Cloakroom and workshop
You need one warm spout on cold mains, for a short wash in a cloakroom, workshop or shed. A 3 kW instantaneous handwash fits that job. It does not fill a washing-up bowl.
The best point-of-use water heaters, compared.
Top pick: COMFEE' 10 L undersink Best value: Triton T30i handwash – Lowest price among listings that still score at least 80: about £55.99, with 4.4 from 842 reviews. Reviewers call it lukewarm for a kitchen, so it is a hand basin only. Updated 17.10.2026.
A point-of-use water heater makes hot water at one outlet, or at two a short pipe apart, instead of feeding a whole home from a cylinder. In the UK that is a small store, usually 5–15 litres, or an instantaneous heater from about 3 kW for a hand basin up to about 9–12 kW for a kitchen sink or a modest shower. Typical jobs are a cloakroom, a garden room, a kitchenette or an all-electric flat. Quality shows up as an honest kilowatt and voltage figure, a tap that matches the vessel, and a circuit that can carry the current. At 230 V, 3 kW is about 13 A, 6 kW about 26 A, and 12 kW about 52 A. A 6 kW or 10–12 kW heater is not a 13 A plug. Litres, kilowatts and supply are in the [point-of-use water heater buying guide](/hub/hot-water/point-of-use-water-heater/sub/point-of-use-water-heater-buying-guide). A 100 litre wall heater is a dwelling store, and one such listing was left out of this set.
A point-of-use water heater makes hot water at one outlet, or at two a short pipe apart, instead of feeding a whole home from a cylinder.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 11Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
What are you heating?
The COMFEE' stores 10 litres under the sink and draws 2 kW at 220 V. Of 21 amazon.co.uk ratings the average is 4.7, the highest in this set, and UK reviewers describe quick heat for washing-up in a holiday home, a garden-room kitchen or a small shower for two. One buyer measured the stated 2 kW draw, and another removed a shelf to clear the 30 cm depth. A professionally fitted unit failed and the return was slow, and a separate review called the UK paperwork thin. The case is 32.4 cm wide, 32.4 cm high and 30 cm deep, at 7.4 kg, with a stated maximum of 75°C. Energy class A still depends on the declared load profile. A 10 litre, 2 kW store will not keep a shower going, even where the listing text mentions showering.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A single sink that needs about a bowl of hot water and a cupboard around 32 cm square and 30 cm deep.
Less suitable: A long shower, or a buyer who wants a review file of several hundred ratings.
Specifications
Common questions
Is this an undersink storage heater?
Yes. The listing is a 10 litre undersink storage water heater.
What electrical load does it state?
2,000 W at 220 V AC.
How large is the case?
32.4 cm wide, 32.4 cm high and 30 cm deep, at 7.4 kg.
The Triton T30i, model SPT303I, is a 3 kW instantaneous handwash for a basin on cold mains, listed at £55.99. It averages 4.4 from 842 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest file in this comparison, and several buyers fit it in a cloakroom, workshop or shed as a replacement for an older T30i. The same reviews say the water stays lukewarm if you expected kitchen-hot water, and that flow and pressure drop. Comments on the build mention two wall fixings and a plastic water-inlet thread. The listing states 8 litres per minute; at that flow a 3 kW element adds only a few degrees, so the figure is not a hot-water promise. One installer reported a thermostat failure after about three days. The unit weighs about 1 kg and the listing does not describe a shower.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A cloakroom, workshop or shed basin on cold mains, where a short warm wash is the job.
Less suitable: A kitchen bowl, a shower, or a long 3 kW duty left on a 13 A plug for hours.
Specifications
Common questions
Is this for a shower?
The listing calls it a handwash water heater for use where only a cold mains supply is available. It does not describe a shower.
What power does it state?
3 kW, energy class A, with a stated flow of 8 litres per minute.
What pressure does the listing allow?
Maximum pressure is stated as 10 bar.
The Stiebel Eltron DCE-X 10/12 Premium is an instantaneous oversink heater listed at up to 12 kW, 5 litres per minute and 55°C, on 220/240 V. Across 116 amazon.co.uk reviews the average is 4.4, and UK buyers praise a steady set temperature at a kitchen sink or basin once a dedicated cable is in. Reviewers describe their own supplies as 10 mm² or 16 mm² cable and a 50 A or 60 A breaker; those are install reports, not a design for your consumer unit. Shower comments split between a usable shower and a flow that collapses. Running cost is compared unfavourably with a standard electric shower, even in the ECO mode. The case is about 217 mm wide, 372 mm high and 109 mm deep, at 2.5 kg, and it cannot go on a 13 A socket. The shelf price on 15 October 2026 was £412.86, before that circuit.
Pros
Cons
Best for: An all-electric sink, or a modest shower, only after an electrician has confirmed the consumer unit.
Less suitable: A plug-in cloakroom, a bath, or a buyer who wanted a guaranteed shower.
Specifications
Common questions
Can it be plugged into a normal socket?
The listing says an electric cable prepared for the power connection. Reviewers say it cannot be plugged into a mains socket and describe a dedicated high-current circuit.
Does the listing say it suits a shower?
The title says suitable for showers, and also for kitchens or utility sinks. Review texts both support and reject shower use.
What output does the listing print?
The model name is 10/12 kW. Wattage and heat output are printed as 12 kW, flow as 5 litres per minute, maximum temperature 55°C.
The Ariston Andris R stores 15 litres under the sink and heats that water with a 3 kW element at 230 V. Across 30 amazon.co.uk ratings the average is 4.4, and the written UK reviews mostly describe a kitchen, annexe or staff-room sink with enough hot water for washing up. The box includes a pressure relief valve, dielectric junctions and a wall bracket, while the same listing says installation kits are bought separately. One UK reviewer found the inlet and outlet rusty after about three months, with black particles in the water, so the short file is not a clean record. The case is 34.6 cm wide and 38.5 cm high at 7.5 kg, and the depth is not stated. Energy class B describes this load profile rather than a smaller bill, and the listing does not sell the tank as a shower.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A kitchenette, annexe or staff sink that needs a bowl of stored hot water on a 3 kW supply.
Less suitable: A handwash-only cloakroom, a shower, or a cupboard that cannot take a tank 38.5 cm high.
Specifications
Common questions
Can this heater go under a sink?
The listing titles it as a 15 litre undersink electric water heater and gives a wall mount.
What power does the listing state?
3 kW at 230 V, with energy class B.
What comes in the box?
A pressure relief valve, dielectric junctions, a wall bracket, an installation manual and a warranty certificate. The same listing says installation kits are to be purchased separately.
The FVSTR title offers a small undersink store at 2 kW, 2.5 gallons and a UK plug, priced at £94.95. The specification block on the same amazon.co.uk page says 120 V, 1,500 W and 2.16 gallons, and a bullet also mentions 240 V. The average is 4.1 from 63 ratings, but almost every written review in the sample is from the United States, Canada or Australia, with one from the UK. Those buyers like the size for one tap and report weak pressure on the hot side, plus a relief valve that opens when there is water hammer. A Canadian electrician refused a unit for lack of a local approval mark, and another buyer reported three units that did not work. Until the nameplate on the delivered heater reads 230 V, this is not a settled UK mains product.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Only a buyer who checks the delivered nameplate for 230 V before connecting it.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs a settled UK mains heater, or a kitchen bowl from a confirmed 2 kW element.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the listing agree on voltage?
No. The title says a UK plug. The specification says 120 V and 1,500 W. A bullet also mentions a 240 V connection.
What capacity is stated?
The title says 2.5 gallon. The specification says 2.16 gallons.
Is a relief valve included?
Yes. The included-components line lists a pressure relief valve, the body and a manual.
The Axelrivet is listed as a 3,000 W instantaneous heater with a UK plug, IPX4 and a 30–55°C display, at £44.99. Five UK reviews average 3.1. Two are short and positive once the unit is under a sink. The others say it powered for about 10 seconds and then died, that it heats only when the flow is very low, and that one buyer measured over 4,200 W against the 3,000 W claim. The page prints both flow and capacity as 2.9 and does not state a voltage. Five reviews cannot turn the two kind comments into a pattern, and a 3 kW element at a normal sink flow adds little heat.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Only a cautious trial on a small basin, if you can return it.
Less suitable: A kitchen sink, a shower, or anyone who needs a stable 3 kW draw.
Specifications
Common questions
Does it come with a UK plug?
The title and the bullets say a standard UK plug with a built-in fuse.
What flow does the listing claim?
2.9 litres per minute, with a 30–55°C touch display. Capacity is also printed as 2.9 litres.
Is it for under a sink?
The title says under sink. A bullet says it can go above or under a sink.
The Builrand is a 3,000 W, 220 V undersink instantaneous heater with IPX4 and a stated maximum of 50°C, listed at £44.99. Eight amazon.co.uk ratings average 2.7, and five written UK reviews sit in the file. Four of those five say it does not heat or only takes the chill off, and one describes a leak from the bottom and a return. The remaining review accepts that mild output because young children only needed the chill taken off. The listing says a lower flow runs hotter, which is what a 3 kW element does, not a 50°C result at a normal tap. It does not claim a UK plug, and the energy class is printed as a lowercase a.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Not a working-heater pick on the written reviews in this set.
Less suitable: Washing up, a shower, or a buyer who needs the stated 50°C at a normal flow.
Specifications
Common questions
Is it sold for under a sink?
Yes. The title describes a 3,000 W under-sink instantaneous heater for a kitchen or bathroom.
What temperature does the listing state?
Maximum temperature 50°C. Bullets give a band of about 20–50°C and say a lower flow runs hotter.
Does the listing claim a UK plug?
No. Power source is corded electric at 220 V. A bullet recommends professional installation for UK plumbing.
The Mulcort listing states 3,000 W, a UK plug, a G1/2 connection, IPX4 and control from 28°C to 55°C, at £57.99. The amazon.co.uk dump has no star rating and no review text, so nothing here shows that it heats a basin. A bullet lists a shower head, hose and wall bracket, while the included-components line lists only a user manual, and the remote needs two AAA batteries that are not in the box. At 3 kW that shower head does not make a shower. The case is about 20 cm by 11.5 cm by 7.7 cm and 1.67 kg, in ABS. The listing itself says the socket and circuit must suit a 3,000 W appliance.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Not a pick from this file until UK reviews exist.
Less suitable: A shower, a kitchen bowl, or a buyer who needs customer evidence.
Specifications
Common questions
Does it state a UK plug?
Yes. The bullets say a UK plug and a G1/2 water connection, and that the socket and circuit must suit a 3,000 W appliance.
What temperature range is printed?
28°C to 55°C. The listing says outlet temperature depends on inlet temperature and flow.
Is a shower head included?
A bullet lists a shower head, hose and wall bracket. The included-components line lists only a user manual.
The Normodic undersink listing states 6,000 W at 220 V, a 30–52°C display and a 2.5 mm² copper wire rather than a UK plug, at £53.99. The amazon.co.uk file has no review score and no review text. At about 6 kW the current is roughly 26 A, so this is a dedicated-circuit appliance, and a shower head in the marketing text is not evidence of a shower. The included-components line names one heater, while the bullets also mention a hose, a shower head and brackets. The case is listed at 22 cm wide by 34 cm high and 1.9 kg. Leak detection and the nine protections in the title remain catalogue claims until a buyer reports them.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Not a buy until an electrician has specified the circuit and UK reviews exist.
Less suitable: A plug-in basin, or anyone choosing from star ratings.
Specifications
Common questions
What power supply does the listing describe?
6,000 W at 220 V, with a 2.5 mm² copper wire mentioned. A UK plug is not stated.
Is it described as a point-of-use heater?
Yes. The title says an under-sink tankless point-of-use heater for a kitchen sink and hand wash.
Are there customer reviews in the saved listing?
No review score and no review text are present.
This second Normodic states 6,000 W at 220 V and 50 Hz, IPX4, a 30–55°C control with memory, and a 25 A or larger residual current device, at £49.99. There is no customer-review line in the dump. Depth is 7.9 cm and weight is 1.44 kg; width and height are not given. The bullets claim a kitchen, handwashing and a shower. A 6 kW element can raise water by about 29°C at 3 litres a minute, which is a calculation from the power figure, not a test of this unit, and it still needs its own circuit. The included-components line is absent. The low price is not evidence that the heater works.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Hold it until there is a UK review file and a confirmed circuit.
Less suitable: A cloakroom on a fused spur, or a shower bought from the bullet list.
Specifications
Common questions
What circuit does the listing mention?
It says the unit is compatible with a 25 A or above residual current device. Power is stated as 6,000 W at 220 V.
Where does it say it can be fitted?
The bullets describe an under-sink heater for a kitchen, handwashing and a shower.
Are width and height given?
No. Depth is 7.9 cm and weight is 1.44 kg. Width and height are not in the saved listing.
The laloohome title says 6,000 W, while the technical details say 5,500 W at 220 V, and the two size lines also disagree. Technical details give 26 × 23 × 8 cm; a bullet gives about 21 × 15 × 5.1 cm. The amazon.co.uk dump has no reviews, and the listing was first available on 19 August 2026. It asks for a dedicated circuit, cable of 2.5 or 4 mm² and a fuse of at least 40 A, which is the seller's figure rather than a design for your consumer unit. IPX4 and a 30–55°C display are printed, and the box list includes the heater, mounting hardware and a manual. At £44.99 it is the cheapest high-wattage claim here, with no customer evidence behind it.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Not a buy from this file.
Less suitable: Any outlet until the wattage, the size and a UK review agree.
Specifications
Common questions
Is the wattage consistent?
No. The title says 6,000 W. The technical details say 5,500 watts. A bullet again says 6,000 W.
What supply does the listing require?
220 V, a dedicated independent circuit, cable of 2.5 or 4 mm², and a fuse of at least 40 A.
Which dimensions are printed?
Technical details say 26 x 23 x 8 cm and 1.25 kg. A bullet says about 21 x 15 x 5.1 cm.
Scores compare the eleven amazon.co.uk listings kept for this category. The dump date is 15 October 2026. They are not a laboratory test, and they do not name the best point-of-use heater in the UK. Each score weighs the four points below. A listing with no customer-review line scores 0.
Customer evidence
40%Stars and the review count on that ASIN, the heaviest part of the score. Written themes come from the review sample. A listing with no customer-review line scores 0.
A coherent UK job
25%Litres or kilowatts, voltage, and a tap or cable story that matches one outlet. A title that fights the specification loses points.
Price against that job
20%A low shelf price does not repair a dead element or an empty review file. The best value is the lowest price among listings that still score at least 80.
Recurring faults
15%Voltage clashes, a 3 kW unit sold as a shower, a failed fitted unit, and a tiny or hostile review sample are already reflected in the score.
Choose the outlet first, then stored or instant heat, then the tap and the circuit. A hand basin, a kitchen bowl and a modest shower are different loads. Prices below are the amazon.co.uk shelves on 15 October 2026, and fitting is not included. Energy class A or B describes a load profile. It is not a promise that the bill halves.
A point-of-use water heater makes hot water at one outlet, or at two outlets a short pipe apart, instead of feeding a whole home from a cylinder. In the UK that means a small store, usually 5–15 litres under or over a sink, or an instantaneous heater from about 3 kW for a hand basin up to about 9–12 kW for a kitchen sink or a modest shower. A bath is outside this category. A 100 litre wall heater is a dwelling store, and one such listing was left out of this set.

A 3 kW element adds about 21°C at 2 litres a minute and about 5°C at 8 litres a minute. That is a calculation, not a test. Reviewers call the Triton T30i lukewarm when they wanted a kitchen bowl. A washing-up bowl suits about 10 litres stored.
Open-outlet storage must use the maker’s tap and will drip while it heats. A normal mixer on that tank is a mistake. Do not cap a drip that only happens during heat-up.
The FVSTR title says a UK plug and 2 kW. The specification says 120 V and 1,500 W. A 6 kW listing is about 26 A and is not a 13 A plug. Check the nameplate, and the cable, before you connect it.
The outlet decides the heater. One hand basin is a 3 kW instant handwash or about 5 litres stored. A kitchen sink wants about 10–15 litres stored, or an instantaneous heater nearer 6–12 kW. A shower is not a 3 kW job, and a bath is outside this category. Storage gives a proper flow until the tank is empty, then a wait. Instant heat never runs out in that sense, but temperature rise is capped by power and flow.
Open-outlet storage uses one vented tap and drips while it heats. Unvented storage of 15 litres or less can feed a normal tap if the safety kit is fitted. A normal mixer on a vented tank is a mistake. At 230 V, 3 kW is about 13 A, 6 kW about 26 A, and 12 kW about 52 A. A new circuit is notifiable in England, and so is a bathroom-zone alteration. A 6 kW or 10–12 kW heater is not a 13 A plug. A long 3 kW immersion is a poor match for a BS 1363 plug.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You need one warm spout on cold mains, for a short wash in a cloakroom, workshop or shed. A 3 kW instantaneous handwash fits that job. It does not fill a washing-up bowl.
You need a bowl’s worth of hot water and usually a cupboard. About 10 litres stored at 2 kW matches a single sink. It will not keep a shower going.
You want a 10–12 kW instantaneous heater at a sink, or a modest shower, and an electrician has confirmed the consumer unit. This is not a plug-in job.
The top pick is Triton T30i handwash, with the highest score in this comparison (9 out of 10, from 842 amazon.co.uk reviews). The best value is the Triton T30i at about £55.99, with 4.4 from 842 reviews, and only for a hand basin. The Stiebel Eltron DCE-X 10/12 stays at the same score band as the Triton because it needs its own high-current circuit and the shower reviews disagree.

Triton T30i handwash
Lowest price among listings that still score at least 80: about £55.99, with 4.4 from 842 reviews. Reviewers call it lukewarm for a kitchen, so it is a hand basin only.
Editorial

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources used for this comparison. Listing prices, stars, and review counts are from amazon.co.uk extracts dated 15 October 2026.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars, and review counts are the UK listing lines. We did not run a lab test.