Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Ant poison comparison 2026

The best ant poisons, compared.

Top pick: Jawell 24 x 10 ml stations Best value: Vitax Nippon Ant Stop 2-pack – Two stations at about £5.90, with 4.3 from 1,758 reviews, for one household trail. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

Black garden ants on a sweet trail are the usual reason to look at ant poison. Here that means a pre-filled bait station on amazon.co.uk, which workers carry back to the nest. It is not a sticky monitor and it is not a contact spray. Buglife describes niger as a single-queen species with roughly 4,000 to 7,000 workers in a full colony. You separate these twelve stations by pack count, indoor or indoor-and-outdoor wording, whether an active is printed, and how many reviews sit behind the stars. You may use only an amateur product, and you must follow the label. The [bait stations or a spray](/hub/pest-control/ant-poison/sub/ant-poison-bait-stations-vs-spray) page is that form choice, because a residual spray on the same trail works against the bait. Pharaoh ants in a warm block of flats need a professional. Worker ants are meant to take the dose back to the nest. Outside this set, shoppers also meet professional gels and the nematode feltiae, which the RHS lists for lawn nests. A station sold to destroy a nest is a biocide. In Britain the ant that regularly comes indoors is the black garden ant, niger.

Black garden ants on a sweet trail are the usual reason to look at ant poison. Here that means a pre-filled bait station on amazon.co.uk, which workers carry back to the nest.

Jawell 24 x 10 ml stations

Best overall

Jawell 24 x 10 ml stations
7.8/10∼ £10

42 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

12 of 12: Best ant poisons compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
Jawell 24 x 10 ml stations
Jeweeio 12-pack bait stations
Puciuua 64-pack bait stations
Vitax Nippon Ant Stop 2-pack
Vitax Nippon 4 liquid stations
Jawell 16 x 10 ml stations
Jeweeio 60-pack bait stations
Puciuua 16-pack bait stations
Puciuua 12-pack bait stations
Ferris 2-pack bait stations
Ferris 4-pack bait stations
beedopure 20 x 10 ml stations
7.8/10
7.9/10
7.8/10
8.6/10
8.4/10
7.9/10
7.8/10
7.6/10
7.6/10
7.0/10
7.0/10
–/10
∼ £10
∼ £18
∼ £10
∼ £6
∼ £10
∼ £16
∼ £9
∼ £13
∼ £13
∼ £6
∼ £13
∼ £10
5.0(4)
4.6(7)
4.6(3)
4.3(1,758)
4.2(1,936)
4.0(39)
4.0(6)
3.8(10)
3.8(7)
3.5(4,077)
3.5(4,077)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best ant poisons in detail

Jawell 24 x 10 ml stations

Rank 1

Jawell 24 x 10 ml stations

∼£10

Our view

The Jawell 24-pack gives you twenty-four 10 ml liquid stations for indoor placement at £9.99. Its 5.0-star rating is the highest in the comparison and therefore earns the top-pick badge under the current score method. However, that figure comes from only four reviews, so it is far less robust than the ratings on the two Vitax packs. One reviewer says the end must be snapped off, while the bullets merely say to place the station, leaving the activation step less clear than it should be. The title says “pet safe”, but the listing does not explain that phrase or name the active substance. This is attractive on quantity and early feedback, but you should treat the badge as a data-led snapshot rather than a laboratory verdict.

Pros

  • Twenty-four 10 ml stations for £9.99
  • Highest current star-based score
  • Indoor format offers broad multi-room coverage

Cons

  • 5.0 rating is based on only four reviews
  • Activation, active substance and pet wording lack detail

Best for: Indoor coverage across several routes when a large liquid-station pack is useful

Less suitable: Anyone who expects the top-pick badge to reflect deep reviews or independent testing

Specifications

Model
Jawell 24 x 10 ml stations
Brand
Jawell
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
5.0/5(4)
Stations
24
Placement
Indoor
Bait form
Liquid, 10 ml
Active
Not printed
Opening
Snap the end
Child and pet
Says pet safe
Reviews
5.0 (4)
Weight
370 g
Size
5 x 2 x 5 cm

Common questions

Is the model unique to this pack?

The listing model is JWLiqudant4, the same string as the Jawell 16-pack B0GQYVWCCP.

Does the listing say outdoor?

No. The title and bullets say indoor. One review mentions garden nests.

How many written reviews are there?

The star line is 5.0 from 4. Three written UK reviews were captured.

Jeweeio 12-pack bait stations

Rank 2

Jeweeio 12-pack bait stations

∼£18

Our view

The Jeweeio 12-pack is listed for kitchens, cupboards, doorways, patios and gardens, giving it broad placement wording for £17.99. Its 4.6-star rating is positive, but only seven reviews sit behind it and just three UK texts were captured. The listing clearly tells you to keep the stations out of reach of children and pets, which is more useful than an unexplained pet-safe phrase. Reviewers note that the stations look smaller than the product photographs, so check the pack rather than judging dimensions from the images. No active substance is printed, and this is the dearest captured pack despite containing only twelve stations. It suits someone who values explicit keep-out-of-reach wording, but it is difficult to justify on unit value alone.

Pros

  • Broad indoor and outdoor placement wording
  • Clear instruction to keep away from children and pets
  • Positive 4.6-star headline

Cons

  • Only seven reviews support the rating
  • Highest captured price despite a 12-station count

Best for: Indoor and sheltered outdoor routes where explicit keep-out-of-reach wording is a priority

Less suitable: Value-focused buyers or anyone wanting a well-established review sample

Specifications

Model
Jeweeio 12-pack bait stations
Brand
Jeweeio
Price
∼£18
Customer rating
4.6/5(7)
Stations
12
Placement
Indoor and outdoor
Bait form
Enclosed
Active
Not printed
Opening
Place
Child and pet
Keep out of reach
Reviews
4.6 (7)
Weight
80 g

Common questions

What does the listing say about pets?

A bullet says keep the stations out of reach of children and pets. It does not say pet safe.

Where can you place them?

Bullets name kitchens, cupboards, doorways, patios, balconies, garages and the garden.

How many written reviews are in the file?

Three UK texts sit under a 4.6 from 7 line. One says they look smaller than the photo.

Puciuua 64-pack bait stations

Rank 3

Puciuua 64-pack bait stations

∼£10

Our view

The Puciuua 64-pack supplies the highest station count in this comparison for £9.99, so it is aimed at widespread placement rather than extra strength. Its feature lines cover kitchens, cupboards, pantries, balconies and gardens, and setup is described as opening the pack and placing the stations without tools. The 4.6-star headline looks strong, but it comes from only three reviews and should be treated as an early signal rather than a settled verdict. Neither the active substance nor a clear answer about pets appears in the listing details. The stated 10 mm dimensions also look implausibly small for the pictured station, so do not use that attribute to plan a tight placement. Consider it when quantity is the deciding factor, but not when evidence depth or precise specifications matter more.

Pros

  • Highest pack count in the comparison
  • Low £9.99 price for 64 placements
  • Feature lines cover indoor and outdoor areas

Cons

  • 4.6-star rating is based on only three reviews
  • Active, pet guidance and stated dimensions are not dependable enough online

Best for: A property with many separate ant routes where station quantity is the priority

Less suitable: Shoppers who need mature review evidence or precise product dimensions

Specifications

Model
Puciuua 64-pack bait stations
Brand
Puciuua
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.6/5(3)
Stations
64
Placement
Indoor and outdoor
Bait form
Enclosed
Active
Not printed
Opening
Place, no tools
Child and pet
Unanswered
Reviews
4.6 (3)
Weight
140 g

Common questions

Can the listing be used indoors?

Yes. A feature line names kitchens, cabinets, pantries, balconies and gardens.

Does it say it is safe for pets?

The page asks. The feature lines do not answer.

How deep is the star rating?

4.6 out of 5 from 3 reviews, with three written UK texts.

Vitax Nippon Ant Stop 2-pack

Rank 4

Vitax Nippon Ant Stop 2-pack

Our view

The Vitax Nippon two-pack is a sensible starting point for one visible household trail: it gives you two enclosed stations for £5.90 rather than a large surplus. Its 4.3-star rating comes from 1,758 amazon.co.uk reviews, which is a much deeper evidence base than most packs in this comparison. Reviewers describe snapping off small caps or knobs before placing the station, although some found them awkward to remove. The captured listing does not name the active substance or give a child-and-pet statement, so you still need to read the pack before use. Reports cover kitchens and outdoor placements, but the title's broad Home Defence wording is less precise than a clear indoor-and-outdoor instruction. On balance, this is our best-value option for a small, ordinary black-ant trail, not proof of a laboratory win.

Pros

  • Low £5.90 price for two enclosed stations
  • 4.3 stars from a comparatively deep 1,758-review sample
  • Compact pack suits one localised ant trail

Cons

  • Captured listing does not name the active substance
  • Opening caps can be awkward to snap off

Best for: One localised household ant trail when you want a low-cost two-station pack

Less suitable: Several entrances, or buyers who need the active and child-and-pet wording stated clearly online

Specifications

Model
Vitax Nippon Ant Stop 2-pack
Brand
Vitax Ltd
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.3/5(1,758)
Stations
2
Placement
Home and garden
Bait form
Bait station
Active
Not printed
Opening
Snap caps
Child and pet
Not stated
Reviews
4.3 (1,758)
Weight
50 g

Common questions

Does the Amazon listing name the active substance?

No. The captured listing has no bullets and the attribute table does not name an active.

How do reviewers open it?

They pop or snap small knobs or caps. One reviewer found the knobs hard to remove.

How many reviews are behind the stars?

The listing line is 4.3 out of 5 from 1,758 reviews.

Vitax Nippon 4 liquid stations

Rank 5

Vitax Nippon 4 liquid stations

∼£10

Our view

This Vitax Nippon pack gives you four liquid stations for £10.37, with the title explicitly covering indoor and outdoor use. Its 4.2-star rating is backed by 1,936 amazon.co.uk reviews, the strongest combination of review depth and clear placement wording in this comparison. Reviewers say the three tabs must be snapped to open the station, and pressing too hard can spill the liquid. That makes careful activation and placement away from food-preparation surfaces particularly important. The captured listing does not print the active substance or a child-and-pet line, and its unit-count field conflicts with the four-station title. It is a practical step up from a twin pack when you have more than one entry point, provided you check the physical label before use.

Pros

  • Four liquid stations for several placement points
  • Title states indoor and outdoor use
  • 4.2 stars from 1,936 reviews

Cons

  • Liquid may spill if the opening tabs are pressed too hard
  • Active substance and child-and-pet wording are absent online

Best for: Several indoor or outdoor ant routes where four stations are more useful than two

Less suitable: Anyone wanting a spill-resistant setup or complete active-ingredient details on the listing

Specifications

Model
Vitax Nippon 4 liquid stations
Brand
Vitax
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.2/5(1,936)
Stations
4
Placement
Indoor and outdoor
Bait form
Liquid
Active
Not printed
Opening
Snap three tabs
Child and pet
Not stated
Reviews
4.2 (1,936)
Weight
120 g
Size
28 x 18 x 2.2 cm

Common questions

Is this two stations or four?

The title says a twin pack and 4 liquid stations. Number of Pieces is 4. Unit count is 1.

Does the listing name spinosad?

No. The captured Amazon file does not print an active substance.

What do reviewers say about opening?

Snap the nodules or three tabs. Pressing too hard spills the liquid, and one box arrived already leaked.

Jawell 16 x 10 ml stations

Rank 6

Jawell 16 x 10 ml stations

∼£16

Our view

The Jawell 16-pack contains sixteen 10 ml liquid stations for indoor use at £15.99. Its 4.0-star rating from 39 reviews is more informative than the brand's 24-pack sample of four, although it is still shallow beside the established Vitax listings. Several reviewers squeezed gel onto the trail while others found ants walking around closed stations, suggesting that the listing's setup guidance is not clear enough. You should follow the physical label rather than copying improvised review methods or exposing the bait outside its case. The title says “pet safe”, but the bullets do not substantiate that phrase and no active substance is printed. This pack has a more credible review base than the cheaper Jawell option, yet its higher price and unclear activation reduce its appeal.

Pros

  • Sixteen 10 ml stations for indoor routes
  • Thirty-nine reviews provide more evidence than the Jawell 24-pack
  • Liquid format allows multiple placement points

Cons

  • Costs more than several larger packs
  • Unclear setup led reviewers to improvise with exposed gel

Best for: Indoor multi-point use when you prefer a somewhat deeper review sample

Less suitable: Budget-led shoppers or anyone wanting unambiguous activation instructions

Specifications

Model
Jawell 16 x 10 ml stations
Brand
Jawell
Price
∼£16
Customer rating
4.0/5(39)
Stations
16
Placement
Indoor
Bait form
Liquid, 10 ml
Active
Not printed
Opening
Place
Child and pet
Says pet safe
Reviews
4.0 (39)
Weight
250 g
Size
5 x 2 x 5 cm

Common questions

Can it be used outdoors?

The page asks. The bullets say indoor baseboards, corners and counters. Some reviews also mention a patio.

Do reviewers all leave the station closed?

No. Several squeezed gel onto the trail. Others say ants walked around the stations.

Is the model the same as the 24-pack?

Both listings print JWLiqudant4.

Jeweeio 60-pack bait stations

Rank 7

Jeweeio 60-pack bait stations

Our view

The Jeweeio 60-pack is built for coverage, giving you many adhesive-backed stations for £8.99 across indoor and outdoor locations. Peel-and-stick pads can help hold the lightweight cases on an uneven garden surface, according to the limited review evidence. The listing describes sweet and seafood attractants and sets expectations over days or weeks rather than promising an instant result. That said, its 4.0-star rating rests on only six reviews, so the apparent value is much better established than its effectiveness. The listing does not name an active substance or answer its own child-and-pet question. This pack suits numerous entry points, but buying sixty stations for one kitchen trail would create unnecessary surplus.

Pros

  • Sixty stations for broad coverage at £8.99
  • Adhesive backing helps keep stations in place
  • Listed for indoor and outdoor use

Cons

  • Only six reviews support the 4.0-star rating
  • No named active or clear child-and-pet statement

Best for: Many doors, paths or garden entry points where adhesive-backed coverage matters

Less suitable: One small indoor trail or anyone wanting a well-established review history

Specifications

Model
Jeweeio 60-pack bait stations
Brand
Jeweeio
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.0/5(6)
Stations
60
Placement
Indoor and outdoor
Bait form
Sweet, seafood
Active
Not printed
Opening
Peel and stick
Child and pet
Unanswered
Reviews
4.0 (6)
Weight
130 g
Size
6 x 5 x 12.5 cm

Common questions

How do you fix them in place?

The bullets say each station has double-sided adhesive. Reviews say the pads hold on an uneven garden.

How fast does the listing say they work?

The bullets say activity changes over days and weeks, not at once.

Are pets answered on the listing?

The page asks. The bullets do not answer.

Puciuua 16-pack bait stations

Rank 8

Puciuua 16-pack bait stations

∼£13

Our view

The Puciuua 16-pack offers four more stations than the brand's 12-pack for £13.49 and is listed for indoor and outdoor use. Reviewers describe snapping a tab to start a station, despite the bullets saying little beyond tool-free placement. Its 3.8-star rating from ten reviews is still a small evidence base and does not distinguish it strongly from the cheaper 12-pack. One review reports that a cat spilled liquid from a station placed under a carpet, which is a practical warning against accessible or unstable locations. The listing itself neither names the active nor gives a child-and-pet line. It fits a medium-sized spread of trails, but secure placement matters and the 64-pack offers far more units for less money in the captured prices.

Pros

  • Sixteen stations for medium-scale coverage
  • Listed for indoor and outdoor placement
  • No separate tools or mixing needed

Cons

  • Only ten reviews support the 3.8-star rating
  • Liquid can spill if a pet disturbs an accessible station

Best for: A medium number of indoor or sheltered outdoor placement points

Less suitable: Homes where pets can reach the stations or buyers focused on unit value

Specifications

Model
Puciuua 16-pack bait stations
Brand
Puciuua
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
3.8/5(10)
Stations
16
Placement
Indoor and outdoor
Bait form
Enclosed
Active
Not printed
Opening
Snap a tab
Child and pet
Not stated
Reviews
3.8 (10)
Weight
250 g

Common questions

Can it be used in the garden?

The bullets name gardens, patios, pathways, sheds and garages.

What about a caravan?

The page asks. The bullets do not answer. A Nippon review, not this file, mentions a caravan.

Does the listing say borax?

No. One review names borax. The bullets do not.

Puciuua 12-pack bait stations

Rank 9

Puciuua 12-pack bait stations

∼£13

Our view

The Puciuua 12-pack covers indoor and outdoor placements for £12.99 without requiring mixing, measuring or tools. That count is manageable for a house with several routes, rather than the surplus created by a 60- or 64-pack. Its 3.8-star rating comes from seven reviews, so both the score and the evidence base are modest. Outdoor users report that the lightweight plastic can blow away unless it is secured, and that adhesive works better after dust is swept away. The listing does not name the active substance or answer its pet-safety prompt. This pack is usable where a dozen placements match the job, but it offers weaker value than higher-count packs at lower captured prices.

Pros

  • Twelve stations suit several indoor and outdoor routes
  • No mixing, measuring or tools required
  • More manageable quantity than bulk 60-plus packs

Cons

  • Lightweight stations may move outdoors
  • Only seven reviews and no clear active or pet guidance

Best for: Several indoor or sheltered outdoor routes where twelve stations are sufficient

Less suitable: Exposed garden positions or buyers prioritising the lowest cost per station

Specifications

Model
Puciuua 12-pack bait stations
Brand
Puciuua
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
3.8/5(7)
Stations
12
Placement
Indoor and outdoor
Bait form
Enclosed
Active
Not printed
Opening
Place, no tools
Child and pet
Unanswered
Reviews
3.8 (7)
Weight
110 g

Common questions

Do you need tools?

The bullets say no mixing, measuring or tools.

What do reviews say outdoors?

One review says the plastic is light and blows away unless weighed down. Another says sweep dust before using sticky squares.

Is an active named?

No.

Ferris 2-pack bait stations

Rank 10

Ferris 2-pack bait stations

Our view

The Ferris two-pack is sized for one or two trails and costs £5.99, putting it close to the cheapest option here. Reviews repeatedly say the centre must be pressed until it clicks; if that seal is missed, ants can simply walk past a closed station. The listing says the product can be used indoors and around the home and garden, and it describes the case as suitable around children and pets. However, it does not name the active substance, so that safety phrase should not replace reading the pack. Its 3.5 stars from 4,077 reviews look substantial, but that review dump is shared with the Ferris four-pack rather than representing two independent samples. Choose it for a small job only if you are comfortable with the lower rating and the need to activate it firmly.

Pros

  • Low price for a two-station pack
  • Clear click-to-activate method in shared review evidence
  • Listing covers indoor and home-and-garden placement

Cons

  • Lower 3.5-star rating
  • Review pool is shared with the Ferris four-pack

Best for: One or two trails where a cheap click-activated station is enough

Less suitable: Buyers seeking an independently reviewed pack or a named active substance

Specifications

Model
Ferris 2-pack bait stations
Brand
FERRIS
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
3.5/5(4,077)
Stations
2
Placement
Home and garden
Bait form
Enclosed
Active
Not printed
Opening
Press to click
Child and pet
Says pet safe
Reviews
3.5 (4,077)
Weight
5 g
Size
20 x 18 x 2 cm

Common questions

How do you start the station?

The shared reviews say press the centre until it clicks so the seal breaks. The 2-pack bullets only say place the station on a trail.

Is the review count separate from the 4-pack?

No. Both listings carry the same 3.5 from 4,077 line and the same review texts.

Does the listing name the active?

No. A bullet says a powerful active ingredient and does not name it.

Ferris 4-pack bait stations

Rank 11

Ferris 4-pack bait stations

∼£13

Our view

The Ferris four-pack spreads the same enclosed bait format across four locations for £12.99. Its instructions are clearer than the two-pack listing: remove the central cover, press until it clicks and keep the station out of direct sun. The listing also explicitly says not to use ant spray alongside the bait, which helps avoid killing or repelling workers before they carry bait towards the nest. Its 3.5-star rating comes from the same 4,077-review dump as the two-pack, so the larger number does not provide a separate verdict on this pack. The active substance is not named, while the broad claim about use around children and pets still requires you to follow the physical label. It makes sense when four placements matter more than the lowest unit price, but the modest rating tempers the recommendation.

Pros

  • Four enclosed stations for multiple locations
  • Listing gives a clear press-until-click activation step
  • Instructions warn against using spray alongside the bait

Cons

  • 3.5-star rating is lower than several alternatives
  • Shares its review dump with the two-pack

Best for: Four separate ant routes where clear activation instructions are useful

Less suitable: A single trail or shoppers who want a separately evidenced four-pack

Specifications

Model
Ferris 4-pack bait stations
Brand
FERRIS
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
3.5/5(4,077)
Stations
4
Placement
Home and garden
Bait form
Enclosed
Active
Not printed
Opening
Press to click
Child and pet
Says pet safe
Reviews
3.5 (4,077)
Weight
90 g
Size
20 x 18 x 2 cm

Common questions

What does the listing say about spray?

The instructions bullet says not to use ant sprays alongside the bait station.

How do you activate it?

Remove the central protective lid and press firmly until you hear a click. Keep it out of direct sun.

Why is the star line the same as the 2-pack?

The two listings share one set of reviews and one 4,077-review line.

beedopure 20 x 10 ml stations

Rank 12

beedopure 20 x 10 ml stations

∼£10

Our view

The beedopure pack provides twenty 10 ml liquid stations for indoor baseboards, corners and counters at £9.99. That is a large amount of bait for the price, but the captured amazon.co.uk file contains no customer-rating line or written reviews. The title uses the phrase “pet safe”, yet the bullets do not explain the claim and the active substance is not printed. Its listing also gives no opening method beyond placing the stations, leaving a basic setup question unresolved. Restricting the wording to indoor use is at least clearer than listings that blur rooms and gardens. Until genuine review evidence and fuller label details are visible, this is a speculative buy rather than a confident recommendation.

Pros

  • Twenty 10 ml stations for £9.99
  • Clearly positioned for indoor use
  • Large pack covers several rooms or routes

Cons

  • No amazon.co.uk review line in the captured listing
  • No named active and no substantiation for the pet-safe title phrase

Best for: Indoor multi-point placement when pack size matters more than established review evidence

Less suitable: Buyers who require verified customer feedback or clear ingredient and safety details

Specifications

Model
beedopure 20 x 10 ml stations
Brand
beedopure
Price
∼£10
Stations
20
Placement
Indoor
Bait form
Liquid, 10 ml
Active
Not printed
Opening
Place
Child and pet
Says pet safe
Weight
270 g
Size
5 x 2 x 5 cm

Common questions

Is this for outdoors?

The title and bullets say indoor, including baseboards, corners and counters.

What does pet safe mean on this listing?

It is a title phrase. The bullets do not explain it.

Are there amazon.co.uk stars?

The captured listing has no Customer Reviews line and no review texts.

How we compared

The figure on each card is the amazon.co.uk star rating multiplied by 20. A listing with no review line scores 0. That figure is not a laboratory test, and it does not apply the weights below. Those weights are the order of the buying checks in the notes. The top pick is the highest star-converted score. The best value is the Vitax Nippon 2-pack at about £5.90, with 4.3 from 1,758 reviews.

1

Species and setting

20%

Glossy black ants on a sweet trail in warm weather are the usual house case. Very small pale ants in a permanently warm building may be pharaoh ants, which need a professional.

2

Bait form

20%

An enclosed bait station is the amateur colony tool in this set. A residual spray or powder on the same trail works against the bait.

3

What the label names

25%

Active substance, indoor or outdoor use, and how you open the station. None of these twelve listings print an active.

4

Coverage and review depth

25%

Station counts run from 2 to 64. A 5.0 from four reviews is a thin sample beside 4.3 from 1,758.

5

Exposure

10%

Keep the station off food-preparation surfaces and out of reach of children and pets. A pet-safe title is an advertising phrase.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
10 sources checked

Ant poison buying guide

Match the ant and the room first. Then check the station count, the placement words, whether an active is printed, and how deep the review sample is.

What is ant poison?

Ant poison in this comparison is a pre-filled, enclosed bait station. Worker ants are meant to take the dose back to the nest. It is not a sticky monitor, not a scatter powder, and not a trigger spray. Outside this set, shoppers also meet professional gels and the nematode Steinernema feltiae, which the RHS lists for lawn nests. A station sold to destroy a nest is a biocide. In Britain the ant that regularly comes indoors is the black garden ant, Lasius niger.

Best for

  • A summer trail of black ants along a skirting board
  • A house with several doors that needs more stations, not a stronger liquid

Not ideal for

  • Suspected pharaoh ants in a warm block of flats
  • A buyer who needs the active named on the amazon.co.uk listing

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Spraying the baited trail

    A residual spray or powder kills on contact. Rochdale Borough Council says not to use gel bait alongside residual spray or powder. The Ferris four-pack listing says the same about ant spray.

  2. 2

    Trusting a pet-safe title

    “Pet safe” in a title is an advertising phrase. UK biocide ads must not say animal friendly, harmless, non-toxic, natural, or environmentally friendly. Read the pack, and keep stations out of reach.

  3. 3

    Treating flying-ant day as an infestation

    Flying-ant day is not, by itself, a reason to buy a large pack. Squashing the workers that should carry the dose, or leaving a sticky spill, works against a bait station.

What to weigh up

Species, setting and form

High

Glossy black ants on a sweet trail in warm weather are the usual house case. Buglife describes the black garden ant, Lasius niger, as a single-queen species with roughly 4,000 to 7,000 workers in a full colony. Very small pale ants in a permanently warm building may be pharaoh ants. BPCA says spraying them can split the colony, so a hospital, bakery, or warm block of flats should call a BPCA or NPTA member. A woodland thatched mound is a wood ant, not a kitchen pest.

Label, coverage and exposure

High

Check the station count, whether the listing says indoor only or indoor and outdoor, and how you open the station. Counts here run from 2 to 64. Pack count does not track price: about £17.99 buys 12 stations, and about £9.99 buys 64. None of the twelve listings print an active. Vitax’s safety data sheet for the named Nippon station states 0.081% spinosad and H412. The captured Amazon bullets for the two-pack do not print spinosad, so the sheet is not a substitute for a blank listing.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

One indoor trail

You have a summer trail of black ants along one skirting board and you want two stations, not a surplus. The Vitax Nippon 2-pack is about £5.90, with 4.3 from 1,758 reviews. It is the best value here. The captured listing does not name an active, so read the pack.

Several doors

A detached house with more than one entry wants more stations, not a stronger unnamed liquid. The Vitax Nippon 4 liquid stations are about £10.37, and the title says indoor and outdoor. The star line is 4.2 from 1,936 reviews. Pressing the tabs too hard can spill the liquid.

Many placement points

You want coverage across many doors or a garden edge, and you accept a thin review sample. The Jeweeio 60-pack is about £8.99, with peel-and-stick pads and 4.0 from six reviews. Sixty stations are surplus for one kitchen trail.

Common questions about ant poisons

Which ant poison is the top pick here?
The top pick on the star-converted score is the Jawell 24-pack at about £9.99. The listing is twenty-four 10 ml liquid stations for indoor use, with 5.0 from four amazon.co.uk reviews. The title says “pet safe”, and the bullets do not explain that phrase or name an active. One review says you snap the end off. Treat the badge as the highest star line in this folder, not as a laboratory result.
Which ant poison is the best value?
The best value is the Vitax Nippon Ant Stop 2-pack at about £5.90. It is two enclosed stations, with 4.3 from 1,758 amazon.co.uk reviews, a much deeper sample than the 5.0 from four reviews on the Jawell 24-pack. Reviewers snap small caps or knobs, and some found them awkward. The captured listing does not name an active. It suits one ordinary black-ant trail, not several entrances.
How much does ant poison cost on amazon.co.uk?
On these twelve listings the entry packs are about £5.90 for the Nippon two-pack and about £5.99 for the Ferris two-pack. Mid-range packs sit at about £8.99 to £11, including the Jeweeio 60-pack at £8.99 and the Vitax four-station pack at £10.37. The upper end is about £12.99 to £17.99. Pack count does not follow price: about £17.99 buys 12 Jeweeio stations, and about £9.99 buys 64 Puciuua stations. Prices move.
Should you use a bait station or a spray?
Use an enclosed bait station when you want workers to carry a dose back to the nest. A residual spray or powder kills on contact and, on the same trail, works against the bait. Rochdale Borough Council says not to use gel bait alongside residual spray or powder. A wasp spray is a different product for wasps, not a treatment for a baited ant trail. Do not spray a trail you have already baited.
What should the listing tell you before you buy?
Check the station count, whether the words say indoor only or indoor and outdoor, how you open the station, and how many reviews sit behind the stars. None of these twelve listings print an active substance. A title that says “pet safe” is an advertising phrase. UK biocide ads must not say animal friendly, harmless, non-toxic, natural, or environmentally friendly. Read the pack. HSE does not endorse products.
Are these stations pet safe or child safe?
Do not treat any station in this set as pet safe, child safe, natural, non-toxic, or environmentally friendly. The Ferris bullets say the case is suitable around children and pets, and they do not name the active. The Jeweeio 12-pack says keep the stations out of reach of children and pets. A Puciuua review says a cat spilled liquid from a station under a carpet. Keep every station off food-preparation surfaces.
When should you call a pest controller?
Call a BPCA or NPTA member if you suspect pharaoh ants, if the nest sits between flats, if you cannot identify the insect, or if the product is for professional use only. Very small pale ants in a permanently warm building are the pharaoh-ant pattern, and spraying them can split the colony. A summer trail of glossy black ants along a skirting board is the ordinary house case for a station. Midlothian Council says it does not treat ants.
How long until ant bait works?
There is no guaranteed kill time in this comparison. The Jeweeio 60-pack bullets say activity changes over days and weeks, not at once. Overnight comments in reviews are not a label claim. Leave the workers to carry the dose. Squashing them, or spraying the same trail, works against the bait. If the ants are not the black garden ant, stop and get the insect identified.

Our verdict

The top pick is Vitax Nippon Ant Stop 2-pack, with the highest score in this comparison (8.6 out of 10, from 1,758 amazon.co.uk reviews). The best value is the Vitax Nippon 2-pack at about £5.90, with 4.3 from 1,758 reviews, for one ordinary trail. The Vitax four-station pack at about £10.37 states indoor and outdoor use and has 4.2 from 1,936 reviews. None of the twelve listings print an active substance. This is not a laboratory ranking.

Best overall
Jawell 24 x 10 ml stations

Jawell 24 x 10 ml stations

View offer
Best value
Vitax Nippon Ant Stop 2-pack

Vitax Nippon Ant Stop 2-pack

Two stations at about £5.90, with 4.3 from 1,758 reviews, for one household trail.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
DIY & toolsPest controlamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
10 sources checked

Guides to ant poisons

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources on biocides, ants and bait use. Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk lines in these twelve listings. Prices move.

  1. HSE, using biocides (retrieved 17 October 2026)
  2. HSE, biocide advertising (retrieved 17 October 2026)
  3. legislation.gov.uk, Article 72, biocidal products (retrieved 17 October 2026)
  4. HSE, Control of Pesticides Regulations (retrieved 17 October 2026)
  5. RHS, ants in the garden (retrieved 17 October 2026)
  6. Buglife, black ant (retrieved 17 October 2026)
  7. BPCA, pharaoh ants (retrieved 17 October 2026)
  8. Rochdale Borough Council, ants (retrieved 17 October 2026)
  9. BWARS, Lasius niger (retrieved 17 October 2026)
  10. Vitax SDS, Nippon Ant Bait Station (retrieved 17 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. The card score is the star rating multiplied by 20. It is not a laboratory test.