Scroll saw buying guide
You are comparing scroll saws on amazon.co.uk, and the listings disagree. One row prints a speed that cannot be a real stroke rate. Another bullet talks about a grass trimmer. This guide, from the Products Compared editorial team on 16 October 2026, is the order that changes the cut: throat, blades, height at a tilt, speed, then dust. Ranked fit stays on the [scroll saw comparison](/hub/power-saws/scroll-saw). We did not run a lab test. A qualifying amazon.co.uk purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Wattage here only runs from 70 W to 150 W, so it is a weak way to pick a winner.
You are comparing scroll saws on amazon.co.uk, and the listings disagree. One row prints a speed that cannot be a real stroke rate. Another bullet talks about a grass trimmer.
You are comparing scroll saws on amazon.co.uk, and the listings disagree. One row prints a speed that cannot be a real stroke rate. Another bullet talks about a grass trimmer. This guide, from the Products Compared editorial team on 16 October 2026, is the order that changes the cut: throat, blades, height at a tilt, speed, then dust. Ranked fit stays on the scroll saw comparison. We did not run a lab test. A qualifying amazon.co.uk purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Wattage here only runs from 70 W to 150 W, so it is a weak way to pick a winner.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Throat | Blade system | Cut height | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Bucktool Bucktool SSA18BV | 457 mm | Pinless and pinned | Not stated | 7.1 | about £227.99 | View offer |
Dremel Dremel MS20 | Not stated | Pin-end | Not stated | 7.3 | about £99.95 | View offer | |
| Preis-Tipp | Einhell Einhell TC-SS 406E | 406 mm | Pin and pinless | 50 mm | 6.6 | about £99.99 | View offer |
On this page
What throat size means on a UK hobby saw
Pin-end and pinless blades
Cut height, tilt, and speed
Dust, power, and listing traps
Common questions
What throat do I need for a hobby scroll saw in the UK?
Should I buy pin-end blades, pinless blades, or both?
Is 50 mm the cut height once the table is tilted?
Why is wattage a weak way to choose among these saws?
Which listing lines should I ignore?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings in this comparison. Page updated October 2026.
- HSE WIS23 wood dust (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- HSE PUWER overview (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- HSE woodworking noise (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- Einhell UK TC-SS 406 E (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- Yandles Charnwood SS16F (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- Dremel FAQ (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- Woodworkers Institute scrollsaw basics (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- Amazon.co.uk Scroll Saws best sellers (retrieved 16 October 2026)


