Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Painting rollers comparison 2026

The best Painting rollers, compared.

Top pick: Nordreach 27-piece set Best value: Fit for the job 9 inch set – Best value as the next score: a 9 inch emulsion set at about £5.95 with 4.7 from 1,144 reviews, and no pole or brush in the box. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A paint roller is a sleeve on a frame, usually with a tray, and sometimes a pole or a brush in the same box. For emulsion on plaster, plasterboard, and ceilings, the usual tool is a 9 inch medium-pile microfibre or synthetic sleeve. A 4 inch sleeve is for doors, skirting, furniture, and gloss. Quality means the right pile and a frame that keeps the sleeve on, not a 27-piece count. Long pile is for rough masonry, and says long pile on internal walls leaves orange peel. Pile, width, the tray, and the pole fitting are set out in the [painting roller buying guide](/hub/painting-supplies/painting-rollers/sub/painting-rollers-buying-guide). Screwfix and also name a 12 inch roller for very large surfaces.

A paint roller is a sleeve on a frame, usually with a tray, and sometimes a pole or a brush in the same box.

Nordreach 27-piece set

Best overall

Nordreach 27-piece set
6.5/10∼ £33

42 products checked · 61 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

12 of 12: Best Painting rollers compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
Nordreach 27-piece set
APACALI 18-piece set
Harris 7-piece kit
Best value
Fit for the job 9 inch set
Harris 9 inch twin set
Hamilton 4 inch set
Mister Rui 4 inch foam set
OAONY extendable roller
Suzmei 2 m roller kit
HISUEKIG telescopic set
APACALI 22-piece set
Avery 30-piece set
6.5/10
6.5/10
8.2/10
8.5/10
8.6/10
8.3/10
7.9/10
7.6/10
6.8/10
5.0/10
5.0/10
1.0/10
∼ £33
∼ £22
∼ £10
∼ £6
∼ £6
∼ £6
∼ £9
∼ £14
∼ £14
∼ £23
∼ £26
∼ £30
5.0(4)
5.0(2)
4.8(255)
4.7(1,144)
4.6(8,782)
4.6(3,006)
4.6(982)
4.4(285)
4.1(95)
4.0(6)
4.0(1)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best Painting rollers in detail

Nordreach 27-piece set

Rank 1

Nordreach 27-piece set

∼£33

Our view

The Nordreach 27-piece set packs six 9 inch and six 4 inch microfibre covers, a tray, three liners, four brushes, and a pole stated at 2 to 4 ft, listed at £32.99 and 2.11 kg. amazon.co.uk shows 5.0 from 4 reviews, all dated 6 September 2026. Those four texts praise paint hold, little lint, and the pole, and none of them describes a fault. Four reviews on one day are too thin to treat 5.0 as a pattern. No thread size is given, so the pole is for the two frames in the box, not a measured fit for a cage you already own. Pile length is not stated. At the highest price in this set, the piece count is not a substitute for the 8,782 reviews on the Harris twin at £6.49.

Pros

  • Six 9 inch and six 4 inch microfibre covers
  • Tray, three liners, and four brushes
  • Pole stated at 2 to 4 ft
  • The four reviews praise paint hold and little lint

Cons

  • 5.0 from only 4 reviews, all dated 6 September 2026
  • £32.99, the highest price in this set
  • No thread size for a cage you already own
  • Pile length is not stated

Best for: You want 9 inch and 4 inch microfibre covers, brushes, and a short pole in one box, and you can ignore a four-review star line.

Less suitable: You want a review file in the thousands, or a pole longer than the stated 4 ft.

Specifications

Model
Nordreach 27-piece set
Brand
Nordreach
Price
∼£33
Customer rating
5.0/5(4)
Width
9 and 4 inch
Sleeve
Microfibre
Tray
With liners
Pole
2–4 ft
Brushes
4 brushes
Paint
Emulsion, oil, gloss
Weight
2110 g

Common questions

What rollers are in the box?

Six 9 inch and six 4 inch microfibre covers, a 9 inch frame, a 4 inch frame, a tray, three liners, and a pole stated at 2 to 4 ft.

Does the listing say the pole fits every frame?

No thread size is given. The set includes its own two frames. A raw question asks whether it fits standard rollers, and the bullets do not answer with a measurement.

How many reviews support the 5.0 score?

Four, all dated 6 September 2026. They praise paint hold, little lint, and the pole. None of the four describes a fault.

APACALI 18-piece set

Rank 2

APACALI 18-piece set

∼£22

Our view

The APACALI 18-piece set is 9 inch and 4 inch microfibre rollers, a textured 9 inch tray, brushes, and a 3-section stainless pole, listed at £21.99 and 1.01 kg. amazon.co.uk shows 5.0 from 2 reviews. The extended pole length is not stated, and the technical table prints 1 × 1 × 1 cm, which is not a working length. The bullets name water-based and solvent-based paints for walls, ceilings, skirting, windowsills, and doors. Both UK reviews talk about having large and small rollers, a tray, brushes, and a pole in one box, and neither describes a broken part. Two texts cannot show whether the pole locks or the sleeves shed. Take it only if you can accept that the reach is unstated and the star line is two ratings.

Pros

  • 9 inch and 4 inch microfibre rollers and a 9 inch tray
  • 3-section stainless pole and brushes in the box
  • Named for water-based and solvent-based paints
  • £21.99 and 1.01 kg

Cons

  • 5.0 from only 2 reviews
  • Extended pole length is not stated
  • 1 × 1 × 1 cm in the technical table is not a working size
  • Pile length is not stated

Best for: You want large and small rollers, a tray, and a pole in one box at £21.99, and two reviews are enough for you.

Less suitable: You need a stated reach, a large review file, or a pile length in millimetres.

Specifications

Model
APACALI 18-piece set
Brand
APACALI
Price
∼£22
Customer rating
5.0/5(2)
Width
9 and 4 inch
Sleeve
Microfibre
Tray
Yes
Pole
3-section
Brushes
Yes
Paint
Water, solvent
Weight
1010 g

Common questions

What widths and pole does it include?

9 inch and 4 inch microfibre rollers, a textured 9-inch tray, and a 3-section stainless pole. The extended length is not stated.

Which paints are named?

The bullets say water-based and solvent-based paints, for walls, ceilings, skirting, windowsills, and doors.

What do the two reviews say?

Both are UK reviews and both talk about having large and small rollers, a tray, brushes, and a pole in one box. Neither describes a broken part.

Harris 7-piece kit

Rank 3

Harris 7-piece kit

∼£10

Our view

The Harris seven-piece kit is a 9 inch tray, three medium-pile sleeves, a 9 inch cage, a 1 inch brush, and a 2 inch brush, listed at £10.27 and 760 g. amazon.co.uk shows 4.8 from 255 reviews. The bullet says the sleeve is for emulsion on walls and ceilings. An extension pole is not included, so cutting in is covered and reaching a ceiling from the floor is not. The review file is much smaller than the 8,782 on the Harris twin at £6.49, and the captured texts do not record a repeated defect. You pay £3.78 more than that twin for the two brushes and a third sleeve. It suits a first room if you do not already own a cutting-in brush, and it is the wrong box if you still need a pole for the ceiling.

Pros

  • 9 inch tray, three medium-pile sleeves, a cage, and 1 inch and 2 inch brushes
  • 4.8 from 255 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Sleeve named for emulsion on walls and ceilings
  • 760 g kit at £10.27

Cons

  • No extension pole
  • 255 reviews, against 8,782 on the Harris twin
  • £3.78 more than the Harris twin at £6.49

Best for: You want one box that cuts in with brushes and rolls emulsion with a 9 inch sleeve.

Less suitable: You already own brushes, or you need a pole to reach a ceiling from the floor.

Specifications

Model
Harris 7-piece kit
Brand
Harris
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.8/5(255)
Width
9 inch
Sleeve
Medium pile
Pile
Medium
Tray
Yes
Pole
No
Brushes
1 and 2 inch
Paint
Emulsion
Weight
760 g

Common questions

What is in the box?

A 9 inch tray, three medium-pile sleeves, a 9 inch cage frame, a 1 inch brush, and a 2 inch brush.

Which paint is named?

The bullet says the sleeve is for emulsion on walls and ceilings. No other paint is named.

Does it include an extension pole?

No. The included list is the tray, three sleeves, the cage, and two brushes.

Fit for the job 9 inch set

Rank 4

Fit for the job 9 inch set

Our view

The Fit for the job PSET3H is three 9 inch synthetic medium-pile sleeves, a frame, and a recycled-plastic tray, listed at £5.95 and 430 g. amazon.co.uk shows 4.7 from 1,144 reviews. The listing sells it for emulsion, including matt, silk, and eggshell, on smooth and semi-smooth plaster, drywall, and ceilings, including light to medium texture such as Artex. The frame has a push fitting for an extension pole, and the pole itself is not in the box. The listing says to rinse the sleeve in cold or tepid water before first use, and that the tray can be washed in warm water and reused. At £5.95 with more than a thousand reviews it is the best value in this set. It is a weak choice if you need brushes in the same box or a pole that is already included.

Pros

  • Three 9 inch synthetic medium-pile sleeves, a frame, and a recycled tray at £5.95
  • 4.7 from 1,144 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Named for emulsion, including light to medium texture such as Artex
  • Push fitting for a pole you buy separately
  • Listing says rinse the sleeve before first use and wash the tray in warm water

Cons

  • Pole is not in the box
  • No brushes for cutting in
  • 430 g pack, a light tray set rather than a full decorating kit

Best for: You want a 9 inch emulsion set at £5.95 with more than a thousand reviews, and you already have a brush and a push-fit pole.

Less suitable: You need brushes, a pole in the box, or a foam sleeve for gloss.

Specifications

Model
Fit for the job 9 inch set
Brand
Fit for the job
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.7/5(1,144)
Width
9 inch
Sleeve
Synthetic pile
Pile
Medium
Tray
Recycled
Pole
Push fitting
Brushes
No
Paint
Emulsion
Weight
430 g

Common questions

What paint is this set for?

The listing says medium-pile synthetic for emulsion, including matt, silk, and eggshell, on smooth and semi-smooth plaster, drywall, and ceilings, including light to medium texture such as Artex.

Does a pole come in the box?

No. The frame has a push fitting for an extension pole. The pole itself is not listed.

Can the tray be washed and used again?

The listing says the recycled-plastic tray can be cleaned in warm water and reused. It also says to rinse the sleeve in cold or tepid water before first use.

Harris 9 inch twin set

Rank 5

Harris 9 inch twin set

Our view

The Harris 9 inch medium-pile twin set is a tray and a frame sold for walls and ceilings, listed at £6.49. amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 8,782 reviews, the largest file in this set, which is why it is the top pick. In the first 50 texts, paint hold and a smooth wall finish come up often. Other buyers mention fluff, a thin-feeling tray, or sleeves that wore sooner than expected. One review says the frame did not fit a standard threaded pole and needed a Harris pole, and the listing does not give a thread size. The title calls it a twin set with a tray and a frame, and the listing does not itemise anything beyond that. It is the 9 inch medium-pile set to start a room of emulsion if you already accept that the pole fitting is not a universal thread.

Pros

  • 9 inch medium-pile set with tray and frame at £6.49
  • 4.6 from 8,782 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • First 50 texts often mention paint hold and a smooth wall finish
  • Sold for walls and ceilings

Cons

  • One review: the frame did not fit a standard threaded pole
  • Fluff, a thin-feeling tray, or sleeves that wore sooner
  • No itemised box list beyond the twin title

Best for: You want a 9 inch medium-pile set for emulsion on walls and ceilings, with the largest review file in this comparison.

Less suitable: You need a stated pole thread, or a 4 inch sleeve for doors and skirting.

Specifications

Model
Harris 9 inch twin set
Brand
Harris
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.6/5(8,782)
Width
9 inch
Sleeve
Medium pile
Pile
Medium
Tray
Yes
Paint
Walls, ceilings

Common questions

Does the set include a tray and a frame?

The title says a twin medium-pile set with tray and frame, at 9 inch. This saved listing has no components table, so anything beyond that title is not stated.

Will a threaded extension pole fit the frame?

One review says the frame did not fit a standard threaded pole and needed a Harris pole. The file does not give a thread size.

What do the reviews say about the finish?

The listing is 4.6 from 8,782 reviews. In the first 50 texts, paint hold and a smooth wall finish are common. Others mention fluff, a thin-feeling tray, or sleeves that wore sooner than expected.

Hamilton 4 inch set

Rank 6

Hamilton 4 inch set

Our view

The Hamilton set is one 4 inch frame, one tray, and five medium-pile sleeves, listed at £5.99 and 190 g. amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 3,006 reviews. A 4 inch sleeve is the width for doors, skirting, and furniture, and this box is not a 9 inch wall set. The bullets do not name emulsion, gloss, or masonry paint. In the first 50 texts, value is the point reviewers repeat. One reviewer says a sleeve did not spin properly, and one says they threw the set away after a single job. Those two faults sit inside a large file, so they are not the whole story, but they are the complaints the listing records.

Pros

  • Five 4 inch medium-pile sleeves, a frame, and a tray at £5.99
  • 4.6 from 3,006 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • 190 g box for doors, skirting, and furniture
  • Value is the point reviewers repeat

Cons

  • Not a 9 inch wall set
  • Bullets do not name a paint
  • One sleeve that would not spin, and one set thrown away after a single job

Best for: You want a cheap 4 inch medium-pile set with a large review file for trim and small areas.

Less suitable: You are painting walls and ceilings with a 9 inch sleeve, or you need the listing to name gloss or emulsion.

Specifications

Model
Hamilton 4 inch set
Brand
Hamilton
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.6/5(3,006)
Width
4 inch
Sleeve
Medium pile
Pile
Medium
Tray
Yes
Pole
No
Brushes
No
Weight
190 g

Common questions

What size are the sleeves?

4 inch. The box is one frame, one tray, and five medium-pile sleeves. It is not a 9 inch wall set.

Which paint does the listing name?

None. The bullets say easy to use, value for money, and durable. They do not name emulsion, gloss, or masonry paint.

What do reviewers say went wrong?

The listing is 4.6 from 3,006 reviews. In the first 50 texts, value is the repeated point. One reviewer says a sleeve did not spin properly, and one says they threw the set away after a single job.

Mister Rui 4 inch foam set

Rank 7

Mister Rui 4 inch foam set

Our view

The Mister Rui set is a 4 inch high-density foam roller for flat surfaces, furniture, and wood, listed at £8.95 and 340 g. amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 982 reviews. The bullets name five foam sleeves, one frame, one stable tray, and one disposable tray, while a size field also says 8 packs, so the piece count is not one figure. The listing names water-based and oil-based paint. In the first 50 texts, a smooth finish on cupboards and small jobs is common, and trays are described as easy to clean. One review mentions a very fine spray. Dulux does not recommend foam for normal emulsion because it bubbles, and it also says to avoid foam mini rollers on its quick-dry woodwork paints, so this is a flat-surface and gloss tool rather than a wall roller.

Pros

  • 4 inch high-density foam for flat surfaces and furniture
  • 4.6 from 982 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Two trays named in the bullets
  • Water-based and oil-based paint named
  • First 50 texts often mention a smooth finish on cupboards

Cons

  • Bullets say five sleeves; a size field says 8 packs
  • One review mentions a very fine spray
  • Foam is the wrong sleeve for normal emulsion

Best for: You want a dense 4 inch foam sleeve for furniture, cupboards, and flat gloss work.

Less suitable: You are rolling matt emulsion on walls, or a quick-dry trim paint that Dulux says to keep foam off.

Specifications

Model
Mister Rui 4 inch foam set
Brand
Mister Rui
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.6/5(982)
Width
4 inch
Sleeve
High-density foam
Pile
Foam
Tray
Two trays
Pole
No
Brushes
No
Paint
Water and oil
Weight
340 g

Common questions

Is this a 9 inch emulsion roller?

No. It is a 4 inch high-density foam set for flat surfaces, furniture, and wood projects.

How many sleeves and trays are listed?

The bullets say five foam sleeves, one frame, one stable tray, and one disposable tray. A size field also says 8 packs, which does not match that bullet.

What do reviewers mention about the finish?

The listing is 4.6 from 982 reviews. The first 50 texts often mention a smooth finish on cupboards and small jobs, and trays that are easy to clean. One review mentions a very fine spray.

OAONY extendable roller

Rank 8

OAONY extendable roller

∼£14

Our view

The OAONY kit is three 9 inch synthetic rollers on a stainless pole the listing states as about 2.6 ft to 6.6 ft, at £13.99 and 810 g. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 285 reviews. A tray is not named, and one reviewer wished the box had one. Several reviews say the pole is the useful part and that the roller loosens once it is loaded with paint. The bullet claims the sleeves do not shed, and pile length in millimetres is not stated. Reviews split the pole from the head, so a 9 inch set with its own tray is a safer first buy if the sleeve has to stay on. It is the pole to look at when you want a stated reach past 6 ft and you will check the head before you load it.

Pros

  • Stainless pole stated at about 2.6 ft to 6.6 ft
  • Three 9 inch synthetic rollers at £13.99
  • 4.4 from 285 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • 810 g across seven sections

Cons

  • No tray
  • Roller loosens once it is loaded with paint
  • Pile length in millimetres is not stated

Best for: You want a stated reach past 6 ft and you will check that the head stays on before you load paint.

Less suitable: You need a tray in the box, or a sleeve that reviewers say stays put under a full load.

Specifications

Model
OAONY extendable roller
Brand
OAONY
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.4/5(285)
Width
9 inch
Sleeve
Synthetic fibre
Tray
No
Pole
2.6–6.6 ft
Brushes
No
Weight
810 g

Common questions

How long is the pole, and is there a tray?

The listing says seven stainless sections, about 2.6 ft to 6.6 ft. A tray is not named. One reviewer wished the box had one.

Does the roller stay on the pole?

Several reviews say the pole is the useful part and that the roller loosens in use, especially once it is loaded with paint.

What sleeve width is stated?

The bullet says a 9 inch synthetic roller, with three included. It claims they do not shed. Pile length in millimetres is not stated.

Suzmei 2 m roller kit

Rank 9

Suzmei 2 m roller kit

∼£14

Our view

The suzmei CD-5201 is five 40 cm sections stated as 2 m together, with three woven-fibre rollers, listed at £13.99 and 1.24 kg. amazon.co.uk shows 4.1 from 95 reviews. A tray is not in the bullets, and the sleeve width is not stated. The technical table prints 1 × 1 × 1 cm, which is not the length of a 2 m pole. Reviews repeatedly say the roller slips off and that the sections twist or wobble when the pole is extended, and some buyers returned it for that. The bullet says the woven fibres shed virtually none, while reviews include fabric left on the painted wall. At the same £13.99 as the OAONY kit, the lower star line and the head-slip pattern are the reason to leave this one.

Pros

  • Five 40 cm sections, stated as 2 m together
  • Three woven-fibre rollers at £13.99
  • Listed weight 1.24 kg
  • Bullet claims the woven fibres shed virtually none

Cons

  • Roller slips off, and sections twist or wobble when extended
  • Reviews include fabric left on the painted wall
  • No tray, and sleeve width is not stated
  • 1 × 1 × 1 cm in the technical table is not the pole length

Best for: You want a sectional pole stated at 2 m and you will test the head lock before you paint.

Less suitable: You need a roller that stays on the frame, a tray, or a stated sleeve width.

Specifications

Model
Suzmei 2 m roller kit
Brand
suzmei
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.1/5(95)
Sleeve
Woven fibre
Tray
No
Pole
2 m
Brushes
No
Weight
1240 g

Common questions

How long is the pole, and is there a tray?

Five sections of 40 cm, stated as 2 m together. A tray is not in the bullets.

Does the roller stay on the handle?

Reviews repeatedly say the roller slips off, and that the sections twist or wobble when the pole is extended. Some buyers returned it for that.

Does the listing claim the fibres shed?

The bullet says the woven fibres shed virtually none. Reviews include fabric left on the painted wall, so the claim and the texts do not match.

HISUEKIG telescopic set

Rank 10

HISUEKIG telescopic set

∼£23

Our view

The HISUEKIG kit is an aluminium telescopic pole the UK bullets state as up to 122 cm, plus a roller frame and three synthetic covers, listed at £22.99 and 680 g. amazon.co.uk shows 4.0 from 6 reviews. A tray is not named, and sleeve width and pile length are not in the UK bullets. The included-components field says no, while the bullets name the pole, the frame, and the three covers. One UK reviewer, five feet tall, returned it as still too short and top-heavy and went back to stepladders. Six reviews and a 122 cm claim are a thin basis for painting a ceiling from the floor. It is a short indoor pole if 122 cm is enough for the wall in front of you.

Pros

  • Aluminium pole stated up to 122 cm
  • Frame and three synthetic covers at £22.99
  • Listed weight 680 g
  • Named for interior and exterior

Cons

  • 4.0 from only 6 reviews
  • One UK buyer, five feet tall, returned it as too short and top-heavy
  • No tray, and sleeve width is not stated
  • Included-components field says no

Best for: You want a short telescopic pole stated at 122 cm and that reach is enough for the wall in front of you.

Less suitable: You need a ceiling from the floor, a tray, or a stated sleeve width.

Specifications

Model
HISUEKIG telescopic set
Brand
HISUEKIG
Price
∼£23
Customer rating
4.0/5(6)
Sleeve
Synthetic fibre
Tray
No
Pole
To 122 cm
Brushes
No
Paint
Interior, exterior
Weight
680 g

Common questions

How far does the pole reach?

The UK bullets say up to 122 cm. One UK reviewer, five feet tall, returned it as still too short and top-heavy, and went back to stepladders.

What else is in the box?

The bullets name a telescopic pole, a roller frame, and three synthetic covers. The included-components field says no. A tray is not named.

Is a pile length given?

Not in the UK bullets. Sleeve width is not stated either.

APACALI 22-piece set

Rank 11

APACALI 22-piece set

∼£26

Our view

The APACALI set titled as 22 pieces lists 9 inch and 4 inch microfibre rollers, a 9 inch tray, a 3-section stainless pole, a sanding block, masking tape, a painter's tool, and gloves, at £25.99 and 1.19 kg. amazon.co.uk shows 4.0 from 1 review. The part number says 24PCS while the title says 22, and the pole length in centimetres is not given. The technical table prints 1 × 1 × 1 cm, which is not the size of the kit. The only UK review calls it a useful set for home decorating and not the kit that reviewer would expect a professional to use. One text is not a pattern, and tape and gloves do not tell you how the sleeve holds paint. It costs £4 more than the APACALI 18-piece set, which itself has only two reviews, so neither box has a file you can lean on.

Pros

  • 9 inch and 4 inch rollers, a 9 inch tray, and a 3-section pole
  • Sanding block, masking tape, a painter's tool, and gloves in the bullets
  • Named for water-based and solvent-based paints
  • £25.99 and 1.19 kg

Cons

  • 4.0 from a single review
  • Title says 22 pieces; the part number says 24PCS
  • Pole length in centimetres is not given
  • 1 × 1 × 1 cm in the technical table is not the kit size

Best for: You want a mixed 9 inch and 4 inch box with tape and a sanding block, and you will not treat one review as a test.

Less suitable: You want a settled piece count, a stated pole length, or a review file larger than one text.

Specifications

Model
APACALI 22-piece set
Brand
APACALI
Price
∼£26
Customer rating
4.0/5(1)
Width
9 and 4 inch
Sleeve
Microfibre
Tray
Yes
Pole
3-section
Brushes
Yes
Paint
Water, solvent
Weight
1190 g

Common questions

What does the 22-piece claim include?

The bullets name 9 inch and 4 inch rollers, a 9-inch tray, a 3-section pole, a sanding block, masking tape, a painter's tool, and gloves. The part number says 24PCS while the title says 22.

Is the pole length stated?

No. It is described as a 3-section stainless pole for ceilings and stairwells. Centimetres are not given.

What does the only review say?

One UK review, 4.0, calls it a useful set for home decorating and not the kit that reviewer would expect a professional to use.

Avery 30-piece set

Rank 12

Avery 30-piece set

∼£30

Our view

The Avery 30-piece set lists 9 inch and 4 inch microfibre sleeves and matching sponge sleeves, frames, a tray, and a pole, at £29.99 and 1.69 kg. The listing has no customer-review line and no review text, so there is no amazon.co.uk star rating to read. The bullet says the pole runs from 25 cm to 130 cm, and the title says 51.18 inch. Those two figures are not the same, and the listing does not say which one to use. The bullet says the microfibre does not lint, and no review checks that. Pile length is not stated. A 30-piece count at £29.99, with no ratings, sits well above the Harris twin at £6.49 with 8,782 reviews. Buy it only if you want both microfibre and sponge sleeves in one box and you can live with a pole length the listing does not settle.

Pros

  • 9 inch and 4 inch microfibre sleeves and matching sponge sleeves
  • Tray, frames, and brushes in the listing
  • Pole bullet says 25 cm to 130 cm
  • 1.69 kg at £29.99

Cons

  • No star rating and no review text
  • Title says 51.18 inch; the bullet says 25 cm to 130 cm
  • The no-lint claim is not checked by a review
  • £29.99 with a score of 0

Best for: You want microfibre and sponge sleeves in both widths in one unrated box.

Less suitable: You want amazon.co.uk stars, one agreed pole length, or a cheaper 9 inch set with thousands of reviews.

Specifications

Model
Avery 30-piece set
Brand
Avery
Price
∼£30
Width
9 and 4 inch
Sleeve
Fibre and sponge
Tray
Yes
Pole
25–130 cm
Brushes
Yes
Paint
Latex, water-based
Weight
1690 g

Common questions

Is there a star rating?

No. The saved listing has no customer-review line and no review text.

How long is the pole?

The bullet says 25 cm to 130 cm. The title says 51.18 inch. Those two figures are not the same, and the file does not explain which one to use.

What sleeves are listed?

9 inch and 4 inch microfibre sleeves and 9 inch and 4 inch sponge sleeves, plus frames and a tray. The bullet says the microfibre does not lint. No review checks that.

How we compared

Twelve amazon.co.uk listings were scored from the star line and the review count. This is not a lab test. The score is the star rating times 15, rounded half up, plus one review band: 15 at 5,000 reviews, 12 at 1,000, 8 at 200, 4 at 50, 1 at 20, and minus 12 below 20. Bands do not stack. No rating scores 0. The top pick is the highest score, once. Best value is the next score, the 9 inch emulsion set at about £5.95, once. Shelf price is recorded in GBP and used for that award. It is not added on top of the star score.

1

Star rating

75%

The amazon.co.uk star average times 15, rounded half up. A 4.6 and a 4.7 stay close. A listing with no customer-review line scores 0.

2

Review-count band

15%

One band only: 15 at 5,000 reviews, 12 at 1,000, 8 at 200, 4 at 50, 1 at 20, and minus 12 below 20. A 5.0 from two or four reviews cannot outrank 4.6 from thousands.

3

Shelf price

10%

The GBP price on the listing, used to name best value after the score. The next score, a 9 inch emulsion set at about £5.95, takes that award. Price does not lift a thin review file.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Painting roller buying guide

Buy the sleeve for the paint and the surface, then check that the frame keeps it on. Twelve amazon.co.uk listings were scored from stars and review counts. A 9 inch medium-pile set is the usual emulsion job. A 4 inch sleeve is the trim job. Foam is a gloss tool, not a wall tool. A 5.0 from two or four reviews is not the same evidence as a file of several thousand. The top pick and the best value are named from those scores. Neither result is a laboratory test.

What is a painting roller?

A paint roller is a sleeve on a frame. In this set the box usually adds a tray, and sometimes a pole or a brush. For UK emulsion on plaster, plasterboard, and ceilings, the usual tool is a 9 inch medium-pile microfibre or synthetic sleeve. A 4 inch sleeve is for doors, skirting, furniture, and gloss. Screwfix and Brewers also name a 12 inch roller for very large surfaces. None of these twelve listings is a 12 inch sleeve. Quality means the right pile and a frame that keeps the sleeve on.

Best for

  • A first room of emulsion on walls and ceilings
  • Doors, skirting, and furniture with a 4 inch sleeve

Not ideal for

  • Matt emulsion if the only sleeve is foam
  • A ceiling from the floor when the pole length is unstated or still too short

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Long pile on a smooth indoor wall

    Long pile is for rough masonry. Dulux says long pile on internal walls leaves orange peel. Medium pile is the ordinary emulsion sleeve in this set.

  2. 2

    Foam on matt emulsion

    Dulux does not recommend foam for normal emulsion, because it bubbles. Dense foam is a gloss tool. Dulux also says to avoid foam mini rollers on its quick-dry woodwork paints.

  3. 3

    Assuming every pole thread fits

    Push-fit and screw threads are not the same fitting. One Harris review needed a Harris pole. No thread size is printed on that listing, and there is no British Standard for the thread in these sources.

What to weigh up

Surface, pile and width

High

Start with the paint and the surface. Shorter pile is for smooth emulsion. Medium pile is for ordinary walls and ceilings. Long pile is for rough masonry. Dulux says long pile on internal walls leaves orange peel. Soft microfibre is a smooth-wall fabric. Fabric or microfibre is the sleeve for ordinary emulsion. Foam bubbles on that paint, so Dulux does not recommend it, and Dulux also says to keep foam mini rollers off its quick-dry woodwork paints.

Frame, pole and what is missing

High

The sleeve has to stay on the cage, and the core has to match it. Many trade 9 inch sleeves are 44 mm, which is 1¾ inch. Push-fit poles and screw threads are not the same fitting. The Fit for the job frame is a push fitting, and the pole is not in the box. One Harris twin review says the frame did not fit a standard threaded pole. These sources did not produce a British Standard for pile or for that thread. A pole only helps if the stated reach is enough and the head locks.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A first room of emulsion

You want a 9 inch medium-pile set and a tray for walls and ceilings. The Harris twin at about £6.49 is 4.6 from 8,782 reviews, the largest file here, which is why it is the top pick. One review says the frame did not fit a standard threaded pole. If you do not already own a cutting-in brush, the Harris seven-piece kit adds a 1 inch and a 2 inch brush.

Doors, skirting, and furniture

A 4 inch sleeve is the width for trim and small areas, not a 9 inch wall set. The Hamilton set at about £5.99 is one frame, one tray, and five medium-pile sleeves, with 4.6 from 3,006 reviews. The bullets do not name emulsion or gloss. One reviewer says a sleeve did not spin properly.

Flat gloss on furniture

Dense foam is a thin-film tool for flat surfaces, not for matt emulsion. The Mister Rui 4 inch foam set at about £8.95 is 4.6 from 982 reviews, and the listing names water-based and oil-based paint. Dulux does not recommend foam for normal emulsion, because it bubbles, and it says to avoid foam mini rollers on its quick-dry woodwork paints.

Common questions about Painting rollers

Which painting roller is the top pick in 2026?
The top pick is the Harris 9 inch twin set at about £6.49. It scored 84 because amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 8,782 reviews, the largest file in the set. The title includes a tray and a frame for walls and ceilings. Paint hold and a smooth wall finish are common in the first 50 texts. Others mention fluff, a thin tray, or sleeves that wore sooner. One review says the frame did not fit a standard threaded pole. This is a listing score, not a lab test.
How much does a painting roller cost on amazon.co.uk?
These twelve prices run from about £5.95 to about £32.99. About £6 to £9 covers Fit for the job at about £5.95, Hamilton at about £5.99, the Harris twin at about £6.49, and Mister Rui at about £8.95. The large review counts are in that band. About £10 to £23 covers the Harris seven-piece kit and the pole kits. About £30 to £33 is Avery, with no star line, and Nordreach, with four reviews. A higher price is not a deeper review file.
What pile and width suit emulsion on walls?
For ordinary emulsion on plaster, plasterboard, and ceilings, use a 9 inch medium-pile microfibre or synthetic sleeve. Shorter pile suits smooth emulsion. Long pile is for rough masonry. Dulux says long pile on internal walls leaves orange peel. A 4 inch sleeve is for doors, skirting, furniture, and gloss. Screwfix and Brewers split width the same way: 4 inch for trim, 9 inch for walls and ceilings, and 12 inch for very large surfaces. None of these listings is a 12 inch roller.
Should you use a foam roller or a fabric sleeve?
Use fabric or microfibre for ordinary emulsion. Dulux does not recommend foam for normal emulsion, because it bubbles, and it also says to avoid foam mini rollers on its quick-dry woodwork paints. Dense foam is a thin-film gloss tool for flat surfaces and furniture. In this set that is the Mister Rui 4 inch foam set at about £8.95, with 4.6 from 982 reviews. The bullets and a size field disagree on the piece count. The foam or fabric sleeves page is the versus note.
Will any extension pole fit the frame?
No. Push-fit poles and screw threads are not the same fitting, and these sources did not produce a British Standard for the thread. The Fit for the job frame has a push fitting, and the pole is not in the box. One Harris twin review says the frame needed a Harris pole. The listing does not give a thread size. Many trade 9 inch sleeves are 44 mm (1¾ inch) at the core, so the sleeve still has to match the cage you already own.
Do you still need a brush if you buy a roller?
Yes, if you are cutting in along edges, the ceiling line, and skirting. A sleeve does not do that edge. The Harris seven-piece kit at about £10.27 includes a 1 inch brush and a 2 inch brush with three 9 inch sleeves, and it has 4.8 from 255 reviews, a much smaller file than the Harris twin. The Fit for the job and Hamilton sets do not include brushes. If the edge is the job, the flat brush comparison is the other page.
Is a 27-piece or 30-piece kit a better roller?
Not on the evidence in this set. Quality means the right pile and a frame that keeps the sleeve on. The Nordreach 27-piece set is about £32.99 with 5.0 from four reviews, all dated 6 September 2026. The APACALI boxes are about £21.99 from two reviews and about £25.99 from one review, and the 22-piece title does not match a part number that says 24PCS. The Avery 30-piece set at about £29.99 has no customer-review line. Thousands of reviews in this set sit around £5.95 to £8.95.
Does an extendable roller remove the need for a ladder?
HSE explains the Work at Height Regulations 2005 as binding employers and people who control the work, not automatically a householder. The first step is to avoid the climb. An extendable tool from the ground is their example. More than 30 minutes on a leaning ladder or stepladder means look at other equipment. A title that says no ladder is not a guarantee. One buyer returned the HISUEKIG pole, up to 122 cm, as too short. Stop for a stairwell or a frame held on with tape overhead.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Harris 9 inch twin set at about £6.49. It is the highest score: 4.6 from 8,782 amazon.co.uk reviews, a 9 inch medium-pile sleeve, and a tray and frame in the title. Reviews often mention paint hold and a smooth wall finish. Others mention fluff, a thin tray, or sleeves that wore sooner, and one review says the frame did not fit a standard threaded pole. The best value is the Fit for the job 9 inch emulsion set at about £5.95: three synthetic medium-pile sleeves, a recycled tray, a push-fit frame, and 4.7 from 1,144 reviews. The pole and the brushes are not in that box. None of these scores is a laboratory test.

Best overall
Nordreach 27-piece set

Nordreach 27-piece set

View offer
Best value
Fit for the job 9 inch set

Fit for the job 9 inch set

Best value as the next score: a 9 inch emulsion set at about £5.95 with 4.7 from 1,144 reviews, and no pole or brush in the box.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Painting suppliesPainting rollersDIY & tools

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to Painting rollers

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources used for this comparison. Listing prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures saved for this set. Retrieved 21 October 2026.

  1. Screwfix, Paint brushes and rollers buying guide (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. B&Q, Best paint rollers (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. Dulux, Paint roller types (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. Dulux, Painting techniques (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. Harris, Seriously Good 9 inch sleeve (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. HSE, Work at height: step by step (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. SI 2012/1715, VOC in paints (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  8. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9 (retrieved 21 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines for this set. We did not run a lab test.