Two wires and an app
Two intact conductors are already in the wall and you want the indoor screen plus a phone. The EZVIZ CP5 is about £161.49, rated 4.4 from 1,330 reviews, with 2-wire support and the EZVIZ app.
The best video door intercoms, compared.
Top pick: EZVIZ CP5 7 inch Wi-Fi video door phone – 7 inch touch screen, 4.4 from 1,330 reviews, 2-wire support, and unlock from the monitor, app or RFID. Best value: TMEZON 7 inch wired video intercom – 7 inch wired monitor at about £79.99, 4.2 from 416 reviews, when you have four cores and will not use an app. Updated 16 October 2026.
A video door intercom is an outdoor camera station, a call button, two-way audio and at least one indoor screen. You buy it to see and speak to a caller without a phone as the only handset, which is a different job from an app-only video doorbell. They differ by 2-wire, 4-wire or radio, by whether the screen stays on charge, and by whether unlock includes a lock. A wide porch camera can film the street, so UK may apply with no monthly fee. The [video door intercom buying guide](/hub/burglar-protection/video-door-intercom/sub/video-door-intercom-buying-guide) covers wires, screen, power, storage and the lock before you use the ranking.
A video door intercom is an outdoor camera station, a call button, two-way audio and at least one indoor screen.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 9Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
What is already in the wall?
The EZVIZ CP5 is a 7 inch colour touch screen on a wired door station, listed at £161.49 with 4.4 from 1,330 amazon.co.uk reviews. The listing supports a 2-wire install and also says a 4-wire system is compatible, which matters when an older bell cable has only two intact conductors. The camera is listed as 1080p across 134°, with infrared stated at about 5 metres, and you can unlock from the indoor monitor, the EZVIZ app, or one of the two RFID tags named in the bullets. Clips go to a microSD card of up to 512 GB or to EZVIZ CloudPlay, and the listing does not say a card is in the box. The app needs Wi-Fi, so the indoor screen is what still answers if the router is off. A UK review says you need two wires, ideally a twisted pair, and that the listing had no wiring diagram. The included-components field reads "36 EU", which does not describe a UK kit, and the linking cable is not included. Weatherproof is claimed without an IP code.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A home with two intact wires where you want the indoor screen and the option to answer on the EZVIZ app.
Less suitable: Anyone who will not create an account, or who needs a card and a strike already in the box.
Specifications
Common questions
Can the EZVIZ CP5 use an old 2-wire bell cable?
The listing says it supports 2-wire installation and is also compatible with a 4-wire system. A UK review says you need two wires to indoors, ideally a twisted pair, and that the listing had no wiring diagram.
How do you unlock the door?
The bullets say swipe with the two included RFID tags, unlock from the indoor monitor, or unlock in the EZVIZ app.
Where are recordings stored?
The listing says a microSD card up to 512 GB or EZVIZ CloudPlay. It does not say a card is in the box.
The ACEBELL pairs a 7 inch touchscreen with a 1080p outdoor camera at £189.99, rated 4.4 from 74 amazon.co.uk reviews. The listing says the link between doorbell and monitor can run with or without Wi-Fi, while viewing from a phone uses TuyaSmart and needs the router. A 32 GB card is stated as fitted in the monitor, with a maximum of 128 GB, and the outdoor unit is IP55 with a 160° lens and a three-level PIR sensor. The 7,000 mAh outdoor cell is claimed at about 45 to 60 days, or you can hard-wire it at 12–24 V, but an ACEBELL review describes about two days and a missing hard-wire connector, so the long figure stays a listing claim. The indoor monitor's 5,000 mAh cell is listed at about 5 to 8 hours, and live monitoring is capped at 5 minutes. Do not mount the outdoor unit on a metal door. Unlock is from the monitor, and the lock itself is not described as included.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A household that wants a large screen and a phone app, and can keep the monitor on charge.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs a measured multi-week battery, a lock in the box, or a mount on a metal door.
Specifications
Common questions
Can the ACEBELL work without Wi-Fi?
The listing says the link between the doorbell and the monitor can work with or without Wi-Fi. Remote viewing uses the TuyaSmart app, which needs Wi-Fi.
Is a memory card included?
Yes. The listing includes a memory card, states 32 GB installed in the monitor, and claims no subscription for that local storage. The maximum stated is 128 GB.
How is the outdoor unit powered?
The listing gives a 7,000 mAh battery, claimed at about 45–60 days, or a hardwire option at 12–24 V. Wiring parts are said to be included.
The XPJ TL-WF701 is a 7 inch touchscreen kit at £207.99, the highest price in this set, with 4.4 from 31 reviews. On the bullets it tracks the ACEBELL pattern: 1080p, about 160°, IP55, a three-level PIR, a Tuya Smart app, and a private link said to work with or without Wi-Fi. The specification protocol field still says Wi-Fi, and the indoor monitor is listed for 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz. One UK review says the doorbell will not function unless the screen is powered on, and the 5,000 mAh monitor battery is claimed at about 6 to 8 hours, so the listing tells you to keep it on charge. The bullets mention a 32 GB TF card in the monitor, but the included-components line does not name a card. Door release is not stated. Do not fit the outdoor unit on a metal door, and 31 reviews is a thin file at this price.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A buyer who specifically wants this 7 inch Tuya layout and will check the card and the screen power on day one.
Less suitable: Anyone comparing it with the ACEBELL on price, included storage, or a described unlock.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the XPJ need the indoor screen switched on?
One UK review says the doorbell will not function unless the screen is powered on. The listing also says the 5,000 mAh monitor battery lasts about 6–8 hours and recommends keeping it on charge.
Is the 32 GB card in the box?
The bullets say a 32 GB TF card is fitted in the indoor monitor. The included-components line lists a charging cable, camera, monitor, manual, screw and power adapter, and does not name a card.
Can it work without Wi-Fi?
The bullets say a private protocol works with or without Wi-Fi. The specification protocol field says Wi-Fi, and the indoor monitor is listed for 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz.
The TMEZON MZ-V20 is a 7 inch wired monitor on a 4-wire bus at £79.99, with 4.2 from 416 amazon.co.uk reviews. It rings when someone presses the outdoor station, and you can open a live view from the indoor screen without an app or a Wi-Fi account. Night vision is infrared in black and white, with no range printed, and the outdoor unit is listed as IP65. You unlock from the monitor, though the included-components field lists only the monitor and the extension cable is not in the box. The compatible-devices line says Smartphone, and a UK review returned the unit because it does not connect to a phone. The dimensions field of 25 × 25 × 25 mm does not describe a 7 inch screen. You supply the 4-core run yourself; a 4-pin connector is there for a cable you provide, and power is listed as 12 V corded.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A house with four intact cores where the person who answers is indoors and does not want an account.
Less suitable: A confirmed 2-wire flat, or anyone who needs to answer from a phone.
Specifications
Common questions
Is this TMEZON wireless?
No. The specification is a 4-wire bus. The extension cable is not in the box; a 4-pin connector is supplied for a cable you provide.
Can it connect to a phone?
The compatible-devices field says Smartphone. A UK review returned the unit because it does not connect to a phone, and the listing does not name an app.
Does the box include an electric lock?
The bullet says you can unlock from the indoor monitor and that the doorbell can connect most electronic locks. The included-components field lists only the monitor.
This TMEZON pack, model MZ-V20*2+MZ-A2, is two 7 inch monitors and one outdoor camera at £135.99, rated 4.1 from 153 reviews. Both screens sit on a 4-wire bus with no app, and the bullets say you can transfer a call between the monitors and talk from one room to the other. Each indoor unit has its own power supply, and a UK review says you need two power points. The box includes a 1 metre test cable, not the extension for the full run to the door. Night vision is infrared with no range stated, the outdoor station is IP65, and unlock is from a monitor without a lock in the parts list. It costs £56 more than the single-monitor TMEZON at the same 7 inch size. A Best Sellers Rank of 29 in Intercom is a sales rank, not a measured picture test.
Pros
Cons
Best for: One home with four cores and two rooms that both need to answer, each with a mains socket.
Less suitable: A single hallway screen, a 2-wire flat, or anyone who wants a phone app.
Specifications
Common questions
How many screens are in this TMEZON pack?
Two 7 inch monitors and one outdoor doorbell, for one home. The bullets say you can transfer a call between the two monitors.
Does each monitor need its own socket?
The parts list includes two power supplies for the indoor monitors. A UK review says you need two power points.
Is the long cable included?
No. The set is 4-wire. The box has a 1 metre test cable and a 4-pin connector. The extension cable for the full run is not included.
The QingTianTongYun V168M4 pairs a 4.3 inch colour TFT with a 700TVL outdoor camera at £79.99, rated 4.0 from 34 reviews. The bullet allows a 4-core cable of up to 100 metres, hands-free audio and monitoring from the indoor screen, with no phone app. Infrared is listed without a range, and weather protection is a rainproof cover rather than an IP code. The parts list includes a UK 3-pin adapter, the indoor monitor and the outdoor camera. Bullet 5 says the electric lock, the exit button and the power supply are not included, which sits awkwardly next to that adapter line. Thirty-four reviews is a short sample beside the single-monitor TMEZON at the same £79.99. 700TVL is a different measure from 1080p, so the two figures are not interchangeable.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A long 4-core run where a 4.3 inch wired screen is enough and you can check the adapter is actually in the box.
Less suitable: Anyone who wants a 7 inch screen, an IP code, or a larger UK review file at this price.
Specifications
Common questions
How far can the cable run?
The bullet says a 4-core cable between camera and monitor, with a maximum of 100 metres.
Is the electric lock in the box?
No. Bullet 5 says the electric lock and the exit button are not included. The same bullet says the power supply is not included, while the parts list includes a UK 3-pin adapter.
Does it need batteries?
The specification says batteries are not included and not required. The power source is DC.
The TKMARS 016-1 is a 4.3 inch door phone with no app at £58.99, and 3.9 from 748 reviews is the largest file among the private-radio kits in this set. The bullets describe a device-internal 2.4 GHz link with no Wi-Fi, while the specification protocol field says Bluetooth. Speech is push-to-talk rather than simultaneous, the screen is 640 × 480, and it must stay on a socket; the 400 mAh cell is described as about 30 minutes of backup. The camera starts when a visitor presses the bell, so waking the screen does not show you an empty step. Open air is listed at 50 metres and indoors at 5 to 10 metres, which is a short claim once a terrace wall is in the way. About 30 photos sit on the unit without a card, and 15-second clips need an 8–32 GB microSD you buy separately. The outdoor cell is about 1,000 mAh, claimed at about one month if the bell is pressed five times a day, and the housing is listed as IP65.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A no-account household that only needs to see and speak when someone rings, with the screen left on a socket.
Less suitable: Anyone who wants a live view of an empty step, clips while they are out, or hands-free talk.
Specifications
Common questions
Does the TKMARS need Wi-Fi?
The bullets say no Wi-Fi and no app, on a device-internal 2.4 GHz link. The specification protocol field says Bluetooth.
Does the indoor screen have to stay plugged in?
Yes for normal use. The bullet says the 4.3 inch screen must be on a socket. The 400 mAh battery is described as emergency cover for about 30 minutes.
Can you look outside without a visitor pressing the bell?
The sleep-mode bullet says waking the screen does not start the camera. The camera is activated when a visitor presses the bell. A UK review says it is not a constant record.
The Winnes K18S is a 4.3 inch screen on a factory-paired 2.4 GHz link at £62.99, with no app and no monthly fee, and only 3.9 from six reviews. You can wake the outdoor camera from the indoor screen, and the listing also includes PIR, a 170° lens and 1080p. A TF card is required for snapshots and video, and it is not in the box. Night vision is claimed with no distance, and there is no IP code. The specification says batteries are not required, while a UK review describes a 4,000 mAh outdoor cell, so the power story is not settled on the page. Those UK reviews also say the screen's backup is short and that you should leave it plugged in. Six reviews cannot show how the 50 metre open-air claim behaves through a brick wall. At £62.99 it sits £4 above the TKMARS, which has 748 reviews for a similar no-account job.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A no-account buyer who wants to look at the step without a press, and who will test the set in the return window.
Less suitable: Anyone who wants a large review file, a card in the box, or an answer from outside the house.
Specifications
Common questions
Does this Winnes need Wi-Fi?
The listing says no app, no Wi-Fi and no monthly fee. It uses a factory-paired 2.4 GHz link, with an open-air claim of 50 metres.
Can you see the doorstep if nobody rings?
Yes. The bullets include manual wake-up of the outdoor camera from the indoor screen, as well as PIR.
Is a memory card included?
No. The bullets say a TF card is required for auto snapshot and video, and that the card is not included.
The Winnes 0K18S, also written K18S on the model line, is a no-app kit at £59.99 with 3.2 from 15 reviews. The bullets say a private 2.4 GHz link and no Wi-Fi, while the specification protocol field says Bluetooth. Night vision is listed at 5 metres, the lens at 170°, and the outdoor cell at 4,000 mAh for a claimed 2 to 3 months, yet the batteries-required field says No. The specification block does not state a screen size; one review calls the monitor 4.3 inches. Storage is not stated, there is no IP code, and door release is not described. Reviews in that file, none marked United Kingdom, describe random operation, a dead bell and a faulty screen. Fifteen reviews at 3.2 is the weakest rating line in this comparison.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Only a buyer who will test the link immediately and can return it if the bell or the screen fails.
Less suitable: Anyone who needs a stated screen size, UK review evidence, or a settled description of the radio.
Specifications
Common questions
Does this Winnes need an app?
The listing says no Wi-Fi and no app. It describes a private 2.4 GHz link. The specification protocol field says Bluetooth.
What size is the indoor screen?
The specification block does not state a screen size. One review calls the monitor 4.3 inches.
How long is the outdoor battery claimed to last?
The bullet says a 4,000 mAh battery lasts 2 to 3 months on one charge. The batteries-required field says No.
Scores are 0–100 from the nine amazon.co.uk listings, not from stars alone, and there is no lab test. A 4.4 from 1,330 reviews is not the same sample as a 4.4 from 31. The value badge is separate from the highest score. Listings were read on 15 October 2026.
Amazon rating and review count
35%Stars only count with the number of reviews beside them. A thin sample cannot outrank a larger one at a similar average.
Stated kit
30%Monitor size, speech, night vision, weather code, storage and whether the listing describes unlock. A missing part scores nothing for that line.
Price for that job
20%Shelf price in GBP set against the review sample and what the kit is for. This is separate from the highest score.
Listing clarity
15%Deductions where a protocol, a card, a battery, a parts list or a dimension disagrees with another field on the same listing.
Count the conductors and decide who answers before you compare star ratings. A 2-wire station, a 4-wire monitor and a private-radio screen are three different jobs. Prices below are the nine amazon.co.uk shelf prices held on 15 October 2026, not a market index. We did not fit the stations, and we do not claim a lab result.
A video door intercom is an outdoor camera station, a call button, two-way audio and at least one indoor screen. You use it to see and speak to a caller when a phone is not the only handset. An app-only video doorbell is a different product. The nine amazon.co.uk listings here were read on 15 October 2026 and run from about £58.99 to about £207.99. Those are shelf prices, not a census of the UK market. We did not fit the stations and we did not run a lab test.

TKMARS lists 50 metres in the open and 5 to 10 metres indoors. Winnes K18S lists 50 metres in the open. A brick wall is the shorter figure. Test the signal before you fix the outdoor unit.
TMEZON and the V168M4 need four cores. The EZVIZ CP5 is the listing that supports two wires. The extension cable is not in the TMEZON box, and the V168M4 states 100 metres as a maximum on cable you provide.
Unlock on these listings is a command from the monitor, the app or an RFID tag. The V168M4 says the electric lock and the exit button are not included. A fire-door strike is an installer job, not a bullet on the listing.
The first split is the cable. EZVIZ CP5 supports a 2-wire install and the maker also says 4-wire is possible. A UK review says you need two wires, ideally a twisted pair. TMEZON MZ-V20, the two-monitor TMEZON and QingTianTongYun V168M4 need four cores, and V168M4 states 100 metres on 4-core cable. The second split is who answers. No app means the monitor is the handset: Winnes, TKMARS, or a wired TMEZON. Answering from work needs Wi-Fi, which here means EZVIZ, ACEBELL or XPJ.
Wired stations take power through the cable. ACEBELL and XPJ quote about 45 to 60 days on a 7,000 mAh outdoor cell, qualified by presses, PIR, live view and temperature. An ACEBELL review describes about two days, so that long figure stays a listing claim. Several indoor screens must stay on charge. Storage is a local card, a photo loop, or optional cloud. No subscription is a fee claim, not privacy. Unlock is a contact or a low-voltage output, and the strike is a separate part.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
Two intact conductors are already in the wall and you want the indoor screen plus a phone. The EZVIZ CP5 is about £161.49, rated 4.4 from 1,330 reviews, with 2-wire support and the EZVIZ app.
You will not create an account and four cores are intact. The TMEZON MZ-V20 is a 7 inch wired monitor at about £79.99, rated 4.2 from 416 reviews, with no app.
You want a screen with no app and you only need to see the caller when the button is pressed. TKMARS is about £58.99, rated 3.9 from 748 reviews, and the screen stays on a socket.
For a home with two intact wires where you also want the EZVIZ app, the top pick is the EZVIZ CP5 at about £161.49, rated 4.4 from 1,330 reviews. The best value is the TMEZON MZ-V20 at about £79.99, rated 4.2 from 416 reviews, a 7 inch wired monitor when you have four cores and will not use an app. The ACEBELL matches that score and is not the best value, because about £189.99 is the app-and-screen price and an owner review describes about two days from the outdoor cell. The TKMARS is cheaper and is not the best value: speech is push-to-talk and the camera starts only when the button is pressed.

EZVIZ CP5 7 inch Wi-Fi video door phone
7 inch touch screen, 4.4 from 1,330 reviews, 2-wire support, and unlock from the monitor, app or RFID.

TMEZON 7 inch wired video intercom
7 inch wired monitor at about £79.99, 4.2 from 416 reviews, when you have four cores and will not use an app.
Editorial

Products Compared publishes British-English buying guides based on amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. We do not run a lab and we do not invent test scores.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings in this comparison. Listings read on 15 October 2026.
Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the amazon.co.uk listings checked on 15 October 2026. We did not run a lab test.