Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Winter safety shoes compared

The best winter safety shoes, compared.

Top pick: Bawalon steel-cap work boots – Largest review sample, 4.3 from 471, with a steel cap and water-resistant wording at about £32.90. Best value: Lightweight steel-toe work boots – Lowest shelf price that still prints a steel toe, about £17.99, rated 4.0 from 208 reviews. Updated 16 October 2026.

A winter safety shoe is protective footwear for cold ground: a toe defence, a warm lining or a cold mark, and a sole that still grips when it is wet or muddy. This page sits under burglar protection, but you are buying footwear, not an alarm. An EN ISO 20345 class, a faux-fur lining, and the word waterproof are three different claims. Stars show satisfaction, not a certificate, so read the tongue label first. Skip it for site PPE and when the title must say winter. The [winter safety shoes buying guide](/hub/burglar-protection/winter-safety-shoes/sub/winter-safety-shoes-buying-guide) is the checklist of marks before you pay. If the door is the job, [answering the door without a smartphone](/hub/burglar-protection/blog/answering-the-door-without-a-smartphone) is the separate note.

A winter safety shoe is protective footwear for cold ground: a toe defence, a warm lining or a cold mark, and a sole that still grips when it is wet or muddy.

Bawalon steel-cap work boots

Best overall

Bawalon steel-cap work boots
8.1/10∼ £33

24 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +17,300 readers

7 of 7: Best winter safety shoes compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 7
Best overall
Bawalon steel-cap work boots
NACKINg fur-lined waterproof trainers
Fur-lined steel-toe trainers
KOIFISH fur-lined winter boots
NACKINg swivel-buckle winter boots
Best value
Lightweight steel-toe work boots
Women's winter steel-toe boots
8.1/10
7.5/10
6.2/10
5.7/10
6.9/10
5.6/10
5.8/10
∼ £33
∼ £40
∼ £43
∼ £24
∼ £43
∼ £18
∼ £46
4.3(471)
4.2(209)
4.2(109)
4.2(56)
4.1(100)
4.0(208)
3.8(5)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best winter safety shoes in detail

Bawalon steel-cap work boots

Rank 1

Bawalon steel-cap work boots

∼£33

Our view

Bawalon’s steel-cap boots cost £32.90 and carry 4.3 from 471 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest sample in this set. The title says lightweight, water resistant, and non-slip for men and women, and it does not say winter, fur, or a safety class. Stored reviews often call them warm, and older reviews mention fur, even though the title is silent. Several reviewers say their feet stayed dry, and one says rain held for a few weeks. Some describe a year of grounds work or months on a farm, while others say the covering or the insoles failed within a day to about three months. Date first available is 7 January 2026, yet the stored set still holds United Kingdom reviews from 2023 and 2024, so read them as a family of listings. The details ASIN is B0GFD7LT79, which does not match this URL.

Pros

  • 4.3 from 471 amazon.co.uk reviews, the most in this set, at £32.90
  • The title states a steel cap, water resistant, and non-slip
  • Reviews often describe warmth, and several say the feet stayed dry
  • Ranked 24 in Men's Work & Utility Footwear

Cons

  • No winter word and no safety class on the listing
  • Some reviews say the covering or the insoles failed within a day to about three months
  • Reviews in the stored set pre-date the 7 January 2026 details date
  • The details ASIN does not match the shop URL

Best for: You want the largest UK review sample and water-resistant wording, rather than a waterproof claim, at £32.90, and you will read the tongue label yourself.

Less suitable: A site that wants a printed S3 or CI mark, or a buyer who needs the word winter on the title.

Specifications

Model
Bawalon steel-cap work boots
Brand
Bawalon
Price
∼£33
Customer rating
4.3/5(471)
Winter in title
No
Steel toe in title
Yes
Water claim
Water resistant
Non-slip in title
Yes
Closure
Laces
Listed for
Men and women
Brand
Bawalon
Warmth in reviews
Often warm
Water in reviews
Mostly dry
Sole and wear
Months to a year

Common questions

Does the listing state a winter lining or a safety class?

No. The title says steel cap, lightweight, water resistant, and non-slip for men and women. It does not say winter, fur, or a safety class. Manufacturer is Bawalon.

Why do some reviews pre-date the details date?

Date first available is 7 Jan. 2026. The stored set still contains United Kingdom reviews from 2023 and 2024. The details ASIN is B0GFD7LT79, which does not match this URL.

What do the stored reviews say about durability and size?

Some describe a year of grounds work or months of farm work. Others say the covering or the insoles failed within a day to about three months. One says UK 6 is EU 39, not EU 40.

NACKINg fur-lined waterproof trainers

Rank 2

NACKINg fur-lined waterproof trainers

∼£40

Our view

NACKINg’s fur-lined trainers cost £39.88, and the title says winter, waterproof, non-slip, and a steel toe cap, with 4.2 from 209 amazon.co.uk reviews. No safety class and no joule rating are printed. Several of the 35 United Kingdom reviews in the stored set describe dry, warm feet. Others say the shoes are not waterproof, leaked within a month, or tore in about a month. One reviewer found the eyelets sharp enough to tear the laces and deburred them. A separate review says the toe is not real steel, which is that reviewer’s claim rather than a test. The details ASIN is B0DJLL9RK9, which does not match the shop URL.

Pros

  • The title states winter, fur, a steel toe, waterproof, and non-slip, at £39.88
  • 4.2 from 209 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Several of the 35 UK reviews in the stored set describe dry, warm feet
  • The manufacturer line is NACKINg

Cons

  • UK reviews include leaks and uppers that tore within about a month
  • One review says the eyelets were sharp enough to cut the laces
  • No safety class is printed, and one review disputes the steel toe
  • The details ASIN does not match the shop URL

Best for: A trainer-height winter title at £39.88 if you will return the pair when the upper tears or the eyelets cut the laces.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs the word waterproof to mean a WR test, or an upper the stored reviews say lasts past the first month.

Specifications

Model
NACKINg fur-lined waterproof trainers
Brand
NACKINg
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
4.2/5(209)
Winter in title
Yes
Steel toe in title
Yes
Water claim
Waterproof
Non-slip in title
Yes
Closure
Laces
Listed for
Men and women
Brand
NACKINg
Warmth in reviews
Often warm
Water in reviews
Reviews split
Sole and wear
Tears; sharp eyelets

Common questions

Does waterproof on the title match the stored UK reviews?

The title says waterproof. Several of the 35 United Kingdom reviews agree and describe dry feet. Others say they are not waterproof, leaked within a month, or tore in about a month. No safety class is printed.

What fastening detail is in the reviews?

The title does not name a closure. One review says the eyelets are sharp enough to tear the laces and had to be deburred.

Is a steel toe proved by a standard on the page?

No. The title says steel toe cap. The specification block does not state EN ISO 20345 or a joule rating. One review says it is not a real steel toe. That sentence is a review, not a test.

Fur-lined steel-toe trainers

Rank 3

Fur-lined steel-toe trainers

∼£43

Our view

This unbranded pair costs £42.99, and the title says waterproof, a steel toe cap, and a warm fur lining, with 4.2 from 109 amazon.co.uk reviews. The page does not state a brand, a midsole, or a safety class. Some United Kingdom reviews say the feet stayed dry in wet fields, rain, or snow, and many call them warm. Others report wet feet after wet grass or rain at work, including a third pair that soaked through, and one site user says they are not warm. One stored review says a nail went through the sole into the foot. Another says the steel toe cap keeps getting dislodged, one says the toe covering wore through after three days outside, and one says the sole is too smooth for a winter building site.

Pros

  • The title states a warm fur lining, waterproof, and a steel toe, at £42.99
  • 4.2 from 109 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Some UK reviews say the feet stayed dry in wet fields, rain, or snow
  • One review mentions a spare pair of laces

Cons

  • One review says a nail went through the sole, and the listing does not state a midsole
  • One review says the steel toe cap keeps getting dislodged
  • Water reviews are split, including a third pair that soaked through
  • No brand and no safety class are printed

Best for: A fur-lined steel-toe title at £42.99 only if you are not standing on nails and you will stop at the first sole or toe-cap fault.

Less suitable: Groundworks, a site that wants a midsole, or a smooth sole on a winter building site.

Specifications

Model
Fur-lined steel-toe trainers
Brand
Not stated
Price
∼£43
Customer rating
4.2/5(109)
Winter in title
Yes
Steel toe in title
Yes
Water claim
Waterproof
Non-slip in title
No
Closure
Laces
Listed for
Men and women
Brand
Not stated
Warmth in reviews
Often warm
Water in reviews
Reviews split
Sole and wear
Nail through sole

Common questions

Does the listing state a midsole?

No. The title says waterproof, steel toe cap, and warm fur lined. It does not state a midsole or a safety class. There is no brand line. One stored review says a nail went through the sole into the foot.

What do the UK reviews say about water?

Some say they stayed dry in wet fields, rain, or snow. Others report wet feet after wet grass or rain at work, including a third pair that soaked through. The title says waterproof.

What toe and tread faults are in the stored set?

One review says the steel toe cap keeps getting dislodged. One says the toe covering wore through after three days outside. One says the sole is too smooth for a winter building site.

KOIFISH fur-lined winter boots

Rank 4

KOIFISH fur-lined winter boots

∼£24

Our view

The KOIFISH title at £23.99 says winter safety boots, warm work boots, and fur lined, and amazon.co.uk lists 4.2 from 56 reviews. It does not say steel toe, waterproof, or a safety class, and there is no manufacturer line beyond the brand word in the title. Reviewers praise the fur for work and for dog walks. The fastening in those reviews is a twist dial, with spare laces in the box. One buyer says the dial does not fully tighten the ankle, and another is not confident the mechanism will last. One pair burst, and one review says the sole has no grip. Size notes run both ways, including a UK 9.5 who ordered a 10 and a UK 12 who found wiggle room, and the listing prints no size run.

Pros

  • £23.99 with winter and fur lined in the title
  • 4.2 from 56 amazon.co.uk reviews, with the fur praised for work and dog walks
  • Reviews describe a twist dial and spare laces in the box
  • Ranked 30 in Forestry Protective Footwear

Cons

  • The title does not say steel toe, waterproof, or a safety class
  • One review says the dial does not fully tighten the ankle, and another doubts it will last
  • One pair burst, and one review says there is no grip
  • No size run is printed on the listing

Best for: A fur-lined winter boot at £23.99 for work or dog walks when you are not treating the title as a steel toe.

Less suitable: A site that requires a toecap, or an ankle you need the dial to hold tight.

Specifications

Model
KOIFISH fur-lined winter boots
Brand
KOIFISH
Price
∼£24
Customer rating
4.2/5(56)
Winter in title
Yes
Steel toe in title
No
Water claim
Not stated
Non-slip in title
No
Closure
Twist dial
Listed for
Men and women
Brand
KOIFISH
Warmth in reviews
Fur praised
Water in reviews
Reviews split
Sole and wear
Burst; weak dial

Common questions

Does the title say steel toe or waterproof?

No. The title says KOIFISH winter safety boots for men and women, warm work boots, fur lined. It does not say steel toe, waterproof, or a safety class. There is no manufacturer line.

How do the stored reviews describe the fastening?

Reviews describe a twist dial, with spare laces in the box. One says the dial does not fully tighten the ankle. Another is not confident the mechanism will last.

What size comments are in the stored set?

There is no size run on the listing. One buyer at UK 9.5 ordered a 10. One UK 10 bought an 11. One UK 12 found wiggle room and might have taken 11.5.

NACKINg swivel-buckle winter boots

Rank 5

NACKINg swivel-buckle winter boots

∼£43

Our view

NACKINg’s swivel-buckle trainers cost £42.88, and the title says winter, waterproof, warm lining, non slip, and a steel toe cap for men and women. amazon.co.uk lists 4.1 from 100 reviews, while the stored United Kingdom sample is 11 texts. Those texts include warmth on a 12-hour shift, and one calls the pair comfy, warm, and waterproof. Another says they are comfortable but not waterproof, and a third says they leaked in under three months. One buyer says the lace system broke within days and the toe covering wore through to the steel cap after kneeling. Another says the dial slackens in use. No safety class is printed, and the details ASIN B0DJKSCGG2 does not match this URL.

Pros

  • The title names a swivel buckle, winter, a warm lining, and a steel toe, at £42.88
  • 4.1 from 100 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • UK reviews in the stored set include warmth on a 12-hour shift
  • The manufacturer line is NACKINg

Cons

  • One review says the lace system broke within days, and another says the dial slackens
  • The toe covering wore through to the steel cap after kneeling in one review
  • Waterproof is split across the 11 stored UK texts, including a leak in under three months
  • Eleven UK reviews sit under a listing line of 100

Best for: You want a buckle instead of tied laces at £42.88 and you can check the fastening in the first week.

Less suitable: Kneeling work, or anyone who needs the waterproof word to survive the leak reports in the stored sample.

Specifications

Model
NACKINg swivel-buckle winter boots
Brand
NACKINg
Price
∼£43
Customer rating
4.1/5(100)
Winter in title
Yes
Steel toe in title
Yes
Water claim
Waterproof
Non-slip in title
Yes
Closure
Swivel buckle
Listed for
Men and women
Brand
NACKINg
Warmth in reviews
Warm on shifts
Water in reviews
Reviews split
Sole and wear
Buckle and toe wear

Common questions

What closure does the title name?

Swivel buckle shoelaces. The title also says winter, waterproof, warm lining, non slip, and steel toe cap for men and women. No safety class is printed. Manufacturer is NACKINg.

What happened to the buckle in the UK reviews?

Among 11 United Kingdom reviews in the stored set, one says the lace system broke within days and the toe covering wore through to the steel cap after kneeling. Another says the dial slackens in use. The listing line is 100 reviews, so this is a small sample.

Do those UK reviews call them waterproof?

One says comfy, warm, and waterproof. One says comfortable but not waterproof. One says they leaked in under three months.

Lightweight steel-toe work boots

Rank 6

Lightweight steel-toe work boots

∼£18

Our view

At £17.99 this is the lowest shelf price in the set, and the title is a lightweight steel-toe boot for men and women, with 4.0 from 208 amazon.co.uk reviews. The title does not say winter, fur, fleece, or waterproof, and the specification does not answer insulation or snow. One stored review calls the boots fleece lined, while another says they got wet and cold. Several of the first 50 United Kingdom reviews say the sole loses grip or wears through, from a couple of weeks to about six months, on kitchen floors and on rough ground. Reviewers who like them mention the light feel and a spare pair of laces. No safety class is printed. The details block is ASIN B0DL55M3F1, which is not the shop URL.

Pros

  • £17.99, the lowest shelf price in this set, with a steel toe cap in the title
  • 4.0 from 208 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Reviewers mention a light feel and a spare pair of laces
  • Ranked 140 in Men's Work & Utility Footwear

Cons

  • The title does not say winter, fur, or waterproof, and no safety class is printed
  • Stored reviews split on warmth: one says fleece lined, another says wet and cold
  • Several UK reviews say the sole goes bald or holes within weeks to about six months
  • The details ASIN does not match the shop URL

Best for: A light steel-toe pair at £17.99 when you do not need the word winter on the title and you can live with the sole-wear comments.

Less suitable: Snow, a site that wants a printed class, or a sole you need to trust beyond the weeks-to-six-months wear in the stored reviews.

Specifications

Model
Lightweight steel-toe work boots
Brand
Not stated
Price
∼£18
Customer rating
4.0/5(208)
Winter in title
No
Steel toe in title
Yes
Water claim
Not stated
Non-slip in title
No
Closure
Laces
Listed for
Men and women
Brand
Not stated
Warmth in reviews
Fleece or cold
Water in reviews
Reviews split
Sole and wear
Wears within months

Common questions

Does the title say these are winter boots?

No. The title is lightweight safety boots for men and women with a steel toe cap. It does not say winter, fur, fleece, or waterproof. The listing also does not print a safety class.

Are insulation and snow answered in the specification?

No. The page asks whether the boots are insulated, whether traction is good, and whether they can be worn in snow. Those questions have no specification answer. One stored review says fleece lined. Another says they got wet and cold.

What do the stored reviews say about the sole?

Several of the first 50 United Kingdom reviews say the sole loses grip or wears through, from a couple of weeks to about six months, including kitchen and rough-ground use. Other reviews praise the light feel and a spare pair of laces.

Women's winter steel-toe boots

Rank 7

Women's winter steel-toe boots

∼£46

Our view

These women’s winter boots cost £45.99, the highest price in the set, and amazon.co.uk lists 3.8 from five reviews. The title says a steel toe cap and water resistant, with no brand and no safety class. All five reviews describe a thick fur lining and comfort in colder outdoor work. One says light rain and wet grass were fine and deep puddles were not. A buyer who usually takes UK 6 ordered 5.5 and says the length fitted, while the heel lacks substance and the insole is feeble. A UK 7 in a UK 7 says the length fitted with space over the foot. The tread is described as thick, with a creak, and five reviews is too small a sample to treat the stars as a settled record.

Pros

  • The title is women’s winter, steel toe, and water resistant, at £45.99
  • All five reviews describe a thick fur lining in colder outdoor work
  • One review says light rain and wet grass were fine
  • The tread is described as thick

Cons

  • 3.8 from only five amazon.co.uk reviews
  • One buyer says the heel lacks substance and the insole is feeble
  • The same water comment says deep puddles were not fine
  • No brand, no safety class, and no size run

Best for: A women’s winter title at £45.99 that you can try and send back if the heel feels weak.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs more than five reviews before they trust the stars, or work in deep puddles.

Specifications

Model
Women's winter steel-toe boots
Brand
Not stated
Price
∼£46
Customer rating
3.8/5(5)
Winter in title
Yes
Steel toe in title
Yes
Water claim
Water resistant
Non-slip in title
No
Closure
Laces
Listed for
Women
Brand
Not stated
Warmth in reviews
Thick fur
Water in reviews
Light rain only
Sole and wear
Thick tread; weak heel

Common questions

Who is this pair titled for, and what class is printed?

The title says women's winter steel toe cap work boots, water resistant. No brand and no safety class are printed. The details ASIN is B0HFVJLMBK, which does not match this URL.

What do all five reviews say about warmth and water?

They describe a thick fur lining and comfort in colder outdoor work. One says light rain and wet grass were fine and deep puddles were not. The listing asks how warm the fleece is and does not give a specification answer.

What fit comments are in those five reviews?

One usual UK 6 ordered 5.5 (39) and says the length fitted, but the heel lacks substance and the insole is feeble. One UK 7 in a UK 7 says the length fitted and there is space over the foot. There is no size run on the listing.

How we compared

Scores run from 0 to 100 on the amazon.co.uk listing. There is no wear test and no laboratory score. None of the seven listings prints EN ISO 20345, S3, CI, WR, or a joule rating. Stars are satisfaction, not a certificate. Shelf prices were taken on 15 October 2026. The best-value badge is the lowest shelf price that still prints a steel toe. It is separate from the highest score.

1

Amazon stars

40%

The amazon.co.uk rating divided by 5, then scaled to 40 points. A 4.3 and a 4.2 land close together. The review count is a separate line.

2

Review count

20%

400 or more reviews score 20. 150 to 399 score 15. 50 to 149 score 10. 6 to 49 score 4. Five or fewer score 0. Five reviews cannot outrank 471.

3

Title fit

24%

Six points for each claim the title actually prints: a winter or fur word, a steel toe or steel cap, waterproof or water resistant, and non-slip. A blank line scores nothing.

4

Stored UK review faults

16%

Up to 16 points, then deductions for repeated sole or upper failure, water wording that the reviews contradict, a failed dial, buckle, or sharp eyelet, a nail through the sole, or warmth the reviews contradict.

Independent review
Last updated: 16 October 2026
8 sources checked

Choosing winter safety shoes

Check the class on the tongue, then cold, water, and the sole, before you compare stars. A fur lining, the word waterproof, and EN ISO 20345 are three different claims. Prices below are the seven amazon.co.uk shelf prices held on 15 October 2026. We did not run a lab test, and we do not call any pair certified.

What is a winter safety shoe?

A winter safety shoe is protective footwear for cold ground. You want a toe defence, a warm lining or a cold mark, and a sole that still grips when the ground is wet or muddy. On this site the comparison sits under burglar protection. You are buying footwear, not an alarm. If the door is the job, [answering the door without a smartphone](/hub/burglar-protection/blog/answering-the-door-without-a-smartphone) is the separate note.

Best for

  • A yard, warehouse, or dog walk, where a warm boot with honest water wording is enough and site PPE is not
  • A steel toe at about £17.99 when you do not need the word winter on the title

Not ideal for

  • A site that wants a printed S3, S5, or CI mark
  • Deep puddles, or ground with nails, when no midsole is stated

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying on stars and the word winter

    The stars show satisfaction. None of these seven prints EN ISO 20345, S3, CI, WR, or a joule rating. A blank tongue is still blank after a 4.3 average.

  2. 2

    Merging waterproof with water resistant

    They are different words. WPA tests the upper. WR tests the whole shoe. Water resistant on the Bawalon and women’s titles is not a promise about deep puddles.

  3. 3

    Hoping the toecap will stretch

    Try both boots in work socks. A toecap does not stretch. FO is oil resistance, not grip. A bald sole, a dead dial, or a buckle that slackens is a reason to replace the pair.

What to weigh up

Safety class and cold

High

EN ISO 20345 is a toecap at 200 joules and 15 kN. EN ISO 20347 OB does not require a toecap. None of these seven prints a class or a joule rating, so a steel toe in the title is a claim, not a certificate. Fleece is not CI. SATRA’s basic CI test is about -17°C for 30 minutes, with the insole surface dropping no more than 10°C. Treat that as the test condition, not as a comfort temperature. No title here offers CI or a composite toe.

Water, midsole and slip

High

Waterproof in a title is not WR. WPA tests the upper. WR tests the whole shoe. S7, in the 2022 edition, is an S3-type boot plus WR. S5 is the wellington when water comes over the ankle. Water resistant is the wording on the Bawalon boot and the women’s pair. Stored reviews on the waterproof titles split between dry feet and leaks. S3 and S5 include a midsole. A steel toe does not. The unbranded pair at about £42.99 has a review of a nail through the sole, and the listing states no midsole.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Yard, warehouse, or dog walk

A warm boot with honest water wording is reasonable here, and it is not site PPE. Bawalon is about £32.90, rated 4.3 from 471 reviews, with a steel cap and water-resistant wording. The title does not say winter, and no class is printed.

Lowest steel-toe price

The lightweight steel-toe boot is about £17.99, rated 4.0 from 208 reviews. The title does not say winter, fur, or waterproof. Stored UK reviews include soles that wear through within weeks to about six months.

A women's winter title

The women's winter steel-toe boot is about £45.99, rated 3.8 from five reviews. All five mention a thick fur lining. Five reviews is a fit-and-return check, not a settled record, and no class is printed.

Common questions about winter safety shoes

Which winter safety shoe is the top pick in this comparison?
The top pick is the Bawalon steel-cap work boot, about £32.90, rated 4.3 from 471 amazon.co.uk reviews. It leads this set on that review sample, a steel cap in the title, and water-resistant wording rather than the word waterproof. Skip it for site PPE, when you need winter on the title, and because stored reviews pre-date 7 January 2026. No safety class is printed. We did not lab-test the pair.
Which winter safety shoe is the best value?
The best value is the lightweight steel-toe work boot at about £17.99, rated 4.0 from 208 amazon.co.uk reviews. It is the lowest shelf price in the set that still prints a steel toe. The title does not say winter, fur, or waterproof, and no safety class is printed. Stored UK reviews include soles that go bald or hole within weeks to about six months. Skip it when you need a printed class or a sole you have to trust past that.
Do any of these winter safety shoes print EN ISO 20345?
No. None of the seven amazon.co.uk listings states EN ISO 20345, S3, CI, WR, or a joule rating. EN ISO 20345 means a toecap at 200 joules and 15 kN. A fur lining with no stated standard can still be the wrong PPE. Stars show satisfaction, not a certificate. Read the tongue on the pair that arrives. If a site induction names a class, these titles do not supply that paperwork.
Is a fur lining the same as CI cold insulation?
No. Fleece or faux fur is a lining. CI is a cold-insulation mark. SATRA’s basic CI test is about -17°C for 30 minutes, with the insole surface dropping no more than 10°C. That is a test condition, not a comfort temperature. None of these seven titles offers CI, and none offers a composite toe. A review that calls a boot warm is not a CI mark on the tongue.
Does waterproof on the title mean the shoe stays dry?
No. Waterproof in a title is marketing until a mark is printed. WPA tests the upper. WR tests the whole shoe. In the 2022 edition, S7 means an S3-type boot plus WR. On these listings the waterproof word is split in stored UK reviews: some buyers stayed dry, and others report leaks within about a month or a few months. Water resistant, on the Bawalon boot and the women’s pair, is a narrower phrase. One women’s review says light rain was fine and deep puddles were not.
What if you need a women's shoe with a printed S1P class?
These seven winter titles do not print S1, S1P, S3, or CI. S1P is a puncture-resistant safety class, which is a different claim from faux fur or the word winter. Use the women's S1P safety shoes comparison when that class is what you are checking. Read the tongue on that page as well. A site can still refuse a private pair when the induction names another standard. This winter set is not a substitute for that paperwork.
Who pays for winter safety shoes at work in the UK?
Where PPE is still required, the PPE at Work Regulations 1992 say it must be suitable, and limb (b) workers are in scope from 6 April 2022. HSE says the employer pays, including for cold. Your own £18 pair can still be refused if the induction names a class these titles do not print. A private purchase sits under the Consumer Rights Act 2015: satisfactory quality, fitness for a stated purpose, and goods as described. HSE does not ban rigger boots. Some sites do, and the induction wins.
How should you size winter safety shoes, and when do you replace them?
Try both boots in the socks you wear for work. A toecap does not stretch, and none of these listings prints a size run. Replace the pair when the tread goes bald. Stored reviews also describe sharp eyelets, a swivel buckle that broke within days, and a twist dial that does not hold the ankle. See a podiatrist or occupational health for orthotics, diabetes, or an old injury.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Bawalon steel-cap boot at about £32.90, rated 4.3 from 471 reviews: the largest review sample in the set, a steel cap in the title, and water-resistant wording rather than waterproof. Skip it for site PPE, when the title must say winter, and because stored reviews pre-date 7 January 2026. The best value is the lightweight steel-toe boot at about £17.99, rated 4.0 from 208 reviews, the lowest shelf price that still prints a steel toe. Skip it when you need the word winter, a printed class, or a sole the stored reviews say wears smooth within months. The £23.99 fur title has no steel toe in the title, so it is not the value pick. None of the seven prints EN ISO 20345, S3, CI, WR, or a joule rating.

Best overall
Bawalon steel-cap work boots

Bawalon steel-cap work boots

Largest review sample, 4.3 from 471, with a steel cap and water-resistant wording at about £32.90.

View offer
Best value
Lightweight steel-toe work boots

Lightweight steel-toe work boots

Lowest shelf price that still prints a steel toe, about £17.99, rated 4.0 from 208 reviews.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Winter safety footwearamazon.co.uk listingsUK PPE rules

Products Compared publishes British-English buying guides based on amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. We do not run a lab and we do not invent test scores.

Updated: 16 October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to winter safety shoes

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings in this comparison. Last checked 15 October 2026.

  1. HSE: personal protective equipment at work (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  2. HSE: construction PPE frequently asked questions (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  3. HSE: choosing slip-resistant footwear (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  4. The Personal Protective Equipment at Work Regulations 1992 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  5. uvex: guide to EN ISO 20345:2022 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  6. uvex: waterproof and water-resistant footwear (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  7. UK Slip Resistance Group: 2022 coefficients (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  8. SATRA: cold insulation of footwear (retrieved 15 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the amazon.co.uk listings checked on 15 October 2026. We did not run a lab test.