Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Folding bench comparison 2026

The best folding benches, compared.

Top pick: Lifetime 80305 6 ft fold-in-half bench – Largest review sample and a named safety lock, at the lowest price in this set. Best value: Harbour Housewares 6 ft benches, pack of 2 – Lowest price per bench among the Harbour listings, about £31.00 against £31.99 for the black single. Updated 22 October 2026.

A folding bench is a long, backless portable seat for a party, a hall or an extra place at the table. In the UK you buy one when those seats need to go back in a cupboard the same evening. It is a utility fold-in-half bench, not a wooden garden bench with a back and not a gym weight bench. A sound example is about 180 cm open, with a plastic seat, a metal frame and a centre hinge, long enough for one side of a table. Look for a lock you can see, a folded size about half the open length, and feet that will not punch into soft ground. The seat is hard, about 26 to 30 cm deep, and backless, with a seat height around 42 cm. A printed load is the seller’s figure, not a BS EN 581-2 result. That standard bases seating tests on persons up to 110 kg. Do not sit until the lock is home. The sequence for opening and closing is in [how to fold a folding bench](/hub/garden-furniture/folding-bench/sub/folding-bench-how-to-fold).

A folding bench is a long, backless portable seat for a party, a hall or an extra place at the table. In the UK you buy one when those seats need to go back in a cupboard the same evening.

Lifetime 80305 6 ft fold-in-half bench

Best overall

Lifetime 80305 6 ft fold-in-half bench
9.2/10∼ £27

14 products checked · 54 hrs invested · +22,100 readers

4 of 4: Best folding benches compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 4
Best overall
Lifetime 80305 6 ft fold-in-half bench
Best value
Harbour Housewares 6 ft benches, pack of 2
Harbour Housewares 6 ft bench, black
Harbour Housewares 6 ft bench, white
9.2/10
7.2/10
7.1/10
6.8/10
∼ £27
∼ £62
∼ £32
∼ £32
4.8(3,542)
4.4(160)
4.4(160)
4.4(160)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best folding benches in detail

Lifetime 80305 6 ft fold-in-half bench

Rank 1

Lifetime 80305 6 ft fold-in-half bench

∼£27

Our view

The Lifetime 80305 is a white-granite fold-in-half bench, 29 × 183 × 42 cm open and listed at 7 kg, for £26.99 on amazon.co.uk. Across 3,542 reviews the line is 4.8, and the first 50 UK texts often describe adults at a dining table, then a fold into a cupboard after Christmas or a garden event. The listing names a safety locking mechanism and states a maximum of 1,000 pounds, which is the seller’s figure, not a BS EN 581 result. Seat height is printed as 16.54 inches, about 42 cm. Reviewers still report a locking pin that slides off so the legs move, and one clip underneath arrived snapped. The hard plastic seat becomes uncomfortable on a long sit, the bench is stiff to snap open, and the bullets do not name a carry handle even though a reviewer describes a strap. Size lines clash, including a title print of 9.8 × 96.0 × 30.5 cm beside the 6 ft name, so you should quote the line you mean. It is the top pick here for the largest UK review sample and a named lock at the lowest price in this set.

Pros

  • 4.8 from 3,542 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Safety locking mechanism named on the listing
  • About £26.99, listed at 7 kg, assembly field says no
  • Reviewers use it for parties and with a folding table
  • Hard plastic one reviewer used indoors without scratch marks

Cons

  • Locking pin can slide off so the legs move
  • Hard seat on a long sit, and stiff to snap open
  • Carry handle is not in the bullets, and there is no carry bag
  • Size lines on the page conflict

Best for: You want extra places at a table or a party, and you want the largest review sample in this set with a named lock.

Less suitable: You need a long sit, a carry handle printed on the listing, a 4 ft bench, or feet that stay put on a soft lawn.

Specifications

Model
Lifetime 80305 6 ft fold-in-half bench
Brand
Lifetime
Price
∼£27
Customer rating
4.8/5(3,542)
Pack
1
Colour
White granite
Open size
29 × 183 × 42 cm
Folded size
9.8 × 96 × 30.5 cm
Seat height
42 cm
Weight
7 kg
Stated load
1,000 lb
Lock
Safety lock
Assembly
No
Seats
4
Folds in half
Yes

Common questions

Can this bench be used outdoors?

The listing says indoor/outdoor. Care is wipe with a damp cloth. That is a seller line, not a weathering test.

Does it fold, and is assembly required?

The bullets say it folds in half. The assembly-required field says no. The title also prints 9.8 × 96.0 × 30.5 cm beside the 6 ft name.

What load does the listing state?

The maximum weight recommendation is 1,000 pounds. The listing does not say this is a BS EN 581 result.

Harbour Housewares 6 ft benches, pack of 2

Rank 2

Harbour Housewares 6 ft benches, pack of 2

∼£62

Our view

The Harbour Housewares black pack of two is £61.99, about £31.00 a bench against £31.99 for the matching single in this snapshot, and the item weight is 15 kg. Each bench’s open bullet is 180 × 26.5 × 42.5 cm and the folded bullet is 90 × 7.5 × 26.5 cm, with a field that states 250 kg. The seating-capacity field says 2, which does not describe two 6 ft benches, so the title is the pack count you should trust. The 4.4 from 160 is the shared Harbour block, including notes about one bench and about a pair, and that block includes snapped middle legs, bent frames, and a return one shopper put at £18. The assembly field says yes while the instructions line says no assembly is required and to open and secure the frame. It is the best value here only as a price per bench among the Harbour listings. Two Lifetime benches at £26.99 each would still cost less if you do not need black.

Pros

  • Two benches for about £61.99, about £1.99 less than two black singles
  • Carry handle named, folded bullet 90 × 7.5 × 26.5 cm
  • Maximum-weight field states 250 kg
  • Item weight listed at 15 kg for the pack

Cons

  • 4.4 from 160 is a shared review block, not a separate sample
  • Assembly field says yes while the instructions say no assembly
  • Seating-capacity field says 2 for a pack of two 6 ft benches
  • Shared reviews include snapped legs and bent arrivals

Best for: You need two black benches for both sides of a table and the small pack saving in this snapshot matters.

Less suitable: You only need one bench, or you want Lifetime’s separate review count and you do not need black.

Specifications

Model
Harbour Housewares 6 ft benches, pack of 2
Brand
Harbour Housewares
Price
∼£62
Customer rating
4.4/5(160)
Pack
2
Colour
Black
Open size
180 × 26.5 × 42.5 cm
Folded size
90 × 7.5 × 26.5 cm
Weight
15 kg
Stated load
250 kg
Lock
Opens and secures
Carry handle
Coated fabric
Assembly
Yes
Folds in half
Yes

Common questions

How many benches are in the pack?

Number of items is 2. Item weight is 15 kg. The seating-capacity field says 2, which does not match a pair of 6 ft benches on its own.

Is assembly required?

The assembly-required field says yes. The instructions line says no assembly is required and to open and secure the frame.

What load does the listing state?

The maximum weight recommendation is 250 kilograms. The listing does not cite BS EN 581. The 4.4 from 160 reviews is the same line as the other Harbour listings in this set.

Harbour Housewares 6 ft bench, black

Rank 3

Harbour Housewares 6 ft bench, black

∼£32

Our view

The Harbour Housewares black single is £31.99, open 180 × 26.5 × 42.5 cm, folded 90 × 7.5 × 26.5 cm, and listed at 7.5 kg, with a rubber-coated fabric carry handle. The bullet says up to 250 kg and there is no separate maximum-weight field, so that figure stays a seller total. The star line is 4.4 from 160 reviews, and the first 50 texts are the same block as the black pair and the white Harbour listing, so you should not add those counts. Shared reviews praise Christmas and picnic overflow and say three adults sit comfortably, with some people squeezing four. The same block reports a middle leg that snapped, bolts that failed, and feet that dig in off concrete because there is no bar on the centre legs. The assembly field says no, which matches a pull-open, while the lock is only described as a frame that opens and secures. Open this row when you want one black bench with a named handle and a stated weight, and skip it if you need reviews that belong only to this listing.

Pros

  • Rubber-coated fabric carry handle named in the bullets
  • Folded bullet 90 × 7.5 × 26.5 cm at a listed 7.5 kg
  • Assembly field says no
  • Bullet states up to 250 kg

Cons

  • 4.4 from 160 reviews is shared with the other Harbour listings
  • Shared reviews include snapped legs, failed bolts, and a collapse
  • No centre-leg bar, so feet dig in off solid ground
  • The 250 kg figure is only in a bullet, not a maximum-weight field

Best for: You want one black 6 ft bench with a named carry handle and a stated item weight, and you accept the shared review pool.

Less suitable: You need a unique review sample, locking legs named on the page, or a bench that will stand on soft grass.

Specifications

Model
Harbour Housewares 6 ft bench, black
Brand
Harbour Housewares
Price
∼£32
Customer rating
4.4/5(160)
Pack
1
Colour
Black
Open size
180 × 26.5 × 42.5 cm
Folded size
90 × 7.5 × 26.5 cm
Weight
7.5 kg
Stated load
250 kg
Lock
Opens and secures
Carry handle
Coated fabric
Assembly
No
Seats
4
Folds in half
Yes

Common questions

Does this bench fold for storage?

Yes. The bullet gives a folded size of 90 × 7.5 × 26.5 cm. Open size in the same bullet is 180 × 26.5 × 42.5 cm.

Is assembly required?

The assembly-required field says no. The instructions field reads false.

What weight does the listing state?

The bullet says up to 250 kg. There is no separate maximum-weight field, and the listing does not cite BS EN 581.

Harbour Housewares 6 ft bench, white

Rank 4

Harbour Housewares 6 ft bench, white

∼£32

Our view

The Harbour Housewares white single is £31.99, open 30.5 × 183 × 42.5 cm, with locking legs, a carry handle, and a stain-resistant claim on the listing. The maximum-weight field states 220 kg and the seat height is 42.5 cm, while item weight is not stated. Care is a wipe with a dry cloth, and a bullet says the bench pairs with Harbour Housewares folding tables. A second size line prints 31.5 × 93 × 10 cm beside the folded bullet of 91.5 × 9.5 × 30.5 cm, so you should quote the line you mean. The 4.4 from 160 is the shared Harbour block, and one review in that block says the bench is black, which is not evidence for this white listing. Shared faults still include legs that fold back, a missing centre bar, and a collapse under a heavy sitter. The assembly field says yes and the listing has no instructions sentence that says otherwise. Choose it when you want white and locking legs named, and skip it if you need a stated item weight or a review sample that is only about this colour.

Pros

  • Locking legs and a carry handle named on the listing
  • Seat height 42.5 cm and a stain-resistant claim
  • Maximum-weight field states 220 kg
  • Bullet says it pairs with Harbour Housewares folding tables

Cons

  • Item weight is not stated
  • Shared 160 reviews include one that calls the bench black
  • Assembly field says yes and no instructions sentence is on the listing
  • Folded-size lines conflict, and shared reviews include snapped legs

Best for: You want a white bench with locking legs named, for a table or a hall, and you will keep it on firm ground.

Less suitable: You need a stated item weight, reviews that are only about this white bench, or a seat you will leave on the lawn.

Specifications

Model
Harbour Housewares 6 ft bench, white
Brand
Harbour Housewares
Price
∼£32
Customer rating
4.4/5(160)
Pack
1
Colour
White
Open size
30.5 × 183 × 42.5 cm
Folded size
91.5 × 9.5 × 30.5 cm
Seat height
42.5 cm
Stated load
220 kg
Lock
Locking legs
Carry handle
Yes
Assembly
Yes
Seats
4
Folds in half
Yes

Common questions

Does it have locking legs and a carry handle?

Special features list locking legs and a carry handle. The bullet also says the closed size is 91.5 × 9.5 × 30.5 cm.

Is assembly required?

The assembly-required field says yes. The listing has no instructions sentence that says otherwise.

What load and seat height does the listing state?

The maximum weight recommendation is 220 kilograms and the seat height is 42.5 cm. The listing does not cite BS EN 581. The 160 reviews are shared with the black Harbour listings.

How we compared

Shelf prices, star ratings and review counts are the amazon.co.uk lines for the four kept listings, read on 21 October 2026. This is not a laboratory test. A stated load of 1,000 pounds, 250 kg or 220 kg is the seller’s figure. None of these listings cite BS EN 581-2. Gym benches were already out of the set and are not scored. The four weights below sum to 100.

1

Amazon evidence

40%

The amazon.co.uk star rating, scaled, plus a volume add. That add is halved when the review text is shared with another listing in this set. The criterion is capped at 40.

2

Listing clarity

25%

A named lock scores above a line that only says the frame opens and secures. Also scored: one folded-size line, a named carry handle, a maximum-weight field, and an assembly field that agrees with a pull-open.

3

Review pattern

20%

Themes in the read sample, such as a sturdy fold and a hard seat, with deductions for a shared block, snapped legs, failed bolts, a collapse, or a review that names the wrong colour.

4

Value

15%

Price against the other listings in this set. The highest value score needs a price at or under £30 and at least 1,000 reviews. A two-pack scores when it costs less per bench than two matching singles.

Independent review
Last updated: 22 October 2026
8 sources checked

Folding bench buying guide

A folding bench is the long seat you add for a party and put away afterwards. The checks below follow type, length and pack, lock, stated load, then ground, folded size and comfort. Prices on this page are the amazon.co.uk lines from 20 October 2026. A stated load is not a BS EN 581-2 result. The seat is hard and backless. If you want a wooden seat with a back, that is a garden bench. Read the lock before anyone sits, and do not add shared review counts together.

What is a folding bench?

A folding bench in this comparison is a utility fold-in-half seat. The seat is plastic, the frame is metal, there is a centre hinge, and there is no back. Open length on the kept listings is about 180 cm, which covers one side of a long table. Seat height sits around 42 to 42.5 cm. Folded, the bench is about half that length, so it can go in a cupboard after Christmas or a garden event.

Best for

  • Hosts who need extra places for Christmas or a BBQ, then want the bench away the same evening
  • Stallholders who need a hard seat on a solid surface

Not ideal for

  • A gym session or a sideline bench, even if the title says folding bench
  • A backless bench as the only garden seat, or tubular feet on a slope or a soft lawn

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying the wrong type

    A gym bench or a fabric soccer sideline bench can carry the words folding bench in the title. Both are the wrong object. So is a wooden two-seater with a back.

  2. 2

    Treating every load figure as one test

    1,000 pounds, 250 kg and 220 kg are seller totals on different listings. They are not a shared BS EN 581-2 result, and a seat count is a separate claim.

  3. 3

    Adding the same reviews three times

    The Harbour listings share one review block. A count of 160 on each page is not 480. One note in that block calls a bench black, which is not evidence for the white listing.

What to weigh up

Lock and stated load

High

The lock is the check that decides whether anyone should sit. A listing may name a safety locking mechanism or locking legs, or it may only say the frame opens and secures. Reviews on this type of bench describe a pin that slides off so the legs move, and legs that fold back. Do not sit until the lock is home. The stated load is the next line, and it is a seller total. You will see pounds on one listing and kilograms on another.

Ground, folded size and comfort

High

Ground, folded size and comfort decide whether the bench is usable after the lock check. A review of this trestle type says there is no bar on the centre legs, so the feet dig in off solid ground. Do not put tubular feet on a slope because the title says outdoor. A line that says indoor and outdoor is a place of use, not a weathering certificate. Folded size should be one bullet you can quote. Where a second size line conflicts, quote the line you mean.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Party hosts

You need extra places for Christmas or a BBQ, then you want the bench in a cupboard the same evening. The Lifetime 80305 names a safety locking mechanism, lists 7 kg, and has 4.8 from 3,542 reviews. The seat is hard, and reviewers report a pin that can slide off.

Both sides of the table

You want two black benches. The Harbour pack of two is about £61.99, against about £31.99 for one black single, and the item weight is 15 kg. The 4.4 from 160 reviews is shared with the other Harbour listings, and the assembly field says yes while the instructions say to open and secure.

One black bench to carry

You want one black 6 ft bench with a rubber-coated fabric carry handle and a listed weight of 7.5 kg. The bullet says up to 250 kg, which is a seller figure. Reviews in the shared block say the feet dig in off solid ground, so keep it on a hard surface.

Common questions about folding benches

Which folding bench is the top pick for 2026?
The Lifetime 80305 is the top pick of these four amazon.co.uk listings. It is about £26.99, with 4.8 from 3,542 reviews, and the listing names a safety locking mechanism. Reviewers still report a locking pin that can slide off, a hard seat on a long sit, and size lines that do not match, so check the lock and quote the size you mean. This score is not a laboratory test, and the stated 1,000 pounds is the seller’s figure.
How much does a folding bench cost?
On amazon.co.uk on 20 October 2026 the single benches in this set were about £26.99 and £31.99, and the black pair was about £61.99. A similar trade plastic bench starts from about £22.99. A wooden festival bench with a bottom bar is a different product, about £68.99 at one trade shop, and a folding wooden garden bench is around £149. Do not quote a blended average near £86 as the price of a plastic trestle.
What should I check before buying a folding bench?
Start with the type. Keep a utility fold-in-half bench and drop a gym bench or a fabric sideline bench. Then check length and pack: these are about 180 cm open, so one covers one side of a long table. Next is a lock you can see, then the seller’s stated load, which is not a BS EN 581 result. Finish with folded size, item weight and the ground. Reviewers more often say three adults sit comfortably than four.
Is the stated load a test result?
No. One listing prints 1,000 pounds. The black listings say 250 kg, and the white listing says 220 kg. Say that the listing states the figure. Do not treat those numbers as one laboratory test, and do not say the bench was tested to that load. BS EN 581-2 tests strength around users up to 110 kg. None of these listings cite it. Four seats and a kilogram total are separate claims.
Can I use a folding bench outdoors?
The listings say indoor and outdoor, or indoor/outdoor. That is a place line. A review says there is no bar on the centre legs, so the feet dig in off solid ground. Do not stand tubular feet on a slope because the title says outdoor. Care, where stated, is a wipe with a damp cloth or a dry cloth, not a weathering certificate. A seat you leave on the patio is a different product.
How does a folding bench differ from a garden bench?
A folding bench here is a plastic seat, a metal frame, a centre hinge and no back, about 180 cm open and about 42 cm high. A folding wooden garden bench is shorter and has a back. A beer-garden set is another category, and BS EN 581-1:2017 does not cover spectator seating. If you want a seat that stays out, start with the garden bench comparison. This page does not re-rank those benches.
Why is the review count the same on three listings?
Each Harbour listing in this set shows 4.4 from 160 reviews, and the texts are one shared block, so 160 is not 480. Do not add the three counts. One review in that block says the bench is black, which is not evidence for the white listing. The same block includes a middle leg that snapped, bolts that failed, feet that dig in, and a collapse under a heavy sitter.
Do I need anyone to assemble a folding bench?
You do not need a tradesperson to open one. Keep hands off the hinge. Some assembly fields say no, which matches a pull-open. Others say yes, and one page says yes while the instructions say to open and secure the frame, so read both lines. Call someone for a hall capacity plan, after an injury from a failed leg, for a written BS EN 581 claim, or for contract paperwork. This page does not audit a named bench.

Our verdict

The Lifetime 80305 is the top pick: about £26.99, 4.8 from 3,542 reviews, and a safety locking mechanism named on the listing. The Harbour Housewares black pack of two is the best value only as a price per bench among the Harbour listings, about £31.00 a bench against £31.99 for the black single. Two Lifetime benches would still cost less if you do not need black. A stated load is the seller’s figure, and none of these listings cite BS EN 581-2.

Best overall
Lifetime 80305 6 ft fold-in-half bench

Lifetime 80305 6 ft fold-in-half bench

Largest review sample and a named safety lock, at the lowest price in this set.

View offer
Best value
Harbour Housewares 6 ft benches, pack of 2

Harbour Housewares 6 ft benches, pack of 2

Lowest price per bench among the Harbour listings, about £31.00 against £31.99 for the black single.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
DIY & toolsGarden furnitureamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 22 October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to folding benches

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, read with the amazon.co.uk lines for this set on 21 October 2026. There is no laboratory test.

  1. GOV.UK: General Product Safety Regulations 2005 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. legislation.gov.uk: SI 2005/1803 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. BS EN 581-1:2017 outdoor furniture general safety (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. BS EN 581-2 outdoor furniture seating tests (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. Shopping.co.uk: Lifetime 6 foot fold-in-half bench (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. Ideal Home: garden benches (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  8. Rinkit: black 6 ft folding trestle bench (retrieved 21 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Lee Burkhill (Garden Ninja) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines. We did not run a lab test.