Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Eucalyptus seeds comparison 2026

The best eucalyptus seed packets, compared.

Top pick: SAFLAX Tasmanian bluegum with soil Best value: SAFLAX Tasmanian bluegum seeds – Best value on a different ASIN: 100 named seeds at about £4.55, 3.4 from 32 reviews. RHS H3, so a mild coast or a protected pot, not a cold inland tree. Updated 21 October 2026.

Eucalyptus seeds on amazon.co.uk are packets for an evergreen gum, bought for silver foliage, a fast tree, or stems for a vase, not as a culinary herb. Eucalyptus parvula, small-leaved gum, is RHS hardiness H5, so it is the named packet that can live outdoors through most British winters. Eucalyptus globulus and Eucalyptus camaldulensis are RHS H3, which means a mild or coastal garden, not a cold inland plot. Unnamed green packets and rainbow gum do not tell you enough to plant against a house. Which named packets can stay outside is set out on [hardy eucalyptus in the UK](/hub/herb-seeds/eucalyptus-seeds/sub/eucalyptus-seeds-hardy-uk). Prices and stars are from the amazon.co.uk pages. It is not a culinary herb, and it is not a scheduled vegetable. Seed certification covers the main agricultural and vegetable species, not these packets. The Consumer Rights Act 2015 still requires the goods to match their description. A number on one seller is a claim, not a germination guarantee.

Eucalyptus seeds on amazon.co.uk are packets for an evergreen gum, bought for silver foliage, a fast tree, or stems for a vase, not as a culinary herb.

SAFLAX Tasmanian bluegum with soil

Best overall

SAFLAX Tasmanian bluegum with soil
4.5/10∼ £5

42 products checked · 54 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

12 of 12: Best eucalyptus seed packets compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
SAFLAX Tasmanian bluegum with soil
Just Seed Silver Plate
Best value
SAFLAX Tasmanian bluegum seeds
SAFLAX river red gum
Unwins Eucalyptus Baby Blue
SaatPilot Eucalyptus parvula
Ipsa Eucalyptus deglupta
Evanuha rainbow eucalyptus
Evanuha green eucalyptus
Buy4seeds green eucalyptus
kondracho green eucalyptus
punikondra green eucalyptus
4.5/10
4.5/10
5.3/10
4.5/10
2.8/10
6.8/10
2.8/10
2.0/10
1.1/10
0.8/10
0.5/10
0.5/10
∼ £5
∼ £4
∼ £5
∼ £5
∼ £3
∼ £5
∼ £4
∼ £9
∼ £8
∼ £9
∼ £9
∼ £9
4.2(14)
4.0(18)
3.4(32)
3.4(4)
3.0(2)
–
–
–
–
–
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best eucalyptus seed packets in detail

SAFLAX Tasmanian bluegum with soil

Rank 1

SAFLAX Tasmanian bluegum with soil

Our view

This SAFLAX kit uses the same Tasmanian bluegum name, Eucalyptus globulus bicostata, with 100 seeds plus coconut-fibre substrate at £5.25. The star line is 4.2 from 14, the highest rating in the file, yet the extracted reviews are from Spain rather than the UK. One of those reviewers counted roughly 15 seedlings from four packets, about 400 seeds. The praise in that extract is a padded envelope and a bonus item. The page still prints 65 cm as the height and claims the oil keeps all pests away. You pay £0.70 more than the seed-only packet for the fibre, which helps only if you do not already have a fine, free-draining compost.

Pros

  • 100 named seeds plus coconut-fibre substrate
  • 4.2 from 14 reviews, the highest star line in the set
  • Potting instructions are part of the listing

Cons

  • Extracted reviews are Spanish, and one reports about 15 seedlings from roughly 400 seeds
  • The species is an H3 blue gum, and the height field says 65 cm
  • £5.25 is £0.70 above the seed-only listing of the same name

Best for: You want this blue gum and a small amount of coconut-fibre compost in the same order.

Less suitable: A cold garden, or a cupboard that already has seed compost.

Specifications

Model
SAFLAX Tasmanian bluegum with soil
Brand
SAFLAX
Price
∼£5
Customer rating
4.2/5(14)
Species
E. globulus bicostata
Seeds
100
RHS class
H3
Listed height
65 cm
Medium
Coconut fibre

Common questions

Which plant does the listing name?

Eucalyptus globulus bicostata, the same Tasmanian bluegum name as the seed-only SAFLAX packet. Brand: SAFLAX.

How many seeds are listed?

100 seeds, plus coconut-fibre potting substrate.

What height and sowing medium does the listing give?

The height field says 65 cm. The sowing medium is coconut-fibre potting substrate.

Just Seed Silver Plate

Rank 2

Just Seed Silver Plate

Our view

Just Seed’s Silver Plate packet holds 10 seeds at £4.15, and the amazon.co.uk line is 4.0 from 18 reviews. The seller states Defra registration 7291. UK reviewers mention a resealable bag and delivery on time, while others say the pack feels small once postage is the main cost. Germination is the recurring complaint: a UK buyer got only two seedlings and they stayed tiny, and a German review says seedlings came up and then died. The listing does not give a Latin name, and the height field is 65 cm. An organic line sits under material features, which is not a germination figure. You are buying a small floristry-style packet, not a named hardy tree.

Pros

  • 4.0 from 18 reviews, with the extracted praise coming from the UK
  • £4.15, and the seller states Defra registration 7291
  • The seed count of 10 agrees across the listing

Cons

  • No Latin binomial, so you cannot match an RHS hardiness class
  • UK reviews describe only two tiny seedlings from the pack
  • Ten seeds makes postage feel like the larger cost

Best for: You want a small foliage packet from a UK seller and you accept that only a couple of plants may appear.

Less suitable: An outdoor tree for a cold garden, or a large seed count.

Specifications

Model
Just Seed Silver Plate
Brand
Just Seed
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.0/5(18)
Species
Silver Plate, no Latin
Seeds
10
Listed height
65 cm

Common questions

Which plant does the listing name?

Eucalyptus Silver Plate. The listing gives no Latin binomial. Brand: Just Seed.

How many seeds are listed?

10 seeds. The count agrees across the listing.

What height and sowing medium does the listing give?

The listed height is 65 cm. The listing does not state a sowing medium.

SAFLAX Tasmanian bluegum seeds

Rank 3

SAFLAX Tasmanian bluegum seeds

Our view

SAFLAX sells 100 seeds of Eucalyptus globulus bicostata, titled Tasmanian bluegum, at £4.55 with instructions and no compost in the box. The amazon.co.uk line is 3.4 from 32 reviews, the largest file in this set, but only one extracted review is from the UK, and that buyer reported good, fast germination. A Spanish review says not one seed came up, another says the stems were so thin they snapped, and an Italian reviewer found the care legend only in German. The height field prints 65 cm, which is not the size of a blue gum, and a listing sentence claims the oil keeps all pests away. In this capture it is the best value when you garden on a mild coast or you will keep the plant in a protected pot, and a weak choice for a cold inland plot.

Pros

  • 100 named seeds at £4.55
  • 3.4 from 32 amazon.co.uk reviews, including one UK note of fast germination
  • Instructions are included, and you are not paying for substrate
  • Same species name as the £5.25 kit

Cons

  • RHS hardiness for Eucalyptus globulus is H3, not a cold inland tree
  • Extracted reviews also report a total failure and stems that snapped
  • Most of those reviews are not from the UK
  • The height field says 65 cm

Best for: You are on a mild coast or you will protect a pot, and you want the most named seed for the money in this set.

Less suitable: A frost hollow, or an order where you also need the coconut-fibre substrate.

Specifications

Model
SAFLAX Tasmanian bluegum seeds
Brand
SAFLAX
Price
∼£5
Customer rating
3.4/5(32)
Species
E. globulus bicostata
Seeds
100
RHS class
H3
Listed height
65 cm
Medium
Instructions only

Common questions

Which plant does the listing name?

Eucalyptus globulus bicostata, sold as Tasmanian bluegum. Brand: SAFLAX. The RHS class for E. globulus is H3.

How many seeds are listed?

100 seeds. Compost is not in the box. Instructions are included.

What height and sowing medium does the listing give?

The height field says 65 cm, which is not the mature size of a blue gum. The sowing medium is not included.

SAFLAX river red gum

Rank 4

SAFLAX river red gum

Our view

SAFLAX lists 200 seeds of Eucalyptus camaldulensis, river red gum, at £4.55, which is the highest seed count at that price in this set. The star line is 3.4 from 4 reviews, and both extracted texts are from Italy: one calls the packet perfect, the other reports not one seedling after following the instructions. The RHS class for this species is H3, so a cold inland winter sits outside what that rating describes. The height field again says 65 cm. Two hundred seeds look generous until that single failed sowing is most of the story the extract actually contains.

Pros

  • Named Eucalyptus camaldulensis, 200 seeds at £4.55
  • Instructions are included
  • The shelf price matches the 100-seed blue gum

Cons

  • Only four reviews, both extracted from Italy, including a total failure
  • H3, so it is not a tree for a frost hollow
  • The listed height is 65 cm

Best for: You want a large count of named river red gum seed and you can give it a mild, sheltered site.

Less suitable: You are choosing on review volume, or you need an H5 gum.

Specifications

Model
SAFLAX river red gum
Brand
SAFLAX
Price
∼£5
Customer rating
3.4/5(4)
Species
E. camaldulensis
Seeds
200
RHS class
H3
Listed height
65 cm
Medium
Instructions only

Common questions

Which plant does the listing name?

Eucalyptus camaldulensis, river red gum. Brand: SAFLAX. The RHS class is H3.

How many seeds are listed?

200 seeds. Instructions are included. Compost is not in the box.

What height and sowing medium does the listing give?

The height field says 65 cm. The sowing medium is not included.

Unwins Eucalyptus Baby Blue

Rank 5

Unwins Eucalyptus Baby Blue

Our view

Unwins’ Houseplant Eucalyptus Baby Blue is the cheapest line in the set at £3.49, with 3.0 from 2 reviews and no review text in the extract. The Amazon title does not say seeds, the unit count is 1, and the seed quantity is not on the page, so you cannot tell how many chances are in the packet. There is no Latin binomial in this extract. A bullet calls it easy to grow and high yielding, and nothing in the file measures either claim. It sits with pot and indoor foliage, not with a border tree, and the thin listing is the reason the score stays at 28.

Pros

  • Lowest price in the set at £3.49
  • Filed as a houseplant eucalyptus from Unwins
  • Short enough to order if you already know the Baby Blue packet

Cons

  • 3.0 from 2 reviews, and no review text
  • The title omits the word seeds and gives no seed count
  • No Latin name and no height on the extract

Best for: You are growing silver foliage in a bright room or a large pot and you already accept a thin Amazon listing.

Less suitable: An outdoor specimen, or any order where you need a stated seed count before you pay.

Specifications

Model
Unwins Eucalyptus Baby Blue
Brand
Unwins
Price
∼£3
Customer rating
3.0/5(2)
Species
Baby Blue, no Latin

Common questions

Which plant does the listing name?

Eucalyptus Baby Blue. The extract gives no Latin binomial. Brand: Unwins. The Amazon title does not say seeds.

How many seeds are listed?

The extract does not state a seed quantity. The unit count is 1.

What height and sowing medium does the listing give?

The listing does not state a height or a sowing medium.

SaatPilot Eucalyptus parvula

Rank 6

SaatPilot Eucalyptus parvula

Our view

SaatPilot lists 50 seeds of Eucalyptus parvula, small-leaved gum, at £4.99, with spring sowing, full sun and an outdoor position on the page. The height field says 800 cm, which is the only tree-scale figure in this set, though the RHS puts the species above 12 metres, so you still need a coppice plan if the plot is small. There is no star line and no review text in the amazon.co.uk extract, so you cannot treat the packet as something other buyers have already proved. One feature line is in German, “Niedriger Wartungsaufwand”, which does not tell you how to sow. It is the top pick here when you want the named H5 gum for a typical British winter, and a poor match if you wanted a rated houseplant packet.

Pros

  • Names Eucalyptus parvula, the RHS H5 small-leaved gum in this set
  • 50 seeds at £4.99
  • Outdoor, full sun and spring are stated
  • Listed height is 800 cm, not the 65 cm line used on other packets

Cons

  • No amazon.co.uk star line or review text
  • 800 cm is still short of the RHS height above 12 metres
  • A maintenance line on the listing is in German

Best for: You want named seed for a gum that can stay outside through a typical British winter, and you will coppice if the plot cannot take a full-sized tree.

Less suitable: You need buyer reviews before you sow, or you want foliage for a bright room rather than a garden tree.

Specifications

Model
SaatPilot Eucalyptus parvula
Brand
SaatPilot
Price
∼£5
Species
Eucalyptus parvula
Seeds
50
RHS class
H5
Listed height
800 cm
Position
Outdoor
Sun
Full sun
Sowing
Spring

Common questions

Which plant does the listing name?

Eucalyptus parvula, small-leaved gum. Brand: SaatPilot. The Latin name is on the listing.

How many seeds are listed?

50 seeds.

Does the listing say indoors, outdoors, or full sun?

Outdoor, full sun, with spring as the sowing window. The listed height is 800 cm.

Ipsa Eucalyptus deglupta

Rank 7

Ipsa Eucalyptus deglupta

Our view

Ipsa sells 20 seeds of Eucalyptus deglupta at £4.42, and the title also says garden plants even though the product line is seed. There is no star rating in the extract. The sowing window runs from January to December indoors and from April to August outdoors, with partial shade and a listed height of 65 cm. Rainbow gum is a tropical species; the RHS does not give it an H5 rating. Twenty seeds at this price undercut the unnamed green packs, but the bark in a photo is not a plan for a UK winter outside. Treat the outdoor months as a listing window, not as hardiness.

Pros

  • The Latin name Eucalyptus deglupta is on the listing
  • 20 seeds at £4.42
  • An indoor sowing window is stated

Cons

  • No reviews in the extract
  • A tropical species, not an H5 garden tree
  • The height field is 65 cm, and the title also says garden plants

Best for: You want named rainbow-gum seed to try indoors, knowing it is not a hardy border tree.

Less suitable: A tree that stays outside through a British winter.

Specifications

Model
Ipsa Eucalyptus deglupta
Brand
Seeds & Plants Shop by Ipsa
Price
∼£4
Species
Eucalyptus deglupta
Seeds
20
RHS class
Tropical
Listed height
65 cm
Position
Indoor, outdoor
Sun
Partial shade
Sowing
Jan–Dec; Apr–Aug

Common questions

Which plant does the listing name?

Eucalyptus deglupta, rainbow gum. Brand: Seeds & Plants Shop by Ipsa. The RHS does not give this species an H5 rating.

How many seeds are listed?

20 seeds. The title also says garden plants. The product line is seed.

Does the listing say indoors, outdoors, or full sun?

Indoors from January to December, and outdoors from April to August. Sun is partial shade. The height field is 65 cm.

Evanuha rainbow eucalyptus

Rank 8

Evanuha rainbow eucalyptus

Our view

Evanuha lists 80 rainbow eucalyptus seeds at £8.99, with full sun, indoor or outdoor use, and a year-round sowing line. There is no Latin binomial and no star rating. The care copy calls the seed high quality and easy, including the spelling “eay to care”, and says it is packed for this season and the next. At £8.99 you are at the top of this set’s prices for a common name that does not tell you the hardiness. The Ipsa packet names Eucalyptus deglupta and costs £4.42 for 20 seeds, so the larger count here does not buy a clearer plant.

Pros

  • 80 seeds, and the piece count matches the title
  • Full sun and a year-round sowing line are stated
  • GMO-free is stated, though organic is not

Cons

  • £8.99 with no reviews and no Latin name
  • Rainbow gum is not a hardy UK outdoor tree
  • The easy-grow wording is listing copy, and it includes a spelling error

Best for: You specifically want a large rainbow-seed count and you will keep the plants frost-free.

Less suitable: A named hardy gum, or a packet under £5.

Specifications

Model
Evanuha rainbow eucalyptus
Brand
Evanuha
Price
∼£9
Species
Rainbow, no Latin
Seeds
80
Position
Indoor, outdoor
Sun
Full sun
Sowing
Year round

Common questions

Which plant does the listing name?

Rainbow eucalyptus. The listing gives no Latin binomial. Brand: Evanuha.

How many seeds are listed?

80 seeds. The piece count matches the title. There is no star line.

Does the listing say indoors, outdoors, or full sun?

Indoor or outdoor, full sun, with a year-round sowing line. No height is stated.

Evanuha green eucalyptus

Rank 9

Evanuha green eucalyptus

Our view

Evanuha’s green packet says 50 eucalyptus tree seeds at £7.99, for outdoors, full sun and year-round sowing. The species line is only “green eucalyptus”, so you cannot match an H5 or H3 class. The unit count on the listing is 1 while the piece count is 50. There is no star line. The same image URL appears on the Buy4seeds listing at £8.99. The care text mentions well-drained soil, seed in contact with the soil, and regular water, which is a generic note rather than a chill and a deep cell. You learn less here than from a named packet near £5.

Pros

  • £7.99, which is £1 under the other unnamed packs
  • Outdoor and full sun are stated
  • The care line mentions drainage and seed-to-soil contact

Cons

  • No Latin name and no reviews
  • The unit count is 1 against a title of 50
  • £7.99 still buys less information than a named packet near £5

Best for: You already know which gum you are growing and this packet is only a top-up. The listing itself does not name the species.

Less suitable: A first packet for a UK garden.

Specifications

Model
Evanuha green eucalyptus
Brand
Evanuha
Price
∼£8
Species
Green, no Latin
Seeds
50, unit 1
Position
Outdoor
Sun
Full sun
Sowing
Year round

Common questions

Which plant does the listing name?

Green eucalyptus. The listing gives no Latin binomial. Brand: Evanuha.

How many seeds are listed?

The title says 50 seeds. The unit count on the listing is 1.

Does the listing say indoors, outdoors, or full sun?

Outdoor and full sun, with a year-round sowing line. No height is stated.

Buy4seeds green eucalyptus

Rank 10

Buy4seeds green eucalyptus

Our view

Buy4seeds titles 50 green eucalyptus seeds for home gardens, pots and outdoor growing at £8.99. The unit count and the number of items are both 1, so the 50 is not confirmed by the catalogue count. Country of origin is given as the USA, and there is no star line and no binomial. The sowing window is described as the appropriate growing season, with no months. It shares an image URL with the £7.99 Evanuha green packet, which makes the extra pound hard to justify from this file. A mention of pots does not identify the plant.

Pros

  • The title mentions pots as well as outdoor sowing
  • The bullets describe seeds rather than plants
  • Packaging for storage is mentioned

Cons

  • £8.99 for unnamed seed with no reviews
  • The unit count is 1, not 50
  • No sowing months and no Latin name

Best for: Only a buyer who has already identified the species somewhere other than this listing.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a hardiness class before sowing.

Specifications

Model
Buy4seeds green eucalyptus
Brand
Buy4seeds
Price
∼£9
Species
Green, no Latin
Seeds
50, unit 1
Position
Pots, outdoor
Sowing
Season unstated

Common questions

Which plant does the listing name?

Green eucalyptus. The listing gives no Latin binomial. Brand: Buy4seeds. Country of origin is given as the USA.

How many seeds are listed?

The title says 50. The unit count and the number of items are both 1.

Does the listing say indoors, outdoors, or full sun?

The title and bullets say pots and outdoor growing. Sun is not stated. No sowing months are given.

kondracho green eucalyptus

Rank 11

kondracho green eucalyptus

Our view

Kondracho’s listing says 100 green eucalyptus plant seeds at £8.99, while the unit count is 1. There is no Latin name, no height, no sun line and no star rating. The bullets say the packet is seeds only, carefully selected, for beginners and experienced gardeners, and that is the whole specification. At this price the named 100-seed SAFLAX blue gum is £4.55, so you pay about twice as much and learn less about the plant. The score stays at 5 because the packet does not identify a species and the counts disagree.

Pros

  • The title states 100 pieces and says seeds only
  • The copy is aimed at raising plants from seed rather than buying a shrub
  • The price is a single shelf figure of £8.99, with no substrate added on the page

Cons

  • The unit count is 1, which clashes with 100
  • No species, no reviews, and a price of £8.99
  • No sowing detail beyond a general beginner line

Best for: Not a first choice in this comparison. The listing does not name a gum.

Less suitable: Anyone matching a packet to a UK winter or a stated mature height.

Specifications

Model
kondracho green eucalyptus
Brand
kondracho
Price
∼£9
Species
Green, no Latin
Seeds
100, unit 1

Common questions

Which plant does the listing name?

Green eucalyptus. The listing gives no Latin binomial. Brand: kondracho.

How many seeds are listed?

The title says 100. The unit count on the listing is 1.

What height and sowing medium does the listing give?

The listing does not state a height or a sowing medium.

punikondra green eucalyptus

Rank 12

punikondra green eucalyptus

Our view

Punikondra lists 25 green eucalyptus tree seeds at £8.99, the same shelf price as packs that claim 50 or 100 pieces. The unit count is 1. A feature line says growth depends on soil temperature and watering, and that the packet is seed rather than plants. There is no binomial and no rating. Twenty-five unnamed seeds at the top of this price band give you fewer chances and no hardiness class. The score matches the other unnamed clash at £8.99 because the missing species matters more than the printed count.

Pros

  • The listing says growth depends on soil temperature and watering
  • It states seeds only, and mentions secure packaging
  • The title asks for 25 seeds, a smaller claim than unnamed packs at the same £8.99 that say 50 or 100

Cons

  • 25 seeds at £8.99, with a unit count of 1
  • No Latin name and no reviews
  • The same price band as larger unnamed packs

Best for: A buyer who only wanted a very small unnamed trial and does not mind the price per seed.

Less suitable: A named gum, or anyone comparing seed count with the packets at £4.55 to £4.99.

Specifications

Model
punikondra green eucalyptus
Brand
punikondra
Price
∼£9
Species
Green, no Latin
Seeds
25, unit 1

Common questions

Which plant does the listing name?

Green eucalyptus. The listing gives no Latin binomial. Brand: punikondra.

How many seeds are listed?

The title says 25. The unit count on the listing is 1.

What height and sowing medium does the listing give?

The listing does not state a height or a sowing medium.

How we compared

Scores use the twelve amazon.co.uk listings in this comparison, the GBP shelf prices and star lines on those pages, and the RHS hardiness class where the packet names a species. Shelf date 19 October 2026. This is not a laboratory test. A star line with no review text does not outrank a named H5 packet. Seven listings had no star line. Weights sum to 100. The highest score is the top pick. The best-value badge is a different ASIN: the named packet with the stronger seed count and price among reviewed listings.

1

Species fit for a UK buyer

35%

Named Eucalyptus parvula (RHS H5) scores 35. A named H3 binomial, E. globulus bicostata or E. camaldulensis, scores 18. A floristry common name with no binomial scores 12. Named E. deglupta scores 8. Rainbow eucalyptus with no binomial scores 4. Unnamed green seed scores 0.

2

Packet clarity

20%

An agreed seed count scores higher than a title count that clashes with the unit count. Two or more real sowing fields score higher than one. A height that is not the repeated 65 cm line scores when it is at least tree-scale. A title that does not say seeds is capped. The unsupported line that oil keeps all pests away is a deduction.

3

Review evidence

30%

No star line scores 0. Otherwise the stars are scaled and a band is added for the review count. Reviews only from outside the UK are reduced. A mixed file with a single UK text is reduced less. A clear germination failure in the extract is a deduction. A star line with no review text is capped. The band cannot go below 0.

4

Price and count

15%

A named packet at £3.49–£4.99 with 50 or more seeds scores 15. The same band with fewer seeds, or an unknown count, scores lower. The £5.25 substrate kit scores 8. Unnamed or rainbow packs at £7.99–£8.99 score 2. This block is why the £4.55 blue gum is best value, on a different ASIN from the top pick.

Independent review
Last updated: 21 October 2026
8 sources checked

Eucalyptus seeds buying guide

Choose the Latin name and the hardiness class before the seed count. A 65 cm height field is not a mature gum, and a year-round bullet is not a sowing method.

What are you buying?

A packet of eucalyptus seed is for an evergreen Australian gum, bought for silver foliage, a fast tree, or stems for a vase. It is not a culinary herb, and it is not a scheduled vegetable. GOV.UK seed certification covers the main agricultural and vegetable species, not these packets. The Consumer Rights Act 2015 still requires the goods to match their description. A Defra number on one seller is a claim, not a germination guarantee.

Best for

  • A cold garden where you want named Eucalyptus parvula and will coppice if the plot is small
  • A mild coast or a protected pot, where an H3 blue gum is an accepted limit

Not ideal for

  • A frost hollow planted from an unnamed green packet or from rainbow gum
  • Anyone treating a 65 cm listing height as the final size of the tree

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Choosing rainbow bark from a photo

    Eucalyptus deglupta is a tropical species. The RHS does not give it an H5 rating. An outdoor month range on a listing is not hardiness.

  2. 2

    Treating 65 centimetres as the final height

    The RHS puts E. globulus at 30 metres or more and E. parvula above 12 metres. SaatPilot’s 800 cm is the only tree-scale figure here, and it is still short of that maximum. Plan to coppice if you want a shrub.

  3. 3

    Paying £8.99 for unnamed seed

    Unnamed green packs at £7.99–£8.99 often clash on the seed count and give you no species. Named packets near £4.55–£4.99 tell you more. A Defra number on one seller does not certify every packet.

What to weigh up

Species and hardiness

High

No Latin name means you cannot match an RHS hardiness class. Eucalyptus parvula is H5 and is the outdoor name in this set. Eucalyptus gunnii is also H5 on the RHS page, and it is not a named packet here. Eucalyptus globulus and Eucalyptus camaldulensis are H3, for a mild or coastal garden, not a cold inland plot. Rainbow gum, Eucalyptus deglupta, is tropical. The RHS records it as not native to Britain or Ireland and does not give it an H5 rating.

Size, count and sowing

High

Several listings print 65 cm. The RHS puts E. globulus at 30 metres or more and E. parvula above 12 metres. SaatPilot’s 800 cm is the only tree-scale figure in the set, and it is still short of the RHS maximum, so coppice if you want a shrub and keep large trees off buildings. Named packets at about £4.15–£4.99 hold 10 to 200 seeds. SAFLAX sells the same blue gum as seed only at £4.55 or with coconut-fibre substrate at £5.25.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Cold inland garden

You want a named gum that can stay outside through a typical British winter, and you will coppice if the plot cannot take a full-sized tree. SaatPilot Eucalyptus parvula is the top pick: 50 seeds at about £4.99, RHS H5, with no amazon.co.uk star line in the extract.

Mild coast or a protected pot

You can give an H3 gum a mild site or bring a pot under cover. SAFLAX Eucalyptus globulus bicostata is the best value: 100 seeds at about £4.55, 3.4 from 32 reviews. It is not the packet for a frost hollow.

Foliage in a flat

You want silver leaves in a bright room or a large pot, not a border tree. Unwins Eucalyptus Baby Blue is the houseplant line at about £3.49. The Amazon title does not say seeds, and the extract has 3.0 from 2 reviews with no review text.

Common questions about eucalyptus seed packets

Which eucalyptus seeds are the top pick?
The top pick is SaatPilot Eucalyptus parvula, 50 seeds at about £4.99. It is the only named RHS H5 packet in this set, listed for outdoor sowing in full sun in spring, with a height field of 800 cm. The amazon.co.uk extract has no star line, so the score is species fit, not a buyer rating. Best value is a different listing: SAFLAX Eucalyptus globulus bicostata, 100 seeds at about £4.55, rated 3.4 from 32 reviews. That blue gum is RHS H3, for a mild coast or a protected pot.
How much do eucalyptus seeds cost?
On these amazon.co.uk listings the shelf price runs from £3.49 to £8.99, captured on 19 October 2026. About £3.49 to £4.99 covers Unwins, Just Seed, Ipsa, the SAFLAX seed-only packets and SaatPilot. The SAFLAX kit with coconut-fibre substrate is £5.25. Unnamed green packs and the 80-piece rainbow pack sit at about £7.99 to £8.99. These are the twelve page prices, not a market average, and they can move. In this set the dearer packets tell you less about the species.
Which packet can stay outside through a British winter?
SaatPilot Eucalyptus parvula is the only named RHS H5 packet here, the class for most British winters. Eucalyptus gunnii is also H5 on the RHS page, and it is not a named packet in this set. SAFLAX Eucalyptus globulus bicostata and Eucalyptus camaldulensis are H3: a mild or coastal garden, or a pot you can protect, not a frost hollow. A 65 cm height field is not the mature size. E. parvula is above 12 metres, so coppice if the plot is small.
Is rainbow gum hardy outdoors in the UK?
No. Rainbow gum, Eucalyptus deglupta, is tropical. The RHS records it as not native to Britain or Ireland and does not give it an H5 rating. Ipsa names E. deglupta, 20 seeds at about £4.42, with a listed height of 65 cm and no star line. Evanuha sells 80 rainbow seeds at about £8.99 and gives no Latin name. An outdoor sowing window on those pages is a listing line, not hardiness. Keep any plants frost-free.
Why do so many listings say the height is 65 cm?
Several packets print 65 cm, including both SAFLAX blue gums, the river red gum, Just Seed and Ipsa. That figure is not the mature size. The RHS puts Eucalyptus globulus at 30 metres or more and Eucalyptus parvula above 12 metres. SaatPilot’s 800 cm for E. parvula is the only tree-scale figure here, and it is still short of the RHS maximum. Coppice if you want a shrub, and keep large gums away from buildings because they can dry clay soil.
How should you sow eucalyptus seed?
For hardy seed, the RHS method is a chill at 3–5°C for about two months, then sowing around mid-February into deep cells. Do not bury fine seed. Unwins Baby Blue is different: one week in the fridge, then about 20°C, with vermiculite only, because that seed needs light. A year-round easy-grow bullet is listing copy, not that method. Do not sow a whole unnamed pack into one shallow tray. No figure on this page is a measured germination rate.
Are eucalyptus seeds illegal, or unsafe around pets?
Garden planting is lawful. Eucalyptus is not on the GOV.UK list of invasive plants of special concern, and it was not found on Schedule 9. A Defra number on one seller does not certify every packet. The ASPCA lists the genus as toxic to dogs, cats and horses. If a pet has chewed leaves or oil and is unwell, call a vet or Animal PoisonLine on 01202 509000. A bay for the kitchen is a different plant: see the bay laurel plant comparison.

Our verdict

The top pick is SaatPilot Eucalyptus parvula at about £4.99. It scores 68, the highest here, as 50 named seeds of the only RHS H5 gum in the set. The extract has no star line, so the score is species fit, not a buyer rating. Best value is SAFLAX Eucalyptus globulus bicostata seed only, a different ASIN, at about £4.55 for 100 seeds, rated 3.4 from 32 reviews. That species is H3. Skip SaatPilot if you need reviews before you sow, or if you wanted foliage for a bright room. Skip the SAFLAX blue gum if the garden is a frost hollow, or if you also need the coconut-fibre substrate.

Best overall
SAFLAX Tasmanian bluegum with soil

SAFLAX Tasmanian bluegum with soil

View offer
Best value
SAFLAX Tasmanian bluegum seeds

SAFLAX Tasmanian bluegum seeds

Best value on a different ASIN: 100 named seeds at about £4.55, 3.4 from 32 reviews. RHS H3, so a mild coast or a protected pot, not a cold inland tree.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Herb seedsamazon.co.uk listingsRHS hardiness

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 21 October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to eucalyptus seed packets

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources named below. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts on these twelve listings were read on 19 October 2026. Page updated 21 October 2026.

  1. RHS eucalyptus growing guide (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. RHS Eucalyptus gunnii (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. RHS Eucalyptus globulus (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. RHS Eucalyptus parvula (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. RHS Eucalyptus camaldulensis (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. Forest Research cider gum (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. GOV.UK invasive non-native plants (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. ASPCA eucalyptus (retrieved 19 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Lee Burkhill (Garden Ninja) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are taken from those listings. We did not run a lab test.