Fur lined safety boots vs CI
A listing that says fur lined, or waterproof, has not shown you the cold mark. Fur lined safety boots vs CI splits a lining you can feel from a code on the tongue, and waterproof in a title is not WR. None of the seven amazon.co.uk listings checked on 15 October 2026 states CI or WR. This page does not pick a winner. The comparison is [winter safety shoes](/hub/burglar-protection/winter-safety-shoes). We did not lab-test these boots. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
A listing that says fur lined, or waterproof, has not shown you the cold mark. Fur lined safety boots vs CI splits a lining you can feel from a code on the tongue, and waterproof in a title is not WR.
A listing that says fur lined, or waterproof, has not shown you the cold mark. Fur lined safety boots vs CI splits a lining you can feel from a code on the tongue, and waterproof in a title is not WR. None of the seven amazon.co.uk listings checked on 15 October 2026 states CI or WR. This page does not pick a winner. The comparison is winter safety shoes. We did not lab-test these boots. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Fur in title | CI on listing | Water claim | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Bawalon Bawalon steel-cap work boots | No | Not stated | Water resistant | 8.2 | about £32.90 | View offer |
| Alternative | NACKINg NACKINg fur-lined waterproof trainers | Yes | Not stated | Waterproof | 7.6 | about £39.88 | View offer |
| Best value | Not stated Lightweight steel-toe work boots | No | Not stated | Not stated | 5.6 | about £17.99 | View offer |
On this page
What fur does, and what CI is
The -17°C test is a drop limit
Waterproof words, WPA, and WR
How to read an unmarked winter listing
Common questions
Is a fur lining the same as CI?
What does the CI test actually measure?
Can you treat -17°C as the temperature your feet will feel?
Why do some adverts show a much lower figure, such as -20°C?
Does waterproof on an amazon.co.uk title mean WR?
What is the difference between WPA and WR, and where does S7 sit?
When is fur reasonable, and when do you need the letters on the tongue?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings in this comparison. Last checked 15 October 2026.
- HSE: personal protective equipment at work (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- HSE: construction PPE frequently asked questions (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- HSE: choosing slip-resistant footwear (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- The Personal Protective Equipment at Work Regulations 1992 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- uvex: guide to EN ISO 20345:2022 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- uvex: waterproof and water-resistant footwear (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- UK Slip Resistance Group: 2022 coefficients (retrieved 15 October 2026)
- SATRA: cold insulation of footwear (retrieved 15 October 2026)


