Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Outdoor security cameras compared for UK homes 2026

The best outdoor security cameras, compared.

Top pick: Tapo TC40 – Highest published star line in this set, with pan and tilt and microSD storage, if you have a socket. Best value: Septekon S50 – Lowest shelf price in this set, at about £11.89, if you can accept the mixed resolution lines. Updated 16.10.2026.

An outdoor security camera for a UK house is a weather-resistant Wi-Fi camera for a garden, drive, side passage, or an existing outdoor light. On amazon.co.uk you are usually choosing a battery camera for a fence, a mains camera that stays powered, or a solar camera where there is no socket. Judge each one by its IP code, whether the resolution lines agree, where clips are stored, and what reviewers say about battery life on a busy path. The [outdoor security camera buying guide](/hub/electronic-surveillance/outdoor-security-camera/sub/outdoor-security-camera-buying-guide) sorts boundary, power, and fees before picture quality. Keep the lens on your own property where you can.

An outdoor security camera for a UK house is a weather-resistant Wi-Fi camera for a garden, drive, side passage, or an existing outdoor light.

Tapo TC40

Best overall

Tapo TC40
9.2/10∼ £35

42 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

12 of 12: Best outdoor security cameras compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
Tapo TC40
Tapo C310 (2-pack)
Tapo C400
Tapo C401
EZVIZ C8c (2-pack)
Best value
Septekon S50
GALAYOU R6
Tapo TC82
Blink Outdoor 4
Blink Outdoor 4 + Mini 2
Ring Floodlight Cam Wired Plus
Ring Outdoor Camera Battery
9.2/10
9.0/10
8.8/10
8.8/10
8.8/10
8.6/10
8.6/10
8.4/10
–/10
–/10
–/10
–/10
∼ £35
∼ £65
∼ £40
∼ £40
∼ £57
∼ £12
∼ £39
∼ £45
∼ £25
∼ £55
∼ £70
∼ £35
4.6(28,160)
4.5(27,688)
4.4(4,389)
4.4(4,389)
4.4(1,980)
4.3(2,526)
4.3(531)
4.2(5,139)
–
–
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best outdoor security cameras in detail

Tapo TC40

Rank 1

Tapo TC40

∼£35

Our view

The Tapo TC40 is a mains pan-and-tilt camera at 7 W, with no battery, and the box includes a power adapter, a mounting template, screws, anchors and a quick-start guide. It turns 360° horizontally and 130° vertically, records 1080p at 15 fps, and lists colour night vision to 30 m, though the same file also says 98 ft. On amazon.co.uk it is 4.6 from 28,160 reviews, the highest star line in this set of twelve. Clips go to a microSD card up to 512 GB, bought separately, or to optional Tapo Care, and the item highlight says there is no monthly fee for the camera itself. Person detection includes motion tracking. IP65 is water-jet protection, not immersion. Optical zoom 5 and digital zoom both appear on the spec lines, so the zoom claim is not one figure. It still needs a socket within reach of the adapter.

Pros

  • 360° horizontal and 130° vertical, with person tracking
  • 4.6 from 28,160 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Mains at 7 W, with the power adapter in the box
  • microSD up to 512 GB, without a required monthly plan
  • IP65, and it can mount on a wall, ceiling or pole

Cons

  • It needs a socket, and there is no battery
  • Night range is listed as both 30 m and 98 ft
  • Optical zoom and digital zoom both appear, so the zoom line is mixed
  • The memory card is extra

Best for: A yard with a safe indoor socket where a fixed camera would miss the sides

Less suitable: A fence with no power, or a swap of an existing floodlight

Specifications

Model
Tapo TC40
Brand
Tapo
Price
∼£35
Customer rating
4.6/5(28,160)
Power
Mains, 7 W
Resolution
1080p
Weather rating
IP65
Saved clips
microSD to 512 GB
Night vision
Colour, 30 m
Pan and tilt
Yes
Person detection
Yes
Two-way audio
Yes
Voice assistant
Alexa
Cameras
1

Common questions

Is the TC40 battery powered?

No. The listing says corded electric, 7 W, and batteries are not required. A power adapter is in the box.

Does it cover a whole yard?

The bullets say 360° horizontal and 130° vertical, with person detection and motion tracking. It is a single camera.

Where do recordings go?

Onto a microSD card up to 512 GB, bought separately, or to Tapo Care. The item highlight says there is no monthly fee for the camera itself.

Tapo C310 (2-pack)

Rank 2

Tapo C310 (2-pack)

∼£65

Our view

The Tapo C310 listing is sold as a pair of wired 2K bullets at £64.99, each on mains at 9 W, with IP66 sealing, a light and sound alarm, two-way audio, and Alexa plus Google Assistant. On amazon.co.uk the line is 4.5 from 27,688 reviews. The picture is 2K at 15 fps across about 100 degrees, and the camera does not pan. Night vision is written as up to 98 ft (30 m) in the bullet and as 98 feet in the spec field, which is not the same distance, so leave both figures visible. The title says a 2-pack and the included line says cameras, while the number-of-items field says 1, so count the box when it arrives. Clips use a microSD card up to 512 GB. A wired power connection is required, and batteries are not. At this price you are paying for two fixed viewpoints, not one.

Pros

  • Title is two wired 2K cameras, rated IP66
  • 4.5 from 27,688 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Light and sound alarm, with two-way audio
  • microSD up to 512 GB, and Alexa plus Google Assistant

Cons

  • The number-of-items field says 1 while the title says a 2-pack
  • Night range is listed as 30 m and as 98 feet
  • Needs mains power, and there is no pan and tilt

Best for: Two fixed wired viewpoints where you already have sockets for both

Less suitable: A single camera, a battery fence, or a yard that needs pan and tilt

Specifications

Model
Tapo C310 (2-pack)
Brand
Tapo
Price
∼£65
Customer rating
4.5/5(27,688)
Power
Mains, 9 W
Resolution
2K 3MP
Weather rating
IP66
Saved clips
microSD to 512 GB
Night vision
30 m and 98 ft
Pan and tilt
No
Person detection
Yes
Two-way audio
Yes
Voice assistant
Alexa, Google
Light or siren
Light and alarm
Cameras
2

Common questions

How many cameras are in the C310 pack?

The title is a 2-pack and the included-components line says Tapo C310 cameras. The number-of-items field says 1.

Do they need a power cable?

Yes. The bullet says a wired power connection is required. Power is corded electric, 9 W, and batteries are not required.

What night-vision distance is listed?

The bullet says up to 98 ft (30 m). The spec field says 98 feet. Those are not the same distance.

Tapo C400

Rank 3

Tapo C400

∼£40

Our view

The Tapo C400 is a screw-in battery bullet with a 5,200 mAh pack and a claim of up to 180 days, recording 1080p at 15 fps across a 116.7-degree field of view. Colour night vision is listed to 10 m, and the weather line is IP65, which covers water jets rather than submersion. On amazon.co.uk it is 4.4 from 4,389 reviews. Person alerts do not need a subscription. Local clips use a microSD card up to 512 GB, which you buy separately, while Tapo Care is the optional cloud. A charging cable and a mounting screw are in the box. The highlight says the camera is solar compatible, but a panel is not in the included list. Tapo’s own notes on battery models say they are not designed for continuous recording, so a busy gate still only keeps motion clips, and the 180-day line assumes light use.

Pros

  • 5,200 mAh battery with a claim of up to 180 days
  • Person alerts without a subscription
  • microSD up to 512 GB, with Tapo Care optional
  • Colour night vision listed to 10 m, and IP65
  • 4.4 from 4,389 amazon.co.uk reviews

Cons

  • The memory card is extra, and a solar panel is not in the box
  • A battery Tapo is not designed for continuous recording
  • Fixed view, with no pan-and-tilt degrees stated

Best for: A fence where motion clips on a card, and person alerts without a monthly fee, are enough

Less suitable: A yard that needs pan and tilt, a light that stays on, or all-day recording

Specifications

Model
Tapo C400
Brand
Tapo
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.4/5(4,389)
Power
5,200 mAh
Resolution
1080p
Weather rating
IP65
Saved clips
microSD to 512 GB
Night vision
Colour, 10 m
Pan and tilt
No
Person detection
Yes
Two-way audio
Yes
Voice assistant
Alexa, Google
Cameras
1

Common questions

Do person alerts need a Tapo plan?

The C400 listing says AI person detection does not need a subscription. Cloud backup is Tapo Care. Local clips use a microSD card up to 512 GB, sold separately.

How is the C400 powered?

It is battery powered, with a 5,200 mAh battery and a claim of up to 180 days. A charging cable is included. The highlight says it is solar compatible; a panel is not in the included list.

Will it take screws to fit?

Yes. The installation type is screw-in, and a mounting screw is in the box.

Tapo C401

Rank 4

Tapo C401

∼£40

Our view

The Tapo C401 is a battery camera at the same £39.99 shelf price as the C400, with a 5,200 mAh pack, a claim of up to 180 days, 1080p and IP65. The title says no hub and no monthly fee. Colour night vision is listed, but no distance is given. Person detection is described as not needing a subscription. A microSD card up to 512 GB is extra, and Tapo Care is the cloud option. The Customer Reviews line is 4.4 from 4,389, the same figure as the C400 file, and the review text largely repeats that file, so it is not a second sample of buyers. Smart tracking is mentioned without pan-and-tilt degrees. Two-way audio is not stated in the comparison fields. The included line names the camera itself. Treat the stars as shared with the C400, not as fresh evidence.

Pros

  • Battery camera whose title says no hub and no monthly fee
  • Person detection described as not needing a subscription
  • microSD up to 512 GB, with IP65 stated
  • Alexa and Google Home are listed

Cons

  • The 4.4 from 4,389 matches the C400 file and is not a separate sample
  • Night-vision range is not stated
  • The card is extra, and a battery model is not for continuous recording

Best for: A £39.99 Tapo battery camera when you already know the C400 review line is the same sample

Less suitable: Anyone counting those 4,389 reviews twice, or needing a stated night-vision distance

Specifications

Model
Tapo C401
Brand
Tapo
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.4/5(4,389)
Power
5,200 mAh
Resolution
1080p
Weather rating
IP65
Saved clips
microSD to 512 GB
Night vision
Colour
Person detection
Yes
Voice assistant
Alexa, Google
Cameras
1

Common questions

Does the C401 need a hub or a monthly plan?

The title says no hub and no monthly fee. Person detection is described as not needing a subscription. A microSD card up to 512 GB is not included. Tapo Care is the cloud option.

Is the 4.4-star line a separate sample from the C400?

No. This saved listing shows 4.4 out of 5 from 4,389 reviews, the same Customer Reviews line as the C400 file, and the review text largely repeats that file.

What night-vision range is listed?

The listing says colour night vision. It does not give a distance.

EZVIZ C8c (2-pack)

Rank 5

EZVIZ C8c (2-pack)

∼£57

Our view

The EZVIZ C8c pack is two wired pan-and-tilt domes at £56.99, each 1080p on 12 V DC at 12 W, so both need a socket rather than a battery. Colour night vision is listed to 20 m, the weather line is IP65, and the bullets add a siren, two spotlights and up to 12 presets. Human-shape detection is described as free on the listing. On amazon.co.uk it is 4.4 from 1,980 reviews. Wi-Fi is 2.4 GHz only, with a claim of up to 220 m of coverage on dual antennas, which is the listing’s figure and not a measurement at your fence. Clips go to a microSD card up to 512 GB, bought separately, or to CloudPlay, which is not stated as free. The included-components field says No even though the title is a 2-camera pack and the number-of-items field says 2. A moving lens is easier to point past your own boundary. Alexa and Google Assistant are listed. The connectivity field says both wired and Wi-Fi.

Pros

  • Two 1080p pan-and-tilt domes, with up to 12 presets
  • Siren, two spotlights, and human-shape detection described as free
  • microSD up to 512 GB, or CloudPlay as the cloud option
  • 4.4 from 1,980 reviews, with IP65 stated

Cons

  • Both cameras need 12 V mains, and there is no battery
  • CloudPlay is not stated as free, and the card is extra
  • 2.4 GHz only
  • The included-components field says No on a 2-camera title

Best for: Two sockets and a yard that a single fixed camera would leave uncovered

Less suitable: One camera only, a battery fence, or a network that is 5 GHz only

Specifications

Model
EZVIZ C8c (2-pack)
Brand
EZVIZ
Price
∼£57
Customer rating
4.4/5(1,980)
Power
Mains, 12 V
Resolution
1080p
Weather rating
IP65
Saved clips
microSD to 512 GB
Night vision
Colour, 20 m
Pan and tilt
Yes
Person detection
Yes
Two-way audio
Yes
Voice assistant
Alexa, Google
Light or siren
Siren, spotlights
Cameras
2

Common questions

Does the EZVIZ pair need mains power?

Yes. The listing says 12 V DC by cable, 12 W, and that the camera must be plugged into a socket. Batteries are not required.

Which Wi-Fi band does it use?

The bullet says 2.4 GHz only. It also claims up to 220 m of Wi-Fi coverage with dual antennas.

How many cameras are in the box?

The title says 2PC and the number-of-items field says 2. The included-components field says No.

Septekon S50

Rank 6

Septekon S50

∼£12

Our view

The Septekon S50 is the lowest shelf price in this set, at £11.89, and it is a 12 V mains camera drawing 5 W, with a 3 m cable mentioned in the bullets and an IP66 metal body. On amazon.co.uk it is 4.3 from 2,526 reviews. The same file lists both 2K and 1080p, and night vision both as 85 ft and as 25 m, with twelve infrared LEDs, so you cannot treat one resolution or one range as settled. Two-way audio and Alexa are listed. The field of view is 105 degrees and the camera does not pan. Clips can go to cloud storage or a microSD card up to 128 GB, and the card is not included. The cloud tier is not stated as free. IP66 is a heavier water jet than IP65, and it is still not submersion. You are buying the price, and you have to live with two picture lines in one listing.

Pros

  • Lowest shelf price in this set, at £11.89
  • IP66 metal body on 12 V mains at 5 W
  • 4.3 from 2,526 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • microSD up to 128 GB or cloud, plus two-way audio and Alexa

Cons

  • The title says 2K while other fields say 1080p
  • Night range is listed as both 85 ft and 25 m
  • The card is extra, and the cloud tier is not stated as free
  • Fixed 105-degree view, with no pan and tilt

Best for: A mains socket and a tight budget, if you can accept the mixed resolution lines

Less suitable: Anyone who needs one clear resolution, pan and tilt, or a battery on a fence with no socket

Specifications

Model
Septekon S50
Brand
Septekon
Price
∼£12
Customer rating
4.3/5(2,526)
Power
Mains, 12 V
Resolution
2K and 1080p
Weather rating
IP66
Saved clips
Card to 128 GB
Night vision
IR; 85 ft, 25 m
Pan and tilt
No
Two-way audio
Yes
Voice assistant
Alexa
Cameras
1

Common questions

Is the Septekon S50 2K or 1080p?

Both appear in the same saved listing. The title and a bullet say 2K and a 2-megapixel lens. The spec fields also say 1080 pixels and 1080p.

How far does the night vision go?

The bullet says up to 85 ft. The spec field says 25 m. Twelve infrared LEDs are listed.

Does it store clips locally?

The listing says cloud storage and a microSD card up to 128 GB. The card is not included.

GALAYOU R6

Rank 7

GALAYOU R6

∼£39

Our view

The GALAYOU R6 is the only camera in this set with a solar panel in the box, at £38.99, and the included line also lists a stand, a mounting screw and a manual. It still has a battery, and the capacity is not stated, so the panel is a top-up rather than proof of all-day recording. On amazon.co.uk it is 4.3 from 531 reviews, a smaller sample than the Tapo files with tens of thousands of reviews. It pans and tilts from the phone, uses 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, lists colour night vision to 10 m, and states IP65. The title says 2K, the video capture field says 1296p, and still resolution says 3 MP. A TF card up to 128 GB is not included, and the cloud tier is not stated as free. Power is listed as 5 V and 5 W. There is no winter-charge test in this set. PIR human detection, a light and a siren are in the bullets. The field of view is 93.8 degrees before it pans.

Pros

  • Solar panel, stand, screw and manual are in the box
  • Pan and tilt, plus a light and a siren
  • Colour night vision listed to 10 m, IP65, on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
  • TF card slot up to 128 GB

Cons

  • Resolution is listed as 2K, as 1296p and as 3 MP stills
  • 4.3 from 531 reviews, a smaller sample than the large Tapo files
  • Battery capacity is not stated, and winter charging is not tested here
  • The card is extra, and the cloud tier is not stated as free

Best for: A bracket with daylight and no socket, when motion clips and a panel in the box are enough

Less suitable: Continuous recording, a hardwired floodlight, or a router that is 5 GHz only

Specifications

Model
GALAYOU R6
Brand
GALAYOU
Price
∼£39
Customer rating
4.3/5(531)
Power
Solar and battery
Resolution
2K and 1296p
Weather rating
IP65
Saved clips
TF card to 128 GB
Night vision
Colour, 10 m
Pan and tilt
Yes
Person detection
Yes
Two-way audio
Yes
Light or siren
Light and siren
Cameras
1

Common questions

Is the solar panel included?

Yes. The included-components line lists a solar panel, a stand, a mounting screw and an instruction manual. The camera still has a battery; the capacity is not stated.

Which resolution is listed?

The title says 2K. The video capture field says 1296p. Effective still resolution is 3 MP.

Does it pan?

Yes. The bullets describe pan, tilt and zoom from the phone, with PIR human detection, a light and a siren. Wi-Fi is 2.4 GHz.

Tapo TC82

Rank 8

Tapo TC82

∼£45

Our view

The Tapo TC82 is a rechargeable 2K camera with IP65 weather sealing, colour night vision listed to 30 feet, two-way audio, Alexa, and a sound and light alarm. The listing says a battery camera is not designed for continuous recording and keeps motion clips when activity is detected. Battery lines in the same file disagree: up to 6 months, 180 days, and a spec field of 6400 Amp Hours. Tapo’s lab figure behind the 180-day line is about 250 seconds of use a day, so a busy path will not match it. On amazon.co.uk it is 4.2 from 5,139 reviews, the lowest star line among the Tapo files that publish a count. A microSD card up to 512 GB is the local option and is not included. A solar panel is compatible and sold separately. Person alerts are described as not needing a plan. The operating range on the bullet is given as −4 to 113 °F.

Pros

  • 2K picture with a sound and light alarm
  • Motion clips on a microSD card up to 512 GB
  • Person alerts described as not needing a plan
  • IP65, with Alexa listed

Cons

  • Battery lines disagree, and the 180-day figure assumes a quiet lab day
  • Not designed for continuous recording
  • Night vision is listed as 30 feet, shorter on the page than several mains Tapo lines
  • 4.2 from 5,139 reviews, and the solar panel is extra

Best for: A rechargeable 2K camera for motion clips, where you can take it down to charge

Less suitable: All-day recording, or a bracket where you need the solar panel already in the box

Specifications

Model
Tapo TC82
Brand
Tapo
Price
∼£45
Customer rating
4.2/5(5,139)
Power
Rechargeable
Resolution
2K 3MP
Weather rating
IP65
Saved clips
microSD to 512 GB
Night vision
Colour, 30 ft
Pan and tilt
No
Person detection
Yes
Two-way audio
Yes
Voice assistant
Alexa
Light or siren
Light and alarm
Cameras
1

Common questions

Will the TC82 record all day?

No. The listing says a battery camera is not designed for continuous recording. It records motion clips when activity is detected.

What battery life does the listing claim?

The bullets say up to 6 months on a full charge, based on a Tapo lab note of 250 uses a day. The highlight also says 180 days. The spec field says 6400 Amp Hours. A solar panel is compatible and not included.

What is the weather rating?

IP65. The bullet also gives an operating range of -4 to 113 °F.

Blink Outdoor 4

Rank 9

Blink Outdoor 4

∼£25

Our view

The Blink Outdoor 4 is a 1080p battery camera that runs on two AA lithium batteries, with infrared night vision and two-way audio, and the box includes Sync Module Core, those batteries, a mounting kit, a USB cable and a power adaptor. The title states IP65, which is protection against dust and water jets, not a claim that you can leave the camera under water. Saved clips need a Blink plan, kept for up to 30 days on the listing, and person detection sits on that plan. The Core module does not store clips on a USB stick; a Sync Module 2 for local storage is sold separately. This amazon.co.uk file has no Customer Reviews line, so the star rating is n/a. The “up to two years” line is a claim, and a busy path can empty the cells much sooner. A battery extension pack, claimed for up to four years, is also sold separately. Alexa is listed, with up to two privacy zones.

Pros

  • Two AA lithium batteries and Sync Module Core are in the box
  • 1080p, infrared night vision, two-way audio and Alexa
  • IP65 is stated in the title
  • Up to two privacy zones

Cons

  • Cloud clips and person detection need a Blink plan
  • Sync Module Core does not store clips on a USB stick
  • No Customer Reviews line in this file
  • The two-year battery line is a claim, not a busy-path promise

Best for: A fence or a rental where you can swap AA cells and you will pay a Blink plan for saved clips

Less suitable: Anyone who wants a memory card in the camera, or person alerts without a fee

Specifications

Model
Blink Outdoor 4
Brand
Blink
Price
∼£25
Power
AA lithium
Resolution
1080p
Weather rating
IP65
Saved clips
Cloud plan, 30 days
Night vision
Infrared
Person detection
Paid plan
Two-way audio
Yes
Voice assistant
Alexa
Cameras
1

Common questions

Does the Blink Outdoor 4 save clips without a plan?

The listing includes Sync Module Core and a 30-day trial of the Blink Subscription Plan for cloud clips kept up to 30 days. Person detection is part of that optional plan. The listing does not say the Core module stores clips on a USB stick.

How long do the batteries last?

Two AA lithium metal batteries are in the box, with a claim of up to two years. A battery extension pack, sold separately, is claimed for up to four years.

Is it rated for rain?

The title states IP65. The saved listing does not describe that rating as submersion protection.

Blink Outdoor 4 + Mini 2

Rank 10

Blink Outdoor 4 + Mini 2

∼£55

Our view

This Blink listing pairs an Outdoor 4 with a plug-in Mini 2, so the box is one battery outdoor camera plus one indoor camera, not two cameras for the garden. Both are listed at 1080p with two-way audio. The Mini 2 adds colour night vision and a spotlight, and the listing says it can stream live for up to 90 minutes only with a Blink Subscription Plan, sold separately. Saved clips for the kit are that same plan. This saved listing states no IP code and has no Customer Reviews line, so weather rating and stars are both n/a. A full in-the-box list is not in the file either. At £54.98 you are paying for the indoor Mini 2 as well as the outdoor camera. If the fence is the only job, that second camera does not cover a second outdoor angle.

Pros

  • One Outdoor 4 and one plug-in Mini 2 in a single listing
  • 1080p and two-way audio on both cameras
  • The Mini 2 adds colour night vision and a spotlight

Cons

  • No IP code and no Customer Reviews line in this file
  • Saved clips need a Blink plan sold separately
  • The Mini 2 is a plug-in indoor camera, not a second outdoor camera

Best for: A household that wants one battery outdoor camera and a plug-in indoor camera in the same order

Less suitable: Anyone who only needs outdoor coverage, or a printed weather rating

Specifications

Model
Blink Outdoor 4 + Mini 2
Brand
Blink
Price
∼£55
Power
AA and plug-in
Resolution
1080p
Saved clips
Blink plan, extra
Night vision
IR; Mini colour
Two-way audio
Yes
Light or siren
Spotlight
Cameras
2

Common questions

What is in this Blink bundle?

The title is a Blink Outdoor 4 plus a Blink Mini 2 White. The Outdoor 4 is the battery camera. The Mini 2 is a plug-in camera with colour night vision and a spotlight. A full in-the-box list is not in the saved listing.

Does the listing give a weather rating?

No. This saved listing does not state an IP code, and it has no Customer Reviews line.

Can the Mini 2 stream live?

The listing says the Mini 2 can stream live video for up to 90 minutes with a Blink Subscription Plan, sold separately.

Ring Floodlight Cam Wired Plus

Rank 11

Ring Floodlight Cam Wired Plus

∼£70

Our view

The Ring Floodlight Cam Wired Plus is a hardwired 1080p camera with 2,000 lumen motion lights and a siren, built to replace an existing outdoor light rather than hang on a battery bracket. Saved video for up to 180 days, and people alerts, need a Ring subscription sold separately. The title includes a 30-day free trial, which is not ongoing free storage. This saved listing has no Customer Reviews line and no IP code, so stars and a weather rating are both n/a. Ring’s install notes say it needs existing wiring at 100–240 V, an earth connection, and no dimmer or timer, and that a professional may be required. It is not the Floodlight Camera 2K listed at £179.99 in the same week. If the outdoor cable is damaged, or the job is a new circuit, this is an electrician’s install. Two-way audio and Alexa are listed.

Pros

  • 2,000 lumen floodlights and a siren on one hardwired camera
  • 1080p, two-way audio and Alexa
  • Uses existing outdoor-light wiring rather than a new battery bracket
  • A 30-day trial is mentioned on the listing

Cons

  • Saved clips and people alerts need a Ring plan
  • No IP code and no Customer Reviews line in this file
  • A damaged cable or a new circuit is an electrician’s job, not a plug-in fit

Best for: Replacing an existing outdoor light when you will pay a Ring plan to keep video

Less suitable: A fence with no light wiring, a refusal to take a plan, or a brand-new circuit

Specifications

Model
Ring Floodlight Cam Wired Plus
Brand
Ring
Price
∼£70
Power
Hardwired
Resolution
1080p
Saved clips
Ring plan, 180 days
Night vision
Motion lights
Pan and tilt
No
Person detection
Paid plan
Two-way audio
Yes
Voice assistant
Alexa
Light or siren
2,000 lm, siren
Cameras
1

Common questions

Does the floodlight camera need a socket or a battery?

It is hardwired to existing wiring. The listing does not describe a battery.

Are clips stored on the camera?

Saved video, for up to 180 days, and people alerts need a Ring subscription, sold separately. The title includes a 30-day free trial.

What weather rating does the listing give?

None. This saved listing does not state an IP code.

Ring Outdoor Camera Battery

Rank 12

Ring Outdoor Camera Battery

∼£35

Our view

The Ring Outdoor Camera Battery is a wireless stick-up camera with a quick-release battery pack, 1080p and night vision, and the listing says you can fix it to a wall, set it on a shelf or hang it from a ceiling. Battery capacity and runtime are not stated, so there is no day-count to plan around. The file says the camera is built to withstand the elements, but it does not give an IP code, and that sentence is not an IP65 or IP66 rating. Saved videos for up to 180 days, and people alerts, need a Ring subscription sold separately. This file has no Customer Reviews line. It is not the Stick Up Cam battery that was £79.99 in the same week. Two-way audio is listed. Without a plan, this listing does not give you a stored clip history.

Pros

  • Quick-release battery pack, with no new circuit required
  • 1080p and two-way audio
  • Mounts on a wall, a flat surface or a ceiling

Cons

  • Saved clips and people alerts need a Ring plan
  • No IP code and no Customer Reviews line in this file
  • Battery capacity and runtime are not stated

Best for: A spot you can reach to swap the pack, if you will pay Ring for video history

Less suitable: Anyone who wants a memory card in the camera, or a printed IP rating

Specifications

Model
Ring Outdoor Camera Battery
Brand
Ring
Price
∼£35
Power
Battery pack
Resolution
1080p
Saved clips
Ring plan, 180 days
Night vision
Yes
Pan and tilt
No
Person detection
Paid plan
Two-way audio
Yes
Cameras
1

Common questions

How is this Ring camera powered?

By a removable Quick Release Battery Pack. The listing does not state a capacity or a runtime.

Does it work in the rain?

The listing says it is built to withstand the elements. It does not give an IP code.

Can you save clips without a Ring plan?

The listing says a Ring subscription, sold separately, saves videos for up to 180 days and provides people alerts.

How we compared

For this comparison we kept twelve outdoor security cameras from amazon.co.uk, drawn from a wider look at 42 listings. Where a Customer Reviews line exists, the score is that star rating times 20. Blink and both Ring files have no count line, so they stay unscored. We did not lab-test any camera.

1

Where the lens points

25%

A view of your own property is the starting point. A neighbour, the pavement, or a communal path brings signage, storage, deletion, and a duty to respond.

2

Power

25%

Battery listings here are for motion clips. Mains models need a socket or existing light wiring. A solar panel is in the box only on the GALAYOU R6.

3

Where clips are stored

20%

Ring and the Blink Core kit need a plan for saved video. Tapo listings in this set use a microSD card without a required plan. The card is extra.

4

Image and weather rating

20%

We keep conflicting resolution lines visible. IP65 and IP66 are jet ratings, not submersion. A missing IP code stays blank.

5

Published review line

10%

Stars and review counts are copied only from a Customer Reviews line on the amazon.co.uk file. A shared count is not treated as a second sample.

Independent review
Last updated: 16.10.2026
8 sources checked

Outdoor security camera buying guide

This set is twelve weather-resistant Wi-Fi cameras from amazon.co.uk, priced on 15 October 2026 from £11.89 to £69.99. It is not a cabled CCTV recorder. Sort the lens, the power, and next year’s clips before you compare megapixels. Battery listings here are for motion clips. Mains listings need a socket or an existing outdoor light. Only the GALAYOU R6 includes a solar panel. Ring and the Blink Core kit need a plan if you want saved video.

What is an outdoor security camera?

An outdoor security camera, for this page, is a weather-resistant Wi-Fi camera for a garden, drive, side passage, or an existing outdoor light. It is not a recorder-and-cable CCTV system. The twelve amazon.co.uk listings captured on 15 October 2026 cost £11.89 to £69.99. One camera in this basket is under £70 before any plan. Products Compared did not lab-test them.

Best for

  • Renters who cannot add a circuit and have Wi-Fi at the bracket
  • Owners replacing a tired outdoor light on existing wiring

Not ideal for

  • A busy path where a two-year battery claim has to hold
  • A new circuit, or a lens aimed at the pavement

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Trusting a long battery claim

    Do not trust a two-year or 180-day battery line on a busy path. Those figures assume light use. A gate with constant triggers can empty the cells much sooner.

  2. 2

    Assuming every brand records free

    Do not assume every brand records free because a Tapo listing says so. The two Ring cameras and the Blink Core kit need a plan for saved video.

  3. 3

    Reading only one resolution line

    Do not read only one resolution field when the same file disagrees. Septekon lists 2K and 1080p. GALAYOU lists 2K and 1296p. Leave both visible.

What to weigh up

Where the lens points

High

Where the lens points comes before resolution. Filming only your own property generally sits outside data protection law. If the camera sees a neighbour, the pavement, or a communal path, the Information Commissioner’s Office says you need a clear reason, a sign, secure storage, regular deletion, and a response if someone in the footage asks for a copy. Voices count as personal data too. Privacy zones on a listing, such as the two zones on the Blink Outdoor 4, help you collect less.

Power and clip storage

High

Power decides whether the camera can stay on, and storage decides whether you can still open a clip next year. Battery models in this set are sold for motion clips. Tapo’s TC82 listing says a battery camera is not designed for continuous recording. The mains models are the Tapo TC40 at 7 W, the Tapo C310 pair at 9 W, the Septekon S50 at 12 V, the EZVIZ C8c pair at 12 V DC, and the Ring Floodlight Cam Wired Plus, which is hardwired to an existing outdoor light.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Renters with no new circuit

If you cannot add a circuit and Wi-Fi reaches the bracket, a battery camera is the fit. The Blink Outdoor 4 runs on two AA lithium cells and includes Sync Module Core. Saved clips and person detection on that kit need a Blink plan.

Our recommendation

View offer

Replacing an outdoor light

Owners replacing a tired outdoor light look at the Ring Floodlight Cam Wired Plus, with 2,000 lumen motion lights on existing wiring. Stop if the cable is damaged or the job is a new circuit. Saved video needs a Ring plan.

A memory card, no monthly fee

If you will buy a memory card and skip a monthly fee, start with the Tapo listings rather than the two Ring cameras. The Tapo TC40 records to microSD up to 512 GB, card extra, and the listing says there is no monthly fee for the camera itself.

Our recommendation

View offer

Common questions about outdoor security cameras

Which outdoor security camera is the top pick?
The top pick is the Tapo TC40, a mains pan-and-tilt camera at about £34.99. It is listed at 1080p with colour night vision, IP65, and person tracking, and clips can go to a microSD card you buy separately. On amazon.co.uk the published line is 4.6 from 28,160 reviews, the highest in these twelve listings. It needs a socket. Products Compared did not lab-test it. The score here follows that star line.
How much does an outdoor security camera cost?
These twelve amazon.co.uk listings, captured on 15 October 2026, cost £11.89 to £69.99. Under £35: the Septekon S50, the Blink Outdoor 4, the Tapo TC40, and the Ring battery camera. From £35 to £60: the GALAYOU R6, the Tapo C400, C401 and TC82, the Blink bundle, and the EZVIZ pair. The C310 pair is £64.99 and the Ring floodlight is £69.99. A plan is extra. Ring’s £4.99 a month is £59.88 over a year, which is arithmetic, not a quoted annual bundle.
What should you check before you buy?
Check where the lens points, then power, then where clips live next year, then whether the resolution lines in the same file agree. An IP code should be printed, not assumed. A star average does not settle a listing that says both 2K and 1080p. Files with no Customer Reviews line stay unrated. Products Compared did not lab-test these cameras, and a busy-path battery claim is not a runtime you can bank on.
What does IP65 or IP66 mean on these cameras?
IP65 means dust-tight and protected against water jets. IP66 is the heavier jet. Neither rating means the camera can sit under water, so do not read either code as waterproof. IP65 is on the Blink Outdoor 4 title and on several Tapo, GALAYOU, and EZVIZ lines. IP66 is on the Tapo C310 and the Septekon S50. Neither Ring file in this set states an IP code, so those weather cells stay empty.
Which cameras save clips without a monthly plan?
The two Ring listings need a plan to save video. Ring’s UK plans page shows £4.99, £7.99, and £15.99 a month, and people alerts sit on that plan. Blink Outdoor 4 saves clips on a Blink plan, and person detection is paid. Tapo listings here say person alerts and a microSD card, up to 512 GB and sold separately, do not need a plan. Tapo Care starts at £2.99 a month or £29.49 a year. GALAYOU takes a TF card up to 128 GB, not included.
Should you choose battery, solar, or wired?
Use a battery camera for a fence with Wi-Fi and no socket, and expect motion clips rather than all-day recording. Use mains where a socket or an existing light is already there. The only panel in the box in this set is the GALAYOU R6. A wider set of panel kits is compared under solar security cameras. A 180-day or two-year battery line assumes light use, and a busy path can empty the cells much sooner.
Can an outdoor security camera film the pavement?
Keep the view on your own property where you can. If the lens sees a neighbour, the pavement, or a communal path, the Information Commissioner’s Office expects a clear reason, a sign, secure storage, regular deletion, and a reply if someone asks for a copy of the footage. Voices count. Privacy zones collect less. They are not a waiver. A neighbour who has already objected is a data-protection conversation, not a reason to raise the mount.
When should you call an electrician?
In England, replacing a fitting on an existing outdoor light is often non-notifiable under Part P if you are competent. A new circuit is notifiable. Wales treats more outdoor electrical work as notifiable, and Scotland and Northern Ireland do not use England’s Part P text. Call an electrician for a new circuit, a damaged cable, or if you are unsure which rule applies. Scan a Ring floodlight’s QR code before you screw it up.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Tapo TC40: mains power, pan and tilt, a microSD option, and the highest published star line in this set, 4.6 from 28,160 reviews. The best value is the Septekon S50 at about £11.89, with IP66 and mixed 2K and 1080p lines in the same file. Battery models here are for motion clips, and Ring or Blink Core kits need a plan if you want a saved history. We compared amazon.co.uk listings and did not lab-test these cameras.

Best overall
Tapo TC40

Tapo TC40

Highest published star line in this set, with pan and tilt and microSD storage, if you have a socket.

View offer
Best value
Septekon S50

Septekon S50

Lowest shelf price in this set, at about £11.89, if you can accept the mixed resolution lines.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
amazon.co.uk listingsPublic UK sourcesNo lab tests

Products Compared publishes British-English buying guides based on amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. We do not run a lab and we do not invent test scores.

Updated: 16.10.2026
8 sources checked

Guides to outdoor security cameras

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources used for this comparison, last checked on 15 October 2026. Shelf prices are the twelve amazon.co.uk listings captured that day.

  1. ICO, Home CCTV systems (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  2. GOV.UK, domestic CCTV (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  3. IET, Part P frequently asked questions (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  4. GOV.WALES, building regulations: electrics (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  5. Ring UK plans (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  6. Blink UK plans (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  7. Tapo Care UK store (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  8. About Amazon UK, Blink camera and doorbell buying guide (retrieved 15.10.2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. We compared amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. We did not lab-test these cameras.