Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Electric fence energiser comparison 2026

The best electric fence energisers, compared.

Top pick: liusukeji 12 kV 3 J electric fence charger Best value: FenceMate 12 V 0.5 J energiser – Lower shelf price among 12 V kits that include a ground rod and have a readable review sample: about £49.99, 4.3 from 57 reviews, score 74. Updated October 2026.

An electric fence energiser sends a short high-voltage pulse, about once a second, down a wire, tape or net so stock learn to stay off it. You choose it by output joules, by whether you have a safe 230 V supply, and by the earth you can build. The kilometre figure on the box is a clean-wire claim, not the length through grass or polywire. A 12 V leisure battery suits a fence that moves. Solar is for no socket, if you accept short winter days. This page does not merge stored joules with output joules. The [electric fence energiser buying guide](/hub/fencing-and-wire/electric-fence-energiser/sub/electric-fence-energiser-buying-guide) sets joules, supply and box contents before a model. The unit does not hold animals by the strength of the conductor. It holds them by a pulse they remember.

An electric fence energiser sends a short high-voltage pulse, about once a second, down a wire, tape or net so stock learn to stay off it.

52 products checked · 61 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

15 of 15: Best electric fence energisers compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 15
Best overall
liusukeji 12 kV 3 J electric fence charger
FenceMate 230 V 0.5 J mains energiser
My Animal Command solar electric fence energiser
Best value
FenceMate 12 V 0.5 J energiser
AUSTUFF 3.5 J energiser without alarm
Trsaow 2 J three-way energiser
tuotian 12 V 2 J electric fence energiser
XSTOP BA80 12 V electric fence energiser
MonsterShop 12 V 1.0 J electric fence energiser
AUSTUFF 3.5 J energiser with remote
Briidea electric fence energiser HEFC-02UK
AUSTUFF 2 J mains or 12 V energiser
JKLESA solar electric fence energiser
AUSTUFF 3.5 J energiser with alarm
Trsaow 4 J electric fence energiser
3.0/10
5.8/10
7.6/10
7.4/10
4.2/10
5.2/10
4.8/10
8.2/10
6.8/10
3.8/10
4.0/10
3.4/10
2.8/10
1.6/10
1.8/10
∼ £42
∼ £36
∼ £140
∼ £50
∼ £46
∼ £47
∼ £53
∼ £55
∼ £65
∼ £61
∼ £40
∼ £46
∼ £116
∼ £46
∼ £80
4.8(6)
4.5(12)
4.4(433)
4.3(57)
4.2(17)
4.2(13)
4.1(48)
4.0(2,118)
4.0(99)
3.9(16)
3.8(33)
3.8(21)
3.2(10)
2.0(1)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best electric fence energisers in detail

liusukeji 12 kV 3 J electric fence charger

Rank 1

liusukeji 12 kV 3 J electric fence charger

∼£42

Our view

The liusukeji listing states 3 joule at 12 kV and a 24 km range, at about £42.49, with a UK mains adapter in the bullets. Across 6 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.8, which is too small a count to treat as a settled score, and it scores 30. A 12 V battery and a solar panel are named as options and are not included. The included-components line is the charger, and an earth stake is not confirmed. The case is called waterproof from −20 °C to 60 °C, without an IP code you can set beside IP54 or IPX6. First available 20 July 2026, so the review line has had little time. A 24 km figure is a clean-wire claim, not the length you should expect through grass or polywire.

Pros

  • UK mains adapter is named in the bullets
  • 3 joule and 12 kV are stated, with an LED display
  • Shelf price is about £42.49

Cons

  • 4.8 from only 6 reviews
  • Earth stake is not on the included-components line
  • 24 km is a seller range, not a vegetated-fence length
  • Battery and solar panel are extra

Best for: You already own an earth rod and only want a cheap dual-supply listing to try on a short wire, knowing six reviews are not a record.

Less suitable: You want a settled review sample or a confirmed earth stake in the carton.

Specifications

Model
liusukeji 12 kV 3 J electric fence charger
Brand
liusukeji
Price
∼£42
Customer rating
4.8/5(6)
Power source
Mains, 12 V, solar
Output energy
3 J
Stated range
24 km
Peak voltage
12 kV
Weather rating
No IP code
Battery included
No
Pulse indicator
LED

Common questions

Which supplies does this charger accept?

The listing says a UK mains adapter is included, and that a 12 V battery or a solar panel can be used. Those two are not included.

Does the listing include an earth stake?

The included-components line says the charger. An earth stake is not named, so treat it as not confirmed.

How many reviews are on the listing?

4.8 from 6 reviews. That count is too small to treat as a settled score.

FenceMate 230 V 0.5 J mains energiser

Rank 2

FenceMate 230 V 0.5 J mains energiser

∼£36

Our view

The FenceMate MINI-0.5J-UK is the 230 V unit in this set, at about £35.99 and 0.5 joule, weighing 440 g. Across 12 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.5, a short record beside the 12 V FenceMate’s 57, and it scores 58. The listing says about 2 km average, or up to 5 km on a clean single wire, and it points the unit at rabbits, poultry, pets and small short-haired stock. Included components are the energiser and a manual, so the earth rod is not in the box. Reviewers use it on vegetable wire and poultry, and one says it is a poor match for outdoor netting. A temperature claim of −25 °C to 65 °C still comes with a preference for a dry location. Twelve reviews are not a long field history. The title is the only one in this set that says 230 V rather than a 110–240 V or 12 V pair. It does not take best value, because the earth rod is not listed.

Pros

  • 230 V is in the title, part MINI-0.5J-UK
  • About £35.99 is the lowest shelf price in this set
  • About 2 km average and up to 5 km clean wire are stated separately
  • 440 g, with a pulse light

Cons

  • Only 12 reviews
  • Earth rod is not in the included-components line
  • One reviewer called it a poor match for outdoor netting
  • The listing still prefers a dry location

Best for: You have a dry 230 V socket near a short poultry or vegetable wire and you will buy the earth rod yourself.

Less suitable: You need an earth rod in the box, a long review record, or a net in the open.

Specifications

Model
FenceMate 230 V 0.5 J mains energiser
Brand
FenceMate
Price
∼£36
Customer rating
4.5/5(12)
Power source
230 V
Output energy
0.5 J
Stated range
2–5 km
Weather rating
Rainproof
Earth stake
No
Battery included
No
Pulse indicator
Pulse light

Common questions

Is this the mains FenceMate?

Yes. The title says 230 V and the part is MINI-0.5J-UK. Batteries are not required. It still belongs under cover, on a socket protected by an RCD.

Does the box include an earth rod?

Included components are the energiser and a manual. The listing still says a ground rod matters.

What length does the listing suggest?

About 2 km average, or up to 5 km on a single clean wire. It points the unit at poultry, pets and small stock.

My Animal Command solar electric fence energiser

Rank 3

My Animal Command solar electric fence energiser

∼£140

Our view

The My Animal Command unit is a solar energiser at about £139.99 with 0.25 joule output and 0.55 joule stored. Across 433 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.4, the only solar listing here with a large sample, and it scores 76. The box includes a 6 W panel, a 7.2 V 10400 mAh pack, a 50 cm earth rod, two crocodile leads and a 12 V 2 A UK adapter. The listing claims up to 15 days of darkness and an IP54 case, at about 3.08 kg. A reviewer said sheep walked through, which fits a short-line output rather than wool and long grass. The 5 km range is the seller’s figure. You still need winter daylight, or the adapter, if the 6 W panel cannot keep the pack charged. The score sits above the FenceMate, but the price against 0.25 joule output does not take the value award.

Pros

  • 4.4 from 433 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Internal battery, 6 W panel, 50 cm earth rod and UK adapter are listed
  • 0.25 joule output and 0.55 joule stored are printed separately
  • IP54 case stated

Cons

  • About £139.99 for 0.25 joule output
  • A reviewer said sheep walked through
  • A 6 W panel is a short-day risk in a British winter
  • 50 cm of rod is a light earth for dry ground

Best for: You have no socket and a short horse or cattle line that stays clear of grass.

Less suitable: You are fencing sheep in wool, a long polywire, or a net sitting in July grass.

Specifications

Model
My Animal Command solar electric fence energiser
Brand
My Animal Co
Price
∼£140
Customer rating
4.4/5(433)
Power source
Solar
Output energy
0.25 J
Stated range
5 km
Peak voltage
9–11 kV
Weather rating
IP54
Earth stake
Yes
Leads included
Yes
Battery included
Yes

Common questions

Is this a mains energiser?

No. It is a solar unit with an internal 7.2 V lithium pack and a 6 W panel. A UK wall adapter is included to charge the pack.

What output does the listing state?

0.25 joule output and 0.55 joule stored, 9,000–11,000 V, stated range 5 km. Those two joule figures are not the same number.

What is in the box?

The listing includes the solar energiser, a 50 cm earth rod, two crocodile leads and a 12 V/2 A UK adapter.

FenceMate 12 V 0.5 J energiser

Rank 4

FenceMate 12 V 0.5 J energiser

∼£50

Our view

The FenceMate FM B50 is a 12 V energiser at about £49.99 with 0.5 joule stated, a peak of 10 kV, and 4.8 kV at 500 ohm as the listing prints it. Across 57 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.3, and it scores 74. The box lists the energiser, a wire clip, a warning sign, a ground rod and a manual. The battery is not included. FenceMate states about 2 km in average conditions, or up to 10 km on a single clean steel or aluminium wire, and it says vegetation and poly fence products reduce that. Reviews mention donkeys held and an easy set-up, and also units that died after a few weeks or a month, plus a constant red flash that does not tell you the battery is low. The listing calls it rainproof and still prefers a dry box. It is the best value here because the rod is listed and the review sample is large enough to read, at a lower shelf price than the BA80.

Pros

  • Ground rod, warning sign, wire clip and manual are listed
  • 4.3 from 57 amazon.co.uk reviews at about £49.99
  • Average range and clean-wire range are stated separately
  • 0.5 joule, with 4.8 kV at 500 ohm printed

Cons

  • 0.5 joule is a short-line output
  • Some units died after a few weeks or a month
  • A constant red flash does not show a low battery
  • The 12 V battery is not included

Best for: You want a 12 V poultry or small-paddock kit with a rod and a sign in the box, at a lower price than the BA80.

Less suitable: You need more than 0.5 joule, or a low-battery warning you can trust.

Specifications

Model
FenceMate 12 V 0.5 J energiser
Brand
FenceMate
Price
∼£50
Customer rating
4.3/5(57)
Power source
12 V
Output energy
0.5 J
Stated range
2–10 km
Peak voltage
10 kV
Weather rating
Rainproof
Earth stake
Yes
Leads included
Yes
Battery included
No
Pulse indicator
Pulse light

Common questions

Is a ground rod included?

Yes. Box contents list a ground rod, a warning sign, a wire clip and a manual. The battery is not included.

How far does FenceMate say it will power?

About 2 km in average conditions, or up to 10 km on a single clean steel or aluminium wire. Vegetation and poly fence products reduce that.

What is the output?

0.5 joule, peak 10 kV, and 4.8 kV under a 500 ohm load, as stated on the listing.

AUSTUFF 3.5 J energiser without alarm

Rank 5

AUSTUFF 3.5 J energiser without alarm

∼£46

Our view

The AUSTUFF XSD-260B without alarm is listed at about £45.99 with 3.5 joule on the title, a stated 6.2 miles (10 km on the same listing) and mains or 12 V. Across 17 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.2, and it scores 42. One reviewer says the manual’s maximum is 2 joules, and the technical field says 2500 milliwatts, which is 2.5 W, not 3.5 J. Those figures are not the same thing, and nobody in this set has settled them with a lab test. Other reviews report a strong pulse on a multi-paddock horse set and on a badger problem. The battery is not included. A clip connector is the included component, and an earth rod is not. The with-alarm sibling uses the same part number and has one review. Waterproof is claimed without an IP code.

Pros

  • 4.2 from 17 reviews, more than the alarm twin
  • Mains or 12 V and an LCD are listed
  • Reviewers describe a strong pulse on horse paddocks

Cons

  • Title says 3.5 joule; a review says the manual maximum is 2 joule
  • 2500 milliwatts on the technical field is not 3.5 joule
  • Earth rod is not included
  • No IP code beside a waterproof claim

Best for: You will read the manual’s joule line before you buy, and you already have an earth rod.

Less suitable: You are choosing it because the title says 3.5 joule and you will not check the manual.

Specifications

Model
AUSTUFF 3.5 J energiser without alarm
Brand
AUSTUFF
Price
∼£46
Customer rating
4.2/5(17)
Power source
Mains or 12 V
Output energy
3.5 J title
Stated range
10 km
Peak voltage
8 or 12 kV
Weather rating
No IP code
Earth stake
No
Leads included
Yes
Battery included
No
Pulse indicator
LCD

Common questions

Is the output definitely 3.5 joules?

The title says 3.5 joules. One reviewer says the manual’s maximum is 2 joules, and the technical field says 2500 milliwatts. Those figures are not the same thing.

Mains or battery?

The listing says 110–240 V or 12 V. The battery is not included. A clip connector is the included component.

How does it differ from the alarm listing?

Both use part XSD-260B. This listing is the colour without alarm and has 17 reviews at 4.2. The alarm listing has one review.

Trsaow 2 J three-way energiser

Rank 6

Trsaow 2 J three-way energiser

∼£47

Our view

The Trsaow UKDF-LXY-DZWL is listed at about £46.90 with 2 joule and a stated 15 km, in an IP44 case. Across 13 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.2, and it scores 52. The bullets include an AC cable, a DC battery cable and an output cable. The battery and the solar panel are not included, even though solar is offered as an input. The title mentions posts, a tester and insulators, while the included-components line says one energiser, so those extras are not confirmed. Dual displays are said to show input and output voltage. IP44 is splash resistance, and the listing still recommends a waterproof case. Thirteen reviews are a short sample for a 15 km claim, and 15 km is not the length you should plan through grass.

Pros

  • AC, DC and output cables are named in the bullets
  • 2 joule stated at about £46.90
  • IP44 is printed
  • Dual displays for input and output voltage are listed

Cons

  • Only 13 reviews
  • Posts, a tester and insulators are in the title, not the components line
  • 15 km is a seller range
  • A waterproof case is still recommended

Best for: You want a 2 joule unit with mains and battery cables named, and you will ignore the posts in the title.

Less suitable: You expect a tester, posts or a panel in the carton, or you need a long review record.

Specifications

Model
Trsaow 2 J three-way energiser
Brand
Trsaow
Price
∼£47
Customer rating
4.2/5(13)
Power source
Mains, 12 V, solar
Output energy
2 J
Stated range
15 km
Weather rating
IP44
Earth stake
No
Leads included
Yes
Battery included
No
Pulse indicator
Dual display

Common questions

Are fence posts and a tester in the box?

The title mentions them. The included-components line says one energiser. Do not assume posts or a tester are included.

What cables are included?

The bullets say the AC cable, the DC battery cable and the output cable. The battery and the solar panel are not included.

What weather rating is stated?

IP44. The listing still recommends a waterproof case.

tuotian 12 V 2 J electric fence energiser

Rank 7

tuotian 12 V 2 J electric fence energiser

∼£53

Our view

The tuotian C1403 is a 12 V unit listed at 2 joule and 10 km, at about £52.68. Across 48 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.1, and it scores 48. The title says IPX5 and connectors, then the body says open air shortens life and a waterproof enclosure is wiser. The included-components line is one energiser. Several reviewers bought it because the title or pictures implied an earth rod and did not receive one. Comments about ponies and value sit beside that missing-rod complaint. A battery is not included. First available 26 December 2025, so the sample is still young beside the BA80’s thousands of reviews.

Pros

  • 2 joule stated at about £52.68
  • 4.1 from 48 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • LED input-voltage display is listed
  • 12 V title is clear

Cons

  • Earth rod was not in the box for several reviewers
  • IPX5 in the title, then a warning that open air shortens life
  • Included-components line is the energiser only
  • Battery is not included

Best for: You already have an earth rod and a box for the unit, and you want a stated 2 joule 12 V listing.

Less suitable: You are buying because the picture showed a stake, or you plan to leave the case in the rain.

Specifications

Model
tuotian 12 V 2 J electric fence energiser
Brand
tuotian
Price
∼£53
Customer rating
4.1/5(48)
Power source
12 V
Output energy
2 J
Stated range
10 km
Weather rating
IPX5
Earth stake
No
Leads included
No
Battery included
No
Pulse indicator
LED

Common questions

Does this 2 joule kit include an earth rod?

The included-components line lists only the energiser. Reviewers say the earth rod in the advert was not in the box.

Is it fully waterproof?

The title says IPX5. The description says open air shortens life and a waterproof enclosure is wiser.

What supply does it use?

The title says 12 V. A battery is not listed as included.

XSTOP BA80 12 V electric fence energiser

Rank 8

XSTOP BA80 12 V electric fence energiser

∼£55

Our view

The XSTOP BA80 is a 12 V energiser listed at 0.6 joule output and a 10 km range, at about £54.99. Across 2,118 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.0, the largest sample in this set, and it scores 82. Reviewers describe a clear click that horses notice, and they use the included earth stake, fence lead and crocodile clips. The battery is not in the box, so you still need a 12 V leisure battery. There is no on/off switch in those reviews, which means you disconnect the clips, or switch the supply off, before you handle the wire. The included stake is too light for some rocky ground. Units that died after hours, six weeks, eleven months, or under a year, including a solder joint and a burnt diode, come up often enough that this is a volume benchmark, not a high-joule farm unit.

Pros

  • 4.0 from 2,118 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest sample here
  • Earth stake, earth lead, fence lead and crocodile clips are listed
  • 0.6 joule output at about £54.99, with an IP54 case stated
  • Reviewers report a click that horses notice

Cons

  • No on/off switch in the reviews, so you disconnect the clips
  • The included stake is too light for some rocky ground
  • Units died after hours, weeks, or under a year, including a burnt diode
  • The 12 V battery is not included

Best for: You want a 12 V horse-paddock kit with a long amazon.co.uk review record and the earth stake already in the box.

Less suitable: You need an on/off switch, a heavy rod for rocky ground, or more than 0.6 joule for sheep in wool.

Specifications

Model
XSTOP BA80 12 V electric fence energiser
Brand
XSTOP
Price
∼£55
Customer rating
4.0/5(2,118)
Power source
12 V
Output energy
0.6 J
Stated range
10 km
Weather rating
IP54
Earth stake
Yes
Leads included
Yes
Battery included
No
Pulse indicator
LED

Common questions

Does the XSTOP BA80 include a battery?

No. The listing says batteries are required and not included. You connect it to a 12 V battery with the crocodile clips in the kit.

Is there an on/off switch?

Reviewers report there is no on/off switch. They disconnect the battery clips, or switch the supply off, to work on the fence.

What energy and range does the listing state?

The listing states 0.6 joule output and a 10 km range, with an IP54 case and an earth stake included. The 10 km line is a clean-wire claim.

MonsterShop 12 V 1.0 J electric fence energiser

Rank 9

MonsterShop 12 V 1.0 J electric fence energiser

∼£65

Our view

The MonsterShop 24428F1 is a 12 V energiser at about £64.99 with 1.0 joule, 10,000 V peak, a stated 10 km and IPX6. Across 99 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.0, and it scores 68. Grounding rods and earth, fence and battery cables are included. The 12 V battery is not. Brand fields disagree inside the listing, with both T-Mech and Monster Shop named. Reviews praise an easy kit and horse control, and also report death after about a year, chickens walking through netting, and crocodile-clip solder joints that fail unless you can repair them. Weight is 1.25 kg. The 50 mA average current is the listing’s figure, not a measured draw on your battery. A 10 km line remains a clean-wire claim.

Pros

  • Earth stakes and earth, fence and battery cables are listed
  • 4.0 from 99 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • 1.0 joule and IPX6 are stated
  • Reviewers report horse control from the kit

Cons

  • Crocodile-clip solder joints fail in the reviews
  • Units died after about a year
  • Chickens walked through one poultry net
  • Brand fields disagree (T-Mech and Monster Shop)

Best for: You want a 1.0 joule 12 V kit with stakes included and you can resolder a clip if it fails.

Less suitable: You need a poultry net to stop chickens, or a clip joint you will not have to repair.

Specifications

Model
MonsterShop 12 V 1.0 J electric fence energiser
Brand
Monster Shop
Price
∼£65
Customer rating
4.0/5(99)
Power source
12 V
Output energy
1.0 J
Stated range
10 km
Peak voltage
10 kV
Weather rating
IPX6
Earth stake
Yes
Leads included
Yes
Battery included
No

Common questions

Are earth stakes included?

Yes. The listing includes grounding rods plus earth, fence and battery cables. The 12 V battery is not included.

What output is stated?

1.0 joule pulse energy, 10,000 V peak, stated range 10 km, IPX6. The 10 km line is a seller claim, not a vegetated length.

What failed in reviews?

Soldered joints at the crocodile clips, and units that died after about a year. One poultry net did not stop chickens.

AUSTUFF 3.5 J energiser with remote

Rank 10

AUSTUFF 3.5 J energiser with remote

∼£61

Our view

The AUSTUFF XSD-A6 adds a remote to a 3.5 joule title, a stated 6.2 miles and 8 kV or 12 kV, at about £60.99. Across 16 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 3.9, and it scores 38. The body is the mains-or-12 V pattern, with an LCD and no battery in the box. Reviewers report a strong shock, a remote fob that feels fragile, the unit switching itself off, and no earth pole. One failure inside three months left the lights on and no spark. A clip connector is the included component. The remote is the difference from the XSD-260B listings, not a second kind of energiser. Sixteen reviews are a short record for a 3.5 joule claim.

Pros

  • Remote and LCD are listed
  • Mains or 12 V is stated
  • Reviewers describe a strong shock

Cons

  • No earth pole in the review notes
  • Remote fob described as fragile
  • One unit failed inside three months with lights on and no spark
  • 3.5 joule is a title figure, and the sample is 16 reviews

Best for: You want a remote on a short mains-or-battery line and you already have an earth rod.

Less suitable: You need a robust switch you can trust in the wet, or a confirmed earth stake in the box.

Specifications

Model
AUSTUFF 3.5 J energiser with remote
Brand
AUSTUFF
Price
∼£61
Customer rating
3.9/5(16)
Power source
Mains or 12 V
Output energy
3.5 J title
Stated range
10 km
Peak voltage
8 or 12 kV
Weather rating
No IP code
Earth stake
No
Leads included
Yes
Battery included
No
Pulse indicator
LCD, remote

Common questions

Does the remote version include an earth rod?

No. A reviewer names the missing earth pole. Included components are a clip connector.

What supply does it use?

110–240 V or 12 V. The battery is not included.

What output does the title state?

3.5 joules and 6.2 miles, with 8 kV or 12 kV output. The table shows that distance as 10 km, which is the same listing’s paired figure.

Briidea electric fence energiser HEFC-02UK

Rank 11

Briidea electric fence energiser HEFC-02UK

∼£40

Our view

The Briidea HEFC-02UK is listed at about £39.99 with 3 joule and 10,000 V stated, aimed at dogs, livestock, gardens and chicken coops. Across 33 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 3.8, and it scores 40. Included components are listed as none, and reviewers say the earth rod and connector leads are separate purchases. Batteries required is marked no, so it presents as a mains-fed unit, but the listing does not show a plug type. The listing tells you to add a waterproof cover outdoors, and no IP rating is stated. Two units failed within six months in the review notes. A UL listed bullet is a US mark, not evidence of a UK installation.

Pros

  • 3 joule and 10,000 V are stated at about £39.99
  • Aimed at gardens, chicken coops and livestock on the listing
  • Batteries required is marked no

Cons

  • Earth rod and connector leads are not in the box
  • No IP rating; the listing asks for a waterproof cover
  • Plug type is not shown on the listing
  • Two units failed within six months

Best for: You already have leads, an earth rod and a cover, and you want a low shelf price for a short garden wire.

Less suitable: You need a plug type you can check, or a carton that contains the earth and the leads.

Specifications

Model
Briidea electric fence energiser HEFC-02UK
Brand
Briidea
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
3.8/5(33)
Power source
Mains
Output energy
3 J
Peak voltage
10 kV
Weather rating
Cover advised
Earth stake
No
Leads included
No
Battery included
No

Common questions

Does the Briidea unit include an earth rod?

No. Included components are listed as none, and reviewers say the earth rod and connector cables are separate purchases.

Is it described as weatherproof?

The listing says you should add a waterproof cover for outdoor use. An IP rating is not stated.

What output is stated?

3 joule and 10,000 V. A distance rating is not stated.

AUSTUFF 2 J mains or 12 V energiser

Rank 12

AUSTUFF 2 J mains or 12 V energiser

∼£46

Our view

The AUSTUFF WTR003 is listed at about £45.99 as 2 joule, with a stated 10 km or 6.2 miles, and 8 kV or 12 kV output. Across 21 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 3.8, and it scores 34. The body says 110–240 V or a 12 V battery, and the battery is not included. Included components are listed as none. A reviewer keeping pigs said the mains plug includes the 12 V transformer and will not sit in an exterior covered socket with the cover closed. Another said fence and earth terminals were missing and the battery lead felt cheap. One review found horses more wary than on a 0.6 joule unit, which is a single comment, not a measured joule test. Waterproof is claimed without an IP code.

Pros

  • Mains or 12 V is stated on one listing
  • 2 joule at about £45.99
  • LCD for input and battery voltage is listed

Cons

  • Included components are listed as none
  • A reviewer returned it with fence and earth terminals missing
  • The mains plug did not fit a covered outdoor socket in one review
  • No IP code beside a waterproof claim

Best for: You have a dry indoor socket or a leisure battery, and you already own leads and an earth rod.

Less suitable: You need the plug to close inside a covered yard socket, or you expect terminals in the carton.

Specifications

Model
AUSTUFF 2 J mains or 12 V energiser
Brand
AUSTUFF
Price
∼£46
Customer rating
3.8/5(21)
Power source
Mains or 12 V
Output energy
2 J
Stated range
10 km
Peak voltage
8 or 12 kV
Weather rating
No IP code
Earth stake
No
Leads included
No
Battery included
No
Pulse indicator
LCD

Common questions

Can it run from the mains and from 12 V?

Yes. The listing says 110–240 V or a 12 V battery. The battery is not included.

Are leads included?

Included components are listed as none. One reviewer returned it because fence and earth terminals were missing.

What output is stated?

2 joules, with 8 kV or 12 kV output, and a stated 6.2 mile range, which the listing also prints as 10 km.

JKLESA solar electric fence energiser

Rank 13

JKLESA solar electric fence energiser

∼£116

Our view

The JKLESA solar unit follows the same headline pattern as the dearer solar kit: 0.25 joule, 9–11 kV, a stated 5 km, a 6 W panel and a 10400 mAh pack, at about £115.99. Across 10 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 3.2, and it scores 28. One bullet says IP54 and the specification line says IP55, so the weather claim is split. One reviewer could not find a grounding pin, and another said two units switched themselves off after a couple of hours. A horse owner liked the weight for carrying on a motorcycle. Ten reviews are a short record beside 433 on the other 0.25 joule solar listing. Check the carton on the day you buy before you treat the earth pin as included.

Pros

  • Internal battery and 6 W panel are stated
  • A 12 V/2 A UK adapter is listed
  • 0.25 joule and 9–11 kV are printed

Cons

  • 3.2 from 10 reviews
  • IP54 and IP55 both appear on the listing
  • One reviewer found no grounding pin
  • Two units were said to switch off after a couple of hours

Best for: You want a light solar unit to carry and you will open the box for the earth pin before you rely on it.

Less suitable: You want the solar listing in this set with hundreds of reviews, or a confirmed earth pin.

Specifications

Model
JKLESA solar electric fence energiser
Brand
JKLESA
Price
∼£116
Customer rating
3.2/5(10)
Power source
Solar
Output energy
0.25 J
Stated range
5 km
Peak voltage
9–11 kV
Weather rating
IP54 and IP55
Earth stake
Disputed
Leads included
Yes
Battery included
Yes

Common questions

How does this differ from a 12 V-only unit?

It has an internal lithium pack and a 6 W panel, and a UK adapter for charging. Output stated is 0.25 joule.

Is an earth rod definitely in the box?

A bullet says an earthing rod is included. One UK reviewer says no grounding pin was supplied.

What is the review count?

3.2 from 10 reviews.

AUSTUFF 3.5 J energiser with alarm

Rank 14

AUSTUFF 3.5 J energiser with alarm

∼£46

Our view

The AUSTUFF XSD-260B with alarm is listed at about £45.99 with a 3.5 joule title and a stated 6.2 miles. It has 2.0 from 1 amazon.co.uk review, which cannot support a rating, and it scores 16. That review says the cables to the fence were not included and the terminal caps would not come off. The part number matches the without-alarm listing, and the colour line is with alarm. Weight is 960 g. Included components are a clip connector. A full-waterproof claim has no IP code. The title also says 12 V input and 8 kV or 12 kV output. One review is the whole record, so the alarm and the joule line are untested by a sample.

Pros

  • Alarm is named on the colour line
  • Shelf price is about £45.99
  • A clip connector is listed

Cons

  • 2.0 from 1 review
  • That review says fence cables were missing
  • Terminal caps would not come off, in the same review
  • 3.5 joule and waterproof are title claims without an IP code

Best for: You are only checking how the alarm variant differs from the 17-review listing with the same part number.

Less suitable: You need leads you can connect on the day the parcel arrives.

Specifications

Model
AUSTUFF 3.5 J energiser with alarm
Brand
AUSTUFF
Price
∼£46
Customer rating
2.0/5(1)
Power source
12 V
Output energy
3.5 J title
Stated range
10 km
Peak voltage
8 or 12 kV
Weather rating
No IP code
Leads included
Disputed
Battery included
No
Pulse indicator
Alarm

Common questions

How many UK reviews does this alarm model have?

2.0 from 1 review. That is not a settled score.

Did that review accept the leads?

No. The reviewer says fence cables were missing and the terminal caps would not come off.

What does the title claim?

3.5 joules, 6.2 miles, 12 V input, 8 kV or 12 kV output, with an alarm. The 6.2 miles is the listing’s 10 km pair on the sibling pages.

Trsaow 4 J electric fence energiser

Rank 15

Trsaow 4 J electric fence energiser

∼£80

Our view

The Trsaow Dmt10-80 is listed at about £79.99 with 4 joule stated, 7–13 kV and a stated range of 18.6 miles. The amazon.co.uk listing has no customer-review score or count, so buyers have not confirmed that output, and it scores 18. The box lists the energiser, an AC cable, DC cables, output cables, an alarm and a manual. An earth rod is not named, and neither a battery nor a solar panel is included even though the title offers 230 V, 12 V or solar. The case is IP45, and the listing still recommends a waterproof box. Treat the 4 joule and 18.6 mile lines as seller claims until a review record exists. The table shows that distance as 30 km so the row stays in kilometres. Dual voltage displays and a leakage alarm are features on the page, not a field test.

Pros

  • AC, DC and output cables are named
  • 4 joule and an adjustable 7–13 kV are stated
  • IP45 is printed, with an alarm for leakage and a broken wire

Cons

  • No customer-review score or count
  • Earth rod, battery and solar panel are not included
  • 18.6 miles is an unreviewed seller range
  • The listing still wants a waterproof box

Best for: You are comparing a high stated joule figure and you will not buy it until reviews exist.

Less suitable: You need buyer evidence before you trust a 4 joule or 18.6 mile claim.

Specifications

Model
Trsaow 4 J electric fence energiser
Brand
Trsaow
Price
∼£80
Power source
Mains, 12 V, solar
Output energy
4 J
Stated range
30 km
Peak voltage
7–13 kV
Weather rating
IP45
Earth stake
No
Leads included
Yes
Battery included
No
Pulse indicator
Dual display

Common questions

Are there UK reviews?

The amazon.co.uk listing has no customer-review score or count. The 4 joule line is a seller claim until that record exists.

What is included?

The energiser, mains cable, DC cables, output cables, an alarm and a manual. An earth rod is not named.

What output does the listing state?

4 joules, 7–13 kV and a stated range of 18.6 miles, in an IP45 case. That mile figure is about 30 km. It is still a clean-wire claim.

How we compared

Scores use the fifteen amazon.co.uk listings in this set and the review notes already stored for those ASINs. There is no lab test. A star row is the amazon.co.uk figure. A kilometre or mile line is the seller’s clean-wire claim. Output joules and stored joules are not merged. The highest score is the top pick. Best value is the lower shelf price among 12 V kits that include a ground rod and have a review sample large enough to read, and that is not the same listing as the highest score. The weights below sum to 100.

1

Amazon evidence

30%

Star rating on amazon.co.uk, then the size of the sample. A 4.0 from 2,118 ratings is stronger evidence than a 4.8 from 6. A listing with no review line scores 0 on this block.

2

Kit agreement

25%

An earth rod, leads, and, on a solar unit, the battery, score higher when the included-components line names them. A title that implies a kit while the components line is only the energiser loses this block. A 3.5 joule title that a review or a milliwatt field contradicts also loses points.

3

Review outcome

25%

Comments that describe a fence that stock respected score higher. Early failure, a missing earth rod, no on/off switch, and a sheep walk-through are deductions. No reviews means this block stays low.

4

Value

20%

Shelf price in GBP against a short-line kit you can connect. The lower price wins this block only when the earth rod or the leads are actually listed. A solar unit at 0.25 joule output does not take value on price alone. An unreviewed 4 joule claim does not either.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Electric fence energiser buying guide

Choose the load before the brand. Output joules, the supply you can reach, and the earth you can build decide the unit. A kilometre or mile number is the seller’s clean-wire claim. Vegetation, polywire and netting shorten it. Mains suits a protected 230 V socket. A 12 V leisure battery suits a fence that moves. Solar suits a site with no socket, and you accept short winter days. The battery is usually not in the box. Check the components line for the earth rod and the leads.

What is an electric fence energiser?

An electric fence energiser sends a short high-voltage pulse, about once a second, along a wire, tape or net. Stock learn to stay off it. The unit does not hold animals by the strength of the conductor. It holds them by a pulse they remember. You size it by output energy in joules, by the supply you can reach, and by the earth you can build. A kilometre or mile figure on the box is the seller’s clean-wire claim. It is not the length you should plan through grass, polywire or netting.

Best for

  • Horse keepers on tape with no socket, who need a 12 V kit and a tester
  • A short poultry or garden wire where under 1 joule is enough

Not ideal for

  • Sheep in wool or heavy vegetation that needs more output than this set
  • A public path with no signs, or barbed wire you planned to electrify

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying the kilometre rating

    A 10 km, 15 km or 24 km line is the seller’s clean-wire claim. Vegetation, polywire and netting shorten it. Size the unit by output joules and the load, then check voltage at the far end with a tester.

  2. 2

    Mixing stored and output joules

    Stored joules are a larger capacitor figure. Output is what reaches the fence. AHDB prefers stored joules as a catalogue number. This page does not merge the two into one score.

  3. 3

    Trusting the picture of a stake

    Several titles imply a kit while the included-components line is only the energiser. Reviewers of more than one listing did not receive the rod the advert showed. One short rod in dry soil, or a car battery, is a separate failure.

What to weigh up

Output energy and the real load

High

Output energy is the first buying number, and it has to match the fence you will actually run, not the clean wire in a catalogue photo. Vegetation, polywire and netting steal pulse. Compel’s starting bands, used here as a rule of thumb, put under 1 joule on a garden or a short poultry net, 1–2 joules on horse paddocks with clear tape, 2–4 joules where grass touches cattle wires, and 4 joules and up for sheep in wool or heavy growth.

Supply, earth and the carton

High

The supply is the second decision. A 230 V mains unit stays beside a socket, on an RCD not exceeding 30 mA, with the plug still letting the socket keep its ingress protection. The unit belongs under cover. A 12 V unit needs a leisure or marine battery and a recharge routine. The battery is usually not in the box. A car battery is a poor match for a fence left on. Solar in this set is about 0.25 joule, a 6 W panel and an internal pack, plus a UK adapter for dark spells.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Horse tape, no socket

You need a 12 V kit and a tester more than a long kilometre claim. The XSTOP BA80 includes an earth stake and leads, at 0.6 joule, with the longest review record in this set. The battery is not in the box, and reviews report no on/off switch.

Short poultry or garden wire

Under 1 joule is the starting band for a garden or a short poultry net on clear ground. The FenceMate FM B50 is 0.5 joule at about £49.99, with a ground rod and a warning sign listed. Some units died within weeks, and a red flash does not show a low battery.

A line beside a building

A permanent run near a dry 230 V socket can use mains. The FenceMate MINI-0.5J-UK is the only title here that says 230 V, at about £35.99. The earth rod is not in the box. Sheep in wool or heavy vegetation may need more output than this set provides.

Common questions about electric fence energisers

Which electric fence energiser is the top pick in 2026?
The XSTOP BA80 is the top pick in this set. It scores 82, the highest here, at about £54.99, with 4.0 from 2,118 amazon.co.uk reviews. It is 12 V and 0.6 joule, and the listing includes an earth stake and leads. The battery is not included, and reviews report no on/off switch. Some units died inside a year. This is a listing judgement, not a lab test.
How much does an electric fence energiser cost?
The fifteen amazon.co.uk listings here run from about £35.99 to about £139.99. The FenceMate 230 V unit is the low end. The XSTOP BA80 is about £54.99 and the MonsterShop 1.0 joule kit is about £64.99. The two solar units are about £115.99 and about £139.99. These are the shelf lines used for this comparison. Prices move.
What should you check before you buy an electric fence energiser?
Check output joules against the real load, not the kilometre claim. Then check the supply: 230 V beside a protected socket, 12 V if the fence moves, or solar only with no socket. Then check the earth, and whether the components line names a rod and leads. A pulse light is not a voltage reading at the far end. Do not merge stored joules and output joules into one number.
Should you choose mains, 12 V or solar?
AHDB treats mains as the usual first choice beside a supply, a 12 V leisure battery for a fence that moves, and solar only when the panel suits short winter days. Here the FenceMate MINI-0.5J-UK is the 230 V title. The XSTOP BA80 and FenceMate FM B50 are 12 V kits with a rod listed. The battery is usually extra. Both solar units are 0.25 joule with a 6 W panel.
How many joules do you need?
Compel’s starting bands, as output, are under 1 joule for a garden or short poultry net, 1–2 joules for horse paddocks on clear tape, 2–4 joules when grass touches cattle wires, and 4 joules and up for sheep in wool. AHDB’s different rule of thumb is one stored joule for about 5–6 miles of 2.5 mm high-tensile wire. A 10 km or 24 km box figure is not the length through grass.
Does the earth rod come in the box?
Only when the included-components line names it. The XSTOP BA80, FenceMate FM B50, MonsterShop and My Animal Command listings name a rod or stake. The FenceMate 230 V box is the energiser and a manual. Reviewers of the tuotian unit did not receive the rod the advert implied. Rappa’s rule of thumb is about one metre of rod per joule. A poor earth is the usual reason a fence does not shock.
When should you call an electrician?
Call an electrician for a new mains spur, a wet yard socket, or any doubt about the RCD. Mains units need an RCD not exceeding 30 mA, and the socket must keep its protection with the plug in. One energiser per fence. Do not electrify barbed wire. The electric fence wire comparison covers the line the pulse runs along. Stop if stock are reaching a road because the unit has failed.

Our verdict

The XSTOP BA80 scores 82, the highest in this set: about £54.99, 4.0 from 2,118 reviews, 12 V, 0.6 joule, with an earth stake and leads included. That is the top pick. The battery is not included, reviews report no on/off switch, and some units died inside a year. The FenceMate FM B50 scores 74 at about £49.99, 4.3 from 57 reviews, 0.5 joule, with a ground rod and a warning sign. That is the best value among the 12 V kits that include a rod and have a review sample you can read. The My Animal Command solar unit scores 76, higher than the FenceMate, but about £139.99 for 0.25 joule output does not take the value award. None of this is a lab test.

Best overall
liusukeji 12 kV 3 J electric fence charger

liusukeji 12 kV 3 J electric fence charger

View offer
Best value
FenceMate 12 V 0.5 J energiser

FenceMate 12 V 0.5 J energiser

Lower shelf price among 12 V kits that include a ground rod and have a readable review sample: about £49.99, 4.3 from 57 reviews, score 74.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
Fencing and wireElectric fence energisersDIY and garden tools

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to electric fence energisers

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest. Listing prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk lines used for this comparison, retrieved 19 October 2026.

  1. AHDB — Components of an electric fence (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. AHDB — How to set up electric fencing for cattle and sheep (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. BSI — BS EN IEC 60335-2-76:2021+A11:2021 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. Voltimum UK — Installation requirements for electric fence energisers (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. British Horse Society — Electric fencing (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. Cornwall Council — Electric fence guidance for landowners (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. Compel — Electric fence energiser (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Rappa — Guide to earthing (retrieved 19 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Lee Burkhill (Garden Ninja) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk with the tag pcuk26-21. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk listing lines used for this comparison. We did not run a lab test.