Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Electric fence energiser 12V comparison 2026

The best electric fence energisers 12V, compared.

Top pick: liusukeji 3 J energiser Best value: tuotian C1403 – Best value for a stated 2 J at about £52.68, with 4.1 from 48 reviews, just under the BA80 price. Updated October 2026.

A 12 V electric fence energiser clips to a battery when the fence has no 13 A socket. Horse owners and smallholders use one on temporary grazing. Judge a listing by output joules, the components line, and whether the earth rod and the battery are in the box. A green light means the unit is pulsing, not that the wire is live. Six reviews at 4.8 are too small a sample for that award. Use 12 V only when you will charge a battery away from a socket. If a socket is close, or applies, that item asks for a mains energiser. Joules and box contents are in the [12 V energiser buying guide](/hub/fencing-and-wire/electric-fence-energiser-12v/sub/electric-fence-energiser-12v-buying-guide). A solar box whose 12 V figure is only a charger is a different product.

A 12 V electric fence energiser clips to a battery when the fence has no 13 A socket. Horse owners and smallholders use one on temporary grazing.

liusukeji 3 J energiser

Best overall

liusukeji 3 J energiser
7.0/10∼ £42

36 products checked · 61 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

10 of 10: Best electric fence energisers 12V compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 10
Best overall
liusukeji 3 J energiser
xueyang C1403
Best value
tuotian C1403
XSTOP BA80
LFP8
W-EF-01
Briidea HEFC-02UK
AUSTUFF WTR003
AUSTUFF XSD-260B
Trsaow Dmt10-80
7.0/10
7.6/10
8.2/10
8.8/10
6.8/10
6.4/10
6.0/10
6.6/10
3.6/10
4.4/10
∼ £42
∼ £57
∼ £53
∼ £55
∼ £50
∼ £43
∼ £40
∼ £46
∼ £46
∼ £80
4.8(6)
4.7(12)
4.1(48)
4.0(2,118)
4.0(11)
3.8(44)
3.8(33)
3.8(21)
2.0(1)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best electric fence energisers 12V in detail

liusukeji 3 J energiser

Rank 1

liusukeji 3 J energiser

∼£42

Our view

The liusukeji charger is £42.49 and states 3 joule at 12 kV, a 24 km range and a one-second pulse, with a UK mains adapter in the bullets and a 12 V battery or solar panel sold separately. The case is claimed waterproof from −20 °C to 60 °C, with no IP code, and the unit weighs 980 g. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.8 from six reviews. One buyer kept a Shetland off the areas they wanted clear, the LED is used to see input voltage and an active output, one report says it held through heavy rain, and one battery was still charged after almost two months. The only practical fault in those six texts is short power cables and battery clips, so you may need extra wire to reach the battery or the earth rod, which is not named in the components line. No failure is recorded in this file. Six reviews are too small a sample to treat 4.8 as a settled score beside listings with hundreds or thousands of ratings.

Pros

  • £42.49 with 3 J at 12 kV stated, and a UK mains adapter in the bullets
  • LED used for input voltage and active output
  • One report of a Shetland kept off chosen areas, and one battery still charged after almost two months

Cons

  • Only six reviews, so 4.8 is not a settled score
  • Power cables and battery clips called short
  • Earth stake is not named in the components line, and the battery is extra

Best for: You want a stated 3 J unit with a UK mains adapter in the bullets and you accept a six-review sample.

Less suitable: You are choosing on star average alone, or you need leads long enough to reach the battery without extra wire.

Specifications

Model
liusukeji 3 J energiser
Brand
liusukeji
Price
∼£42
Customer rating
4.8/5(6)
Power source
Mains, 12 V or solar
Output energy
3 J
Stated range
24 km
Peak voltage
12 kV
Weather rating
Waterproof, no IP
Leads included
Yes
Battery included
No
Pulse indicator
LED display
Animals stated
Horses, cattle, foxes

Common questions

Does this include a 12 V battery?

No. The listing includes a UK mains adapter. A 12 V battery or a solar panel is sold separately, and batteries required is yes.

Is an earth stake in the box?

The components line names the charger only. The listing tells you to connect a ground rod. It does not list a rod.

What output does the listing state?

3 J at 12 kV, a stated 24 km range, and a 1-second pulse. Six amazon.co.uk reviews, 4.8.

xueyang C1403

Rank 2

xueyang C1403

∼£57

Our view

The xueyang C1403 is £56.59, states 2 joule and up to 10 km, and lists a 1 m battery cable plus a plug power cord, battery cables, fence wire and a ground wire. The ground wire is a lead, not an earth rod. The case is IPX5 and the listing still says to add a protective case, an LED shows fence voltage, and the unit weighs 990 g. amazon.co.uk shows 4.7 from 12 reviews. Buyers describe an easy 12 V setup where there is no socket, use the display to see that the unit is live, and call it enough for a smallholding fence. Wire, insulators and the battery are still extra, one buyer plans a box despite the IPX5 line, and winter charging of the battery is called out as extra work. The file has no dead-on-arrival report in the 11 review texts, though several of those reviews are long and generic. Twelve reviews at 4.7 remain a small sample, and this ASIN is not the tuotian C1403 even though the model string matches.

Pros

  • 2 J at £56.59, with a stated 1 m battery cable and fence and ground leads
  • 4.7 from 12 reviews, with an easy no-socket setup described
  • LED of fence voltage, and no dead-on-arrival note in the 11 review texts

Cons

  • Only 12 reviews, and several texts are long and generic
  • Earth rod is not included, and a buyer still plans a box over the IPX5 case
  • Same C1403 model string as the tuotian ASIN at a different price

Best for: You have no socket, you want the leads and a 1 m battery cable in the components line, and you accept a 12-review sample.

Less suitable: You need a large review file, or you assume this parcel matches the tuotian C1403.

Specifications

Model
xueyang C1403
Brand
xueyang
Price
∼£57
Customer rating
4.7/5(12)
Power source
12 V and plug cord
Output energy
2 J
Stated range
10 km
Weather rating
IPX5
Earth stake
No
Leads included
Yes
Battery included
No
Pulse indicator
LED fence voltage
Animals stated
Cattle, horses, pigs

Common questions

Does xueyang include an earth rod?

No. The components line has a ground wire, which is a lead, plus a plug cord, battery cables, and fence wire. The battery is not included.

Is it only 12 V?

The title says 12 V battery powered, and a 1 m battery cable is included. The components line also lists a plug power cord.

How large is the review sample?

4.7 out of 5 from 12 amazon.co.uk reviews.

tuotian C1403

Rank 3

tuotian C1403

∼£53

Our view

The tuotian C1403 is listed at £52.68 as a 2 joule 12 V energiser with a stated 10 km range, an IPX5 case and an LED for input, battery and output, at 1 kg. amazon.co.uk shows 4.1 from 48 reviews. Reviewers describe a serious pulse in line with the 2 J claim and use it on ponies, goats and cows, with a straightforward pair of terminals for a separate earth and the fence. The components line is the energiser only, and several UK reviews say an earth rod shown in the advert was not in the parcel. The waterproof wording clashes with a booklet that tells you to use an enclosure, and one review says there is no off switch. It shares the model string C1403 with the xueyang listing, which is a different ASIN and a different price, so the two parcels are not the same product. In this set it is the best value when you want a stated 2 J for £2.31 less than the BA80 and a sample of 48 reviews you can actually read. The missing rod is a contents complaint, not a counted failure rate.

Pros

  • £52.68 for a stated 2 J, with 4.1 from 48 reviews
  • Pulse described as serious, and used on ponies, goats and cows
  • LED for input, battery and output on a simple two-terminal layout

Cons

  • Advertised earth rod missing from the box in several reviews
  • IPX5 line clashes with a booklet that says use a waterproof enclosure
  • No off switch in one review, and the same C1403 name sits on another ASIN

Best for: You want more than 0.6 J stated output, at a price just under the BA80, and a review sample larger than a dozen.

Less suitable: You need the earth rod in the parcel, or you will treat this as the same unit as the xueyang C1403.

Specifications

Model
tuotian C1403
Brand
tuotian
Price
∼£53
Customer rating
4.1/5(48)
Power source
12 V battery
Output energy
2 J
Stated range
10 km
Weather rating
IPX5
Earth stake
No
Battery included
No
Pulse indicator
LED, input and output
Animals stated
Cattle, horses, pigs

Common questions

Is the earth stake in the tuotian box?

The components line is the energiser only. Several reviewers say the earth rod in the advert was not in the parcel.

Can it sit in the rain?

The listing says IPX5 and also says open air shortens the life, so use a waterproof enclosure.

Is this the same unit as the other C1403?

Same model string as xueyang B0H2VGJ7JG. Different ASIN, price, and components line. Do not merge them.

XSTOP BA80

Rank 4

XSTOP BA80

∼£55

Our view

The XSTOP BA80 is a 12 V energiser at £54.99 that states 0.6 joule and a 10 km range, in a 508 g IP54 case, with an earth stake, leads and crocodile clips in the kit and no battery. Across 2,118 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.0, buyers describe a click that horses notice, including a stallion held beside mares, and one use on about 1 km of cattle wire. Some units are still reported after about two years, and one buyer reports about four years. Reviews say there is no on/off switch, so people disconnect the clips or switch the supply off before they handle the fence. The included stake is called long enough for rocky ground by one buyer and small or light for dry or hard ground by others, and some battery leads are called short. Units are also reported dead after 48 hours, a few weeks or several months, including one repair that found a burnt diode while the green light still flashed, and a red light on a full battery with no pulse. Seller replacements appear in the file, which is not a failure rate, and this is the top pick here because the review sample is far larger than any other listing in the set.

Pros

  • £54.99 with 4.0 from 2,118 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • 0.6 J, IP54, and an earth stake plus leads in the listed kit
  • Horse and cattle use described, including an audible click
  • Some buyers report the same unit after about two to four years

Cons

  • No on/off switch in the reviews, so you disconnect the clips
  • Included stake called small or light for dry or hard ground
  • Early failures reported from 48 hours to under a year, including a burnt diode with the green light still flashing

Best for: You want the largest review sample in this set for a short, cleaner horse or cattle line on a 12 V battery.

Less suitable: You need more than 0.6 J stated output, or an on/off switch on the case.

Specifications

Model
XSTOP BA80
Brand
XSTOP
Price
∼£55
Customer rating
4.0/5(2,118)
Power source
12 V battery
Output energy
0.6 J
Stated range
10 km
Weather rating
IP54
Earth stake
Yes
Leads included
Yes
Battery included
No
Pulse indicator
Green run, red if low
Animals stated
Horses, other stock

Common questions

Does the XSTOP BA80 include a battery?

No. The listing says a 12 V car or leisure battery is not included. You connect it with the crocodile clips in the kit.

Is there an on/off switch?

Reviewers report there is no on/off switch. They disconnect the battery clips, or switch the supply off, before they handle the fence.

What energy and range does the listing state?

The listing states 0.6 joule output and a 10 km range, with an IP54 case and an earth stake included.

LFP8

Rank 5

LFP8

∼£50

Our view

The M MINGYA LFP8 is a 12 V leisure-battery energiser at £49.99 that states 1 joule and a range of up to 25 miles, with an LED that is green when it is running and red when the battery is low. The bullets list an earth lead, a fence clip, a fence lead and battery cables, the battery is not included, the housing is ABS with no IP code, and the unit weighs 800 g. amazon.co.uk shows 4.0 from 11 reviews, and the title is aimed at horses. One buyer held a young cob, an accidental shock is described as strong, one parcel did include the battery, fence and earth leads, and one horse fence was still working after about two months. Other buyers did not receive an earth stake the description had led them to expect, and the pictures do not show one. One unit arrived without the green earth lead and showed a red LED on a fully charged battery, and that unit was returned as defective. Eleven reviews are a short file, and a 25 mile line is a clean-fence claim on the listing, not a measurement of a paddock.

Pros

  • 1 J at £49.99, with earth, fence and battery leads named in the bullets
  • Held a young cob, with a strong accidental shock described
  • LED green in normal running and red when the battery is low

Cons

  • Earth stake not received, and not shown in the pictures
  • One return with a missing earth lead and a red LED on a full battery
  • No IP code, and only 11 reviews behind the 25 mile claim

Best for: You want a horse-titled 1 J unit with leads in the bullets and you will supply your own earth stake.

Less suitable: You are buying because the page says 25 miles, or you need a stake that the pictures actually show.

Specifications

Model
LFP8
Brand
M MINGYA
Price
∼£50
Customer rating
4.0/5(11)
Power source
12 V battery
Output energy
1 J
Stated range
25 miles
Earth stake
No
Leads included
Yes
Battery included
No
Pulse indicator
Green run, red if low
Animals stated
Horses

Common questions

Does the LFP8 include a battery?

No. It clips to a 12 V leisure battery that you supply.

Is the earth stake included?

The bullets list an earth lead, a fence clip, and a fence lead, not a stake. One reviewer expected a stake, did not receive one, and says the pictures do not show one.

What does the LED mean?

The listing says green while it is running and red when the battery is low. One returned unit flashed red on a full battery and had no earth lead.

W-EF-01

Rank 6

W-EF-01

∼£43

Our view

The W-EF-01 is £42.99, with a title that states 2 joule, 10 kV and 7.5 miles, while a bullet states 1.5–3 joule, so the output figure on the page does not agree with itself. It offers 220 V AC, 12 V alligator clips or solar, the battery is not included, the case is IP54 ABS at 890 g, and a dual LCD shows input and output voltage. amazon.co.uk shows 3.8 from 44 reviews. Buyers report horses held on about 1,000 m of fencing, a strong shock, and a sealed case with no buttons, including use as a stopgap when a dearer unit failed. The clips are called poor, the box has no earth stake and no fence connections, and you switch it off by pulling the crocodile clip. The same file records units that stopped after a few hours, a few uses, one month or two months, water damage after a month despite the weatherproof line, a death inside a waterproof battery box, and rusted copper connectors. A grounding note asks for a minimum depth of 1.5 m, which is deeper than a short kit spike, and no manufacturer name is printed in the technical details.

Pros

  • £42.99 with 3.8 from 44 reviews, a larger sample than most units here
  • Dual LCD for input and output voltage, IP54 case
  • Horses reported on about 1,000 m of fencing

Cons

  • Title says 2 J and a bullet says 1.5–3 J
  • No earth stake or fence leads stated in the box, and clips called poor
  • Early failures and water damage reported, including inside a battery box

Best for: You want a mid-price unit with a dual voltage display and you will add your own earth and fence leads.

Less suitable: You need one agreed joule figure on the page, or a record without early deaths and water ingress.

Specifications

Model
W-EF-01
Brand
Not stated
Price
∼£43
Customer rating
3.8/5(44)
Power source
Mains, 12 V or solar
Output energy
2 J (1.5–3 J)
Stated range
7.5 miles
Peak voltage
10 kV
Weather rating
IP54
Earth stake
No
Leads included
Battery clips only
Battery included
No
Pulse indicator
Dual LCD
Animals stated
Poultry and livestock

Common questions

Does the W-EF-01 include a battery or an earth stake?

No. The battery is not included. A reviewer says there is no earth stake and no fence connections. Alligator clips for 12 V are in the listing.

How do you switch it off?

One reviewer says there are no buttons. They remove the crocodile clip to switch it off.

Which joule figure is on the listing?

The title says 2 J output. A bullet says 1.5–3 joule. The page does not split stored energy from output energy.

Briidea HEFC-02UK

Rank 7

Briidea HEFC-02UK

∼£40

Our view

The Briidea HEFC-02UK is the cheapest unit in this set at £39.99, and it states 3 joule with an output of 10,000 V, screw terminals for a ground rod and the live wire, and a flame-retardant shell. The components line says no, a waterproof cover is suggested for outdoor use, a 2-year warranty and UL Listed are stated, and the unit weighs 630 g. Batteries required is no, and the supply voltage is not on the listing, so whether it belongs on a 12 V page is uncertain. amazon.co.uk shows 3.8 from 33 reviews. One review says it stopped deer eating flowers, setup is called easy, one long-term user calls it well made and good value, and a compact box worked with leads from an older energiser. Reviewers also say there is no earth rod and no connector cables, and one argues that 3 J and 10,000 V is too much for a pet dog. One buyer of two units says both failed within six months, another report says a unit did not last, and missing earth and fence leads delayed installation. A reviewer says the lowest wire electrocuted frogs, which is a report of what the fence did, not a feature.

Pros

  • £39.99, the lowest shelf price in this set, with 3.8 from 33 reviews
  • 3 J and 10,000 V stated, with screw terminals
  • 2-year warranty stated, and one long-term user called it good value

Cons

  • Power source is not printed, so a 12 V fit is uncertain
  • No earth rod and no connector cables in the box
  • Both units failed within six months for one buyer of two, and 3 J is challenged for a pet dog

Best for: You already have leads from an older energiser and you have confirmed the supply voltage, which this page does not state.

Less suitable: You need a stated 12 V input, leads in the box, or a lower output for a pet dog.

Specifications

Model
Briidea HEFC-02UK
Brand
briidea
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
3.8/5(33)
Output energy
3 J
Peak voltage
10 kV
Weather rating
Cover advised
Earth stake
No
Leads included
No
Battery included
No
Animals stated
Dogs and livestock

Common questions

Is the Briidea a 12 V energiser?

The listing does not say. Batteries required is no, and the components line is NO. Treat the supply as unknown.

What is in the box?

The components line says NO. Reviewers say there is no earth rod and no fence or earth connector cables.

What output does the listing state?

3 joule and 10,000 V. One reviewer objected to the pet wording because of that figure.

AUSTUFF WTR003

Rank 8

AUSTUFF WTR003

∼£46

Our view

The AUSTUFF WTR003 is £45.99, states 2 joule and 10 km or 6.2 miles, and prints an output of 8 kV or 12 kV from 110–240 V mains or a 12 V battery. The colour line is red without alarm, the LCD shows input and battery voltage, waterproof is claimed with no IP code, and the unit weighs 960 g. amazon.co.uk shows 3.8 from 21 reviews. Reviewers use it to contain pigs and say it copes with a few shorts, and one buyer who replaced a 0.6 J unit says the horses were more wary. It runs from 12 V DC or, in one report, a supplied mains converter, and that buyer called it more powerful than the previous unit. The components line says no, fence terminals and leads were not in the box for reviewers, the battery lead is called cheap, and the mains plug is called too bulky to close a covered outdoor socket. One parcel went back untested because the contents did not match what the buyer expected, with a false-advertising complaint about the package. Twenty-one reviews mean that missing-parts theme is a contents complaint, not a counted failure rate.

Pros

  • 2 J stated at £45.99, with 3.8 from 21 reviews
  • Used on pigs, and one buyer found horses warier than on a 0.6 J unit
  • LCD for input and battery voltage, and a mains converter reported in one review

Cons

  • Components line is empty: no earth stake, and reviewers missed fence leads and a clip
  • Mains plug called too bulky for a covered outdoor socket
  • One return untested over the package contents

Best for: You already own earth and fence leads and you want a stated 2 J unit after a 0.6 J fence felt too light.

Less suitable: You expect the stake, earth wire and fence clip in the box, or a slim plug for a covered outdoor socket.

Specifications

Model
AUSTUFF WTR003
Brand
AUSTUFF
Price
∼£46
Customer rating
3.8/5(21)
Power source
Mains or 12 V
Output energy
2 J
Stated range
10 km
Peak voltage
8 kV or 12 kV
Weather rating
Waterproof, no IP
Earth stake
No
Leads included
No
Battery included
No
Pulse indicator
LCD, input and battery
Animals stated
Horses and livestock

Common questions

Does the WTR003 include leads?

The components line says NO. Reviewers report missing fence terminals, no earth wire, and a cheap battery clip. One says a mains converter is supplied.

Can it run on 12 V and on mains?

Yes, as stated: 110–240 V or a 12 V battery that is not included. A reviewer used the supplied mains converter or 12 V DC.

How does it compare with a 0.6 J unit in the reviews?

One buyer replaced a 0.6 joule energiser with this 2 joule model and said the horses were more wary.

AUSTUFF XSD-260B

Rank 9

AUSTUFF XSD-260B

∼£46

Our view

The AUSTUFF XSD-260B is £45.99 and states 3.5 joule, a 10 km or 6.2 mile range, and an output of 8 kV or 12 kV, from 110–240 V mains or a 12 V battery that is not included. The colour line marks it as the alarm variant, the LCD shows input voltage and battery voltage, and the case is claimed waterproof with no IP code, at 960 g. The components line is a clip connector. amazon.co.uk shows 2.0 from one review, and that review is negative. The buyer says the fence cables were not in the box, the terminal caps would not unscrew so old cables would not fit, and the unit went back as not fit for purpose. There is no praise in the file to set against that return. A single review cannot describe how the alarm behaves on a live fence, and the listing still notes warning signs for pedestrians without putting an earth stake or fence leads in the box.

Pros

  • 3.5 J stated, with an alarm named in the title and an LCD for input and battery voltage
  • Mains or 12 V input printed on the listing

Cons

  • 2.0 from one review, and that review is a return
  • Fence cables missing and terminal caps would not unscrew
  • No earth stake, and waterproof is claimed with no IP code

Best for: You specifically want the alarm variant on the title and you will confirm the terminals and leads before you rely on it.

Less suitable: You need more than one review, or leads that fit the terminals on the day it arrives.

Specifications

Model
AUSTUFF XSD-260B
Brand
AUSTUFF
Price
∼£46
Customer rating
2.0/5(1)
Power source
Mains or 12 V
Output energy
3.5 J
Stated range
10 km
Peak voltage
8 kV or 12 kV
Weather rating
Waterproof, no IP
Earth stake
No
Leads included
No
Battery included
No
Pulse indicator
LCD and alarm
Animals stated
Horses and livestock

Common questions

Does the alarm model include fence leads?

The components line is a clip connector. The only reviewer says the fence cables were missing and the terminal caps would not come off.

What power does it take?

The listing says a 110–240 V plug or a 12 V battery. The battery is not included.

How many reviews are on the listing?

2.0 out of 5 from 1 amazon.co.uk review, dated 26 September 2026.

Trsaow Dmt10-80

Rank 10

Trsaow Dmt10-80

∼£80

Our view

The Trsaow Dmt10-80 is £79.99, the highest price in this set, and it states 4 joule, a range of 18.6 miles, and an adjustable peak of 7–13 kV. It lists 220–230 V mains, a 12 V battery or solar, with the battery and panel not included, plus an alarm claimed for leakage, broken wires, faults, low voltage and short circuits. The case is IP45 and the listing still says to install it in a waterproof box. It weighs 1.62 kg, and the bullets include an AC power cable, DC battery cables, output cables, an alarm and a user manual. There is no customer-review line on the listing, so there is no star average and no report of whether the alarm or the 4 J claim shows up on a fence. An earth rod is not in the included list. Cattle, horses, sheep and poultry are named on the page. Until reviews exist, the extra joules and the dual display are a specification, not evidence that this outlasts a cheaper unit with a known review file.

Pros

  • 4 J stated, the highest output figure in this set, with 7–13 kV adjustable
  • AC cable, DC battery cables, output cables and an alarm named in the bullets
  • IP45 printed, for mains, 12 V or solar input

Cons

  • £79.99 with no customer reviews in the file
  • Earth rod not included, and the battery and solar panel are extra
  • Listing still tells you to use a waterproof box despite IP45

Best for: You want the highest stated joule figure in this capture and you will judge it without any amazon.co.uk reviews.

Less suitable: You want a review sample before you spend £79.99, or you need an earth stake in the box.

Specifications

Model
Trsaow Dmt10-80
Brand
Trsaow
Price
∼£80
Power source
Mains, 12 V or solar
Output energy
4 J
Stated range
18.6 miles
Peak voltage
7–13 kV
Weather rating
IP45
Earth stake
No
Leads included
Yes
Battery included
No
Pulse indicator
Display and alarm
Animals stated
Cattle, horses, sheep

Common questions

Does the Trsaow include a battery?

No. It accepts 220–230 V mains, a 12 V battery, or solar. The bullets include an AC cable and DC battery cables, not the battery or a panel.

Is there an earth stake?

No. The bullets list an AC cable, DC battery cables, output cables, an alarm, and a manual.

Are there amazon.co.uk reviews?

The listing shows a best-sellers rank and no customer-review line.

How we compared

Ten amazon.co.uk listings were scored on a 0–100 scale from the stated output in joules, whether the unit is 12 V only or also takes mains or solar, the components line, the earth and battery notes, the case claim, and the star line with its review count. Thin samples lose weight: 2,118 reviews outweigh six. A title that disagrees with its own bullet loses weight. No laboratory measured the pulse on a fence. Prices are the amazon.co.uk shelf prices on 19 October 2026.

1

Job and power source

20%

12 V only when the fence is remote and you will charge a battery. Mains if a socket is close, or if a grant item requires a mains energiser.

2

Stated output energy

25%

Output joules, not kilovolts and not a lone joules label. A kilometre or mile line is a clean-fence claim on the listing.

3

Components line

20%

What the box actually lists: earth stake, fence leads, clips, or the energiser alone. The word kit is not the contents.

4

Earth and battery

15%

Battery not in the box. Leisure or marine battery preferred to a starter battery. Rod length is a separate buy on most of these listings.

5

Case and review evidence

20%

IP code or a waterproof claim, plus the amazon.co.uk star rating and review count. A green light is not a live-wire test.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

12 V electric fence energiser buying guide

Ten amazon.co.uk 12 V electric fence energisers sit in this table. Shelf prices on 19 October 2026 run from about £39.99 to about £79.99. Stated output runs from 0.6 J to 4 J. A battery is not in any of these boxes. Use 12 V when the fence is remote and you will charge that battery. Use mains if a socket is close, or if a grant item requires a mains energiser. A kilometre claim is a clean-fence figure. A green light is not a live wire.

What is a 12 V electric fence energiser?

A 12 V electric fence energiser is a pulse unit you clip to an external battery when there is no 13 A socket at the fence. The battery is not in these boxes. The buyers in this set are horse owners and smallholders on temporary grazing. A solar box whose 12 V figure is only a charger is a different product. Use 12 V when the fence is remote and you will charge a battery. Use mains if a socket is close.

Best for

  • Horse owners with no socket at the fence
  • Smallholders moving strip grazing or a short net
  • A short, cleaner line where 0.6–2 J is the stated band

Not ideal for

  • A Countryside Stewardship FG3 fence, which asks for mains
  • A long weedy line sold on a kilometre claim
  • Anyone who needs the earth rod when the box does not list one

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    A kilometre claim on weedy tape

    10 km, 24 km and 25 miles are clean-fence figures on the listings. Weed, poor joins and a short earth drop the pulse. Do not buy the distance as if it were your paddock.

  2. 2

    The word kit when the box is the energiser

    tuotian, Briidea, AUSTUFF and Trsaow do not reliably include a rod. Xueyang’s ground wire is a lead. Check the components line, not the title.

  3. 3

    A green LED read as a live wire

    Green means the unit is running. It does not mean the fence is live. Reviews include a green light with a burnt diode, and a red light on a full battery. Test the wire.

What to weigh up

Output joules and power source

High

Buy 12 V only when the fence is remote and you will charge a battery. If a socket is close, mains is the simpler supply. Countryside Stewardship FG3 requires a mains energiser, so a battery unit does not meet that item. A plug is confirmed only when the listing names it. liusukeji states a UK mains adapter. AUSTUFF, W-EF-01 and Trsaow also name mains or a solar panel. The battery and the panel stay extra. Output joules are the energy figure. Kilovolts are not a substitute.

Box contents, earth and reviews

High

The components line decides the first night. XSTOP includes a stake, leads and crocodile clips. Some reviewers call that stake light for dry or hard ground. LFP8 lists leads and cables, and reviewers who expected a stake did not receive one. tuotian’s line is the energiser only, and several reviews say the advertised rod was missing. xueyang lists a plug cord, battery cables, fence wire and a ground lead, plus a stated 1 m battery cable.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Horses, no socket

You have a short, cleaner horse or cattle line and no 13 A socket. The XSTOP BA80 is the top pick: 0.6 J, IP54, a stake and leads in the kit, and 4.0 from 2,118 reviews. Reviews say there is no on/off switch.

Our recommendation

View offer

More than 0.6 J stated

You want a stated 2 J and you will buy the earth rod yourself. The tuotian C1403 is the best value at about £52.68, with 4.1 from 48 reviews. Several reviews say the advertised rod was not in the parcel.

Our recommendation

View offer

No socket, leads listed

You have no socket and you want a plug cord, battery cables, fence wire and a ground lead named in the components line. The xueyang C1403 states 2 J and a 1 m battery cable. The sample is 4.7 from 12 reviews, and the earth rod is still extra.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about electric fence energisers 12V

Which 12 V electric fence energiser is the top pick?
The top pick is the XSTOP BA80 at about £54.99. The listing states 0.6 J, a 10 km range and an IP54 case, with an earth stake, leads and crocodile clips, and no battery. amazon.co.uk shows 4.0 from 2,118 reviews, the largest sample here. Reviews describe horses and about 1 km of cattle wire noticing the pulse. There is no on/off switch in those reviews, and some buyers call the stake light. This is a listing judgement, not a lab test.
Which 12 V energiser is the best value?
The best value is the tuotian C1403 at about £52.68. It states 2 J and 10 km, with 4.1 from 48 amazon.co.uk reviews, just under the BA80 price. The components line is the energiser only, and several reviews say an advertised earth rod was not in the parcel. The liusukeji listing is about £42.49 with 4.8 from six reviews and a stated 3 J. Six reviews are too small a sample for this award.
How much does a 12 V electric fence energiser cost?
On 19 October 2026 the ten amazon.co.uk listings ran from about £39.99 to about £79.99. About £40 to £46 is the band for a stated 2–3.5 J unit, often with no earth rod. About £50 to £57 includes the XSTOP BA80 at about £54.99 and the tuotian C1403 at about £52.68. The Trsaow, stated at 4 J, is about £79.99 and has no review line. Prices move. Use the amazon.co.uk price.
How many joules should a 12 V energiser state?
Read output joules, not kilovolts. Here, 0.6 J is the XSTOP BA80 and 1 J is the LFP8. Reviews of those lower figures describe short, cleaner horse lines. About 2–3.5 J is the step up on the tuotian, xueyang, AUSTUFF, W-EF-01, liusukeji and Briidea listings. The Trsaow states 4 J and has no reviews. A kilometre or mile claim is a clean-fence figure on the page, not the length of weedy tape.
Are the battery and the earth stake included?
No battery is included on any listing in this set. You supply a 12 V battery. AHDB prefers a leisure or marine battery to a car starter battery. Only the XSTOP BA80 lists an earth stake, and some reviewers call that stake light for hard ground. Other parcels list leads, clips, or the energiser alone. The word kit is not the components line. Check the rod before the first night.
Can a 12 V energiser meet a Countryside Stewardship fence?
Countryside Stewardship item FG3 requires a mains energiser. A 12 V unit does not meet that grant line. If a 13 A socket is close, start from the electric fence energiser comparison. BS EN IEC 60335-2-76 covers energisers rated up to 250 V. Do not treat the word harmless, or a UKCA mark on one seller page, as a paddock test. If the fence must meet FG3, check the grant specification before you order.
Does a green light mean the fence is live?
A green LED means the energiser is running. It does not mean the wire is live. On some listings a red light means a low battery, and buyers also report a red light on a full battery with no pulse. XSTOP reviews include a unit whose green light still flashed after a burnt diode. Check the wire with a fence tester. If the case has no switch, disconnect the clips or switch the supply off before you handle it.
When should you get help with an electric fence?
Get help if the fence meets a public right of way, especially a bridleway, and you cannot leave a safe way through. Cornwall Council says walkers must not take a shock on a right of way, and a horse must pass a bridleway gate without touching a live wire. Also get help if the line must meet FG3, if it nears overhead power or phone lines, or if a shock was more than a brief pulse, or the unit is cracked, hot, or smells burnt.

Our verdict

The top pick is the XSTOP BA80 at about £54.99. It states 0.6 J and an IP54 case, with an earth stake and leads in the kit, and 4.0 from 2,118 amazon.co.uk reviews. That sample is why it leads, not a lab test. Reviews report no on/off switch, and some buyers call the stake light for hard ground. The best value is the tuotian C1403 at about £52.68: 2 J stated, 4.1 from 48 reviews, and a lower shelf price than the BA80. Several reviews say the advertised earth rod was missing. A 4.8 from six reviews is too small a sample for the best-value award.

Best overall
liusukeji 3 J energiser

liusukeji 3 J energiser

View offer
Best value
tuotian C1403

tuotian C1403

Best value for a stated 2 J at about £52.68, with 4.1 from 48 reviews, just under the BA80 price.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
FencingElectric fence energisersamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to electric fence energisers 12V

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources used for this comparison. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts were taken from the listings on 19 October 2026.

  1. BSI, BS EN IEC 60335-2-76:2021+A11:2021 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. AHDB, Components of an electric fence (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. AHDB, How to set up electric fencing (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK, Countryside Stewardship FG3 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. Cornwall Council, electric fence guidance (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. Rappa, guide to earthing (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. Kramer, fence energiser guide (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. XSTOP BA80 product page (retrieved 19 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Lee Burkhill (Garden Ninja) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the listings. This is not a laboratory test.