Multimeter buying guide
You are looking at handheld meters on amazon.co.uk from about £7.99 to about £49.99, and the marks on the listings do not mean the same thing. This multimeter buying guide puts the checks in one order: the job you actually do, then the category mark and its voltage together, then whether an AC reading needs True RMS. Counts, the current socket and the leads come after those three. The star lines and the table stay on the [multimeter comparison](/hub/measuring-equipment/multimeter). Peter F. read those listings and public UK sources on 17 October 2026. We did not test these meters in a laboratory. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.
You are looking at handheld meters on amazon.co.uk from about £7.99 to about £49.99, and the marks on the listings do not mean the same thing.
You are looking at handheld meters on amazon.co.uk from about £7.99 to about £49.99, and the marks on the listings do not mean the same thing. This multimeter buying guide puts the checks in one order: the job you actually do, then the category mark and its voltage together, then whether an AC reading needs True RMS. Counts, the current socket and the leads come after those three. The star lines and the table stay on the multimeter comparison. Peter F. read those listings and public UK sources on 17 October 2026. We did not test these meters in a laboratory. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | CAT line | True RMS | Current | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | VENLAB VENLAB VM-600M | CAT III 600 V | Yes, in the title | 20 A AC/DC | 9.4 | about £26.99 | View offer |
| Preis-Tipp | TESMEN TESMEN TM-510 | CAT II 600 V | Not stated | Not listed | 9.2 | about £16.99 | View offer |
| Alternative | Crenova Crenova MS8233D | CAT III 600 V | Not stated | AC and DC | 9.2 | about £22.99 | View offer |
On this page
Match the meter to the job
Read the CAT mark and the voltage together
True RMS, counts and the current jack
Leads, fuses and what a meter must not do
Common questions
What is the difference between CAT II and CAT III?
Is a CAT mark useful if no voltage is printed?
Do I need True RMS to test a battery?
Can a multimeter prove a circuit dead?
Does CE or UKCA replace a CAT rating?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources from the research digest for this comparison: HSE, legislation.gov.uk, Martindale, Megger, Fluke, Electrical Safety First, the RAC and GOV.UK. Listing prices, star lines and review themes are the stored amazon.co.uk figures for these ASINs, not a fresh page view. Updated 17 October 2026.
- HSE GS38, electrical test equipment for electricians (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- Electricity at Work Regulations 1989, regulation 16 (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- Martindale, how to choose a multimeter (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- Megger, measurement category (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- Fluke, what is true-RMS (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- Electrical Safety First, Best Practice Guide 2 (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- RAC, car battery voltage (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Approved Document P (retrieved 17 October 2026)


