Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Wood saw comparison 2026

The best wood saws, compared.

Top pick: Spear & Jackson Predator B9822 – It shares the top score and has the largest UK review file of those listings: 4.7 from 2,085 reviews on a 560 mm, 8-point push saw. Best value: OX Pro 350 mm – The other listing on that top score, at the lower shelf price of about £7.43, with 15 TPI and 4.7 from 356 reviews. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A wood saw is a handsaw for timber, sheet, trim, or a branch, plus one corded powered handsaw. Do not read it as if it had a tooth pitch. The usual jobs are: a single cut around the house, replacing a blunt panel saw, or trimming a dowel or moulding. What matters is the tooth pitch, whether the plate is long enough for the stroke, and whether the saw cuts on the push or the pull. Stars are large on three listings and small on two. Length and pitch are set out in the [wood saw buying guide](/hub/power-saws/wood-saw/sub/wood-saw-buying-guide). UK buyers fall into three groups: a householder one job, a replacing a blunt panel saw, and someone trimming a dowel or a piece of moulding.

A wood saw is a handsaw for timber, sheet, trim, or a branch, plus one corded powered handsaw. Do not read it as if it had a tooth pitch.

Spear & Jackson Predator B9822

Best overall

Spear & Jackson Predator B9822
8.5/10∼ £11

42 products checked · 62 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

12 of 12: Best wood saws compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
Spear & Jackson Predator B9822
Best value
OX Pro 350 mm
Magicbox 4-piece pull saws
Draper Venom 82196
HAUTMEC HT0024
AIRAJ 450 mm
SURFOU pull saw
Draper Venom 80874
Spear & Jackson B98FF
Barbarossa 350 mm
BLACK+DECKER KS890ECN
Rolson 58375
8.5/10
8.5/10
8.5/10
8.4/10
8.4/10
8.4/10
8.4/10
7.4/10
8.2/10
8.2/10
7.2/10
7.9/10
∼ £11
∼ £7
∼ £18
∼ £9
∼ £9
∼ £17
∼ £8
∼ £7
∼ £11
∼ £8
∼ £34
∼ £5
4.7(2,085)
4.7(356)
4.7(70)
4.6(2,891)
4.6(1,418)
4.6(952)
4.6(660)
4.5(832)
4.5(267)
4.5(239)
4.4(7,083)
4.3(793)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best wood saws in detail

Spear & Jackson Predator B9822

Rank 1

Spear & Jackson Predator B9822

∼£11

Our view

Across 2,085 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.7 stars, the Spear & Jackson Predator B9822 is the long universal saw in this set: a 560 mm push blade, stated as 22 inches in the title, at 8 points per inch and about £10.79. Reviewers single it out for speed on sleepers and decking, which matches that pitch on timber, hardwood, chipboard, and MDF as the bullet names them. The saw weighs 452 g and carries 45° and 90° marks, so you can set a square or a mitre against the blade, though the marks are a reference and not a jig. An 8-point tooth leaves a coarse edge, so visible skirting is the wrong job. The teeth row says 176, which is not the pitch, and a speed row of 4500 RPM is a catalogue error on a manual saw. Hardpoint teeth of this kind are replaced when blunt, not sent away to be filed. It shares the top score with two other listings; the larger review file is why it is the top pick.

Pros

  • 560 mm blade at 8 points for sleepers, decking, and sheet
  • 4.7 from 2,085 UK reviews, the largest file among the three top-score listings
  • 45° and 90° angle marks
  • Bullet names timber, hardwood, chipboard, and MDF

Cons

  • An 8-point edge is coarse on visible trim
  • Teeth row of 176 is not the pitch
  • Speed row says 4500 RPM on a handsaw

Best for: Decking, sleepers, and other rough timber where the cut will be hidden or planed later

Less suitable: Skirting, moulding, and flush dowels

Specifications

Model
Spear & Jackson Predator B9822
Brand
Spear & Jackson
Price
∼£11
Customer rating
4.7/5(2,085)
Saw type
Universal panel saw
Stroke
Push
Tooth pitch
8 points
Blade length
560 mm
Angle marks
45° and 90°
Materials
Timber, chipboard, MDF
Power
Manual
Weight
452 g
In the box
1 saw

Common questions

How long is the B9822 blade?

The title says 22 inches and 8 points. The blade-length row says 560 millimetres.

Does the listing state a speed?

The speed row says 4500 RPM. That figure is on a manual saw and is not a cutting speed.

What is in the box?

One Spear & Jackson B9822 Predator universal saw.

OX Pro 350 mm

Rank 2

OX Pro 350 mm

Our view

The OX Pro 350 mm is a toolbox handsaw that, across 356 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.7 stars, is the finer-tooth push saw in this set. The listing bullet states 15 TPI on a 350 mm high-carbon blade weighing 390 g, for wood, MDF, plastic, and Celotex rather than a long rip in a joist. The blade carries 45° and 90° marks, and the handle is a thermoplastic soft grip. One reviewer still preferred a shop saw on a 2x4, so the short plate is a limit when the stroke needs to be long. Another said the edge did not last, which fits a hardpoint you replace rather than file. The power-source row that says AC does not match the product, and the teeth row that says 14 should give way to the 15 TPI bullet. At about £7.43 it shares the top score in this comparison with the longer Predator, at a lower shelf price, which is why it is the best value here.

Pros

  • 15 TPI on a 350 mm blade for a cleaner edge than an 8-point panel saw
  • 390 g with a soft grip, light enough for a toolbox
  • 45° and 90° marks on the blade
  • About £7.43 with 4.7 from 356 UK reviews

Cons

  • One review preferred a shop saw on a 2x4
  • One review said the edge did not last
  • Teeth row says 14 while the bullet says 15 TPI
  • Listing power-source row says AC on a manual saw

Best for: Second-fix cuts in MDF, plastic, and sheet where a 350 mm stroke is enough

Less suitable: Long rips in thick timber, or anyone who needs to file the teeth after the edge dulls

Specifications

Model
OX Pro 350 mm
Brand
OX
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
4.7/5(356)
Saw type
Toolbox handsaw
Stroke
Push
Tooth pitch
15 TPI
Blade length
350 mm
Angle marks
45° and 90°
Materials
Wood, MDF, plastic
Power
Manual
Weight
390 g
In the box
1 hand saw

Common questions

What tooth pitch does the OX listing state?

The bullet says 15 TPI. The number-of-teeth row says 14. Use 15 TPI.

Is the OX saw corded?

No. It is a 350 mm handsaw. The power-source row says AC, which does not match the product.

What does the listing say it cuts?

The bullet names wood, MDF, plastic, and Celotex. The surface row says wood.

Magicbox 4-piece pull saws

Rank 3

Magicbox 4-piece pull saws

∼£18

Our view

The Magicbox 4UK-shouju-4 is four pull saws at about £17.99 and 310 g for the set, with 4.7 stars from 70 amazon.co.uk reviews. The bullet describes two double-edge saws, a flush-cut saw, and further wood saws, with wooden handles and high-carbon blades. Tooth pitch and blade length are not stated, and the bullets only say fine teeth. A case is not in the specification rows, even though a question on the listing asks about one. One review says the thin plates bend and dull quickly, which is the limit of a light pull-saw set at this price. Seventy reviews is a much smaller file than the 2,085 behind the Predator at the same 4.7 stars, so the rating is not the same kind of evidence. If you only need one small pull saw, the SURFOU is lighter and cheaper. If you want several edges in one order, this is the listing, with the bend risk stated up front.

Pros

  • Four pull saws, including a flush-cut saw in the bullet
  • Wooden handles and high-carbon blades as stated
  • 4.7 from 70 UK reviews
  • Several edges in one parcel at about £17.99

Cons

  • Only 70 reviews, so the 4.7 is a small file
  • One review says the thin plates bend and dull quickly
  • Pitch and length are not stated
  • No case in the specification rows

Best for: Small joinery and flush cuts when you want several pull saws in one order

Less suitable: Thick timber, and buyers who treat 70 reviews as equal to a file of more than 2,000

Specifications

Model
Magicbox 4-piece pull saws
Brand
Magicbox
Price
∼£18
Customer rating
4.7/5(70)
Saw type
Pull-saw set
Stroke
Pull
Materials
Wood
Power
Manual
Weight
310 g
In the box
4 saws

Common questions

What is in the Magicbox set?

The bullet says two double-edge saws, a flush-cut saw, and further wood saws, four pieces in total.

Does the listing include a case?

A question on the listing asks about a case. No case appears in the specification rows.

What is the tooth pitch?

Not stated. The bullets say fine teeth only.

Draper Venom 82196

Rank 4

Draper Venom 82196

Our view

The Draper Venom 82196 is a 550 mm first-fix handsaw at 8 PPI, 355 g, and about £9.29, with 4.6 stars from 2,891 amazon.co.uk reviews. That is the long plate in this set beside the 560 mm Predator, and it has the largest review file of the manual saws. The bullet says it cuts wood, plasterboard, and plastic, and states a 1 mm plate. One household could not keep a straight line, so the length does not remove the need to support the work and sight the cut. The teeth row says 10, while the title says 8 PPI, and the title is the pitch to trust. The power-source row says corded electric, with 4500 RPM and an AAAA battery, all of which are catalogue errors on a 355 g handsaw. An 8 PPI edge is fast in carcassing and coarse on skirting. Under £10 it is the long first-fix option if you do not need the Predator’s larger 4.7-star file.

Pros

  • 550 mm at 8 PPI for first-fix timber, plasterboard, and plastic as named
  • About £9.29 with 4.6 from 2,891 UK reviews
  • 355 g, light for the length
  • Bullet states a 1 mm plate

Cons

  • One household could not keep a straight line
  • Teeth row says 10 against an 8 PPI title
  • Catalogue rows say corded electric, 4500 RPM, and an AAAA battery
  • Coarse pitch for visible trim

Best for: First-fix lengths in timber and plasterboard where the cut will not be the show face

Less suitable: Skirting and fine moulding, and anyone reading the power row as if this saw were electric

Specifications

Model
Draper Venom 82196
Brand
Draper
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.6/5(2,891)
Saw type
First-fix panel saw
Stroke
Push
Tooth pitch
8 PPI
Blade length
550 mm
Materials
Wood, plasterboard
Power
Manual
Weight
355 g
In the box
1 handsaw

Common questions

Is the 82196 electric?

No. The bullets describe a 550 mm handsaw at 355 g. The power-source row says corded electric. That row is a catalogue error.

What pitch does the title use?

8 PPI. The teeth row says 10.

What does the bullet say it cuts?

Wood, plasterboard, and plastic.

HAUTMEC HT0024

Rank 5

HAUTMEC HT0024

Our view

The HAUTMEC HT0024 is a 350 mm push saw at 11 TPI, with a plate the bullet states as 1.0 mm, weighing 368 g and priced at about £8.99. It has 4.6 stars from 1,418 amazon.co.uk reviews, a large file for a mid-price toolbox saw. The bullet names wood, laminate, PVC, plywood, and branches, which places it between a coarse first-fix saw and the OX at 15 TPI. Some reviews say the edge went quickly, so treat it as a hardpoint you replace, not a blade you resharpen. A last bullet says a blade cover is included, while the included-components line says bare tool, so check the packet rather than the headline. The handle is ABS with a TPR grip, and the listing states a one-year warranty. Eleven teeth per inch will still tear a show face less than an 8-point panel saw, and it will feel slow if you are cutting sleepers.

Pros

  • 11 TPI and a stated 1.0 mm plate on a 350 mm blade
  • 4.6 from 1,418 UK reviews
  • Named for wood, laminate, PVC, plywood, and branches
  • One-year warranty stated on the listing

Cons

  • Some reviews say the edge went quickly
  • A blade cover is in a bullet, while the included line says bare tool
  • 350 mm is short for a full panel stroke

Best for: Laminate, plywood, and PVC in a toolbox, where 11 TPI is fine enough

Less suitable: Long first-fix rips, and anyone who needs the cover confirmed in the included-components line

Specifications

Model
HAUTMEC HT0024
Brand
HAUTMEC
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.6/5(1,418)
Saw type
Fine toolbox saw
Stroke
Push
Tooth pitch
11 TPI
Blade length
350 mm
Materials
Wood, laminate, PVC
Power
Manual
Weight
368 g
In the box
Bare tool

Common questions

Is a blade cover included?

The last bullet says a blade cover is included. The included-components line says bare tool.

How thick is the plate?

The bullet says 1.0 mm.

What pitch is stated?

11 TPI, and the teeth row also says 11.

AIRAJ 450 mm

Rank 6

AIRAJ 450 mm

∼£17

Our view

The AIRAJ W-Hand Saw18 is a 450 mm pruning-style handsaw at about £16.99 and 410 g, with 4.6 stars from 952 amazon.co.uk reviews. Tooth pitch is not stated: the teeth row says 6, which is not a trustworthy TPI, and the title length of 450 mm sits beside a specification row that says 18 inches. One reviewer found the saw jumped on the forward stroke and could cut only backwards, and another described a blunt cut in pine. The blade-material row says aluminium oxide while the bullets say high carbon steel, so the listing disagrees with itself. The included line does name a chip chute and a sawtooth guard, and the handle carries 45° and 90° marks. At this price it costs more than the 550 mm Draper without giving you a stated pitch. Use it for branches only if the stroke you actually get matches the cut, and reject it if the edge is blunt on day one.

Pros

  • 450 mm length with a chip chute and a sawtooth guard in the included line
  • 45° and 90° marks on the handle
  • 4.6 from 952 UK reviews
  • 410 g

Cons

  • Tooth pitch is not stated
  • Blade material rows disagree: aluminium oxide against high carbon steel
  • A review described forward-stroke jumping and a cut that worked only backwards
  • A blunt pine cut is in the sample

Best for: Branches and similar pruning cuts if the edge bites on the stroke you use

Less suitable: A measured first-fix or second-fix pitch, or a listing whose material row must match the bullet

Specifications

Model
AIRAJ 450 mm
Brand
AIRAJ
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.6/5(952)
Saw type
Pruning handsaw
Stroke
Push-pull
Blade length
450 mm
Angle marks
45° and 90°
Materials
Wood, plywood, pipe
Power
Manual
Weight
410 g
In the box
Guard and chute

Common questions

What is the AIRAJ tooth pitch?

Not stated. The teeth row says 6. The bullets do not give a TPI.

What is the blade made of?

The material row says aluminium oxide. The highlight and bullets say high carbon steel. Both are on the listing.

What arrives with the saw?

The included line says a chip chute and a sawtooth guard.

SURFOU pull saw

Rank 7

SURFOU pull saw

Our view

The SURFOU RBJ-GJ441 is a double-edge pull saw at 100 g and about £7.99, with 4.6 stars from 660 amazon.co.uk reviews. The bullet says it cuts on the pull, with one coarse edge for rip cuts and one fine edge for crosscuts, and a cover on each edge. Pitch and blade length are not stated. The package dimensions are 31 x 4.3 x 1.3 cm, so this is a small saw, not a panel saw. The blade is described as high carbon steel, SK5 in the title, screwed on and replaceable, though a spare is not in the included line. Reviewers point to the thin plate and the lack of a pouch as the limits. A silicone handle keeps it compact in a drawer, and an AAAA battery row is another catalogue error. It will start a flush cut more easily than a 22 inch push saw, and it will kink if you twist it through a thick post.

Pros

  • Pull stroke with a coarse edge and a fine edge
  • 100 g at about £7.99
  • 4.6 from 660 UK reviews
  • Blade described as screwed on and replaceable

Cons

  • Pitch and blade length are not stated
  • Thin plate, and reviewers want a pouch that is not included
  • A spare blade is not in the included line
  • An AAAA battery row is a catalogue error

Best for: Flush cuts, dowels, and short pieces where a pull stroke and a light plate help

Less suitable: Fence posts, sleepers, and any cut that twists a 100 g plate

Specifications

Model
SURFOU pull saw
Brand
SURFOU
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
4.6/5(660)
Saw type
Japanese-style pull saw
Stroke
Pull
Materials
Wood and plastic
Power
Manual
Weight
100 g
In the box
1 pull saw

Common questions

Which way does the SURFOU cut?

The bullet says it cuts on the pull.

Are both edges the same?

No. The bullet says one coarse edge for rip cuts and one fine edge for crosscuts, with a cover on each edge.

Can the blade be replaced?

The bullet says the blade is screwed on and replaceable. A spare blade is not in the included line.

Draper Venom 80874

Rank 8

Draper Venom 80874

Our view

The Draper Venom 80874 is a 350 mm second-fix saw listed at 12 PPI and 340 g, with 4.5 stars from 832 amazon.co.uk reviews and a shelf price of about £6.50. That pitch sits between the coarse 8-point panel saws and the OX at 15 TPI, so it is aimed at trim rather than joists. The title calls it a second-fix wood saw, though the surface row only says plastic, and the teeth row of 165 is a tooth count, not a pitch. A UK review reported a dull, rusty edge on arrival, which is why this score sits below the other 350 mm saws. The listing also claims one AAAA battery and 4500 RPM, and neither belongs on this handsaw. Dust clearance is claimed in both directions, while the stroke itself is a push cut. If the edge is rusty in the packet, the Consumer Rights Act 2015 is the route to reject it, not a reason to start filing the teeth.

Pros

  • 12 PPI on a 350 mm blade at about £6.50
  • 340 g, the lighter of the two Draper Venom saws here
  • 4.5 from 832 UK reviews
  • TPR grip on a second-fix length

Cons

  • A UK review reported a dull, rusty edge on arrival
  • Surface row says plastic while the title says a second-fix wood saw
  • Catalogue rows claim an AAAA battery and 4500 RPM

Best for: Second-fix cuts after you have checked the edge is clean before the first stroke

Less suitable: A long first-fix plate, or a saw that arrived rusty and is kept anyway

Specifications

Model
Draper Venom 80874
Brand
Draper
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
4.5/5(832)
Saw type
Second-fix toolbox saw
Stroke
Push
Tooth pitch
12 PPI
Blade length
350 mm
Materials
Plastic
Power
Manual
Weight
340 g
In the box
1 second-fix saw

Common questions

Does the Draper 80874 need a battery?

No. The included line is one saw. The battery row says one AAAA battery and the speed row says 4500 RPM. Both are catalogue errors.

What pitch is the 80874?

The bullet says 12 PPI. The teeth row says 165, which is not a pitch.

What material does the surface row name?

Plastic. The title calls it a second-fix wood saw.

Spear & Jackson B98FF

Rank 9

Spear & Jackson B98FF

∼£11

Our view

The Spear & Jackson B98FF is a 22 inch first-fix Predator at about £10.98 and 450 g, with 4.5 stars from 267 amazon.co.uk reviews. The title does not state a TPI. The teeth row says 7, the bullets say rough-sawn timber along and across the grain, and a Spear & Jackson catalogue lists this model as a first-fix 22 inch by 7 points. The Amazon rank label says fine cut saws, which conflicts with those bullets, so trust the bullets and the teeth row. One review says the teeth do not clear the plate, so the saw sticks, and extra force will not add set that is not ground into the blade. Angle marks at 45° and 90° are present, and the included line says bare tool. A handle row says metal while the bullet says a soft-feel grip and finger guide, and a 4500 RPM row is a catalogue error on this manual saw. Choose it for rough-sawn timber only if the teeth stand proud of the plate when it arrives.

Pros

  • 22 inch plate for rough-sawn timber, with 45° and 90° marks
  • Teeth row of 7 lines up with a first-fix pitch in the maker’s older catalogue
  • 450 g at about £10.98
  • 4.5 from 267 UK reviews

Cons

  • One review says the teeth do not clear the plate
  • The title omits TPI, and the rank label says fine cut against first-fix bullets
  • Handle row says metal while the bullet says a soft-feel grip
  • Bare tool, with no guard listed

Best for: Rough-sawn carcassing on a long plate, if the set of the teeth is visible on arrival

Less suitable: Visible trim, and a saw that binds because the teeth are no wider than the plate

Specifications

Model
Spear & Jackson B98FF
Brand
Spear & Jackson
Price
∼£11
Customer rating
4.5/5(267)
Saw type
First-fix panel saw
Stroke
Push
Tooth pitch
7 points
Blade length
560 mm
Angle marks
45° and 90°
Materials
Rough-sawn timber
Power
Manual
Weight
450 g
In the box
Bare tool

Common questions

What pitch is the B98FF?

The title does not state a TPI. The teeth row says 7. The rank label says fine cut saws, while the bullets say first fix.

Does it include a blade guard?

The included line says bare tool. A guard is not listed.

What does the bullet say it is for?

Rough-sawn timber, along and across the grain, with a 45° and 90° angle guide.

Barbarossa 350 mm

Rank 10

Barbarossa 350 mm

Our view

The Barbarossa 350 mm is sold as a first-fix saw at 8 TPI, also written as 9 points in the title, weighing 330 g at about £7.95, with 4.5 stars from 239 amazon.co.uk reviews. That is a coarse pitch on a toolbox length, so it is quicker in a short piece of carcassing than a 15 TPI saw, and it is a poor match for a show edge. Reviews in this file report binding and poor cuts in plastic, even though the materials row names plastic, plywood, and hardwoods. The bullet claims hardpoint teeth cut up to 50% faster than traditional handsaws, and that figure is a listing claim, not a timed comparison here. The included line says bare tool, so no guard is specified. A 4500 RPM row does not describe this saw. At 350 mm it also lacks the stroke of the 550 mm Draper or the 560 mm Predator when the timber is thick.

Pros

  • 8 TPI first-fix pitch at about £7.95 and 330 g
  • Short enough to live in a toolbox
  • 4.5 from 239 UK reviews

Cons

  • Reviews report binding
  • Poor plastic cuts appear in the review sample
  • The 50% faster line is a listing claim, not a measured result
  • Bare tool, with no guard listed

Best for: Short first-fix cuts in timber where a 350 mm stroke is enough

Less suitable: Plastic sheet, and long rips that need a 550 mm plate

Specifications

Model
Barbarossa 350 mm
Brand
Barbarossa
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
4.5/5(239)
Saw type
First-fix toolbox saw
Stroke
Push
Tooth pitch
8 TPI
Blade length
350 mm
Materials
Plywood, hardwood
Power
Manual
Weight
330 g
In the box
Bare tool

Common questions

Is the Barbarossa a fine-tooth saw?

No. The title says 8 TPI / 9 points, which is a coarse first-fix pitch.

Does the listing include a case?

The included line says bare tool.

What does the listing claim about speed?

The bullet says hardpoint teeth cut up to 50% faster than traditional handsaws. That is a listing claim, not a timed test in this file.

BLACK+DECKER KS890ECN

Rank 11

BLACK+DECKER KS890ECN

∼£34

Our view

The BLACK+DECKER KS890ECN is the only powered saw in this comparison: 400 W, 230 V, corded, 2.2 kg, at about £34.49, with 4.4 stars from 7,083 amazon.co.uk reviews. Reviewers describe a short stroke, and the manufacturer page states a 10 mm stroke, which is what the listing’s 10 mm blade row is pointing at. It is for awkward cuts in wood, metal, and plastic where a panel saw cannot start, not for ripping a sleeper. The highlight says three blades, the included line says the saw and one blade, and a UK review says none arrived; another unit arrived looking used. A battery row says a lithium-ion battery is required, which contradicts the corded specification. Plug type is not stated in the listing fields used here, so confirm a BS 1363 plug before you rely on it. Do not open the lead yourself if it is damaged.

Pros

  • 400 W corded saw at 230 V for cuts a handsaw cannot start
  • 4.4 from 7,083 UK reviews, the largest file in the set
  • Named for wood, metal, and plastic

Cons

  • UK reviews report a unit with no blades and a unit that looked used
  • The highlight says 3 blades; the included line says 1
  • A battery row conflicts with the corded specification
  • Plug type is not stated in the listing fields used here

Best for: Short powered cuts in wood, metal, or plastic where a handsaw stroke does not fit

Less suitable: A long rip, a substitute for a 550 mm panel saw, or a repair to the lead

Specifications

Model
BLACK+DECKER KS890ECN
Brand
BLACK+DECKER
Price
∼£34
Customer rating
4.4/5(7,083)
Saw type
Powered handsaw
Stroke
Powered
Blade length
10 mm stroke
Materials
Wood, metal, plastic
Power
400 W, 230 V
Weight
2200 g
In the box
Saw and 1 blade

Common questions

Is the Scorpion cordless?

No. The power source is corded electric at 230 volts. A battery row says one lithium-ion battery is required. That row does not match the included line.

How many blades are included?

The highlight says 3 blades. The included-components line says the saw and 1 blade. A UK review says none arrived.

Does the listing state the plug?

No. Voltage is 230 volts. The plug type is not stated in the listing fields used here.

Rolson 58375

Rank 12

Rolson 58375

Our view

The Rolson 58375 is a 250 mm tenon saw at 9 TPI, 282 g, and about £5.30, with 4.3 stars from 793 amazon.co.uk reviews. That length suits beading and other small sections. UK reviews say it does not span a standard mitre box, and one buyer used it on beading in a single slot. Binding is the other repeated complaint, so a pinched kerf is part of the record. The bullet says 9 TPI while the teeth row says 89, which is a count, not the pitch. The listing calls the blade high speed steel and gives a cutting-angle row of 60 degrees. It is not electric, despite a corded-electric row and an item type that says power bit set, a mismatch a UK reviewer flagged. At this price it is the only tenon in the set, and it is the wrong saw if your mitre box is wider than the blade.

Pros

  • 250 mm tenon saw at 9 TPI for about £5.30
  • 282 g with a rubber and plastic handle
  • 4.3 from 793 UK reviews
  • The only tenon saw in this comparison

Cons

  • Reviews say 250 mm does not span a standard mitre box
  • Binding is a repeated complaint
  • Teeth row says 89 against a 9 TPI bullet
  • Power row and item type describe an electric bit set

Best for: Beading and other small sections, including one slot of a mitre box

Less suitable: A full-width mitre-box cut, and first-fix timber

Specifications

Model
Rolson 58375
Brand
Rolson
Price
∼£5
Customer rating
4.3/5(793)
Saw type
Tenon saw
Stroke
Push
Tooth pitch
9 TPI
Blade length
250 mm
Materials
Wood
Power
Manual
Weight
282 g
In the box
1 tenon saw

Common questions

Is the Rolson 58375 electric?

No. It is a 250 mm tenon saw. The power-source row says corded electric and the item type says a power bit set. A UK reviewer flagged the electric description.

Will it fit a mitre box?

UK reviews say the 250 mm blade does not span a standard mitre box. One buyer used it on beading in a single slot.

What pitch is on the bullet?

9 TPI. The teeth row says 89.

How we compared

We compared twelve amazon.co.uk wood-saw listings. Prices, stars, and review counts are the UK lines scraped on 15 October 2026. Each comparison score starts from the star rating times 16, rounded to the nearest whole number, then adds 5 if the review count is at least 50. It subtracts 8 if a UK review reports the saw arriving rusty, without the blades the buyer paid for, or looking used. The result is capped at 85. It is not a lab score. Where three listings share 80, the top pick is the largest UK review file, and the best value is the other listing on that score at the lower shelf price. The weights below follow the buying order for this set.

1

Job and stroke

20%

Rough timber and sheet, visible trim, flush dowels, or a short powered cut are different jobs. The stroke is a western push, a Japanese-style pull, or the BLACK+DECKER’s short powered stroke.

2

Tooth pitch

25%

Pitch comes from the bullet, not the number-of-teeth row. About 7–8 points suits first fix. A finer 350 mm saw here is about 11–15 TPI. The only tenon is 9 TPI.

3

Blade length

20%

A full stroke is about 500–560 mm. A toolbox saw is about 350 mm. 250 mm is only for small sections. A 10 mm figure on the powered saw is a stroke, not a panel blade.

4

Plate and a blunt edge

15%

Reviews describe binding when the teeth are no wider than the plate, and flex on the thin pull saws. Axminster states hardpoint teeth cannot be re-sharpened.

5

Shelf price and review file

20%

The best value is the lower shelf price among the listings that share the top score. A 4.7 from 70 reviews is not the same evidence as a 4.7 from more than 2,000.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Wood saw buying guide

The notes below follow the order used for these twelve listings: the job, the stroke, the pitch from the bullet, then length, the plate, and what happens when the edge is blunt. Prices are the amazon.co.uk shelf figures from 15 October 2026. Nothing here was measured in a lab.

What is a wood saw?

A wood saw here is a handsaw for timber, sheet, trim, or a branch. This comparison also includes one corded powered handsaw, the BLACK+DECKER KS890ECN, and that saw must not be read as if it had a tooth pitch. UK buyers in this set fall into three groups: a householder with one job, a DIYer replacing a blunt panel saw, and someone trimming a dowel or a piece of moulding.

Best for

  • A single household cut with a £6–£8 toolbox saw
  • Decking, sleepers, and other rough timber on a 550–560 mm coarse push saw
  • Flush cuts, dowels, and short pieces with a light pull saw

Not ideal for

  • Visible skirting cut with an 8-point first-fix plate
  • Structural timber, a damaged mains lead, or a tree you cannot control on the ground
  • Anyone who plans to file a hardpoint tooth

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading the teeth row as TPI

    The OX bullet says 15 TPI and the teeth row says 14. The Predator teeth row says 176. The Draper 80874 teeth row says 165. Those counts are not the pitch. Use the bullet: 8 points, 8 PPI, 11 TPI, 12 PPI, or 15 TPI, as that listing states it.

  2. 2

    Using 8 points on visible skirting

    An 8-point or 8 PPI edge is fast in carcassing, decking, and sleepers, and coarse on a show face. Visible trim wants the finer toolbox saws, around 11–15 TPI on a 350 mm plate, not the 22 inch first-fix plates.

  3. 3

    Filing a hardpoint, or pushing a pull saw

    Axminster states hardpoint teeth cannot be re-sharpened. Replace the saw when it is blunt. The SURFOU and the Magicbox set cut on the pull. Pushing them fights the tooth. The Rolson 250 mm also does not span a standard mitre box, and a 50% faster line is a listing claim, not a timed test.

What to weigh up

Tooth pitch for the cut

High

Pitch is the buying fact, and it comes from the bullet, not the number-of-teeth row. About 7–8 points suits first fix: the Predator B9822 states 8 points, the Draper 82196 states 8 PPI, the Barbarossa title says 8 TPI, and the B98FF teeth row says 7. A finer 350 mm saw in this set is the HAUTMEC at 11 TPI, the Draper 80874 at 12 PPI, and the OX at 15 TPI. The Rolson tenon is 9 TPI. The AIRAJ, the SURFOU, and the Magicbox set do not state a pitch you can trust.

Length, stroke, and a blunt edge

High

A full stroke is about 500–560 mm: the Predator B9822 is 560 mm, the Draper 82196 is 550 mm, and the B98FF is a 22 inch first-fix plate. A toolbox saw is about 350 mm, which is the OX, both the short Draper and the Barbarossa, and the HAUTMEC. The AIRAJ title says 450 mm. The Rolson is 250 mm and, in UK reviews, does not span a standard mitre box. The SURFOU and the Magicbox set do not state a blade length.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

One cut around the house

You need a toolbox saw for a single job, and you will send it back if the edge arrives blunt. The OX Pro 350 mm is about £7.43, with 15 TPI and 4.7 from 356 reviews. Check the edge before the first stroke.

Our recommendation

View offer

Decking or sleepers

You want a 550–560 mm coarse push saw for timber that will be hidden or planed later. The Spear & Jackson Predator B9822 is 560 mm at 8 points, about £10.79, with 4.7 from 2,085 reviews.

Dowels and small woodwork

A 22 inch first-fix plate is the wrong tool for a flush cut. The SURFOU pull saw is 100 g at about £7.99, with a coarse edge and a fine edge, and 4.6 from 660 reviews. It will kink if you twist it through a thick post.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about wood saws

Which wood saw is the top pick in this set?
The top pick is the Spear & Jackson Predator B9822 at about £10.79. It is a 560 mm push saw at 8 points, with 4.7 from 2,085 amazon.co.uk reviews. Three listings share the top comparison score. This one has the largest UK review file of the three. Reviewers single it out for speed on sleepers and decking. An 8-point edge is coarse on visible skirting, so that job belongs on a finer tooth.
How much does a wood saw cost on amazon.co.uk?
On these twelve shelves, scraped on 15 October 2026, the entry band is about £5.30 to £7.99: the Rolson, the Draper 350 mm, the OX, the Barbarossa, and the SURFOU. The middle band is about £8.99 to £10.98: the HAUTMEC, the Draper 550 mm, and both Predators. The AIRAJ and the Magicbox set are about £16.99 to £17.99. The corded BLACK+DECKER is about £34.49. Prices move. The lowest shelf price is not the best value.
What should you check before you buy a wood saw?
Match the job first: rough timber and sheet, visible trim, flush dowels, or a short powered cut. Read the pitch from the bullet, not the teeth-count row. About 7–8 points suits first fix, and about 11–15 TPI suits a finer 350 mm saw. A full stroke is about 500–560 mm. A toolbox saw is about 350 mm. Check push or pull, and whether the teeth stand proud of the plate. Hardpoint teeth are replaced when blunt.
Should a wood saw cut on the push or the pull?
Most panel and toolbox saws here cut on the push, including both Predators, both Draper Venom saws, the OX, the HAUTMEC, the Barbarossa, and the Rolson. The SURFOU and the Magicbox set cut on the pull. Pushing a pull saw fights the tooth. One AIRAJ review could cut only backwards. The BLACK+DECKER is neither: it is a short powered stroke, which the manufacturer states as 10 mm.
Can you sharpen a hardpoint wood saw?
Axminster states that hardpoint teeth cannot be re-sharpened. When the edge is blunt you replace the saw, or the blade if the listing says it is replaceable. The SURFOU bullet says the blade is screwed on and replaceable, and a spare is not in the included line. A rusty or blunt arrival is a Consumer Rights Act 2015 question, including the 30-day right to reject, not a reason to file the teeth.
Why do some handsaw listings mention RPM or a battery?
Several manual saws here carry catalogue rows that do not describe the product: 4500 RPM, an AAAA battery, or corded electric on a handsaw. The OX power-source row says AC. The Rolson item type says a power bit set. The BLACK+DECKER is the only corded saw, at 400 W and 230 V. Ignore those odd rows. They are not a cutting speed, and they are not a reason to buy batteries for a handsaw.
When is a handsaw the wrong tool?
A handsaw is the wrong tool for structural timber, for a sheet you need to rip square and repeat, and for any tree you cannot control on the ground. Prolonged powered cutting of MDF or hardwood without extraction, and any repair of the BLACK+DECKER lead, belong with someone competent. For a long, square, repetitive cut, start with a table saw. The 250 mm Rolson also does not span a standard mitre box.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Spear & Jackson Predator B9822 at about £10.79: a 560 mm push saw at 8 points, with 4.7 from 2,085 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest manual-saw file on the shared top score. It suits decking, sleepers, and other rough timber, and the edge is coarse on visible skirting. The best value is the OX Pro 350 mm at about £7.43, also on that top score, with 15 TPI and 4.7 from 356 reviews, for second-fix sheet where a 350 mm stroke is enough. The BLACK+DECKER KS890ECN is the only corded saw here, at about £34.49, and it is not a panel saw with a tooth pitch.

Best overall
Spear & Jackson Predator B9822

Spear & Jackson Predator B9822

It shares the top score and has the largest UK review file of those listings: 4.7 from 2,085 reviews on a 560 mm, 8-point push saw.

View offer
Best value
OX Pro 350 mm

OX Pro 350 mm

The other listing on that top score, at the lower shelf price of about £7.43, with 15 TPI and 4.7 from 356 reviews.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & tools

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to wood saws

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources used for this comparison. Listing prices, stars, and review counts are the amazon.co.uk lines scraped on 15 October 2026.

  1. HSE, cutting and sanding wood (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. HSE, wood dust (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. HSE INDG291, providing and using work equipment safely (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. HSE L114, safe use of woodworking machinery (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 22 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. Axminster, hardpoint handsaws (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. BLACK+DECKER KS890ECN-GB (retrieved 16 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars, and review counts are the UK listing lines. We did not run a lab test.