First toolbox at home
You want combination, long-nose and diagonal pliers under about £20, and UK reviews that do not call the cutters blunt. The WORKPRO W001366A is about £16.99, with 4.6 from 958 reviews and named 180/160/160 mm lengths.
The best pliers sets, compared.
Top pick: Knipex Cobra 3-part water-pump pliers set Best value: WORKPRO 3-piece pliers set – Classic 180/160/160 mm trio at about £16.99 with 4.6 from 958 reviews, outside the blunt-cutter cluster of the kits under about £13. Updated October 2026.
A pliers set on amazon.co.uk is usually three tools: combination pliers around 180 mm, long-nose pliers around 160–200 mm, and diagonal side cutters around 160 mm. Toolstation describes that mix as the everyday first kit. Larger boxes add water-pump, slip-joint or locking pliers. The listing here is three water-pump pliers for pipe and nuts. Drop-forged steel and a tight joint carry more weight than a brand adjective. Live work needs BS EN IEC 60900, the double triangle and 1000 V on the tool. How to choose by job, jaws and steel is in the [pliers set buying guide](/hub/pliers/pliers-set/sub/pliers-set-buying-guide).
A pliers set on amazon.co.uk is usually three tools: combination pliers around 180 mm, long-nose pliers around 160–200 mm, and diagonal side cutters around 160 mm.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 12Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
What are you doing most?
The Knipex 00 20 09 V02 is £83.95 on amazon.co.uk, with 4.8 from 5,074 reviews. It is three Cobra water-pump pliers in a tray. The listing’s material field says plastic and omits jaw steel and the three lengths. UK trades reviews are strongly positive on adjustment and grip. Packaging notes, and a hope they are genuine, appear when the set arrived in a bag. No 60900 mark, and no side cutters.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You already own cutters and want three Cobra water-pump sizes for pipe and nuts.
Less suitable: You need a first household set with side cutters and a long nose, or a 60900 kit.
Specifications
Common questions
Is this a combination, long-nose and side-cutter kit?
No. The title and usage line are a three-part Cobra water-pump pliers set. There is no diagonal cutter or long-nose listed. UK reviews treat them as plumber’s grips.
Does the listing give the three millimetre sizes?
The bullets describe a plastic tray (170 x 370 x 40 mm) and a three-part Cobra set. They do not print 150/180/250 mm or similar. One older UK review mentions a 150 mm pair arriving in a bag.
Can they be used on pipes?
The listing usage is water pump and the FAQ asks about pipes. UK plumber and heating-engineer reviews describe grip on fasteners and pipe, with a push-button opening. Teeth are described as sharp.
The Bosch 1600A016BG is the dearest mixed three-piece in this comparison at £42.11, with 4.7 from 2,819 amazon.co.uk reviews. The listing names chromium-vanadium steel, 180/200/160 mm lengths, an L-BOXX inlay and up to 30% less force from leverage, a manufacturer claim we did not measure. UK reviews back the steel feel and storage, and also report side-cutter gaps, chips, hinge play and a small number of cracked cutters. The combination and long-nose pairs are more often described as solid than the side cutters. Several UK reviews still praise a clean snip on electrical wire, so the cutter notes are a cluster in the sample. There is no 60900 mark. Treat the rubber coating as a comfort grip and isolate any circuit before you cut.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a named-length chromium-vanadium three-piece that sits in an L-BOXX insert, and you will still isolate electrics.
Less suitable: You need a 60900 kit, a water-pump pair, or a first kit under £20.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the Bosch listing mark these as 1000 V / VDE tools?
No. The amazon.co.uk listing shows Specification Met: CE, rubber-coated grips and a question about electrical work. It does not print BS EN IEC 60900, VDE or 1000 V. Treat the handles as comfort grips. Isolate the circuit.
What is in the box besides the three pliers?
The include line lists 180 mm combination pliers, 200 mm needle-nose pliers, 160 mm diagonal pliers and a plastic L-BOXX-compatible half inlay. Some UK reviews also mention a cardboard presentation box.
What do UK reviews say about the side cutters?
Several UK reviews praise a clean snip on electrical wire. Others describe a gap when held to the light, a chip out of the box, a cutter that cracked on 6 mm² copper, or a cutter that failed on bike-cable housing. The combination and long-nose pairs are more often described as solid.
The Ingco COS23036 is £33.99 on amazon.co.uk, with 4.7 from 113 reviews. It is a 2.92 kg seven-piece with a 1680D pouch: high-leverage cutters plus locking, slip-joint and pump pliers. UK reviews like the mix for a van. The 30% labour-saving line is a manufacturer claim. One UK review says the diagonal tip broke on first use. No 60900 mark.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want locking and water-pump jaws in the same roll as a cutter trio, and you will carry the weight.
Less suitable: You only need three everyday pairs, or marked 60900 tools.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the Ingco seven-piece include a case?
Yes. The bullet describes a double-deck 1680D roll-up pouch with seven pockets. UK reviews also mention a short string for tying the roll.
What extra jaws sit beyond a three-piece kit?
The what-you-get line adds 10 in curved-jaw locking pliers, 9 in long-nose locking pliers, an 8 in slip-joint pair and 10 in pump pliers, on top of high-leverage combination, long-nose and diagonal pliers.
Are they marked for live electrical work?
No. Chromium-vanadium steel and rubber grips are listed. There is no VDE, 1000 V or BS EN IEC 60900 mark. One UK buyer split the set into plumbing and electrical bags. That is storage, not a rating.
The Aoyfuwell JN-UK-JXQTZ-152 is £9.99 on amazon.co.uk, with 4.7 from only 27 reviews. Lengths are 170/160/165 mm in high-carbon steel with yellow double-dipped grips. UK reviews say they cut household wiring and the blades met, with the caveats that they are small, the grips are harder than the title, and the sample is thin. A detailed UK review called the handles solid plastic with glue at the join and a sticky return spring at first. Another buyer said they were not as soft as expected but still usable. This is a different listing from the red Aoyfuwell trio in the table. Electrician wording on the bullet is not a 60900 mark.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a yellow budget trio for light wiring and will accept a small sample of reviews.
Less suitable: You need full-size pliers, soft TPR, or the red Aoyfuwell SKU. That is a different listing.
Specifications
Common questions
What is a scribing plier in this set?
The package bullet lists 160 mm scribing pliers beside 170 mm needle-nose and 165 mm diagonal. UK reviews treat that middle pair as general-purpose or combination pliers. The listing does not print combination or linesman.
Are the handles soft-grip as the title says?
The title says soft-grip. A detailed UK review says the handles are solid plastic, somewhat non-slip, with glue at the join, and a sticky return spring at first. Another review found them not as soft as expected but still usable.
Are they electrician’s 1000 V tools?
No. The bullet calls them a versatile electrician’s tool for daily use. There is no VDE, 1000 V or BS EN IEC 60900 mark. Wear gloves as the bullet asks, and isolate the circuit.
The WORKPRO W001366A is £16.99 on amazon.co.uk, with 4.6 from 958 reviews. It is a drop-forged carbon-steel three-piece with named 180/160/160 mm lengths and PP/TPR grips. That is the usual first-kit mix, and the listing does not include a case. UK reviews are mostly solid for household jobs. A stained arrival and a sticky pivot appear once each. There is no live-work mark.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want the classic three-piece for home DIY at mid-band money, and you already have somewhere to keep them.
Less suitable: You need a water-pump pair, an L-BOXX insert, or marked live-work tools.
Specifications
Common questions
Are the WORKPRO handles rated for live electrical work?
No. The listing describes PP and TPR anti-slip grips and tells you to wear gloves. It lists electricians among possible users but does not show VDE, 1000 V or BS EN IEC 60900.
What three pliers are in the WORKPRO set?
The include line lists 180 mm linesman pliers, 160 mm needle-nose pliers and 160 mm diagonal cutting pliers. The set name also calls the 180 mm pair combination pliers.
Do UK reviews say they cut wire?
Yes. Across the UK reviews, buyers mention wire cutting, stripping, furniture staples and a jewellery clasp. One review found the pliers a little sticky to open. One set arrived stained but still worked.
The SHALL SH191015EU is £11.99 on amazon.co.uk, with 4.6 from 371 reviews and rank 5 in Plier Sets. The box is a 160/160/180 mm nickel-plated alloy-steel trio. UK reviews split: decent for the odd job, and also burred cutters, misalignment, a snapped tip and the need to oil the joints. Handle material on the listing says alloy steel. Reviews describe blue plastic. No case and no 60900 mark.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a cheap named-length trio for rare household jobs and will return it if the cutters are burred.
Less suitable: You cut wire often, need a case, or need marked live-work tools.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the SHALL set come with a case?
The listing asks whether it comes with a case and does not answer in the bullets. UK reviews describe bubble wrap in a brown cardboard box, not a pouch.
Can it be used for electrical work?
The listing asks that question and does not print VDE, 1000 V or BS EN IEC 60900. Soft-grip handles are comfort, not a live-work mark. Isolate the circuit.
What do UK reviews say about the cutters?
Several UK reviews describe burrs, unfinished grinding and blades that do not fully close. One buyer had a long-nose tip snap. Other reviews still call the set fine for occasional household DIY.
The Bergen BER1745 is £21.99 on amazon.co.uk, with 4.5 from 51 reviews. It is a 1.41 kg five-piece whose title names combination, long-nose and water-pump. The listing is otherwise thin: no full type list, no jaw steel, nylon and plastic in the material field. UK reviews like the case. One bent a long-nose. An older review mentioned rust. No 60900 mark.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a cased five-piece that includes a water-pump pair and can live with a thin spec sheet.
Less suitable: You need every type and length in writing, or chromium-vanadium on the listing.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the Bergen set include a case?
The listing asks whether it comes with a case and does not answer in the bullets. Several UK reviews describe a handy, stylish or sturdy case.
Which five pliers are included?
The title names combination, long-nose and water-pump. The unit count is 5. The listing has no bullet that names the other two types. Treat those two as n/a.
What steel are the jaws?
The amazon.co.uk material field reads nylon, plastic, which is likely the case or handles. Jaw steel is not stated.
The QWORK WD42745 is £12.95 on amazon.co.uk, with 4.5 from 46 reviews. It is the cheap way in this comparison to get a 10 in water-pump pair beside 6 in nose, diagonal and slip-joint pliers, in greased high-carbon steel with PP/TPR grips. The listing tells you to wipe the factory grease and store the set dry. It does not claim stainless steel. Several UK reviews call the kit fine for occasional plumbing and household jobs. Others report a snap on first use, warped ends whose snips pass over each other, or the set falling apart after a few months. No 60900 mark.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a cheap four-piece that includes a groove-joint for traps, and you will inspect jaws on arrival.
Less suitable: You need consistent edges, a 60900 mark, or a dedicated Cobra-style set.
Specifications
Common questions
Can the QWORK set be used for plumbing?
The title and applications bullet name plumbing, automotive and household use, and the box includes a 10 in groove-joint water-pump pair. That is a listing claim, not a Gas Safe tool.
Are they rust-resistant?
The listing says the pliers are greased to prevent rust and tells you to wipe them and store them dry. It does not claim stainless steel.
What went wrong in UK reviews?
Several UK reviews say the set is fine for odd jobs. Others report a snap on first use, warped working ends with snips that pass over each other, a missing large pair, or the set falling apart after a few months.
The Ingco HKPS08318-cb is £13.99 on amazon.co.uk, with 4.4 from 76 reviews. It is a yellow-black 8/6/6 in three-piece with twice heat-treated steel in the bullets. The listed 209 g weight is implausibly light for three pliers. UK reviews are mixed: repeat purchase for DIY, and also blunt on bike cable, rust spots and a melted handle on arrival. No pouch and no 60900 mark.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a cheap named Ingco trio for house DIY, not bike cables or live work.
Less suitable: You need a pouch, chromium-vanadium on the spec sheet, or cutters for hard wire.
Specifications
Common questions
Is this the same as the Ingco seven-piece in this comparison?
No. This HKPS08318-cb listing is an 8 in combination plus 6 in diagonal and 6 in long-nose only. The COS23036 seven-piece adds locking, slip-joint and pump pliers and a pouch.
Does the listing claim rust resistance?
The listing asks whether the set is rust-resistant and does not answer with a coating name. One UK review reports rust spots on the jaw edges.
Will they cut a bike brake cable?
The listing does not state a cutting diameter. One UK review says all three pairs went blunt on a bike brake cable.
The OX Pro OX-P326903 is £17.41 on amazon.co.uk, with 4.4 from 53 reviews and rank 3 in Plier Sets. The include line is a 7 in combination, 8 in long-nose and 6 in diagonal in chromium-vanadium with dual-component grips. UK reviews mostly call it solid DIY OX quality. One buyer flagged the pack versus vanadium wording, one found the cutter blunt, one missed a rubber grip. No case and no 60900 mark.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You want a UK trade-brand three-piece around the mid teens and will check the cutter on copper, not fence wire.
Less suitable: You need a pouch, a 60900 mark, or a water-pump pair in the same box.
Specifications
Common questions
Are the OX Pro pliers chrome-vanadium as the listing says?
The amazon.co.uk material field and a bullet say chromium-vanadium steel and induction-hardened jaws. One UK review says the packaging only read induction-hardened chrome steel, with no vanadium. That dispute is a review, not a second specification.
Can they cut thick wire?
The listing asks that as an unanswered question and does not print a cutting diameter. One UK review called the wire cutters blunt. Another DIY review found the cutter sharp enough for home jobs.
Are they insulated for live work?
No. Dual-component grips are listed and electricians are named among users. There is no VDE, 1000 V or BS EN IEC 60900 mark.
The LuLuxinxin set is £7.99 on amazon.co.uk, with 4.2 from 38 reviews. Lengths are 170/165/155 mm in carbon steel with TPR grips. Some buyers treat it as a stolen-tools replacement. The UK sample also has blunt cutters, a bent long-nose, burrs and a used look. Electrical in the title is not a 60900 mark.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You need a disposable starter trio and will test the cutters on copper, then return them if they are burred.
Less suitable: You need cutters that meet, a brand you can replace, or live-work tools.
Specifications
Common questions
Is this a professional electrical set?
The title and usage line say professional electrical pliers and electrical tasks. There is no VDE, 1000 V or BS EN IEC 60900 mark. TPR grips are comfort, not a live-work rating.
Can it be used for cutting wires?
The listing asks that and the bullets claim crisp cutting edges for copper, aluminium and similar everyday wires. Several UK reviews say the cutters would not cut butter, cheese wire or grass, with burrs on the edge.
What arrived in poor condition?
One UK review describes a loose long-nose, burrs on the snips, glue on the handles and a scuffed, dirty, used look. Another says the needle-nose bent on first use.
The Aoyfuwell JN-NEW-019 is £7.88 on amazon.co.uk, with 4.0 from 133 reviews, the weakest star rating in this comparison. The box is a red 170/160/160 mm trio in alloy steel. Beginner-toolbox reviews exist. The UK sample is also full of cutters that do not meet, handles that snap, edges that bend on mains cable, and rust. Electrician in the bullet is not a 60900 mark.
Pros
Cons
Best for: You are only comparing the floor of the market and will inspect alignment before you keep them.
Less suitable: You need cutters that meet, a spring, or anything approaching trade use.
Specifications
Common questions
Is this the same as the yellow Aoyfuwell set?
No. This JN-NEW-019 listing is red, black and silver, 170/160/160 mm, £7.88, 4.0 from 133 reviews. The yellow JN-UK-JXQTZ-152 is a different ASIN with 170/160/165 mm and a smaller, kinder review sample.
Do the cutters meet?
The bullets claim induction-hardened edges. Multiple UK reviews say the side-cutters show light between the blades, squash wire, miss strands, or will not cut a cable tie, guitar string or 12 AWG copper.
Should you remove the oil?
Yes. The listing tells you to remove excess protective oil before use. Some UK reviews still report dirt or rust on arrival.
Twelve pliers sets on amazon.co.uk were scored on 19 October 2026 from listing facts and UK review notes, not from a workshop test. The starting figure is the amazon.co.uk star rating times 20. The score is held or raised when the listing names the types, the lengths and the steel, and when the UK review sample does not repeat a broken cutter or a sprung jaw. It is lowered when those reviews repeat a blunt or misaligned cutter, jaws that do not meet, a snapped tip or handle, or a bent long-nose. Brand stories, best-seller badges and a live-work rating the listing does not mark add nothing. None of these twelve listings print BS EN IEC 60900. Stars stay the amazon.co.uk lines. The 0–100 score is that editorial sort, not a lab percentage.
Star baseline
40%The amazon.co.uk star average times 20 is the start, on a 0–40 share of the sort. A 4.7 from 2,819 reviews is a different file from 4.7 from 27 reviews, so a thin sample does not hold the full baseline.
Named specification
30%Up to 30 points when the listing names the types and lengths in the box and names the steel. A material field that only says plastic, or bullets that omit the three sizes, stay at the baseline.
UK review faults
30%Up to 30 points when UK reviews do not repeat a functional fault. Blunt or misaligned cutters, jaws that do not meet, a snapped tip or handle, or a bent long-nose score lower. A single stained arrival is a smaller cut than a repeated cutter cluster.
Start with the job, then with the jaws in the box, then with the steel and the UK review notes on the cutters. Price comes after those three. The notes below follow that order for these twelve amazon.co.uk listings, checked on 19 October 2026. None of the scores is a workshop test.
A UK pliers set is a box of gripping and cutting pliers. On amazon.co.uk the usual first kit is three pieces: combination pliers about 180 mm, long-nose pliers about 160–200 mm, and diagonal side cutters about 160 mm. Toolstation describes that trio as the everyday set. Larger boxes add groove-joint water-pump pliers, slip-joint pliers or locking pliers. The Knipex 00 20 09 V02 in this comparison is three Cobra water-pump sizes in a tray, listed at about £83.95.

PP, TPR and rubber coatings on these sets are slip guards. BS EN IEC 60900 needs the double triangle and 1000 V on the tool. VDE is a third-party mark to that standard. None of these twelve listings print it.
The Knipex 00 20 09 V02 is three water-pump pliers. The bullets do not list a diagonal cutter. Buy it for pipe and nuts when a cutter is already in the bag.
Budget diagonals in this comparison draw blunt-edge and misalignment notes. Fence wire is a harder job than household copper. Grip with the flat jaws. Wipe factory grease off and store the set dry.
The first decision is the job, and the second is whether those jaws are actually listed. A classic three-piece is combination pliers about 180 mm, long-nose pliers about 160–200 mm and diagonal cutters about 160 mm. Bosch, WORKPRO, OX, SHALL, Ingco’s three-piece and both budget Aoyfuwell listings sit in that family, with lengths in millimetres or inches as the bullet prints them. Four- to seven-piece boxes add a groove-joint, a slip-joint or a locking pair.
Chrome-vanadium with a heat-treat line is the clearer steel claim. Bosch, the Ingco seven-piece and OX Pro print chromium-vanadium. OX also says induction-hardened jaws, and one UK review says the pack omitted vanadium. WORKPRO prints drop-forged, heat-treated carbon steel. SHALL is nickel-plated alloy steel. The yellow Aoyfuwell and QWORK claim high-carbon steel. The Knipex material field says plastic and leaves jaw steel as n/a. Bergen’s material field is nylon and plastic.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You want combination, long-nose and diagonal pliers under about £20, and UK reviews that do not call the cutters blunt. The WORKPRO W001366A is about £16.99, with 4.6 from 958 reviews and named 180/160/160 mm lengths.
You already run an L-BOXX and you want a named chromium-vanadium trio. The Bosch Professional 1600A016BG is about £42.11, with 4.7 from 2,819 reviews and a half inlay. Isolate electrics. The side cutters draw the fault notes.
You already own cutters and you want three water-pump sizes. The Knipex Cobra 00 20 09 V02 is about £83.95, with 4.8 from 5,074 reviews. The bullets do not list a side cutter or the three millimetre lengths.
In this set of twelve amazon.co.uk listings, the top pick is the Bosch Professional 3-piece pliers set with L-BOXX inlay. It is about £42.11, with 4.7 from 2,819 reviews, chromium-vanadium steel and named 180 mm, 200 mm and 160 mm lengths. UK reviews also report side-cutter gaps, chips, hinge play and a small number of cracked cutters. The best value is the WORKPRO 3-piece pliers set at about £16.99, with 4.6 from 958 reviews and a drop-forged 180/160/160 mm trio. A stained arrival and a sticky pivot appear once each. The Knipex Cobra set has the highest score as three water-pump pliers and carries no award here. The other nine have no award. None of these scores is a lab test, and none of these sets is marked for live 230 V work.

WORKPRO 3-piece pliers set
Classic 180/160/160 mm trio at about £16.99 with 4.6 from 958 reviews, outside the blunt-cutter cluster of the kits under about £13.
Editorial

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources from the research digest, last checked on 19 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures in the display file.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the UK listings checked on 19 October 2026. We did not lab-test these pliers sets.