Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Wooden garden swing comparison 2026

The best wooden garden swings, compared.

Top pick: KINSPORY wooden tree swing Best value: Pellor beech swing seat – Best value in this set at about £31.99. The beech bullet and the 220 lb line match the 100 kg field. Marked down for the pine field and a UK rot update. Not a lab test. Updated October 2026.

A wooden garden swing is a timber seat you hang, or the wooden frame that holds one. In the UK you buy one to replace a plastic belt seat, to sit under a tree or on a covered porch, or to add a first swing where there is no sound branch. The job is one of three: a single hanging seat, a two-seat hanging bench, or a freestanding frame. A seat does not include a frame, and a frame may arrive without a seat. You recognise a suitable swing by the timber name, a single load claim, and what the box contains. Ropes, chains, a cushion and the seat are separate. The support is a sound hardwood branch, a structural joist, or a frame with anchors. Plasterboard and a pergola are not supports until someone qualified says so. Toys for under-14s sit under the Toys (Safety) Regulations 2011. A designation notice points to EN 71-8:2018, and EN 1176 is playground equipment. How to read a clashing load and a missing species is in the [wooden garden swing buying guide](/hub/garden-furniture/garden-swing-wood/sub/garden-swing-wood-buying-guide).

A wooden garden swing is a timber seat you hang, or the wooden frame that holds one.

KINSPORY wooden tree swing

Best overall

KINSPORY wooden tree swing
5.8/10∼ £20

33 products checked · 64 hrs invested · +21,750 readers

9 of 9: Best wooden garden swings compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 9
Best overall
KINSPORY wooden tree swing
AnExer wooden swing seat
TP Forest Acorn wooden swing frame
Favuit wooden swing seat, 56 cm
Favuit wooden swing seat, 66 cm
Best value
Pellor beech swing seat
Furinno Tioman meranti porch swing
SAM teak hanging bench, 120 cm
MDDKOP wooden swing with A-frame
5.8/10
7.2/10
7.6/10
7.0/10
6.2/10
8.0/10
8.4/10
6.6/10
–/10
∼ £20
∼ £47
∼ £160
∼ £33
∼ £69
∼ £32
∼ £146
∼ £221
∼ £267
4.5(1,142)
4.5(42)
4.4(132)
4.4(71)
4.4(71)
4.3(596)
4.3(555)
3.8(44)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best wooden garden swings in detail

KINSPORY wooden tree swing

Rank 1

KINSPORY wooden tree swing

∼£20

Our view

The KINSPORY KH-228 is a wooden hanging seat listed at £19.99, with product dimensions of 17 × 6.7 × 63 cm and a printed weight of 680.39 g. Across 1,142 amazon.co.uk reviews the star line is 4.5, the largest sample in this set, and some buyers call the seat smooth and easy to put up with ropes and straps. The listing does not name a timber species, a weight limit, or what is in the box, and a product question about the limit is unanswered. United Kingdom reviews in the extract say glued pieces split, the wood broke apart outdoors within a year, or the seat arrived mouldy. That sits next to a title that only says wooden and kids. It is a cheap seat if you already have a support and you accept unnamed timber, and a weak one if you need a printed load or a seat that stays out.

Pros

  • £19.99, the lowest price in this set
  • 4.5 from 1,142 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Some reviewers call the seat smooth and easy to set up
  • Listed size 17 × 6.7 × 63 cm

Cons

  • No species and no weight limit on the listing
  • UK reviews describe glued splits, outdoor break-up, and mould on arrival
  • Box contents are not listed

Best for: You already have a frame or beam and you want the cheapest wooden seat in this set, knowing the timber and the load are not printed.

Less suitable: A seat that has to stay outside through a British winter, or any buyer who needs a stated kilogram limit before they hang it.

Specifications

Model
KINSPORY wooden tree swing
Brand
KINSPORY
Price
∼£20
Customer rating
4.5/5(1,142)
Type
Hanging seat
Timber
Not named
Width
63 cm
Age
Kids

Common questions

Does the listing name a timber or a weight limit?

No. The title says wooden. There is no species and no maximum-weight field. A product question asks the weight limit and the extract has no answer.

What size and weight are printed?

Product dimensions are 17 × 6.7 × 63 cm and the weight on that line is 680.39 g.

What do United Kingdom reviews say about outdoor use?

Some call the seat smooth and easy to set up with ropes and straps. Others say glued pieces split, the wood broke apart outdoors within a year, or the seat arrived mouldy.

AnExer wooden swing seat

Rank 2

AnExer wooden swing seat

∼£47

Our view

The AnExer seat is listed at £47.49 with hemp rope of 120–180 cm and metal hardware, and the material field says oak and wood. The title states 441 lb and the weight field states 200 kg, which is one claim written in two units. The title size of 22.8 × 9.8 inches does not match the dimensions field of 44 × 28 × 3 cm, and seat depth is printed as 25 cm, so one line cannot stand in for the other. Across 42 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.5, and all 13 review bodies in the file are from the United Kingdom. Several of those call the seat sturdy and wide enough for an adult. One says the rope chafed where it passed the wooden holes and broke within about two weeks. The item weight is 3.22 kg. It is a UK-reviewed adult-width seat if you will watch the rope at the holes, and a muddled one if you need the inch title and the centimetre field to agree before you buy.

Pros

  • 4.5 from 42, with all 13 review texts in the file from the United Kingdom
  • Material field names oak and wood
  • Title 441 lb and field 200 kg are the same claim
  • UK reviewers call it wide enough for an adult

Cons

  • Title size 22.8 × 9.8 inches against a field of 44 × 28 × 3 cm
  • A UK review says the hemp rope chafed at the holes and broke in about two weeks
  • Only 42 reviews behind the star line

Best for: An adult seat from a branch or beam you already trust, if you will check the rope where it meets the wood.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs one agreed size on the listing, or a rope you can fit and forget.

Specifications

Model
AnExer wooden swing seat
Brand
AnExer
Price
∼£47
Customer rating
4.5/5(42)
Type
Hanging seat
Seats
1
Timber
Oak and wood
Stated load
200 kg (441 lb)
Width
44 cm
Hardware
Hemp 120–180 cm
In the box
Rope, hardware
Assembly
Yes
Age
Adults, children

Common questions

Do the size lines agree?

The title says 22.8 × 9.8 inch. The dimensions field says 44 × 28 × 3 cm. Seat depth is 25 cm. Those lines are not the same measurement.

What load is printed?

The title says 441 lb. Maximum weight recommendation says 200 kilograms. 441 lb is about 200 kg, so it is one claim in two units.

What happened to the rope in a United Kingdom review?

One review says the rope chafed where it passed the wooden holes and broke within about two weeks. Other UK reviews call the seat sturdy and wide enough for an adult.

TP Forest Acorn wooden swing frame

Rank 3

TP Forest Acorn wooden swing frame

∼£160

Our view

The TP Forest Acorn, listed with the brand field Mookie and model TP302, is a wooden swing frame at £159.99. The bullet says the seat is not included and that TP single swing accessories are compatible, and included components name the frame only. The timber line is FSC pine or spruce, the listing load is 60 kg, and the age line is 6 months to 8 years. The item is about 18.7 kg, with listed dimensions of 15 × 131 × 123 cm, and assembly can be low or full height. Across 132 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.4, and all 33 review bodies in the file are from the United Kingdom. A bullet says five years against rot failure while the warranty field says one year for all parts, so the guarantee is not a single sentence. It is the freestanding frame in this set for a young child if you budget a seat on top. At £159.99 it is not a finished swing.

Pros

  • FSC pine or spruce frame at £159.99
  • Listing load 60 kg and age 6 months to 8 years
  • 4.4 from 132 reviews, with the 33 bodies in the file from the United Kingdom
  • Low or full height assembly stated

Cons

  • Seat is not in the box
  • Five-year rot bullet and a one-year parts field
  • Brand field says Mookie while the manufacturer is TP Toys

Best for: A garden without a sound branch, for a child inside the 6 months to 8 years line, once you have priced a separate seat.

Less suitable: Anyone who expects a seat, ropes, and anchors in the £159.99 carton, or two adults on a porch bench.

Specifications

Model
TP Forest Acorn wooden swing frame
Brand
Mookie
Price
∼£160
Customer rating
4.4/5(132)
Type
Frame only
Seats
1, no seat
Timber
FSC pine/spruce
Stated load
60 kg
Width
131 cm
Hardware
None
In the box
Frame only
Assembly
Yes
Age
6 months–8 years

Common questions

Does the box include a seat?

No. A bullet says the TP New Forest Acorn is supplied without a seat and that TP single swing accessories are compatible. Included components list the frame only.

What load and age are on this listing?

Maximum weight recommendation is 60 kg. Manufacturer recommended age is 6 months to 8 years. The brand field is Mookie and the manufacturer is TP Toys.

Do the guarantee lines match?

A bullet says a 5 year guarantee against wood rot causing failure. The warranty field says 1 year guarantee all parts. EU spare part availability is 2 years.

Favuit wooden swing seat, 56 cm

Rank 4

Favuit wooden swing seat, 56 cm

∼£33

Our view

The Favuit SMQQ01 at £33.28 is a hanging wooden seat whose size field is 56 × 25.4 × 5 cm and whose seat field allows one person. The item weight is 3.18 kg, and the box line includes polypropylene ropes of 140–220 cm with stainless clips. A bullet says no tools are required. Both the bullet and the weight field say 550 lb, the bullet also writes 250 kg, and the part number is SMQQ01-500lbs. The star line is 4.4 from 71, but the review openings match the 66 cm ASIN, so this is not a separate test of the 56 cm seat. A United Kingdom review title says two seater, which the seat field does not. Species is not named, and the stated user line is over 192 months. You are looking at a single plank with a large printed load, and you should not treat the shared stars as proof that two people belong on it.

Pros

  • Seat field of 1 and a size field of 56 × 25.4 × 5 cm
  • 550 lb on both the bullet and the weight field
  • Polypropylene ropes, 140–220 cm, and stainless clips listed
  • Bullet says assembly needs no tools

Cons

  • Species is not named
  • The 4.4 from 71 is shared with the 66 cm ASIN
  • A UK review title says two seater while the seat field says 1

Best for: You want a single wooden seat around 56 cm wide and you will ignore the two-seater review title.

Less suitable: Two people on one seat, or anyone treating this star line as a test of this width alone.

Specifications

Model
Favuit wooden swing seat, 56 cm
Brand
Favuit
Price
∼£33
Customer rating
4.4/5(71)
Type
Hanging seat
Seats
1
Timber
Not named
Stated load
550 lb (250 kg)
Width
56 cm
Hardware
Rope 140–220 cm
In the box
Seat and ropes
Assembly
Yes
Age
Over 16 years

Common questions

How many people does the seat field allow?

Maximum compatible number of seats is 1. A United Kingdom review title says two seater. That title is not the seat field.

What is the stated load?

The bullet says 550 lb (250 kg). The maximum-weight field says 550 pounds. The part number is SMQQ01-500lbs.

Is the 4.4 from 71 only about this 56 cm seat?

The review openings in this file match the 66 cm ASIN B09G9ZR862. The star line is not a separate sample for this size.

Favuit wooden swing seat, 66 cm

Rank 5

Favuit wooden swing seat, 66 cm

∼£69

Our view

The wider Favuit listing is £68.85, and the dimensions field says 66 × 30.5 × 5 cm with a seat depth of 30.5 cm and an item weight of 3.58 kg. A feature bullet still describes a seat of 56 × 25 cm, which is the size field of the cheaper Favuit ASIN, so the copy has not been separated. The weight field says 550 pounds, the bullet says 550 lb (250 kg), and the part number is SMQQ01-330lbs, which is a third figure on the same page. The seat field still says 1. The 4.4 from 71 uses the same review openings as the 56 cm listing, including a title that says two seater. Species is not named, and the hardware bullet is copied across. You pay more for the larger centimetre field, and the shared stars do not show that this width was reviewed on its own.

Pros

  • Dimensions field 66 × 30.5 × 5 cm and seat depth 30.5 cm
  • Seat field still says 1
  • Item weight listed at 3.58 kg

Cons

  • Bullet still says a 56 × 25 cm seat
  • Field 550 lb, bullet 550 lb (250 kg), and part number 330 lb
  • Review text matches the 56 cm ASIN
  • Species is not named

Best for: You have measured for about 66 cm of seat and you will trust the dimensions field over the copied bullet.

Less suitable: A buyer who reads 550 lb, 250 kg, and 330 lb as one checked limit, or who wants a star sample for this width only.

Specifications

Model
Favuit wooden swing seat, 66 cm
Brand
Favuit
Price
∼£69
Customer rating
4.4/5(71)
Type
Hanging seat
Seats
1
Timber
Not named
Stated load
550 lb, 330 lb
Width
66 cm
Hardware
Rope 140–220 cm
In the box
Not itemised
Assembly
Yes
Age
Over 16 years

Common questions

Which size belongs to this ASIN?

The dimensions field says 66 × 30.5 × 5 cm and the seat depth is 30.5 cm. The feature bullet still says a seat of 56 × 25 cm.

Which load figure belongs to this ASIN?

The field says 550 pounds. The bullet says 550 lb (250 kg). The part number is SMQQ01-330lbs. All three are printed.

Do the 71 reviews describe this wider seat?

The review openings match B09F3LM82C, including a title that says two seater. The seat field on this ASIN says 1.

Pellor beech swing seat

Rank 6

Pellor beech swing seat

∼£32

Our view

The Pellor SH-WS02 is a single hanging seat at £31.99, with a bullet that names sustainable beech and a rope of 150–210 cm plus two connect buckles. The material field also lists pine, so the timber line is not one word. Across 596 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.3, and 22 of the first 50 review texts are from the United Kingdom. One of those UK reviews called it a replacement for a plastic seat, then updated that the wood rotted and splintered after three months, even though the reviewer says they weigh under 100 kg and used it once. The bullet says up to 220 lb and the weight field says 100 kg, which is the same claim in two units. The dimension field prints 1.6 × 19.5 × 45 cm while a bullet says 17.7 × 7.7 inches, so the two size lines do not describe one shape. It is the best value here when you are swapping a plastic belt on a frame you already own, provided you treat the rot update as part of the buy.

Pros

  • £31.99 with rope, a galvanised ring, and two buckles listed
  • Bullet names beech, and the 220 lb and 100 kg lines agree
  • 4.3 from 596 reviews, with 22 of the first 50 from the United Kingdom
  • Reviewers describe it as a swap for a plastic seat

Cons

  • Material field also lists pine beside beech
  • A UK update reports rot and splinters after three months
  • The centimetre field and the inch bullet do not match

Best for: You are replacing a plastic seat on a swing frame you already have, and you will look at the timber once a season.

Less suitable: A seat you plan to leave in the rain, or a bench for two adults.

Specifications

Model
Pellor beech swing seat
Brand
PELLOR
Price
∼£32
Customer rating
4.3/5(596)
Type
Hanging seat
Seats
1
Timber
Beech, also pine
Stated load
100 kg (220 lb)
Width
45 cm
Hardware
Rope 150–210 cm
In the box
Seat and rope
Assembly
Yes
Age
Children, adults

Common questions

Which timber is named?

A bullet says sustainable beech and a seat of 17.7 × 7.7 inches. The material field says beech, pine.

What load is printed?

The bullet says up to 220 lb. Maximum weight recommendation says 100 kilograms. 220 lb is about 100 kg, so it is one claim in two units.

What did a United Kingdom update say about rot?

One UK review, after calling it a replacement for a plastic seat, updated that the wood rotted and splintered after three months. The reviewer says they weigh under 100 kg and used it once.

Furinno Tioman meranti porch swing

Rank 7

Furinno Tioman meranti porch swing

∼£146

Our view

The Furinno Tioman FG16409SC is a two-seat meranti hanging bench at £145.83, about 12 kg, with metal chains and an oil-rubbed finish. A bullet says dark red meranti treated with teak oil, which names a finish on meranti. Across 555 amazon.co.uk ratings the line is 4.3, though only two of the first 50 review texts are from the United Kingdom, so the written sample is mostly from outside Britain. The bullet states 156 kg while the maximum-weight field states 220 pounds, and those are different claims. The dimension bullet of 112.3 × 59.4 × 59.99 cm also disagrees with the field of 120.5 × 68.5 × 60 cm. Included components say one porch swing, a cushion is not listed, and the warranty field is one year. It is the top pick in this set for a covered porch where you can see a joist and you will keep both load lines in view. It is the wrong bench if you wanted teak as the species, or a cushion in the box.

Pros

  • Two-seat meranti porch swing at £145.83 with chains listed
  • 4.3 from 555 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • Species named as meranti, with teak oil as the stated finish
  • About 12 kg, and a 1-year limited warranty on the listing

Cons

  • Bullet says 156 kg and the field says 220 pounds
  • Two dimension lines that do not match
  • No cushion in the included-components line
  • Only two of the first 50 reviews are from the United Kingdom

Best for: A covered porch where you can see a sound joist, you will buy a cushion separately, and you will quote both load lines.

Less suitable: A buyer who wants a teak bench, a freestanding frame, or a cushion and canopy in the same box.

Specifications

Model
Furinno Tioman meranti porch swing
Brand
Furinno
Price
∼£146
Customer rating
4.3/5(555)
Type
Hanging bench
Seats
2
Timber
Meranti, teak oil
Stated load
156 kg, 220 lb
Width
120.5 cm
Hardware
Metal chains
In the box
Swing, no cushion
Assembly
Yes
Age
0 months and up

Common questions

Is this teak?

The frame material is meranti. A bullet says dark red meranti treated with teak oil. Teak is not the species named.

Which weight figure is on the listing?

Both. A bullet says 156 kg. Maximum weight recommendation says 220 pounds. They are not the same claim.

Does a cushion come in the box?

Included components say 1 porch swing. A cushion is not listed. A product question asks and the extract has no answer.

SAM teak hanging bench, 120 cm

Rank 8

SAM teak hanging bench, 120 cm

∼£221

Our view

The SAM bench, sold with the brand field junado, is a teak hanging seat for two at £221.07, listed at 65 × 120 × 60 cm and about 14 kg. The title and a bullet name teak, and the load field is a single figure of 120 kg. The finish field says polished while a bullet says sanded and left natural, and ropes or chains are not named, so the extract reads as the bench alone. The age field says 0–10 years on a bench about 120 cm wide. The star line is 3.8 from 44 reviews, and none of the 22 review headers are from the United Kingdom. German texts in the file praise the look and also complain about fit, unglued sides, and broken timber. It is the only row here that names teak as the timber. It is a thin buy if you want United Kingdom owners’ notes or suspension in the same carton.

Pros

  • Teak named in the title and a bullet
  • One load figure, 120 kg, on a two-seat bench about 120 cm wide
  • Listed at 14 kg and made in Indonesia

Cons

  • 3.8 from 44, with no United Kingdom review header in the file
  • Ropes and chains are not named
  • German reviews mention poor fit, unglued sides, and broken timber
  • Age field says 0–10 years

Best for: You want the listing that actually names teak, and you will source chains or ropes yourself for a joist you have already checked.

Less suitable: A buyer who wants UK review notes, hanging hardware in the box, or a star line above the rest of this set.

Specifications

Model
SAM teak hanging bench, 120 cm
Brand
junado
Price
∼£221
Customer rating
3.8/5(44)
Type
Hanging bench
Seats
2
Timber
Teak
Stated load
120 kg
Width
120 cm
In the box
Bench only
Assembly
Yes
Age
0–10 years

Common questions

Is the timber named as teak?

Yes. The title and a bullet say teak. The material field says wood, teak. The brand field is junado and the manufacturer is SAM.

Are chains or ropes included?

The extract does not name ropes, chains or fixings. Assembly is required. A cushion is not listed.

What do the reviews cover?

The star line is 3.8 from 44. None of the 22 review headers are United Kingdom. German texts include praise for the look and complaints about fit, unglued sides and broken timber.

MDDKOP wooden swing with A-frame

Rank 9

MDDKOP wooden swing with A-frame

∼£267

Our view

The MDDKOP listing is a wooden porch swing with an A-frame at £266.66, the highest price in this set. The title says it is for two adults or seniors, and the bullets describe a stand and a metal chain, but the box contents are not itemised and the timber is only called solid wood. There is no maximum-weight field, no assembled size, and no customer-reviews line. The only measurements printed are the package, 164.01 × 15.01 × 11 cm, and an item weight of 19 kg. You cannot tell from this extract how wide the seat is once it is built, or what the timber is. It is a page to reopen only if those fields appear later. While they stay empty, it is the row to leave.

Pros

  • Title claims a wooden swing and an A-frame for two
  • Bullets mention a stand and a metal chain
  • Item weight listed at 19 kg

Cons

  • No customer-reviews line
  • Species, load, and assembled size are not stated
  • £266.66 with only a package size of 164.01 × 15.01 × 11 cm

Best for: Only if the seller has already given you a species, a load, and an assembled size that this listing does not print.

Less suitable: Anyone choosing a wooden swing from the species, load, size, and reviews printed on the page today.

Specifications

Model
MDDKOP wooden swing with A-frame
Brand
MDDKOP
Price
∼£267
Type
Swing and frame
Seats
2, title only
Timber
Not named
Hardware
Metal chain
In the box
Not itemised
Age
Two adults

Common questions

Does the listing include a frame?

The title says an outdoor wooden swing with an A-frame for two people. The bullets describe a stand and a metal chain. The box contents are not itemised.

What timber and load are named?

The bullets say solid wood and do not name a species. There is no maximum-weight field and no customer-reviews line.

What size is printed?

Only the package size, 164.01 × 15.01 × 11 cm, and an item weight of 19 kg. An assembled size is not stated.

How we compared

Shelf prices, star ratings and review counts are the amazon.co.uk lines for the nine wooden swings in this comparison. There is no lab test of load, rot or rope wear. A seller load stays a seller claim, and where two figures disagree both stay visible. None of these listings cites EN 71-8. Each stored score starts from the star line and the review count, then is marked down for a missing species, a load or size that does not agree with itself, a review text shared across two listings, a thin United Kingdom sample, or a carton that leaves out the seat. Price is outside the score. It is used only for the best-value flag. The score shown beside each product is that stored figure divided by 10.

1

Review evidence

35%

The amazon.co.uk star line and the review count, including a text shared across two listings and United Kingdom notes on splits, rot or a rope that failed. A star line is not a safety test.

2

Timber named

25%

Whether the listing names a species. Wooden alone is marked down. A second timber in the material field, or teak oil read as teak, is marked down. An FSC line counts only on the listing that prints it.

3

Load line

25%

Whether a load is printed, and whether two units are the same claim. A blank load is marked down. Where the figures disagree, both stay visible and the row is marked down.

4

Box and hardware

15%

Whether ropes, chains, a cushion or the seat are listed. A frame sold without a seat is marked down for that gap. Hanging hardware that is not named is marked down.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
9 sources checked

Wooden garden swing buying guide

Decide the job first: a hanging seat, a two-seat bench, or a freestanding frame. Then name the timber, read every load figure, and see whether the seat, the ropes and the anchors are actually in the box. A seller load is not EN 71-8, and a star rating is not a weathering test. Prices below are the amazon.co.uk lines in this file, not a UK-wide index.

What is a wooden garden swing?

A wooden garden swing on a UK listing is one of three products: a hanging seat that needs a tree, a beam or a frame you already own; a hanging bench for two, which needs a joist that can take a moving load; or a wooden frame that may arrive without a seat. A plastic belt and a fabric saucer are a different category. Parents use this kind of swing to replace a plastic seat. Adults use it under a tree or on a covered porch. A first frame is for a garden with no sound branch.

Best for

  • Parents replacing a plastic belt seat on a frame they already own
  • Households who want a two-seat porch bench and can see a sound joist

Not ideal for

  • A buyer who needs one agreed load and a named timber before hanging anything
  • A doubtful branch, a new-build ceiling, or anchors that must be set in concrete

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading only the higher load

    Where a bullet and a field disagree, both numbers stay in view. 156 kg and 220 pounds are not one claim. A 550 lb field and a 330 lb part number are not one claim either.

  2. 2

    Calling teak oil a teak bench

    Meranti treated with teak oil names a finish on meranti. Teak is a different species, and only the listing that says teak has named it.

  3. 3

    Assuming the frame includes a seat

    A frame carton can be the timber alone. The seat, the ropes and the anchors are separate lines. Under about £50 on these pages you are buying a seat, not an anchor.

What to weigh up

Job, timber and the box

High

The first check is the job. A hanging seat, a two-seat bench and a freestanding frame are different products. A seat does not include a frame. A frame may not include a seat. A plastic belt is outside this category. Timber comes next. The page should name a species. Wooden alone is not one. Teak oil on meranti is a finish. A material field that adds a second timber has not settled the name. An FSC line applies only where that listing prints it.

Load, support and reviews

High

Read every load figure, and keep both when they disagree. A matching pair of pounds and kilograms is one claim. A part number with a different number is another claim. A blank field is not a hidden high limit. Stated loads here are seller figures. None of these listings cites EN 71-8. The support is separate from the seat. A sound hardwood branch is about 20 cm thick. A joist has to be structural. Plasterboard and a plant pergola are not supports until someone qualified says so.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Replacing a plastic seat

You already own a frame and you are swapping a plastic belt. The Pellor beech swing seat is about £31.99, with a beech bullet, a 100 kg field that matches 220 lb, and 4.3 from 596 reviews. The material field also lists pine, and one UK update reports rot after three months.

A seat from a branch

You have a branch or beam you already trust and you want an adult-width seat. The AnExer seat is about £47.49. The material field says oak and wood, with hemp rope of 120–180 cm. The line is 4.5 from 42, and the review bodies in the file are from the United Kingdom. One says the rope chafed at the holes.

A two-seat porch bench

You can see a sound joist and you want two seats. The Furinno Tioman is meranti treated with teak oil, with chains, at about £145.83, and 4.3 from 555 reviews. A bullet says 156 kg and the field says 220 pounds. A cushion is not listed.

Common questions about wooden garden swings

Which wooden garden swing is the top pick in this set?
The top pick is the Furinno Tioman meranti porch swing. It has the highest score, 84, from 4.3 and 555 amazon.co.uk reviews. It is a two-seat meranti hanging bench with chains, at about £145.83. A bullet says 156 kg and the weight field says 220 pounds, so those lines are not one claim. A cushion is not listed. Only two of the first 50 review texts are from the United Kingdom. The mark is this set only, not a lab test.
Which listing is the best value?
Best value is the Pellor beech swing seat at about £31.99, with 4.3 from 596 reviews. A bullet names beech and a rope of 150–210 cm, and the 220 lb line matches the 100 kg field. The material field also lists pine. One United Kingdom update says the wood rotted and splintered after three months. It suits a plastic seat you are replacing on a frame you already own. The mark is not a promise that the timber will not rot.
How much does a wooden garden swing cost on amazon.co.uk?
These are the amazon.co.uk shelf prices in this file, not a market census. A hanging seat here runs from about £19.99 to about £47.49, and a wider seat is about £68.85. A hanging bench is about £145.83 to about £221.07. A wooden frame without a seat is about £159.99, so budget a seat on top. The stand listing is about £266.66 and prints almost no assembled size or load. Under about £50 you are buying a seat, not an anchor.
What should you check before you buy a wooden garden swing?
Start with the job: one hanging seat, a two-seat bench, or a freestanding frame. Name the timber. Wooden alone is not a species, and teak oil on meranti is not teak. Read every load figure, and keep both when they disagree. Read the box line for ropes, chains, a cushion and the seat itself. Then read the star line with the review count, and check whether that text is shared with another width. The support is a sound branch, a joist, or a frame with anchors.
Does the wooden frame include a seat?
On the TP Forest Acorn the bullet says the seat is not included, and the included-components line names the frame only. The listing load is 60 kg and the age line is 6 months to 8 years. The timber line is FSC pine or spruce. A bullet says five years against rot and the warranty field says one year for all parts. The maker’s page says two years and concrete-in anchors, and an older manual says 45 kg. Do not merge those lines. At about £159.99 it is not a finished swing.
Is a stated load a safety test?
No. A stated load is a listing claim. Toys sold for under-14s sit under the Toys (Safety) Regulations 2011. A Department for Business and Trade notice of 13 February 2026 still designates EN 71-8:2018 for domestic activity toys. BS EN 71-8:2026 was not the designated edition in that notice. EN 1176 is public playground equipment, and none of these listings cites EN 71-8. Home-play guidance asks for at least 200 mm clearance, closed S-hooks and ropes that are not crossed. A star rating is not that standard.
Can a wooden swing stay outside through a British winter?
Only where the listing and the build support it. These pages do not show a winter test. Teak can silver, and washing is the baseline before any oil. Oil changes colour. It does not show that every wooden row is for year-round rain. United Kingdom reviews on the cheapest seat describe glued splits, outdoor break-up within a year, and mould on arrival. A light glued seat left out because the title says garden is a common mistake.
Is a hanging bench the same as a garden bench?
No. A hanging bench needs a joist or a frame, and it moves. A garden bench sits on the ground. If you want a fixed seat for a patio, use the garden bench comparison. In this set a two-seat hanging bench is a different buy from a single plank, and a cushion is not assumed to be in the box. Read both load lines before you hang anything from a ceiling. If you cannot judge the joist, stop.

Our verdict

The Furinno Tioman meranti porch swing is the top pick. It has the highest score, 84, at about £145.83, with 4.3 from 555 amazon.co.uk reviews. Best value is the Pellor beech swing seat at about £31.99, with 4.3 from 596 reviews. The beech bullet and the 220 lb line match the 100 kg field. Neither mark is a laboratory result. No listing cites EN 71-8.

Best overall
KINSPORY wooden tree swing

KINSPORY wooden tree swing

View offer
Best value
Pellor beech swing seat

Pellor beech swing seat

Best value in this set at about £31.99. The beech bullet and the 220 lb line match the 100 kg field. Marked down for the pine field and a UK rot update. Not a lab test.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsGarden furnitureamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
9 sources checked

Guides to wooden garden swings

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources used for this comparison, last checked on 22 October 2026. Listing prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk lines saved for this set. There is no laboratory test.

  1. RoSPA, home play equipment (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  2. DBT notice 0131/26, toy designations (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  3. BSI, BS EN 71-8:2018 activity toys (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  4. London Play, tree swing guidance (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  5. RHS, maintaining garden seats and tables (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  6. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  7. Sitting Spiritually, hanging seats (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  8. Take A Bough, hang a swing from a tree (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  9. TP Toys, Forest Acorn wooden swing frame (retrieved 22 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Lee Burkhill (Garden Ninja) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines. We did not run a lab test.