Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: VENLAB VM-600M – The listing states True RMS and CAT III 600 V, with a 20 A AC/DC line and 4.7 from 623 reviews at about £26.99. Best value: TESMEN TM-510 – About £16.99 with 4.6 from 13,668 reviews and CAT II 600 V stated, and current is not in the bullets. Updated October 2026.
A handheld multimeter measures voltage, resistance, continuity and, on some models, current. The usual jobs are batteries, fuses and simple DC circuits, or a mains check inside the printed category. Read the mark and its voltage, then if the wave is not a sine, then the counts, the current jack and the leads. The [buying guide](/hub/measuring-equipment/multimeter/sub/multimeter-buying-guide) sets those choices before a model name. The [true RMS multimeter guide](/hub/measuring-equipment/multimeter/sub/multimeter-true-rms) covers that waveform choice on its own.
HSE guidance note says a test lamp or two-pole detector, not a multimeter, decides whether a low-voltage circuit is live or dead. These scores compare stored listings and public UK sources.
A handheld multimeter measures voltage, resistance, continuity and, on some models, current. The usual jobs are batteries, fuses and simple DC circuits, or a mains check inside the printed category.
A handheld multimeter measures voltage, resistance, continuity and, on some models, current. The usual jobs are batteries, fuses and simple DC circuits, or a mains check inside the printed category. Read the mark and its voltage, then if the wave is not a sine, then the counts, the current jack and the leads. The [buying guide](/hub/measuring-equipment/multimeter/sub/multimeter-buying-guide) sets those choices before a model name. The [true RMS multimeter guide](/hub/measuring-equipment/multimeter/sub/multimeter-true-rms) covers that waveform choice on its own.
HSE guidance note says a test lamp or two-pole detector, not a multimeter, decides whether a low-voltage circuit is live or dead. These scores compare stored listings and public UK sources.
A handheld multimeter measures voltage, resistance, continuity and, on some models, current. The usual jobs are batteries, fuses and simple DC circuits, or a mains check inside the printed category. Read the mark and its voltage, then if the wave is not a sine, then the counts, the current jack and the leads. The buying guide sets those choices before a model name. The true RMS multimeter guide covers that waveform choice on its own.
The VENLAB VM-600M is £26.99 on amazon.co.uk, rated 4.7 out of 5 from 623 reviews, the highest star line in this set. Of the first 50 stored reviews, 41 are marked United Kingdom. The title states TRMS, 6000 counts and manual range. Bullets state up to 750 V AC, 1000 V DC and 20 A AC/DC, plus capacitance, frequency, continuity, diode and hFE. Attributes list CAT III 600V, CE and RoHS. It has NCV, a hanging magnet, a stand, a silicone cover and double fuses. Temperature measurement is not in the function bullets. UK buyers praise the display and build and describe it as quite big. One buyer said voltage detection missed 5 V and 12 V. It is the top pick in this set because the listing states both True RMS and CAT III 600 V, with a 20 A AC/DC line and the highest star score. That is a listing comparison, not a laboratory test.
Pros
Title states TRMS and 6000 counts
Attributes list CAT III 600V
20 A AC/DC, 750 V AC and 1000 V DC stated
4.7 out of 5 from 623 reviews at £26.99
Cons
Manual range, not auto
Described as quite big at 21.4 x 13.3 x 6 cm
Temperature measurement is not in the function bullets
One buyer said NCV missed 5 V and 12 V
Best for: A DIY or hobby meter when you want True RMS, a stated CAT III 600 V line and a 20 A AC/DC claim on the same listing.
Less suitable: Buyers who want auto-range, a compact body, or a temperature function in the bullets. It does not prove a circuit dead.
Does the VENLAB VM-600M state True RMS and a CAT rating?
The title states TRMS and 6000 counts with manual range. Attributes list CAT III 600V, CE and RoHS. Bullets also state up to 750 V AC, 1000 V DC and 20 A AC/DC, plus double fuses.
Does it measure temperature?
Temperature measurement is not in the function bullets. An upper temperature rating attribute of 100 °C is printed, which is not the same as a temperature probe function.
How do UK reviews describe the size?
Of the first 50 stored reviews, 41 are marked United Kingdom. Buyers praise the display and a sturdy case and call it quite big. One buyer said voltage detection did not pick up 5 V or 12 V. The listing is 4.7 from 623 at £26.99.
The TESMEN TM-510 is £16.99 on amazon.co.uk, rated 4.6 out of 5 from 13,668 reviews, the largest review count in this set. It is a 4000-count smart meter for AC and DC voltage, resistance and continuity, with NCV, a silicone cover and a storage bag. The listing states CAT II 600V, CE and RoHS. Current, capacitance, temperature and True RMS are not listed. UK buyers praise the smart switch between mains and a small battery, and several call the price a bargain. One UK review says the live detector will not find buried wires, and one title says the nodes were defective on arrival. It is the best value here because the shelf price is £16.99, the star line is large, and a CAT voltage is printed, with the limit that amps are not in the bullets. That is a listing comparison, not a laboratory test.
Pros
£16.99 with 4.6 out of 5 from 13,668 reviews
CAT II 600V stated, with a storage bag
Smart auto mode for voltage, resistance and continuity
100 g, with two AAA batteries included
Cons
Current is not listed in the bullets
True RMS, capacitance and temperature are not stated
One UK buyer said NCV will not find buried wires
One UK review title says the nodes were defective on arrival
Best for: Occasional voltage, resistance and continuity checks when you want a stated CAT II 600 V line and a low shelf price.
Less suitable: Any job that needs a stated current range, True RMS, or a CAT III line. NCV silence is not a dead-circuit proof.
Current measurement is not listed in the bullets. Smart auto mode is stated for AC and DC voltage, resistance and continuity, plus non-contact voltage. Do not expect an amp jack from this listing.
What CAT line does the listing print?
It states CAT II 600V, CE and RoHS, and the maximum operating voltage attribute is 600 V. True RMS is not stated. CAT II is the socket and plug-in appliance category in the Martindale explainer, not the distribution board.
Are batteries and a bag included?
Yes. The box line names two AAA batteries, two test leads, a storage bag and a user manual, plus a silicone cover. It weighs 100 g in the attributes.
The Crenova MS8233D is £22.99 on amazon.co.uk, rated 4.6 out of 5 from 9,442 reviews. The listing states a 6000-count LCD, manual and auto range, and IEC61010-1 CAT III 600V with two built-in fuses. It states DC and AC voltage and current, resistance, capacitance, frequency, continuity, diode, live wire and NCV. True RMS is not in the bullets, and temperature is not listed. The box includes test leads, alligator clips, two AAA batteries and a carrying box. UK reviews praise auto-ranging, the case and a readable screen for DIY use. One buyer called the case a bit small and the manual only fairly clear. It is a mid-price meter in this set with a printed CAT III 600 V line and a large UK review count. That is a listing comparison, not a laboratory test.
Pros
Listing states IEC61010-1 CAT III 600V and two fuses
6000 counts with manual and auto range
4.6 out of 5 from 9,442 amazon.co.uk reviews at £22.99
Carrying box, leads and alligator clips stated
Cons
True RMS is not stated in the bullets
Temperature is not listed
One UK buyer found the case a bit small for the meter and leads
Manual called only fairly clear
Best for: A DIY meter when you want a stated CAT III 600 V line, auto-range and a carry box, and you do not need a printed True RMS claim.
Less suitable: Jobs that need a stated True RMS reading, or a temperature probe, which this listing does not claim.
Does the Crenova MS8233D listing state a CAT rating?
Yes. The bullets state IEC61010-1 CAT III 600V and two built-in fuses. True RMS is not stated in the bullets, and no separate 750 V or 1000 V figures are in the file.
Does it measure temperature?
The bullets do not list temperature. They do list DC and AC voltage and current, resistance, capacitance, frequency, duty cycle, continuity, diode, live wire and NCV.
Is a case included?
Yes. The box line names a carrying box, and the bullets also name test leads, alligator clips, two AAA batteries and a user manual. One UK buyer found the case a bit small for the meter and the leads together.
The Proster T21D is £16.99 on amazon.co.uk, rated 4.6 out of 5 from 1,807 reviews. It states 6000 counts and True RMS, with auto range and a manual override, NCV, and AC and DC voltage and current. Capacitance, frequency, duty cycle, diode, continuity, a backlight and a flashlight are listed. A K-type temperature probe is in the box, with an upper temperature rating attribute of 1000 °C and no printed tolerance. A magnet, kickstand, probe storage and a cloth bag are stated, plus three AAA batteries and two spare fuses. A CAT number is not in the file; specification met is CE. UK buyers like the function count. One called the display slow, and one said the alligator clips detach and can leave a live lead end exposed. Voltage limits beyond the function list are not stated.
Pros
True RMS, 6000 counts, auto and manual range
K-type temperature probe and cloth bag in the box
4.6 out of 5 from 1,807 reviews at £16.99
Magnet, kickstand and two spare fuses stated
Cons
No CAT number in the file
One UK buyer said the clips detach and can leave a live lead end exposed
Display called slow on first impression
Temperature tolerance is not printed
Best for: A £16.99 meter when you want stated True RMS, temperature and a cloth bag, and you can accept a missing CAT number.
Less suitable: Work that needs a printed CAT voltage, or buyers who rely on the supplied alligator clips after the UK clip complaint.
A CAT number is not in the file. Specification met is CE. The listing does state 6000 counts, True RMS, auto range with manual override, and AC and DC voltage and current.
Is a temperature probe in the box?
Yes. The box line names a K-type temperature probe, and the upper temperature rating attribute is 1000 °C. A tolerance is not printed. Three AAA batteries, a cloth bag, an alligator clip, a screwdriver and two spare fuses are also named.
What did UK buyers say about the clips?
One UK buyer said the alligator clips detach and can leave a live lead end exposed, and called the clip connection poor. Another called the display slow on first impression. The listing is 4.6 from 1,807 at £16.99.
The FNIRSI DMT-99 is £49.99 on amazon.co.uk, the highest price in this set, rated 4.6 out of 5 from 40 reviews. Of 18 stored reviews, two are marked United Kingdom. The title states 9999 counts and TRMS, and it is rechargeable with a stated 1500 mAh cell. Intelligent mode selects the range. A 2.4 inch TFT at 240 x 320 is stated, plus recording of up to eight readings with max and min, and a monitoring mode with thresholds. Functions include AC and DC voltage and current, resistance, capacitance, continuity, diode, NCV and live wire, with a double ceramic fuse. A CAT number is not stated. Temperature is not in the function bullets. Dimensions, warranty and voltage limits are not stated. One UK review says relative mode does not work. Non-UK reviews mention slow continuity and thin probes. Those non-UK texts are not UK opinion.
Pros
9999 counts and TRMS in the title
Colour TFT and a stated 1500 mAh cell
Recording of up to eight readings
AC and DC current and a double ceramic fuse stated
Cons
£49.99 with only two stored UK reviews
No CAT number; voltage limits not stated
One UK review: relative mode failed out of the box
Temperature is not in the function bullets
Best for: A buyer who wants a colour screen, stated True RMS and onboard recording, and can accept a small UK review sample.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs a printed CAT voltage, a working relative mode, or a mostly UK review sample. It does not prove a circuit dead.
How many stored reviews are from the United Kingdom?
The listing is 4.6 from 40. Of 18 stored reviews, two are marked United Kingdom. The rest are Germany, Italy or Spain. One UK buyer called it fast and easy. The other said relative mode does not work on a new unit.
Does the listing state a CAT rating?
A CAT number is not stated. Attributes say CE and UL. The title states 9999 counts and TRMS. Voltage limits and dimensions are not stated. A double ceramic fuse is stated, and temperature is not in the function bullets.
What does the recording mode store?
Recording mode stores up to eight readings and shows max and min. A monitoring mode with custom thresholds is also stated, on a 2.4 inch TFT at 240 x 320. The built-in battery is stated as 1500 mAh. The price is £49.99.
The ULTRICS UT0021YB is £7.99 on amazon.co.uk, the lowest price in this set, rated 4.5 out of 5 from 14,169 reviews. It is a 1999-count meter with a backlit LCD and data hold. Features list AC and DC voltage up to 600 V, DC current, resistance, diode, transistor test and audible continuity. The 10 A input is stated for a maximum of 10 seconds. A protective cover, fold-out stand, test leads, a 9 V battery and a manual are named. CE and UKCA are in the attributes, and this is the only file in the set that states UKCA. A CAT number, True RMS, NCV and capacitance are not stated. The colour attribute says Digital Multimeter rather than a colour. UK reviews treat it as enough for a hobby or a small home job. One buyer wanted a separate case, which is not in the box list.
Pros
£7.99 and 4.5 out of 5 from 14,169 reviews
CE and UKCA in the attributes
1999-count backlit LCD and a 9 V battery included
Protective cover and fold-out stand stated
Cons
No CAT number and True RMS not stated
10 A range limited to 10 seconds in the bullets
No separate carry case
Colour attribute is not a colour
Best for: The cheapest meter in this set for batteries and simple checks, with UKCA printed on this listing.
Less suitable: A stated CAT rating, True RMS, NCV, or a separate case. The 10 A jack is a 10-second range in the bullets.
Yes. CE and UKCA are in the attributes. A CAT number is not stated. True RMS, NCV, capacitance and a separate case are not stated. In this set, only this file states UKCA.
What is the 10 A limit?
Bullets say the 10 A range is for a maximum measurement time of 10 seconds. Current listed is DC. Voltage is stated up to 600 V, with an attribute minimum of 100 V and a maximum of 600 V. The display is 1999 counts.
Is a carry case included?
A carry case is not in the box list. A protective cover and a fold-out stand are. One UK buyer noted the missing case. The listing is £7.99, rated 4.5 from 14,169 reviews, with a 12-month limited warranty.
The RICOKEY listing is £9.98 on amazon.co.uk, rated 4.5 out of 5 from 4,131 reviews. It measures AC and DC voltage, DC current, resistance, continuity, battery, diode and transistor hFE. AC current is not named. A 2-year warranty is stated, with a 9 V battery and a removable orange rubber cover and fold-out stand. Attributes print a minimum of 200 V AC and a maximum of 600 V AC, and standards of UL 61010-1, CE and RoHS, with no CAT number. Counts are not stated. True RMS, NCV, capacitance and temperature are not stated. Dimensions are not stated and weight is 210 g. One UK buyer preferred the manual range selector. Another said the backlight stays on only briefly. No repeated hardware failure is in the sample. The model name on the listing is Digital Multimeter.
Pros
£9.98 and a 2-year warranty stated
UL 61010-1, CE and RoHS on the attributes
4.5 out of 5 from 4,131 reviews
9 V battery, rubber cover and fold-out stand stated
Cons
No CAT number
Attribute voltage band is printed as 200–600 V AC
AC current is not named
One UK review says the backlight stays on only briefly
Best for: A budget dial meter when a stated 2-year warranty and basic DC tests matter more than a CAT number.
Less suitable: Auto-range, AC current, NCV, or any job outside the printed 200–600 V AC attribute.
What voltage figures does the RICOKEY attribute print?
Attributes say a minimum operating voltage of 200 V AC and a maximum of 600 V AC. Standards listed are UL 61010-1, CE and RoHS. No CAT number is printed, and no voltage tolerance is printed.
Does it measure AC current?
AC current is not named in the function bullet. The list covers AC and DC voltage, DC current, resistance, continuity, battery test, diode, transistor hFE and a low-battery indication.
How long does the backlight stay on?
A UK review says the backlight stays on only a short time, and that buyer marked the meter down from five stars. The listing is 4.5 from 4,131 at £9.98, with a 2-year warranty stated. Dimensions are not stated.
The BSIDE A1X is a pen-style meter at £21.99 on amazon.co.uk, rated 4.5 out of 5 from 59 reviews. Nine stored reviews are marked United Kingdom and the texts are short. It weighs 73 g and measures 14.6 x 4.4 x 2.5 cm. Smart auto mode covers AC or DC voltage, resistance and continuity, and a manual mode is also stated. Capacitance, diode, a flashlight and a rechargeable battery are stated, plus a case. NCV is given as 6 V–1000 V or 90 V–1000 V, with a red backlight above 90 V. Current is not listed, True RMS is not stated, and no CAT number is printed. Counts are not stated. One UK buyer said cable sensing was AC only and told vehicle DC tracing buyers to look elsewhere. UK buyers who liked it called it easy and a useful kit item.
Pros
73 g pen with a case and a rechargeable battery stated
Smart auto and a manual mode for voltage, resistance and continuity
NCV stated, with a red backlight above 90 V
Capacitance and diode stated versus the older A1
Cons
Current is not listed
No CAT number; True RMS not stated
One UK buyer said cable sensing was AC only
Only 59 reviews, and the written texts are short
Best for: A light pen for voltage, continuity and non-contact checks when a CAT number is not required for the job.
Less suitable: Current measurement, a printed CAT rating, or tracing DC on a vehicle, which one UK buyer said this pen does not do.
A current range is not listed in the bullets. Smart auto mode is stated for AC or DC voltage, resistance and continuity, with a manual mode also stated, plus capacitance, diode and NCV.
Does the listing print a CAT rating?
No CAT number is stated. Attributes list CE, ETL, NIST and UL. NCV is stated as 6 V–1000 V or 90 V–1000 V, with a red backlight when voltage is above 90 V.
Will it trace vehicle DC cables?
One UK buyer said it only senses power in cables if the supply is AC, and told vehicle DC tracing buyers to choose something else. Nine stored reviews are marked United Kingdom, and the texts are short.
The Beizkna XL830L-250 is £9.98 on amazon.co.uk, rated 4.4 out of 5 from 3,185 reviews. It measures AC and DC voltage, DC current, resistance, continuity, battery, diode and transistor hFE. AC current is not stated. The attribute maximum operating voltage is 200 V, and the bullets do not state a higher figure. There is no CAT line. Counts, True RMS, NCV, capacitance and temperature are not stated. The box includes a 9 V battery, test leads, a manual and an orange cover with a kickstand. Dimensions are 10 x 7 x 3.5 cm and weight is 220 g. UK reviews call it small and enough for basic testing if you know the dial, and frame it as a cheap meter rather than a daily trade tool. No repeated dead-on-arrival pattern is in the sampled UK reviews. Warranty is not stated.
Pros
£9.98 with a 9 V battery included
Small body, 10 x 7 x 3.5 cm
DC current, continuity and a backlit LCD stated
4.4 out of 5 from 3,185 reviews
Cons
Maximum operating voltage attribute is 200 V
No CAT line and True RMS not stated
AC current is not stated
Counts and warranty are not stated
Best for: A low-price dial meter for batteries and simple DC checks when the 200 V attribute matches the job.
Less suitable: Mains work above the printed 200 V attribute, AC current, or any job that needs a CAT number.
The attribute maximum operating voltage is 200 V. Bullets do not state a higher voltage, and there is no CAT line. A minimum operating voltage attribute of 0.2 V DC is also printed. No tolerance is printed.
Does it measure AC current?
AC current is not stated. The function list covers AC and DC voltage, DC current, resistance, continuity, battery, diode and transistor hFE. Counts and True RMS are not stated.
What is in the box?
The box line names the multimeter, a 9 V 250 mAh battery, test leads, a manual and an orange protective cover with a kickstand. It is £9.98, rated 4.4 from 3,185 reviews. Warranty is not stated.
The Aicevoos AS-118D is £19.99 on amazon.co.uk, rated 4.3 out of 5 from 1,033 reviews. It states True RMS and IEC CAT III 600 V, with a 10 A fuse, overload protection and a silicone case. Smart mode defaults on for voltage, resistance, capacitance and more. Functions include AC and DC voltage and current, continuity, frequency, diode, temperature, NCV and live wire. Counts are not stated. It is about 2 cm thick, with a colour LCD and auto shut-down after 10 minutes. Cell type and warranty are not stated, and a separate pouch is not confirmed. UK buyers like the colour display. Criticisms are that auto mode cannot be turned off and starts an ohms reading with no voltage, that it is slow, and that supplied leads fitted loosely until replaced. Current still needs the red lead in the 10 A socket.
Pros
True RMS and IEC CAT III 600 V stated
10 A fuse and AC and DC current stated
Temperature, NCV and a colour LCD stated
About 2 cm thick, with auto shut-down after 10 minutes
Cons
4.3 from 1,033, the lower digital star line in this set
UK review: smart mode cannot be turned off
One UK review: leads fit loosely and readings were erratic until replaced
Counts, cell type and warranty are not stated
Best for: A smart meter when you want CAT III 600 V and True RMS on the listing and can live with a mode you may not lock.
Less suitable: Buyers who want a dial that stays on ohms, or who need a stated count and a confirmed zip case.
A UK review says auto mode cannot be turned off, and with no voltage it starts an ohms reading. The listing says smart mode defaults on and selects a range for voltage, resistance, capacitance and more. True RMS and IEC CAT III 600 V are stated.
What did UK buyers say about the leads?
One UK review says the supplied leads fit loosely and gave erratic readings until they were replaced. Current still needs the red lead moved to the 10 A socket. A 10 A fuse and a silicone case are stated. A separate pouch is not.
Does it measure temperature?
Yes, temperature is stated, with no tolerance. Counts are not stated. The listing is £19.99, rated 4.3 from 1,033 reviews. Auto shut-down after 10 minutes and a colour LCD are stated. Warranty is not stated.
The Fyearfly is an analogue pointer multimeter at £15.99 on amazon.co.uk, rated 3.6 out of 5 from 13 reviews. All eight stored reviews are marked Germany, Italy or France. None is marked United Kingdom, so the written themes are not UK opinion. Bullets describe a magnetoelectric meter with 18 gears and 21 ranges, ABS plastic, a mirror surface and a carbon pointer, and a stated measurement error of 2.5%. It claims voltage, current and resistance, and the bullets also mention audio frequency and electrical frequency. There is no CAT line, no True RMS and no digital counts. Continuity is not stated as a beep. A battery count is not given. Colour, warranty and a case are not stated. Non-UK reviews include an ohms zeroing failure and a unit that does not work. Weight is 210 g.
Pros
Analogue pointer, which one German review preferred for short swings
18 gears and 21 ranges stated
Test leads included
Stated measurement error 2.5%
Cons
3.6 from 13, and no stored review is marked United Kingdom
No CAT line and no True RMS
Ohms zeroing failure in a non-UK review
Model, colour, warranty and voltage limits are not stated
Best for: A buyer who specifically wants a pointer movement and accepts a thin, non-UK review sample.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs UK written reviews, a CAT number, True RMS, or a confirmed beep continuity function.
No. The listing line is 3.6 from 13. All eight stored reviews are marked Germany, Italy or France. None is marked United Kingdom, so those texts are not UK opinion.
Does it have a digital count or a CAT rating?
It is an analogue pointer, not a count display. No CAT line, no True RMS and no digital counts are stated. Bullets say 18 gears and 21 ranges, and a stated measurement error of 2.5%.
What did the non-UK reviews say about ohms?
One German review says the ohms function will not zero. One French review calls resistance measurement impossible. One Italian review says it does not work. There is no UK written review in the file to confirm those faults.
How we compared
Scores use the 11 amazon.co.uk listings kept on this page. They are not a laboratory test, and they are not a GS38 compliance check. Each score follows the five blocks below. The top pick and the best value are the listing awards for this set.
1
Category and voltage
30%
Up to 30 points when the listing prints a measurement category and a voltage together. CAT III 600 V is stated for the VENLAB, the Crenova and the Aicevoos. CAT II 600 V is stated for the TESMEN. CE, UL or UKCA without a category does not fill this block.
2
True RMS for a non-sine wave
20%
Up to 20 points when True RMS is printed, for dimmers, many LED drivers and variable-speed tools. A DC battery check does not need it. Average-responding meters are scaled for a sine.
3
Functions that match the job
20%
Up to 20 points for a stated current range when amps are the job, and for voltage, resistance and continuity when they are not. The TESMEN bullets do not list current.
4
amazon.co.uk review evidence
15%
Up to 15 points from the star line and the review count on that UK listing. A thin United Kingdom sample stays thin. Written reviews that are not marked United Kingdom are not treated as UK opinion.
5
Shelf price against what is printed
15%
Up to 15 points for the stored amazon.co.uk price against the CAT line, True RMS claim and functions actually printed. A low price with no category is not the same offer as a stated CAT voltage.
Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Multimeter buying guide
Match the meter to the job before the brand. DC volts and continuity cover batteries and unplugged fuses. Current needs a stated amp range and its own jack. The TESMEN bullets list voltage, resistance and continuity, not current. A CAT mark only helps if a voltage is printed beside it. True RMS matters when the AC wave is not a sine. Counts tell you resolution, not whether the meter is safe on that circuit.
What is a multimeter?
A handheld multimeter for a UK shopper is a battery-powered meter for voltage, resistance, continuity and sometimes current. People buy one on amazon.co.uk for batteries, fuses and simple DC circuits, or for mains voltage if the stated measurement category matches the job. Quality starts with the printed CAT rating and its voltage, then whether AC is True RMS, then display counts, the current jack and the leads.
Manual digital meters in this set use a dial.
Best for
Batteries, fuses and unplugged flexes inside the stated category
A resting voltage check on a normal 12 V lead-acid battery
Not ideal for
Proving an installation dead, or signing an electrical certificate
A hybrid or high-voltage vehicle pack
Mistakes to avoid
1
Leaving the red lead in the amp jack
Current uses a separate jack. A red lead left in the 10 A socket and then used on voltage is a common way to stress the meter. On the AS-118D, current still needs that lead moved. On the ULTRICS, the 10 A range is stated for a maximum of 10 seconds.
2
Treating counts or a CE logo as a CAT rating
Counts are resolution, not safety. A CE, RoHS or UKCA line is not a measurement category. Only the ULTRICS file in this set states UKCA, and it still has no CAT number. Megger's point is that a CAT mark without a voltage is useless.
3
Reading non-contact silence as dead
GS38 says you use a suitable test lamp or two-pole detector, proved before and after, to decide whether voltage is present or absent. Non-contact mode does not prove dead. One BSIDE buyer also said cable sensing was AC only, so silence is not a vehicle DC result either.
What to weigh up
Category, voltage and the job
High
Match the meter to the circuit before you compare brands. DC volts and continuity cover batteries and an unplugged fuse. Current needs a stated amp range and a separate jack. The TESMEN TM-510 bullets list voltage, resistance and continuity, not current, so it is the wrong meter if you need amps. Read the CAT mark and the voltage together. Martindale describes CAT II as socket outlets and plug-in appliances, CAT III as the building distribution, and CAT IV as the supply side.
True RMS, counts and leads
High
Choose True RMS when the AC wave is not a clean sine, including dimmers, many LED drivers and variable-speed tools. Average-responding meters are scaled for a sine. Fluke says the error on a non-linear load can be up to 40% low. A DC car-battery check does not need True RMS. Counts are resolution, not safety: 1999 on the ULTRICS, 4000 on the TESMEN, 6000 on the Crenova, the VENLAB and the Proster, and 9999 on the FNIRSI. Auto-range is the easier first meter.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🏠
Batteries, fuses and continuity
You check batteries, fuses and unplugged flexes, and any mains look stays inside a stated category. The TESMEN TM-510 is about £16.99, with 4.6 from 13,668 reviews and CAT II 600 V stated. It lists voltage, resistance and continuity. It does not list current.
You want DC volts on an accessible 12 V lead-acid battery, rested, ideally overnight, on a 20 V DC range. The ULTRICS UT0021YB is about £7.99, with 4.5 from 14,169 reviews, and it states DC voltage. The RAC figure is about 12.6 V engine-off. That is state of charge, not proof it will crank.
You want True RMS and a CAT III 600 V line on the same listing, including a stated 20 A AC/DC range. The VENLAB VM-600M is about £26.99, with 4.7 from 623 reviews. It is manual range and quite big. It does not prove a circuit dead.
Which multimeter is the top pick in this 2026 comparison?
The top pick is the VENLAB VM-600M at about £26.99. The title states True RMS and 6000 counts with manual range. Attributes list CAT III 600 V, and the bullets state up to 750 V AC, 1000 V DC and 20 A AC/DC. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.7 from 623 reviews, the highest star line in this set. Buyers call it quite big, and temperature is not in the function bullets. This is a listing comparison, not a laboratory test.
Which multimeter is the best value?
The best value is the TESMEN TM-510 at about £16.99, rated 4.6 from 13,668 reviews, the largest review count in this set. It is a 4000-count smart meter for AC and DC voltage, resistance and continuity, and the listing states CAT II 600 V. Current, capacitance, temperature and True RMS are not listed. It suits occasional voltage and continuity checks. It does not suit a job that needs a stated amp range or a CAT III line.
How much does a multimeter cost on amazon.co.uk?
Stored prices in this set run from £7.99 to £49.99. The ULTRICS is £7.99, the Beizkna and the RICOKEY are £9.98, and the Fyearfly pointer is £15.99. The TESMEN and the Proster are £16.99, the Aicevoos is £19.99, the BSIDE pen is £21.99, the Crenova is £22.99 and the VENLAB is £26.99. The FNIRSI colour-screen meter is £49.99. These are the stored listing prices, not a live page view, and they can move.
What should you read on the listing before you buy?
Read the job first. DC volts and continuity cover batteries and unplugged fuses. Current needs a stated amp range and a separate jack. Then read the CAT mark and the voltage together. A CAT mark without a voltage does not tell you the category. Choose True RMS when the AC wave is not a clean sine, such as a dimmer or many LED drivers. Counts are resolution, not a safety rating. Leads and fuses fail before the display does.
Can a multimeter prove a circuit is dead?
No. HSE guidance note GS38 says that, to see whether voltage is present or absent up to 1000 V AC, you use a test lamp or two-pole voltage detector, not a multimeter, and you prove it before and after. Non-contact mode does not prove dead. A voltage tester is the nearer shelf for that check. Regulation 16 requires competence where knowledge is needed to prevent danger. A meter reading does not certify BS 7671.
When do you need True RMS on a multimeter?
Choose True RMS when the AC wave is not a clean sine: dimmers, many LED drivers and variable-speed tools. Average-responding meters are scaled for a sine, and Fluke says the error on a non-linear load can be up to 40% low. A DC battery check does not need True RMS, and it does not improve a resting 12 V reading. In this set it is stated for the VENLAB, the Proster, the Aicevoos and the FNIRSI, not for the Crenova.
Can you check a car battery with one of these meters?
You can read DC volts on an accessible 12 V lead-acid battery. The RAC puts engine-off around 12.6 V and engine-running around 13.7–14.7 V. Rest the battery, ideally overnight, and use a 20 V DC range. That reading is state of charge, not proof the battery will crank. True RMS does not change a DC reading. Do not use one of these meters on a hybrid or high-voltage pack. That system needs a professional, not a shelf multimeter.
Who should not use this set to sign off installation work?
Anyone proving an installation dead, or signing a certificate, is on the wrong shelf. England's Part P makes a new circuit, a replacement consumer unit, and work around a bath or shower notifiable. Call a qualified person if you cannot prove dead with a proper detector, if the leads are damaged, or if the pack is a hybrid rather than a normal 12 V battery. A CE logo is not a CAT rating. Only the ULTRICS listing states UKCA.
Our verdict
The top pick is the VENLAB VM-600M at about £26.99. The listing states True RMS and CAT III 600 V, with 20 A AC/DC, 750 V AC and 1000 V DC in the bullets, and 4.7 from 623 reviews. It is manual range, and buyers describe it as quite big. The best value is the TESMEN TM-510 at about £16.99, with 4.6 from 13,668 reviews and CAT II 600 V stated. Current is not in its bullets. The other nine meters have no award. None of these listings proves a circuit dead.
Best overall
VENLAB VM-600M
The listing states True RMS and CAT III 600 V, with a 20 A AC/DC line and 4.7 from 623 reviews at about £26.99.
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Guides to multimeters
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources from the research digest for this comparison: HSE, legislation.gov.uk, Martindale, Megger, Fluke, Electrical Safety First, the RAC and GOV.UK. Listing prices, star lines and review themes are the stored amazon.co.uk figures for these ASINs, not a fresh page view. Updated 17 October 2026.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Scores follow the listings named here and the public UK sources below. They are not a laboratory test, and they do not show that a meter proves a circuit dead.