Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Runner bean seeds comparison 2026

The best runner bean seeds, compared.

Top pick: Unwins Jackpot Best value: JustSeed Enorma – Lowest price per stated seed in this set, 40 seeds at about £1.65, if you already know how to sow a climber. Updated 21 October 2026.

This runner bean seeds comparison is for a UK garden or allotment where you want young green pods from coccineus, cooked, as a frost-tender summer crop. Most varieties climb canes about 2.5 m tall. A dwarf stays near 45–50 cm and suits a large pot, with a smaller crop. The RHS names for a hot summer, and the variety holds an Award of Garden Merit that this listing does not print. The packet is not labelled, and the one review text says the seeds had not been sown. A star line does not show the germination rate. The expected plant height of 25–65 cm on climbing listings is catalogue noise. What to check on the packet is in the [runner bean seeds buying guide](/hub/herb-seeds/runner-bean-seeds/sub/runner-bean-seeds-buying-guide). Runner bean seeds are packets of coccineus for UK gardens and allotments. French beans are a different species, set out under [bean seeds](/hub/herb-seeds/bean-seeds). The only dwarf is, sold as a container plant with plants of 50 cm. A climber in a container needs a pot about 75 cm wide and 45 cm deep.

This runner bean seeds comparison is for a UK garden or allotment where you want young green pods from coccineus, cooked, as a frost-tender summer crop. Most varieties climb canes about 2.5 m tall.

Unwins Jackpot

Best overall

Unwins Jackpot
7.6/10∼ £2

38 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +19,200 readers

11 of 11: Best runner bean seeds compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 11
Best overall
Unwins Jackpot
Mr Fothergill's St George
JustSeed Benchmaster
Best value
JustSeed Enorma
JustSeed Moonlight
Unwins Streamline
JustSeed Scarlet Emperor
Mr Fothergill's Polestar
Mr Fothergill's Firestorm
Mr Fothergill's Mergoles
Unwins Equator
7.6/10
7.4/10
8.6/10
8.0/10
9.0/10
6.2/10
7.8/10
6.6/10
8.4/10
7.2/10
7.0/10
∼ £2
∼ £3
∼ £3
∼ £2
∼ £3
∼ £2
∼ £3
∼ £4
∼ £4
∼ £4
∼ £2
5.0(1)
5.0(1)
4.8(13)
4.8(10)
4.7(34)
4.7(4)
4.4(58)
4.4(4)
4.3(14)
4.3(13)
4.1(2)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best runner bean seeds in detail

Unwins Jackpot

Rank 1

Unwins Jackpot

Our view

Unwins Jackpot is the only dwarf in this set, listed at £2.48 as a container plant with 50 cm plants and stringless tender pods. The amazon.co.uk line is 5.0 from a single rating, and the saved listing has no review text, so that score does not describe a crop. The listing does not state a seed count. Unwins’ own page for the same part number, 31210105, says a pack of 30 and a mix of four dwarf varieties, which is the manufacturer page rather than an Amazon bullet. Sun is given as partial shade, unlike the full-sun lines on several climbers. It is not on the RHS Award of Garden Merit list. If your site is a patio, this is the packet that actually says dwarf. If you wanted a heavy cane row, it is the wrong habit.

Pros

  • Dwarf habit and a container claim, unique in this set
  • The listing says stringless tender pods and plants of 50 cm
  • £2.48
  • Part number 31210105 matches the Unwins SKU

Cons

  • Seed count is not stated on Amazon
  • 5.0 from one rating, with no review text
  • Not an RHS Award of Garden Merit variety

Best for: You are growing in a pot about 30–45 cm wide and you do not have a 2.5 m cane row.

Less suitable: You want a heavy allotment crop, or you are treating one five-star rating as proof.

Specifications

Model
Unwins Jackpot
Brand
Unwins
Price
∼£2
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
Variety
Jackpot
Habit
Dwarf
String claim
Stringless
Sun
Partial shade
Container
Pots

Common questions

Is Jackpot a dwarf runner bean?

Yes. The title says dwarf, and the bullets say an ideal container plant with 50 cm plants and stringless tender pods.

How many Jackpot seeds are in the packet?

The listing does not say. It records one item and a weight of 15 g. Part number 31210105.

What sun does the listing give?

Partial shade. There is no review text in the saved listing. The star line is 5.0 from 1 rating.

Mr Fothergill's St George

Rank 2

Mr Fothergill's St George

Our view

Mr Fothergill’s St George lists about 50 seeds at £3.19, with sowing from April to July and harvest from July to October, and a bullet that describes a British variety with pods about 25 cm long growing in clusters. The amazon.co.uk line is 5.0 from one review. That reviewer calls it a favourite, a huge cropper and tasty stringless beans in a short summer. Stringless is the review, not a bullet. Tozer marks St George semi-stringless, and the RHS list includes it from 2006, even though the listing does not print the award. The colour line is red and white, which matches the bi-colour flower. The expected height of 25 cm is catalogue noise for a climber. One enthusiastic review is not a trial, so the flower and the awarded name are the reasons to consider it.

Pros

  • About 50 seeds, with sow and harvest months printed
  • Pods described as about 25 cm long
  • The variety is on the RHS Award of Garden Merit list
  • Red and white colour is stated on the listing

Cons

  • 5.0 from a single review
  • The listing does not say award or stringless
  • £3.19 without the larger review file that Moonlight has

Best for: You want the bi-colour flower and a printed pod length, and you will not shop by one five-star rating.

Less suitable: You need many reviews before you buy, or a dwarf for a balcony.

Specifications

Model
Mr Fothergill's St George
Brand
Mr Fothergill's
Price
∼£3
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
Variety
St George
Seed count
About 50 seeds
Sow window
April–July
Harvest
July–October
Sun
Full sun

Common questions

How many St George seeds are listed?

About 50. Sow April to July and harvest July to October. Part number 35199.

What does the listing say about the pods?

A British variety that produces beans in clusters. Early crops with thick fleshy pods about 25 cm long. The colour attribute says red, white. There is no AGM bullet.

What does the single review say?

The reviewer calls St George a favourite, a huge cropper, and tasty stringless beans, and says the summer is short. Stringless is the review, not a bullet.

JustSeed Benchmaster

Rank 3

JustSeed Benchmaster

Our view

JustSeed Benchmaster is 40 seeds at £2.65, with 4.8 from 13 amazon.co.uk reviews. Two texts are in the file: one calls the beans long, tender and good, and the other only confirms that dispatch matched the order. Tozer describes Benchmaster as not stringless, with pods that can run past 40 cm, so you still pick young if fibre bothers you. The RHS Award of Garden Merit list includes the name from 2006, but this listing prints neither the award nor a sowing month. The expected plant height of 40 cm is not how tall a climbing runner grows. At this price, for a stated count of 40, it is one of the more useful lower-band packets if you will harvest at about 20–25 cm rather than waiting for the longest pods.

Pros

  • 40 seeds at £2.65
  • 4.8 from 13 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • One review describes long, tender pods
  • The variety name is on the RHS Award of Garden Merit list

Cons

  • Tozer does not class Benchmaster as stringless
  • The Amazon page omits the award and any sowing month
  • Only two review texts sit under a star count of 13
  • The 40 cm height line is not a climber’s real height

Best for: You want a long-pod climber with an awarded name and you will pick pods while they are still young.

Less suitable: String is the problem you are trying to avoid, or you need sowing dates printed on the packet.

Specifications

Model
JustSeed Benchmaster
Brand
Just Seed
Price
∼£3
Customer rating
4.8/5(13)
Variety
Benchmaster
Seed count
40 seeds
Sow window
Spring

Common questions

How many Benchmaster seeds are listed?

40 seeds, part number VEGRUNBEN001.

Does the Benchmaster listing claim an RHS award?

No. It also does not say stringless, and it does not give a sowing month.

What do the review texts say?

Two texts are in the saved listing, against a star count of 13. One calls the beans long, tender and good. The other says dispatch matched the order.

JustSeed Enorma

Rank 4

JustSeed Enorma

Our view

JustSeed Enorma is 40 seeds at £1.65, the lowest price in this set, with 4.8 from 10 amazon.co.uk reviews. The one review text praises fast delivery and the price, and says the seeds had not been sown yet, so those stars are not a germination report. The RHS list includes Enorma Elite, and this packet only says Enorma, so you should not treat it as the awarded stock. There is no stringless bullet and no sowing month. The seller’s Defra number 7291 and organic registration AP23164 are seller statements, not proof of certified organic seed. On pence per stated seed it is the best value in the table, if you accept a thin listing and an award name that is not confirmed on the page.

Pros

  • 40 seeds at £1.65, the lowest price in this set
  • A stated count, so you can compare it with dearer 40-seed packets
  • 4.8 from 10 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Part number RUN01M is printed

Cons

  • The review text says the seeds had not been sown
  • Not labelled Enorma Elite, so the award does not automatically apply
  • No stringless claim and no sowing month

Best for: You want the most stated seeds for the least money and you already know how to sow a climber.

Less suitable: You need the award printed on the packet, or a review that describes a crop.

Specifications

Model
JustSeed Enorma
Brand
Just Seed
Price
∼£2
Customer rating
4.8/5(10)
Variety
Enorma
Seed count
40 seeds

Common questions

How many Enorma seeds are listed?

40 seeds at £1.65, part number RUN01M.

Does the listing claim an award or stringless pods?

No. The seller states Defra registration 7291 and organic registration AP23164. There is no stringless bullet and no AGM bullet.

What does the review text say?

The one text praises fast delivery and the price, and says the seeds had not been sown yet. The star count is 10.

JustSeed Moonlight

Rank 5

JustSeed Moonlight

Our view

JustSeed Moonlight is 30 runner bean seeds at £2.50, with 4.7 from 34 amazon.co.uk reviews, the second-largest file in this set. One of the two texts in the saved listing reports that every seed came up, and the other had not been planted yet, so the stars are broader than those two sentences. The RHS names Moonlight, a runner with French bean parentage, for a hot summer, and the Award of Garden Merit list includes it from 2013, although this listing prints neither the award nor a stringless line. Tozer’s own note is semi-stringless, which is a narrower claim than the word stringless on Equator, Firestorm and Jackpot. At £2.50 it sits in the lower price band while carrying the heat-tolerant name the RHS actually cites. It is the top pick here when you have canes and a summer that may turn hot, and a weaker choice if you need those words on the Amazon bullet itself.

Pros

  • 4.7 from 34 amazon.co.uk reviews, with one report of full germination
  • The RHS names Moonlight for hot summers, and the variety holds an Award of Garden Merit
  • £2.50 for 30 seeds, in the lower price band of this set
  • French bean parentage while remaining a runner bean

Cons

  • The listing does not print the award or a stringless claim
  • 30 seeds, fewer than the 40-seed packets at similar or lower prices
  • Tozer describes it as semi-stringless, not stringless

Best for: You have a cane frame and want the heat-tolerant runner the RHS names, at a lower price than Firestorm.

Less suitable: You need the word stringless on the listing, or you only have a small patio pot.

Specifications

Model
JustSeed Moonlight
Brand
Just Seed
Price
∼£3
Customer rating
4.7/5(34)
Variety
Moonlight
Seed count
30 seeds
Sow window
Spring

Common questions

How many Moonlight seeds are listed?

30 seeds at £2.50, part number VEGRUNMOON001.

Does this Moonlight listing say stringless or AGM?

No. Material features say Organic, and the seller states Defra registration 7291 and organic registration AP23164.

What do the review texts say?

Two texts are in the saved listing, against a star count of 34. One reports 100 percent of the seeds came up. The other had not planted yet.

Unwins Streamline

Rank 6

Unwins Streamline

Our view

Unwins Streamline is £2.48, with three bullets that call it very reliable, long popular with gardeners, and easy to grow, and with 4.7 from four amazon.co.uk reviews. The listing never states how many seeds are in the packet, so you cannot compare it per seed with Enorma’s 40 seeds at £1.65 or Equator’s 35 at the same £2.48. There is no sowing month, no stringless line and no sun line. The expected plant height of 30 cm cannot be the height of a climbing runner, which the RHS grows on canes of about 2.5 m. It is not on the Award of Garden Merit list. The low shelf price is real, and the missing count is the reason it is a weak buy next to packets that print a number.

Pros

  • £2.48, in the lower price band of this set
  • Bullets describe it as reliable and easy to grow
  • 4.7 from four amazon.co.uk reviews

Cons

  • Seed count is not stated
  • No sowing month, string claim or habit
  • A 30 cm expected height does not describe a climbing runner

Best for: You already grow Streamline and only need a cheap refill from a brand you know.

Less suitable: You are comparing packets by seeds for the price, or you need sowing dates on the page.

Specifications

Model
Unwins Streamline
Brand
Unwins
Price
∼£2
Customer rating
4.7/5(4)
Variety
Streamline

Common questions

How many Streamline seeds are in the packet?

The listing does not say. Item weight is 15 g.

What does the listing claim about Streamline?

Three bullets: very reliable, popular with gardeners for many years, and easy to grow. There is no sowing month and no stringless claim.

What height does the listing give?

The expected plant height attribute says 30 cm. The bullets do not repeat a plant height.

JustSeed Scarlet Emperor

Rank 7

JustSeed Scarlet Emperor

Our view

JustSeed Scarlet Emperor is 50 seeds at £3.40, and it has the largest review file in the set at 4.4 from 58 amazon.co.uk reviews. Among 36 review texts, some buyers report very high germination and a crop, while others report half the seeds, five of eight, or none, and one buyer said the packet was not Scarlet Emperor. The listing does not give a sowing month or a stringless claim, and the variety is not on the RHS Award of Garden Merit list. The expected height of 60 cm is catalogue noise for this traditional climber, which still needs canes of about 2.5 m. Material features say Organic, and the seller states Defra registration 7291 and organic registration AP23164, which do not certify the seed as organic. It is the old red-flowered name with the most comments, and also the packet where germination stories disagree.

Pros

  • 50 seeds, the joint highest stated count in this set
  • 4.4 from 58 reviews, the largest sample here
  • Some reviewers report strong germination and a crop
  • The seller states a Defra registration number

Cons

  • Other reviews report poor or failed germination, and one says the variety was wrong
  • No sowing window and no stringless claim
  • An Organic attribute is not certified organic seed

Best for: You want the traditional scarlet flower and you will sow spare seeds because the reviews do not agree.

Less suitable: You want a stringless listing, or an awarded name with quieter germination comments.

Specifications

Model
JustSeed Scarlet Emperor
Brand
Just Seed
Price
∼£3
Customer rating
4.4/5(58)
Variety
Scarlet Emperor
Seed count
50 seeds
Sun
Full sun

Common questions

How many Scarlet Emperor seeds are in the packet?

The listing says 50 seeds, part number RUN06M.

Does the listing say the seed is organic?

Material features say Organic, and the seller states organic registration AP23164 and Defra registration 7291. The bullets do not say certified organic seed.

What do buyers say about germination?

Among 36 review texts, some report very high germination and a crop. Others report half the seeds, five of eight, or none. One buyer said the packet was not Scarlet Emperor.

Mr Fothergill's Polestar

Rank 8

Mr Fothergill's Polestar

Our view

Mr Fothergill’s Polestar lists 40 seeds at £3.99 and a sow window of April to July, with 4.4 from four amazon.co.uk reviews. The one review text says the price was good, then that the side of the packet ripped and about 10 beans were lost. Tozer and a Gardeners’ World shortlist treat Polestar as stringless, but this listing has no stringless bullet, so that reputation is not what the page is selling. It is not on the RHS Award of Garden Merit list, and the habit field is blank. The same listing also prints a unit count of 50 g beside the 40-seed title, which is a weight rather than a second count. You would choose it for the breeder’s stringless name only if you accept a damaged-packet report and a thin review file at the highest price band.

Pros

  • 40 seeds stated
  • Sow window of April to July is printed
  • Full sun is stated on the listing
  • Outside Amazon, Tozer describes Polestar as stringless

Cons

  • The review text reports a split packet and about 10 seeds lost
  • The Amazon listing itself does not say stringless
  • £3.99 with only four reviews, and not an awarded variety

Best for: You already want Polestar by name and you will check that the packet is intact on arrival.

Less suitable: You need the stringless words on the amazon.co.uk bullet, or a larger review sample.

Specifications

Model
Mr Fothergill's Polestar
Brand
Mr Fothergill's
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.4/5(4)
Variety
Polestar
Seed count
40 seeds
Sow window
April–July
Sun
Full sun

Common questions

How many Polestar seeds are listed?

40 seeds. The unit count on the same listing says 50 g, which is a weight, not a second seed count.

When does the listing say to sow Polestar?

Between April and July. It does not give a harvest month.

What do the reviews say about the packet?

The one review text says the price was good, the side of the packet ripped, and about 10 beans were lost. The star count is 4.

Mr Fothergill's Firestorm

Rank 9

Mr Fothergill's Firestorm

Our view

Mr Fothergill’s Firestorm is 40 seeds at £3.99, and it is the only listing in this set that prints an RHS Award of Garden Merit, a stringless claim, and both a sow window of April to July and a harvest window of July to October. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.3 from 14 reviews. One review reports stringless beans after slugs took some plants, and another reports flowers and no beans on 20 plants, which matches the RHS warning that heat and dry roots stop pod set even on a French-bean cross. Tozer marks Firestorm semi-stringless, while the bullet says stringless, so the two sources do not use the same word. The expected height of 65 cm is not the RHS profile, which puts the plant at about 2.5–4 m. You pay the top price in this set for the only page that states the award in the bullets.

Pros

  • The listing prints the RHS Award of Garden Merit
  • A bullet claims tender stringless pods
  • 40 seeds, with sow and harvest months stated
  • French bean parentage, which the RHS suggests for a hot summer

Cons

  • £3.99 for 40 seeds, the same count Enorma lists at £1.65
  • One review reports no pods on 20 plants
  • Tozer says semi-stringless, which is narrower than the listing

Best for: You want the award and the stringless wording on the amazon.co.uk page, and you will water through a hot spell.

Less suitable: You are choosing on price per seed, or you have no room for a climber of about 2.5 m.

Specifications

Model
Mr Fothergill's Firestorm
Brand
Mr Fothergill's
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.3/5(14)
Variety
Firestorm
Seed count
40 seeds
String claim
Stringless
Sow window
April–July
Harvest
July–October
Sun
Full sun
AGM on listing
Yes

Common questions

Does the Firestorm listing claim an RHS award?

Yes. A bullet says winner of the RHS Award of Garden Merit. It also says about 40 seeds, sow April to July, harvest July to October.

Does the listing say the pods are stringless?

Yes. The bullet says delicious, sweet tasting, tender, stringless pods.

What do the two review texts say?

One reports stringless beans after slugs took some plants. The other reports flowers and no beans on 20 plants. The star count is 14.

Mr Fothergill's Mergoles

Rank 10

Mr Fothergill's Mergoles

Our view

Mr Fothergill’s Mergoles is a climbing packet of 40 seeds at £3.99, and the listing is one of the few that splits indoor sowing from outdoor sowing. Indoors it says April to May, 2.5 cm deep, at 15–20°C. Outdoors it says May to July, 5 cm deep, if the soil is not cold or waterlogged. Across 13 amazon.co.uk reviews the line is 4.3, a usable sample next to the one-rating packets, though the file does not quote a germination percentage. The indoor depth of 2.5 cm disagrees with the RHS figure of about 5 cm, so following this packet indoors means following the seller. There is no stringless bullet and no award line. At the top price in this set you are buying a stated climbing habit and sowing text, not a stringless or awarded variety.

Pros

  • Climbing habit is stated for gardens and allotments
  • 40 seeds
  • Indoor and outdoor sowing instructions, including a temperature
  • 4.3 from 13 amazon.co.uk reviews

Cons

  • £3.99 with no stringless claim
  • Indoor depth of 2.5 cm conflicts with the RHS guide of about 5 cm
  • Not an RHS Award of Garden Merit variety

Best for: You want a climber whose listing actually prints months and depths.

Less suitable: You are buying mainly to avoid string, or you only have a small patio pot.

Specifications

Model
Mr Fothergill's Mergoles
Brand
Mr Fothergill's
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.3/5(13)
Variety
Mergoles
Habit
Climbing
Seed count
40 seeds
Sow window
Apr–Jul by method
Harvest
July–October
Sun
Full sun

Common questions

Is Mergoles a climbing runner bean?

Yes. The listing calls it a climbing variety for vertical growing in gardens and allotments.

How many Mergoles seeds are in the packet?

The title and the piece count both say 40 seeds.

When does the listing say to sow Mergoles?

Indoors from April to May, 2.5 cm deep, at 15–20°C. Outdoors from May to July, 5 cm deep, if the soil is not cold or waterlogged.

Unwins Equator

Rank 11

Unwins Equator

Our view

Unwins lists Equator as 35 runner bean seeds at £2.48, with a bullet that promises long stringless pods and sowing from April to June, plus a harvest window of August to October. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.1 from two reviews, which is too thin to tell you how the packet germinates. The expected plant height of 65 cm is the catalogue figure that does not describe a climbing runner, and the listing never states the habit, so you still plan for canes unless you already know the variety. Stringless is printed on only three packets in this set, and Equator is one of them. It is not on the RHS Award of Garden Merit list. At this price you are paying for that string claim and a stated seed count, not for a trialled name or a review file you can lean on.

Pros

  • 35 seeds stated at £2.48
  • The listing says long stringless pods
  • Sow window printed as April to June
  • Harvest window on the listing is August to October

Cons

  • 4.1 from only two reviews
  • Habit is not stated, and 65 cm is not a climber’s height
  • Not on the RHS Award of Garden Merit list

Best for: You want a stated stringless claim in the lower price band and you already have a cane frame.

Less suitable: You need a dwarf for a pot, or a variety the RHS has awarded.

Specifications

Model
Unwins Equator
Brand
Unwins
Price
∼£2
Customer rating
4.1/5(2)
Variety
Equator
Seed count
35 seeds
String claim
Stringless
Sow window
April–June
Harvest
August–October
Sun
Full sun

Common questions

How many Equator seeds are in the packet?

The listing says the pack contains 35 runner bean seeds.

Does the Equator listing say the pods are stringless?

Yes. A bullet says easy to grow long stringless pods, and that the plants continue to grow in hot weather.

Does this listing say Equator is for pots?

No. Pots appear as a customer question. The bullets do not answer it.

How we compared

Scores use the eleven amazon.co.uk listings in this set, the prices, stated seed counts and star lines, and the review texts already in the product notes, plus the RHS grow guide, the RHS Award of Garden Merit list and the Tozer 2023 legumes brochure. Shelf date 20 October 2026. This is not a germination trial or a taste test. Weights sum to 100. The highest score is the top pick. The lowest price per stated seed, on a different packet, is the best value.

1

Review evidence

35%

Stars count for more when the review count is in the tens. A 4.7 from 34 reviews can outrank a 5.0 from one rating. Fewer than five reviews is a clear cut, and a single rating is cut further, so 100 is not available.

2

Listing usefulness

25%

A stated seed count, a sowing month, habit or a container claim, and a string line only when the bullet prints it. A missing count or an empty window scores lower. A catalogue height of 25–65 cm on a climber is not treated as the plant.

3

Variety documentation

25%

An RHS award for that name, French bean parentage where the RHS cites it for heat, and Tozer’s string note. An award the listing does not print scores lower than the same award printed on the page. Enorma is not scored as Enorma Elite.

4

Price per stated seed

15%

£1.65 for 40 seeds beats £3.99 for 40 seeds. A missing count cannot win this block. The figure is arithmetic on this snapshot, not a trial.

Independent review
Last updated: 21 October 2026
8 sources checked

Runner bean seeds buying guide

Choose habit and the summer you expect before the shelf price. Climbers need canes of about 2.5 m. The dwarf in this set is for a large pot, and French beans are a different species.

What are runner bean seeds?

Runner bean seeds are packets of Phaseolus coccineus for UK gardens and allotments. You grow them as a frost-tender summer crop and eat the young green pods, cooked. Most varieties are climbers on canes about 2.5 m tall. Dwarfs stay near 45–50 cm and suit a large pot, with a smaller crop. French beans are a different species, set out under [bean seeds](/hub/herb-seeds/bean-seeds).

Best for

  • An allotment where you can put up canes of about 2.5 m before you sow
  • A large patio pot, if you choose the dwarf rather than a climber

Not ideal for

  • A November sowing, which is too early and too cold for this frost-tender crop
  • Anyone who needs a checked organic certificate before they order

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Trusting the listing height

    Expected plant heights of 25–65 cm on climbing packets are catalogue figures. A climbing runner still needs canes of about 2.5 m. Jackpot is the packet that actually says dwarf, at 50 cm.

  2. 2

    Sowing into cold, wet soil

    Outdoor sowing waits until the soil is about 12°C and frost has passed, mid-May in the south and early June in the north. Indoors, the RHS depth is about 5 cm. Mergoles prints 2.5 cm indoors.

  3. 3

    Reading a seller number as organic seed

    Defra 7291 and organic registration AP23164 are seller statements. An Organic material line is not certified organic seed. Cook the pods. Raw runner pods are harmful if eaten.

What to weigh up

Habit, heat and string

High

Habit decides the site. A climber needs a wigwam of about 2.5 m. In this set only Unwins Jackpot says dwarf, with a container claim and plants of 50 cm. A blank habit beside a height of 25–65 cm still means you plan for canes. Heat is the next split. The RHS says runners prefer cool, wet summers, and names Moonlight, which has French bean parentage, for a hot summer. Tozer also puts French bean genetics on Firestorm.

Award, seed count and price

High

The RHS Award of Garden Merit list includes Benchmaster, Firestorm, Moonlight, St George and Enorma Elite. Only Firestorm prints the award on the amazon.co.uk page, so that printed line scores higher than the same name left off the bullet. A packet that says Enorma is not Enorma Elite. Scarlet Emperor, Polestar, Streamline, Equator, Mergoles and Jackpot are not on the list. Price is the packet price divided by a stated seed count.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Allotment with canes

You can build a frame about 2.5 m tall and a hot spell is possible. JustSeed Moonlight is the top pick: the RHS names it for heat, and the price is about £2.50. The listing does not print the award or a stringless line, so skip it if those words have to be on the Amazon bullet.

Patio without a cane row

You have a pot about 30–45 cm wide and no room for a 2.5 m climber. Unwins Jackpot is the only dwarf in this set, listed as a container plant with stringless pods and plants of 50 cm. The seed count is not stated, and the star line is 5.0 from one rating.

Our recommendation

View offer

Lowest price per seed

You already know how to sow a climber and you want the most stated seeds for the least money. JustSeed Enorma is the best value: 40 seeds at about £1.65. The review text had not sown, and the packet is not labelled Enorma Elite.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about runner bean seeds

Which runner bean seeds are the top pick?
The top pick is JustSeed Moonlight, 30 seeds at about £2.50, rated 4.7 from 34 amazon.co.uk reviews. It scores 90, the highest of these eleven listings. The RHS names Moonlight, a runner with French bean parentage, for a hot summer, and the Award of Garden Merit list includes it from 2013. This listing does not print the award or a stringless line. Tozer describes it as semi-stringless. One review text reports that every seed came up. You still need canes of about 2.5 m.
Which packet is best value?
Best value is JustSeed Enorma, 40 seeds at about £1.65, the lowest shelf price and about 4.1p per stated seed in this set. It scores 80. The one review text praises delivery and the price, and says the seeds had not been sown, so those stars are not a crop report. The RHS list includes Enorma Elite. This packet only says Enorma, so that award does not automatically apply. There is no stringless bullet and no sowing month on the listing.
How much do runner bean seeds cost?
On these eleven amazon.co.uk listings the shelf price runs from £1.65 to £3.99. The lower band is about £1.65 to £2.65, the mid band is £3.19 to £3.40, and Mergoles, Polestar and Firestorm are £3.99 for 40 seeds. Streamline and Jackpot are £2.48 with no seed count, so you cannot compare them per seed. These are the prices read on 20 October 2026, not a market average. A higher price in this set does not buy more seeds.
When should you sow runner bean seeds in the UK?
Sow indoors from mid-April to May, about 5 cm deep, above 12°C. Outdoors, wait until the soil is about 12°C and frost has passed: mid-May in the south and early June in the north. Plant out in late May or early June. Runners prefer cool, wet summers. Moonlight, with French bean parentage, is the variety the RHS names for heat, and even then more than half of flowers may fail to set. Mergoles prints an indoor depth of 2.5 cm. The RHS guide is about 5 cm.
Do runner beans need supports?
Most runner beans are climbers. Put canes or a wigwam about 2.5 m tall in place before you sow. Amazon’s expected plant height of 25–65 cm on climbing packets in this set is catalogue noise. The only dwarf here is Unwins Jackpot, listed at 50 cm as a container plant. A climber in a pot needs a container about 75 cm wide and 45 cm deep. A dwarf suits a pot about 30–45 cm wide, with a smaller crop. Patio choices are in runner beans for pots.
Which listings say the pods are stringless?
Use the packet wording. Equator, Firestorm and Jackpot say stringless on the amazon.co.uk listing. Tozer marks Firestorm, Moonlight and St George semi-stringless, and Benchmaster not stringless. Polestar is stringless in breeder copy, but this Mr Fothergill’s listing has no stringless bullet. The single St George review calls the beans stringless. That sentence is the review, not a bullet. Pick pods at about 20–25 cm, before they mature and turn fibrous.
Are these packets certified organic, and can you eat the pods raw?
Several JustSeed listings mention organic registration AP23164 and Defra registration 7291, and some print an Organic material line. Those are seller statements. They do not show that the seed is certified organic. Ordinary garden packets in England are standard seed in a small package under the Seed Marketing Regulations 2011, with a supplier label. Cook the pods. The RHS Firestorm profile says raw pods and beans are harmful if eaten. The Food Standards Agency slow-cooker warning is about red kidney beans, not fresh runner pods.

Our verdict

The top pick is JustSeed Moonlight at about £2.50. It scores 90, the highest of these eleven listings, on 4.7 from 34 reviews, and the RHS names Moonlight for a hot summer. The listing does not print the Award of Garden Merit or a stringless line, and you still need canes. Best value is JustSeed Enorma, 40 seeds at about £1.65, a different packet and the lowest price per stated seed here. Skip Moonlight if you need the word stringless on the Amazon bullet, or you only have a small patio pot. Skip Enorma if you need the award printed on the packet, or a review that describes a crop.

Best overall
Unwins Jackpot

Unwins Jackpot

View offer
Best value
JustSeed Enorma

JustSeed Enorma

Lowest price per stated seed in this set, 40 seeds at about £1.65, if you already know how to sow a climber.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Herb seedsamazon.co.uk listingsUK sowing advice

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 21 October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to runner bean seeds

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources named below. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts on these eleven listings were read on 20 October 2026. Page updated 21 October 2026.

  1. RHS, How to grow runner beans (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  2. RHS Award of Garden Merit fruit and vegetables (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  3. RHS, Phaseolus coccineus Firestorm (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  4. RHS, Runner beans: failure to set pods (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  5. RHS, What to grow on your allotment (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  6. Seed Marketing Regulations 2011 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  7. Tozer legumes brochure 2023 UK (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  8. FSA, Home food fact checker (retrieved 20 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Lee Burkhill (Garden Ninja) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are taken from those listings. We did not run a lab test.