Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Black cumin seeds comparison 2026

The best black cumin seeds, compared.

Top pick: LoveSunnah Ethiopian black seeds, 250 g Best value: Busy Beans Organic nigella seeds, 250 g – Lowest food price per 100 g among named nigella here, at £2.78, from a 250 g pouch at about £6.95 with 4.1 from 19 reviews. Updated 21.10.2026.

Black cumin on a UK packet can be sativa, also called kalonji, persicum, also called shahi jeera, or a pouch that names no species at all. You may want a culinary seed for bread and pickles, or a sowing packet for the garden, and the title often does not say which. This page keeps six amazon.co.uk listings, after oils were removed. Trust a botanical name, or the shape: matte and angular for kalonji, a thin crescent for shahi jeera. The RHS lists both plants as black cumin, in different families. How the two seeds differ is set out under [nigella or shahi jeera](/hub/herb-seeds/black-cumin-seeds/sub/black-cumin-seeds-nigella-or-shahi-jeera). A food pouch and a seed card are not substitutes. Nigella sativa, also called kalonji, is a matte, angular seed in the buttercup family. Bunium persicum, also called shahi jeera or kala jeera, is a thin crescent in the carrot family. Hari describes the crescent as shahi jeera, not nigella. The Curry House puts kala jeera in pilau and kalonji on naan. If the Latin name is missing, use the shape, and treat two families on one page as an unsettled listing.

Black cumin on a UK packet can be sativa, also called kalonji, persicum, also called shahi jeera, or a pouch that names no species at all.

21 products checked · 46 hrs invested · +16,200 readers

6 of 6: Best black cumin seeds compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 6
Best overall
LoveSunnah Ethiopian black seeds, 250 g
Natco black cumin seeds, 100 g
SAFLAX organic black cumin, 300 seeds
Best value
Busy Beans Organic nigella seeds, 250 g
HMW Ethiopian black seeds, 100 g
Spice Mart shahi kali jeeri, 50 g
5.7/10
5.9/10
7.7/10
7.1/10
4.5/10
2.4/10
∼ £9
∼ £4
∼ £5
∼ £7
∼ £9
∼ £4
5.0(1)
4.6(141)
4.4(28)
4.1(19)
3.9(5)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best black cumin seeds in detail

LoveSunnah Ethiopian black seeds, 250 g

Rank 1

LoveSunnah Ethiopian black seeds, 250 g

Our view

LoveSunnah lists 250 g of whole nigella, described as Ethiopian black seeds, at £8.99, which is £3.60 per 100 g. The amazon.co.uk line is 5.0 from 1 review, and there is no review text, so the star does not describe flavour, grit or aroma. Ethiopia appears in the bullets rather than a separate origin field, and no organic claim is stated. The listing also uses supplement-style wording, which is not a checked health result. The pack is large enough for a kitchen that already cooks with nigella, and the unit price sits between Busy Beans and Natco. Buy it only if you accept a named nigella pouch with almost no buyer comment. Skip it if you wanted a review file you can read, or a control-body code.

Pros

  • Names nigella and Ethiopian black seeds
  • 250 g at £3.60 per 100 g
  • Whole seeds in a stated 24 x 16 x 2 cm pack
  • No organic wording to over-read

Cons

  • 5.0 from a single review and no review text
  • Supplement-style lines are not a tested benefit
  • Ethiopia is named in the bullets, not a separate origin field
  • Dearer per 100 g than the Busy Beans pouch

Best for: You want a 250 g nigella pouch and you can accept one rating with no written review.

Less suitable: You want review text, an organic code, or the lowest price per 100 g in this set.

Specifications

Model
LoveSunnah Ethiopian black seeds, 250 g
Brand
LoveSunnah Store
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
Type
Culinary pouch
Plant
Nigella
Pack
250 g
Per 100 g
£3.60
Organic
Not stated
Origin
Ethiopia
Amazon rating
5.0 (1)

Common questions

What species and origin does the listing state?

Nigella, described as Ethiopian black seeds. Ethiopia is in the bullets. There is no separate origin field.

Is organic claimed, and is there review text?

No organic claim is stated. The listing shows 5.0 from 1 review and no review text.

What pack and price are stated?

250 g at £8.99, which is £3.60 per 100 g. Vegan status is not stated.

Natco black cumin seeds, 100 g

Rank 2

Natco black cumin seeds, 100 g

Our view

The Natco 100 g pouch is listed at £4.24, which is £4.24 per 100 g, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 141 reviews, the largest sample in this set. The title says black cumin seeds and does not give a botanical name. A live line on the listing says this black cumin is not nigella, and one reviewer says the seeds are black cumin and not kalonji. Other comments praise a nutty flavour in curries, lentils, rice, pastries and garam masala, while criticism says the seeds were not black or that the contents were ordinary cumin. Country of origin is India, and no organic claim is stated. That review volume helps only after you have accepted this is not named kalonji. It is a poor match if you wanted Nigella sativa for naan, or a sowing packet with a seed count.

Pros

  • 4.6 from 141 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest file in this set
  • 100 g at £4.24, a small kitchen pouch from India
  • Reviewers describe a nutty flavour in curries, rice and lentils
  • No organic wording to over-read

Cons

  • Botanical name is not stated
  • Listing text says this black cumin is not nigella
  • Some reviewers report seeds that were not black, or ordinary cumin

Best for: You want a small Indian spice pouch and you have already accepted it is not named kalonji.

Less suitable: You need Nigella sativa for naan, or seed to sow.

Specifications

Model
Natco black cumin seeds, 100 g
Brand
Natco
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.6/5(141)
Type
Culinary pouch
Plant
Not nigella
Pack
100 g
Per 100 g
£4.24
Organic
Not stated
Origin
India
Amazon rating
4.6 (141)

Common questions

Does the listing name the species?

No. The stated name is black cumin seeds, and the botanical name is not stated. One reviewer says these are black cumin and not kalonji. Live listing text says this black cumin is not nigella.

What did reviewers say about the contents?

Praise covers a nutty flavour in curries, lentils, rice, pastries and garam masala. Criticism says the seeds were not black, or that the contents were ordinary cumin.

What pack, price and origin are stated?

100 g at £4.24, which is £4.24 per 100 g. Country of origin is India. No organic claim is stated.

SAFLAX organic black cumin, 300 seeds

Rank 3

SAFLAX organic black cumin, 300 seeds

Our view

SAFLAX lists 300 Nigella sativa seeds at £4.55, with 4.4 from 28 reviews, and it is the only sowing packet in this comparison. The item weight is 5 g, so there is no food price per 100 g. The card calls the plant perennial, 30–60 cm, with white and blue flowers, and it claims certified organic without naming the control body. Country of origin is Germany. Three review texts are noted, one of them from the UK: praise covers presentation, careful packing and the potting instructions, and one review reports no germination. That single miss is not a germination rate. Here it is the top pick when you want named seed to sow, if you follow a UK annual description rather than the card’s perennial line, and you do not tip the packet into a pan as a weighed spice.

Pros

  • Names Nigella sativa and a count of 300 seeds
  • 4.4 from 28 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • £4.55 for a sowing card rather than a food pouch
  • Potting instructions on the card, and packing is praised

Cons

  • The card calls the plant perennial and 30–60 cm
  • One review reports no germination
  • Organic claim does not name the control body
  • The 5 g item weight is not a cooking measure

Best for: You want to sow named Nigella sativa and you will check the plant habit against a UK source.

Less suitable: You want kalonji by the spoon for naan or pickle.

Specifications

Model
SAFLAX organic black cumin, 300 seeds
Brand
SAFLAX
Price
∼£5
Customer rating
4.4/5(28)
Type
Sowing packet
Plant
Nigella sativa
Pack
300 seeds
Organic
No control body
Origin
Germany
Amazon rating
4.4 (28)

Common questions

Is this a spice pouch or a sowing packet?

It is a sowing packet of 300 Nigella sativa seeds. The item weight is 5 g. There is no food price per 100 g.

What does the listing say about the plant and the organic claim?

The card calls the plant perennial, 30–60 cm, with white and blue flowers. Organic is claimed as certified organic, and the control body is not named. Country of origin is Germany.

What do the reviews say?

Three review texts are noted, one of them from the UK. Praise covers presentation and packing. One review reports no germination, which is not a germination rate.

Busy Beans Organic nigella seeds, 250 g

Rank 4

Busy Beans Organic nigella seeds, 250 g

Our view

Busy Beans Organic lists 250 g of nigella, also called black cumin and kalonji, at £6.95, which is £2.78 per 100 g, the lowest food unit price in this set. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.1 from 19 reviews. Praise covers the pack size, quality and packaging. One review reports grit, small sticks and stones, so you should look at the first spoon before you scatter it on dough. Country of origin is Turkey. The page says certified organic, vegetarian and vegan, and GMO free, and it does not name the control body, so the organic word is unfinished against a UK code. Here it is the best value when you want named kalonji for cooking and you will pick over the seeds. It is the wrong row if you wanted a sowing count, or a code you can match to a control body.

Pros

  • Names nigella, black cumin and kalonji on one listing
  • £2.78 per 100 g, the lowest food unit price in this set
  • 250 g at £6.95, with 4.1 from 19 reviews
  • Listed as vegetarian and vegan

Cons

  • One review reports grit, sticks and stones
  • Certified organic, and the control body is not named
  • 19 reviews is a modest file next to Natco’s 141
  • Not a sowing packet

Best for: You cook with kalonji and you want the lowest price per 100 g among named nigella in this set.

Less suitable: You need a GB-ORG code on the label, or seed to sow.

Specifications

Model
Busy Beans Organic nigella seeds, 250 g
Brand
Busy Beans Organic
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
4.1/5(19)
Type
Culinary pouch
Plant
Nigella, kalonji
Pack
250 g
Per 100 g
£2.78
Organic
No control body
Origin
Turkey
Amazon rating
4.1 (19)

Common questions

What does the listing call these seeds?

Nigella, black cumin and kalonji. Country of origin is Turkey. The pack is 250 g at £6.95, which is £2.78 per 100 g.

Is the organic claim complete?

The listing says certified organic. The control body is not named. It also says vegetarian and vegan, and GMO free.

What did reviewers mention?

Praise covers pack size, quality and packaging. One review reports grit, small sticks and stones, so check the first spoon.

HMW Ethiopian black seeds, 100 g

Rank 5

HMW Ethiopian black seeds, 100 g

Our view

HMW lists 100 g of Nigella sativa, described as Ethiopian black seeds, at £8.99, which is £8.99 per 100 g, the highest food unit price in this set. Amazon.co.uk shows 3.9 from 5 reviews. One buyer who focused on purity was satisfied, and another says the fragrance and taste were not what they expect from Ethiopian black seed, and that the product is not Ethiopian black seed. Organic is not stated. The listing mentions omega-6, thymoquinone and beta-sitosterol, and it mentions ruqyah. Those are listing lines, not a result you should buy on. The botanical name is clearer than Natco’s, but five reviews and a disputed origin are a thin basis for the dearest spoonful here. Choose it only when you specifically want a 100 g pouch that prints Nigella sativa and Ethiopia, and you have read that aroma complaint.

Pros

  • Names Nigella sativa and Ethiopia
  • 100 g is a small pouch if you already accept the price
  • One buyer focused on purity was satisfied
  • No organic claim to treat as unfinished

Cons

  • £8.99 per 100 g, the highest food unit price in this set
  • 3.9 from only five reviews
  • A reviewer disputes the aroma and the Ethiopian identity
  • Health and ruqyah lines are not checked claims

Best for: You want a 100 g pouch that prints Nigella sativa and Ethiopia, and you have read the aroma complaint.

Less suitable: You want more than 100 g, a lower price per 100 g, or a larger review file.

Specifications

Model
HMW Ethiopian black seeds, 100 g
Brand
HMW
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
3.9/5(5)
Type
Culinary pouch
Plant
Nigella sativa
Pack
100 g
Per 100 g
£8.99
Organic
Not stated
Origin
Ethiopia
Amazon rating
3.9 (5)

Common questions

What species and origin are stated?

Nigella sativa, described as Ethiopian black seeds. Country of origin is Ethiopia. Organic is not stated.

What is the pack price?

100 g at £8.99, which is £8.99 per 100 g. The listing mentions omega-6, thymoquinone and beta-sitosterol, and mentions ruqyah. Those lines are listing text, not a checked health claim.

What do the reviews say?

One buyer focused on purity was satisfied. Another says the fragrance and taste were not what they expect from Ethiopian black seed, and that the product is not Ethiopian black seed.

Spice Mart shahi kali jeeri, 50 g

Rank 6

Spice Mart shahi kali jeeri, 50 g

Our view

Spice Mart’s 50 g pouch is £3.75, which is £7.50 per 100 g, and the listing has no amazon.co.uk star line and no review text. The title says shahi kali jeeri, while a bullet also places the seeds in the buttercup family, so the page does not name one plant. The listing says there are no fillers, colours or binders, and that the pouch is a resealable stand-up paper pack suitable for vegetarians and vegans. Country of origin is India. A health disclaimer frames the pouch as culinary, which is the right limit, but it does not repair the two-family clash. At this unit price, and with no ratings, you cannot treat it as a checked shahi jeera. Skip it when you need either a thin crescent named once, or kalonji for bread.

Pros

  • 50 g resealable stand-up paper pouch
  • Listed as suitable for vegetarians and vegans
  • No fillers, colours or binders claimed
  • India named as the country of origin

Cons

  • No amazon.co.uk rating or review text
  • Title says shahi jeera and a bullet says the buttercup family
  • £7.50 per 100 g, among the dearest food pouches here

Best for: You already hold this pouch and only needed the stated 50 g pack notes.

Less suitable: You need one named plant, or any review text, before you cook.

Specifications

Model
Spice Mart shahi kali jeeri, 50 g
Brand
Spice Mart
Price
∼£4
Type
Culinary pouch
Plant
Two families
Pack
50 g
Per 100 g
£7.50
Organic
Not stated
Origin
India

Common questions

Does the listing name one species?

No. The title says shahi kali jeeri, and a bullet also says the buttercup family. The title and the bullets do not name one species.

Is there an Amazon rating?

No. The listing has no star rating and no review text.

What pack, price and diet notes are stated?

50 g at £3.75, which is £7.50 per 100 g. Country of origin is India. The listing says suitable for vegetarians and vegans. No organic claim is stated.

How we compared

Scores use the six amazon.co.uk listings kept in this comparison. Shelf date 19 October 2026, with live wording checked on 20 October 2026. This is not a taste panel, a germination trial or a certificate check. A 5.0 from one review cannot outrank a named plant with a readable review file. No food price per 100 g is published for the sowing packet. The blocks below are the maximum points in the score (stars up to 60, review count up to 10, plant name up to 12, review text up to 5, unit price up to 8), scaled to weights that sum to 100. Deductions then apply for a not-nigella or ordinary-cumin review, grit, a no-germination note, health bullets, and an organic claim with no control body. The floor is 24. The highest score is the top pick. Best value is the lowest food price per 100 g among pouches that name nigella, on a different ASIN.

1

Amazon stars

63%

Amazon rating times 12. A listing with no rating scores 0 on this block. A 5.0 from one review cannot outrank a named plant with a readable review file.

2

Review volume

11%

100 or more reviews adds 10. 20 or more adds 6. 10 or more adds 3. One to nine reviews subtracts 10. No reviews subtracts 16.

3

Plant name

13%

One consistent plant name adds 12. A missing species, or two families on one listing, subtracts 8.

4

Review text

5%

Review text on the listing adds 5. No review text subtracts 5. A star line with no written review does not describe flavour, grit or aroma.

5

Unit price

8%

Named culinary nigella at £3 or under per 100 g adds 8. Other food at £3 to £4.50 per 100 g adds 3. Dearer food adds 0. A named sowing packet with a seed count adds 6.

Independent review
Last updated: 21.10.2026
8 sources checked

Black cumin seeds buying guide

Name the job before the title. Kalonji, shahi jeera and seed to sow are three purchases, and a food price per 100 g does not apply to a sowing packet.

What are black cumin seeds?

Black cumin on a UK packet is not one plant. Nigella sativa, also called kalonji, is a matte, angular seed in the buttercup family. Bunium persicum, also called shahi jeera or kala jeera, is a thin crescent in the carrot family. The RHS lists both under the title black cumin. Hari Ghotra describes the crescent as shahi jeera, not nigella. The Curry House puts kala jeera in pilau and kalonji on naan. Ordinary cumin is larger and browner.

Best for

  • You want to sow named Nigella sativa and will follow an annual habit
  • You cook with kalonji and want the lowest food price per 100 g in this set

Not ideal for

  • You need one named shahi jeera with a crescent seed and a review file
  • You want a GB-ORG or XI-ORG code printed on the organic claim

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Treating every black cumin title as kalonji

    Nigella sativa and Bunium persicum are different families. Natco’s listing says its black cumin is not nigella. Spice Mart’s title says shahi jeera and a bullet says the buttercup family. If the Latin name is missing, use the shape: matte and angular, or a thin crescent.

  2. 2

    Sowing a culinary pouch or cooking a seed card

    A spice pouch is a food. A sowing packet is not a weighed spice. Do not sow Busy Beans, LoveSunnah, HMW, Natco or Spice Mart for a germination figure. Do not tip the SAFLAX 5 g packet into a pan as a cooking measure.

  3. 3

    Reading certified organic as a finished UK code

    Organic food sold in the UK needs a control body such as GB-ORG-02, GB-ORG-04 or GB-ORG-05, or an XI-ORG code in Northern Ireland, plus an origin line. Busy Beans and SAFLAX name no code. Organic does not mean safer when that code is missing.

What to weigh up

Plant name and the job

High

Decide whether you want kalonji, shahi jeera, or seed to sow. A food pouch and a seed card are not substitutes. Nigella sativa, also called kalonji, is the matte, angular seed for naan, pickles and panch phoron. BBC Food describes panch phoran as equal parts fenugreek, nigella, cumin, black mustard and fennel, used whole. Bunium persicum, also called shahi jeera, is a thin crescent for pulao. The RHS lists both plants as black cumin, in different families.

Price per 100 g and the organic code

High

Compare culinary pouches by price per 100 g, and leave the sowing packet off that scale. On the 19 October 2026 listings the food prices per 100 g are Busy Beans £2.78, LoveSunnah £3.60, Natco £4.24, Spice Mart £7.50 and HMW £8.99. Busy Beans is the low figure among pouches that name nigella, which is why it is the best value, not because it has the second-highest score. SAFLAX is £4.55 for 300 seeds. The item weight is 5 g. There is no food price per 100 g for that card.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Gardener sowing nigella

You want seed to sow, not a spoon for naan. SAFLAX is the top pick: 300 Nigella sativa seeds at about £4.55, rated 4.4 from 28 reviews. The card says perennial. The RHS describes an annual to about 30 cm, so follow that habit, and do not cook the packet as a weighed spice.

Cook for naan and pickles

You want named nigella, also called kalonji, in a 250 g pouch. Busy Beans Organic is the best value here at about £6.95, which is £2.78 per 100 g, with 4.1 from 19 reviews. One review mentions grit, so look at the first spoon, and the organic control body is not named.

Small Indian spice pouch

You already accept that this black cumin is not kalonji. Natco is 100 g from India at about £4.24, rated 4.6 from 141 reviews, the largest file in the set. Live listing text says it is not nigella. Skip it if you wanted Nigella sativa for bread or a sowing count.

Common questions about black cumin seeds

Which black cumin seeds are the top pick?
The top pick is SAFLAX, a sowing packet of 300 Nigella sativa seeds at about £4.55, rated 4.4 from 28 amazon.co.uk reviews. It scores 77, the highest in this set, and it is the only row that names the plant and a seed count. One review reports no germination. The card calls the plant perennial; the RHS describes it as an annual. Best value is a different product: Busy Beans Organic, 250 g of named kalonji at about £6.95.
How much do black cumin seeds cost?
On these six amazon.co.uk listings the shelf price runs from £3.75 to £8.99. Food price per 100 g is Busy Beans £2.78, LoveSunnah £3.60, Natco £4.24, Spice Mart £7.50 and HMW £8.99. SAFLAX is £4.55 for 300 seeds, and there is no food price per 100 g for that sowing packet. A wider kalonji search on 20 October 2026, outside this set, sat around £3 to £5 per 100 g. These figures are listing prices, and they can move.
Are black cumin, kalonji and shahi jeera the same?
No. Nigella sativa, also called kalonji, is a matte, angular seed in the buttercup family, used on naan and in pickles. Bunium persicum, also called shahi jeera, is a thin crescent in the carrot family, used like a fine cumin in pulao. The RHS lists both plants under black cumin. Natco’s listing says its black cumin is not nigella. Spice Mart’s title says shahi jeera and a bullet also says the buttercup family.
What does a UK organic claim need?
Organic food sold in the UK needs an approved control body and an agricultural-origin line. Great Britain codes look like GB-ORG-XX. Northern Ireland codes look like XI-ORG-XX. Examples include Organic Farmers and Growers GB-ORG-02, the Organic Food Federation GB-ORG-04, and Soil Association Certification GB-ORG-05. Busy Beans and SAFLAX say certified organic and name no code, so that word is unfinished. A code you cannot match is not a completed organic claim.
Can you sow a culinary pouch or cook a seed packet?
A spice pouch is a food, and a sowing packet is not a weighed spice. Do not sow a culinary pouch for a germination figure. Do not tip the SAFLAX card into a pan as if the 5 g item weight were a cooking measure. Nigella sativa is not on the GOV.UK plant-passport seed list. As a supplier rule of thumb, Chiltern notes about 3 mm depth, rows about 30 cm apart, about 18–20°C, and 10–21 days.
Are health claims a reason to buy these seeds?
No. Do not buy on immunity, weight, sleep, skin, hair or thymoquinone bullets. The ASA allows health claims only from the GB nutrition and health claims register, and disease claims are not acceptable for food. Guy’s and St Thomas’ does not recommend herbal products in pregnancy or breastfeeding. The NHS says natural is not a clearance when you are trying to conceive. Ask a GP, pharmacist, midwife or vet about a dose, pregnancy, a child or a pet.
How do black cumin seeds differ from coriander seeds?
Coriander is a different spice, usually a round tan seed, and it is not a substitute for kalonji or shahi jeera. BBC Food describes panch phoran as equal parts fenugreek, nigella, cumin, black mustard and fennel, used whole, so nigella sits beside other seeds rather than replacing them. Whole coriander for the same cupboard is a separate comparison: coriander seeds. A wrong pack is a Consumer Rights Act 2015 matter for the seller or Citizens Advice.
Why is the largest review file not the top pick?
Natco has 4.6 from 141 reviews at about £4.24 for 100 g from India. The title says black cumin seeds, and the botanical name is not stated. Live listing text on 20 October 2026 says this black cumin is not nigella. Some reviewers report seeds that were not black, or ordinary cumin. That volume helps only after you have accepted it is not named kalonji. It is a poor match for Nigella sativa on naan, or for a sowing packet.

Our verdict

The top pick is SAFLAX, 300 Nigella sativa seeds at about £4.55. It scores 77, the highest here, with 4.4 from 28 reviews, and it is the only sowing packet that names the plant and a seed count. The card’s perennial line and one no-germination note are the limit. Best value is Busy Beans Organic at about £6.95, a different ASIN: 250 g of named nigella and kalonji at £2.78 per 100 g, the lowest food unit price in this set, with 4.1 from 19 reviews. The organic control body is not named, and one review mentions grit. Skip SAFLAX if you want kalonji by the spoon. Skip Busy Beans if you need a sowing count or a GB-ORG code on the label.

Best overall
LoveSunnah Ethiopian black seeds, 250 g

LoveSunnah Ethiopian black seeds, 250 g

View offer
Best value
Busy Beans Organic nigella seeds, 250 g

Busy Beans Organic nigella seeds, 250 g

Lowest food price per 100 g among named nigella here, at £2.78, from a 250 g pouch at about £6.95 with 4.1 from 19 reviews.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Herb seedsamazon.co.uk listingsUK organic labelling

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 21.10.2026
8 sources checked

Guides to black cumin seeds

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources named below. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts on these six listings were read on 19 October 2026, with live wording checked on 20 October 2026. Page updated 21 October 2026.

  1. RHS, Nigella sativa (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  2. RHS, Bunium persicum (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK organic food labelling rules (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK approved organic control bodies (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  5. ASA, food health claims (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  6. NHS, medicines in pregnancy (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  7. BBC Food, panch phoran (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  8. Hari Ghotra, black cumin and shahi jeera (retrieved 20 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Lee Burkhill (Garden Ninja) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are taken from those listings. We did not run a lab test.