Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Pool cushion comparison 2026

The best pool cushions, compared.

Top pick: Biigdan 4 × 8 ft Best value: EPN 2.4 × 2.4 m – About £23.74 for a named 2.4 × 2.4 m square, a 20 m rope and 4.4 from 88 reviews, with the mixed UK texts kept in the score. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A pool cushion is an inflatable PVC pillow under the winter cover of a closed above-ground pool. UK shoppers also say pool pillow, air pillow, or ice equaliser. It crowns the cover so rain and snow move outwards, and makers say a soft pillow gives expanding ice somewhere to compress. Hot-tub booster seats are a different product and are not in this set. Judge a listing by a size that matches its specification line, a named valve, a rope, and reviews that describe that size. Size, fill and the rope are set out in the [pool cushion buying guide](/hub/swimming-pools/pool-cushion/sub/pool-cushion-buying-guide). Notes that ice is about 9 percent less dense than liquid water, which supports the idea of expansion.

A pool cushion is an inflatable PVC pillow under the winter cover of a closed above-ground pool. UK shoppers also say pool pillow, air pillow, or ice equaliser.

Biigdan 4 × 8 ft

Best overall

Biigdan 4 × 8 ft
7.8/10∼ £38

34 products checked · 63 hrs invested · +18,640 readers

9 of 9: Best pool cushions compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 9
Best overall
Biigdan 4 × 8 ft
EPN 2.4 × 2.4 m
Totiro 3.6 m round
Totiro 4 m round
HNsdsvcd 120 × 120 cm
Biigdan 4.5 × 1.2 m
Weiyidea round cushion
Mineup round pillow
Bztezml 4 × 4 ft
7.8/10
8.0/10
7.4/10
7.2/10
6.1/10
6.6/10
4.7/10
2.4/10
–/10
∼ £38
∼ £24
∼ £30
∼ £37
∼ £10
∼ £58
∼ £8
∼ £17
∼ £18
4.7(27)
4.4(88)
4.1(101)
4.1(101)
4.0(5)
3.6(25)
3.5(3)
1.0(1)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best pool cushions in detail

Biigdan 4 × 8 ft

Rank 1

Biigdan 4 × 8 ft

∼£38

Our view

The Biigdan 240 × 120 cm pillow is the top pick in this set because the three stored UK reviews describe this listing, not a different size. amazon.co.uk shows 4.7 from 27 reviews at £37.99. A UK reviewer in September 2026 used an electric pump, a large nozzle, then a smaller one to finish the fill, and called the material sturdy. The box lists a rope and two patches, the listing says about 80 percent, and no pump is included. A German review says it slips if you do not tie it before the cover goes on. More than one reviewer leaves the winter itself untested, so the score is not a season already survived.

Pros

  • 240 × 120 cm agrees with the 4 × 8 ft title
  • Dual Boston valves, a rope and two patches are listed
  • Three UK reviews in September 2026 describe this pillow
  • No stored body in the file reports it going flat

Cons

  • No pump in the box
  • Slips if it is not tied before the cover goes on
  • Winter durability is left open in the reviews
  • Only 27 reviews

Best for: A mid-size round or oval above-ground pool where a 4 × 8 ft footprint matches the retailer chart, and you already own a pump.

Less suitable: A very long pool that needs the 4.5 m rectangle, or a buyer who needs a full UK winter already described in the reviews.

Specifications

Model
Biigdan 4 × 8 ft
Brand
Biigdan
Price
∼£38
Customer rating
4.7/5(27)
Shape
Rectangular
Listed size
240 × 120 cm
Thickness
0.44 mm
Fill
About 80%
Valve
Dual Boston, safety
Rope
Yes
Pump
No
Size agrees
Yes
Cold rating
−15°C
Weight
2.13 kg

Common questions

Does this pillow include a pump?

The included-items bullet lists the pillow, a rope, two repair patches and a manual. It does not list a pump. The listing says the valves work with most blowers and electric air pumps.

How full should it be?

The listing says fill to about 80 percent.

What size is printed?

The title says 4 × 8 ft. Technical details say 240 × 120 × 5 cm and 2.13 kg.

EPN 2.4 × 2.4 m

Rank 2

EPN 2.4 × 2.4 m

∼£24

Our view

The EPN square is the best value in this set at £23.74, with 4.4 from 88 reviews and a 20 m rope. The uninflated size is 2.4 × 2.4 m, the bullet says 0.6 mm PVC, and the listing says about 70 percent through a double Boston valve. A pump is not included. Eight of 40 stored bodies are from the United Kingdom, and several describe a 4 × 4 ft pillow, a hot tub, furniture or a motorhome roof. One UK body is an Amazon Vine review, and another discusses 0.5 mm while the bullet says 0.6 mm. That mix is why the score sits below the smaller Biigdan even though the review count is higher. Take it only if a large square is the footprint you measured.

Pros

  • £23.74 with a named 2.4 × 2.4 m square
  • 20 m rope and a stated fill of about 70 percent
  • 0.6 mm printed as a single thickness
  • 88 reviews, the second-largest count in the set

Cons

  • UK texts include a 4 × 4 ft pillow and hot-tub uses
  • A Vine review is in the UK sample
  • Pump not included
  • One UK body discusses 0.5 mm against a 0.6 mm bullet

Best for: A buyer who wants the cheaper large pillow and will check the live 2.4 m size before ordering.

Less suitable: A 12–16 ft round that only needs a 4 × 4 ft class pillow, or anyone who wants UK reviews of this exact 2.4 m size.

Specifications

Model
EPN 2.4 × 2.4 m
Brand
EPN
Price
∼£24
Customer rating
4.4/5(88)
Shape
Square
Listed size
2.4 × 2.4 m
Thickness
0.6 mm
Fill
About 70%
Valve
Double Boston
Rope
Yes
Pump
No
Size agrees
Yes
Cold rating
−25–80°C
Weight
4.67 kg

Common questions

Is a pump in the box?

The listing says an air pump is not included. It names a double Boston valve and about 70 percent inflation.

How big is it before inflation?

The listing says the uninflated size is 2.4 × 2.4 m, and that a 20 m rope is included.

Do the UK reviews all describe this size?

No. Eight of 40 stored bodies are from the United Kingdom, and several describe a 4 × 4 ft pillow, a hot tub, furniture or a motorhome roof.

Totiro 3.6 m round

Rank 3

Totiro 3.6 m round

∼£30

Our view

The Totiro round is listed at 3.6 × 3.6 m and 7 kg, at £29.99, with 4.1 from 101 reviews. None of the first 50 stored bodies is labelled United Kingdom, and the same opening German review appears on the 4 m listing. Those bodies mention a 7-foot pillow and a 22 ft or 24 ft pool, which is not 3.6 m. A German review on 13 September 2026 describes serious air loss and a replacement. The main bullet says 0.6 mm and the special-features line says 0.5 mm. The rank line says number 1 in Pool Cover Air Pillows, the same line as the 4 m ASIN. Treat the 101 as one shared shelf, not as UK evidence for this diameter.

Pros

  • Listed diameter 3.6 m at £29.99
  • Boston valve and a 49.2 ft rope are printed
  • Fill guidance of 70–80 percent
  • Largest star count in the set, 101, as a shared line

Cons

  • No UK-labelled body in the stored sample
  • Reviews are shared with the 4 m listing and describe other sizes
  • Thickness printed as both 0.5 mm and 0.6 mm
  • A German review reports serious air loss

Best for: Only a pool you have measured for a 3.6 m round, if you accept non-UK reviews.

Less suitable: A small frame pool, or anyone who wants UK review text for this diameter.

Specifications

Model
Totiro 3.6 m round
Brand
Totiro
Price
∼£30
Customer rating
4.1/5(101)
Shape
Round
Listed size
3.6 × 3.6 m
Thickness
0.5 and 0.6 mm
Fill
70–80%
Valve
Boston
Rope
Yes
Size agrees
Yes
Cold rating
−25–80°C
Weight
7 kg

Common questions

How thick is the PVC?

The main bullet says 0.6 mm. The special-features line says 0.5 mm. Both figures are printed. There is no test report in the raw file.

Are the 101 reviews from the United Kingdom?

None of the first 50 stored bodies is labelled United Kingdom. The same opening review appears on the 4 m Totiro listing.

How full should it be?

The listing says inflate to 70–80 percent. A rope is printed as 49.2 ft.

Totiro 4 m round

Rank 4

Totiro 4 m round

∼£37

Our view

This Totiro listing prints 4 × 4 m and 8 kg at £36.99. The star line is the same 4.1 from 101 as the 3.6 m ASIN, and the hero image matches. Stored reviews are not labelled United Kingdom. They repeat the air-loss report, the weak fixing eyes, and comments about a 7-foot pillow. The model number is Pillow26-13.1, which is the check against Pillow26-11.8 on the smaller listing. Do not add the two 101 counts. At £7 more than the 3.6 m listing, you are paying for a larger printed diameter on a shared review line.

Pros

  • Printed size 4 × 4 m and a weight of 8 kg
  • Distinct model number Pillow26-13.1
  • Same 70–80 percent guidance and Boston valve as the 3.6 m listing
  • Rope printed as 49.2 ft

Cons

  • Star line, hero image and opening review match the 3.6 m listing
  • No UK body in the stored sample
  • £36.99 without a separate review base
  • Thickness still printed as both 0.5 mm and 0.6 mm

Best for: A very wide pool where you have measured for a 4 m round footprint.

Less suitable: A pool that a 4 × 8 ft rectangle would crown, or a buyer who needs reviews of this diameter.

Specifications

Model
Totiro 4 m round
Brand
Totiro
Price
∼£37
Customer rating
4.1/5(101)
Shape
Round
Listed size
4 × 4 m
Thickness
0.5 and 0.6 mm
Fill
70–80%
Valve
Boston
Rope
Yes
Size agrees
Yes
Cold rating
−25–80°C
Weight
8 kg

Common questions

How is this different from the 3.6 m Totiro pillow?

This listing’s size is 4 × 4 m and the weight is 8 kg. The model is Pillow26-13.1. The star line, hero image and opening review match the 3.6 m listing.

How thick is it?

The main bullet says 0.6 mm PVC. The special-features line says 0.5 mm. No test report is in the file.

How full should it be?

The listing says 70–80 percent, with a double-layer Boston valve and a 49.2 ft rope.

HNsdsvcd 120 × 120 cm

Rank 5

HNsdsvcd 120 × 120 cm

∼£10

Our view

The HNsdsvcd cushion is 120 × 120 cm of blue PVC at £9.79, with 4.0 from 5 reviews. Both stored bodies are from the United Kingdom, dated 15 and 18 December 2025. One says it went down twice after being blown up. The other says a large pool needs more than one. A bullet mentions a rope and reinforced eyelets, and no rope length is given. No thickness, valve name or inflation percent is printed. At this price it is a small centre pad, not a crown for an 18 ft pool. The listing count is five, so two bodies are the whole sample you can read.

Pros

  • 120 × 120 cm stated as one size, at £9.79
  • Both stored reviews are from the United Kingdom
  • A rope and reinforced eyelets are mentioned

Cons

  • One of two UK reviews says it deflated twice
  • Only 5 reviews on the listing
  • No thickness, valve name or fill percent
  • A large pool is described as needing more than one

Best for: A small pool where 120 cm is the centre piece you have measured.

Less suitable: An 18 ft or larger pool, or anyone who needs a stored review that says the cushion stayed up.

Specifications

Model
HNsdsvcd 120 × 120 cm
Brand
HNsdsvcd
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.0/5(5)
Listed size
120 × 120 cm
Rope
Yes
Size agrees
Yes

Common questions

What size is it?

The title and the dimensions line say 120 × 120 cm. No weight and no millimetre thickness are printed.

Does it stay inflated?

One of the two stored UK reviews says it went down twice after being blown up. The other says a large pool needs more than one.

Is a rope mentioned?

A bullet says to pull an included rope through reinforced eyelets. No rope length is given.

Biigdan 4.5 × 1.2 m

Rank 6

Biigdan 4.5 × 1.2 m

∼£58

Our view

The long Biigdan is 450 × 120 cm, titled 4 × 14.7 ft, at £57.99, the highest price in this set. amazon.co.uk shows 3.6 from 25 reviews. One UK review on 15 September 2026 says the ropes held and the pillow floated steadily on an above-ground pool. A German review on 2 October 2026 says it was flat within 12 hours on two tries, after the valve was checked, and was returned. The box lists a rope and two patches, about 80 percent fill, and no pump. A German comment likes the 1.20 × 4.50 m size for a larger oval and still leaves the winter open. The air-loss report is why this length is not the top pick.

Pros

  • Longest rectangle in the set, 450 × 120 cm
  • Rope and two repair patches listed
  • One UK review describes a steady float once the ropes were tied
  • Dual Boston valves and a listing claim down to −15°C

Cons

  • Flat within 12 hours in a German review, on two tries
  • £57.99, the highest price in the set
  • 3.6 from only 25 reviews
  • No pump in the box

Best for: A very long oval where a 4 × 15 ft class footprint is what the chart suggests, and you can return a leaker.

Less suitable: A mid-size pool that the 240 × 120 cm Biigdan already covers, or anyone who cannot face a next-day deflation.

Specifications

Model
Biigdan 4.5 × 1.2 m
Brand
Biigdan
Price
∼£58
Customer rating
3.6/5(25)
Shape
Rectangular
Listed size
450 × 120 cm
Thickness
0.44 mm
Fill
About 80%
Valve
Dual Boston, safety
Rope
Yes
Pump
No
Size agrees
Yes
Cold rating
−15°C
Weight
3.84 kg

Common questions

Does the box include patches?

The bullet lists one pillow, one rope, two self-adhesive repair patches and a manual. It does not list a pump.

What size is listed?

The title says 4 × 14.7 ft. The size field says 450 × 120 cm. Weight is 3.84 kg.

Did a review report air loss?

A review from Germany on 2 October 2026 says the pillow was flat within 12 hours on two tries and was returned. A UK review on 15 September 2026 is favourable and does not mention a leak.

Weiyidea round cushion

Rank 7

Weiyidea round cushion

Our view

The Weiyidea listing is the lowest price in this set at £7.67, with 3.5 from 3 reviews. The title says about 4 × 4 ft. The size field says 33 cm round, and the dimensions say 32.5 × 22 cm. Both stored UK reviews, from 26 July and 26 September 2026, describe a spa lid rather than an above-ground pool. One says water stopped pooling on that lid, and neither writes a complaint. No valve, rope or millimetre thickness is printed. The clash is an “as described” problem under the Consumer Rights Act 2015. Do not buy it as a 4 × 4 ft pool pillow.

Pros

  • Lowest shelf price in the set, £7.67
  • Two stored UK reviews you can read
  • One review says water stopped pooling on a spa lid

Cons

  • The title and the size field disagree
  • Both stored uses are a spa lid, not a pool
  • No valve, rope or thickness is printed
  • Only 3 reviews

Best for: Only a spa-lid try if the 33 cm size field is the object you want.

Less suitable: Any above-ground pool that needs a winter pillow you can measure in feet.

Specifications

Model
Weiyidea round cushion
Brand
Weiyidea
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
3.5/5(3)
Shape
Round
Listed size
4 × 4 ft or 33 cm
Size agrees
No
Weight
0.467 kg

Common questions

Is it 4 × 4 ft or 33 cm?

The title says about 4 × 4 ft. The size field says 33 cm round, and the dimensions say 32.5 × 22 cm. The raw file does not resolve that clash.

What did the UK reviews use it for?

Both stored UK reviews describe a spa lid. One says water stopped pooling on the lid.

Is a thickness printed?

No millimetre figure, valve name or rope is in the raw file.

Mineup round pillow

Rank 8

Mineup round pillow

∼£17

Our view

The Mineup round pillow is £16.99, with 1.0 from 1 review and no review body in the file. The title says “4 F” and does not give a centimetre size, so you cannot place it on a retailer chart. Weight is 900 g. The bullet says 0.5 mm PVC, a dual-layer Boston valve, grommets and a tether, and the tether length is not stated. The listing says assembly is not required. Without a review text, you cannot tell whether the one star is about a leak, a size or something else. Skip it until the live page shows a size you can check against the pool.

Pros

  • 0.5 mm PVC and a dual-layer Boston valve are named
  • A tether and grommets are listed
  • Weight is printed at 900 g

Cons

  • 1.0 from 1 review, and no review body is stored
  • The title “4 F” has no centimetre size
  • Tether length and fill percent are not stated

Best for: Only a later look if the live amazon.co.uk page has gained a centimetre size you have measured, and you accept a one-star line with no text.

Less suitable: Anyone closing a pool this week who needs a size that matches a chart.

Specifications

Model
Mineup round pillow
Brand
Mineup
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
1.0/5(1)
Shape
Round
Listed size
Title 4 F
Thickness
0.5 mm
Valve
Boston
Rope
Yes
Size agrees
No
Weight
0.9 kg

Common questions

What size is the “4 F” in the title?

The raw file does not give a centimetre size. Weight is 900 g. Colour is blue.

What did the one-star review say?

The listing is 1.0 from 1 review. No review body is stored, so the reason is not in the file.

Does it need assembly?

The listing says assembly is not required. A bullet names a dual-layer Boston valve, grommets and a tether.

Bztezml 4 × 4 ft

Rank 9

Bztezml 4 × 4 ft

∼£18

Our view

The Bztezml round pillow is titled 4 × 4 ft at £17.99 and weighs 340 g. The raw file has no customer-review line and no review bodies, which is why the score is 0. The listing says fill to 70–80 percent using a standard manual or electric pump, and it does not say a pump is in the box. A dual-layer valve and ropes are mentioned, without a rope length or a millimetre thickness. No centimetre dimensions are printed beside the title. A 4 × 4 ft title with no reviews is not evidence that it fits a 12–16 ft round. Wait for a star line, or choose a listing whose reviews describe a pool pillow.

Pros

  • The title sits in the 4 × 4 ft class used on smaller rounds
  • A fill of 70–80 percent is stated
  • A dual-layer valve and ropes are mentioned

Cons

  • No star line and no review bodies
  • No centimetre dimensions
  • No thickness, and the weight is only 340 g

Best for: Only after amazon.co.uk shows reviews of this ASIN and you have checked a centimetre size.

Less suitable: A first winter pillow, because there is no review text to read.

Specifications

Model
Bztezml 4 × 4 ft
Brand
Bztezml
Price
∼£18
Shape
Round
Listed size
4 × 4 ft
Fill
70–80%
Valve
Dual-layer
Rope
Yes
Weight
0.34 kg

Common questions

Is there a star rating?

The raw file has no customer-review line and no review bodies.

How full should it be?

The listing says 70–80 percent, using a standard manual or electric pump. It does not say a pump is included.

What size and weight are printed?

The title says 4 × 4 ft. Weight is 340 g. No centimetre dimensions are printed. Material is PVC, colour royal blue.

How we compared

Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures stored for these nine listings, captured on 15 October 2026. They are not a live reload. The editorial score on each card runs from 0 to 100: stars up to 70, review volume up to 12, and listing clarity up to 18, then the deductions already stored for this set. A missing star line stays at 0. This is not a laboratory test, a freeze test, or a UK-wide ranking.

1

Stars

70%

Up to 70 points from the amazon.co.uk star line, as round(rating ÷ 5 × 70). A 4.7 becomes 66. A missing star line scores 0, and no other points are added.

2

Review volume

12%

Up to 12 points from the review count on that line. 100 or more reviews score 12. 50–99 score 10. 20–49 score 8. 5–19 score 4. 1–4 score 2.

3

Listing clarity

18%

Up to 18 points when the size line agrees with itself, a valve is named, a rope or tether is listed, a fill percent is printed, and one thickness figure is printed. Two thickness figures, or none, score 0 on thickness. A title that clashes with the size field scores 0 on size.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
9 sources checked

Pool cushion buying guide

Start with the size on the specification line, then a named valve and a rope, then reviews that describe that listing. A star rating does not tell you those three. The nine prices and review counts below are the amazon.co.uk figures stored for this comparison, captured on 15 October 2026, not a live reload. A cheap title can clash with its own size field. A hot-tub seat is not this winter pillow. None of these pillows was freeze-tested.

What is a pool cushion?

A pool cushion, in this comparison, is an inflatable PVC pillow that goes under the winter cover of a closed above-ground pool. UK shoppers also search for pool pillow, air pillow, and ice equaliser. The pillow crowns the cover so rain and snow move outwards. Makers say a soft centre gives expanding ice somewhere to compress. USGS notes that ice is about 9 percent less dense than liquid water, which supports the idea of expansion.

Best for

  • Owners closing a metal-frame or steel-wall pool who can check the size in centimetres
  • Households that already own a blower and need a valve and a rope

Not ideal for

  • Anyone treating a winter cover as a floor, or a hot-tub seat as this pillow
  • A buyer who needs a full UK winter already described in the reviews

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Filling to 100 percent

    The pillow has to compress. Listings in this set say about 70 percent, about 80 percent, or 70–80 percent. Yankee’s manual says about 60–70 percent. A pillow filled hard has nowhere to give when ice expands.

  2. 2

    Tying the ropes tight

    The rope goes through the grommets and is tied with slack. Yankee’s manual says centre the pillow and let the cover rest on the water around it. A German review of the Biigdan 240 × 120 cm pillow says it slips if you do not tie it before the cover goes on.

  3. 3

    Trusting a title that clashes with the size field

    The specification line wins. The Weiyidea title says about 4 × 4 ft and the size field says 33 cm. The Mineup title says “4 F” and gives no centimetre size. Under the Consumer Rights Act 2015, goods have to match the description.

What to weigh up

Listed size and one thickness

High

The specification line wins if it clashes with the title. Retailer charts, not a British Standard, put about 4 × 4 ft or 4 × 5 ft on many 12–16 ft rounds, about 4 × 8 ft on many 18–24 ft rounds and longer ovals, and about 4 × 15 ft on rounds around 27–33 ft. The pillow sits in the middle and is smaller than the pool. In this set the Biigdan 240 × 120 cm line agrees with a 4 × 8 ft title. The long Biigdan prints 450 × 120 cm. The EPN prints an uninflated 2.4 × 2.4 m.

Fill, rope and matching reviews

High

Partial inflation, about one-half to 80 percent, leaves room for the pillow to compress. EPN says about 70 percent and that a pump is not included. Totiro and Bztezml say 70–80 percent. Biigdan says about 80 percent. Yankee’s manual says centre the pillow, use about 60–70 percent, and let the cover rest on the water around it. The rope goes through the grommets and is tied with slack. A tight rope and a pillow filled to 100 percent are the mistakes the closing notes warn about.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Closing a mid-size pool

You are closing a round or oval where the retailer chart points at about 4 × 8 ft, and you already own a pump. The Biigdan 240 × 120 cm pillow is the top pick, at about £37.99. The three stored UK reviews describe this listing. A full winter is still untested.

Our recommendation

View offer

A large square you can measure

You want the lower price and a named 20 m rope, and you will check a 2.4 × 2.4 m square before you order. The EPN is the best value at about £23.74. Some UK texts describe a 4 × 4 ft pillow or a hot tub, so the badge is conditional.

Our recommendation

View offer

A very long oval

The chart suggests a 4 × 15 ft class footprint, and you can return a leaker. The Biigdan 450 × 120 cm pillow is the long rectangle, at about £57.99. A German review says it was flat within 12 hours on two tries. It is not the top pick.

Common questions about pool cushions

Which pool cushion is the top pick in this set?
The top pick is the Biigdan 240 × 120 cm pillow, about £37.99, with 4.7 from 27 amazon.co.uk reviews. The three stored UK reviews describe this listing, not a different size. The box lists a rope and two patches, the listing says about 80 percent, and no pump is included. It slips if you do not tie it before the cover goes on. A full winter is still untested.
Which pool cushion is the best value?
The best value is the EPN square, about £23.74, with 4.4 from 88 reviews and a 20 m rope. The uninflated size is 2.4 × 2.4 m, the bullet says 0.6 mm PVC, and the listing says about 70 percent through a double Boston valve. A pump is not included. Some UK bodies describe a 4 × 4 ft pillow or a hot tub, and one is an Amazon Vine review. Take it only if a large square is the footprint you measured.
How full should a pool cushion be?
Partial, about one-half to 80 percent, so the pillow can still compress. EPN says about 70 percent. Totiro and Bztezml say 70–80 percent. Biigdan says about 80 percent. Yankee’s manual says about 60–70 percent, centre the pillow, and let the cover rest on the water around it. Filling to 100 percent leaves no give. A pump is not in the Biigdan or EPN box, so you need one you already own.
What size pool cushion fits an above-ground pool?
The pillow sits in the middle and is smaller than the pool. Retailer charts, not a British Standard, put about 4 × 4 ft or 4 × 5 ft on many 12–16 ft rounds, about 4 × 8 ft on many 18–24 ft rounds and longer ovals, and about 4 × 15 ft on rounds around 27–33 ft. The specification line wins if it clashes with the title. Measure the pool, then match centimetres, not the title alone.
Does a pool cushion stop winter wall damage?
No pillow in this set was winter-tested, and a millimetre on a bullet is not a lab result. Makers say a soft centre absorbs expansion. USGS notes that ice is about 9 percent less dense than liquid water. That is not a test of these pillows. If a wall is already leaning, or a cable winch would bend an upright, ask the pool maker.
Is a winter cover a safety cover?
No. RLSS UK says a winter cover is not a safety cover. Households with children need a fence and supervision, and must not treat the cover as a floor. Do not chip ice off a cover. Standing water on a solid cover is a hazard. If someone is under a cover, call 999. The pool you are closing may be a steel wall pool.
What if the title and the size field disagree?
The specification line wins. The Weiyidea title says about 4 × 4 ft. The size field says 33 cm round, and the dimensions say 32.5 × 22 cm. Both stored UK reviews describe a spa lid, not an above-ground pool. That clash is an “as described” problem under the Consumer Rights Act 2015. Do not buy it as a 4 × 4 ft pool pillow. The Mineup title says “4 F” and gives no centimetre size, so you cannot place it on a retailer chart.
Should I add the two Totiro review counts together?
No. Both Totiro listings show 4.1 from 101 reviews, and the hero image and opening review match. The 3.6 m listing is 3.6 × 3.6 m and 7 kg. The 4 m listing is 4 × 4 m and 8 kg, model Pillow26-13.1. Stored bodies are not labelled United Kingdom, and they discuss sizes that are not those diameters. Treat the 101 as one shared shelf, not as UK evidence, and do not add the two counts.

Our verdict

The top pick is EPN 2.4 × 2.4 m, with the highest score in this comparison (8 out of 10, from 88 amazon.co.uk reviews). The best value is the EPN 2.4 × 2.4 m square, about £23.74, with a 20 m rope, if you have measured for that square and you accept that some UK texts describe a 4 × 4 ft pillow or a hot tub. The two Totiro counts of 101 are one shared line, not UK evidence for either diameter. The Weiyidea title and its 33 cm size field do not describe the same object.

Best overall
Biigdan 4 × 8 ft

Biigdan 4 × 8 ft

View offer
Best value
EPN 2.4 × 2.4 m

EPN 2.4 × 2.4 m

About £23.74 for a named 2.4 × 2.4 m square, a 20 m rope and 4.4 from 88 reviews, with the mixed UK texts kept in the score.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
DIY & toolsamazon.co.uk listingsUK buying guides

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
9 sources checked

Guides to pool cushions

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public sources for ice density, product safety, the Consumer Rights Act 2015, above-ground pool structure, and winter closing. Listings are the amazon.co.uk captures for these nine ASINs on 15 October 2026, not a live reload. Prices on amazon.co.uk move.

  1. USGS, water density (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, General Product Safety Regulations 2005 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK, EU Regulation 2023/988 on general product safety (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. Consumer Rights Act 2015 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. BSI, BS EN 16582-3:2015 above-ground pools (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. RLSS UK, water safety in residential swimming pools (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. Nature is Calling, how to winterise an above-ground pool (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. Yankee, pool air pillow user manual (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  9. World of Pools, air pillow for a debris cover (retrieved 16 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts come from those listings. We did not run a laboratory test. The scores rank a listing inside this set only.