Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Wire mesh fence comparison 2026

The best wire mesh fences, compared.

Top pick: Meanon plastic roll, 40 cm × 10 m Best value: VOUNOT PVC welded roll, 0.5 m × 10 m – Best value at about £14.99 for a printed 25 mm hole and a 1 mm wire on 10 m of PVC-coated welded mesh, at 0.5 m high and with a small UK review file. Updated October 2026.

UK listings mix light hexagonal chicken wire, welded mesh, fine welded cloth and plastic netting. Quality shows up as a printed hole size, a printed wire diameter, a coating you can check against rust notes, and whether posts are in the box. The holes are 100 mm by 50 mm. Chicken wire here will not keep a fox out. Name the job, then the hole, in the [wire mesh fence buying guide](/hub/fencing-and-wire/wire-mesh-fence/sub/wire-mesh-fence-buying-guide). A wire mesh fence here is sold as a roll, not as a rigid panel. You cut it and fix it to posts, a frame or a gate you already have. A pack of posts on its own is a different category. Four types sit in this set, and they do not do the same job. Hexagonal chicken wire bends around plants and gates and is easy to cut. It is the wrong sole barrier for a fox. One product, the kit, is plastic mesh with short posts and cable ties described in the bullets.

UK listings mix light hexagonal chicken wire, welded mesh, fine welded cloth and plastic netting.

Meanon plastic roll, 40 cm × 10 m

Best overall

Meanon plastic roll, 40 cm × 10 m
9.6/10∼ £14

38 products checked · 62 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

11 of 11: Best wire mesh fences compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 11
Best overall
Meanon plastic roll, 40 cm × 10 m
Green Haven PVC welded roll, 1 m × 10 m
TOYPOPOR hexagonal roll, 0.41 m × 15.24 m
Dnoifne plastic roll, 5 m × 40 cm
Thealyn PVC welded roll, 0.91 m × 15.2 m
UNU hexagonal roll, 0.4 m × 16 m
Best value
VOUNOT PVC welded roll, 0.5 m × 10 m
shsyue hexagonal roll, 0.4 m × 25 m
EzKamfort fine mesh roll, 0.9 m × 10 m
LITLANDSTAR plastic roll, 0.4 m × 15 m
RIFNY plastic kit, 0.8 m × 15 m
9.6/10
9.2/10
9.0/10
9.0/10
9.0/10
8.8/10
8.8/10
8.4/10
8.0/10
7.8/10
7.6/10
∼ £14
∼ £29
∼ £17
∼ £18
∼ £50
∼ £10
∼ £15
∼ £25
∼ £37
∼ £30
∼ £37
4.8(26)
4.6(217)
4.5(631)
4.5(277)
4.5(82)
4.4(662)
4.4(20)
4.2(42)
4.0(54)
3.9(3)
3.8(50)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best wire mesh fences in detail

Meanon plastic roll, 40 cm × 10 m

Rank 1

Meanon plastic roll, 40 cm × 10 m

∼£14

Our view

The Meanon roll is white HDPE hexagonal mesh, 40 cm by 10 m, with a printed hole of 8 mm, at about £13.99. The box lists one roll and 50 cable ties. Posts are not included. The listing says the mesh is UV-resistant and smooth, and the stated weight is 1 kg. The star line on the raw page is 4.8 from 26, and 18 UK texts follow, but that review block is printed under ASIN B0H5W5ZCQR while the product URL is B0H5VXZK4F. Read the stars with that clash in mind. Reviewers use it on balcony rails so a cat could not pass, and to support a honeysuckle, and they like that plastic does not rust. One review describes black mesh rather than white, one wanted 10 ft and found it short, and one describes 3 m rather than 10 m. An 8 mm hole is fine for a rail or a climber. Forty centimetres is not a garden boundary.

Pros

  • Printed 8 mm hexagonal hole
  • 50 cable ties listed with the roll
  • About £13.99, and reviewers use it on a balcony rail and a climber
  • Plastic, so the reviews that mention rust say it does not

Cons

  • Only 40 cm by 10 m
  • Star line sits under a different ASIN in the saved listing
  • Some reviews describe a black colour or a much shorter length
  • Posts are not included

Best for: You want a white 8 mm plastic roll and 50 ties for a balcony rail or a light plant support.

Less suitable: You need the review file to match this ASIN without a clash, or a fence taller than 40 cm.

Specifications

Model
Meanon plastic roll, 40 cm × 10 m
Brand
Meanon
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.8/5(26)
Mesh type
Plastic hexagonal
Hole size
8 mm
Finish
Plastic
Height
0.4 m
Length
10 m
Core
Plastic
Posts
No
Fixings
50 cable ties
Weight
1 kg
Colour
White

Common questions

Which ASIN is on the page?

The product URL is B0H5VXZK4F. The Additional Information line prints ASIN B0H5W5ZCQR, and the star line sits under that second ASIN. Read 4.8 from 26 with that clash in mind.

What comes in the box?

One white roll, 40 cm by 10 m, and 50 cable ties. Posts are not listed.

What is the hole size?

8 mm, also written as 0.3 in. The listing calls the mesh hexagonal HDPE.

Green Haven PVC welded roll, 1 m × 10 m

Rank 2

Green Haven PVC welded roll, 1 m × 10 m

∼£29

Our view

The Green Haven roll is green PVC-coated welded mesh, 1 m by 10 m, with a stated wire of 2 mm and a grid of 100 mm by 50 mm, at about £28.99. The listing says the core is electro-galvanised steel under the PVC, and the item weight is 4.1 kg. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.6 from 217 reviews. The first 50 UK texts often call it rigid and use it so dogs or a puppy cannot reach beds, a gate, or plants, and several like that wind can pass through it. One reviewer found welds missing, with the wire held only by the plastic coating, and a few call it flimsy. Included components are the steel wire fencing. The listing tells you to fix it with U-nail staples, and those staples are not in the box. A 100 mm hole is a wide opening for a rabbit or a small puppy even when the wire itself feels firm.

Pros

  • 1 m by 10 m, the tallest agreed height in this set
  • Stated 2 mm wire with green PVC over electro-galvanised steel
  • 4.6 from 217 amazon.co.uk reviews, often citing strength for dog gaps
  • About £28.99 for a full metre of welded mesh

Cons

  • Holes are 100 mm by 50 mm, wide for a rabbit or a small puppy
  • Posts and U-nail staples are not included
  • One review found welds missing under the plastic
  • A minority of reviews call the roll flimsy

Best for: You want a 1 m green garden roll at about £28.99 and a 100 mm by 50 mm hole is acceptable for the animal.

Less suitable: You need a hole under about 50 mm, posts in the box, or a mesh with no reported missing welds.

Specifications

Model
Green Haven PVC welded roll, 1 m × 10 m
Brand
Green Haven
Price
∼£29
Customer rating
4.6/5(217)
Mesh type
Welded
Hole size
100 × 50 mm
Finish
Green PVC
Height
1 m
Length
10 m
Core
2 mm steel
Posts
No
Weight
4.1 kg
Colour
Green

Common questions

Are staples or posts included?

Included components say steel wire fencing. The bullets tell you to fix it to timber posts with U-nail staples. Those staples are not listed in the box.

What is the hole size?

100 mm by 50 mm, also written on the listing as 4 in by 2 in. That opening is wide for a rabbit or a small puppy.

What is the coating?

Green PVC over 2 mm electro-galvanised steel wire. Galvanised here means zinc under the plastic, not a stated number of years.

TOYPOPOR hexagonal roll, 0.41 m × 15.24 m

Rank 3

TOYPOPOR hexagonal roll, 0.41 m × 15.24 m

∼£17

Our view

The TOYPOPOR roll is hexagonal iron wire at 0.6 mm, with holes the listing calls about 1 inch, and the dimensions line reads 15.24 m by 0.41 m at about £16.99. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.5 from 631 reviews, and the extract’s first 50 UK texts often praise the price and how easily the mesh cuts and bends around bulbs or a plant guard. Several of those reviews call the wire thin, loose, and too light for rabbits, and one says rabbits can chew through it. Edges are sharp enough that a reviewer tells you to wear gloves. The title, a 49 ft line, and a bullet that also mentions 33 ft do not all agree, so measure the roll before you plan a long run. The box is one roll. Posts and fixings are not listed.

Pros

  • 0.6 mm hexagonal mesh that reviewers cut and shape around plants
  • About £16.99 for a dimensions line of 15.24 m by 0.41 m
  • 4.5 from 631 amazon.co.uk reviews, with several noting no rust after about a month
  • Hot-dip galvanised wording on the listing

Cons

  • Reviewers call it flimsy, and one says rabbits chew through it
  • Sharp edges, so you supply gloves
  • Title, 49 ft, and a 33 ft bullet do not match the 15.24 m dimensions line
  • Posts and fixings are not in the box

Best for: You want a low, bendable plant guard or a short craft roll and you will add your own staples.

Less suitable: You need a rabbit barrier that reviewers could not chew through, or posts in the same box.

Specifications

Model
TOYPOPOR hexagonal roll, 0.41 m × 15.24 m
Brand
TOYPOPOR
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.5/5(631)
Mesh type
Hexagonal
Hole size
About 25 mm
Finish
Hot-dip galvanised
Height
0.41 m
Length
15.24 m
Core
0.6 mm iron
Weight
1.28 kg
Colour
Silver

Common questions

What hole size does the listing give?

The bullets say each hexagonal hole is about 1 inch. No millimetre size is printed. About 1 inch is about 25 mm.

Does the box include posts?

Posts, fixings, gloves and cutters are not listed. The package is described as one roll.

Do the size lines agree?

The dimensions line is 15.24 m by 0.41 m. The title says 16 in by 49 ft, and one bullet also mentions 33 ft. Measure the roll before you plan a long run.

Dnoifne plastic roll, 5 m × 40 cm

Rank 4

Dnoifne plastic roll, 5 m × 40 cm

∼£18

Our view

The Dnoifne roll is black plastic mesh, titled 5 m by 40 cm, at about £17.99, with a stated weight of 610 g. The shape is hexagonal. A hole size in millimetres is not printed, though one review mentions small holes. The box is the roll plus black plastic ties, and the tie count is not stated. Posts are not listed. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.5 from 277 reviews, and nine UK texts are in the extract. They call it fairly rigid and say cable ties hold it for the job on the label. One reviewer expected metal and found hard plastic. A kitten climbed it, so it did not stop that animal reaching wires. Five metres is a short run if you are edging more than a single bed or a tree. Plastic will not rust, and it also will not give you a steel gauge to compare.

Pros

  • About £17.99 for a short black plastic roll with ties
  • 4.5 from 277 reviews, with notes that it feels fairly rigid
  • Reviewers say it does not rust because it is plastic
  • Small holes mentioned in a review, even though the listing omits millimetres

Cons

  • Only 5 m by 40 cm
  • Hole size is not printed on the listing
  • A kitten climbed it in one review
  • Tie count is not stated, and one buyer expected metal

Best for: You want a short, rigid plastic guard for a tree or a single bed and you already know it is not wire.

Less suitable: You need a stated hole size, a metal core, or a barrier a kitten could not climb.

Specifications

Model
Dnoifne plastic roll, 5 m × 40 cm
Brand
Dnoifne
Price
∼£18
Customer rating
4.5/5(277)
Mesh type
Plastic hexagonal
Finish
Plastic
Height
0.4 m
Length
5 m
Core
Plastic
Posts
No
Fixings
Plastic ties
Weight
0.61 kg
Colour
Black

Common questions

Is this steel wire?

No. The listing says plastic. One review says it is hard plastic, not metal. There is no steel gauge to compare.

What is the hole size?

The item shape is hexagonal. No hole size in millimetres is printed. One review mentions small holes.

How long is the roll?

The title says 5 m by 40 cm. Weight is 610 g. Posts are not listed. The tie count is not stated.

Thealyn PVC welded roll, 0.91 m × 15.2 m

Rank 5

Thealyn PVC welded roll, 0.91 m × 15.2 m

∼£50

Our view

The Thealyn roll is black PVC-coated welded mesh titled 0.91 m by 15.2 m, with holes of 5 cm by 7.5 cm, at about £49.99. The highlight says 2 mm. It weighs 7.94 kg on the listing, and the amazon.co.uk line is 4.5 from 82 reviews. UK texts in the extract use it as a temporary dog or puppy line and call it sturdier than light hex. One reviewer measured the coated wire at about 1.7 mm, and another describes a height of about 0.6 m, so the title and the tape measure do not agree in those notes. Included components say fence mesh. Posts are not listed, even though the title says the mesh is for a fence post. You are paying the highest price in this set for a roll whose height and thickness are disputed in the review file.

Pros

  • Welded holes stated at 5 cm by 7.5 cm, smaller than a 100 mm garden grid
  • Reviews describe it as strong enough for a puppy railing
  • PVC-coated, and the highlight states 2 mm
  • 15.2 m on the dimensions line

Cons

  • About £49.99 is the dearest roll in this set
  • One review measured about 1.7 mm rather than the stated 2 mm
  • One review describes about 0.6 m rather than the titled 0.91 m
  • Posts are not in the included list

Best for: You want a PVC welded roll near 0.9 m and you can check the height with a tape when it arrives.

Less suitable: You need the stated 2 mm and 0.91 m to be confirmed before you pay about £49.99, or you need posts in the box.

Specifications

Model
Thealyn PVC welded roll, 0.91 m × 15.2 m
Brand
Thealyn
Price
∼£50
Customer rating
4.5/5(82)
Mesh type
Welded
Hole size
50 × 75 mm
Finish
PVC-coated
Height
0.91 m
Length
15.2 m
Core
2 mm listed
Posts
No
Weight
7.94 kg
Colour
Black

Common questions

Are posts included?

Included components say fence mesh. The title says the mesh is for a fence post. Posts are not listed in the box.

What wire thickness is stated?

The item highlight says 2 mm PVC-coated welded wire. One review measured about 1.7 mm.

What height is on the listing?

The title and the dimensions line say 0.91 m by 15.2 m. One review describes a height of about 0.6 m. Check it with a tape.

UNU hexagonal roll, 0.4 m × 16 m

Rank 6

UNU hexagonal roll, 0.4 m × 16 m

∼£10

Our view

The UNU roll is galvanised hexagonal netting, 0.4 m by 16 m, with a stated wire of 0.5 mm and holes of 2.5 cm by 5 cm, at about £9.99. It is the lowest price in this set, and the amazon.co.uk line is 4.4 from 662 reviews. UK texts praise how it bends for a gate against a cat, a lawn, or seed cover, and one says a kitten could not find a way through. The same file calls the wire thin. One reviewer doubled it because squirrels could use the holes, and another doubts it would stop a fox. Included components are the chicken wire. Gloves, snips, and a 5 m length show up in some reviews and are not on that line, so do not expect them. At 0.5 mm this is a light bed guard, not a boundary.

Pros

  • About £9.99 for 16 m at 0.4 m high
  • Printed holes of 2.5 cm by 5 cm and a stated 0.5 mm wire
  • 4.4 from 662 reviews, with praise for cutting and shaping
  • Light enough for a gate or a seed cover

Cons

  • 0.5 mm wire that reviews call thin
  • One side of the hole is 5 cm
  • A reviewer doubts it as a fox barrier
  • Some reviews describe gloves or a 5 m roll that the listing does not include

Best for: You want the cheapest light hex roll in this set for plants, a gate, or a craft, and you will supply your own fixings.

Less suitable: You need wire nearer 1 mm, a hole no wider than 2.5 cm, or a kit of gloves and tools in the box.

Specifications

Model
UNU hexagonal roll, 0.4 m × 16 m
Brand
UNU
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.4/5(662)
Mesh type
Hexagonal
Hole size
25 × 50 mm
Finish
Galvanised
Height
0.4 m
Length
16 m
Core
0.5 mm
Posts
No
Weight
1.05 kg
Colour
Silver

Common questions

What is the hole size?

The bullets say 2.5 cm by 5 cm, which is 25 mm by 50 mm. One side is wider than the about 2.5 cm figure in RHS rabbit guidance.

Are gloves or cutters included?

Included components say chicken wire. Gloves, snips and ties are not listed. Some reviews describe a different kit, so do not expect them in this 16 m box.

How thick is the wire?

0.5 mm. Reviews often call it thin or light gauge. It is a light bed guard, not a fox barrier.

VOUNOT PVC welded roll, 0.5 m × 10 m

Rank 7

VOUNOT PVC welded roll, 0.5 m × 10 m

∼£15

Our view

The VOUNOT roll is green PVC-coated welded mesh, 0.5 m by 10 m, with a printed hole of 25 mm and a printed wire of 1 mm, at about £14.99. The listing weight is 1.5 kg. Included components are the welded wire mesh, and the bullets tell you to cut it with wire cutters and fix it to posts you already have. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.4 from 20 reviews, and the extract uses five UK texts. Those notes call it good value, like the square holes on a chicken house, and describe stapling it to a fence for climbing plants. The only clear criticism in that small file is that 25 mm was too fine for a robin and blue-tit feeder until the reviewer cut larger holes. Five UK texts are a thin sample beside 20 stars. The height stops at half a metre, so this is a low guard with a hole and a diameter you can read, not a 1 m boundary.

Pros

  • Printed 25 mm hole and 1 mm wire
  • About £14.99 for 10 m of PVC-coated welded mesh
  • UK reviews cite square holes on a chicken house and use on a plant fence
  • Green PVC over a welded steel core

Cons

  • Only 0.5 m high
  • Five UK review texts against a line of 20
  • Posts and staples are not included
  • 25 mm was too small for one reviewer’s bird feeder

Best for: You want a low welded roll with a 25 mm hole and a 1 mm wire printed on the listing, at about £14.99.

Less suitable: You need a 1 m boundary, a large UK review file, or posts in the box.

Specifications

Model
VOUNOT PVC welded roll, 0.5 m × 10 m
Brand
VOUNOT
Price
∼£15
Customer rating
4.4/5(20)
Mesh type
Welded
Hole size
25 mm
Finish
PVC-coated
Height
0.5 m
Length
10 m
Core
1 mm
Posts
No
Weight
1.5 kg
Colour
Green

Common questions

What wire thickness is stated?

1 mm. Item diameter and item thickness both say 1 millimetre. That is thicker than the 0.5 mm and 0.6 mm hex rolls in this set.

Are posts included?

Included components say welded wire mesh. The bullets say to fix it to posts or frames you already have. Staples are not listed.

Can the listing confirm a rabbit mesh?

The printed hole size is 25 mm, which matches the about 2.5 cm figure in RHS rabbit guidance. The roll is only 0.5 m high and has no buried skirt. No separate test result is given.

shsyue hexagonal roll, 0.4 m × 25 m

Rank 8

shsyue hexagonal roll, 0.4 m × 25 m

∼£25

Our view

The shsyue roll is hexagonal wire listed at 40 cm by 25 m and 0.6 mm, at about £24.99. The size bullet says an aperture of 1.6 mm, which would be a cloth, not chicken wire. One UK review says the holes are 25 mm. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.2 from 42 reviews, with 13 UK texts in the extract. Those texts like the length for a puppy gap, rose guards, and a parrot aviary, and they also report rust after about three weeks, within five months, and in under two months, despite the galvanised wording. One review describes 15 m rather than 25 m, and another says the bottom row unravelled. Posts are not listed. Treat the 1.6 mm line as a clash, not as a rodent mesh you can trust from the title.

Pros

  • Listed length of 25 m at 40 cm, longer than the other low hex rolls
  • 0.6 mm wire that reviewers could cut into plant rings
  • Used in reviews for a low puppy gap and rose guards

Cons

  • Reviews report rust within weeks or months outdoors
  • Listed aperture of 1.6 mm against a review measurement of 25 mm
  • One review describes 15 m rather than 25 m
  • Bottom edge unravelled in one review, and posts are not listed

Best for: You want a long 40 cm hex roll for a dry, short-term craft or guard and you will check the hole yourself.

Less suitable: You need a coating that these UK reviews did not see rust through, or a hole size the listing and a reviewer agree on.

Specifications

Model
shsyue hexagonal roll, 0.4 m × 25 m
Brand
shsyue
Price
∼£25
Customer rating
4.2/5(42)
Mesh type
Hexagonal
Hole size
1.6 mm
Finish
Galvanised
Height
0.4 m
Length
25 m
Core
0.6 mm

Common questions

What hole size is printed?

The size bullet says aperture 1.6 mm. One review says the holes are 25 mm. Treat that as a clash and measure the roll.

Does the listing say it is galvanised?

Yes. The title and bullets say galvanised. Reviews report rust after a few weeks or months outside. Galvanised is not a stated life.

Are posts included?

Posts and fixings are not listed. You supply staples and posts.

EzKamfort fine mesh roll, 0.9 m × 10 m

Rank 9

EzKamfort fine mesh roll, 0.9 m × 10 m

∼£37

Our view

The EzKamfort roll is a fine mesh, 0.9 m by 10 m, with holes of 6.3 mm by 6.3 mm and a stated wire of 0.6 mm, at about £36.99. The listing calls it hot-dip galvanised steel and tells you to wear gloves. It weighs 5.9 kg. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.0 from 54 reviews, with 26 UK texts in the extract. Some reviewers cut it for a dog rail and call the price fair. Several say the welded joints break when the mesh is cut or bent, and several report rust within weeks, in rain, or before use, against the galvanised line. The roll springs back and is awkward to hold flat. Included components are listed as none, so posts and gloves are yours. A 6.3 mm hole is a rodent or aviary cloth, and the thin welds are the part the reviews say opens.

Pros

  • Printed holes of 6.3 mm, the finest steel grid in this set
  • 0.9 m by 10 m, taller than the 40 cm hex rolls
  • Some reviewers cut it to dog-proof a rail
  • The listing tells you to wear gloves before you start

Cons

  • Reviews say welds break when the mesh is cut or bent
  • Rust within weeks despite the hot-dip wording
  • Sharp wire and a roll that springs back
  • 0.6 mm wire at about £36.99, and no posts in the box

Best for: You want a 6.3 mm galvanised cloth for a small opening and you can accept broken welds and early rust in these reviews.

Less suitable: You need welds that stay closed after a cut, or a coating these UK reviews did not see hold outdoors.

Specifications

Model
EzKamfort fine mesh roll, 0.9 m × 10 m
Brand
EzKamfort
Price
∼£37
Customer rating
4.0/5(54)
Mesh type
Fine mesh
Hole size
6.3 mm
Finish
Hot-dip galvanised
Height
0.9 m
Length
10 m
Core
0.6 mm
Posts
No
Weight
5.9 kg

Common questions

What is the hole size?

6.3 mm by 6.3 mm. Wire diameter is 0.6 mm. That is a rodent or aviary cloth, not a 100 mm garden grid.

Does the listing include posts?

Included components say no. Gloves are recommended and are not listed as included.

What do reviews say about rust?

The listing says hot-dip galvanised. Several reviews report rust within weeks, in rain, or before the roll was used. Several also say welds break when the mesh is cut.

LITLANDSTAR plastic roll, 0.4 m × 15 m

Rank 10

LITLANDSTAR plastic roll, 0.4 m × 15 m

∼£30

Our view

The LITLANDSTAR roll is black HDPE plastic, not steel, listed at about 0.4 m by 15 m and about £29.99, with a stated weight of 1.81 kg. The box includes the roll and 150 zip ties. Posts are not listed. The listing calls the mesh finer and says it is too small for chickens, squirrels, birds, and rabbits, but it never prints a hole size in millimetres, so you cannot check that claim against a rabbit or a puppy. The amazon.co.uk line is 3.9 from 3 reviews, and the saved listing has no review text at all. Plastic will not rust, and it also has no wire diameter. At this price you are buying ties and an unstated hole, with almost no UK comment to read.

Pros

  • Plastic HDPE, so there is no steel to rust
  • 150 zip ties are listed in the box
  • About 15 m of length at a stated 0.4 m height

Cons

  • Hole size is not printed
  • 3.9 from 3 reviews and no review text in the saved listing
  • Posts are not included
  • About £29.99 for a 0.4 m plastic roll with no millimetre hole

Best for: You want a low plastic roll with a large pack of zip ties and you do not need a stated hole size.

Less suitable: You need a millimetre hole, a UK review you can read, or a steel gauge.

Specifications

Model
LITLANDSTAR plastic roll, 0.4 m × 15 m
Brand
LITLANDSTAR
Price
∼£30
Customer rating
3.9/5(3)
Mesh type
Plastic
Finish
Plastic
Height
0.4 m
Length
15 m
Core
Plastic
Posts
No
Fixings
150 zip ties
Weight
1.81 kg
Colour
Black

Common questions

What is the hole size?

The listing calls it a finer mesh and does not print a hole size in millimetres. You cannot check that claim against a rabbit or a puppy.

What is in the box?

One roll of plastic mesh and 150 zip ties. Posts are not listed.

Are there review texts?

The listing line is 3.9 out of 5 from 3 reviews. The saved listing has no review text.

RIFNY plastic kit, 0.8 m × 15 m

Rank 11

RIFNY plastic kit, 0.8 m × 15 m

∼£37

Our view

The RIFNY listing is a temporary plastic mesh kit, 0.8 m high by 15 m long, with holes of 16 mm by 18 mm, at about £36.99. It is the only product in this set whose bullets describe posts: two short posts joined by a tube, then a ground stake, plus 52 cable ties. The amazon.co.uk line is 3.8 from 50 reviews, and 17 UK texts are in the extract. Reviewers put it up quickly for a puppy, plants, or an allotment, and they also call the mesh too light as a dog fence. One says it will not keep chickens in, and another says a light fence blew away. Hard or root-filled ground makes the stakes difficult to push in. A post count is not printed, and one review describes a 1.2 m version at a different price, so stay on this 0.8 m by 15 m line.

Pros

  • Posts, a connecting tube, and 52 cable ties are described in the bullets
  • Printed holes of 16 mm by 18 mm
  • 0.8 m height, taller than the 40 cm plastic rolls
  • Reviewers cut it with scissors for a temporary puppy line

Cons

  • Reviews call it too light for a dog fence
  • One reviewer says it will not keep chickens in
  • Stakes are hard to push into hard ground, and wind took one fence
  • Post count is not printed

Best for: You want a temporary 0.8 m plastic line with posts already described in the box, for a puppy or a bed you can watch.

Less suitable: You need a steel fence that UK reviewers trusted with a dog or with chickens.

Specifications

Model
RIFNY plastic kit, 0.8 m × 15 m
Brand
RIFNY
Price
∼£37
Customer rating
3.8/5(50)
Mesh type
Plastic kit
Hole size
16 × 18 mm
Finish
Plastic
Height
0.8 m
Length
15 m
Core
Plastic
Posts
Yes
Fixings
52 cable ties
Weight
2.63 kg

Common questions

Are posts in the box?

Yes. The listing describes short posts, a connecting tube and a ground stake, plus 52 cable ties. A post count is not printed. This is the only kit in the set that describes posts.

What size is this ASIN?

The model line is 0.8 m high by 15 m long, with holes of 16 mm by 18 mm. The listing also names other heights and lengths. Stay on this line.

Is the mesh steel?

No. The bullets call it plastic mesh fencing. No steel wire diameter is stated. Reviews call it too light for a dog fence.

How we compared

Eleven amazon.co.uk wire mesh fence listings were read for hole size, wire diameter or a plastic core, coating, height, and whether posts or fixings are listed. Card scores follow the amazon.co.uk star line, mapped as the star rating times two on a ten-point scale. The top pick and the best value are the marks already on the Green Haven and VOUNOT listings, for a stated job inside this set, not a best-in-Britain ranking. The weights below are the share of those checks. Prices are the figures stored on 19 October 2026. This is not a laboratory test. None of these listings states BS EN 10223 or BS 1722-2.

1

Hole size and job

25%

The job sets the hole. A printed millimetre size you can check against a plant, a puppy, poultry or a rabbit scores this block. A missing hole, or a title that clashes with a review measurement, loses it.

2

Wire or plastic core

20%

A printed steel diameter is compared with the light 0.5 mm and 0.6 mm rolls in this set. Plastic has no steel gauge. A listed 2 mm that a review measured thinner is not treated as confirmed.

3

Coating

20%

Galvanised means zinc, not a number of years. Hot-dip and PVC wording are read against rust notes. A star rating does not prove the coating.

4

Height and the nation

15%

Finished height is read against the usual 1 metre limit beside a vehicular highway and 2 metres elsewhere in England, Wales and Northern Ireland, and against Scotland’s separate householder and flat tests. A title that disagrees with a measured height loses this block.

5

Posts, fixings and reviews

20%

Posts or ties in the box, the size of the UK review sample, and notes on rust, broken welds or a length that does not match the title. Staples and a skirt are not assumed.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Wire mesh fence buying guide

Choose the job before the brand. A plant guard, a hedge gap, a puppy, poultry and a temporary line need different holes, heights and cores. Light hex, welded mesh, fine cloth and plastic are all in this set, and they are not substitutes. Prices below are amazon.co.uk shelf prices stored on 19 October 2026.

What is a wire mesh fence?

A wire mesh fence here is sold as a roll, not as a rigid panel. You cut it and fix it to posts, a frame or a gate you already have. One product, the RIFNY kit, is plastic mesh with short posts and cable ties described in the bullets. A pack of posts on its own is a different category. Four types sit in this set, and they do not do the same job. Hexagonal chicken wire bends around plants and gates and is easy to cut. It is the wrong sole barrier for a fox.

Best for

  • A low plant guard or a gate where light hex is enough
  • A temporary puppy or bed line you can watch
  • A low chicken-house panel with a printed hole

Not ideal for

  • A fox-proof or deer-proof boundary
  • A rabbit fence at RHS height with a buried skirt
  • A run beside a road that may exceed 1 metre

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying 0.5 mm hex for a fox

    The UNU roll is 0.5 mm and a reviewer doubts it as a fox barrier. The RSPCA points to heavy welded mesh, height and a ground skirt. Chicken wire in this set is a light enclosure, not a fox fence.

  2. 2

    Trusting the word galvanised

    Galvanised means zinc, not a number of years. Reviews of the shsyue roll and the EzKamfort roll report rust within weeks or months despite galvanised or hot-dip wording. A star rating does not prove the coating.

  3. 3

    Ignoring posts and a clashing size

    Most rolls are mesh only. Staples, line wire and a skirt are a second purchase. The TOYPOPOR title, a 49 ft line and a 33 ft bullet do not match the 15.24 m dimensions line. Measure before you plan the run. A 100 mm hole is the wrong mesh for a rabbit or a small puppy.

What to weigh up

Hole size and the job

High

The first check is the job, and the job sets the hole. A plant guard, a gap in a hedge, a puppy, poultry and a temporary line are different products even when the title says wire mesh fence. RHS rabbit guidance is about 2.5 cm mesh, 120–140 cm high, with the bottom 30 cm sunk and the lower 15 cm turned out. Nothing in this set is that full specification. The VOUNOT roll prints 25 mm, which is the 2.5 cm figure, but it is only 0.5 m high and it has no skirt.

Coating, diameter and posts

High

Wire diameter and the coating come next. Rolls at 0.5 mm, the UNU roll, and at 0.6 mm, the TOYPOPOR, shsyue and EzKamfort rolls, are light. UK trade rabbit netting is often sold around 1.0–1.2 mm. VOUNOT prints 1 mm. Green Haven and the Thealyn highlight print 2 mm, and one Thealyn review measured about 1.7 mm. Galvanised means zinc, not a stated life. Reviews of the shsyue roll and the EzKamfort roll report rust within weeks or months despite galvanised or hot-dip wording.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A low guard for plants or a gate

You want light hex you can cut around bulbs, a lawn edge or a gate, and you will add your own staples. The UNU roll is about £9.99 for 0.4 m by 16 m, with holes of 25 mm by 50 mm and 0.5 mm wire. Reviews call it thin. It is a bed guard, not a boundary.

A taller gap a dog should not walk through

You want the tallest agreed steel roll in this set and you can accept a wide grid. The Green Haven roll is the top pick at about £28.99, 1 m by 10 m, with a stated 2 mm wire. The holes are 100 mm by 50 mm, so a small puppy can still meet that opening, and posts are not in the box.

A low panel on a chicken house

You want welded mesh with a hole and a diameter you can read, for a house or a low run, not a fox fence. The VOUNOT roll is the best value at about £14.99: 0.5 m by 10 m, a 25 mm hole and 1 mm wire. Five UK texts is a thin sample. A fox still needs heavier mesh, height and a skirt that this roll does not provide.

Common questions about wire mesh fences

Which wire mesh fence is the top pick for 2026?
The top pick in this set is the Green Haven roll at about £28.99. It is 1 m by 10 m, with a stated 2 mm wire, green PVC over electro-galvanised steel, and 4.6 from 217 amazon.co.uk ratings. The holes are 100 mm by 50 mm, which is wide for a rabbit or a small puppy, and posts are not in the box. One review found welds missing under the plastic. It is the tallest agreed garden roll here, not a fox fence.
How much does a wire mesh fence cost on amazon.co.uk?
In this set the shelf prices stored on 19 October 2026 run from about £9.99 for the UNU hex roll, 0.4 m by 16 m at 0.5 mm, to about £49.99 for the Thealyn PVC welded roll. A useful mid band is about £25 to £37, including the Green Haven roll at about £28.99. A heavier Suregreen roll outside this set, 1.6 m by 30 m, was about £183.99. Price per metre is only a rule of thumb, because height and wire diameter differ.
What should you check before you buy a wire mesh fence?
Name the job first: a plant guard, a hedge gap, a puppy, poultry, or a temporary line. Then read the hole in millimetres, the wire diameter, and whether the core is steel or plastic. Galvanised means zinc, not a number of years. Check the finished height against the nation you live in, and check whether posts are listed. Only the RIFNY kit in this set describes posts in the box. If the title and the dimensions line disagree, measure the roll before you plan the run.
Will chicken wire keep a fox out?
No roll in this set should be treated as fox-proof. The RSPCA says chicken wire will not reliably keep foxes or rodents out of a run, and it points to heavy welded mesh, height, and a ground skirt. Light hex here is 0.5 mm or 0.6 mm. A reviewer of the UNU roll doubts it as a fox barrier. Poultry still need a house that locks at night. The Animal Welfare Act 2006 does not print a mesh size.
How high can a fence be before you need planning permission?
It depends on the nation and the position. In England, Wales and Northern Ireland the usual permitted height is 1 metre next to a vehicular highway and 2 metres elsewhere, with extra limits for a listed building or an Article 4 direction. Scotland’s householder class uses 1 metre towards a road or forward of the principal elevation, and flats use a 20 metre road test. These rolls do not remove that check. If the line is beside a road and may exceed 1 metre, ask the planning authority.
Do wire mesh fence rolls include posts?
In this set, only the RIFNY plastic kit describes posts: short posts, a connecting tube, a ground stake, and 52 cable ties, for a 0.8 m by 15 m temporary line. Reviews call that mesh too light for a dog fence. The steel rolls list the mesh only. Green Haven tells you to use U-nail staples, and those staples are not in the box. Staples, line wire and a skirt are usually a second purchase.
When is a rigid mesh panel a better fit than a roll?
A roll is what you cut around a bed, a gate or an odd gap. A rigid mesh fence panel is a sheet or a short run of panels, and it is a different product. If you want a panel with a named wire and a powder coat rather than a roll of hex or welded mesh, use the mesh fence panel comparison. Do not treat a 40 cm plastic roll as a boundary. A 100 mm hole is also the wrong mesh for a rabbit.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Green Haven roll at about £28.99. It is the tallest agreed height in this set, 1 m by 10 m, with a stated 2 mm wire and green PVC over electro-galvanised steel, at 4.6 from 217 ratings. The holes are 100 mm by 50 mm, posts are not included, and one review found welds missing under the plastic. The best value is the VOUNOT roll at about £14.99: a printed 25 mm hole, a 1 mm wire, and 10 m of PVC-coated welded mesh at 0.5 m high. Five UK texts against a line of 20 is a thin sample, so it is a low guard with readable figures, not a 1 m boundary.

Best overall
Meanon plastic roll, 40 cm × 10 m

Meanon plastic roll, 40 cm × 10 m

View offer
Best value
VOUNOT PVC welded roll, 0.5 m × 10 m

VOUNOT PVC welded roll, 0.5 m × 10 m

Best value at about £14.99 for a printed 25 mm hole and a 1 mm wire on 10 m of PVC-coated welded mesh, at 0.5 m high and with a small UK review file.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
FencingWire meshamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to wire mesh fences

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings used for this comparison. Prices stored 19 October 2026.

  1. Town and Country Planning (General Permitted Development) (England) Order 2015, Schedule 2, Part 2, Class A (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. Planning Portal: fences, gates and garden walls (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. GOV.WALES: planning permission for fences, gates and garden walls (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. Scottish Government, Planning circular 1/2024: Class 3E householder permitted development (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. Planning (General Permitted Development) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015, Part 3, Class A (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. Animal Welfare Act 2006, section 9 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. RSPCA: chickens (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. RHS: rabbits (retrieved 19 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Lee Burkhill (Garden Ninja) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the listings. This is not a laboratory test.