Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Petunia seeds comparison 2026

The best petunia seeds, compared.

Top pick: Just Seed Double Pirouette Blue – Tied highest score at 78, broken toward 30 named blue pellets at about £2.25, part PETPIRB001, rated 3.9 from 77 reviews. Best value: Just Seed Double Pirouette Red and White – The other named 30-pellet packet at about £2.25, 3.7 from 121 reviews, on a different ASIN from the top pick. Updated 21.10.2026.

Petunia seeds are ornamental summer bedding, not a culinary herb, even though this page sits in the seeds hub. You sow them under cover in early spring: the seed is tiny, it needs light, and frost kills the plants. Quality on amazon.co.uk is mostly whether the packet names a variety and a real seed house, not a huge count in the title. Several bulk bags and several dearer trailing titles either lack a variety name or have UK reviews saying the plants were the wrong colour or grew upright. Packet checks sit in the [petunia seeds buying guide](/hub/herb-seeds/petunia-seeds/sub/petunia-seeds-buying-guide). A stated 30 named pellets can be a better buy than a stated 2,500 or 25,000 unnamed seeds. A basket photo does not prove a trailing plant. Do not eat the seed or the plants. Surface sowing, heat and hardening off are set out in [how to sow petunia seeds](/hub/herb-seeds/petunia-seeds/sub/petunia-seeds-how-to-sow).

Petunia seeds are ornamental summer bedding, not a culinary herb, even though this page sits in the seeds hub. You sow them under cover in early spring: the seed is tiny, it needs light, and frost kills the plants.

Just Seed Double Pirouette Blue

Best overall

Just Seed Double Pirouette Blue
7.8/10∼ £2

44 products checked · 64 hrs invested · +18,640 readers

12 of 12: Best petunia seeds compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
Just Seed Double Pirouette Blue
Nika seeds balcony mix
Best value
Just Seed Double Pirouette Red and White
Ultrey 200 hanging petunia seeds
SVI 100 hanging petunia
Damavandpro nana compacta mixed
DSRERYHT rainbow petunia
UIOYEWRG colour B
UIOYEWRG colour A
UIOYEWRG colour Mix S
UIOYEWRG colour D
UIOYEWRG colour O
7.8/10
7.8/10
7.4/10
7.2/10
4.6/10
4.0/10
–/10
–/10
–/10
–/10
–/10
–/10
∼ £2
∼ £3
∼ £2
∼ £6
∼ £6
∼ £4
∼ £5
∼ £8
∼ £8
∼ £8
∼ £6
∼ £6
3.9(77)
3.9(20)
3.7(121)
3.6(180)
2.3(7)
2.0(2)
–
–
–
–
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best petunia seeds in detail

Just Seed Double Pirouette Blue

Rank 1

Just Seed Double Pirouette Blue

Our view

Just Seed Double Pirouette Blue is 30 pelleted seeds at about £2.25, part PETPIRB001, and the amazon.co.uk line is 3.9 from 77 reviews. The listing prints DEFRA registered 7291 and organic registration AP23164, which are seller registration numbers, not a germination trial of this envelope. UK comments include good germination and an accurate count, a replacement after an empty packet, and a later batch of pelleted seed that did not germinate. Habit is not stated on the listing, and Just Seed's own shop describes Pirouette as a compact, large-flowered series, so this is a weak choice when a basket must spill. The item-weight field says 10 g, which describes the packet rather than a weighed mass of seed. In this set it is the top pick when you want a named blue double you can reorder.

Pros

  • Named variety Double Pirouette Blue, part PETPIRB001
  • 30 pelleted seeds at about £2.25, the lowest shelf price in this set
  • 3.9 from 77 amazon.co.uk reviews, with germination praise in the comments
  • DEFRA 7291 and organic AP23164 are printed on the listing

Cons

  • UK reviews include an empty packet and a later batch that did not germinate
  • Habit is not stated on the listing
  • The registration lines are not a germination test

Best for: You want a named blue double at about £2.25 and you will surface-sow the pellets.

Less suitable: You need a long trailing plant for a basket, or you treat a registration number as proof the seed will sprout.

Specifications

Model
Just Seed Double Pirouette Blue
Brand
Just Seed
Price
∼£2
Customer rating
3.9/5(77)
Variety
Double Pirouette Blue
Seed form
Pelleted
Stated count
30
Colour
Blue
Count agrees
Yes

Common questions

How many seeds does the listing state?

The title and the piece count both say 30 pelleted seeds. Item weight is listed as 10 g, which describes the packet rather than a weighed mass of seed.

Is a variety name printed?

Yes. The packet is Just Seed Double Pirouette Blue, part number PETPIRB001. The bullets also print DEFRA registered 7291 and organic registration AP23164. Those are seller registration numbers, not a germination trial.

What do UK reviews say about germination?

The listing is 3.9 from 77 reviews. UK comments include good germination and an accurate count, a replacement after an empty packet, and a later batch of pelleted seed that did not germinate.

Nika seeds balcony mix

Rank 2

Nika seeds balcony mix

Our view

The Nika balcony mix is about £2.99, with a title that says 2,500 seeds while the number-of-items field says 300, so the listing does not agree on quantity. The brand field is Generic, the manufacturer line says Nika seeds, and the amazon.co.uk line is 3.9 from 20 reviews. One UK review says the seed germinated well but the plants were upright, not trailing, which undercuts the balcony-mix wording. Other reviews report no germination, or growth with no flowers. The bullet says the seeds arrive in a labelled ziplock bag without instructions, and no variety name or seed form is printed. The star line matches the named blue packet, but twenty reviews and a habit complaint are a thinner basis, so buy it only if you accept an unnamed mix and will not rely on a spill.

Pros

  • About £2.99, near the bottom of this set
  • Title describes a trailing balcony mix
  • 3.9 from 20 reviews, including at least one germination report
  • Listed as an annual, which matches a UK summer sowing

Cons

  • Title says 2,500 seeds and the item count says 300
  • A UK review says the plants were upright, not trailing
  • No variety name, no seed form, and no instructions in the bag

Best for: You want a cheap unnamed annual mix and you will judge the plants after they flower.

Less suitable: You need a named trailer, one agreed seed count, or sowing instructions on the packet.

Specifications

Model
Nika seeds balcony mix
Brand
Nika seeds
Price
∼£3
Customer rating
3.9/5(20)
Habit
Trailing mix
Stated count
2,500 or 300
Colour
Mixed
Count agrees
No
Use
Outdoor

Common questions

How many seeds are stated?

The title and the unit count say 2,500. The number-of-items field says 300. Both figures are on the listing, so the quantity is not agreed.

Are growing instructions included?

The bullet says seeds are sent in a labelled ziplock bag and that instructions are not attached. No variety name or seed form is printed.

Did reviewers get a trailing plant?

One UK review says the seed germinated well but the plants were upright, not trailing. Others report no germination, or growth with no flowers.

Just Seed Double Pirouette Red and White

Rank 3

Just Seed Double Pirouette Red and White

Our view

Just Seed Double Pirouette Red and White is the same 30-pellet format at about £2.25, part PETPIRRW001, with 3.7 from 121 reviews on the amazon.co.uk listing. The colour field says red and white, the usage field says outdoor, and one UK review says the flowers were purple, not red. Other comments talk about germination rather than colour, including both praise and reports of an empty packet or seed that did not sprout. Just Seed's own page calls Pirouette compact, with flowers about 10–13 cm, which is a bedding mound rather than a long trailer. The height unit on the listing is 10 cm, a catalogue stub you should not read as the mature plant. It is the best value line here when you want a named double at the floor price and can live with a disputed colour.

Pros

  • Named Double Pirouette Red and White, 30 pelleted seeds at about £2.25
  • 3.7 from 121 reviews, the larger file of the two named packets
  • Usage field says outdoor
  • Same shelf price as the blue Pirouette packet

Cons

  • One UK review reports purple flowers, not red and white
  • Empty-packet and no-germination comments are on the listing
  • The series is described as compact, not as a long trailer

Best for: You want a named double at about £2.25 and you will check the flower colour when it opens.

Less suitable: You need a guaranteed red-and-white flower, or a basket that must trail.

Specifications

Model
Just Seed Double Pirouette Red and White
Brand
Just Seed
Price
∼£2
Customer rating
3.7/5(121)
Variety
Pirouette red and white
Seed form
Pelleted
Stated count
30
Colour
Red and white
Count agrees
Yes
Use
Outdoor

Common questions

Does the listing say the seed is pelleted?

Yes. The title says 30 pelleted seeds, and the piece count is 30. The part number is PETPIRRW001.

Did UK reviewers get red and white flowers?

The colour field says red and white. One UK review says the flowers were purple, not red. Other UK reviews talk about germination rather than colour.

What is the star line?

3.7 out of 5 from 121 reviews on the amazon.co.uk listing. That is a larger review count than the blue Pirouette packet, which is 3.9 from 77.

Ultrey 200 hanging petunia seeds

Rank 4

Ultrey 200 hanging petunia seeds

Our view

Ultrey lists 200 hanging petunia seeds at about £5.99, and the amazon.co.uk line is 3.6 from 180 reviews, the largest count in this set. The unit count and the piece count both say 200, sunlight is full sun, and a bullet also allows partial shade, with fewer flowers if the plants get less sun. Flowering is given as June to November, while the bloom field says summer, and the habit line is hanging or standing, which does not tell you which seed is in the bag. Repeated UK complaints are plants that were not trailing, only pink or white flowers, missing labels and instructions, and seed that grew weeds or poppies. A few buyers had not yet seen flowers, and the title also says hardy perennial, which is not a plan for a UK winter. It is a reviewed mix only if you accept that colour and habit may not match the photo.

Pros

  • 200 seeds in both the unit count and the piece count
  • 3.6 from 180 reviews, the largest file in this set
  • Full sun and a June to November flowering line are printed
  • About £5.99 for a stated 200 seeds, below the colour-code packs

Cons

  • UK reviews report plants that were not trailing
  • Wrong colours, missing labels, and weeds or poppies recur
  • Hanging or standing, and hardy perennial, do not pin down the plant

Best for: You want a reviewed 200-seed mix and you will treat colour and habit as a gamble.

Less suitable: You need a named trailer, a label in the packet, or a plant that stays outside through a UK winter.

Specifications

Model
Ultrey 200 hanging petunia seeds
Brand
Ultrey Seeds
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
3.6/5(180)
Habit
Hanging or standing
Stated count
200
Colour
Mixed
Count agrees
Yes

Common questions

How many seeds are stated?

The unit count and the number of pieces both say 200. That is one of the few listings here where those two figures agree.

What sun and flowering window does the listing give?

Sunlight is full sun. A bullet also allows partial shade and says less sun means fewer flowers. Flowering is given as June to November, and the bloom field says summer.

What do UK reviews repeat?

The star line is 3.6 from 180 reviews. Repeated UK complaints are plants that were not trailing, only pink or white flowers, missing labels and instructions, and seed that grew weeds or poppies.

SVI 100 hanging petunia

Rank 5

SVI 100 hanging petunia

Our view

SVI's 100-piece hanging petunia, colour blue 2, is about £5.99 with 2.3 from seven reviews. The indoor-outdoor field says indoor, while the title sells a hanging plant, and a question about growing it outdoors has no answer on the listing. Sunlight exposure is partial sun, the height unit is 10 cm, and the bloom field says spring. Three UK reviews say the plants were not blue, not speckled and not trailing, or that the flowers were pink rather than the pictured Night Sky type. No variety name and no seed form are printed, and the flowerpot is excluded. At about £5.99 you are paying a mid-band price for a small set of reviews that disputes both colour and habit. It is only a reasonable experiment if a miss will not spoil the basket.

Pros

  • The piece count is a single figure: 100
  • The title states a hanging habit
  • Partial sun is printed on the listing
  • The colour line is blue 2, which is more specific than a single letter

Cons

  • 2.3 from 7 reviews, with plants reported as not blue and not trailing
  • The usage field says indoor
  • No variety name, and reviewers did not get the pictured Night Sky look

Best for: You are testing a hanging title and you will not rely on blue speckled flowers.

Less suitable: You need a named blue trailer, or outdoor use confirmed on the listing.

Specifications

Model
SVI 100 hanging petunia
Brand
SVI
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
2.3/5(7)
Habit
Hanging
Stated count
100
Colour
Blue 2
Count agrees
Yes
Use
Indoor

Common questions

Does the listing say outdoor or indoor?

The indoor-outdoor field says indoor. A question on the page asks whether it can be grown outdoors, and the listing has no answer.

What sun does the listing state?

Sunlight exposure is partial sun. The expected height unit is 10 centimetres, and the full-bloom period is spring. Do not read 10 cm as the mature plant.

What did UK reviewers say about the blue hanging claim?

The star line is 2.3 from 7 reviews. Three UK reviews say the plants were not blue, not speckled and not trailing, or that the flowers were pink rather than the pictured Night Sky type.

Damavandpro nana compacta mixed

Rank 6

Damavandpro nana compacta mixed

Our view

Damavandpro lists Petunia x hybrida nana compacta mixed at about £3.50, and the star line is 2.0 from two reviews. The title says 1,000 seeds in blue, crimson, red and white, while the unit count says 1, so the quantity is not settled. The variety line describes dwarf, bushy plants, and the title also recommends hanging baskets, pots and window boxes. One UK review says the seed germinated but did not look trailing in a basket, and the other says it never grew. The care text says plant the seeds 1 inch deep, which conflicts with UK guides that leave petunia seed uncovered, and a printed USDA zone 3 is not a UK frost plan. It is the only packet here that names nana compacta, so it can be the bushy choice if you accept two reviews, and the wrong packet if the basket must spill.

Pros

  • Names nana compacta mixed, a dwarf bushy class
  • Full sun is stated on the listing
  • Seed form is given as untreated
  • About £3.50, still in the lower price band of this set

Cons

  • 2.0 from 2 reviews, including one plant that never grew
  • Title says 1,000 seeds and the unit count says 1
  • Care line says sow 1 inch deep
  • The title pushes baskets even though the habit is compact

Best for: You want a named dwarf bush for a pot or a border edge and you will surface-sow despite the care line.

Less suitable: You need a trailer, a larger review file, or a listing whose seed count agrees with itself.

Specifications

Model
Damavandpro nana compacta mixed
Brand
Damavandpro
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
2.0/5(2)
Variety
Nana compacta mixed
Habit
Dwarf bush
Seed form
Untreated
Stated count
1,000 or 1
Colour
Blue, crimson, red, white
Count agrees
No
Use
Outdoor

Common questions

Is this sold as trailing or compact?

The variety line says nana compacta and the bullets say dwarf, bushy plants. The title also recommends hanging baskets, pots and window boxes.

What sowing depth does the listing give?

The care text says plant seeds 1 inch deep and 6 inches apart in spring. UK guides leave petunia seed uncovered, so do not follow that depth line.

What do the two UK reviews say?

The star line is 2.0 from 2 reviews. One says the seed germinated but did not look trailing in a basket. The other says it never grew.

DSRERYHT rainbow petunia

Rank 7

DSRERYHT rainbow petunia

Our view

DSRERYHT's rainbow petunia is about £4.78, and the listing has no star line and no review text. The title and the number-of-items field say 25,000, while the unit count is 1, so you cannot tell how many seeds the envelope holds. A bullet describes spreading plants for ground cover, hanging baskets and large planters, with a cascading effect, and the colour field is the letter I, with no variety name. The title also says indoor perennial, and no sowing steps are on the listing. A 25,000-seed claim without reviews is an unverified count, not a bargain you can check against buyers. At about £4.78 it sits in the middle of the set with less identity than the named pellets at about £2.25. Skip it if you need a variety name, a rating, or one agreed quantity.

Pros

  • About £4.78, below the UIOYEWRG colour-code prices
  • A bullet describes a spreading, cascading habit
  • The 25,000 figure and the unit count of 1 are both on the page

Cons

  • No star line and no review text
  • Title says 25,000 and the unit count says 1
  • Colour is the letter I, with no variety name and no sowing steps

Best for: You are comparing an unnamed bulk title and you will not use it as your only basket plan.

Less suitable: You need reviews, a named variety, or a single seed count.

Specifications

Model
DSRERYHT rainbow petunia
Brand
DSRERYHT
Price
∼£5
Habit
Spreading
Stated count
25,000 or 1
Colour
Code I
Count agrees
No
Use
Indoor

Common questions

How many seeds are stated?

The title and the number-of-items field say 25,000. The unit count is 1. Do not treat the title as 25,000 viable petunia seeds.

Does the listing describe the habit?

A bullet says spreading plants for ground cover, hanging baskets and large planters, with a cascading effect. The colour field is the letter I. No variety name is printed.

Is there a star rating?

The amazon.co.uk listing has no customer-review line and no review text. The score sits on the floor for that reason.

UIOYEWRG colour B

Rank 8

UIOYEWRG colour B

Our view

UIOYEWRG colour B is about £7.75, and the listing has no star line and no review text. The title calls it trailing petunia seed for hanging baskets and a rare hardy perennial, but it does not name a variety or a seed count. Colour is the letter B and the unit count is 1.0. The bullets claim the plant suits all regions, and no RHS hardiness code is printed. That hardy-perennial line is not evidence the plants will live through a UK winter. At about £7.75 you are near the top of this set for a packet you cannot check against buyers or reorder by a variety name. It is only a speculative order if the basket does not depend on it. Skip it when you want a named trailing series or any reviews at all.

Pros

  • The title states a trailing habit for hanging baskets
  • The price, about £7.75, is printed as a single shelf figure
  • You can see that colour B is a code, not a variety name

Cons

  • No star line, no review text, and no seed count
  • Bullets claim a hardy perennial for all regions without an RHS code
  • About £7.75 is dearer than the named 30-pellet packets

Best for: You are inspecting an unnamed trailing title and you will not depend on it for this year's basket.

Less suitable: You need a named variety, a stated seed count, or any amazon.co.uk reviews.

Specifications

Model
UIOYEWRG colour B
Brand
UIOYEWRG
Price
∼£8
Habit
Trailing
Colour
Code B

Common questions

Does the listing name a variety or a seed count?

No variety name. Colour is B. The unit count is 1.0. The title does not give a seed count.

What habit does the title claim?

The title says trailing petunia seed for hanging baskets, and calls it a rare hardy perennial. No RHS hardiness code is printed.

Is there a star rating?

The amazon.co.uk listing has no customer-review line and no review text.

UIOYEWRG colour A

Rank 9

UIOYEWRG colour A

Our view

UIOYEWRG colour A is the same about £7.75 trailing title as the other letter-coded bags, and the listing has no star line and no review text. There is no variety name and no seed count. Colour is the letter A and the unit count is 1.0. The care line says loose, well-draining soil and tells you to avoid waterlogging, which is a usable moisture warning even though it is not a sowing method. A question on the page asks about hanging baskets, and the bullets mention balcony pots, without a trail length. The hardy-perennial claim for all regions is repeated here, again without an RHS code. You are paying about £7.75 for wording you cannot test against a review. It does not become a stronger basket packet than colour B just because the letter changes.

Pros

  • The title states trailing seed for hanging baskets
  • The care line mentions loose, well-draining soil and avoiding waterlogging
  • Balcony pots are mentioned in the bullets

Cons

  • No star line, no review text, and no seed count
  • Colour A is not a variety name
  • About £7.75 with a hardy-perennial claim and no RHS code

Best for: You want to read the soil line on an unnamed bag and you already have a named packet as backup.

Less suitable: You need reviews, a reorderable variety, or a known number of seeds.

Specifications

Model
UIOYEWRG colour A
Brand
UIOYEWRG
Price
∼£8
Habit
Trailing
Colour
Code A

Common questions

Does the listing name a variety or a seed count?

No variety name. Colour is A. The unit count is 1.0. The title does not give a seed count.

What does the listing say about soil?

The care line says loose, well-draining soil and tells you to avoid waterlogging. A question asks about hanging baskets, and the bullets mention balcony pots.

Is there a star rating?

The amazon.co.uk listing has no customer-review line and no review text.

UIOYEWRG colour Mix S

Rank 10

UIOYEWRG colour Mix S

Our view

UIOYEWRG colour Mix S is about £7.75, and the listing has no star line and no review text. The title says trailing petunia seed for hanging baskets and calls it a rare hardy perennial. Mix S is a colour code, not a named series, and the unit count is 1.0 with no seed count in the title. The bullets again say the plant suits all regions, without an RHS code. A mix code can sound broader than colour A or B, but nothing on the page lists the colours inside the mix. You cannot tell a trailing habit from a basket photo when no buyer has reported what grew. At this price it is a dearer unnamed bag than the Pirouette packets at about £2.25, which at least name the flower. Leave it if the basket has to spill in a colour you can name.

Pros

  • The title states a trailing habit for hanging baskets
  • Mix S signals more than one colour, even though the colours are not listed
  • The about £7.75 price is clear on the listing

Cons

  • No star line, no review text, and no seed count
  • Mix S does not name the colours in the bag
  • Hardy perennial for all regions, with no RHS code

Best for: You are comparing letter-coded mixes and you will not sow this as the only seed for a basket.

Less suitable: You need a listed colour range, a review count, or a named trailing series.

Specifications

Model
UIOYEWRG colour Mix S
Brand
UIOYEWRG
Price
∼£8
Habit
Trailing
Colour
Mix S

Common questions

Does the listing name a variety or a seed count?

No variety name. Colour is Mix S. The unit count is 1.0. The title does not give a seed count, and the colours inside the mix are not listed.

What habit does the title claim?

The title says trailing petunia seed for hanging baskets, and calls it a rare hardy perennial. No trail length and no RHS code are printed.

Is there a star rating?

The amazon.co.uk listing has no customer-review line and no review text.

UIOYEWRG colour D

Rank 11

UIOYEWRG colour D

Our view

UIOYEWRG colour D is about £6.10, and the listing has no star line and no review text. The title says 25,000 pieces while the unit count is 1.0, so the quantity clashes on the same page. Colour is the letter D, habit is not stated, and there is no variety name. A question asks whether the seed suits the UK climate. The bullets answer by saying the plant is suitable for all regions, and no hardiness rating is printed. That is a marketing line, not a forecast for your garden. At about £6.10 it is cheaper than the £7.75 trailing codes and still dearer than the named 30-pellet packets, without a habit you can check. Skip it if you need either a trailing or a compact name, or any buyer report of what arrived.

Pros

  • About £6.10, below the £7.75 UIOYEWRG trailing codes
  • The 25,000 title and the unit count of 1 are both visible
  • The climate question on the page is not answered with a hardiness rating

Cons

  • No star line and no review text
  • Title says 25,000 and the unit count says 1
  • Habit is not stated, and all regions is not an RHS code

Best for: You are checking a bulk title against its own unit count and you will not treat all regions as a UK winter claim.

Less suitable: You need a habit, a variety name, or reviews of what grew.

Specifications

Model
UIOYEWRG colour D
Brand
UIOYEWRG
Price
∼£6
Stated count
25,000 or 1
Colour
Code D
Count agrees
No

Common questions

How many seeds are stated?

The title says 25,000 pieces. The unit count is 1.0. Colour is D. Those two counts do not agree.

Does the listing answer whether it suits the UK climate?

A question asks that. The bullets say the plant is suitable for all regions. No hardiness rating is printed. That is not a plan for a UK winter.

Is there a star rating?

The amazon.co.uk listing has no customer-review line and no review text.

UIOYEWRG colour O

Rank 12

UIOYEWRG colour O

Our view

UIOYEWRG colour O is about £6.10, and the listing has no star line and no review text. The title says 25,000 pieces and the unit count is 1.0, the same clash as colour D, and colour is the letter O, with no variety name and no habit stated. A bullet says high germination, and no percentage is printed, so you should not turn that adjective into a rate. The hardy-perennial line for all regions is repeated without an RHS code. Colour O is not a different plant from colour D on the evidence in this comparison. It is another unnamed bulk title at about £6.10. Leave it if you wanted a germination figure or a flower you can reorder by name.

Pros

  • About £6.10, in the lower half of the unnamed UIOYEWRG prices
  • The count clash, 25,000 against a unit count of 1, is on the listing
  • The germination bullet is visible, and no percentage is attached

Cons

  • No star line and no review text
  • High germination is printed without a percentage
  • No variety name, no habit, and a hardy-perennial claim without an RHS code

Best for: You are reading germination wording on an unnamed bag and you will not quote a rate the page does not give.

Less suitable: You need a percentage, a named flower, or any buyer report.

Specifications

Model
UIOYEWRG colour O
Brand
UIOYEWRG
Price
∼£6
Stated count
25,000 or 1
Colour
Code O
Count agrees
No

Common questions

How many seeds are stated?

The title says 25,000 pieces. The unit count is 1.0. Colour is O. Do not treat the title figure as a verified count of viable seed.

Is a germination rate given?

A question asks for the rate. A bullet says high germination. No percentage is printed, so do not quote one.

Is there a star rating?

The amazon.co.uk listing has no customer-review line and no review text.

How we compared

Scores use the twelve amazon.co.uk listings in this comparison: the star line, the review count, whether a variety is named, whether the seed form is stated, whether the title and the unit count agree, and repeated UK review complaints. Prices are GBP shelf prices from those listings. This is not a laboratory test. Six listings had no star line, so they sit on the floor. Weights sum to 100. The top pick is Just Seed Double Pirouette Blue. Best value is Just Seed Double Pirouette Red and White, a different packet.

1

Stars and volume

25%

A published star line with 50 or more reviews can reach the mid-70s when the packet also names a variety. A file of 20 reviews does not add the same weight as a file of 100, even when the stars match. One or two reviews cannot carry a high score. No star line scores 0.

2

Identity

25%

A named series and a part number add more than a class name such as nana compacta. A colour letter such as A, B, D, O, Mix S or I adds nothing. Prefer a variety you can reorder.

3

Form and consistency

20%

Pelleted or untreated, stated on the page, is a plus. A title count that clashes with the unit count is a deduction. A habit line that says both hanging and standing is a deduction.

4

Review text

20%

Germination praise lifts a named packet. Repeated reports of the wrong colour, an upright plant from a trailing title, an empty packet, weeds, or no germination pull the score down.

5

Price

10%

About £2.25 for a named 30-pellet packet is the floor of this set. Unnamed bags at about £6.10 to £7.75 do not gain a value bonus. The best value badge is the other named packet at the same shelf price, not the cheapest unnamed title.

Independent review
Last updated: 21.10.2026
9 sources checked

Petunia seeds buying guide

Name the variety before you trust a huge seed count. Trailing language on a basket photo is not the same as a plant that spills, and petunia seed needs light on the surface.

What to check on a petunia seed packet

Petunia seeds are ornamental summer bedding. They are not a culinary herb, and you should not eat the seed or the plants. You sow them under cover in early spring. The seed is tiny, it needs light, and frost kills the plants. Quality on amazon.co.uk is mostly whether the packet names a variety and a real seed house, not a huge count in the title.

Best for

  • A pot or border edge where you want a named compact series you can reorder
  • A first sowing where pelleted seed is easier to space than dust seed

Not ideal for

  • A hanging basket that must spill, if the packet is a compact series or an unproven hanging title
  • Anyone who wants to eat the seed or the flowers, or to leave the plants out through a UK winter

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Covering the seed or soaking the pellets

    Petunia seed needs light. Sow on the surface of moist peat-free compost and do not cover. Do not soak pellets until the coat dissolves, and do not sow dust seed thickly under a closed lid.

  2. 2

    Trusting hardy perennial or a USDA zone

    Petunias are frost tender. RHS H2 means about 1–5°C, not a freeze. A USDA zone on a listing, or a line that says all regions, is not a plan for a UK winter.

  3. 3

    Buying on seed count alone

    A stated 30 named pellets can be a better buy than a stated 2,500 or 25,000 unnamed seeds. Where the title and the unit count clash, the listing has not agreed the quantity. No germination percentage was verified for these ASINs.

What to weigh up

Named variety and habit

High

Prefer a variety you can reorder and a seller that prints growing detail. A colour letter is not a variety. Trailing or spreading is for a basket that must spill. Nana compacta or another dwarf type is for a bushy pot or a border edge. A basket photo does not prove a trailing plant. Just Seed describes Pirouette as compact, with flowers about 10–13 cm, so the two named packets are a weak choice for a long trailer. Surfinia is a trailing brand sold mainly as plants from cuttings.

Seed form, count and the review text

High

Pelleted seed is easier to space. Raw dust seed is easy to sow too thickly. Do not soak pellets until the coat dissolves. Compare the stated count with the price only after the packet has a name. A title count that clashes with the unit count is a weaker listing, not a bargain. Germination praise lifts a named packet. Repeated reports of the wrong colour, an upright plant from a trailing title, an empty packet, weeds or no germination pull it down. Six listings here had no star line.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Bushy bedding in a pot

You want a named blue double you can reorder, and a basket that must spill is not the job. Just Seed Double Pirouette Blue is the top pick: 30 pelleted seeds at about £2.25, 3.9 from 77 reviews. The listing does not state a habit. Just Seed describes the series as compact.

A named double at the same price

You want the other 30-pellet packet at about £2.25 and you will check the flower when it opens. Just Seed Double Pirouette Red and White is best value, at 3.7 from 121 reviews. One UK review reports purple flowers rather than red and white.

A basket that must spill

You need a trailing habit, and a basket photo does not prove one. Ultrey states hanging or standing and has the largest review file here, 3.6 from 180. Repeated UK reviews say the plants were not trailing. The named Pirouette packets are a compact series, so they are a weak choice for a long spill.

Common questions about petunia seeds

Which petunia seeds are the top pick?
The top pick is Just Seed Double Pirouette Blue, 30 pelleted seeds at about £2.25, part PETPIRB001, rated 3.9 from 77 amazon.co.uk reviews. It scores 78, tied with the Nika balcony mix. The named variety, the pellet form and the larger review file decide the top pick. Best value is a different packet: Just Seed Double Pirouette Red and White, also about £2.25, at 3.7 from 121 reviews. One UK review on that packet reports purple flowers rather than red.
How much do petunia seeds cost?
On these amazon.co.uk listings the shelf price runs from about £2.25 to £7.75. The two named Just Seed pellet packets are about £2.25 for 30 seeds. The Nika balcony mix is about £2.99 and the Damavandpro nana compacta mix is about £3.50. Mid-price packets are about £4.78 and £5.99. Unnamed UIOYEWRG colour-code packs are about £6.10 to £7.75. Just Seed's own site showed Pirouette from £1.80. That is not the amazon.co.uk price. These figures are the twelve pages, not a market average, and they can move.
How should you sow petunia seeds?
Sow on the surface of moist peat-free seed compost and do not cover the seed. It needs light. Thompson & Morgan and BBC Gardeners' World both give about 18–24°C. Trade instructions often allow about one to three weeks. Do not soak pelleted seed until the coat dissolves, and do not sow dust seed thickly under a closed lid. After pricking out, cooler growing-on encourages branching. Petunias are frost tender. Harden off for about two to three weeks, then plant out after the last frost.
Are petunia seeds hardy through a UK winter?
No. Petunias are frost tender. RHS H2 on trailing cultivars checked here means about 1–5°C, not a freeze. Ignore a USDA zone printed on a listing. Titles that say hardy perennial, or bullets that say the plant suits all regions, are not a plan for a UK winter, and none of those lines here carries an RHS hardiness code. Plant out after the last frost. The Met Office May note treats petunias as tender bedding and says late May in the south only if frost has passed.
Does a larger seed count make a better packet?
Not on these listings. A stated 30 named pellets can be a better buy than a stated 2,500 or 25,000 unnamed seeds. The title count and the unit-count field are not the same thing. Several pages here print both a huge title count and a unit count of 1, or 2,500 against 300. Do not treat a 25,000-seed title as 25,000 viable petunia seeds. No germination percentage was verified for these ASINs. A colour letter (A, B, D, O or I) is not a variety you can reorder.
Are petunia seeds a herb you can eat?
Petunia seeds are ornamental summer bedding. They are not a culinary herb, and you should not eat the seed or the plants. This page sits in the Herb seeds hub because the shop groups seed packets together, not because the flower is a herb. A different comparison in the same hub is lupine seeds. The Seed Marketing Regulations 2011 do not apply to ornamental seed, so a petunia packet is not agricultural certified seed. Goods should still match the description under the Consumer Rights Act 2015.
What should you check before buying seed for a hanging basket?
A basket that must spill needs a trailing or spreading habit, and a basket photo does not prove that. Just Seed describes Pirouette as compact, with flowers about 10–13 cm, so the two named packets are a weak choice for a long trailer. UK reviews on several hanging titles in this set say the plants were upright, the wrong colour, or not trailing. Ultrey has the largest review count, 3.6 from 180, and repeated complaints include plants that were not trailing.

Our verdict

The top pick is Just Seed Double Pirouette Blue at about £2.25. It scores 78, tied with the Nika balcony mix, as 30 named pelleted seeds, part PETPIRB001, rated 3.9 from 77 reviews. The named variety, the pellet form and the larger review file decide it. Nika's title says 2,500 seeds while the item count says 300, and a UK review says the plants were upright. Best value is Just Seed Double Pirouette Red and White, a different packet at the same about £2.25, 3.7 from 121 reviews. It does not take the top pick because a UK review reports purple flowers rather than red. Skip both if the basket must trail. Skip the red and white packet if the flower has to be red.

Best overall
Just Seed Double Pirouette Blue

Just Seed Double Pirouette Blue

Tied highest score at 78, broken toward 30 named blue pellets at about £2.25, part PETPIRB001, rated 3.9 from 77 reviews.

View offer
Best value
Just Seed Double Pirouette Red and White

Just Seed Double Pirouette Red and White

The other named 30-pellet packet at about £2.25, 3.7 from 121 reviews, on a different ASIN from the top pick.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Herb seedsamazon.co.uk listingsOrnamental bedding

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 21.10.2026
9 sources checked

Guides to petunia seeds

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources named below, plus the Just Seed variety page and the Surfinia brand page. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts are from the twelve listings in this comparison. Page updated 21 October 2026.

  1. Thompson & Morgan, Petunias (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. BBC Gardeners' World, How to grow petunias (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. RHS, When to plant out tender plants (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. RHS, Hanging baskets (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. Seed Marketing Regulations 2011 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. GOV.UK, Issuing plant passports (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. Met Office, Gardening tips for May (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  8. Just Seed, Pirouette red and white (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  9. Surfinia brand (retrieved 21 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Lee Burkhill (Garden Ninja) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are taken from those listings. We did not run a lab test.