Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Hibiscus plant comparison 2026

The best Hibiscus plants, compared.

Top pick: Generic yellow Hibiscus syriacus – Highest score in this set because the title names Hibiscus syriacus. The rosa attribute, the seed review and the missing form keep it well short of a trial. Best value: STUJYJK 1 hibiscus rhizome, variant F – The lower price for duplicate STUJYJK bullets, at £8.99, without the dried-wood reviews on the £4.15 row. Updated October 2026.

Quality starts with a species name and a form you can plant, then sun and drainage, then price. That order is the [hibiscus plant buying guide](/hub/ornamental-plants/hibiscus-plant/sub/hibiscus-plant-buying-guide). RHS rates H. syriacus H5 (hardy in most of the UK through a severe winter, about -15°C to -10°C) and H. moscheutos H4 (about -10°C to -5°C). Chinese hibiscus is tender: bright and humid, minimum nights about 7–10°C, and it must come indoors before the temperature falls below 12°C. The plant-type attribute says rosa, and one of three reviews says the parcel is seeds. A hibiscus plant in the UK is one of three different plants. Hibiscus syriacus, rose of, is a deciduous shrub, often 2.5 to 4 metres, flowering from late summer to mid-autumn. Says give rose of until July before you decide it has died. The RHS pruning group is 1, little or no pruning. A harder tidy appears in once the shrub is established, so those two instructions are not the same cut.

Quality starts with a species name and a form you can plant, then sun and drainage, then price. That order is the hibiscus plant buying guide.

Generic yellow Hibiscus syriacus

Best overall

Generic yellow Hibiscus syriacus
5.3/10∼ £15

28 products checked · 57 hrs invested · +16,800 readers

8 of 8: Best Hibiscus plants compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 8
Best overall
Generic yellow Hibiscus syriacus
PQEWFV 1 hibiscus rhizome, colour code A
Best value
STUJYJK 1 hibiscus rhizome, variant F
CXVGFHYG 1 hibiscus bulb, variant H
ZFGJGHK 1 hibiscus bulb, colour code A
STUJYJK 1 hibiscus rhizome, variant E
ZFGJGHK 1 hibiscus bulb, colour code B
STUJYJK 2 hibiscus rhizomes, variant I
5.3/10
2.3/10
4.5/10
4.0/10
3.9/10
3.0/10
3.0/10
2.6/10
∼ £15
∼ £4
∼ £9
∼ £8
∼ £10
∼ £12
∼ £13
∼ £18
3.5(3)
2.3(6)
–
–
–
–
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best Hibiscus plants in detail

Generic yellow Hibiscus syriacus

Rank 1

Generic yellow Hibiscus syriacus

∼£15

Our view

This generic listing is the only title in the set that says yellow Hibiscus syriacus, rose of Sharon, and the price is £14.50. The amazon.co.uk line is 3.5 stars from three reviews: one says the goods were exactly as described, and another says the parcel arrives as seeds and calls it a con. The plant-type attribute says rosa, the colour attribute says multicolour, and the bloom attribute says winter, which is not the late-summer season of rose of Sharon. Form supplied is not stated. Hardiness is only “semi-resistant winter”, not an RHS rating. It leads this table because a species appears on the title, and that lead is thin once you read the attribute and the seed review.

Pros

  • Only title in the set that names Hibiscus syriacus
  • 3.5 from 3 reviews, above the 2.3 rhizome
  • An outdoor setting is stated
  • One review says the goods matched the description

Cons

  • One review says the parcel is seeds and calls it a con
  • The attribute says rosa and winter bloom
  • Form supplied is not stated
  • Only three reviews, and no cultivar name

Best for: A shopper who will check the parcel against the title and return it if seeds arrive.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a potted named cultivar, or who treats the winter-bloom line as a flowering calendar.

Specifications

Model
Generic yellow Hibiscus syriacus
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£15
Customer rating
3.5/5(3)
Species named
Syriacus; rosa attr.
Cultivar named
No
Quantity
1
Hardiness claim
Semi-resistant winter
Setting
Outdoor

Common questions

Does the listing name a species?

The title says yellow Hibiscus syriacus, rose of Sharon. The attribute plant type says rosa. No cultivar is named.

What do the reviews say arrived?

One review says exactly as described. Another says the package arrives as seeds and calls it a con. The star line is 3.5 from 3.

When does the listing say it blooms?

The attribute says winter. Sun and soil type are asked and not answered. Moisture is moderate watering.

PQEWFV 1 hibiscus rhizome, colour code A

Rank 2

PQEWFV 1 hibiscus rhizome, colour code A

Our view

The PQEWFV offer is one hibiscus rhizome at £4.15, and the amazon.co.uk line is 2.3 stars from 6 reviews. Reviewers describe a dried piece of wood in cellophane, rhizomes that were very dry, and no growth. One buyer planted the pieces and said they would update if anything appeared. The title calls it a hardy perennial that needs little or no watering, while a temperature line on the same listing says 21–29°C. Bullets also mix rhizome, bulb, and seed, and neither species nor cultivar is named. At this price you are buying a crown the reviews already call matchstick-sized and lifeless.

Pros

  • Lowest price in this set, at £4.15
  • Title quantity is a single rhizome
  • One reviewer planted the pieces and left the outcome open
  • A garden setting is named on the title

Cons

  • 2.3 from 6 reviews, with dried wood and no growth
  • Species and cultivar are not named
  • Bullets also say bulbs and seeds
  • 21–29°C sits next to a hardy claim

Best for: A buyer who already accepts a cheap unnamed crown and will return goods that arrive dead.

Less suitable: Anyone who wants a named shrub, a reliable first winter outdoors, or a plant that arrives in leaf.

Specifications

Model
PQEWFV 1 hibiscus rhizome, colour code A
Brand
PQEWFV
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
2.3/5(6)
Species named
Not named
Form supplied
1 rhizome
Cultivar named
No
Quantity
1
Hardiness claim
Hardy perennial
Setting
Garden

Common questions

What arrives in the parcel?

The listing says one hibiscus rhizome. A bullet also calls them bulbs, and another bullet says hibiscus seeds. The species is not named.

What do the UK reviews say?

The star line is 2.3 from 6. The review texts describe a dried piece of wood, very dry rhizomes, and no growth.

Does the listing state hours of sun?

No. Sun is not in the attributes. The title says hardy perennial and no watering required.

STUJYJK 1 hibiscus rhizome, variant F

Rank 3

STUJYJK 1 hibiscus rhizome, variant F

Our view

STUJYJK variant F is one hibiscus rhizome at £8.99, first listed on 14 August 2026, and the saved listing has no star line. The title says one rhizome, while the bullets call it a hibiscus bulbs mix for planting in the UK and mention some cold resistance. The dimensions on the listing are 25.4 × 5.08 × 6.86 cm, which describes the parcel, not a mature shrub. The same style of bullets appears on variant E at £12.07, and that higher price still does not name a cultivar. Species and hours of sun are both missing. In this set it is the cheaper of two near-duplicate singles, which is a price fact, not evidence the crown will grow.

Pros

  • £8.99 against a £12.07 twin with the same style of bullets
  • Some cold resistance and a UK border are stated
  • The title quantity is one rhizome
  • Parcel dimensions are published

Cons

  • No star line to check the crown
  • Species and cultivar are missing
  • Bullets say a bulbs mix as well as one rhizome
  • Hours of sun are not stated

Best for: A shopper choosing between the two STUJYJK singles and refusing to pay £12.07 for the same wording.

Less suitable: A gardener who needs Hibiscus syriacus by name, or a flat that needs a houseplant.

Specifications

Model
STUJYJK 1 hibiscus rhizome, variant F
Brand
STUJYJK
Price
∼£9
Species named
Not named
Form supplied
1 rhizome
Cultivar named
No
Quantity
1
Hardiness claim
Some cold resistance
Setting
UK garden borders

Common questions

How many plants are in the pack?

The title says 1 rhizome. The plant-form line says a hibiscus bulbs mix for planting now in the UK.

Does it name the species?

No. There is no cultivar name. The variant code on the title is F.

What size is on the listing?

Product dimensions are 25.4 x 5.08 x 6.86 cm. That is the parcel size on the listing, not a mature height.

CXVGFHYG 1 hibiscus bulb, variant H

Rank 4

CXVGFHYG 1 hibiscus bulb, variant H

Our view

CXVGFHYG lists one hibiscus bulb at £7.79, with a first-available date of 2 June 2026 and no star line in the saved listing. The title says the plant is for the UK and also calls it a potted-plants-rhizome, so the form is not one object. One bullet says it is shade-tolerant and another says it thrives in full sun. There is no species, no cultivar, and no pot size, which leaves the indoor and garden claims as sentences rather than a plant you can site. Garden rank on the listing is 157,113. You pay more than the £4.15 rhizome for the same missing name, without the review warning that cheaper row already has.

Pros

  • Price sits in the lower band at £7.79
  • The title mentions the UK
  • The title quantity is one
  • Indoor and garden settings are both stated

Cons

  • No star line in the saved listing
  • Shade and full sun are both claimed
  • Species is not named
  • The title mixes bulb and rhizome

Best for: Someone comparing unnamed single bulbs who can wait until reviews exist.

Less suitable: A patio that needs a known hardiness, or a shopper filtering by star rating.

Specifications

Model
CXVGFHYG 1 hibiscus bulb, variant H
Brand
CXVGFHYG
Price
∼£8
Species named
Not named
Form supplied
1 bulb
Cultivar named
No
Quantity
1
Hardiness claim
UK on the title
Sun stated
Full sun and shade
Setting
Indoor and garden

Common questions

Is this a potted plant?

The title says potted-plants-rhizome and 1 bulb. No pot size is stated.

What sun does the listing claim?

One bullet says it is shade-tolerant. Another says it thrives in full sun. Both lines are on the same listing.

Is there a review score?

The saved listing has no star line, so the rating is not available.

ZFGJGHK 1 hibiscus bulb, colour code A

Rank 5

ZFGJGHK 1 hibiscus bulb, colour code A

∼£10

Our view

ZFGJGHK colour code A is one bulb at £9.90, sold as a hardy herbaceous perennial that is sun-loving, with a long autumn bloom and a fragrance claim on the title. The saved listing has no star line. The number-of-items attribute says 999, which does not match a title that says one bulb. Species is not named, so the herbaceous claim cannot be checked against Hibiscus moscheutos. Questions on the listing ask for planting depth, timing, and soil, and the bullets do not give those figures. Indoor beds, borders, and balcony pots are all offered, with no pot size. You pay more than the £8.99 rhizome for a habit word and a quantity field that does not add up.

Pros

  • States a hardy herbaceous perennial and a sun-loving habit
  • Autumn is named as the bloom season
  • £9.90, below the colour-code B twin at £13.39
  • Borders and balcony pots are both mentioned

Cons

  • No star line in the saved listing
  • The items attribute says 999
  • Species is not named
  • Planting depth is asked and not given

Best for: A sunny border where you want a herbaceous hibiscus and will confirm the species before dispatch.

Less suitable: Anyone reading 999 as a bulk pack, or a windowsill that needs Chinese hibiscus.

Specifications

Model
ZFGJGHK 1 hibiscus bulb, colour code A
Brand
ZFGJGHK
Price
∼£10
Species named
Not named
Form supplied
1 bulb
Cultivar named
No
Quantity
1
Hardiness claim
Hardy herbaceous perennial
Sun stated
Sun-loving
Setting
Indoor and outdoor

Common questions

What form is supplied?

The title says 1 bulb. The number-of-items attribute says 999, which does not match the title.

Does the listing answer planting depth?

No. The questions ask depth, timing, and soil. The bullets do not give those figures.

Where does the seller say it can grow?

Bullets say indoor and outdoor, including beds, borders, and balcony pots. The species is not named.

STUJYJK 1 hibiscus rhizome, variant E

Rank 6

STUJYJK 1 hibiscus rhizome, variant E

∼£12

Our view

STUJYJK variant E is one rhizome at £12.07, and the bullets match the bulbs-mix wording on variant F at £8.99. The saved listing has no star line, no species, and no sun figure. A question on the listing asks whether it is hardy in every UK region, and the bullets only say some cold resistance. The dimensions repeat the other single, 25.4 × 5.08 × 6.86 cm, and the first-available date is 14 August 2026. The higher price does not add a cultivar, a review, or a second rhizome. If variant F is still on sale, this row is the same offer with a larger number beside it.

Pros

  • UK border wording matches the cheaper STUJYJK single
  • The title quantity is one
  • A cold-resistance phrase is present
  • Parcel dimensions are listed

Cons

  • £12.07 for bullets that also appear at £8.99
  • No star line
  • Species is not named
  • No named UK region for the hardiness line

Best for: Only if the £8.99 variant is unavailable and you still accept an unnamed crown.

Less suitable: Anyone who can buy variant F, or who wants a named shrub in a pot.

Specifications

Model
STUJYJK 1 hibiscus rhizome, variant E
Brand
STUJYJK
Price
∼£12
Species named
Not named
Form supplied
1 rhizome
Cultivar named
No
Quantity
1
Hardiness claim
Some cold resistance
Setting
UK garden borders

Common questions

How does this differ from the other STUJYJK rhizome?

The title code is E and the price is £12.07. The bullets match the bulbs-mix wording on the £8.99 variant F listing.

Is it hardy in every UK region?

The listing question asks that. The bullets only say some cold resistance. No region and no hours of sun are stated.

Is there a review score?

The saved listing has no star line.

ZFGJGHK 1 hibiscus bulb, colour code B

Rank 7

ZFGJGHK 1 hibiscus bulb, colour code B

∼£13

Our view

ZFGJGHK colour code B repeats the herbaceous, sun-loving bullets of colour code A and lists one bulb at £13.39. The saved listing has no star line. The items attribute again says 999. A question about pets and children is not answered, and the species is missing, so a pet note that belongs to Hibiscus syriacus cannot be copied onto this parcel. Planting depth is asked and not given. Colour code B is a variant letter, not a cultivar such as ‘Woodbridge’. The extra £3.49 over colour code A does not buy a name, a review, or a stated pot size.

Pros

  • Same herbaceous and sun-loving claims as the £9.90 twin
  • Indoor and outdoor settings are stated
  • The title says one bulb
  • Autumn is the bloom season on the listing

Cons

  • £13.39 for the same style of copy as the £9.90 bulb
  • The items attribute says 999
  • The pet question is unanswered and the species is missing
  • No star line

Best for: A buyer who specifically wants colour code B and has the species confirmed in writing.

Less suitable: Pet owners guessing from the word hibiscus, and anyone who can take the £9.90 listing.

Specifications

Model
ZFGJGHK 1 hibiscus bulb, colour code B
Brand
ZFGJGHK
Price
∼£13
Species named
Not named
Form supplied
1 bulb
Cultivar named
No
Quantity
1
Hardiness claim
Hardy herbaceous perennial
Sun stated
Sun-loving
Setting
Indoor and outdoor

Common questions

Is it the same offer as the other ZFGJGHK bulb?

The bullets match the colour-code A listing. This title uses colour code B and the price is £13.39 rather than £9.90.

Does the listing say it is safe for pets?

A question asks about pets and children. The bullets do not answer it, and the species is not named.

How deep should it be planted?

The listing asks that question and does not give a depth.

STUJYJK 2 hibiscus rhizomes, variant I

Rank 8

STUJYJK 2 hibiscus rhizomes, variant I

∼£18

Our view

STUJYJK variant I is two hibiscus rhizomes at £18.07, about £9 each, with the same bulbs-mix bullets as the single-rhizome rows. The unit-count attribute says 1, so the listing does not agree with its own title. The saved listing has no star line, no species, no sun figure, and no mature height. Garden rank is 124,091. You pay the highest price in this set for two unnamed crowns and a quantity field that may mean one. A pair only helps if the parcel actually contains two living crowns, which these reviews do not show because there is no star line.

Pros

  • The title says two rhizomes
  • Cold-resistance wording matches the cheaper singles
  • Unit price is close to the £8.99 single if both crowns arrive
  • A UK garden and borders are named as the setting

Cons

  • Highest price in the set, at £18.07
  • The unit-count attribute says 1
  • No star line and no species
  • Height and sun are left unanswered

Best for: Someone who wants two crowns and has checked that the seller will send two.

Less suitable: A single specimen for a pot, or a buyer who trusts the unit-count attribute over the title.

Specifications

Model
STUJYJK 2 hibiscus rhizomes, variant I
Brand
STUJYJK
Price
∼£18
Species named
Not named
Form supplied
2 rhizomes
Cultivar named
No
Quantity
2
Hardiness claim
Some cold resistance
Setting
UK garden borders

Common questions

How many rhizomes are in the title?

The title says 2 rhizomes. The unit-count attribute says 1.

How tall do they grow?

The listing asks that and does not answer it. Sun is also not stated.

Is the species named?

No. Variant code I. The bullets match the other STUJYJK mixes.

How we compared

Eight amazon.co.uk hibiscus listings were scored for this set only, not as a laboratory trial and not as a UK-wide ranking. Every row starts at 40. Points then move for a species on the title, a consistent form, a quantity that matches the title, the star line and review text, price against duplicate bullets, and hardiness or sun wording. The weights below scale those adjustments to 100. One top pick and one best value. Named nursery shrubs are outside the table.

1

Species on the title

25%

The largest naming adjustment is +15 when the title names a species, and -5 when another field names a different plant. The £14.50 title says Hibiscus syriacus and the plant-type attribute says rosa, so both parts apply. Hardy, UK, or a flower photo is not a species.

2

Star line and review text

28%

A star line of 3.0 or higher adds 8. Under 3.0 subtracts 12. No star line subtracts 8. Reviews that describe dried wood, no growth, or seeds instead of the titled plant subtract a further 10. Six rows in this file have no star line. A count of three or six reviews is not a trial.

3

Form supplied

10%

One consistent form, and no seed claim, adds 8. Mixed rhizome and bulb wording, with no seed claim, adds 2. Seed also claimed, or form not stated, adds 0. A rhizome or bulb is a crown. It is not a potted shrub you can see in leaf.

4

Quantity match

13%

The quantity attribute adds 5 when it matches the title. It subtracts 5, with no match points, when it contradicts the title, including an items field of 999 or a unit count of 1 against two rhizomes. The title quantity is what the score treats as the offer.

5

Price against duplicates

12%

An unnamed single priced above £12 subtracts 6. An unnamed offer under £9 with no dried-wood reviews adds 6. The same style of bullets already cheaper in this set subtracts 3. That is why variant F at £8.99 is the best value against variant E at £12.07, not because a crown was grown on.

6

Hardiness and sun wording

12%

Hardiness stated as a plant habit, such as hardy herbaceous perennial, adds 4. Some cold resistance, or for the UK, does not. Sun claims that contradict each other on the same listing subtract 5. None of these lines is an RHS H5 or H4 rating.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
9 sources checked

Hibiscus plant buying guide

Start with the species, then the form that will actually arrive, then sun and drainage, then price. The notes below follow that order for this amazon.co.uk set.

What to check before you buy a hibiscus plant

A hibiscus plant in the UK is one of three different plants. Hibiscus syriacus, rose of Sharon, is a deciduous shrub, often 2.5 to 4 metres, flowering from late summer to mid-autumn. It leafs late. BBC Gardeners' World says give rose of Sharon until July before you decide it has died. The RHS pruning group is 1, little or no pruning. A harder tidy appears in Gardeners' World once the shrub is established, so those two instructions are not the same cut. RHS rates H.

Best for

  • A shopper who will read the species on the title before the price
  • Someone who accepts an unnamed rhizome and will return goods that are not as described
  • A sunny, well-drained spot for an outdoor hibiscus whose hardiness you can name

Not ideal for

  • Anyone who needs a named cultivar such as Woodbridge in a nursery pot
  • A flat that needs Chinese hibiscus unless nights stay above about 7°C and the pot can come in
  • Copying a pet-safe line for Hibiscus syriacus onto an unnamed bulb

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Trusting the flower photo

    A picture and the words hardy or UK do not name Hibiscus syriacus, H. moscheutos or H. rosa-sinensis. Letter codes on these titles are not cultivars.

  2. 2

    Leaving a tender plant outside

    Chinese hibiscus must come indoors before the temperature falls below 12°C. A hardy line on an unnamed rhizome is not that plant, and it is not an RHS rating for every part of the UK.

  3. 3

    Digging up rose of Sharon in May

    H. syriacus leafs late. BBC Gardeners' World says wait until July before you decide it has died. Cutting a woody shrub to the ground is a different mistake, and wet clay in winter is the usual failure outdoors.

What to weigh up

Species, form and cultivar

High

Species on the label is the first check. Without it you cannot choose a winter. Hardy, UK, and a flower photo are claims, not a name. In this set only one title says Hibiscus syriacus, and the plant-type attribute on that listing says rosa, so the name still disagrees with itself. Form supplied is the second check. A potted named cultivar is a shrub you can see. A rhizome or bulb is a crown that may suit herbaceous hibiscus and may arrive dry.

Site, hardiness and price

High

Outdoor hibiscus wants full sun, shelter, and moist but well-drained soil, ideally a south- or west-facing spot. Wet clay in winter is the usual failure. RHS hardiness is the outdoor test: H5 for H. syriacus, about -15°C to -10°C, and H4 for H. moscheutos, about -10°C to -5°C. Chinese hibiscus is tender and comes indoors before 12°C. A listing that says hardy herbaceous perennial is naming a habit.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A late-summer shrub

You want rose of Sharon, Hibiscus syriacus, and you should skip tropical pots and anonymous bulbs. The only title in this set that names Hibiscus syriacus is the generic listing at £14.50. The attribute says rosa, the form is not stated, and one review says seeds arrived. Check the parcel against the title.

An unnamed crown

This amazon.co.uk set is for someone who accepts a rhizome gamble. Reviews on the cheapest row describe dry wood, no growth, and one parcel called unidentified seed. STUJYJK variant F at £8.99 is the lower price for the duplicate bulbs-mix bullets, and that file has no dried-wood reviews. It still does not name a species.

A herbaceous border

Hibiscus moscheutos dies back to a woody crown and needs a warm summer and a winter mulch. ZFGJGHK colour code A says hardy herbaceous perennial and sun-loving, at £9.90. The species is not named, and the items attribute says 999. Confirm the species before you treat the habit word as rose mallow.

Common questions about Hibiscus plants

Which hibiscus plant is the top pick in this comparison?
The top pick in this set is the generic listing at about £14.50. It is the only title that says yellow Hibiscus syriacus, with the highest comparison score here, 53 out of 100, for these amazon.co.uk rows only. That score is not a UK-wide trial. The plant-type attribute says rosa, the bloom line says winter, and the form is not stated. The star line is 3.5 from three reviews: one says the goods matched the description, and another says the parcel arrives as seeds.
Which listing is the best value?
The best value is STUJYJK variant F, one hibiscus rhizome at about £8.99. The same style of bulbs-mix bullets appears on variant E at about £12.07, and the £8.99 file has no dried-wood reviews. There is no star line, no species and no cultivar. Variant code F is not a cultivar name such as Woodbridge. It is the cheaper of two near-duplicate singles. That is a price fact, not evidence the crown will grow.
How much do these hibiscus plants cost on amazon.co.uk?
In this set the shelf prices run from about £4.15 to £18.07. That is this file, not a market census. Entry is about £4 to £8, including the £4.15 rhizome at 2.3 from six reviews and a £7.79 bulb with no review line. Mid is about £9 to £14, including the £14.50 title. The top of the set is £18.07 for two rhizomes. A named 9 cm or 3 litre shrub at a UK nursery is a different product, often about £10 to £27.
What is the difference between hardy and tropical hibiscus?
Hibiscus syriacus is a deciduous shrub, and RHS rates it H5, about -15°C to -10°C. Hibiscus moscheutos is herbaceous, rated H4, about -10°C to -5°C, and it dies back to a woody crown. Hibiscus rosa-sinensis is the tender pot plant: minimum nights about 7–10°C, and bring it in before the temperature falls below 12°C. A single tender flower lasts a day or two. For a different conservatory plant, see the strelitzia plant comparison. A hardy line on an unnamed rhizome is not an RHS rating.
Why do so many of these listings omit the species?
Without a species you cannot choose a winter. Hardy, UK, and a flower photo are claims, not a name. This amazon.co.uk set is almost all rhizomes or bulbs. Letter codes such as A, B, E, F, H and I are not cultivars. Colour and size stick to names such as Woodbridge or a Chiffon series, and those names are not on these rows. The £14.50 title names Hibiscus syriacus and an attribute says rosa, so the one species line still disagrees with itself.
Does a hibiscus sold online need a UK plant passport?
GOV.UK says a business that sells plants for planting online to a private buyer in Great Britain still has to supply a UK plant passport. Northern Ireland follows DAERA. That duty sits with the seller. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9, says goods must be of satisfactory quality given the description and the price. A seed packet or a dry stick in place of the titled plant is a goods problem. A bare rose of Sharon in May is not, by itself, a dead plant.
Are hibiscus plants safe for pets?
ASPCA lists Hibiscus syriacus as non-toxic to dogs, cats and horses. Animal PoisonLine lists Hibiscus species as pet-safe and still warns that any plant can cause a mild stomach upset. Do not copy that line onto an unnamed bulb. The ZFGJGHK colour-code B listing asks about pets and children and does not answer, and the species is missing. If a pet or a child has eaten an unidentified plant and is unwell, use a vet or NHS. This page did not test toxicity.
The shrub has no leaves in May. Has it died?
BBC Gardeners' World says give rose of Sharon until July before you decide it has died, because Hibiscus syriacus leafs late. The RHS pruning group is 1, little or no pruning. Cutting a woody shrub to the ground is a separate mistake. Hibiscus moscheutos dies back to a crown and is not a tulip bulb. Chinese hibiscus may drop leaves in a dim winter and still be alive if nights stay warm enough and the compost is only just moist.

Our verdict

The highest score in this amazon.co.uk set is the generic listing at £14.50, because the title says yellow Hibiscus syriacus. That is the top pick here only. The attribute says rosa, one of three reviews says the parcel is seeds, and the form is not stated. The best value is STUJYJK variant F at £8.99: the lower price for duplicate bulbs-mix bullets, without the dried-wood reviews on the £4.15 row. Other rows have no award. A named shrub in a nursery pot is a different product and is not in this table.

Best overall
Generic yellow Hibiscus syriacus

Generic yellow Hibiscus syriacus

Highest score in this set because the title names Hibiscus syriacus. The rosa attribute, the seed review and the missing form keep it well short of a trial.

View offer
Best value
STUJYJK 1 hibiscus rhizome, variant F

STUJYJK 1 hibiscus rhizome, variant F

The lower price for duplicate STUJYJK bullets, at £8.99, without the dried-wood reviews on the £4.15 row.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Ornamental plantsHibiscus plantsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
9 sources checked

Guides to Hibiscus plants

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public sources from the research digest, last checked on 21 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures in the display file. The price band is this set, not a market average. Scores apply to these eight listings only.

  1. RHS: Hibiscus syriacus (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. RHS: Chinese hibiscus growing guide (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. RHS: Hibiscus moscheutos (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. BBC Gardeners' World: rose of Sharon (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. House & Garden: how to care for hibiscus (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. GOV.UK: plant passports to trade plants in Great Britain (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  8. Animal PoisonLine: pet-safe plants (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  9. ASPCA: Hibiscus syriacus (retrieved 21 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Lee Burkhill (Garden Ninja) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the stored amazon.co.uk figures, not a live crawl. We did not grow these plants or run a hardiness trial.