A house with an outdoor siren
You want a siren on the outside wall and a phone alert, and the listing states no monitoring contract. The Yale IA-320 is a six-piece kit at about £199.04, rated 4.3 from 1,766 reviews.
The best wireless alarm systems, compared.
Top pick: X-Sense AS05, 5-piece – Highest score in this comparison, 9 out of 10, from 137 amazon.co.uk reviews. Best value: Yale HSA Essentials, 5-piece – Bells-only kit at about £81.88, 4.4 from 997 reviews, with no monitoring fee stated. Updated 16 October 2026.
A wireless alarm system is a burglar alarm whose sensors talk to a panel by radio. They sound a siren, send a phone alert, or auto-dial numbers you store. Ask the police says forces attend alarms, and that most domestic alarms are audible only. If an insurer needs police attendance, use an or installer under PD 6662:2017 and BS 8243:2021. Grades and backup are in the [wireless alarm system buying guide](/hub/burglar-protection/wireless-alarm-system/sub/wireless-alarm-system-buying-guide).
A wireless alarm system is a burglar alarm whose sensors talk to a panel by radio. They sound a siren, send a phone alert, or auto-dial numbers you store.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 10Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
What should the kit do while you are out?
The X-Sense AS05 costs £59.49 and is rated 4.5 from 137 reviews, the highest star line in this set. The five pieces are two door sensors, one motion sensor, a keypad and a base stated at 100 dB. Reviewers use it in a flat, garage, workshop or bungalow, and one buyer ran two kits for a house and its outbuildings. Sensors can be renamed, and phone arming is the feature people praise. There is no external siren, and reviewers say there is no battery backup, so one buyer used a power bank. It is quieter than some expected. One PIR failed and no replacement part was available, another kit dropped offline every few days, and a door sensor lost its connection. The supplied adhesive was not enough for one fit, and a second app login could not be shared.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A flat, garage or rental that wants phone alerts from an indoor base
Less suitable: A house that needs an outdoor siren or power-cut backup
Specifications
Common questions
Can you use the AS05 in a flat?
The listing says it suits bedrooms, apartments and rental properties. UK reviewers also describe garages and workshops.
Does it include a motion sensor?
Yes. The kit is two door sensors, one motion sensor, one keypad and one base station.
Is there a battery if the power goes off?
The spec says corded electric. Reviewers say there is no battery backup. One buyer used a power bank.
The Yale HSA Essentials kit costs £81.88 and is rated 4.4 from 997 reviews. It is a battery five-piece: a siren stated at 104 dB, a keypad, two PIRs and one door contact, with six AAA batteries in the box. One daily user said the batteries lasted about two years, and extra door sensors were easy to add inside the stated 30 metre range, up to 20 HSA accessories. The keypad flip-cover hinges failed within minutes for one buyer. Reviewers disagree about the volume, report false alarms, and say the instructions are wrong or hard without a video. After a battery change, some units will not relearn their devices. A reviewer claims the HSA range was discontinued in June 2022, which is a review comment, not a statement in the listing. The parts list does not name a hub or an app, so the Amazon App attribute is not established.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A bells-only house, cabin or garage that wants a keypad and no contract
Less suitable: Anyone who needs a phone alert when they are away from the sound of the siren
Specifications
Common questions
Is there a monthly fee?
The listing says there is no monitoring fee, no hidden cost and no contract. The title calls it self monitored.
Does the kit include a phone app?
The parts list names a siren, two PIRs, one door contact, a keypad and a fixing pack. It does not name a hub or an app. An Amazon attribute says App, which the parts list does not support.
How loud is the siren?
The listing states 104 dB. UK reviews disagree on whether that is loud enough.
The X-Sense AS08 costs £84.99 and is rated 4.4 from 154 reviews. The eight pieces are four door sensors, two motion sensors, a keypad with a panic button and a base station stated at 100 dB. One buyer finished the app setup in about 30 minutes. Several UK reviews say there is no subscription fee, although the listing bullets do not state that. People use it for a workshop, a garden office, a bungalow or as a second system, and Alexa links for some buyers and not for others. There is no outdoor siren in the box, and one buyer says none can be connected. Volume is too low for some rooms, the PIR has to sit on the wall at about 1.5 metres rather than the ceiling, sensors sometimes will not pair, and the keypad does not always arm on the way out. The base is corded, so unplugging it silences the kit.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A bungalow, workshop or second system that can rely on an indoor sounder
Less suitable: A street-facing house that needs a siren box on the outside wall
Specifications
Common questions
Does the AS08 include an outdoor siren?
No. The parts are four door sensors, two motion sensors, a keypad and a base station. One UK reviewer says an outside alarm cannot be connected.
Is there a panic button?
Yes. The listing says you can press the panic button on the keypad to trigger the alarm.
Does it work with Alexa?
The title says Alexa compatible. UK reviews disagree: one says it does not link, another says the Alexa skill works.
The Yale IA-320 is a six-piece kit at £199.04: a mains hub, an external live siren, two PIR sensors, one door or window contact and a keypad. Across 1,766 amazon.co.uk reviews it sits at 4.3 stars, and buyers use the iOS or Android app to arm it after they have already left. The listing states a 200 metre range and room for up to 40 devices. One reviewer set a separate code for an estate agent, and others mention email, SMS or push alerts. The app is a repeated complaint, described as clunky, and one setup beeped every 30 seconds. A buyer who wanted full control spent about six hours on fitting and learning. Another downgraded the kit sharply after three months, without naming the fault. The live listing states subscription-free app control, the raw bullets do not repeat that line, and no SIM backup is established, so a router or power failure still leaves the alert with you.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A house that wants an outdoor siren and phone alerts without a monitoring contract
Less suitable: A policy that requires a police Unique Reference Number, or a home with no mains socket for the hub
Specifications
Common questions
Can you control the Yale IA-320 from a phone?
Yes. The listing says you arm, disarm and manage it from an iOS or Android app, and the title names Alexa, Google Assistant and Philips Hue.
Does this kit include an outdoor siren?
Yes. The included parts name one external live siren, a smart hub, two PIR sensors, one door or window sensor and a numeric keypad.
Can you add more sensors?
The listing says the kit can connect up to 40 devices. The stated wireless range is 200 metres.
The Yale IA-330 costs £241.48 and is rated 4.3 from 338 reviews. The nine pieces are an external siren, a keypad, a smart hub, two door contacts and two PIRs, with a stated range of 200 metres and room for up to 40 devices. One non-electrician fitted it in about half a day, pulling battery tabs on pre-paired parts, drilling for the PIRs, keypad and bell box, and using stick-on door sensors. Reviewers like the app notifications and the option of an instant trigger, with no delay, on a back door. The hub sounds as well as the outdoor box. The app logs people out, the manual is described as poor, and one system forgot its configuration after a couple of months. A reviewer says many newer Yale Smart accessories do not fit the IA-320 or IA-330, and another says a second siren box is a dummy, which the listing does not mention.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A house that needs contacts on two doors and phone alerts on the Sync app
Less suitable: Buyers who want Yale's newest Smart accessories, or who only have one external door
Specifications
Common questions
Can you arm the IA-330 when you are out?
The listing says you use a smartphone to arm, disarm and manage the alarm, with alerts if it is triggered.
What is in the 9-piece kit?
The parts list names one external siren, one keypad, one smart hub, two door contacts and two PIR motion detectors.
Will newer Yale accessories fit?
A reviewer says many newer Yale Smart accessories do not fit the IA-320 or IA-330. The listing itself only says up to 40 devices.
The XUK A107F costs £139.99 and is rated 4.2 from 19 reviews. The titled 21-piece set includes a 4.3 inch touchscreen panel, eight door sensors, four PIRs, a siren stated at 120 dB, an SOS button, three remotes and three RFID fobs. The seller says there is no subscription fee, with alerts by the Smart Life or Tuya app, by SMS or by voice call, plus a backup battery for power cuts. A SIM is not in the box, so the 4G path is a mobile plan you buy. Most written reviews on the listing are from France. The UK comments cover an easy garage or shed fit and plenty of fobs, then constant control-panel errors until the buyer disabled the panel, no reply from the company, and a siren cable too short to place the sounder away from the panel. The listing's 10-minute fit and 500 metre range are seller claims, not a measured test. Nineteen reviews is a thin base for a panel this large.
Pros
Cons
Best for: An outbuilding where you want many sensors and can tolerate a thin UK review base
Less suitable: A main home that needs reliable UK support, or any police-response install
Specifications
Common questions
Does it work without a SIM card?
The listing advertises Wi-Fi plus 4G. A SIM is not in the included parts, so the 4G path needs a SIM you buy. The listing does not say Wi-Fi-only mode is impossible.
How loud is the siren?
The listing states 120 dB. A UK reviewer says the sounder has to sit close to the panel because the cable is short.
Is there a monthly fee?
The seller says there is no subscription fee. A 4G SIM, if you use one, is a separate mobile plan and is not included.
The XNH XNH-A01F-UK costs £53.19, the lowest shelf price in this set, and it is rated 3.8 from four reviews. The box holds two motion detectors, four door sensors, two remotes and a siren stated at 120 dB, with screws and adhesive. The few reviewers found it easy to install, and the remotes worked from a detached garage about 25 metres away. The seller says there is no monthly alarm fee, and that a SIM you supply can auto-dial up to five numbers. One UK review says a Lebara SIM would not register, after help had said it would, and the seller then pointed at small print about phone SIMs. Ofcom has switched 3G off, and 2G ends by 2033, so a 2G/3G/4G line does not prove a UK network will accept the panel. The PIR is stated at 110 degrees and 8 to 12 metres, with a 280 mAh cell, and a backup battery for the whole panel is not specified.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A small outbuilding where you can test a SIM before you rely on dial-out
Less suitable: A home that needs a proven UK mobile path or a large review base
Specifications
Common questions
Does the PIR have a backup battery?
The PIR bullet describes Type-C DC 5 V plus a 280 mAh lithium cell. A separate backup battery for the whole panel is not specified.
Can you add more sensors?
The listing says the system supports up to 99 wireless devices. That figure is the seller's claim, not a tested count.
Do you need a professional to fit it?
The listing says it is an easy DIY fit with screws or adhesive. A UK reviewer could not get a Lebara SIM to work.
Ring Alarm Pack M costs £209.99 and is sold as an eight-piece pack for a two-bedroom home: base station, keypad, two contact sensors, two motion detectors, a range extender and an outdoor siren. The amazon.co.uk listing has no Customer Reviews line, so the star rating here is n/a, even though written UK comments are on the page. Those comments praise an easy fit in the same app as a Ring doorbell and call the outdoor siren loud. The listing says a Ring subscription, sold separately, is required to arm and disarm in the app and by voice. Alarm Calls and cellular backup sit on Ring Home, not in the box price. Keypad sound fails and has to be reset for some buyers, and the outdoor sounder needs a separate power supply, which makes a battery change from a ladder impractical. After a power cut, one base station could not be reset because it was tied to another account. Individual units failed to charge after about three months, or failed after about two years.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A two-bedroom home that already uses Ring and will pay for Ring Home
Less suitable: A buyer who wants app arming with no subscription, or a police response
Specifications
Common questions
Does Pack M include a motion detector?
Yes. The eight-piece bundle includes two motion detectors and two contact sensors, plus a range extender and an outdoor siren.
Is professional monitoring included?
No. Alarm Calls to nominated contacts, and cellular backup, come with Ring Home, which is sold separately. The listing does not describe police dispatch.
Can you arm it in the app without a plan?
The listing says a Ring subscription, sold separately, is required to arm and disarm in the app and by voice.
Ring Alarm Pack XL costs £309.99, the highest price in this set, and the listing aims it at homes with three bedrooms or more. The 13 pieces are a base station, a keypad, six contact sensors, three motion detectors, a range extender and an outdoor siren. The listing has no star line, so the rating is n/a. UK reviewers often finish the guided setup in about an hour, describe the internal siren as very loud, and say alerts reach Apple devices. The wireless link is described as reliable in a large property, and phone arming helps if you forget the keypad. Voice disarm rarely works. Motion detection is narrower than older PIRs, so some rooms needed two detectors, and chirps can wake you at night. App and Alexa arming need a subscription sold separately, and Alarm Calls phone your contacts rather than the police.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A larger house already in the Ring app that needs contacts on many doors
Less suitable: A one-bedroom flat, or a household that will not pay a Ring subscription
Specifications
Common questions
Does Pack XL include a keypad?
Yes. The 13-piece bundle includes a base station, a keypad, six contact sensors, three motion detectors, a range extender and an outdoor siren.
Who is this pack aimed at?
The listing says it is ideal for homes with three bedrooms or more.
Does voice disarm need a plan?
The listing says a Ring subscription, sold separately, is required to arm and disarm in the app or with Alexa.
Ring Alarm Pack S costs £139.99 and is a five-piece pack for a flat or a one-bedroom home: base station, keypad, one contact sensor, one motion detector and a range extender. An outdoor siren is not included, though the listing says you can add one, and the listing has no star rating. Reviewers describe app setup with QR codes, and households that already had a doorbell or cameras kept the alarm in that same app. One reviewer used a unit on a shed, and another mentions eSIM and battery backup on the base they received. A UK reviewer says this UK product does not include full professional monitoring, and that add-ons feel limited. One base station would not finish setup until support stepped in, a motion sensor stuck in test mode, and one control unit did not work. A door-frame gap made a contact look as if it would not fit, and arming in the app still needs a Ring plan sold separately.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A flat or one-bedroom home that already uses the Ring app
Less suitable: A house that wants an outdoor siren in the first box and no monthly plan
Specifications
Common questions
Does Pack S include a siren?
An outdoor siren is not in the five pieces. The pack is a base station, keypad, one contact sensor, one motion detector and a range extender. The listing says you can add an outdoor siren.
Will it work with other Ring devices?
The listing points at the Ring app and Alexa. UK reviewers who already had a doorbell or cameras say it sits in the same app.
Is monitoring included?
Alarm Calls and cellular backup are part of Ring Home, sold separately. A UK reviewer says the UK does not get full professional monitoring.
Scores are 0–100 from the amazon.co.uk listing, not from stars alone, and there is no lab test. A thin review sample cannot outrank a larger one at a similar average. The three Ring packs have no Customer Reviews line, so their star rating is n/a and their score is 0. The value badge is separate from the highest score. Listings were read on 15 October 2026.
Stated rating and review count
25%Stars only count with the number of reviews beside them. A missing Customer Reviews line stays n/a. A sample of four reviews cannot outrank a sample of several hundred.
External siren and phone alerts
25%An outdoor siren and a phone alert are the response you actually get from these kits. A siren in the hub is a different job from a box on the outside wall.
Backup if mains or Wi-Fi fails
20%Cellular backup and a SIM path only count when the listing says they exist. A 2G/3G/4G line still needs a SIM a UK network will register.
Sensors and stated range
15%Door contacts, motion sensors and the stated range, read as the seller's open-space claim. We did not measure the range.
Plan required to arm
15%Whether the listing says a paid plan is required to arm in the app. A no-monthly-fee line is not the same as working with no SIM, no Wi-Fi and no mains.
Match the kit to the response you will actually get before you compare star ratings. A bells-only siren, a self-monitored app and an auto-dialler are three different alerts. None of them is a police Unique Reference Number. Prices below are the 10 amazon.co.uk shelf prices held on 15 October 2026. We did not run a lab test, and we do not claim a kit will cut a premium or make officers attend.
A wireless alarm system, as a UK shopper uses the phrase, is a burglar alarm whose sensors talk to a panel by radio. The ten amazon.co.uk kits on this page are self-fitted. They are self-monitored, or they auto-dial numbers you store. None of them is a police Unique Reference Number system. Ask the police (Q75) says forces attend NPCC-compliant alarms, and that most domestic alarms are audible only. If you see a crime, dial 999. Do not store 999 in a panel.

A no-fee line does not mean the kit works with no SIM, no Wi-Fi and no mains. Ring still needs a plan to arm in the app. XUK and XNH still need a SIM you buy if you want the mobile path.
A PIR pointed at a window, a radiator, or a door that already has a contact is a common cause of false alarms. Putting every zone on a long delay has the same effect: the alert arrives late, or it arrives when nobody is there.
Do not store 999 in a panel. If you see a crime, dial 999 yourself. Do not treat an Amazon star rating as a BS EN 50131 grade, and do not treat Alarm Calls as a police response.
The first split is the response. Ask the police (Q75) says forces attend NPCC-compliant alarms and that most domestic alarms are audible only. Yale HSA, Yale IA-320, Yale IA-330, Ring Pack M and Ring Pack XL include an external siren. Ring Pack S does not, though the listing says you can add one. X-Sense AS05 and AS08 state 100 dB at the base and do not list an outdoor siren. XUK states 120 dB, and a UK reviewer says the cable is too short to site the sounder away from the panel.
Ring's bullets say a plan, sold separately, is required to arm and disarm in the app and by voice. Ring Home Standard was £7.99 a month or £79.99 a year on Ring's UK plan page. Yale IA-320 states subscription-free app control. Yale HSA states no monitoring fee, and the parts list does not name an app. Stated ranges are open-space claims: Yale HSA 30 metres, Yale Sync 200 metres, XNH 100 metres, XUK 500 metres. We did not measure them. Say the review count next to the stars.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You want a siren on the outside wall and a phone alert, and the listing states no monitoring contract. The Yale IA-320 is a six-piece kit at about £199.04, rated 4.3 from 1,766 reviews.
You want a keypad and a siren at the house, and you do not need a phone alert. The Yale HSA Essentials is about £81.88, rated 4.4 from 997 reviews, with no monitoring fee stated.
You need adhesive sensors and a plug-in base, and you cannot screw an outdoor siren up without permission. The X-Sense AS05 is about £59.49, rated 4.5 from 137 reviews, with an indoor sounder.
The top pick is X-Sense AS05, 5-piece, with the highest score in this comparison (9 out of 10, from 137 amazon.co.uk reviews). The best value is the Yale HSA Essentials at about £81.88, rated 4.4 from 997 reviews, a bells-only five-piece with a siren stated at 104 dB and no monitoring fee stated. The X-Sense AS05 has a higher listing score, 4.5 from 137 reviews, and no outdoor siren. The three Ring packs have no star line, and app arming needs a plan sold separately. None of these kits is a police Unique Reference Number system.

X-Sense AS05, 5-piece
Highest score in this comparison, 9 out of 10, from 137 amazon.co.uk reviews.

Yale HSA Essentials, 5-piece
Bells-only kit at about £81.88, 4.4 from 997 reviews, with no monitoring fee stated.
Editorial

Products Compared publishes British-English buying guides based on amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. We do not run a lab and we do not invent test scores.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings in this comparison. Listings checked 15 October 2026.
Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the amazon.co.uk listings checked on 15 October 2026. We did not run a lab test.