Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Smart door lock comparison

The best smart door locks, compared.

Top pick: Nuki Smart Lock Ultra, euro cylinder included – Highest score in this set, 90, from 4.5 out of 5 and 663 reviews at £309. This is the top pick on those figures, not a laboratory test and not an insurance approval. Best value: TEKXDD fingerprint handle – Best value at £39.99 with 4.2 from 1,011 reviews. La Macaza is £39.90 with 22 reviews, so the cheaper sticker does not take the badge. Updated 16.10.2026.

A smart door lock on a UK door does one of four jobs. It can be a keypad on a timber nightlatch, a handle that replaces a uPVC or composite lift-to-lock set, a motor that turns the euro cylinder you already have, or a fingerprint lever for a thinner internal door. You judge a listing by the door it fits and by the backup when the battery dies. Allianz says most insurers still want a traditional BS 3621 lock alongside a smart lock, so ask before you remove a cylinder the policy names. The [smart door lock buying guide](/hub/electronic-surveillance/smart-door-lock/sub/smart-door-lock-buying-guide) separates the formats if you still need to choose one. The chrome bullets say the 60 mm nightlatch is not included.

A smart door lock on a UK door does one of four jobs.

38 products checked · 64 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

11 of 11: Best smart door locks compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 11
Best overall
Nuki Smart Lock Ultra, euro cylinder included
Nuki Smart Lock Pro, retrofit, Wi-Fi
Best value
TEKXDD fingerprint handle, matte black
DHEISHA fingerprint handle, black
La Macaza fingerprint handle, black
Yale Keyless Connected, chrome, no module
Yale Keyless Connected, black, 60 mm nightlatch
Ruveno lift-to-lock handle, black
Yale Conexis L2, chrome, with Wi-Fi bridge
ME JO handle with 6068 mortise
Splenssy fingerprint handle, 6068 body
9.2/10
8.8/10
8.6/10
8.6/10
8.5/10
8.4/10
8.4/10
8.4/10
7.2/10
–/10
–/10
∼ £309
∼ £229
∼ £40
∼ £41
∼ £40
∼ £70
∼ £68
∼ £200
∼ £189
∼ £80
∼ £84
4.5(663)
4.3(1,190)
4.2(1,011)
4.2(95)
4.2(22)
4.1(1,099)
4.1(1,099)
4.1(201)
3.5(129)
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best smart door locks in detail

Nuki Smart Lock Ultra, euro cylinder included

Rank 1

Nuki Smart Lock Ultra, euro cylinder included

∼£309

Our view

The Nuki Smart Lock Ultra replaces the euro cylinder: the box holds the lock, a universal cylinder, a mounting plate, a charging cable, and a black cover, at £309.00. The listing is 4.5 from 663 reviews, the highest star rating in this set, which is why it is the top pick. One owner fitted a new-build cylinder, and first fits are described at about 20–30 minutes, while other reviews run to several hours against a listing claim of under 15 minutes without drilling. Built-in Wi-Fi and Matter are included, with Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings named. A rechargeable pack has a claimed two-hour charge, though one review saw the battery fall from 50% to 28% in a week and another charging lead failed. Extra keys cost more because the cylinder is new. The bullets talk about high physical security and do not name BS 3621, TS 007, or Sold Secure, so you ask the insurer before you remove the cylinder the policy describes.

Pros

  • Universal euro cylinder, Wi-Fi, and Matter in the box
  • Highest rating in the set: 4.5 from 663 reviews
  • Rechargeable pack with a magnetic charging cable
  • Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings named

Cons

  • £309.00, the highest price in the set
  • A fast early battery drop and a failed charging lead in reviews
  • New keys, so spares are a further cost
  • No BS 3621, TS 007, or Sold Secure number on the listing

Best for: A euro-profile door where a new cylinder and new keys are acceptable to you and to your insurer

Less suitable: Anyone who must keep the current cylinder, or a lift-to-lock door that needs a replacement handle rather than a new cylinder

Specifications

Model
Nuki Smart Lock Ultra, euro cylinder included
Brand
Nuki
Price
∼£309
Customer rating
4.5/5(663)
Lock format
New euro cylinder
Door fit
Euro, cylinder supplied
Remote included
Yes
Power
Rechargeable
Emergency power
Charge cable
Unlock methods
App, button, voice
Connectivity
BT, Matter, Wi-Fi

Common questions

Does it replace the cylinder?

Yes. The included list has the Ultra, a universal euro cylinder, a mounting plate, a charging cable, and a black cover.

Does the listing name Alexa?

Yes. The controller line includes Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, SmartThings, iOS, and Android.

Is a British Standard printed on the listing?

No. The bullets say high physical security. They do not name BS 3621, TS 007, or Sold Secure.

Nuki Smart Lock Pro, retrofit, Wi-Fi

Rank 2

Nuki Smart Lock Pro, retrofit, Wi-Fi

∼£229

Our view

The Nuki Smart Lock Pro turns the euro cylinder you already own, and the key stays inserted on the inside. Built-in Wi-Fi is on the listing, so no separate bridge is listed, and the raw amazon.co.uk price is £229.00. The listing is 4.3 from 1,190 reviews, the largest review count among the euro locks here. English reviews call the install easy, describe it as faster than an older Nuki, and mention nearly a year without carrying keys. The cylinder has to work with a key from both sides; if it does not, the outside key fails while the inside key is in. One report says the battery would not charge after six months. The included line is the lock only, and many reviews are not in English, so the points above are the ones that state a clear fact.

Pros

  • Keeps the euro cylinder you already have
  • Built-in Wi-Fi, with no bridge listed
  • 4.3 from 1,190 reviews
  • Rechargeable pack, and English reviews cite an easy install

Cons

  • The inside key has to stay in, so the cylinder needs an emergency function
  • The box is the lock only
  • One report of a battery that would not charge after six months
  • No British Standard named on the listing

Best for: A euro door whose cylinder already opens from both sides with the key left in

Less suitable: A cylinder that only works from one side, a timber nightlatch, or anyone who wants a new cylinder in the box

Specifications

Model
Nuki Smart Lock Pro, retrofit, Wi-Fi
Brand
Nuki
Price
∼£229
Customer rating
4.3/5(1,190)
Lock format
Euro retrofit
Door fit
Euro, key stays inside
Remote included
Yes
Power
Rechargeable
Emergency power
Charge cable
Unlock methods
App, button, remote
Connectivity
BT, Matter, Wi-Fi

Common questions

Do I keep my current cylinder?

Yes. The listing describes a retrofit on the existing euro cylinder, and the included line is the lock only.

Does the key stay in the door?

An English review says the cylinder must work with a key from both sides, and that the key remains inserted on the inside.

Is a bridge in the box?

The bullets say built-in Wi-Fi, so no separate bridge is listed.

TEKXDD fingerprint handle, matte black

Rank 3

TEKXDD fingerprint handle, matte black

∼£40

Our view

The matte black TEKXDD is a fingerprint handle for doors stated as 35–55 mm, at £39.99. It is 4.2 from 1,011 reviews, the widest review base among the handles near £40, which is why it is the best value in this set. Reviewers describe an easy bedroom install, a fast fingerprint, and adjustable handle spacing. Four AAA batteries are required and are not included, with a claimed life of 6–9 months. A review says the entry log only works while the phone is connected by Bluetooth, and another expected an NFC card that was not in the box. The included line is two handles and instructions. The listing calls 35–55 mm most UK doors and says no drilling. It suits a bedroom or office door in that band, and it is a weak choice as the only lock on a final exit.

Pros

  • 4.2 from 1,011 reviews at £39.99
  • Fingerprint, password, app, key, and NFC claimed
  • Reviewers cite an easy bedroom fit and adjustable spacing
  • A temporary remote password is claimed

Cons

  • Four AAA batteries are not included
  • The entry log needed Bluetooth in a review
  • An NFC card was missing or would not enrol for some buyers
  • No British Standard is named on the listing

Best for: A bedroom or office door of 35–55 mm, where price and a large review count matter

Less suitable: A multipoint uPVC final exit, or anyone who needs the entry log to work away from the door

Specifications

Model
TEKXDD fingerprint handle, matte black
Brand
TEKXDD
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.2/5(1,011)
Lock format
Fingerprint lever
Door fit
35–55 mm
Power
4 AAA, not incl.
Unlock methods
Print, code, key, NFC
Connectivity
Tuya; Bluetooth log

Common questions

Are batteries included?

No. The bullets say four AAA batteries are required and are not included, with a claimed life of 6–9 months.

Which door thickness is stated?

35–55 mm. The listing calls that most UK doors and says no drilling.

Does the entry log work away from the door?

A review says the log only works while the phone is connected by Bluetooth. Another says an NFC card was expected and not in the box.

DHEISHA fingerprint handle, black

Rank 4

DHEISHA fingerprint handle, black

∼£41

Our view

The black DHEISHA is a Bluetooth fingerprint handle for wooden doors stated as 30–55 mm, at £40.88. Two emergency keys, the lock, an IC card, and screws are included, and the listing is 4.2 from 95 reviews. Reviewers mention fits under 10 minutes, use on children’s rooms, and the Tuya app for a code, a card, and a fingerprint. It is listed as Bluetooth, so the phone needs to be near the door. One lock was returned because it did not fit, another latch stuck locked after under two months, and a third arrived with a spindle that would not turn the latch. Four AAA batteries are required. The page also names fire doors and security doors; that wording is a listing claim, and a fire door needs permission before you change the ironmongery.

Pros

  • Bluetooth fingerprint handle with two emergency keys included
  • 4.2 from 95 reviews
  • Reviewers report fits under 10 minutes
  • IC card and mounting screws in the box

Cons

  • Listed as Bluetooth, so it is not a remote Wi-Fi lock
  • A latch stuck locked after under two months
  • One spindle would not turn the latch on arrival
  • One lock was returned because the door would not take it

Best for: A wooden internal door of 30–55 mm, including a child’s room, if you check the spindle on day one

Less suitable: Remote access from outside the house, or a fire door you are not allowed to alter

Specifications

Model
DHEISHA fingerprint handle, black
Brand
DHEISHA
Price
∼£41
Customer rating
4.2/5(95)
Lock format
Fingerprint lever
Door fit
Wood, 30–55 mm
Remote included
No
Power
4 AAA required
Unlock methods
Print, app, card, key
Connectivity
Bluetooth

Common questions

Does it include a backup key?

Yes. The included line lists two emergency keys, the lock, an IC card, and mounting screws.

Which doors does it claim?

Wooden doors between 30 and 55 mm, plus fire doors and security doors in the listing note. Four AAA batteries are required.

What went wrong in reviews?

One lock was returned because it did not fit. Another latch stuck locked after under two months. A third arrived with a spindle that would not turn the latch.

La Macaza fingerprint handle, black

Rank 5

La Macaza fingerprint handle, black

∼£40

Our view

The black La Macaza is a fingerprint lever for doors the listing puts at 30–55 mm, priced at £39.90. Backup keys, an IC card, a USB cable, and fixings are in the box, and the bullets claim up to 50 fingerprints with no drilling. The listing is 4.2 from 22 reviews, a small sample beside the TEKXDD’s 1,011. The specification line says Wi-Fi, while one review says the Tuya app works over Bluetooth at close range. One owner says the internal mechanism shattered during assembly, and another found an existing lock hard to replace. A review mentions four AAA batteries, which are not in the included line. Use it on a light internal door in that thickness band, and keep a separate final-exit lock if the policy names a British Standard.

Pros

  • £39.90 with fingerprint, code, card, and backup keys
  • 30–55 mm claimed, with no drilling claimed
  • USB cable included
  • A short review praises a fast fingerprint

Cons

  • Only 22 reviews
  • Wi-Fi on the specification line, Bluetooth in a review
  • One mechanism shattered during assembly
  • Batteries are mentioned in a review and missing from the included line

Best for: A wooden internal door around 30–55 mm, where a low price matters more than a large review sample

Less suitable: A uPVC front door, anyone who needs confirmed Wi-Fi away from the door, or a final exit the insurer already names

Specifications

Model
La Macaza fingerprint handle, black
Brand
La Macaza
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.2/5(22)
Lock format
Fingerprint lever
Door fit
30–55 mm
Power
4 AAA in review
Emergency power
USB cable
Unlock methods
App, print, code, key
Connectivity
Wi-Fi listed; BT review

Common questions

How thick a door does it claim?

The bullets say wooden, fire, and security doors from 30 to 55 mm, with no wiring and no drilling.

Is it Wi-Fi?

The specification line says Wi-Fi. One review says the Tuya app works over Bluetooth at close range, not Wi-Fi.

Did anyone report a fitting failure?

Yes. One review says the internal mechanism shattered during assembly. Another says replacing an existing lock was difficult.

Yale Keyless Connected, chrome, no module

Rank 6

Yale Keyless Connected, chrome, no module

∼£70

Our view

The chrome Yale Keyless Connected is a keypad for a timber door that already has a 60 mm backset nightlatch, and the latch is not in the box. The amazon.co.uk listing is 4.1 from 1,099 reviews at £70.32. One reviewer finished a self-install in about half an hour, and another was still happy after a year of visitor access in a multi-storey house. The smartphone app needs a Yale Access Module sold separately, so remote control is a second purchase. Instructions have been poor enough to cause a failed fit, and the photos can suggest the nightlatch is included. Keypads are reported dead after about three years, and a 2026 review says the printed master code no longer works. Four AA batteries are included, with a 9 V connection if they fail. The review text is the same dump as the black listing.

Pros

  • Keypad for a timber door with a 60 mm backset nightlatch
  • Up to 20 PINs, plus card, tag, and fob
  • Four AA batteries included, with a 9 V connection
  • 4.1 from 1,099 reviews, including a half-hour self-install

Cons

  • Nightlatch is not in the box
  • The app needs a Yale Access Module sold separately
  • Instructions blamed for a failed fit
  • Keypads reported dead after about three years

Best for: A timber door that already has a 60 mm nightlatch, if you can add the Access Module later

Less suitable: A uPVC lift-to-lock door, or anyone who needs the latch and the app module in the same box

Specifications

Model
Yale Keyless Connected, chrome, no module
Brand
Yale
Price
∼£70
Customer rating
4.1/5(1,099)
Lock format
Nightlatch keypad
Door fit
Timber, 60 mm backset
Remote included
No
Power
4 AA included
Emergency power
9 V terminal
Unlock methods
PIN, card, tag, fob
Connectivity
Z-Wave; module extra

Common questions

Is the nightlatch in the box?

No. The listing says it suits most timber doors with a 60 mm backset nightlatch, and that the nightlatch is not included.

Does the app work without anything else?

No. The bullets say a smartphone app needs a Yale Access Module, sold separately. The style line says No Module.

What if the batteries die?

Four AA batteries are included, and the listing describes a 9 V connection if they fail.

Yale Keyless Connected, black, 60 mm nightlatch

Rank 7

Yale Keyless Connected, black, 60 mm nightlatch

∼£68

Our view

The black Yale Keyless Connected names a 60 mm nightlatch and a standard security black cylinder in the title, at £68.00. The included line lists the lock, a key tag, a key card, four AA batteries, and a quick guide, so this is the listing to open when you need the latch in the box. It shows 4.1 from 1,099 reviews, and the saved listing repeats the chrome ASIN’s review text rather than a second sample. Shared praise covers a short install, a year of use, and visitor access. Shared complaints cover thin instructions, keypad failure after about three years, and a printed master code that one 2026 review says no longer works. The app still needs a Yale Access Module and the Yale Home app. Emergency power is not stated on this ASIN.

Pros

  • Title includes a 60 mm nightlatch and a black cylinder
  • Key tag, key card, and four AA batteries in the box
  • £68.00, just under the chrome listing
  • Same 4.1 from 1,099 review line as the chrome keypad

Cons

  • The app still needs a separate Access Module
  • Review text is shared with the chrome ASIN, so it is not a second sample
  • Emergency power is not stated
  • Shared reports of keypad failure after about three years

Best for: A timber door with a 60 mm backset, when you want the nightlatch supplied with the keypad

Less suitable: Anyone treating the 1,099 reviews as independent of the chrome listing, or a multipoint uPVC door

Specifications

Model
Yale Keyless Connected, black, 60 mm nightlatch
Brand
Yale
Price
∼£68
Customer rating
4.1/5(1,099)
Lock format
Nightlatch keypad
Door fit
60 mm latch in title
Remote included
No
Power
4 AA included
Unlock methods
PIN, card, tag, fob
Connectivity
BT/Wi-Fi; module extra

Common questions

Does this listing include the nightlatch?

The title says a 60 mm nightlatch and a standard security black cylinder. The included line lists the lock, a key tag, a key card, four AA batteries, and a quick guide.

Is the phone app ready to use?

The bullets still say the smartphone app needs a Yale Access Module and the Yale Home app.

Are the reviews separate from the chrome listing?

The saved listing repeats the same review text as the chrome ASIN. The listing line still reads 4.1 from 1,099.

Ruveno lift-to-lock handle, black

Rank 8

Ruveno lift-to-lock handle, black

∼£200

Our view

The black Ruveno is a lift-to-lock handle supplied with a 3585 mortise, stated as 85 mm between centres and a 35 mm backset, at £199.99. The listing is 4.1 from 201 reviews. Owners who already had matching multipoint holes report fits of about 40 minutes, a fast fingerprint, and a front that coped with rain at first. You drill a hole for the cable between the two halves, and the bullets recommend a professional installation. Alexa needs a separate Wi-Fi gateway. One owner says the central spline wore out after a year and four months and would not recommend the lock for an external door. Card enrolment is called unreliable. Compare the mortise with the door before you order, because a mismatch means a return, and no British Standard is named on the listing.

Pros

  • 3585 mortise with 85 mm centres and a 35 mm backset stated
  • Fingerprint, code, fob, app, and key
  • 4.1 from 201 reviews
  • Some installs used existing multipoint holes in about 40 minutes

Cons

  • A professional fit is recommended, and a cable hole is required
  • One central spline wore out after a year and four months
  • Card enrolment is called unreliable
  • Alexa needs a separate gateway

Best for: A lift-up multipoint door whose existing case matches a 3585 mortise

Less suitable: A nightlatch or a euro-only retrofit, and anyone hoping for a tool-free fit on an external door

Specifications

Model
Ruveno lift-to-lock handle, black
Brand
Ruveno
Price
∼£200
Customer rating
4.1/5(201)
Lock format
Lift-to-lock handle
Door fit
3585 mortise, 85 mm
Remote included
No
Unlock methods
Print, code, fob, key
Connectivity
BT/Wi-Fi; gateway extra

Common questions

Which mortise is in the box?

A 3585 mortise. The listing gives 85 mm between centres and a 35 mm backset, and says to compare that before you buy.

Is fitting described as tool-free?

No. The bullets recommend a professional installation. A review says you drill a hole for the cable between the two halves.

What failed in reviews?

One owner says the central spline wore out after a year and four months, and would not recommend it for an external door. Card enrolment is also called unreliable.

Yale Conexis L2, chrome, with Wi-Fi bridge

Rank 9

Yale Conexis L2, chrome, with Wi-Fi bridge

∼£189

Our view

The chrome Yale Conexis L2 replaces the handle on a PVC or composite lift-to-lock door of 44–70 mm, and you lock it by lifting the handle. This ASIN includes the Wi-Fi Connect bridge, a key tag, a key card, and a fixing pack, at £188.98. The listing is 3.5 from 129 reviews, the lowest star rating among the products here that have a review line. Some owners report a fit of 20–30 minutes and remote unlock while the bridge stays connected. Others say the bridge drops off, the green light goes out, and auto-unlock on approach is late or intermittent. Instructions and a YouTube video are called misleading, and handle alignment comes up repeatedly. Wooden doors are discussed on the page and are not confirmed in the bullets. The Amazon listing does not name BS 3621, and emergency power is not stated in the captured fields.

Pros

  • Lift-to-lock handle for PVC and composite doors of 44–70 mm
  • Wi-Fi Connect bridge included at £188.98
  • Alexa and Google Assistant named on the title
  • Some owners report a fit of 20–30 minutes

Cons

  • 3.5 from 129 reviews, the lowest scored listing with a review line
  • Bridge drop-outs and late auto-unlock in reviews
  • Wooden doors are not confirmed in the bullets
  • No BS 3621 number, and emergency power is not stated

Best for: A PVC or composite door you already lock by lifting the handle, when you want the bridge in the same box

Less suitable: A timber nightlatch, a door that needs an outside keyhole, or anyone who wants a steadier remote link than these reviews describe

Specifications

Model
Yale Conexis L2, chrome, with Wi-Fi bridge
Brand
Yale
Price
∼£189
Customer rating
3.5/5(129)
Lock format
Lift-to-lock handle
Door fit
PVC/composite, 44–70 mm
Remote included
Yes
Unlock methods
App, tag, card
Connectivity
Bluetooth and Wi-Fi

Common questions

Which doors does the listing name?

Most PVC and composite lift-to-lock doors, 44–70 mm thick. Wooden doors are a question on the page and are not confirmed in the bullets.

Is remote access included?

Yes on this ASIN. The included line lists the Wi-Fi Connect bridge with the lock, a key tag, a key card, and a fixing pack.

What do reviews say about the bridge?

Some owners like remote unlock. Others say the bridge drops off, the green light goes out, and auto-unlock on approach is late or intermittent.

ME JO handle with 6068 mortise

Rank 10

ME JO handle with 6068 mortise

∼£80

Our view

The ME JO is a black fingerprint handle sold with a 6068 mortise for doors the bullets put at 35–60 mm, at £79.99. The saved listing has no customer-review line and no review text, so there is no amazon.co.uk star rating to weigh. The bullets name fingerprint, passcode, RFID, and a Tuya Wi-Fi app, plus two RFID tags and two keys. Battery life is not stated; the listing only says the inside unit uses replaceable batteries. The captured dimensions read 10 × 10 × 10 mm, which cannot describe a door handle, so treat that size line as unusable. Weather resistance is listed, and no British Standard is named. You are paying nearly twice the TEKXDD price for a mortise and a Wi-Fi claim, with no owner reports to check either one.

Pros

  • 6068 mortise named for doors of 35–60 mm
  • Fingerprint, passcode, RFID, and a Tuya Wi-Fi claim
  • Two RFID tags and two keys named in the bullets

Cons

  • No review line and no review text
  • Battery life is not stated
  • The dimension field of 10 × 10 × 10 mm does not describe a handle
  • No British Standard is named

Best for: A buyer who has already measured a 6068 case and accepts a listing with no reviews

Less suitable: Anyone who wants owner reports, or a door outside 35–60 mm

Specifications

Model
ME JO handle with 6068 mortise
Brand
ME JO
Price
∼£80
Lock format
Fingerprint lever
Door fit
35–60 mm, 6068
Power
Life not stated
Unlock methods
Print, code, RFID, app
Connectivity
Wi-Fi claimed

Common questions

Will it fit my door thickness?

The bullets say 35–60 mm and include a 6068 mortise. Check that case against the door before you order.

How long do the batteries last?

The listing does not say. It only says the lock uses replaceable batteries in the inside unit.

How many reviews are there?

The saved listing has no customer-review line and no review text, so the count is not available.

Splenssy fingerprint handle, 6068 body

Rank 11

Splenssy fingerprint handle, 6068 body

∼£84

Our view

The Splenssy fingerprint handle claims doors from 40 to 100 mm and a 6068 body, at £83.99. The saved listing has no customer-review line and no review text, so fit and reliability are untested in this capture. The bullets claim up to 100 fingerprints, a TY Wi-Fi app, and a USB-C port for an emergency charge. Batteries, written as 4*3A, are not included, with a claimed life of up to six months. The included-items line says no, while the weight is given as 3.16 kg, and the colour is stored as #511. It is the widest thickness claim in the fingerprint group. Buy it only when you have measured a 6068 body on a door inside 40–100 mm and you can return it if the case does not match.

Pros

  • 40–100 mm claimed, the widest thickness band in this set
  • A 6068 body and a USB-C emergency port are claimed
  • Up to 100 fingerprints claimed
  • A TY app and Wi-Fi are claimed on the listing

Cons

  • No customer-review line and no review text
  • Batteries are not included
  • The included-items line says no
  • Colour and specification fields are too thin to judge the finish

Best for: A door of 40–100 mm where you have measured a 6068 body and can return a mismatch

Less suitable: Anyone who wants owner reports before paying £83.99, or a door outside that thickness

Specifications

Model
Splenssy fingerprint handle, 6068 body
Brand
Splenssy
Price
∼£84
Lock format
Fingerprint lever
Door fit
40–100 mm, 6068
Power
4 cells, not incl.
Emergency power
USB-C claimed
Unlock methods
Print, PIN, card, key
Connectivity
Wi-Fi claimed

Common questions

How thick a door does it claim?

40–100 mm, with a 6068 lock body and two embedded locks for different door types, as the bullets put it.

Are batteries included?

No. The bullets say it runs on four batteries, written as 4*3A, which are not included, and that a USB-C port can charge it in an emergency.

Is there a review score?

No. The saved listing has no customer-review line and no review text.

How we compared

The editorial score is the amazon.co.uk star rating captured on 15 October 2026, multiplied by 20. A 4.5 becomes 90 and a 3.5 becomes 70. A listing with no review line scores 0. Review count, what is in the box, and the price do not change that number. They decide the top pick and the best value. Where the two Yale Keyless listings share one review dump, both keep 4.1 and a score of 82. No lock was laboratory tested, and none of the eleven listings prints BS 3621 or TS 007.

1

Amazon.co.uk star rating

100%

The editorial score is the captured amazon.co.uk star rating multiplied by 20. A 4.5 becomes 90, a 3.5 becomes 70, and a listing with no review line becomes 0. Review count, what is in the box, and the price do not change that number. They decide which listing is the top pick and which is the best value. Where two Yale Keyless listings share one review dump, both keep 4.1 and a score of 82, and the written assessment says the text is not a second sample.

Independent review
Last updated: 16.10.2026
8 sources checked

Smart door lock buying guide

Start with the door, not the app. A timber nightlatch, a lift-to-lock multipoint, and a euro cylinder need different products, and a fingerprint lever is a fourth job for a thinner internal door. Read what the box removes, whether remote access is in that ASIN, and what happens when the battery dies. None of the eleven listings prints BS 3621 or TS 007. Prices here are the amazon.co.uk figures captured on 15 October 2026, including £229.00 for the Nuki Pro in the saved listing.

What is a smart door lock?

A smart door lock is not one product. On a UK door it is one of four jobs, and the listing has to name the job your door already does. A nightlatch keypad sits on a timber door. In this set that is the Yale Keyless Connected, in chrome at £70.32 and in black at £68.00. Both show 4.1 from 1,099 reviews, and both saved listings repeat the same review text, so that is one sample shown twice. The chrome bullets say the 60 mm nightlatch is not included.

Best for

  • A timber nightlatch, a lift-to-lock multipoint, or a euro cylinder you can match to the listing
  • A bedroom or office door inside the thickness band the listing states

Not ideal for

  • A final exit where you would remove the only BS 3621, TS 007, or key-operated multipoint the policy names
  • A fire door or a rented door you are not allowed to alter

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Trusting the photo

    The chrome Yale Keyless photos can suggest a nightlatch the bullets say is not included. On the Conexis listing, wooden doors are discussed on the page and are not confirmed in the bullets. Read the included line for that ASIN.

  2. 2

    Fitting a Pro with no emergency function

    The Nuki Pro leaves the key on the inside. The cylinder has to open from both sides with that key left in. If it does not, the outside key fails. That is the emergency function, not something you can infer from a thumbturn.

  3. 3

    Reading an IoT Kitemark as BS 3621

    Yale’s UK site states a BSI IoT Kitemark for the Conexis L2. That is the manufacturer’s page, not an Amazon bullet, and it is not BS 3621. None of these eleven listings prints BS 3621 or TS 007.

What to weigh up

Door mechanism and what the box removes

High

The first decision is the mechanism, in this order: timber nightlatch, lift-to-lock multipoint, or a euro cylinder with an emergency function. A retrofit for one does not fit the other. Then read what the box removes. A clamp-on motor leaves the cylinder you already have. A Conexis-style handle replaces the handle. The Nuki Ultra includes a new cylinder and new keys, so spare keys are a further cost.

Power, lockout, and remote access

High

Power and remote access are the next checks, and they are per ASIN. The chrome Yale Keyless includes four AA batteries and describes a 9 V connection if they fail. The black Keyless includes four AA batteries, and emergency power is not stated. Both still need a Yale Access Module before the app works away from the door. This Conexis L2 includes the Wi-Fi bridge. Both Nuki listings include Wi-Fi, and both use a rechargeable pack with a magnetic charging cable.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Lift-to-lock uPVC doors

You already lock a PVC or composite door by lifting the handle, and you want the Wi-Fi bridge in the same box. This Conexis L2 listing is for doors of 44–70 mm at £188.98. It is 3.5 from 129 reviews, the lowest scored listing here with a review line, so read the bridge complaints before you prefer it to the Ruveno.

Keep the current cylinder

The Nuki Pro turns the euro cylinder you already have, and the key stays on the inside. That cylinder has to open from both sides. Built-in Wi-Fi is on the listing at £229. Choose the Ultra instead if a new cylinder and new keys are acceptable to you and to your insurer.

Bedroom and office doors

The fingerprint handles near £40 are the internal-door group. The TEKXDD is the best value at £39.99 with 4.2 from 1,011 reviews, for a door stated as 35–55 mm. It is a weak choice as the only lock on a final exit.

Common questions about smart door locks

Which smart door lock is the top pick in this comparison?
The top pick in this set is the Nuki Smart Lock Ultra. The amazon.co.uk listing captured on 15 October 2026 is 4.5 out of 5 from 663 reviews, which is an editorial score of 90, the highest of the eleven. The box includes a euro cylinder, Wi-Fi, and Matter, at £309. That score is the star rating multiplied by 20. It is not a laboratory test, and the listing does not name BS 3621, TS 007, or Sold Secure. Ask your insurer before you remove the cylinder the policy describes.
Which smart door lock is the best value?
The best value is the TEKXDD fingerprint handle at £39.99. It is 4.2 from 1,011 reviews, a score of 84, which other 4.2 listings in this set also reach. The badge follows that price together with the review count. La Macaza is £39.90 with 22 reviews, so the cheaper sticker does not take it. Four AAA batteries are not included. The listing states 35–55 mm and suits a bedroom or office door. It is a weak choice as the only lock on a final exit.
How much does a smart door lock cost in the UK?
In these amazon.co.uk files, fingerprint levers sit around £40–£84, and a busy best-seller cluster of similar handles sits around £33–£46. The Yale Keyless Connected listings are £68.00 and £70.32. The Conexis L2 is £188.98 and the Ruveno handle is £199.99. The Nuki Pro saved listing is £229.00, and the Nuki Ultra is £309.00. Which? puts a smart lock around £200–£300, against about £90–£170 for a standard front-door lock. Prices change, so check the live listing.
Will a smart door lock satisfy a UK home insurance policy?
None of these eleven listings prints BS 3621 or TS 007. BS 3621 is the mortice standard insurers still name, and the mark is on the faceplate. Allianz says most insurers still want a traditional BS 3621 lock alongside a smart lock. Multipoint doors are often pointed at a key-operated multipoint plus a TS 007 three-star or SS312 cylinder. A BSI IoT Kitemark, where Yale states one for the Conexis L2, is not BS 3621. Ask the insurer before you remove a cylinder the policy names.
What happens when the batteries in a smart door lock die?
Backup depends on the listing. The chrome Yale Keyless includes four AA cells and describes a 9 V connection if they fail. The black Keyless includes four AA cells, and emergency power is not stated on that ASIN. Nuki Pro and Ultra use a rechargeable pack and a magnetic charging cable. TEKXDD and Splenssy do not include batteries. A nightlatch on its own is not enough for a final exit. If a flat pack would lock you out, keep the backup the listing actually names.
Can I fit a smart door lock myself?
Some owners report short installs: about half an hour on a Yale keypad, 20–30 minutes on a Conexis, and about 20–30 minutes on a Nuki Ultra fit, against a listing claim of under 15 minutes. The Ruveno bullets recommend a professional, and you drill a cable hole. Stop if the key will not turn with the handle lifted. Call a locksmith if the door sticks, if you cannot measure the cylinder, if it is a fire door or rented, or if you would remove the only lock the policy names.
How does a fingerprint handle differ from a front-door smart lock?
The fingerprint levers in this set, from £40 to £84, are aimed at bedroom and office doors. Thickness claims run from about 30–55 mm to 40–100 mm, depending on the ASIN. They are a different job from a nightlatch keypad, a lift-to-lock handle, or a euro-cylinder motor. Several cheap handles say Wi-Fi while reviews describe Bluetooth beside the door. Use one on a light internal door, and keep a separate final-exit lock if the policy names a British Standard. See fingerprint door openers for that format on its own.
Do smart door locks have to meet UK product-security rules?
From 29 April 2024, internet-connected products fall under the Product Security and Telecommunications Infrastructure regime. GOV.UK describes three duties: no universal default password, a way to report security flaws, and a published period of security updates. That is not BS 3621, and it is not an insurance approval. A keypad that is only Bluetooth beside the door is a different claim from a Wi-Fi bridge in the box. Check the listing for what is included before you rely on an app away from home.

Our verdict

This comparison scores eleven amazon.co.uk listings by star rating times 20. No lock was laboratory tested. The top pick is the Nuki Smart Lock Ultra, the highest score at 90, from 4.5 out of 5 and 663 reviews at £309, with a new cylinder in the box. The best value is the TEKXDD fingerprint handle at £39.99, where the score of 84 is shared with other 4.2 listings and the badge follows the price together with 1,011 reviews. Match the door first, and ask your insurer before you remove a cylinder the policy names.

Best overall
Nuki Smart Lock Ultra, euro cylinder included

Nuki Smart Lock Ultra, euro cylinder included

Highest score in this set, 90, from 4.5 out of 5 and 663 reviews at £309. This is the top pick on those figures, not a laboratory test and not an insurance approval.

View offer
Best value
TEKXDD fingerprint handle

TEKXDD fingerprint handle

Best value at £39.99 with 4.2 from 1,011 reviews. La Macaza is £39.90 with 22 reviews, so the cheaper sticker does not take the badge.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
amazon.co.uk listingsPublic UK sourcesBuying guides

Products Compared publishes British-English buying guides based on amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. We do not run a lab and we do not invent test scores.

Updated: 16.10.2026
8 sources checked

Guides to smart door locks

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources for the standards, insurance wording, and product-security rules, last checked on 15.10.2026. Prices and star ratings are the amazon.co.uk figures captured that day.

  1. GOV.UK: Regulations for consumer connectable product security (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  2. Product Security and Telecommunications Infrastructure (Security Requirements) Regulations 2023 (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  3. Allianz UK: Stay insured with the right house locks (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  4. MoneySuperMarket: What locks do I need for home insurance? (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  5. Secured by Design: Locks and associated hardware (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  6. Yale Home: Compatible with Conexis (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  7. Nuki Help: What is the emergency function? (retrieved 15.10.2026)
  8. Which?: Do I need a smart door lock? (retrieved 15.10.2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. That commission does not change the scores. We did not laboratory-test these locks. Each score is the amazon.co.uk star rating multiplied by 20.