat the four stars as UK evidence.

Less suitable: Anyone choosing from a UK review file, or who needs a confirmed pinless blade.

Specifications

Model
Einhell TE-SS 406 Vario FP
Brand
Einhell
Price
∼£209
Customer rating
5.0/5(4)
Blade system
Fretsaw adapter
Cut height
50 mm
Tilt
45° each way
Speed
Variable
Power
130 W
Weight
9.04 kg
In the box
2 blades, shaft

Common questions

Does the listing include a foot pedal?

The bullets say a foot pedal can be connected. The included line lists the saw, two blades, a fretsaw-blade adapter, and a flexible shaft. It does not list a pedal.

Does the listing say it takes pinless blades?

The page asks the question. The bullets do not answer it. They do include an adapter for a fretsaw blade.

Are the four reviews from the UK?

The listing score is 5.0 from 4. The raw file has a Spanish review and a German review, and no United Kingdom review text.

Bucktool SSA18BV

Rank 2

Bucktool SSA18BV

∼£228

Our view

The Bucktool SSA18BV, at £227.99, is the 457 mm, 120 W saw that 77 amazon.co.uk reviews rate at 4.6, with a listed weight of 26.5 kg. The bullets state 550 to 1,600 strokes a minute, pinless blades of 130 to 133 mm as well as pinned blades, a dust blower and hood, and an arm that pivots plus or minus 45° so the workpiece stays put. A specification row says 1,600 RPM, which matches the top of that range rather than a second speed, and cut height is not stated. In 12 UK review texts, owners call it solid, smooth and stable, and one notes that the arm lifts so the work can pass the blade. The lower dust guard is a poor fit, the blade guard is awkward, and the mass is a problem if you have to move the saw. One clamp broke on the first blade change, and one set of tension threads stripped after 23 days and left the saw unusable, though that refund was quick.

Pros

  • 4.6 from 77 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Stated 457 mm throat at 26.5 kg
  • Pinless blades of 130–133 mm and pinned blades
  • Arm pivots ±45°, with a blower and a dust hood
  • UK reviews praise a stable platform and a clean cut

Cons

  • £227.99, the top price in this set
  • A blade clamp broke on the first blade change
  • Tension threads stripped after 23 days on one saw
  • Blade guard is awkward and the lower dust guard is a poor fit

Best for: An 18 inch bench that can stay where you put it, if you check the clamp and the tension threads early.

Less suitable: A small flat, a saw you must carry upstairs, or a first experiment at this price.

Specifications

Model
Bucktool SSA18BV
Brand
Bucktool
Price
∼£228
Customer rating
4.6/5(77)
Throat
457 mm
Blade system
Pinless and pinned
Tilt
Arm ±45°
Speed
550–1,600 spm
Dust
Blower and hood
Power
120 W
Weight
26.5 kg

Common questions

Does the listing tilt the table or the arm?

The bullets say the saw arm pivots plus or minus 45 degrees so the workpiece stays put. One review mentions angle adjustment of the base. Cut height is not stated.

Which blades does the highlight name?

127 mm pinned blades and 130–133 mm pinless blades. The bullets add 18 TPI pinless and 15 TPI pinned, and a tool-free clamp.

What failures show up in the UK reviews?

One clamp broke on the first blade change. One tension thread stripped after 23 days and was refunded. Most of the 12 reviews in the file praise the weight and the cut.

Dremel MS20

Rank 3

Dremel MS20

∼£100

Our view

The Dremel MS20, at £99.95, is the 70 W clamp-on fret saw that UK reviewers use for thin craft, often 1.5–6 mm ply, either on its table or taken off as a handheld fret saw. It weighs 1.75 kg, the highlight includes one attachment and five blades, and owners behind the 1,040 amazon.co.uk reviews (4.5 stars) often mention a compact case and a vacuum connected underneath. Across 39 UK review texts, auto-tension is praised once the blade is fitted, and one owner cut a batch of OSB notches plus thin aluminium strips. The on/off switch is hard to reach once the saw is clamped, pin-end blades need a starter hole of about 5 mm, and replacement blades are described as Dremel-specific and expensive. Blades bend or snap if you force a tight turn, thin metal sheet bounced so fingers had to get close, and one guard that would not lift was replaced by a unit that then lost power while cutting 6 mm ply. The listing speed of 2.25 RPM is not a usable figure, and the throat is not stated, so this is a small-flat saw rather than a 16 inch bench.

Pros

  • 4.5 from 1,040 amazon.co.uk reviews, rank 1 in Scroll Saws
  • 1.75 kg clamp-on table with a detachable fret saw
  • UK reviews describe clean cuts in ply about 1.5–6 mm
  • Auto-tension once the blade is fitted, and a vacuum can go underneath
  • Five blades named in the item highlight

Cons

  • On/off switch hard to reach once the saw is clamped
  • Pin-end blades only, with a starter hole of about 5 mm
  • Blades bend or snap if you force a tight turn
  • One replacement lost power while cutting 6 mm ply

Best for: Thin craft in a small flat, on the clamp-on table or as a handheld fret saw, if pin-end blades are enough.

Less suitable: 16 inch fretwork, or pierced openings that need a plain-end blade and a stated throat.

Specifications

Model
Dremel MS20
Brand
Dremel
Price
∼£100
Customer rating
4.5/5(1,040)
Blade system
Pin-end
Tilt
90°
Dust
Vacuum under
Power
70 W
Weight
1.75 kg
In the box
Attachment, 5 blades

Common questions

Is the MS20 a cordless scroll saw?

No. The listing says electric and 240 V. A battery row says one lithium-ion battery is required. That row does not match a corded tool.

What does the listing say is in the box?

The included-components line says accessories. The item highlight says one attachment and five blades.

Does the listing state a throat or a tilt?

Throat is not stated. The cutting-angle row says 90 degrees. The speed row says 2.25 RPM, which reviews do not repeat.

Einhell TC-SS 406E

Rank 4

Einhell TC-SS 406E

∼£100

Our view

The Einhell TC-SS 406E, at £99.99, is the 120 W bench saw that 256 amazon.co.uk reviews (4.3 stars) treat as a first crafting machine, with a stated 50 mm cut and a metal table to 47°. The box lists the saw, two blades and a suction adapter, and the bullets add a blower and a 36 mm dust port. Einhell’s UK page says the saw takes cross-pin and pinless blades, while the amazon bullet that mentions circular saw blades is the wrong line, and a grass-trimming bullet is not this product. In 11 UK review texts, several owners found the blade change easy, but returns describe a bent underside panel that held the table at 45° and forced the blade into the plastic surround. A tension screw that did nothing let the blade wander, and one saw failed within 45 minutes. Amazon lists the weight as 10.1 kg, which disagrees with the UK product page, so do not plan a lift from one figure. A motor that stops, or a tension screw that does nothing, is a return under the Consumer Rights Act 2015.

Pros

  • 4.3 from 256 reviews at £99.99
  • Stated 50 mm cut and a metal table to 47°
  • Blower, 36 mm dust port and a suction adapter in the box
  • Einhell’s UK page states cross-pin and pinless blades
  • UK reviews that like it mention an easy blade change

Cons

  • Bent underside panel on returned units, so the table stuck near 45°
  • Tension screw that does nothing and lets the blade wander
  • One saw failed within 45 minutes
  • Amazon bullet claims circular saw blades, which this saw does not take

Best for: A first bench for model making, if you check the table and the tensioner before the first long cut.

Less suitable: A buyer who wants an 18 inch throat, or who will keep a saw whose tension screw does not move.

Specifications

Model
Einhell TC-SS 406E
Brand
Einhell
Price
∼£100
Customer rating
4.3/5(256)
Throat
406 mm
Blade system
Pin and pinless
Cut height
50 mm
Tilt
47°
Dust
36 mm port
Power
120 W
Weight
10.1 kg
In the box
Saw, 2 blades

Common questions

Does the listing include a dust port?

Yes. A bullet says a 36 mm dust connection and an integrated blower. The box line includes a suction adapter.

What blade system does the bullet claim?

It says a tool-free clamp for cross-pin and circular saw blades. Circular saw blades are not a scroll-saw fit. Treat that phrase as a bad bullet.

What cut height and tilt are stated?

The bullets say 50 mm. The cutting-angle row and the title say 47 degrees. Speed is not in the specification table.

Katsu 100150

Rank 5

Katsu 100150

∼£100

Our view

The Katsu 100150, at £99.99, is the blower version of the same 406 mm, 120 W class, with a stated 50 mm cut, a table to 45°, 400 to 1,600 strokes a minute, and a listed weight of 11 kg. The bullets add a blower and a dust outlet, and they do not list the LED or the flexible shaft that come with the 100149. The included line names only the saw, and the size row of 41 × 25 × 9.5 cm again sits below a 406 mm throat, so keep the throat figure. Two UK reviews are the whole file. After a few days, one owner called it quiet, smooth, well packaged and short on assembly. The other had not used it and only said it looked fine. There is no fault report, and there is also no evidence of a long job, and neither voltage nor the blade system is stated.

Pros

  • Stated 406 mm throat, 50 mm cut and a table to 45°
  • Blower and a dust extraction outlet
  • 400–1,600 strokes a minute on the listing
  • One used UK review calls it quiet, smooth and quick to assemble

Cons

  • 4.0 from only two reviews
  • One of those two reviewers had not cut with the saw
  • No LED and no flexible shaft, unlike the 100149 at £89.99
  • Blade system and voltage are not stated

Best for: A first bench if you want a blower and will accept a two-review file.

Less suitable: Pierced fretwork until the blade system is known, or a shopper who needs a longer UK review file.

Specifications

Model
Katsu 100150
Brand
KATSU Tools
Price
∼£100
Customer rating
4.0/5(2)
Throat
406 mm
Cut height
50 mm
Tilt
45°
Speed
400–1,600 spm
Dust
Blower and outlet
Power
120 W
Weight
11 kg
In the box
Saw only

Common questions

How is the 100150 different from the 100149 on the listing?

This listing adds a blower. It does not list an LED or a flexible shaft. The included line names only the saw. Price is £99.99 against £89.99.

What capacity does the listing state?

406 mm throat, 50 mm cut, 120 W, 400 to 1,600 strokes per minute, and a table to 45 degrees.

What do the two reviews say?

One says it is quiet, smooth, and needed little assembly. The other had not used it yet. There is no fault report in the file.

Katsu 100149

Rank 6

Katsu 100149

∼£90

Our view

The Katsu 100149, at £89.99, is a 120 W bench saw whose listing states a 406 mm throat, a 50 mm cut, a steel table to 45°, and 400 to 1,600 strokes a minute, plus an LED and a flexible shaft. The included line is one blade, a wrench and the shaft set, and the listed weight is 12 kg. Voltage is not stated, and the size row of 40 × 24.5 × 9.5 cm is smaller than a 406 mm throat, so keep the throat bullet and leave the size row as printed. Only two UK reviews are on the listing. One new owner was still learning after the saw had cut twice, once the overtight delivery and angled lower blade holder had been corrected. The other report says the motor died on the third use while the light still worked, and a support email went unanswered. Two reviews cannot show a failure rate, and the blade system is not stated, so do not assume a pinless blade.

Pros

  • Lowest price in this set, at £89.99
  • Stated 406 mm throat, 50 mm cut and 400–1,600 strokes a minute
  • LED worklight and a flexible shaft in the box
  • Steel table to 45° and a dust extraction outlet

Cons

  • 3.5 from only two UK reviews
  • Motor dead on the third use in one of those reviews
  • Arrived overtightened, and a support email went unanswered
  • Blade system and voltage are not stated

Best for: A low outlay if you will run the saw on the day it arrives and return a dead motor.

Less suitable: Anyone who wants more than two UK reviews, or a listing that states pinless blades.

Specifications

Model
Katsu 100149
Brand
KATSU Tools
Price
∼£90
Customer rating
3.5/5(2)
Throat
406 mm
Cut height
50 mm
Tilt
45°
Speed
400–1,600 spm
Dust
Extraction outlet
Power
120 W
Weight
12 kg
In the box
Blade, wrench, shaft

Common questions

Does the 100149 include a flexible shaft?

Yes. The included-components line lists one blade fitted, a wrench, and a flexible shaft set. An LED is in the bullets.

What throat and speed does the listing state?

406 mm throat, up to 50 mm cut, and 400 to 1,600 strokes per minute. The table tilts to 45 degrees. Voltage is not stated.

How many UK reviews are on the listing?

Two. One is positive and new. One says the motor died on the third use after an overtight delivery.

Generic 16 inch

Rank 7

Generic 16 inch

∼£181

Our view

The unbranded 16 inch listing at £180.99, model A-1, claims 150 W, a table of 41.5 × 22.5 cm, tilt from 0° to 45°, a flexible LED, a dust port and blower, and a bullet weight of 14.6 kg. Voltage, cut height and the included-components line are all missing. The bullets say the clamp takes flat and multi-sided blades, and they also claim soft metals, with no thickness and no reviews to check that claim. There is no star rating and no UK review text, so there is nothing here that shows how the saw actually cuts. A mid-range price without a review line does not confirm the cast-iron base or the copper-motor wording. Until amazon.co.uk shows UK reviews, this listing is a set of bullets rather than a saw you can judge.

Pros

  • Bullets state a 16 inch throat and tilt from 0° to 45°
  • Dust port, blower and a flexible LED are claimed
  • Tool-free blade change is claimed for flat and multi-sided blades

Cons

  • No star rating and no UK review text
  • Voltage, cut height and the box contents are not stated
  • Soft-metal claim has no thickness and no reviews
  • £180.99 sits in the mid band with nothing to check it against

Best for: Only a shopper who is waiting for UK reviews before spending £180.99.

Less suitable: A first bench, pierced work, or any job where a return history matters.

Specifications

Model
Generic 16 inch
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£181
Throat
406 mm
Blade system
Flat, multi-sided
Tilt
0–45°
Speed
Variable
Dust
Port and blower
Power
150 W
Weight
14.6 kg

Common questions

What brand is this listing?

The brand row says Generic. The model is A-1 and the part number is KM-irSE63. There is no star rating.

What size and power do the bullets claim?

A 16 inch saw, 150 W, a table of 41.5 by 22.5 cm, tilt from 0 to 45 degrees, and a weight of 14.6 kg. Voltage and cut height are not stated.

Does the listing say what is in the box?

No. The included-components line is missing. Bullets mention a dust port, a blower, an LED, and a transparent blade guard.

How we compared

For this comparison we scored seven amazon.co.uk listings. Each score starts from the star rating times 16, then adds 5 if the review count is at least 50, subtracts 5 if the count is under 5, and subtracts 8 if a UK review reports a dead motor, a stripped thread, a broken clamp, or a return for a build fault. The result is capped at 85. A listing with no review line scores 0. There is no laboratory test. The top pick is the highest score. Best value is the Einhell TC-SS 406E.

1

Throat

25%

About 406 mm is the usual UK hobby size. The Bucktool listing states 457 mm. A missing throat, or a size row that clashes with the throat bullet, stays as printed.

2

Blade system

20%

Pin-end blades need a larger starter hole. Plain-end blades are what pierced fretwork wants. A bullet that claims circular saw blades is not treated as a fit.

3

Cut height and tilt

15%

Where stated, cut height is 50 mm at 90°. A tilt can reduce that. An arm that pivots is not the same movement as a table that tilts.

4

Speed

10%

A stated stroke range counts. A row of 2.25 RPM does not. Variable speed with no numeric range is not a figure you can compare.

5

Dust and mounting

15%

A blower clears the line. A stated port can take a vacuum. A light saw still needs clamping. No decibel figure is attached to these listings.

6

UK review evidence

15%

Stars and counts stay with the amazon.co.uk listing. A missing review line scores 0. Review text from outside the UK is not a UK verdict.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Scroll saw buying guide

Decide the throat and the blade system first, then the stated cut height and whether 50 mm still applies once the table or the arm is tilted. A stroke range, a dust port, and a UK review file come after those. Watts in this set only run from 70 W to 150 W.

What is a scroll saw?

A scroll saw is a benchtop fret saw. A fine blade moves up and down through a table while you steer the wood. Use it for tight curves, fretwork, puzzles, and thin model parts. Do not use it to rip a sheet, to demolish, or to cut thick structural timber. A circular saw, a jigsaw, or a hand coping saw is the better tool for those jobs.

Best for

  • Thin craft and fretwork in a small flat
  • A first bench for model making
  • An 18 inch saw that can stay where you put it

Not ideal for

  • Ripping sheet goods or thick structural timber
  • Pierced work on a pin-end-only saw
  • Treating a non-UK star line as a UK verdict

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Pin-only blades for fine pierced work

    Pin-end blades need a starter hole of about 5 mm. Plain-end blades are what fretwork wants. The MS20 takes only its own pin-end blades, about 4 inches, not standard 5 inch blades.

  2. 2

    A bad bullet treated as a specification

    The Dremel row of 2.25 RPM is not a usable speed. An Einhell amazon bullet that mentions circular saw blades, and a grass-trimming bullet, are not this saw. Einhell UK says cross-pin and pinless.

  3. 3

    A non-UK star line read as a UK verdict

    The Vario listing is 5.0 from four reviews. The raw texts are from Spain and Germany. The generic listing has no review line. Prefer a UK review count over a seller bullet.

What to weigh up

Throat and blade system

High

Throat is the first check. About 406 mm, often sold as 16 inch, is the usual UK hobby size. The Katsu 100149 and 100150 listings state 406 mm. The Bucktool listing states 457 mm. The Dremel listing does not state a throat, so treat it as a small clamp-on saw. The Einhell TC-SS 406E takes its 406 mm from the Einhell UK page. Katsu size rows of roughly 40 by 25 by 9.5 cm clash with a 406 mm throat. Keep the throat bullet and do not rewrite the size row.

Cut height, speed, dust and evidence

High

Cut height, where stated, is 50 mm at 90° on the Einhell TC-SS 406E, both Katsu models, and the Vario. A manual copy for the TC-SS 406E says 23 mm at 45°. Do not assume 50 mm survives a tilt. The Bucktool, the Dremel, and the generic listing do not state a cut height. Most tables tilt to 45°. The TC-SS listing says 47°. The Bucktool bullet says the arm pivots plus or minus 45°. The Dremel cutting-angle row says 90°. Katsu states 400 to 1,600 strokes a minute.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Thin craft in a small flat

You want a light saw for thin ply, on a clamp-on table or taken off as a handheld fret saw. The Dremel MS20 is about £99.95, 70 W and 1.75 kg, rated 4.5 from 1,040 reviews. Skip it for 16 inch fretwork, and skip it if you need a plain-end blade.

Our recommendation

View offer

A first bench for models

You want a stated 50 mm cut and a table that tilts, and you will read the return reviews first. The Einhell TC-SS 406E is about £99.99, rated 4.3 from 256 reviews. Check the table and the tensioner before a long cut. A tension screw that does nothing is a return.

An 18 inch saw that stays put

You want a stated 457 mm throat and you can leave 26.5 kg where you put it. The Bucktool SSA18BV is about £227.99, rated 4.6 from 77 reviews, with pinless and pinned blades. Two UK reviews describe a broken clamp or stripped tension threads. Check both early.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about scroll saws

Which scroll saw is the top pick in this set?
The top pick is the Dremel MS20 at about £99.95. amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 1,040 reviews, and the listing ranks it first in Scroll Saws. It is a 70 W clamp-on fret saw at 1.75 kg for thin craft, often about 1.5–6 mm ply. The throat is not stated, and pin-end blades need a starter hole of about 5 mm. It is the wrong saw for 16 inch fretwork.
How much does a scroll saw cost?
In these seven amazon.co.uk listings the shelf prices run from about £89.99 to about £227.99. Entry is about £89.99 to £99.99: the Katsu 100149, the Dremel MS20, the Einhell TC-SS 406E, and the Katsu 100150. Mid is about £180.99 to £209.21. The upper figure is the Bucktool SSA18BV at about £227.99. Specialist machines near £700 to £1,000 are a different class.
What should you check before you buy a scroll saw?
Check the throat first. About 406 mm is the usual UK hobby size, and the Bucktool listing says 457 mm. Then check the blade system: pin-end blades need a larger starter hole, and plain-end blades suit fine pierced work. Where a cut height is stated it is 50 mm at 90°, and a tilt can reduce that. Ignore the Dremel row of 2.25 RPM. Prefer a UK review count over a seller bullet.
Should you buy a scroll saw or a jigsaw?
A scroll saw is the bench tool for tight curves, fretwork, puzzles, and thin model parts. A jigsaw is the handheld saw for curves in sheet goods and for jobs you take to the workpiece. This set is the wrong place for ripping a sheet or thick structural timber. If the job is a handheld curve, start with the jigsaw comparison.
What is the difference between pin-end and pinless blades?
Pin-end blades fit fast and need a larger starter hole, often about 5 mm. Plain-end blades are finer, because the hole can be smaller. Dremel’s FAQ says the MS20 takes only its own pin-end blades, about 4 inches. Einhell UK says the TC-SS 406E takes cross-pin and pinless blades. The Bucktool names pinless blades of 130 to 133 mm and pinned blades. The Katsu listings do not state a blade system.
Do you need dust extraction on a scroll saw?
A blower clears the line and throws dust at you. A port lets you add a vacuum. Einhell states 36 mm on the TC-SS 406E. HSE WIS23 is workplace guidance: hardwood dust is limited to 3 mg/m³, softwood to 5 mg/m³, and mixtures use 3 mg/m³. A householder is not the COSHH duty-holder. The dust is still worth extracting. No listing here publishes a decibel figure.
Which listing claims should you ignore?
Do not treat the Dremel speed row of 2.25 RPM as a real cutting speed. Reviews describe a variable saw, and that figure is not usable. Do not treat the Einhell amazon bullet that mentions circular saw blades, or a grass-trimming bullet, as this product. Do not treat the Vario’s 5.0 from four reviews as a UK verdict: the raw texts are from Spain and Germany. Do not use a scroll saw for sheet goods, worktops, or structural timber.
When is a faulty scroll saw a return?
The Consumer Rights Act 2015 is the route when a saw is not of satisfactory quality. In this set that shows up as a motor that died on the third use, a tension screw that does nothing, a saw that failed within 45 minutes, or tension threads that stripped after 23 days. Unplug before you change a blade. Teeth point down. A loose blade wanders and snaps.

Our verdict

For thin craft in a small flat, the top pick is the Dremel MS20 at about £99.95, rated 4.5 from 1,040 reviews. It is a 70 W clamp-on fret saw at 1.75 kg. The throat is not stated, and it takes pin-end blades only. For a first bench with a stated 50 mm cut at about £99.99, the best value is the Einhell TC-SS 406E, rated 4.3 from 256 reviews, if you check the table and the tensioner before a long cut. The Bucktool SSA18BV is the 457 mm saw at about £227.99 and 26.5 kg. Watts in this set only run from 70 W to 150 W, so they do not decide the pick.

Best overall
Einhell TE-SS 406 Vario FP

Einhell TE-SS 406 Vario FP

View offer
Best value
Einhell TC-SS 406E

Einhell TC-SS 406E

About £99.99 with a stated 50 mm cut, a table to 47°, and 4.3 from 256 reviews. Check the table and the tensioner first.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & tools

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to scroll saws

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings in this comparison. Page updated October 2026.

  1. HSE WIS23 wood dust (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. HSE PUWER overview (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. HSE woodworking noise (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. Einhell UK TC-SS 406 E (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. Yandles Charnwood SS16F (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. Dremel FAQ (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. Woodworkers Institute scrollsaw basics (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. Amazon.co.uk Scroll Saws best sellers (retrieved 16 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the amazon.co.uk listings in this set. We did not run a lab test.