Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Stihl chainsaw comparison 2026

The best Stihl chainsaws, compared.

Top pick: Hyundai HY40CCS350 14 inch Best value: Hyundai HYC2400E 16 inch – About £88.98 for a 16 inch corded saw whose title and rows agree, about £25 under the Oregon CS1400. Updated 16 October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A search for a Stihl chainsaw on amazon.co.uk does not return a tidy STIHL dealer list. The only STIHL cutter kept is the 26 set, a garden pruner. STIHL UK puts a 10 cm bar on that model and tells you to use both hands. You separate them by power source, bar length, and whether the box has batteries, a cable, or a fuel bottle. A useful listing names a chain brake and agrees with its own spec rows. Noise, vibration, runtime, and cut diameter were not measured. The chain brake on that is not named. The [Stihl chainsaw buying guide](/hub/power-saws/stihl-chainsaw/sub/stihl-chainsaw-buying-guide) matches bar, power, and handle to the job.

A search for a Stihl chainsaw on amazon.co.uk does not return a tidy STIHL dealer list. The only STIHL cutter kept is the 26 set, a garden pruner. STIHL UK puts a 10 cm bar on that model and tells you to use both hands.

Hyundai HY40CCS350 14 inch

Best overall

Hyundai HY40CCS350 14 inch
8.0/10∼ £189

36 products checked · 62 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

10 of 10: Best Stihl chainsaws compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 10
Best overall
Hyundai HY40CCS350 14 inch
Seesii CH700R 6 inch
Bosch UniversalChain 18
Seesii M8 Boost 8 inch
Oregon CS1400 16 inch
Best value
Hyundai HYC2400E 16 inch
Hyundai HYC6200X 20 inch
Hyundai HYC1600E 14 inch
eSkde CS62-S7 20 inch
STIHL GTA 26 set
8.0/10
7.7/10
8.3/10
8.6/10
8.0/10
8.4/10
8.3/10
7.3/10
7.6/10
5.9/10
∼ £189
∼ £50
∼ £99
∼ £60
∼ £114
∼ £89
∼ £110
∼ £60
∼ £129
∼ £152
4.6(20)
4.5(9,284)
4.5(2,144)
4.4(1,695)
4.4(1,561)
4.3(1,037)
4.2(1,335)
4.2(859)
4.0(220)
3.5(8)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best Stihl chainsaws in detail

Hyundai HY40CCS350 14 inch

Rank 1

Hyundai HY40CCS350 14 inch

∼£189

Our view

The Hyundai HY40CCS350 is a 40 V kit at £188.99, the highest shelf price in this set, with 4.6 stars from 20 amazon.co.uk reviews. The included line lists a 14 inch bar, a chain, two 4.0 Ah batteries, and a dual 4 A charger. A bullet names an anti-kickback chain brake and automatic oiling from a 200 ml tank, though the oil itself is not in the box. At 4.68 kg it is lighter than the 16 inch corded saws, and the title’s 40 V line, from two 20 V packs, agrees with what is in the box. Runtime was not measured, so the two batteries are a fact about the carton, not a day’s cutting. Seventeen UK review texts sit under that 20-review line, a thin sample next to the four-figure counts on the cheaper minis. A named brake on that short sample is still not a lab result.

Pros

  • Two 4.0 Ah batteries and a dual charger are in the box
  • 14 inch bar agrees across the title and the rows
  • A bullet names an anti-kickback chain brake
  • 4.6 stars from 20 reviews, with a 200 ml oil tank named

Cons

  • £188.99 is the top price in this set
  • Only 20 reviews, so the score cannot lean on a large sample
  • Oil is not in the included line
  • Runtime was not measured

Best for: A 14 inch battery cut with no cable and no petrol, when both packs are the ones in this kit

Less suitable: A tight budget, a 16 inch log, or anyone who needs a published runtime before buying

Specifications

Model
Hyundai HY40CCS350 14 inch
Brand
HYUNDAI
Price
∼£189
Customer rating
4.6/5(20)
Power source
Battery
Bar
14 in
Chain brake
Yes
In the box
Two 4.0 Ah batteries
Oil in box
No
Weight
4.68 kg
Handle
Not top-handle
Oiling
Automatic
Spare chain
One chain

Common questions

Are the batteries included?

Yes. The included line lists two 20 V 4.0 Ah batteries and a dual 4 A charger.

Does the listing name a chain brake?

Yes. A bullet says an anti-kickback chain brake. It also says automatic oiling from a 200 ml tank. Oil itself is not in the included line.

How many reviews are on the listing?

The customer-reviews line says 4.6 from 20. The sampled UK reviews number 17.

Seesii CH700R 6 inch

Rank 2

Seesii CH700R 6 inch

∼£50

Our view

The Seesii CH700R is a 6 inch battery saw listed at £49.99, with two 4000 mAh batteries and a charger in the included line, and 4.5 stars from 9,284 amazon.co.uk reviews. The title and the chain-length row both say 6 inches, so this is a short bar for branches rather than a saw for garden logs. The item-weight row says 3.7 kg while a bullet says 1.4 kg, and the watt field says 900 W while a bullet says 1000 W, so those bullets are not the figures to trust. A bullet claims one-handed use, yet the box also includes an auxiliary handle, and a rear-handled saw is still a two-handed tool. The chain brake is not named. Oiling is described as manual and the oil bottle in the box is empty, so bar oil is a separate buy. The star count is large, and it is not a measured cut diameter, noise figure, or runtime.

Pros

  • Two 4000 mAh batteries and a charger are in the included line
  • Title and chain-length row both say 6 inches
  • £49.99, with 4.5 stars from 9,284 reviews
  • Box lists an auxiliary handle, a case, and a 6 inch chain

Cons

  • Item weight 3.7 kg clashes with a 1.4 kg bullet
  • Watt field 900 W clashes with a 1000 W bullet
  • Chain brake is not named
  • One-handed bullet sits next to an auxiliary handle, and the oil bottle is empty

Best for: Short branches you can finish on a 6 inch bar, held with both hands

Less suitable: Garden logs, trunks, or any cut you would try one-handed

Specifications

Model
Seesii CH700R 6 inch
Brand
Seesii
Price
∼£50
Customer rating
4.5/5(9,284)
Power source
Battery
Bar
6 in
Chain brake
Not named
In the box
Two 4000 mAh packs
Oil in box
No
Weight
3.7 kg
Handle
Not top-handle
Oiling
Manual
Spare chain
One chain

Common questions

Does the Seesii 6 inch listing include batteries?

Yes. The included line lists two 4000 mAh batteries and a charger. The oil bottle is empty.

What bar length does the listing state?

The title and the chain-length row both say 6 inches.

Why do the weight figures disagree?

The item-weight row says 3.7 kg. A bullet says 1.4 kg. The file does not say which figure to trust.

Bosch UniversalChain 18

Rank 3

Bosch UniversalChain 18

∼£99

Our view

The Bosch UniversalChain 18 is a bare 18 V saw at £98.74, with 4.5 stars from 2,144 amazon.co.uk reviews and no battery or charger in the box. The included line does list 80 ml of chain oil, a guide bar, a saw chain, and a cover, which most listings in this set omit. Bar length in inches is not stated, and the bullets describe a tip protector meant to stay on for shrub work. The bullets do not name a chain brake, and one review says there is none. Reviews say it takes a Bosch home-and-garden 18 V pack, not the professional pack. The item weight is 3.6 kg while a bullet says 3 kg including a battery, and the watt field says 45 with no unit. Without a pack you already own, £98.74 buys only the saw.

Pros

  • 80 ml of chain oil is in the included line
  • 18 V home-and-garden system is named, if you already own that pack
  • 4.5 stars from 2,144 reviews
  • Bullets describe a tip protector for shrub work

Cons

  • Battery and charger are excluded
  • Bar length in inches is not stated
  • Chain brake is not in the bullets, and one review says there is none
  • Weight bullet and the watt field do not match the rows

Best for: Shrubs, if you already own a Bosch home-and-garden 18 V pack and leave the tip protector on

Less suitable: A first saw with no Bosch battery, or garden logs that need a stated bar length

Specifications

Model
Bosch UniversalChain 18
Brand
Bosch
Price
∼£99
Customer rating
4.5/5(2,144)
Power source
Battery
Chain brake
Not named
In the box
No battery or charger
Oil in box
Yes
Weight
3.6 kg
Handle
Not top-handle
Spare chain
One chain

Common questions

Does the UniversalChain 18 include a battery?

No. The title says excluding battery and charger. You need a Bosch home-and-garden 18 V pack. Reviews say it is not the professional pack.

What bar length does the listing give?

It does not state inches. The bullets describe a stabilising tip protector.

Is chain oil in the box?

Yes. The included line lists 80 ml of chainsaw oil, plus the bar and chain.

Seesii M8 Boost 8 inch

Rank 4

Seesii M8 Boost 8 inch

∼£60

Our view

The Seesii M8 Boost is an 8 inch battery saw at £59.99 with a spare 6 inch bar and chain, two batteries, and a charger, and 4.4 stars from 1,695 amazon.co.uk reviews. The included line says the 8 inch bar is fitted, and the 1.76 kg item weight agrees with the bullets, which is why this listing scores highest in the set. A highlight claims Makita 18 V compatibility, but there is no voltage row, and one review saying a pack worked is not a licence to mix batteries. The chain brake is not named in the bullets. Oil is not in the box, and reviews say not to store the saw in the case with oil still in the tank. Reviews also say the safety lock suits a right thumb. No cut diameter, runtime, or noise figure was measured, and an 8 inch bar is the wrong tool for a trunk.

Pros

  • 8 inch bar fitted, plus a spare 6 inch bar and chain
  • Two batteries and a charger are in the included line
  • Bar length and 1.76 kg item weight agree with the bullets
  • £59.99, with 4.4 stars from 1,695 reviews

Cons

  • Chain brake is not named in the bullets
  • Oil is not in the included line
  • Makita 18 V is a highlight, not a voltage row
  • Safety lock is described as suiting a right thumb

Best for: Branches you can finish on an 8 inch or 6 inch bar, with the pack that is actually in the box

Less suitable: Garden logs, trunks, or a cut that needs a named chain brake

Specifications

Model
Seesii M8 Boost 8 inch
Brand
Seesii
Price
∼£60
Customer rating
4.4/5(1,695)
Power source
Battery
Bar
8 in + 6 in
Chain brake
Not named
In the box
Two batteries, charger
Oil in box
No
Weight
1.76 kg
Handle
Not top-handle
Oiling
Claimed
Spare chain
6 in spare

Common questions

Which bar is fitted?

The included line says the 8 inch bar and chain are installed, and a 6 inch bar and chain are also in the box.

Does the listing include oil?

No. Oil is not in the included line. Reviews say not to store it in the case with oil still in the tank.

Does the listing prove it runs on Makita batteries?

A highlight says compatible with Makita 18 V. There is no voltage row. One review says theirs worked. That is not a licence statement.

Oregon CS1400 16 inch

Rank 5

Oregon CS1400 16 inch

∼£114

Our view

The Oregon CS1400 is a corded saw at £114.42 whose title says 2400 W and a 16 inch bar, with 4.4 stars from 1,561 amazon.co.uk reviews. A bullet names an integrated chain brake, low kickback, tool-free tension, and an automatic oiler, which is a named brake on the listing rather than a brake test, and no noise or vibration figure is printed. The item weight is 6.61 kg while a bullet says 5.9 kg, and another bullet says 15 amp, which is not a BS 1363 13 A fuse. Voltage and lead length are blank on the spec rows, so you confirm the plug before you treat it as a UK socket saw. The included line names only the saw. Reviews say oil was a separate buy, and some report leaks. You still need an outdoor RCD and a fully unwound reel.

Pros

  • Title says 2400 W and a 16 inch bar
  • A bullet names an integrated chain brake and tool-free tension
  • £114.42, with 4.4 stars from 1,561 reviews
  • Automatic oiler is named in the bullets

Cons

  • Voltage and lead length are blank
  • A 15 amp bullet is not a UK 13 A fuse rating
  • Item weight 6.61 kg clashes with a 5.9 kg bullet
  • Oil is not in the included line, and some reviews report leaks

Best for: Garden logs beside a socket, if you confirm a UK plug and accept the blank voltage row

Less suitable: Work with no outdoor socket, or a buyer who needs a stated lead length before ordering

Specifications

Model
Oregon CS1400 16 inch
Brand
Oregon
Price
∼£114
Customer rating
4.4/5(1,561)
Power source
Corded
Bar
16 in
Chain brake
Yes
In the box
Saw only
Oil in box
No
Weight
6.61 kg
Handle
Not top-handle
Oiling
Automatic
Spare chain
One chain

Common questions

Does the Oregon listing name a chain brake?

Yes. A bullet says an integrated chain brake and low kickback, plus tool-free tension and an automatic oiler.

What does the 15 amp bullet mean for a UK plug?

The listing does not state voltage or fuse. A 15 amp phrase is not a BS 1363 13 A fuse. The watt field says 2400 W.

Is bar oil included?

The included line names only the saw. Reviews say oil was a separate buy, and some report leaks.

Hyundai HYC2400E 16 inch

Rank 6

Hyundai HYC2400E 16 inch

∼£89

Our view

The Hyundai HYC2400E is a corded saw at £88.98 whose title and 16 inch chain-length row agree on 2400 W, 230 V, and a 12 metre cable. It has 4.3 stars from 1,037 amazon.co.uk reviews. At 6.6 kg it is a two-handed saw for garden logs beside a socket, not a hedge pruner. The chain brake is not in the title or the spec rows, so a brake is not confirmed on this listing. Automatic lubrication is on the title, but the included line names an Oregon bar and does not name oil, and reviews say oil was not supplied. The chain-speed field says 15 rpm, which is not a chain speed. You still need an outdoor RCD and a fully unwound reel, and the saving against the Oregon CS1400 is about £25 at these shelf prices.

Pros

  • Title and the 16 inch row agree on 2400 W
  • 230 V and a 12 metre cable are on the title
  • £88.98, with 4.3 stars from 1,037 reviews
  • Automatic lubrication is named on the title

Cons

  • Chain brake is not in the title or the spec rows
  • Oil is not in the included line
  • Chain-speed field says 15 rpm, so that cell is not a speed
  • 6.6 kg is a heavy saw to hold for a short prune

Best for: Garden logs beside an outdoor socket, when you accept a 16 inch corded saw whose brake is not named

Less suitable: Work away from a socket, or a buyer who wants a chain brake named on the listing

Specifications

Model
Hyundai HYC2400E 16 inch
Brand
HYUNDAI
Price
∼£89
Customer rating
4.3/5(1,037)
Power source
Corded
Bar
16 in
Chain brake
Not named
In the box
12 m cable
Oil in box
No
Weight
6.6 kg
Handle
Not top-handle
Oiling
Automatic

Common questions

How long is the cable on the title?

12 metres, on a 230 V saw. The bar on the title and the chain-length row is 16 inches.

Does the box include chain oil?

The included line names an Oregon bar and does not name oil. Reviews say oil was not supplied.

Does the listing name a chain brake?

Not in the title or the spec rows. Tool-free tension and automatic lubrication are in the bullets.

Hyundai HYC6200X 20 inch

Rank 7

Hyundai HYC6200X 20 inch

∼£110

Our view

The Hyundai HYC6200X is a 62 cc petrol saw at £109.89 with a 20 inch bar, two chains, and a mix bottle, and 4.2 stars from 1,335 amazon.co.uk reviews. The included line also lists a bar cover, a bag, a manual, a service card, and a tool kit. Bar oil is not named. The bullets name a side tensioner and anti-vibration, and they do not name a chain brake. At 7 kg with a 20 inch bar it is the rear-handled option in this set for larger timber away from a socket, not a hedge tool. A EURO 5 line is a bullet claim, not a test in this comparison. The fuel ratio is the one in that saw’s manual, not STIHL’s 50:1 figure, which applies to STIHL engines. No noise, vibration, or cut diameter is printed.

Pros

  • 62 cc and a 20 inch bar, with two chains in the box
  • Mix bottle, bar cover, bag, and tool kit are in the included line
  • £109.89, with 4.2 stars from 1,335 reviews
  • Rear handle, not sold as a top-handle saw

Cons

  • Chain brake is not named in the bullets
  • Bar oil is not in the included line
  • 7 kg and a 20 inch bar are the wrong match for a hedge
  • EURO 5 is a bullet claim, not a result from this comparison

Best for: Larger timber away from a socket, if you will store petrol within the home limit and follow that saw’s mix

Less suitable: A hedge, a short prune beside a socket, or work on or in a tree

Specifications

Model
Hyundai HYC6200X 20 inch
Brand
HYUNDAI
Price
∼£110
Customer rating
4.2/5(1,335)
Power source
Petrol
Bar
20 in
Chain brake
Not named
In the box
Mix bottle, two chains
Oil in box
No
Weight
7 kg
Handle
Not top-handle
Spare chain
Two chains

Common questions

What is in the box?

The included line lists the saw, two chains, a mix bottle, the 20 inch bar, a bar cover, a bag, a manual, a service card, and a tool kit. Bar oil is not named.

Does the listing name a chain brake?

No. The bullets name a side tensioner and anti-vibration. They do not name a chain brake.

Is this a STIHL saw?

No. The brand row says HYUNDAI, model HYC6200X.

Hyundai HYC1600E 14 inch

Rank 8

Hyundai HYC1600E 14 inch

∼£60

Our view

The Hyundai HYC1600E is a corded saw at £59.50 whose title, model name, and watt field say 1600 W, 14 inches, 230 V, and a 3 metre cable. It has 4.2 stars from 859 amazon.co.uk reviews. The bullets describe a 2400 W saw and a 16 inch Oregon bar, so those bullets are not this saw’s specification. The chain brake is not in the title or the spec rows. Automatic lubrication is on the title, but the included line does not name oil, and Amazon reviews say oil was not in the box. At 3.9 kg it is the lighter of the two corded Hyundais, and the 3 metre lead only reaches work close to the socket. The chain-speed field says 13 rpm, which is not a chain speed you can use. You still need a UK 3-pin plug, an outdoor RCD, and a fully unwound reel.

Pros

  • Title, model, and watt field agree on 1600 W and 14 inches
  • 230 V and a 3 metre cable are on the title
  • £59.50, with 4.2 stars from 859 reviews
  • Item weight 3.9 kg, lighter than the 16 inch corded Hyundai

Cons

  • Bullets claim 2400 W and a 16 inch bar
  • Chain brake is not in the title or the spec rows
  • Oil is not in the included line
  • Chain-speed field says 13 rpm, which is not a usable speed

Best for: A 14 inch corded cut beside a socket, if you buy from the title and the spec rows

Less suitable: Anyone who treats the 2400 W bullets as the saw they will receive, or who needs a 16 inch bar

Specifications

Model
Hyundai HYC1600E 14 inch
Brand
HYUNDAI
Price
∼£60
Customer rating
4.2/5(859)
Power source
Corded
Bar
14 in
Chain brake
Not named
In the box
3 m cable
Oil in box
No
Weight
3.9 kg
Handle
Not top-handle
Oiling
Automatic

Common questions

Is this the 1600 W saw or the 2400 W saw?

The title, the model HYC1600E, and the watt field say 1600 W and 14 inches. The bullets say 2400 W and 16 inches. Use the title and the rows.

Does the listing include chain oil?

The included line does not name oil. Amazon reviews say oil was not in the box.

What cable length does the title state?

3 metres, on a 230 V corded saw.

eSkde CS62-S7 20 inch

Rank 9

eSkde CS62-S7 20 inch

∼£129

Our view

The eSkde CS62-S7 is a 62 cc petrol saw at £129.00 with a 20 inch bar and a top handle stated on the title, and 4.0 stars from 220 amazon.co.uk reviews. The included line lists two chains, a mix bottle, a tool kit, and a user guide. A bullet says fast-acting brakes, which is a claim on the page, not a printed test. The Health and Safety Executive limits top-handled saws to trained arborists working off the ground, so this is not a lawn or hedge saw even though the bar is long. Item weight is 5.9 kg, and the dimension row of 38 x 25 x 27 cm sits oddly beside a 20 inch bar. Bar oil is not in the included line. A bullet claims 12,000 rpm, and chain speed itself is not stated. Fuel mix follows that saw’s manual, not a STIHL ratio.

Pros

  • Title states a top handle, 62 cc, and a 20 inch bar
  • Two chains and a mix bottle are in the included line
  • A bullet names fast-acting brakes
  • Item weight 5.9 kg, lighter than the Hyundai 20 inch petrol saw

Cons

  • Top handle is for trained arborists off the ground, not the lawn
  • 4.0 stars from 220 reviews, a thinner set than the Hyundai petrol saw
  • Dimensions of 38 x 25 x 27 cm sit oddly beside a 20 inch bar
  • Bar oil is not in the included line

Best for: A trained arborist who already works off the ground and wants a 20 inch top-handle petrol saw

Less suitable: Ground work, a hedge, or a householder looking for a rear-handled garden saw

Specifications

Model
eSkde CS62-S7 20 inch
Brand
eSkde
Price
∼£129
Customer rating
4.0/5(220)
Power source
Petrol
Bar
20 in
Chain brake
Yes
In the box
Mix bottle, two chains
Oil in box
No
Weight
5.9 kg
Handle
Top handle
Oiling
Automatic
Spare chain
Two chains

Common questions

Is this a top-handle saw?

Yes. The title and the highlight say top handle, with a 20 inch bar and two chains in the included line.

What comes in the box?

The included line lists two 20 inch chains, a 20 inch bar, a fuel mixing bottle, a tool kit, and a user guide.

Does the listing name brakes?

A bullet says fast-acting brakes and auto-lock brakes. It does not print a test of those brakes.

STIHL GTA 26 set

Rank 10

STIHL GTA 26 set

∼£152

Our view

The STIHL GTA 26 set is the only STIHL cutter kept in this comparison, listed at £152.00 with 3.5 stars from 8 amazon.co.uk reviews. The title names battery AS 2 and charger AL 1, and the battery-count row says one lithium-polymer battery is included. Amazon states a cutting width of 3.9 inches and does not state a guide-bar length. STIHL UK describes a 10 cm bar and tells you to use both hands. One of three UK reviews says the charger arrived with a two-pin European plug, which will not go into a British socket. STIHL states a working time with the AS 2 of up to 25 minutes, or up to 70 cuts in 4 cm branches. That is the manufacturer’s sentence, not a measurement here. Eight reviews is too small a sample to treat 3.5 stars as a settled verdict, and this pruner is the wrong tool for a trunk.

Pros

  • Title names battery AS 2 and charger AL 1
  • Only STIHL cutter in this comparison
  • STIHL UK specifies a 10 cm bar and a two-handed hold
  • Cutting width on the Amazon listing is 3.9 inches

Cons

  • 3.5 stars from only 8 reviews
  • One of three UK reviews reports a two-pin European charger plug
  • Guide-bar length is not on the Amazon listing
  • £152.00 for a pruner, not a log saw

Best for: Branches a 10 cm bar can finish, held with both hands, if the charger in the box has a UK plug

Less suitable: Firewood, a trunk, or a charger that arrives with a two-pin plug

Specifications

Model
STIHL GTA 26 set
Brand
Stihl
Price
∼£152
Customer rating
3.5/5(8)
Power source
Battery
Chain brake
Not named
In the box
AS 2 and AL 1
Weight
1.2 kg
Handle
Wood cutter

Common questions

Is the battery in the box?

The title says the set includes battery AS 2 and charger AL 1. The battery-count row says one lithium-polymer battery is included.

What cutting length does the Amazon listing state?

It states a cutting width of 3.9 inches. It does not state a guide-bar length.

Did reviewers get a UK plug?

One of the three UK reviews says the charger arrived with a two-pin European plug and would not go into a British socket.

How we compared

Ten amazon.co.uk listings were scored on 16 October 2026. Star points are round(amazon.co.uk stars / 5 × 70). Review count adds 10 points at 500 reviews, 6 at 100, and 2 at 20. Bar and power source add 4 when they agree on the title and the spec rows. Bullets that contradict those rows subtract 6. The score is a listing score, not a measured cut, and it is not scaled to 100. The weights below keep that order and sum to 100.

1

Amazon stars

70%

Star points are round(amazon.co.uk stars divided by 5, times 70). A 4.4 star line is 62 points before the other additions. Stars are not a chain-brake test.

2

Review count

10%

Add 10 if the listing has at least 500 reviews, 6 if at least 100, and 2 if at least 20. Fewer than 20 reviews add nothing. The GTA 26 line is 8 reviews, so it takes no review points.

3

Bar and power source

10%

The listing score adds 4 points when the bar length and the power source agree on the title and the spec rows. A missing inch length, as on the Bosch and the GTA 26, does not get that bonus.

4

Bullet consistency

10%

The listing score subtracts 6 points when a bullet contradicts the spec rows. The Hyundai HYC1600E loses those points because its bullets say 2400 W and 16 inches while the title says 1600 W and 14 inches.

Independent review
Last updated: 16 October 2026
10 sources checked

Stihl chainsaw buying guide

Match the bar to the cut, then the power source to where you can work. A listing that disagrees with itself is the one to leave. The ten saws below are the amazon.co.uk set scored on this page, not a STIHL dealer range.

What this Stihl chainsaw comparison covers

Stihl chainsaw on amazon.co.uk is not a tidy STIHL dealer list. The only STIHL cutter kept here is the GTA 26 set. STIHL UK describes it as a pruner with a 10 cm bar and tells you to hold it with both hands. Amazon ranks it in Chain Saws, states a cutting width of 3.9 inches, and does not state a guide-bar length. The other listings are Hyundai, Oregon, Bosch, Seesii, and eSkde. Shelf prices run from about £49.99 to about £188.99.

Best for

  • Branches a 6–8 inch bar can finish, held with both hands
  • Garden logs beside an outdoor socket, or larger timber away from one if you store petrol lawfully

Not ideal for

  • A trunk cut with a 6 inch mini or the GTA 26
  • Work on or in a tree, a hung-up stem, a ladder, or a one-handed cut

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Treating the search as proof the saw is STIHL

    Nine of these ten listings are Hyundai, Oregon, Bosch, Seesii, or eSkde. The GTA 26 set is the only STIHL cutter kept, and it is a pruner with a short bar, not an MS 162.

  2. 2

    Quoting the HYC1600E bullets

    Those bullets describe a 2400 W saw and a 16 inch bar. The title, the model HYC1600E, and the watt field say 1600 W and 14 inches. Buy from the title and the rows.

  3. 3

    A top-handle saw on the lawn, or a dry bar

    The eSkde CS62-S7 is sold as a top-handle saw, which HSE limits to trained arborists off the ground. Most boxes here omit bar oil. Bosch includes 80 ml. A two-pin charger needs a UK plug, not a travel adaptor left in place as the fix.

What to weigh up

Bar length and the job

High

Use the shortest, lightest bar that finishes the cut. A 6–8 inch bar, or the STIHL GTA 26, is for branches. STIHL UK describes the GTA 26 with a 10 cm bar and a two-handed hold. Amazon states a cutting width of 3.9 inches on that listing and does not state a guide-bar length. STIHL UK puts typical domestic bars at 12, 14, or 16 inches. In this set, 14–16 inches is the range for garden logs, and a 20 inch petrol bar is only for larger timber.

Power source, handle, and what the listing names

High

Petrol needs mix and lawful storage. At home you may keep up to 30 litres without notice, in plastic cans to 10 litres and metal cans to 20 litres, and you fill outdoors. STIHL’s 50:1 mix is for STIHL engines, not for a Hyundai or an eSkde. A corded saw needs 230 V, a BS 1363 plug, an outdoor RCD, and a fully unwound reel. A battery saw needs the pack in the box or one you already own. The Bosch UniversalChain 18 is bare. The Hyundai HY40CCS350 includes two 4.0 Ah batteries.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Branches you can finish on a short bar

You want the shortest bar that finishes the cut, held with both hands. The Seesii M8 Boost is an 8 inch battery saw at about £59.99, with a spare 6 inch bar and two batteries in the box. It is the wrong tool for a trunk, and the chain brake is not named.

Garden logs beside an outdoor socket

You want a 16 inch corded saw whose title matches its rows. The Hyundai HYC2400E is 2400 W at about £88.98, with a 12 metre cable on the title. The chain brake is not named. If you need a brake named on the listing, the Oregon CS1400 states one and costs more.

Larger timber away from a socket

You will store petrol within the home limit and follow that saw’s own mix. The Hyundai HYC6200X is a rear-handled 62 cc saw with a 20 inch bar at about £109.89, and two chains in the box. It is the wrong match for a hedge, and the chain brake is not named.

Common questions about Stihl chainsaws

Which Stihl chainsaw listing is the top pick?
The top pick is the Seesii M8 Boost at about £59.99. It has the highest listing score here: 4.4 stars from 1,695 amazon.co.uk reviews, an 8 inch bar fitted, a spare 6 inch bar, and two batteries. The 1.76 kg item weight agrees with the bullets. The chain brake is not named. An 8 inch bar is for branches, not a trunk. Noise, runtime, and cut diameter were not measured.
Which listing is the best value for garden logs?
The best value is the Hyundai HYC2400E at about £88.98. The title and the 16 inch row agree on 2400 W, 230 V, and a 12 metre cable, with 4.3 stars from 1,037 reviews. It is about £25 under the Oregon CS1400. The Hyundai chain brake is not named. The Oregon bullet names an integrated chain brake, and its voltage row is blank.
How much does a Stihl chainsaw listing cost?
Shelf prices in this set run from about £49.99 to about £188.99. About £50 to £60 covers the two Seesii minis and the Hyundai 14 inch corded saw. About £89 to £115 covers the Hyundai 2400 W, the bare Bosch, the Hyundai 62 cc, and the Oregon. About £129 to £189 covers the eSkde, the GTA 26 set, and the Hyundai 40 V kit. Prices move. The MS 162 was not priced here.
Are these listings STIHL saws?
No. The search term is not the brand on the box. The only STIHL cutter kept is the GTA 26 set at about £152.00, with 3.5 stars from 8 reviews. STIHL UK describes a 10 cm bar and a two-handed hold. Amazon states a cutting width of 3.9 inches and does not state a guide-bar length. The other nine are Hyundai, Oregon, Bosch, Seesii, and eSkde.
What should I check before I buy?
Use the shortest bar that finishes the cut: 6–8 inches or the GTA 26 for branches, 14–16 inches for garden logs, and 20 inches of petrol only for larger timber. A corded saw needs a UK 3-pin plug, an outdoor RCD, and a fully unwound reel. A battery saw needs the pack in the box or one you already own. Read the title against the spec rows. If a chain brake is not named, treat it as not named.
When is a chainsaw the wrong tool?
A 6 inch mini and the GTA 26 will not process a trunk. The eSkde CS62-S7 is a top-handle saw for trained arborists off the ground, not the lawn. Shrubs and small branches may suit a cordless reciprocating saw instead. Hire a competent person for work on or in a tree, a hung-up stem, a ladder, or a saw that smokes, will not stop, leaks fuel, or has a damaged lead.
Does the Hyundai HYC1600E have 2400 W and a 16 inch bar?
No. The title, the model HYC1600E, and the watt field say 1600 W and 14 inches, at about £59.50, on 230 V with a 3 metre cable. The bullets describe a 2400 W saw and a 16 inch bar. Those bullets are not this saw’s specification. The 2400 W, 16 inch corded saw in this set is the Hyundai HYC2400E. The Oregon CS1400 is a separate 2400 W, 16 inch listing.
What safety kit does HSE name, and was it scored here?
HSE names a helmet, eye or face protection, hearing protection, gloves to BS EN 381-7 where cut protection is required, chainsaw trousers, and boots. None of that was part of the listing score. No listing prints noise or vibration. Workplace action values are 80 and 85 dB(A), with a limit of 87 dB(A). A householder pruning a shrub is not under the workplace certificate duty.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Seesii M8 Boost at about £59.99. It has the highest listing score because the 8 inch bar and the 1.76 kg item weight agree with the bullets, with two batteries in the box and 4.4 stars from 1,695 reviews. That score is not a 16 inch log test, and the chain brake is not named. The best value is the Hyundai HYC2400E at about £88.98. The title and the 16 inch row agree on 2400 W and a 12 metre cable, about £25 under the Oregon CS1400 at these shelf prices. The Oregon is the corded 16 inch listing that names a chain brake. The only STIHL cutter here is the GTA 26 set, a pruner, not a log saw.

Best overall
Hyundai HY40CCS350 14 inch

Hyundai HY40CCS350 14 inch

View offer
Best value
Hyundai HYC2400E 16 inch

Hyundai HYC2400E 16 inch

About £88.98 for a 16 inch corded saw whose title and rows agree, about £25 under the Oregon CS1400.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & tools

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 16 October 2026
10 sources checked

Guides to Stihl chainsaws

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources for handles, kickback, PPE, training, noise, vibration, petrol storage, and the plug. STIHL pages cover bar choice, the GTA 26, and STIHL fuel mix. Listing prices, stars, and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in this set. Retrieved 16 October 2026.

  1. HSE INDG317 — chainsaw handles, kickback, and checks (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. HSE — chainsaw PPE (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. HSE — training and competence (PUWER regulation 9) (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. The Control of Noise at Work Regulations 2005 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. HSE — hand-arm vibration responsibilities (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. HSE — petrol storage at clubs and associations (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. Electrical Safety First — garden tool chainsaws (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. STIHL UK — chainsaw buying guide (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  9. STIHL UK — GTA 26 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  10. STIHL UK — chainsaw fuel mix (retrieved 16 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk with the tag pcuk26-21. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars, and review counts are the UK listing lines in this set. We did not run a lab test.