Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Deep well pump comparison 2026

The best deep well pumps, compared.

Top pick: IBO STM 24 borehole pump Best value: 3 inch SKM 60 m pump – Best value in this set: score 61 at about £180.45, the lowest slim-pump shelf here, at 750 W, 60 m and 2,700 L/h. There is no star line, and the cord is stated as both 20 m and 15 m. Updated 22.10.2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A deep well pump for a UK garden sits in the water and pushes, once the pumping level is deeper than a surface pump can lift. Trade notes put usable suction at about 6 to 8 metres. Past that, extra power on a surface pump does not recover the lift. You recognise a suitable deep well pump by the duty point: flow at the real head, a body that passes the smallest internal diameter, and water the listing allows. Maximum head and maximum flow sit at opposite ends of one curve. Add the lift, the outlet height, pipe friction, and about 10 metres for each bar you still want. A 3 inch title is not a measured bore: include the cable and the joint, and use the dry-spell pumping level rather than the resting level. A 1.5 metre lead is not a drop cable. If the water stays within about 7 metres of a surface pump all year, look at a [garden pump](/hub/garden-watering/garden-pump). The duty-point steps are in the [deep well pump buying guide](/hub/garden-watering/deep-well-pump/sub/deep-well-pump-buying-guide).

A deep well pump for a UK garden sits in the water and pushes, once the pumping level is deeper than a surface pump can lift. Trade notes put usable suction at about 6 to 8 metres.

IBO STM 24 borehole pump

Best overall

IBO STM 24 borehole pump
5.2/10∼ £247

26 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

7 of 7: Best deep well pumps compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 7
Best overall
IBO STM 24 borehole pump
Draper 98921 well pump
Trotec TDP 5500 E
IBO SDM 24 borehole pump
IBO STM 28 borehole pump
Best value
3 inch SKM 60 m pump
4 inch SKM 107 m pump
5.2/10
9.4/10
8.0/10
7.2/10
7.1/10
6.9/10
6.5/10
∼ £247
∼ £124
∼ £345
∼ £228
∼ £266
∼ £180
∼ £190
5.0(1)
4.8(27)
4.4(584)
–
–
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

Personal buying guide

Question 1 of 2

What are you pumping from?

The best deep well pumps in detail

IBO STM 24 borehole pump

Rank 1

IBO STM 24 borehole pump

∼£247

Our view

The IBO STM 24 listing shows 1100 W, 93 m maximum head and 100 L/min at £246.95, with a sand-resistance claim, thermal protection and a capacitor in the motor. The table shows that open-end flow as 6,000 L/h. The star line is 5.0 from a single amazon.co.uk review, and no review text was saved, so that mark is one person rather than a pattern of UK use. The specification gives a 75 mm diameter and a 1580 mm length, but it does not state a minimum internal bore, unlike the sibling listings that ask for 85 mm. Weight is 19 kg in the specification and 15 kg on the item line, and the item dimensions also conflict with the 1580 mm length. The title says a 20 m cable and a plug, without naming BS 1363, and stainless steel is asked on the page and not answered in the saved text. Maximum immersion and starts per hour are absent. The horsepower field says 1.47 horsepower beside the 1100 W figure. The listing score is 44.

Pros

  • 93 m headline head and 100 L/min at 1100 W
  • Title states a 20 m cable and a plug
  • Sand-resistance claim, thermal protection and a built-in capacitor
  • 1¼ inch outlet on the listing

Cons

  • 5.0 from one review, with no text saved
  • Minimum bore is not stated, only a 75 mm body
  • Weight is 19 kg or 15 kg, and the length lines conflict
  • Immersion depth, starts per hour and impeller material are absent

Best for: You already know this 75 mm body clears your bore and you accept a one-review listing with unsettled weight and length.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a stated 85 mm minimum, a UK review file, or a written starts-per-hour limit.

Specifications

Model
IBO STM 24 borehole pump
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£247
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
Pump family
Multistage borehole pump
Max head
93 m
Max flow
6,000 L/h
Power
1100 W
Bore fit
75 mm body
Water
Sand claim
Cable
20 m listed
Protection
Thermal, capacitor

Common questions

Does this file state a minimum borehole diameter?

It states a diameter of 75 mm and a length of 1580 mm. It does not state a minimum internal bore.

Is stainless steel confirmed?

The listing asks the question and does not answer it in the saved text. Impeller material is not in this file. The colour line says silver.

What is the review evidence?

The star line is 5.0 from 1. No review text is saved, so there is nothing to quote on faults or praise.

Draper 98921 well pump

Rank 2

Draper 98921 well pump

∼£124

Our view

The Draper 98921 moves water as a wide 1000 W submersible rated at 40 m maximum head and 5,460 L/h, listed at £124.13 with an integrated float and thermal overload protection. Across 27 amazon.co.uk reviews the star line is 4.8, and all 12 saved texts are from the United Kingdom. Those reviews describe a livestock header tank up a hill, a river run through 50 m of 1 inch layflat for up to eight hours, two impulse sprinklers from tanks on a timer, a 7 m well with enough pressure to wash a car, and a 30 foot well still switching after nearly two years. One buyer filled a 2-gallon can in about eight seconds and then had to throttle the flow for new plants and a 12.5 mm hose. The body measures 33 × 24 × 18 cm, so it cannot enter a 3 inch or 4 inch casing. Cable length and plug type are absent from the file, and one reviewer found no obvious rope point that keeps the pump vertical. One earlier unit failed after six months and was repaired by Draper under warranty. The listing score is 86. It is the top pick for a wide opening, not for a borehole.

Pros

  • 40 m head and 5,460 L/h on a 1000 W listing
  • Integrated float and thermal overload protection
  • 4.8 from 27, with 12 United Kingdom texts on wells, a river and tanks
  • Bullet and spec line both say 1000 W

Cons

  • 24 cm wide body, so it will not enter a drilled casing
  • Cable length and plug type are not stated
  • One unit failed after six months and was repaired under warranty
  • No obvious vertical rope point on the handle

Best for: You have a wide dug well, tank or river, 40 m of headline head is enough, and the opening is wider than 24 cm.

Less suitable: Any 3 inch or 4 inch casing, or a 12.5 mm hose and new planting that cannot be throttled.

Specifications

Model
Draper 98921 well pump
Brand
Draper
Price
∼£124
Customer rating
4.8/5(27)
Pump family
Wide-body well pump
Max head
40 m
Max flow
5,460 L/h
Power
1000 W
Bore fit
24 cm wide
Protection
Float, thermal overload

Common questions

Will this body fit a 4 inch borehole?

The listing size is 33 × 24 × 18 cm, so the body is 24 cm wide. That is a wide well pump, not a slim borehole pump.

Does the listing include a float switch?

Yes. The title and the bullets say an integrated float switch, and they also state thermal overload protection.

What do the saved UK reviews say?

The star line is 4.8 from 27. Saved reviews use it in wells, a river, and tanks. One earlier unit failed after six months and was repaired under warranty.

Trotec TDP 5500 E

Rank 3

Trotec TDP 5500 E

∼£345

Our view

The Trotec TDP 5500 E is a slim stainless-steel pump, 10 × 10 × 78 cm and 13.5 kg, listed at £345.28 with 6,000 L/h and a maximum lifting height of 20 m. Across 584 amazon.co.uk reviews the star line is 4.4, but only one of the 50 saved texts is from the United Kingdom: a fountain 18 m deep with just over 2 bar on a gauge while a tap was open. The other 49 saved reviews are not UK opinion and are not used here. The title says IP68, yet the spec table does not repeat it, and the power-source line says hand power while the voltage line says 240 V and the horsepower field says 550 W. Outlet size, cable length and plug type are not stated, and the five marketing bullets do not repeat head or flow. At this price it is the dearest row, and a 20 m headline is a short-head job next to the 80 m to 109 m borehole listings. The spare-part line says EU availability for 10 years, which is a parts claim rather than a UK installation record. The listing score is 72. Do not treat the 584 stars as UK owners of a deep borehole.

Pros

  • 6,000 L/h and a 10 × 10 cm body that is slimmer than the Draper
  • 4.4 from 584 reviews, with one saved UK text at 18 m and just over 2 bar
  • Stainless steel, 13.5 kg, title claims IP68
  • EU spare-part availability stated as 10 years

Cons

  • Headline head is only 20 m, at the highest price in the set (about £345.28)
  • Power-source line says hand power against 240 V and 550 W
  • Only one of 50 saved reviews is from the United Kingdom
  • Outlet, cable length and plug type are not stated

Best for: You need a slim pump and 20 m of headline head really is enough, as in a fountain around the depth of that UK review.

Less suitable: A borehole whose pumping level plus delivery head is well past 20 m, or anyone treating 584 stars as UK deep-borehole evidence.

Specifications

Model
Trotec TDP 5500 E
Brand
Trotec
Price
∼£345
Customer rating
4.4/5(584)
Pump family
Slim well pump
Max head
20 m
Max flow
6,000 L/h
Power
550 W
Bore fit
10 × 10 cm
Protection
IP68 in title

Common questions

What head does the spec table give?

Maximum lifting height is 20 metres. Flow is 6,000 litres per hour. The title also says stainless steel and IP68. Those two maxima are not a combined duty point.

How is the power described?

The voltage line says 240 V and the horsepower field says 550 W. The power-source line says hand power. Those statements conflict.

What does the saved UK review say?

One UK review reports just over 2 bar with a tap open, in a fountain 18 metres deep. The other 49 saved reviews are not from the United Kingdom.

IBO SDM 24 borehole pump

Rank 4

IBO SDM 24 borehole pump

∼£228

Our view

The IBO SDM 24 is a 75 mm multistage pump listed at 750 W, 80 m maximum head and 70 L/min, at £227.95, for wells with a minimum internal diameter of 85 mm. The table shows that open-end flow as 4,200 L/h so the row uses one unit. The bullets claim increased resistance to sand without a grams-per-cubic-metre limit, and they set 20 starts an hour, IP68, a 35 °C liquid limit and 100 m maximum immersion, with the capacitor built into the motor. There is no star line and no review text, so the sand claim and the 80 m head are untested in this file. The title says a 20 m cable and a plug, while the technical data also allows 1.5 m, and the plug standard is not named. Weight is 13.5 kg in the specification and 14 kg on the item line, and the material line says cast iron while the bullets describe Noryl impellers, brass ends and an AISI 304 housing. The horsepower field says 1 horsepower beside the 750 W bullet. You would confirm the long cable is the one supplied before counting on an 80 m set. The listing score is 64.

Pros

  • 80 m head and 70 L/min, with a stated 85 mm minimum bore
  • 20 starts an hour, IP68 and 100 m maximum immersion written down
  • Built-in capacitor and thermal protection, no external starter box
  • Sand-resistance claim, though without a gram limit

Cons

  • No star line and no review text
  • Cable given as 20 m in the title and also as 1.5 m
  • Material line says cast iron while the bullets say Noryl, brass and AISI 304
  • Weight is 13.5 kg or 14 kg, and the plug type is not stated

Best for: Your bore is at least 85 mm inside, you want an 80 m headline with a written starts limit, and you have checked that the 20 m cable is in the box.

Less suitable: A hole under 85 mm, a 1.5 m tail treated as a drop cable, or water you cannot risk on an unquantified sand claim.

Specifications

Model
IBO SDM 24 borehole pump
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£228
Pump family
Multistage borehole pump
Max head
80 m
Max flow
4,200 L/h
Power
750 W
Bore fit
75 mm, min. 85 mm
Water
Sand claim
Cable
1.5 m or 20 m
Protection
IP68, 20 starts/h

Common questions

What bore does this listing require?

The bullets say a 75 mm pump for wells with a minimum internal diameter of 85 mm. That gap has to include the cable and the joint.

Does it claim to cope with sand?

Yes. The bullets say increased resistance to sand. They do not give a grams-per-cubic-metre limit.

How long is the power cable?

The title says 20 metres and a plug. The technical data says 20 metres or 1.5 metres. The plug type is not stated.

IBO STM 28 borehole pump

Rank 5

IBO STM 28 borehole pump

∼£266

Our view

The IBO STM 28 is the longest multistage body in this set: 75 mm by 1760 mm, 1500 W, 109 m maximum head and 100 L/min, listed at £265.95. The table shows that open-end flow as 6,000 L/h. The bullets ask for a minimum internal diameter of 85 mm, claim increased resistance to sand, and state IP68, 30 starts an hour, 80 m maximum immersion and a 35 °C liquid limit, with AISI 304 named for the impeller and diffuser as well as the housing. There is no star line and no review text. The title says a 20 m cable and a plug, while the technical data also says 1.5 m, so the drop cable is not settled. Current is 9.7 A on a 230 V listing, and the horsepower field says 2.01 horsepower beside 1500 W. A 20 m lead cannot place the pump at the full 80 m immersion figure, and 100 L/min is the open-end flow, not the flow you still have at 109 m. The sand claim again has no gram limit. The listing score is 63.

Pros

  • 109 m headline head and 100 L/min, with an 85 mm minimum bore
  • AISI 304 named for housing, impeller and diffuser
  • 30 starts an hour, IP68 and 80 m maximum immersion written down
  • Built-in capacitor and thermal protection

Cons

  • No star line and no review text
  • Cable given as 20 m and also as 1.5 m
  • 9.7 A, and the horsepower field says 2.01 horsepower beside 1500 W
  • Sand claim has no gram limit, and 20 m of cable cannot use the full 80 m immersion

Best for: Your bore is at least 85 mm inside, you need the longest headline in this set, and the 20 m cable in the title is the one that arrives.

Less suitable: A supply that cannot take about 9.7 A, a hole under 85 mm, or a set that depends on the 1.5 m figure being wrong.

Specifications

Model
IBO STM 28 borehole pump
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£266
Pump family
Multistage borehole pump
Max head
109 m
Max flow
6,000 L/h
Power
1500 W
Bore fit
75 mm, min. 85 mm
Water
Sand claim
Cable
1.5 m or 20 m
Protection
IP68, 30 starts/h

Common questions

What bore does this listing require?

The bullets say a 75 mm multi-stage pump for wells with a minimum internal diameter of 85 mm.

How deep can it be immersed?

The technical data says a maximum immersion depth of 80 m, IP68, and a maximum liquid temperature of 35 °C. A 20 m cable cannot use that full immersion.

Is a UK plug named?

The title says with a 20 m power cable and plug. The technical data also allows 1.5 m. The plug standard is not stated, and there is no star line.

3 inch SKM 60 m pump

Rank 6

3 inch SKM 60 m pump

∼£180

Our view

This 75 mm peripheral pump is listed at 750 W, 60 m maximum head and 2,700 L/h for clean water only, at £180.45. The housing, shaft and rotor are AISI 304, the impeller is brass, and the motor has a built-in capacitor, thermal protection and an IP68 claim, so the listing does not ask for an external starter box. There is no amazon.co.uk star line and no review text in the file, which means nothing here shows how the pump behaves in a UK hole. The title and one bullet give a 20 m cord, while a later bullet says 15 m, and neither line names a BS 1363 plug. The body is 75 mm and the bullet says it is designed for minimum 3 inch wells, which is a nominal size rather than a measured gap for the cable and joint. Solids and abrasive particles are excluded, and the file does not state a maximum immersion depth or a starts-per-hour limit. The listing score is 61. It is the best value among the slim pumps here only if you confirm the cord and the water is clean.

Pros

  • 60 m head and 2,700 L/h at about £180.45, the lowest slim-pump shelf in this set
  • Bullet and horsepower field both say 750 W, with 5 A on the bullet
  • Built-in capacitor, thermal protection and IP68
  • AISI 304 housing and a brass impeller

Cons

  • No star line and no review text
  • Cord length stated as both 20 m and 15 m
  • Clean water only, with solids and abrasive particles excluded
  • Plug type, immersion depth and starts per hour are not stated

Best for: You have already measured a clean-water hole, 60 m of headline head is enough, and you can confirm which cord is in the box.

Less suitable: Sandy or silty water, or a casing that will not pass a 75 mm body plus the cable and joint.

Specifications

Model
3 inch SKM 60 m pump
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£180
Pump family
Peripheral borehole pump
Max head
60 m
Max flow
2,700 L/h
Power
750 W
Bore fit
75 mm body
Water
Clean water only
Cable
15 m or 20 m
Protection
Thermal, IP68

Common questions

Is sandy water allowed?

No. The bullets limit it to clean water without solid impurities or abrasive particles.

How long is the cable?

The title and one bullet say 20 metres. A later bullet says 15 metres. The file does not say which one is in the box.

Does the listing show a star rating?

No. There is no customer-review line and no review text in the saved listing.

4 inch SKM 107 m pump

Rank 7

4 inch SKM 107 m pump

∼£190

Our view

The 98 mm SKM listing is an 1100 W peripheral pump at £189.95, with a headline of 107 m maximum head and 3,000 L/h, and a 15 m cord stated once rather than as two lengths. It is limited to clean, chemically non-aggressive water without solids or abrasive particles, with an AISI 304 housing, a brass impeller, IP68, thermal protection and a capacitor in the motor. There is no star line and no review text, so the 107 m figure is catalogue text only. The bullet says the pump is designed for minimum 4 inch wells, while the body itself is already 98 mm, which leaves little room once a cable and a joint are added. The horsepower field says 1.47 horsepower beside the 1100 W bullet, and the country field says United Kingdom while the manufacturer field says unbranded. Maximum immersion and starts per hour are not in the file. A 15 m cord also cannot hang the pump anywhere near a 107 m headline unless the pumping level is much shallower than that number. The listing score is 57.

Pros

  • 107 m headline head and 3,000 L/h at about £189.95
  • Cord length stated once, as 15 m
  • Built-in capacitor, thermal protection and IP68
  • AISI 304 housing and a brass impeller on clean water

Cons

  • No star line and no review text
  • 98 mm body against a minimum 4 inch well claim
  • Horsepower field says 1.47 horsepower beside 1100 W
  • Country field says United Kingdom while the manufacturer field says unbranded

Best for: You need a clean-water peripheral pump, the casing has room around a 98 mm body, and the pumping level is within a 15 m cord.

Less suitable: A sandy bore, a tight 4 inch casing, or a set deep enough that 15 m of cable cannot reach.

Specifications

Model
4 inch SKM 107 m pump
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£190
Pump family
Peripheral borehole pump
Max head
107 m
Max flow
3,000 L/h
Power
1100 W
Bore fit
98 mm body
Water
Clean water only
Cable
15 m
Protection
Thermal, IP68

Common questions

What water can it pump?

The bullets say clean, chemically non-aggressive water without solids or abrasive particles, from narrow boreholes, wells, or tanks.

What bore does the listing ask for?

The body is 98 mm and the bullet says it is designed for minimum 4 inch wells. Cable clearance is not measured in the file.

Is there a star rating?

No. The saved listing has no customer-review line and no review text.

How we compared

Seven amazon.co.uk listings were scored from the saved UK files. The scores are not a laboratory test and not a measured pump curve. The top pick and the best value follow the display awards. The weights below follow the buying order in the digest and sum to 100.

1

Pumping level

20%

Use the pumping level in a dry spell, not the resting level and not the hole depth on its own. A surface pump is the wrong tool once that level is past about 6 to 8 metres.

2

Bore fit

20%

The body, the cable and the joint have to pass the smallest internal diameter. A nominal inch size in the title is not that measurement.

3

Total head

18%

Add lift, outlet height, friction, and about 10 metres for each bar still wanted. Maximum head is one end of the curve, not the working point.

4

Flow at that head

15%

Read flow at the real head, then cap it by what the borehole will yield. Maximum flow and maximum head do not happen together.

5

Water type

15%

Peripheral listings here exclude solids. A sand claim with no grams-per-cubic-metre limit is not a silt rating.

6

Cable and protection

12%

A 1.5 metre tail is not a drop cable. Check the plug, starts per hour and dry-run protection. No listing here states a BS 1363 plug.

Independent review
Last updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Deep well pump buying guide

Start with the dry-spell pumping level, then the smallest internal diameter, then total head, then flow at that head. A high litres-per-hour line is the open end of the curve, not the flow at maximum head. Prices below are amazon.co.uk lines from the saved files, not a live re-check on 21 October 2026.

What to check on a deep well pump

A deep well pump sits in the water and pushes. A surface pump sucks, and that suction has a hard limit. Trade notes put usable suction at about 6 to 8 metres. Once the pumping level in a dry spell is past that, more watts on a garden pump do not help. The resting water level, and the depth of the hole, are not the same number as the pumping level. The duty point is the flow you still have at the head you really need. Maximum head and maximum flow are opposite ends of a curve.

Best for

  • A wide dug well, tank or river, when 40 m of headline head is enough and the opening is wider than 24 cm
  • A drilled hole at least 85 mm inside, when the long cable in the title is the one in the box

Not ideal for

  • A pumping level that stays within about 7 metres of a surface pump all year
  • Sandy or silty water on a clean-water listing, or a 1.5 metre lead treated as a drop cable

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading maximum head as working head

    Maximum head and maximum flow are opposite ends of a curve. A 40 metre pumping level plus a tank 10 metres up is already about 55 to 60 metres before friction and the bar you still want. A 15 m or 20 m cable cannot hang a pump at an 80 m or 107 m headline.

  2. 2

    Trusting a nominal inch size

    A 3 inch title is not a measurement. The 75 mm multistage listings ask for 85 mm inside, including the cable and the joint. A 98 mm body against a minimum 4 inch wells line leaves little clearance. A 24 cm body will not enter a drilled casing.

  3. 3

    A short lead, silt, or too many starts

    A 1.5 metre tail is not a drop cable. Clean-water listings exclude solids, and a sand claim with no gram limit is not a silt rating. Written limits here are 20 or 30 starts an hour. Exceeding them is a listing breach, not a feature.

What to weigh up

Duty point: level, head and flow

High

Take the pumping level in a dry spell, then add outlet height, pipe friction and about 10 metres for each bar you still want. Read litres per hour as the open end of the curve. Flow at the real head is what you can use, and the borehole yield can cap it further. A 20 m headline and a 109 m headline are different jobs. Do not buy the pair of maxima as if they arrive together.

Bore, water and the cable in the box

High

Measure the smallest internal diameter, including the cable and the joint. A 75 mm body that asks for 85 mm inside will not suit a tight 3 inch casing, and a 24 cm body will not enter one at all. Match clean-water exclusions and unquantified sand claims to the water you actually have. Confirm whether the box holds 15 m, 20 m or a 1.5 m tail, and do not assume a BS 1363 plug. A written starts limit matters if the pump will switch often.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Wide well or tank

You have a dug well, tank or river wider than 24 cm, and 40 m of headline head is enough. The Draper 98921 is a 1000 W wide-body pump at about £124.13, listed at 40 m and 5,460 L/h, with a float. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.8 from 27 reviews. Skip it for any 3 inch or 4 inch casing.

Drilled hole

Your bore is at least 85 mm inside and the water sits tens of metres down. The IBO SDM 24 is a 75 mm multistage pump at about £227.95, listed at 750 W, 80 m and 70 L/min, with 20 starts an hour written down. There is no star line. Confirm that the 20 m cable, not the 1.5 m figure, is in the box.

Clean water, 60 m

You have measured a clean-water hole, 60 m of headline head is enough, and you can check the cord. The 75 mm peripheral pump at about £180.45 is the lowest slim-pump shelf here, at 750 W and 2,700 L/h. There is no star line, and the cord is stated as both 20 m and 15 m. Skip it for sand or silt.

Common questions about deep well pumps

When do you need a deep well pump?
A deep well pump sits in the water and pushes it up. You need one when the dry-spell pumping level is deeper than a surface pump can lift. Trade notes put usable suction at about 6 to 8 metres. Past that, more watts on a garden pump do not help. Judge flow at the real head, in a body that passes the hole, on water the listing allows. Maximum head and maximum flow are opposite ends of one curve.
Which listing is the top pick in this set?
The top pick in this set is the Draper 98921 at about £124.13. It is a wide 1000 W submersible listed at 40 m maximum head and 5,460 L/h, with a float and thermal overload protection. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.8 from 27 reviews, and the listing score is 86. Saved UK reviews use it on dug wells, a river and tanks. The body is 24 cm wide, so it will not enter a drilled casing. Cable length and plug type are not stated.
Which listing is the best value?
The best value in this set is the 75 mm peripheral pump at about £180.45, listing score 61. It states 750 W, 60 m maximum head and 2,700 L/h for clean water only, with a built-in capacitor, thermal protection and an IP68 claim. It is the lowest slim-pump shelf here. There is no amazon.co.uk star line. The cord is given as both 20 m and 15 m, so confirm which length arrives. Solids are excluded, and the plug type is not stated.
Does a 3 inch title fit a 3 inch bore?
A 3 inch title is a nominal label. Measure the bore. The 75 mm multistage listings here ask for 85 mm inside, including the cable and the joint. A trade note on a typical pump for a 3 inch hole puts the outside at about 68 mm or under. A 98 mm body against a 4 inch wells line leaves little room once the cable is added. The 24 cm body is for a dug well. Measure the smallest internal diameter before you order.
Do you need a licence to water the garden from a borehole?
The test is daily volume. In England and Wales, more than 20 cubic metres a day from a source is likely to need an abstraction licence. At or under 20 cubic metres, combined from that source, it does not. Scotland’s rule is under 10 cubic metres a day, and not within 50 metres of an existing supply borehole. In Northern Ireland, under 10 needs no application and above 10 you apply. Garden watering is not a blanket exemption.
When should you call a driller or an electrician?
Call a driller, the agency, or an electrician if the hole is undrilled, if daily volume may cross the national line, if anyone will drink the water, if the mains are involved, or if the circuit is unclear. England and Wales require notice before a water borehole intended to pass fifty feet, described as 15 metres or more. Do not cross-connect a private supply to the mains. Certify fixed wiring to BS 7671, and do not lift the pump on its cable.
Is a 20 metre headline a deep borehole pump?
A 20 m maximum lifting height is a short-head job. In this set it sits on the dearest listing. One saved UK review describes a fountain 18 m deep at just over 2 bar. The other saved reviews are not from the United Kingdom. If the pumping level plus delivery is well past 20 m, that headline does not cover the duty. The power lines conflict: 240 V and 550 W against hand power. Casing versus a wide opening is covered in borehole or a wide well.

Our verdict

The top pick in this set is the Draper 98921: a wide 1000 W submersible at about £124.13, listed at 40 m maximum head and 5,460 L/h, with a float and thermal overload protection. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.8 from 27 reviews, and the listing score is 86. The best value is the 75 mm peripheral pump at about £180.45, score 61, listed at 750 W, 60 m and 2,700 L/h for clean water only. There is no star line on that listing, and the cord is given as both 20 m and 15 m.

Best overall
IBO STM 24 borehole pump

IBO STM 24 borehole pump

View offer
Best value
3 inch SKM 60 m pump

3 inch SKM 60 m pump

Best value in this set: score 61 at about £180.45, the lowest slim-pump shelf here, at 750 W, 60 m and 2,700 L/h. There is no star line, and the cord is stated as both 20 m and 15 m.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Garden wateringWell pumpsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 22.10.2026
8 sources checked

Guides to deep well pumps

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest. Shelf prices, heads, flows and conflicts are from the amazon.co.uk saved listings in this category, not a live re-check on 21 October 2026.

  1. GOV.UK — check if you need a licence to abstract water (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  2. Water Resources Act 1991, section 198 (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  3. British Geological Survey — drilling legislation and obligations (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  4. Natural Resources Wales — water abstraction or impoundment licence (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  5. SEPA — abstraction under 10 cubic metres a day (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  6. DAERA — applying to abstract or impound water (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  7. AES Rewinds — choosing the right well pump (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  8. Drinking Water Inspectorate — single dwelling supplies (retrieved 21.10.2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines in the saved files, not a live re-check on 21 October 2026. We did not run a lab test.