Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Women's S1P safety shoes 2026

The best women's S1P safety shoes, compared.

Top pick: Unisex steel toe trainers Best value: Unisex puncture-proof trainers with swivel buckle – About £29.99, with a steel toe, a puncture claim and a swivel buckle, rated 4.4 from 139 reviews. No S1P code is printed. Updated 16 October 2026.

Women’s S1P safety shoes are low-cut safety trainers with a 200 joule toecap and a penetration-resistant midsole, for dry indoor work such as warehouses, light manufacturing and some kitchens. In the UK the class sits under EN ISO 20345. Many pairs are still marked to the 2011 edition. A women’s last is a narrower heel relative to the forefoot. “ and women” in a title is often a men’s shape. The [women’s S1P safety shoes buying guide](/hub/burglar-protection/women-s-s1p-safety-shoes/sub/women-s-s1p-safety-shoes-buying-guide) sets the questions to ask before you use this ranking. The usual UK job is dry indoor work: a warehouse, light manufacturing, or some kitchens. A 200 joule toecap and 15 kN compression are the toecap figures used for that standard. UK retailers summarise penetration resistance as 1,100 newtons.

Women’s S1P safety shoes are low-cut safety trainers with a 200 joule toecap and a penetration-resistant midsole, for dry indoor work such as warehouses, light manufacturing and some kitchens.

Unisex steel toe trainers

Best overall

Unisex steel toe trainers
7.9/10∼ £25

36 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

10 of 10: Best women's S1P safety shoes compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 10
Best overall
Unisex steel toe trainers
Bawalon steel toe trainers
Steel toe trainers for women
Women's steel toe puncture-proof trainers
Best value
Unisex puncture-proof trainers with swivel buckle
Baofular K8 steel toe trainers
Hitopteu K8 steel toe trainers
Black Hammer Betsy women's S1P SRC trainers
SUADEX steel toe trainers
SPIEZ lightweight puncture-proof trainers for women
7.9/10
7.7/10
7.8/10
8.4/10
8.6/10
7.5/10
7.4/10
8.8/10
7.0/10
7.6/10
∼ £25
∼ £33
∼ £37
∼ £40
∼ £30
∼ £40
∼ £40
∼ £37
∼ £30
∼ £34
4.5(1,053)
4.4(4,623)
4.4(445)
4.4(233)
4.4(139)
4.2(7,735)
4.2(3,448)
4.2(84)
4.1(551)
3.9(806)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best women's S1P safety shoes in detail

Unisex steel toe trainers

Rank 1

Unisex steel toe trainers

∼£25

Our view

This unisex trainer is the lowest-priced option at £25.49 and has the highest Amazon rating here, 4.5 out of 5 from 1,053 reviews. Its title states a steel toe and non-slip performance, but provides no named brand, S1P code or puncture-resistance claim. A delivery driver reports that the sole wore down after about six months and then slipped when wet, which is a material caution rather than a formal slip test. Waterproofing is not stated, and another reviewer limits use to spring and summer. The low price is attractive for basic steel-toe footwear, but it does not meet the evidence threshold for the category’s S1P top pick.

Pros

  • Lowest listed price at £25.49
  • 4.5 out of 5 from 1,053 reviews
  • Steel toe and non-slip stated in the title

Cons

  • No S1P code, puncture claim or named brand
  • Review reports sole wear and reduced wet grip after about six months

Best for: Budget indoor use where basic stated toe protection is sufficient and the delivered shoe can be inspected

Less suitable: S1P-required work, wet conditions or buyers needing a named model and documented puncture resistance

Specifications

Model
Unisex steel toe trainers
Brand
n/a
Price
∼£25
Customer rating
4.5/5(1,053)
Puncture claim
No
Toe protection
Steel toe
Slip claim
Non-slip
Cut for
Unisex

Common questions

Are they S1P?

The listing does not say S1P or puncture resistance. The title says a steel toe and non-slip.

Do they stay grippy?

A delivery driver says the sole wore down in about six months and then slipped when wet. That is one review, not a slip test.

Are they waterproof?

Not stated. A reviewer limits them to spring and summer because they are not waterproof.

Bawalon steel toe trainers

Rank 2

Bawalon steel toe trainers

∼£33

Our view

The Bawalon trainer costs £32.95 and states a lightweight steel toe for men and women. Its 4.4 out of 5 rating from 4,623 reviews is one of the stronger marketplace signals in the set. The listing is nevertheless filed in the men’s department, and it does not state puncture resistance, S1P or a slip class. Durability feedback is mixed: one reviewer reports lace eyelets failing within two weeks, while another describes the sole wearing away after about 18 months in warehouse use. This is a reasonably priced steel-toe trainer to investigate, not a substantiated women’s S1P choice.

Pros

  • £32.95 with 4.4 out of 5 from 4,623 reviews
  • Lightweight steel-toe title claim
  • Lace fastening

Cons

  • No puncture resistance, S1P or slip class stated
  • Men’s department with reports of eyelet and sole wear

Best for: Warehouse buyers seeking a lower-priced lace-up steel-toe trainer and comfortable checking a unisex fit

Less suitable: Women who require a stated women’s last, S1P classification or documented puncture protection

Specifications

Model
Bawalon steel toe trainers
Brand
Bawalon
Price
∼£33
Customer rating
4.4/5(4,623)
Puncture claim
No
Toe protection
Steel toe
Cut for
Men's department
Fastening
Laces

Common questions

Is puncture resistance stated?

No. The title says a steel toe, lightweight and breathable.

What breaks?

One reviewer says the lace eyelets fell out within two weeks. Another pair's sole wore away after about 18 months in a warehouse.

Which department is the listing in?

Men's, although the title also says women.

Steel toe trainers for women

Rank 3

Steel toe trainers for women

∼£37

Our view

These women’s trainers are listed at £36.99 with a steel toe and a non-slip title claim. They carry 4.4 out of 5 from 445 reviews, and reviewers repeatedly praise comfort and the wide toe box. More than one review also says they are not long lasting, so the positive fit feedback comes with a durability concern. Puncture resistance and an S1P code are both absent, while no brand or model is named in the available details. They are better viewed as a steel-toe option to investigate than as evidence-backed S1P footwear.

Pros

  • Women’s department with a wide toe box praised in reviews
  • Steel toe stated in the title
  • 4.4 out of 5 from 445 reviews

Cons

  • No puncture claim or S1P code stated
  • Repeated durability criticism and no named brand or model

Best for: Women prioritising a roomy toe box in a trainer-style steel-toe shoe where puncture protection is not required

Less suitable: S1P-required work, or buyers who prioritise documented puncture resistance and repeated durability confidence

Specifications

Model
Steel toe trainers for women
Brand
n/a
Price
∼£37
Customer rating
4.4/5(445)
Puncture claim
No
Toe protection
Steel toe
Slip claim
Non-slip
Cut for
Women's

Common questions

Do they claim puncture resistance?

No. The title says steel toe, non-slip and breathable. S1P is not printed.

Which brand are they?

The details do not name a manufacturer or a model number.

What do reviews repeat?

Comfort and a wide toe box are praised. More than one review says they are not long lasting.

Women's steel toe puncture-proof trainers

Rank 4

Women's steel toe puncture-proof trainers

∼£40

Our view

This women’s trainer combines title claims for a steel toe, puncture resistance and non-slip performance at £39.99. Its 4.4 out of 5 rating from 233 reviews is encouraging, and the listing sits in the women’s department. However, neither an S1P code nor a standard year is printed in the available details, so the title wording is not a substitute for a marked safety classification. One reviewer also found the sole wide enough to press two pedals, which highlights a possible fit issue rather than establishing the shape for every wearer. Consider it only if the label supplied with the shoe confirms the protection your workplace requires.

Pros

  • Title states steel toe and puncture resistance
  • Women’s department
  • 4.4 out of 5 from 233 reviews

Cons

  • No S1P code or standard year in the available details
  • Brand and model are not stated

Best for: Women comparing trainer-style footwear with stated toe and puncture protection, provided they can verify the physical safety label

Less suitable: Anyone who needs documented S1P classification before purchase or a clearly identified brand and model

Specifications

Model
Women's steel toe puncture-proof trainers
Brand
n/a
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.4/5(233)
Puncture claim
Yes
Toe protection
Steel toe
Slip claim
Non-slip
Cut for
Women's

Common questions

Is an S1P code printed?

No. The title says puncture proof and steel toe. It does not print S1P or a standard year.

Can they be driven in?

One reviewer says the sole is wide enough to press two pedals. That is a review, not a fit specification.

Who are they cut for?

The department is women's. Brand and model are not stated.

Unisex puncture-proof trainers with swivel buckle

Rank 5

Unisex puncture-proof trainers with swivel buckle

∼£30

Our view

At £29.99, this unisex trainer pairs title claims for a steel toe and puncture resistance with a swivel-buckle fastening. It holds 4.4 out of 5 from 139 reviews and is the best-value pick among the listings that state puncture resistance. The buckle may be convenient because a reviewer says its button pulls out to release it. The important limitation is that no S1P code or slip classification is printed in the available details, and the unisex listing does not claim a women’s last. Choose it for price and fastening only after checking that the delivered shoe’s label and fit meet your workplace assessment.

Pros

  • £29.99 with stated steel-toe and puncture-resistant features
  • Swivel-buckle fastening with pull-out release described in a review
  • 4.4 out of 5 from 139 reviews

Cons

  • No S1P code or slip classification stated
  • Unisex listing rather than a stated women’s last

Best for: Budget-conscious buyers who want a quick-release fastening and can verify the delivered safety label and unisex fit

Less suitable: Anyone requiring a certified women’s-last S1P shoe or a stated slip-resistance class

Specifications

Model
Unisex puncture-proof trainers with swivel buckle
Brand
n/a
Price
∼£30
Customer rating
4.4/5(139)
Puncture claim
Yes
Toe protection
Steel toe
Cut for
Unisex
Fastening
Swivel buckle

Common questions

Are these a women's last?

The department is unisex and the title says men and women. A women's last is not stated.

How do they fasten?

The title says a swivel-buckle shoelace. A review says the button pulls out to release it.

Is S1P printed?

No. Puncture proof and steel toe are in the title only. There is no standard year.

Baofular K8 steel toe trainers

Rank 6

Baofular K8 steel toe trainers

∼£40

Our view

The Baofular K8 is listed at £39.95 as a steel-toe trainer for men and women, and its department is women’s. It has 4.2 out of 5 from 7,735 reviews, the largest review count in this set. That broad rating base is offset by repeated complaints about soles splitting after a few months, sometimes followed by water ingress. Sizing also needs care because one reviewer received inconsistent EU sizes when ordering women’s UK sizes, while S1P and puncture resistance are not stated. It offers plentiful fit and durability feedback, but the missing class and repeated sole issue keep it behind the explicitly marked options.

Pros

  • Largest review count in the comparison at 7,735
  • Women’s department with steel toe stated
  • Identifiable K8 model

Cons

  • Repeated reports of soles splitting after a few months
  • No S1P or puncture-resistance statement and inconsistent sizing reported

Best for: Buyers wanting a women’s-department steel-toe trainer with a large volume of review feedback

Less suitable: S1P-required work, wet conditions or anyone unwilling to navigate reported size inconsistencies

Specifications

Model
Baofular K8 steel toe trainers
Brand
Baofular
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.2/5(7,735)
Puncture claim
No
Toe protection
Steel toe
Cut for
Women's department

Common questions

Do they state S1P?

No. The title is a steel-toe trainer for men and women.

Do UK sizes match the EU number?

One reviewer ordered a women's 6 and received EU 40, then a labelled 5 that arrived as EU 38.

What fails in reviews?

Soles splitting after a few months is a repeated complaint, including water getting in afterwards.

Hitopteu K8 steel toe trainers

Rank 7

Hitopteu K8 steel toe trainers

∼£40

Our view

The Hitopteu K8 is a £39.95 steel-toe lace-up trainer marketed to men and women, with 4.2 out of 5 from 3,448 reviews. Its substantial review count provides more buyer feedback than most entries here. The listing nevertheless sits in the men’s department, and neither S1P nor puncture resistance is stated. Waterproofing is also not specified, with one reviewer update saying the shoe is not waterproof. It can be considered as a unisex-labelled steel-toe trainer, but it is a weak fit for a women’s S1P search unless the supplied label adds the missing classification. Baofular also lists a K8 at £39.95. Brand, ASIN and review count differ, so the two stay separate.

Pros

  • Steel toe and identifiable K8 model
  • 4.2 out of 5 from 3,448 reviews
  • Conventional lace fastening

Cons

  • Men’s department and no stated women’s last
  • No S1P, puncture-resistance or waterproof specification stated

Best for: Buyers comfortable with a men’s-department trainer who need stated toe protection and will verify fit and labelling

Less suitable: Women seeking a confirmed S1P class, a women’s last or stated waterproof protection

Specifications

Model
Hitopteu K8 steel toe trainers
Brand
Hitopteu
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.2/5(3,448)
Puncture claim
No
Toe protection
Steel toe
Cut for
Men's department
Fastening
Laces

Common questions

Are they women's S1P shoes?

The title says men and women and a steel toe. S1P and puncture resistance are not stated. The department is men's.

Are they waterproof?

Not stated as a specification. A reviewer update says they are not waterproof.

Is this the same shoe as the Baofular K8?

Both listings say model K8 and £39.95. Brand, ASIN and review count differ, so they are kept as separate products.

Black Hammer Betsy women's S1P SRC trainers

Rank 8

Black Hammer Betsy women's S1P SRC trainers

∼£37

Our view

The Black Hammer Betsy is the only trainer here whose title explicitly states S1P SRC, making it the clearest match for a women’s S1P shortlist. It is listed at £36.90 and has 4.2 out of 5 from 84 reviews. The women’s listing and model 9006 are useful identifiers, while the water-resistant wording should not be read as waterproofing or an S2, S3 or WR classification. The source material does not settle whether the toe cap is steel or composite, because reviewers disagree and the details do not specify it. The maker’s page says a composite toe to EN ISO 20345:2011 S1P SRC. Reviewers disagree, so the tongue label wins. This is our top pick on the strength of the stated S1P SRC class, but you should still check the tongue label and fit before relying on it as workplace PPE.

Pros

  • Only listing in this comparison whose title states S1P SRC
  • Women’s department and identifiable model 9006
  • £36.90 with 4.2 out of 5 from 84 reviews

Cons

  • Toe-cap material is not settled by the available details
  • Water-resistant title claim does not mean waterproof or S3

Best for: Women who need a trainer whose listing explicitly states S1P SRC and who will verify the shoe label against their workplace requirements

Less suitable: Wet outdoor work requiring S3 or WR, or buyers who need confirmed toe-cap material before ordering

Specifications

Model
Black Hammer Betsy women's S1P SRC trainers
Brand
Black Hammer
Price
∼£37
Customer rating
4.2/5(84)
Safety class
S1P SRC
Puncture claim
Yes
Slip claim
SRC
Water claim
Water-resistant
Cut for
Women's

Common questions

Does the listing state S1P?

Yes. The title says Black Hammer Betsy women's S1P SRC water-resistant trainers. The details do not add a standard year. The maker’s page says EN ISO 20345:2011 S1P SRC.

Is the toe cap steel or composite?

The listing details do not say, and reviews disagree. The maker’s page says a composite toe. Treat the material as n/a until you read the tongue label.

Does water-resistant mean waterproof?

No. The title says water-resistant. It does not say S2, S3 or WR.

SUADEX steel toe trainers

Rank 9

SUADEX steel toe trainers

∼£30

Our view

The SUADEX JSUK-1620-677 is a £29.99 lace-up trainer for men and women, with 4.1 out of 5 from 551 reviews. Its title states a steel toe and non-slip performance, but the available details show neither an S1P code nor a puncture claim. The men’s department also makes it less clearly tailored to a women’s fit. More seriously, one reviewer disputes the toe-cap material and another disputes the non-slip claim, while no SRC or SR code is printed. The named model helps identification, but the unresolved protection claims mean the physical label and declaration should be checked before workplace use.

Pros

  • £29.99 and identifiable model JSUK-1620-677
  • Lace fastening
  • 4.1 out of 5 from 551 reviews

Cons

  • No S1P, puncture-resistance, SRC or SR code stated
  • Reviewers dispute both toe-cap material and grip claim

Best for: Buyers who want an identifiable low-cost lace-up model and can verify its physical markings before use

Less suitable: Anyone needing confirmed S1P protection, a women’s-last listing or an uncontested slip-resistance claim

Specifications

Model
SUADEX steel toe trainers
Brand
SUADEX
Price
∼£30
Customer rating
4.1/5(551)
Puncture claim
No
Toe protection
Steel toe
Slip claim
Non-slip
Cut for
Men's department
Fastening
Laces

Common questions

Is the toe cap confirmed as steel?

The title says steel. One reviewer says the cap is plastic despite a certificate. The details do not settle it.

Do they state S1P?

No. There is no class code and no puncture claim in the listing.

Are they non-slip?

The title says non-slip. One reviewer says they are definitely not. No SRC or SR code is printed.

SPIEZ lightweight puncture-proof trainers for women

Rank 10

SPIEZ lightweight puncture-proof trainers for women

∼£34

Our view

The SPIEZ trainer is a women’s lightweight option whose title states puncture resistance, priced at £34.19. It has the largest review sample among the three puncture-claim listings, but its 3.9 out of 5 rating is also the lowest in this comparison. No S1P code, toe-protection specification or slip classification appears in the available details. A reviewer describes it as a dry-warehouse shoe rather than footwear for wet outdoor work, and waterproofing is not stated. It may suit low-cost indoor consideration, but the missing class and toe details need checking on the physical label before workplace use.

Pros

  • Women’s department and lightweight positioning
  • Title states puncture resistance
  • £34.19 with 806 reviews

Cons

  • Lowest rating in this set at 3.9 out of 5
  • No S1P code, toe specification or slip class stated

Best for: Dry indoor warehouse use where a women’s lightweight trainer is preferred and the supplied label can be checked

Less suitable: Wet outdoor work or roles that require a clearly documented S1P and toe-protection specification

Specifications

Model
SPIEZ lightweight puncture-proof trainers for women
Brand
SPIEZ
Price
∼£34
Customer rating
3.9/5(806)
Puncture claim
Yes
Cut for
Women's

Common questions

Are they marked S1P?

The listing does not print S1P. The title says puncture proof.

Are they waterproof?

Not stated as a specification. A reviewer says they are for dry warehouse use, not outdoor wet work.

What is the amazon.co.uk rating?

3.9 out of 5 from 806 reviews on the listing used for this comparison.

How we compared

Scores are 0–100 from the amazon.co.uk listing, not from stars alone, and there is no lab test. A printed S1P line counts for more than a steel-toe title. A thin review sample cannot outrank a larger one at a similar average. The value badge is separate from the highest score. Listings were read on 15 October 2026.

1

Printed class and protection claims

35%

S1P, P, PL or PS on the listing outranks a puncture-proof title, which outranks a steel toe with no class line. An Amazon title is not a workplace assessment.

2

Who the shoe is cut for

20%

A women’s department listing is a closer match than a unisex title or a men’s-department trainer that also says women.

3

Amazon rating and review count

20%

Stars only count with the number of reviews beside them. A thin sample cannot outrank a larger one at a similar average.

4

Slip, water and fastening

15%

SRC or a stated slip mark, a water claim, and how the shoe fastens. Non-slip in a title is not a laboratory floor.

5

Price against that evidence

10%

Shelf price in GBP set against the class line and the review sample. This is separate from the highest score.

Independent review
Last updated: 16 October 2026
8 sources checked

Choosing women's S1P safety shoes

Match the printed class to the site assessment before you compare star ratings. A women’s S1P trainer, a puncture claim with no code, and a steel-toe title are three different pieces of evidence. Prices below are the 10 amazon.co.uk shelf prices held on 15 October 2026, not a market index. We did not run a lab test, and we do not claim a safest shoe.

What are women's S1P safety shoes?

Women’s S1P safety shoes are low-cut safety trainers with a 200 joule toecap and a penetration-resistant midsole. The usual UK job is dry indoor work: a warehouse, light manufacturing, or some kitchens. The class sits under EN ISO 20345. A 200 joule toecap and 15 kN compression are the toecap figures used for that standard. UK retailers summarise penetration resistance as 1,100 newtons. Many pairs on sale are still marked to the 2011 edition.

Best for

  • Dry warehouse or light factory work where the assessment specifies S1P
  • Replacing heavy issued boots without dropping a required S1P class

Not ideal for

  • Wet floors that need S3, S3S or a 2022 WR class
  • A site that requires an ankle boot, electrical insulation or chemical protection

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Treating a steel-toe title as S1P

    Six listings here state a steel toe and do not print S1P. A large review count does not add the midsole. If the assessment says S1P, an unlabelled trainer is a different product, even when the title says puncture proof.

  2. 2

    Trusting non-slip or water-resistant with no code

    SRC is the 2011 both-floors mark. SR is the 2022 extra mark. Non-slip in a title is not that test, and HSE notes that a laboratory floor is not your warehouse floor. Water-resistant on the Betsy title is not S2, S3 or WR.

  3. 3

    Mixing UK and EU sizes, or sizing up for the cap

    Measure both feet in work socks and use that brand’s chart. uvex says the standard does not fix one UK/EU conversion. Do not size up a full size only because of the toe cap. The foot then slides out from under it. One Baofular review received EU 40 for a women’s 6, then EU 38 for a labelled 5.

What to weigh up

Printed class

High

The printed class is the first filter. S1P is S1 plus penetration resistance: a closed heel, an antistatic sole, an energy-absorbing heel and a fuel-oil resistant outsole, then the midsole. Under EN ISO 20345 the toecap is 200 joules and 15 kN compression. UK retailers summarise penetration resistance as 1,100 newtons. BS EN ISO 20345:2022 splits P for a metal insert, PL and PS for non-metal inserts, and it adds the codes S1PL and S1PS.

Last, slip and water

High

Last, slip and water decide whether a marked shoe is wearable on your site. A women’s last is a narrower heel relative to the forefoot. “Men and women” in a title is often a men’s shape, and several listings here sit in the men’s department even when the title mentions women. Measure both feet in work socks and use that brand’s chart. uvex says the standard does not fix one UK/EU conversion. Do not size up a full size only because of the toe cap, or the foot slides out from under it.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

The site specifies S1P

You work a dry warehouse or light factory and the assessment names S1P. Black Hammer Betsy is the only trainer here whose title states S1P SRC, at about £36.90, rated 4.2 from 84 reviews. Read the tongue label before you rely on it.

A women's puncture title

You want a women’s trainer that states a steel toe and puncture resistance, and you can check the label because no S1P code is printed. This listing is about £39.99, rated 4.4 from 233 reviews.

A lower price and a quick release

You want the lowest price among the puncture-claim listings and a swivel buckle. This unisex trainer is about £29.99, rated 4.4 from 139 reviews. It does not print S1P or a women’s last.

Common questions about women's S1P safety shoes

Which women's S1P safety shoe is the top pick in this comparison?
The top pick is the Black Hammer Betsy women's S1P SRC trainer, model 9006, at about £36.90, rated 4.2 from 84 amazon.co.uk reviews. It is the only listing in this set whose title states S1P SRC. The maker’s page says a composite toe to EN ISO 20345:2011 S1P SRC, and reviewers disagree, so read the tongue label before you treat it as workplace PPE. Water-resistant in the title is not an S3 or WR mark. A higher star rating on another trainer does not replace that class line.
How much do women's S1P safety shoes cost on amazon.co.uk?
Shelf prices on these 10 amazon.co.uk listings, checked on 15 October 2026, run from about £25.49 to about £39.99. The Betsy header used here is about £36.90. A same-day search showed £43.95, so neither figure is a promise of the cheapest price. Entry in this set is about £25 to £35, where several trainers with no S1P line sit. Mid is about £36 to £40 for the named and puncture-claim pairs. Review count does not prove the class.
What should you check before you buy women's S1P safety shoes?
Check the site rule first. If the employer must supply PPE, a private pair still has to match the class in the assessment. HSE treats footwear as last-resort PPE and as free when the assessment requires it, including for limb (b) workers since 6 April 2022. Then read the printed class, the standard year, and the UKCA or CE mark. “Puncture proof” or “steel toe” without S1P, P, PL or PS is weaker evidence. Slip letters and a women’s last come before the price.
Does S1P mean the shoe is waterproof?
No. S1P has no water-resistant upper. It is for dry indoor work such as a warehouse, light manufacturing or some kitchens. The Betsy title says water-resistant, and that wording is not S2, S3 or WR. Wet floors point to S3, S3S or a 2022 class with a WR mark. A low trainer also fails a site that wants an ankle boot. Antistatic in the S1 base is not electrical insulation.
Is a steel-toe trainer the same as women's S1P safety shoes?
No. A steel toe is toecap protection. S1P adds a closed heel, antistatic properties, an energy-absorbing heel, a fuel-oil resistant outsole and penetration resistance. Six listings here are steel-toe trainers with no S1P line, including pairs with thousands of reviews. Stars and a large review count do not print the class. If your assessment says S1P, an unlabelled steel-toe trainer is a different product. “Puncture proof” without S1P, P, PL or PS is still weaker evidence than the code.
Can you drive to work in these trainers?
A very wide sole can catch two pedals. One review of the women’s steel-toe puncture-proof trainer says the sole was wide enough to press two pedals. That is one review, not a fit specification, and S1P does not describe driving. If you drive for work, try the pedals before the shift. Ask the site lead if the assessment is missing, or if the job needs insulation, a boot or chemical protection. A foot condition needs a fitter or a clinician.
When should you look at women's S1 safety shoes instead?
Look at women’s S1 safety shoes when the assessment does not require penetration resistance. S1 is the base class without the P midsole. Stay on this page when the site asks for S1P, or for a P, PL or PS midsole, or when a puncture claim has to be checked against the label. Wet work points to S3, S3S or a 2022 WR class, which is a different requirement from S1. Missing marking on issued PPE is a procurement fault, not a reason to guess the class.

Our verdict

For a dry site that specifies S1P, the top pick is the Black Hammer Betsy, model 9006, at about £36.90, rated 4.2 from 84 reviews, because it is the only title here that states S1P SRC. Read the tongue label: the maker’s page says a composite toe to EN ISO 20345:2011 S1P SRC, and reviewers disagree. For a lower price among puncture-claim trainers, the best value is the unisex swivel-buckle pair at about £29.99, rated 4.4 from 139 reviews. It states a steel toe and puncture resistance, and it does not print S1P. A 4.4 or 4.5 on a steel-toe trainer with thousands of reviews does not replace that class line. Water-resistant on the Betsy title is not S3 or WR.

Best overall
Unisex steel toe trainers

Unisex steel toe trainers

View offer
Best value
Unisex puncture-proof trainers with swivel buckle

Unisex puncture-proof trainers with swivel buckle

About £29.99, with a steel toe, a puncture claim and a swivel buckle, rated 4.4 from 139 reviews. No S1P code is printed.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Women's safety footwearamazon.co.uk listingsUK PPE rules

Products Compared publishes British-English buying guides based on amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. We do not run a lab and we do not invent test scores.

Updated: 16 October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to women's S1P safety shoes

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings in this comparison. Last checked 15 October 2026.

  1. HSE: slip-resistant footwear (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  2. HSE: PPE product safety and supply (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  3. HSE: PPE regulations from 6 April 2022 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  4. ITS: safety footwear codes under EN ISO 20345:2022 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  5. Rock Fall: what a women's last means (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  6. uvex: Mondopoint safety footwear sizing (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  7. Black Hammer: Betsy 9006 safety trainers (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  8. legislation.gov.uk: SI 2022/8 PPE at Work amendment (retrieved 15 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the amazon.co.uk listings checked on 15 October 2026. We did not run a lab test.