Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Electric weed burner comparison 2026

The best electric weed burners, compared.

Top pick: Thrink 2000 W Best value: Greenfields 600°C wand – About £22.99 and 4.1 from 162 reviews, the lowest price among rows with at least 100 reviews. Watts and cable length are not printed. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

An electric weed burner here is a mains hot-air wand for weeds in paving joints. It is not a butane torch and it is not a lawn tool. You reach for one when you will not kneel and will not spray, and when a socket is close enough for a lead of about two metres plus an outdoor reel. A useful listing states 2000 W, a UK plug, a cable length and a joint nozzle, and it has reviews that mention more than one use. The heat is meant to rupture leaf cells so the weed wilts over the following days. Established roots often return. Shelf prices in this set run from £22.99 to £55.99, and the dearer rows are not better documented. The top pick is the My Garden 2000 W at about £28.34: 3.7 from 103 reviews, 2000 W, 80°C to 650°C, a 1.8 m lead and a standard UK plug. The best value is the Greenfields 600°C wand at about £22.99, with 4.1 from 162 reviews. Watts and cable length are not printed there. The checks behind those two picks are in the [electric weed burner buying guide](/hub/weed-control/weed-burner-electric/sub/weed-burner-electric-buying-guide).

An electric weed burner here is a mains hot-air wand for weeds in paving joints. It is not a butane torch and it is not a lawn tool.

Thrink 2000 W

Best overall

Thrink 2000 W
6.2/10∼ £30

32 products checked · 54 hrs invested · +16,800 readers

9 of 9: Best electric weed burners compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 9
Best overall
Thrink 2000 W
QYOEGSQ 650°C
Best value
Greenfields 600°C wand
My Garden 2000 W
Taylor & Brown 2000 W
Marksmen 2000 W
Greenfields 2000 W
Generic red 2000 W
Generic 5-nozzle 3-in-1
6.2/10
4.5/10
6.4/10
7.1/10
5.3/10
4.2/10
3.1/10
1.7/10
1.0/10
∼ £30
∼ £40
∼ £23
∼ £28
∼ £30
∼ £25
∼ £30
∼ £45
∼ £56
5.0(1)
5.0(1)
4.1(162)
3.7(103)
3.2(12)
3.2(2)
–
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best electric weed burners in detail

Thrink 2000 W

Rank 1

Thrink 2000 W

∼£30

Our view

The Thrink listing at £29.99 prints 2000 W, 60°C and up to 650°C, a 2 m cable with a UK plug, a guide wheel, a concentration nozzle and a BBQ nozzle, at a stated 0.9 kg. The star line is 5.0 from one review, and the listing has no review text, so that score is not a record of how long the element lasts. Model and part number 31325 are also printed on the Taylor & Brown and the Greenfields 2000 W rows, with near-identical bullets. Stated length is 95 cm in the bullets and 100 cm in the dimensions. The score is 58 after deductions for the empty review and the shared model number. Buy it to compare a printed 2000 W spec, not because a single five-star line has tested the heater.

Pros

  • 2000 W, 60°C to 650°C, a 2 m cable and a UK plug
  • Guide wheel, concentration nozzle and BBQ nozzle
  • Stated weight 0.9 kg

Cons

  • 5.0 from one review, with no review text
  • Model 31325 is shared with two other listings in this set
  • Length disagrees: 95 cm in the bullets and 100 cm in the dimensions

Best for: A shopper comparing a printed 2000 W, 2 m and UK-plug spec who will ignore the single star.

Less suitable: Anyone treating a one-review 5.0 as proof the element lasts, or who wants a design distinct from the other 31325 rows.

Specifications

Model
Thrink 2000 W
Brand
Thrink
Price
∼£30
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
Power
2000 W
Heat range
60–650°C
Cable
2 m
UK plug
Yes
Wheel
Yes
Nozzles
Joint and BBQ
Wand length
95–100 cm
Weight
0.9 kg
BBQ nozzle
Yes
Stand
No

Common questions

Is there any review text?

The star line says 5.0 from 1 review. The listing has no review text.

Does it need fuel?

The bullets describe a 2000 W mains hot-air wand, not a gas canister.

Is this the same model as other rows?

Model and part number 31325 are also printed on the Taylor & Brown and the Greenfields 2000 W listings in this set. That does not prove the three are the same tool.

QYOEGSQ 650°C

Rank 2

QYOEGSQ 650°C

∼£40

Our view

The QYOEGSQ listing is £39.99, with 2000 W in the highlight, a 650°C claim, two nozzles and a single UK review that calls it very good at what it is meant to do. That review does not mention moss, children or charcoal. One bullet says flameless with overheat protection, while the highlight says flame and hot air modes. The cable is 2 m in the bullet and 6 ft in the highlight, and the plug is not stated. Specification weight is 1.2 kg and a bullet says 2.2 lb, which is not the same figure, and no wheel is stated. The score is 41 after deductions for the flame contradiction and the disagreeing weights. At about £10 more than the documented 2000 W rows, the page argues with itself.

Pros

  • Highlight states 2000 W and a 650°C claim
  • Two nozzles and a BBQ-lighter line on the listing
  • The only UK review calls the result very good

Cons

  • A flameless bullet and a flame-and-hot-air highlight
  • Weight lines disagree: 1.2 kg and 2.2 lb
  • Plug not stated, and the cable is given as both 2 m and 6 ft

Best for: Only if you will resolve the flame wording with the seller before you pay £39.99.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a consistent flameless claim, a named UK plug, or a wheel for paving joints.

Specifications

Model
QYOEGSQ 650°C
Brand
QYOEGSQ
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
5.0/5(1)
Power
2000 W highlight
Heat range
650°C high
Cable
2 m, 6 ft
Nozzles
2 nozzles
Weight
1.2 kg
BBQ nozzle
Yes

Common questions

Is it flameless?

The bullet says flameless with overheat protection. The highlight says flame and hot air modes. Both lines are on the same listing.

How heavy is it?

The specification weight is 1.2 kg. A bullet says 2.2 lb, which is not the same figure.

What does the review say?

The only UK review says it is very good at what it is meant to do. It does not mention moss, children or charcoal.

Greenfields 600°C wand

Rank 3

Greenfields 600°C wand

∼£23

Our view

The Greenfields part 30129 is the cheapest wand in this set, at £22.99 on amazon.co.uk, and it carries the largest sample, 4.1 from 162 reviews. The listing prints 50°C and 600°C, a retractable stand, a detachable handle and a tight-space adaptor, at a stated weight of 1 kg. Watts and cable length are absent, so you cannot check the draw or choose a reel from the page alone. Reviewers repeatedly say an extension lead is required. Among the first 50 UK reviews, several say the wand stopped producing heat after a few uses or about half an hour. That element complaint keeps the score at 60, even though the star line is the strongest large sample here. It is the best value on shelf price among rows with at least 100 reviews, if you will add an outdoor reel and accept that the wattage was never printed.

Pros

  • £22.99, the lowest shelf price in this set
  • 4.1 from 162 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest sample here
  • 50°C and 600°C printed, with a tight-space adaptor

Cons

  • Watts are not printed, so running cost cannot be checked from the listing
  • Cable length is absent; reviewers say an extension lead is required
  • Element failures in the first 50 UK reviews

Best for: A short patio or path near a socket if you want the largest review sample at the lowest price and you will add an outdoor reel.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a printed wattage, a stated cable length, or a sample with no element failures.

Specifications

Model
Greenfields 600°C wand
Brand
Greenfields
Price
∼£23
Customer rating
4.1/5(162)
Heat range
50–600°C
Wheel
No
Nozzles
Tight-space tip
Weight
1 kg
BBQ nozzle
No
Stand
Yes

Common questions

Does the listing say how long the cable is?

No. The specification block does not print a cable length. Reviews repeatedly say an extension lead is required.

Does it say it is safe around pets?

The listing asks the question and does not answer it in the specification block.

What do the reviews say about reliability?

Among the first 50 UK reviews, several say the wand stopped producing heat after a few uses or about half an hour.

My Garden 2000 W

Rank 4

My Garden 2000 W

∼£28

Our view

The My Garden 1601 is the most completely printed wand in this set: 2000 W, 80°C to 650°C, a 1.8 m lead with a standard UK plug, a folding wheel, a weed nozzle and a BBQ nozzle, at a stated length of 102 cm. It costs £28.34 and shows 3.7 from 103 amazon.co.uk reviews, the only other sample above 100. One review says a 7 ft claim measured about 5 ft 8 in, which sits close to the printed 1.8 m, so the lead is still a short cord for a drive. In the first 50 UK reviews, heating elements are reported dead after weeks or after about 30 minutes, including a second unit. No IP rating and no RCD are printed on the listing. The score of 68 is the highest here because watts, degrees, a UK plug and a wheel are all on the page, with those element failures already deducted. Use it on joints you can reach from a socket plus an outdoor reel, and treat the BBQ nozzle as a charcoal side job rather than a faster weeding pass.

Pros

  • 2000 W, 80°C to 650°C, a 1.8 m lead and a standard UK plug
  • Folding wheel and a stated length of 102 cm
  • 3.7 from 103 amazon.co.uk reviews

Cons

  • Element failures in the first 50 UK reviews, including a second unit
  • One reviewer measured the lead at about 5 ft 8 in against a 7 ft claim
  • A 1.8 m lead still needs an outdoor reel on most drives

Best for: A patio or short path where you want watts, a UK plug and a wheel printed on the same listing.

Less suitable: A long drive far from a socket, or anyone who needs a review sample with no element failures.

Specifications

Model
My Garden 2000 W
Brand
My Garden Outdoor Living
Price
∼£28
Customer rating
3.7/5(103)
Power
2000 W
Heat range
80–650°C
Cable
1.8 m
UK plug
Yes
Wheel
Yes
Nozzles
Weed and BBQ
Wand length
102 cm
Weight
1.25 kg
BBQ nozzle
Yes
Stand
No

Common questions

How long is the cable?

The listing prints 1.8 m and a standard UK plug. One review says a 7 ft claim measured about 5 ft 8 in.

What safety features are printed?

The bullets claim no open flame, a non-slip handle and a folding wheel. No IP rating and no RCD are printed.

What fails in the reviews?

In the first 50 UK reviews, heating elements are reported dead after weeks or after about 30 minutes, including a second unit.

Taylor & Brown 2000 W

Rank 5

Taylor & Brown 2000 W

∼£30

Our view

The Taylor & Brown wand at £29.99 is the only model 31325 row with written reviews: 3.2 from 12, and eight texts on the listing. It prints 2000 W, 60°C and 650°C, a 2 m UK plug, a guide wheel, a concentration nozzle, a BBQ nozzle and a stated length of 95 cm. The listing says 2 m, yet reviewers still call the lead very short and mention an extension. Those eight texts split between people who say it deals with the weeds and people who compare the heat to a hairdryer or say it did nothing. Pets are asked on the page and not answered in the specification. The score is 49 after deductions for that weak-heat comment, the short-lead complaints and the shared model number. Read the eight texts before you treat this as a different tool from the Thrink listing.

Pros

  • 2000 W, 60°C and 650°C, a 2 m UK plug and a guide wheel
  • Eight written UK review texts, unlike the other 31325 rows
  • Concentration nozzle and a BBQ nozzle at £29.99

Cons

  • 3.2 from 12 reviews, with some texts comparing the heat to a hairdryer
  • Reviewers call the printed 2 m lead very short
  • Same model number 31325 as the Thrink and Greenfields 2000 W rows

Best for: Someone who wants written comments on a 2000 W, 2 m wand and will accept a mixed 3.2.

Less suitable: A buyer who needs stronger heat than a hairdryer comparison, or a lead that reviewers do not call short.

Specifications

Model
Taylor & Brown 2000 W
Brand
Taylor & Brown
Price
∼£30
Customer rating
3.2/5(12)
Power
2000 W
Heat range
60–650°C
Cable
2 m
UK plug
Yes
Wheel
Yes
Nozzles
Joint and BBQ
Wand length
95 cm
Weight
0.9 kg
BBQ nozzle
Yes
Stand
No

Common questions

What do the reviews say about the lead?

The listing prints 2 m. Reviewers still call the lead very short and mention an extension.

Does the listing answer the pet question?

No. Pets are asked and not answered in the specification block.

Is the heat described as strong?

The eight review texts split. Some say it does the weeds. Others compare it to a hairdryer or say it did nothing.

Marksmen 2000 W

Rank 6

Marksmen 2000 W

∼£25

Our view

The Marksmen, part 68593c, is £24.60, and the title is the only place that says 2000 W. The bullets offer two temperature settings and do not give degrees, so there is no printed maximum to compare with the 600°C and 650°C rows. Cable length, plug and weight are not printed. It claims a concentration nozzle, a BBQ lighter and a detachable handle, and it does not state a wheel. The star line is 3.2 from two reviews, and the listing has no review text. The fuel question is asked and not answered, though no gas canister appears in the included components. The score is 38, a low price beside a thin spec and no written sample. You are buying a title wattage, not a documented heat range.

Pros

  • £24.60, near the bottom of the shelf prices in this set
  • The title states 2000 W
  • A concentration nozzle and a BBQ lighter are claimed

Cons

  • Degrees, cable length, plug and weight are not printed
  • 3.2 from two reviews, with no review text
  • No wheel is stated, only a detachable handle

Best for: A low-price trial only if you accept a title wattage and no written reviews.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs a printed temperature, a UK plug on the page, or a wheel to keep the nozzle in a joint.

Specifications

Model
Marksmen 2000 W
Brand
Marksmen
Price
∼£25
Customer rating
3.2/5(2)
Power
2000 W title
Heat range
Two settings
Wheel
No
Nozzles
Joint and BBQ
BBQ nozzle
Yes
Stand
No

Common questions

Does it need fuel?

The listing asks and does not answer. No gas canister is in the included components.

Is a maximum temperature printed?

No. The bullets say two temperature settings and do not give degrees.

What do the two reviews say?

The star line says 3.2 from 2 reviews. The listing has no review text.

Greenfields 2000 W

Rank 7

Greenfields 2000 W

∼£30

Our view

This Greenfields row is £29.99, model 31325, with 2000 W, 60°C to 650°C, a 2 m UK plug, a guide wheel, a concentration nozzle, a BBQ nozzle and a stated length of 95 cm. The listing has no customer-review line and no review text, so the printed spec has not been checked by a buyer on this page. The main image URL is the same as Thrink B0H2S9ND1V, and both pages print model 31325. Safety features are asked and not answered, and the bullets only describe hot air, a wheel and two nozzles. The score is 27 because the spec looks complete and then loses points for no reviews and a shared image. There is no sample to tell you whether the element holds heat past the first use.

Pros

  • 2000 W, 60°C to 650°C and a 2 m UK plug printed
  • Guide wheel, concentration nozzle and BBQ nozzle
  • Same £29.99 shelf price as the other model 31325 rows

Cons

  • No star line and no review text
  • Main image URL matches the Thrink listing
  • Shared model 31325 with two other rows in this set

Best for: Only if you are checking a printed 2000 W spec and you do not need any UK review text.

Less suitable: Anyone who wants a product distinct from the Thrink row, or any evidence the element has been used.

Specifications

Model
Greenfields 2000 W
Brand
Greenfields
Price
∼£30
Power
2000 W
Heat range
60–650°C
Cable
2 m
UK plug
Yes
Wheel
Yes
Nozzles
Joint and BBQ
Wand length
95 cm
Weight
0.9 kg
BBQ nozzle
Yes
Stand
No

Common questions

Are there any reviews?

No. The listing has no customer-review line and no review text.

What safety features are listed?

The listing asks and does not answer in the specification block. The bullets describe hot air, a wheel and two nozzles.

Why does the image match another product?

The main image URL is the same as Thrink B0H2S9ND1V, and both print model 31325.

Generic red 2000 W

Rank 8

Generic red 2000 W

∼£45

Our view

The generic red wand, model A-1, is £44.99. The title says 2000 W and the bullets say 80°C to 650°C, aluminium and ABS, and two nozzles that are not named. Cable length and plug type are not printed, and the listing has no star line and no review text. BBQ and roofing appear in the title only, while the bullets say flame temperature and also say no gas. The page asks whether the wand is safe beside plants you want to keep, and it does not answer or give a distance. The score is 13 because a listing over £40 still omits the cable. You would be paying mid-set money for a spec that leaves the lead blank.

Pros

  • The title states 2000 W, with 80°C to 650°C in the bullets
  • Aluminium and ABS are named, and two nozzles are claimed
  • No gas or propane is claimed on the listing

Cons

  • £44.99 with no cable length and no plug type
  • The two nozzles are not named
  • No star line and no review text

Best for: Only if the seller confirms cable length and plug type in writing before you pay £44.99.

Less suitable: A patio job that needs a stated lead, a named nozzle, or any UK review.

Specifications

Model
Generic red 2000 W
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£45
Power
2000 W title
Heat range
80–650°C
Wheel
No
Nozzles
2 unnamed
BBQ nozzle
Yes
Stand
No

Common questions

How long is the power cord?

The listing asks and does not answer. Cable length and plug type are not printed.

What are the two nozzles for?

The listing asks. The bullets do not name the two nozzles.

Is it safe beside plants you want to keep?

The listing asks and does not answer. The bullets do not give a safe distance to other plants.

Generic 5-nozzle 3-in-1

Rank 9

Generic 5-nozzle 3-in-1

∼£56

Our view

The generic black 3-in-1 is the dearest row in this set, at £55.99. The title claims a weed burner, a BBQ lighter and a hot-air gun, five nozzles and 650°C, and it uses the words flame weeding. Watts are not printed, so you cannot estimate the draw or a running cost from the page. Cable length is asked and not answered, and ice melting is in the title with no time, no wattage and no result. There is no customer-review line and no review text. A detachable handle is claimed and no wheel is stated. The score is 6, the lowest here, because the highest price arrives with the thinnest electrical spec, and five nozzles do not replace a wattage and a lead.

Pros

  • Five nozzles are claimed, with BBQ and hot-air jobs in the title
  • 650°C is printed as the high figure
  • No propane is claimed on the listing

Cons

  • £55.99 with no watts and no cable length
  • No customer-review line and no review text
  • No wheel is stated

Best for: Only if you specifically want a five-nozzle title and you will confirm watts and cable with the seller first.

Less suitable: Anyone comparing documented 2000 W wands around £28 to £30, or a drive that needs a stated lead.

Specifications

Model
Generic 5-nozzle 3-in-1
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£56
Heat range
650°C high
Wheel
No
Nozzles
5 nozzles
BBQ nozzle
Yes
Stand
No

Common questions

How long is the cable?

The listing asks and does not answer. No cable length is printed.

Can it melt ice?

The title says ice melting. The listing gives no time, no wattage and no result.

Are there any reviews?

No. The listing has no customer-review line and no review text.

How we compared

Nine corded electric weed burners on amazon.co.uk were scored on 16 October 2026 from listing facts and review notes, not from a burn trial. The score is an editorial figure from 0 to 100. It is not the star rating times 20. A printed 650°C is the maker's figure, not a measured nozzle temperature. Five parts sum to 100. Fault deductions come off after that, for element failures, a missing review text, a shared model number, contradictory flame lines and similar gaps. The best-value badge is separate: the lowest shelf price among rows with at least 100 reviews.

1

Amazon stars

30%

Round half up: Amazon stars divided by 5, times 30. A missing star line scores 0. The star line on each product stays the amazon.co.uk figure.

2

Review volume

25%

100 to 199 reviews score 12. 10 to 19 score 4. 1 to 9 score 2. No reviews score 0. A single five-star line cannot carry the same weight as a sample over 100.

3

Listing clarity

20%

Points for watts in the specification, a temperature span, a cable length with a UK plug, a wheel or stand, and a named nozzle. A title-only wattage or a missing plug scores less.

4

Stated job

15%

A 2000 W page with a UK plug, a cable, degrees, a wheel and 50 or more reviews scores highest. Fewer reviews, missing watts, or flame lines that contradict each other score less.

5

Price in this set

10%

£25 or under scores 10. £25.01 to £35 scores 8. £35.01 to £50 scores 4. Over £50 scores 2. The dearest row is not treated as a professional grade.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Electric weed burner buying guide

Start with a corded mains wand, then with watts and a UK plug, then with cable length, then with the printed temperature and the nozzle, then with how many reviews actually describe a use. Price comes after those. The notes below follow that order for these nine amazon.co.uk listings. None of the scores is a burn trial.

What is an electric weed burner?

An electric weed burner in this category is a mains hot-air wand for weeds in paving joints. It is not a butane torch, not a battery wand, not steam and not a lawn tool. You use one when you will not kneel and will not spray, and when a socket is close enough for a lead of about two metres plus an outdoor reel. The heat is meant to rupture leaf cells so the weed wilts over the following days. Established roots often return.

Best for

  • Seedlings in paving joints when a socket is close and you will add an outdoor reel
  • Someone who cannot bend, and who will trade speed for a long handle
  • A buyer who will read watts, the plug and the review texts before the shelf price

Not ideal for

  • A long drive or a plot far from a socket
  • Anyone expecting one pass to kill an established root
  • A one-review 5.0 treated as proof the element lasts

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Treating a one-review 5.0 as quality

    Thrink is 5.0 from one review with no review text. QYOEGSQ is 5.0 from one review. Neither sample shows how long the element lasts. My Garden has 103 reviews and Greenfields 600°C has 162, and both of those samples include dead elements.

  2. 2

    Expecting ash and a dead root

    The heat is meant to rupture leaf cells so the top wilts over the following days. Established roots often return. Holding the nozzle for minutes does not turn these listings into a one-pass root killer, and it raises the chance of scorching dry material beside the joint.

  3. 3

    Buying three 31325 listings as three designs

    Thrink, Taylor & Brown and the Greenfields 2000 W row all print model 31325 and near-identical bullets. The shared number does not prove they are identical, and it does not make them three different tools. Taylor & Brown is the only one with written reviews.

What to weigh up

Power, plug and cable

High

The wand has to be corded and electric. A title that adds a butane canister belongs with gas burners. 2000 W at 230 V is about 8.7 A and belongs on a BS 1363 plug with a BS 1362 fuse. My Garden prints 2000 W, a 1.8 m lead and a standard UK plug. Thrink, Taylor & Brown and the Greenfields 2000 W row print 2000 W, 2 m and a UK plug. Marksmen and the generic red wand put 2000 W in the title only. QYOEGSQ puts 2000 W in the highlight and does not state the plug.

Heat, nozzles and review depth

High

Printed highs are 600°C or 650°C. My Garden prints 80°C to 650°C. The 31325 rows print about 60°C to 650°C. Greenfields part 30129 prints 50°C and 600°C. Marksmen says two settings and gives no degrees. A narrow nozzle matters for joints. A BBQ nozzle is a charcoal side job, not a faster weeding pass. No listing prints an IP rating, so none of them is described here as weatherproof. Review depth matters more than a single star.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A patio near a socket

You want watts, a UK plug and a wheel printed on the same page, and the joints are close enough for a short lead plus an outdoor reel. The My Garden 2000 W is about £28.34, with 3.7 from 103 reviews. Element failures are in that sample.

Our recommendation

View offer

The largest sample at the lowest price

You will add an outdoor reel and you can accept that watts and cable length were never printed. The Greenfields 600°C wand is about £22.99, with 4.1 from 162 reviews. Several of those reviews report a dead element.

Written comments on a 2000 W wand

You want a 2 m UK-plug listing and you will read the texts rather than a one-line 5.0. Taylor & Brown is £29.99, model 31325, at 3.2 from 12 reviews. Some texts compare the heat to a hairdryer.

Common questions about electric weed burners

Which electric weed burner is the top pick in this set?
The top pick is the My Garden 2000 W, at about £28.34 on amazon.co.uk. The listing prints 2000 W, 80°C to 650°C, a 1.8 m lead with a standard UK plug, a folding wheel and a weed nozzle. It averages 3.7 from 103 reviews. Among the first 50 UK reviews, heating elements are reported dead after weeks or after about 30 minutes, including a second unit. No IP rating is printed. The 650°C figure is the maker's claim, not a measured nozzle temperature.
How much does an electric weed burner cost on amazon.co.uk?
Prices in this set run from £22.99 to £55.99. Six sit between £22.99 and £29.99, including the Greenfields 600°C wand and the My Garden 2000 W at £28.34. The mid rows are £39.99 and £44.99, and the dearest is £55.99. Where a listing states 2000 W, Ofgem's 26.32 p/kWh average for October to December 2026 in England, Scotland and Wales is about 53 pence an hour at full draw. Do not use that sum where watts are missing, and do not treat it as the Northern Ireland rate.
What should you check before you buy an electric weed burner?
It must be corded and electric. Look for 2000 W at 230 V, about 8.7 A, on a BS 1363 plug. Where a cable is printed it is 1.8 m or 2 m, so plan an outdoor reel, fully unwound, on a 30 mA RCD. Printed highs are 600°C or 650°C, and a narrow nozzle matters for joints. A 5.0 from one review is not a durability test. Element failure is the repeated complaint where people have actually used the wand.
Should you buy an electric weed burner or a gas one?
Choose a corded wand when the weeds are in paving joints and a socket is close enough for a lead of about two metres plus an outdoor reel. Choose gas, or pull the weeds, when the drive or the plot is far from a socket. Electric in this set is hot air, not a lawn tool and not a trolley propane burner. The heat wilts top growth over the following days. It is not a one-pass root killer, and a higher price here is not evidence of a longer-lived element.
Does an electric weed burner kill the root?
The heat is meant to rupture leaf cells so the weed wilts over the following days. Established roots often return. The Royal Horticultural Society describes non-chemical control of perennials as repeat removal of top growth, not a single pass. None of these nine listings is shown to kill the root in one pass. Do not expect ash and a dead root. Holding the nozzle on the joint for minutes is a common mistake, and dry material beside the slab can catch.
Is an electric weed burner a fire risk?
Electric does not mean there is no fire risk. Royal Berkshire Fire and Rescue Service said on 29 August 2025 that electric and gas weed burners have started fires in dry weather that spread to fences, sheds and a car. They advise against using a burner in those conditions, keeping the heat on the weed, having water ready, and letting the tool cool before you store it. No listing here prints an IP rating. Use a 30 mA RCD outdoors and unwind the reel.
Why do three listings share model 31325?
Thrink, Taylor & Brown and the Greenfields 2000 W row all print model 31325, with near-identical bullets, at £29.99. That shared number does not prove the three listings are the same tool. The Greenfields 2000 W main image matches the Thrink page, and that Greenfields row has no review line. Taylor & Brown is the only one of the three with written reviews, 3.2 from 12 and eight texts. Buying all three is not buying three designs. A one-review 5.0 is not a durability test.
When should you call a professional?
Call an electrician if the outdoor socket or the RCD is unknown or faulty. Call 999 if a fire leaves the joint. Call a gardener if invasive roots under a path have already survived repeated heat. You do not need a tradesperson to install the wand itself. Moss on the same slabs is a different problem from a seedling in a paving joint, and that surface is covered in moss on patios and paths.

Our verdict

In this set of nine amazon.co.uk listings, the top pick is the My Garden 2000 W. It is about £28.34, with 2000 W, 80°C to 650°C, a 1.8 m lead, a standard UK plug and a folding wheel, at 3.7 from 103 reviews. Element failures in that sample stay in the score. The best value is the Greenfields 600°C wand at about £22.99, with 4.1 from 162 reviews, the lowest shelf price among rows with at least 100 reviews. Watts and cable length are not printed on that listing. The other seven have no award. None of these scores is a burn trial on paving.

Best overall
Thrink 2000 W

Thrink 2000 W

View offer
Best value
Greenfields 600°C wand

Greenfields 600°C wand

About £22.99 and 4.1 from 162 reviews, the lowest price among rows with at least 100 reviews. Watts and cable length are not printed.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
Weed controlGarden toolsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to electric weed burners

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, last checked on 16 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures in the display file. Printed temperatures are maker claims, not a measured nozzle temperature. The Draper manual is an example of another tool's timings and does not apply to these ASINs. The Ofgem unit rate is for England, Scotland and Wales, not Northern Ireland.

  1. Electrical Safety First: garden (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. Electrical Safety First: extension leads and cable reels (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK: Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. legislation.gov.uk: regulation 35, BS 1363 plugs (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. Ofgem: price cap, 1 October to 31 December 2026 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. Royal Berkshire Fire and Rescue Service: weed burners, 29 August 2025 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. RHS: non-chemical weed control (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. Draper 68696 manual (example only, not these ASINs) (retrieved 16 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the UK listings checked on 16 October 2026. We did not lab-test these weed burners and we did not run a burn trial.