Odd tap nuts at home
You turn the occasional tap connector or bracket and you want one everyday length. The WORKPRO 180 mm claims an opening up to 40 mm at about £16.99. Check the button and the jaw faces on the day it arrives.
The best pliers wrenches, compared.
Top pick: WORKPRO 180 mm pliers wrench – Highest score for a first 180 mm pliers wrench at about £16.99, with a 40 mm opening claim. Best value: WORKPRO 180 and 250 mm pliers wrench set – Both lengths for about £29.99, in a separate review file of 4.4 from 288, if the jaws meet. Updated October 2026.
A pliers wrench has smooth jaws that stay parallel, set by a push-button, and used on nuts and flat-sided fittings the way a spanner is used. You choose it for plated tap nuts, valve flats, and brackets, where water-pump teeth would mark the surface. The jaw tells a real one from a lookalike: smooth and parallel. Scores use the UK star lines and the listing facts. The [pliers wrench buying guide](/hub/pliers/pliers-wrench/sub/pliers-wrench-buying-guide) sets out length, jaw type, and what to leave on the shelf.
A pliers wrench has smooth jaws that stay parallel, set by a push-button, and used on nuts and flat-sided fittings the way a spanner is used.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 5Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
Where will you use it?
The WORKPRO 180 mm, model W031448, is the about £16.99 tool in this set, with a stated opening up to 40 mm and a listed weight of 240 g. UK review texts praise the self-locking grip for small plumbing jobs and restricted spaces, and buyers who had priced a Knipex near £60 treat it as a cheaper stand-in. Those texts are the same 50 reviews as on the 250 mm ASIN B0CZ376TVN, both showing 4.5 from 909 and the same DIY rank number, so they do not show how this length alone behaves. One shared note says the jaws meet with no observable gap, while another says the tool manages 32 mm and not 40 mm fittings, which sits under the headline claim. The button sticks or fails to spring back in that sample, including a return for a replacement, and one reviewer calls the edges a bit sharp. The non-slip handles are not described as VDE or insulated. It is the top pick here when you want one everyday length and you will check the button and the jaw faces on the day it arrives.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A first full-size pliers wrench for household flats around a 40 mm claim, if you check the button and the jaw faces on arrival
Less suitable: You need a review file that belongs only to this 180 mm tool, or insulated handles for live work
Specifications
Common questions
Does it have smooth parallel jaws?
The amazon.co.uk bullets say automatically adjustable parallel smooth jaws, with a button for quick release, and a jaw opening up to 40 mm.
Are the handles insulated?
The listing says non-slip handles. It does not state VDE, IEC 60900, or any live-working rating.
Are the 909 reviews only about this 180 mm tool?
The listing line is 4.5 from 909. The saved review texts are the same as on the 250 mm ASIN B0CZ376TVN, so they are not a separate sample for this length.
The WORKPRO 250 mm, model W031449, lists a jaw claim up to 50 mm at about £19.99 and a weight of 477 g, which is the longer lever beside the 180 mm single. The title says 250 mm and the style line says 255 mm, so the length on the page is not one figure. The star line is 4.5 from 909, and the saved UK texts match the 180 mm ASIN, including a comment that calls the tool 6 inch, so they are not a separate test of this length. In that shared sample, one reviewer who has used a pliers wrench for a year likes the weight for leverage, and another says the jaws meet with no gap. The same file says jaw travel is limited, so the opening has to be reset rather than finished in one stroke, and one reviewer prefers an adjustable spanner in a confined space. A button that stays stuck in the handle is the fault that led at least one buyer to ask for a replacement. Treat the 50 mm line as a claim to check on the tool you receive, and do not read the shared stars as a second sample.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Larger nuts where a 180 mm tool runs out of opening, once you have confirmed the length printed on the tool in your hand
Less suitable: You want a review sample that is only about 250 mm, or you work in a space too tight for the extra length
Specifications
Common questions
How wide does the jaw open?
The bullets say up to 50 mm, with parallel smooth jaws and a button release. The title says 250 mm and the style line says 255 mm.
Are the handles insulated?
The listing says non-slip handles. It does not state an insulated or VDE rating.
Is the 909-review score unique to this 250 mm tool?
The listing line is 4.5 from 909, and the saved review texts match the 180 mm ASIN B0CZ3M4KX9. One of those texts calls the tool 6 inch.
The WORKPRO 100 mm, model W031503A, is a 68 g pocket tool at about £16.99, with 14 adjustment positions and a jaw claim of 20 mm. Across 4.5 from 715 reviews, UK texts praise pocket and everyday-carry use, and one owner of a larger Knipex prefers the finish on this WORKPRO. One UK review measured about 19 mm with the handles fully closed, and wrote that 23 mm was possible if the handles were not fully closed, so the 20 mm line sits close to a measured closed opening. Several of those texts talk about a duo, a pouch, or two pliers, while the bullets describe one 100 mm tool, so the 715 count may include talk of a different two-piece listing. Reviewers call the button awkward, and the jaws go stiff just before they close, enough that one buyer needs two hands to open a tool this size. Another says it is virtually useless except perhaps for model making. It belongs in a pocket for small flats, and a 22 mm compression nut at about 32 mm across flats is beyond it.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A pocket tool for small flats under about 20 mm, when you already own a full-size wrench for larger nuts
Less suitable: Household compression nuts, or a buyer who expected a second tool in the box
Specifications
Common questions
How far do the jaws open?
The listing says a 20 mm jaw opening and 14 adjustment positions. One UK review measured about 19 mm with the handles fully closed.
Does the box include a second tool?
The bullets describe one 100 mm pliers wrench and a hanging hole. They do not list a second tool. Some review texts talk about a duo or a pouch.
Are the handles insulated?
The listing says a textured grip. It does not state VDE or a live-working rating.
The WORKPRO set, model W001371, puts a 180 mm and a 250 mm pliers wrench in one box at about £29.99, with jaw claims of 40 mm and 50 mm. The listing is 4.4 from 288 reviews, and 23 of the first 50 texts are marked United Kingdom, which is a separate file from the shared 909 on the singles. UK buyers chose it because both lengths arrive together, and one says the smooth faces left no marks on a plumbing job. Another owner of Knipex says neither piece has jaws that line up, and a second purchase was poorer than the first, with sharp castings and jaws that do not meet. That same review calls the button awkward to lock. The table weight is 771 g, while the bullets split the pieces at 240 g and 477 g, and a case is not named. At this price the pair costs less than two Knipex tools of the same lengths, provided the faces close together when you check them.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A household that does not yet know whether the next nut needs 180 mm or 250 mm, and will return a pair whose jaws do not meet
Less suitable: Daily trade use on finished fittings if a misaligned jaw would mark the chrome, or you already own one of the two lengths
Specifications
Common questions
What is in the set?
The listing is a two-piece set: 180 mm and 250 mm pliers wrenches, with jaw claims of 40 mm and 50 mm. A case is not named.
Do the jaws leave marks?
The bullets say parallel smooth jaws. One UK review says they do not leave marks on plumbing jobs. Other UK reviews say the jaws on their sets do not line up.
Are the handles insulated?
The listing says non-slip handles. It does not state an insulated or VDE rating.
The NUTKIT at about £14.99 is the cheapest listing in this set, and the bullets describe smooth jaws for coated parts plus a button, which is the pliers-wrench shape even though the title also says water-pump pliers. The page does not settle a size: the title says 180 mm and 40 mm, a bullet says 50 mm, the dimension line says 18 x 18 cm, and one UK review refers to 255 mm. With 4.2 from 29 reviews, and only six texts marked United Kingdom, the star line is a short file. One owner of both this and a Knipex calls it usable for the price and short of Knipex quality, and one buyer uses the flat jaws on steel-wire-armour cable glands. Another returned it for misaligned jaws, sharp edges, and machine marks, and a further note says the jaws slip on a tight clamp. The plastic handles carry an anti-pinch claim and no VDE rating. Order it only if you will measure the tool that arrives, because the listing does not give one capacity to plan around.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A low outlay when you will measure the opening yourself and return a pair whose jaws do not meet
Less suitable: You need one stated capacity before you order, or the fitting is finished chrome you cannot mark
Specifications
Common questions
What size is it?
The title says 180 mm and 40 mm. A bullet says 50 mm. The dimension line says 18 x 18 cm. One UK review refers to 255 mm. The listing does not settle on one figure.
Is it a water-pump plier or a pliers wrench?
The title uses both names. The bullets describe smooth jaws for coated parts and a button, and they do not describe serrated teeth.
Are the handles insulated?
The listing says plastic ergonomic handles and an anti-pinch claim. It does not state VDE or a live-working rating.
Five pliers wrenches on amazon.co.uk were scored from the listing facts in this set on 16 October 2026. Stars, review volume, listing clarity, UK fit, and price were set at 40, 20, 20, 15, and 5 points. Shared review texts, a sticking button, a conflicting length, and jaws that do not line up were deducted. There was no lab test. A copied review file is counted once.
Stars
40%The amazon.co.uk star average is scaled to 40 points. It is the listing line, and it is kept separate from the editorial score.
Review volume
20%A larger independent review file scores higher. The 909 texts shared by the 180 mm and 250 mm WORKPRO singles are not counted as two samples.
Listing clarity
20%Smooth parallel jaws, one agreed opening, an agreed length, and a named button add points. A title that also says water-pump pliers, or lengths that contradict, loses them.
UK fit
15%180 mm is the everyday sanitary length in this set. A pair of 180 mm and 250 mm scores next. A 100 mm tool with a 20 mm claim is a pocket piece. A capacity the listing does not settle scores low.
Price
5%A two-piece set under £35 scores at the top of this band. One full-size tool at £15 to £25 scores next. The same money for a 100 mm tool, or the lowest price with no agreed size, scores less.
Start with the jaw, then the opening across the flats you actually turn, then the length. A button that locks and a pair of faces that meet decide whether the tool is usable on plated fittings. The notes below follow that order for these five listings.
A pliers wrench has smooth jaws that stay parallel. A push-button sets the opening, and you use it on nuts and flat-sided fittings the way you use a spanner. UK buyers choose it for plated tap nuts, valve flats, and brackets, where water-pump teeth would mark the surface. You tell a real one from a lookalike by the jaw: smooth and parallel, separate from a serrated plier, an oil-filter clamp, or a lineman’s plier.

Serrated tongue-and-groove, groove-joint, and box-joint water-pump pliers are a different tool, even when the title says plumber’s wrench. The jaw has to be smooth and parallel.
The WORKPRO 180 mm and 250 mm singles both show 4.5 from 909, and the saved texts match. Count that file once. The set’s 288 reviews are a separate file.
The title says 180 mm and 40 mm, a bullet says 50 mm, the dimension line says 18 x 18 cm, and one review refers to 255 mm. The listing does not give one capacity to plan around.
Smooth parallel faces are the category. A push-button sets the opening, and you match millimetres across flats, not the pipe thread size. A claimed maximum is a ceiling. On the WORKPRO 180 mm the claim is up to 40 mm, and one shared review says the tool manages 32 mm. The 250 mm claims up to 50 mm. The 100 mm claims 20 mm, and one UK review measured about 19 mm with the handles fully closed. The set repeats the 40 mm and 50 mm claims.
100 mm is the pocket length, listed at 68 g, with 14 positions on the WORKPRO. 180 mm is the everyday sanitary length, listed at 240 g. 250 mm is the longer lever, listed at 477 g, and its title says 250 mm while the style line says 255 mm. Confirm the length printed on the tool in your hand. The set puts 180 mm and 250 mm in one box at about £29.99. The table weight is 771 g, while the bullets split the pieces at 240 g and 477 g. The button has to lock and release.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You turn the occasional tap connector or bracket and you want one everyday length. The WORKPRO 180 mm claims an opening up to 40 mm at about £16.99. Check the button and the jaw faces on the day it arrives.
A household that may meet either a smaller flat or a larger nut can take both lengths in one box. The WORKPRO set is about £29.99, with jaw claims of 40 mm and 50 mm. Return a pair whose jaws do not meet.
You already own a full-size wrench and you want a 68 g tool for flats under about 20 mm. The WORKPRO 100 mm claims 20 mm and 14 positions. A 22 mm compression nut, about 32 mm across flats, is beyond it.
In this set of five amazon.co.uk listings, the top pick for one everyday length is the WORKPRO 180 mm at about £16.99, with a stated opening up to 40 mm and a listed weight of 240 g. The listing shows 4.5 from 909 reviews, and those texts match the 250 mm single, so they are one sample. UK notes in that file praise the grip for small plumbing jobs, and they also describe a button that sticks. The best value is the WORKPRO 180 mm and 250 mm set at about £29.99, with 4.4 from 288 reviews in a separate file. It covers both lengths if you will return a pair whose jaws do not line up. The NUTKIT is cheaper, at about £14.99, and its page does not settle a size.

WORKPRO 180 mm pliers wrench
Highest score for a first 180 mm pliers wrench at about £16.99, with a 40 mm opening claim.

WORKPRO 180 and 250 mm pliers wrench set
Both lengths for about £29.99, in a separate review file of 4.4 from 288, if the jaws meet.
Editorial

Products Compared publishes British-English buying guides based on amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. We do not run a lab and we do not invent test scores.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Knipex product pages, HSE, and ISO, checked on 16 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures in the display file.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the UK listings checked on 16 October 2026. We did not lab-test these pliers wrenches.