Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Solarium comparison 2026

The best Solariums, compared.

Top pick: Jitesy three-panel lamp Best value: Funthy 001 LED panel – Best value: about £49.99, score 60, 4.7 from 10 reviews, the highest score under £80. No wavelength is printed, and ten reviews are a short sample. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

On amazon.co.uk, the word solarium covers visible-light LED lamps and one 12-tube facial tanner of ten listings. Check the stated wavelength, or the tube description, before you treat them as the same product. A useful listing names a wavelength, a timer or a distance, and eye protection. Prices and stars here are the amazon.co.uk figures saved. The NHS says there is no safe ultraviolet tan, and this stored page does not print a UV wavelength, so the award is the star-and-count result. How to pick a light family and a coverage shape is in the [solarium buying guide](/hub/steam-baths/solarium/sub/solarium-buying-guide). A solarium is either a visible-light LED lamp or one 12-tube facial tanner. 460 nm and 490 nm are visible blue. 660 nm and 850 nm are red and near-infrared. Do not invent a wavelength the listing omits. Watts and an LED count are not an ultraviolet dose. The (Regulation) Act 2010 defines a sunbed as a powered device that tans skin with ultraviolet radiation.

On amazon.co.uk, the word solarium covers visible-light LED lamps and one 12-tube facial tanner of ten listings. Check the stated wavelength, or the tube description, before you treat them as the same product.

Jitesy three-panel lamp

Best overall

Jitesy three-panel lamp
6.1/10∼ £160

36 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +18,600 readers

10 of 10: Best Solariums compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 10
Best overall
Jitesy three-panel lamp
Best value
Funthy 001 LED panel
Eurosolar 9212 facial tanner
BTSAE four-head lamp
Jitesy 225-LED panel
Jitesy four-head lamp
BTSAE 460 nm panel
Hocomay red and near-infrared stand
Axelrivet red and near-infrared stand
Jitesy 360-LED pad
6.1/10
6.2/10
6.5/10
5.4/10
5.4/10
5.8/10
3.9/10
3.3/10
1.0/10
1.0/10
∼ £160
∼ £50
∼ £399
∼ £75
∼ £40
∼ £110
∼ £40
∼ £30
∼ £25
∼ £210
5.0(4)
4.7(10)
4.0(59)
3.9(9)
3.8(12)
3.1(90)
2.8(4)
2.5(2)
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best Solariums in detail

Jitesy three-panel lamp

Rank 1

Jitesy three-panel lamp

∼£160

Our view

The Jitesy three-panel lamp is about £159.99, with 168 LEDs split as 84 at 460 nm and 84 at 490 nm. The bullets say you can use one panel, two, or all three, with modes for either wavelength or both, continuous or pulse. The timer is printed as 5–30 minutes, with five brightness levels. Wattage, distance, and goggles are not printed. Amazon shows 5.0 out of 5 from 4 reviews, and the file has three texts. One German text describes 225 LEDs and a hanging hook, which these bullets do not name, so that review may not be this unit. A perfect star line on four ratings is weaker evidence than 3.1 from 90 on the four-head Jitesy. The package is 44.2 × 16.5 × 6 cm at 1.22 kg. You pay for a modular panel set and a printed timer, without a review sample that clearly describes this lamp.

Pros

  • One, two, or three panels, as the bullets state
  • 460 nm and 490 nm printed, 84 LEDs each
  • Timer stated as 5–30 minutes
  • 5.0 from 4 reviews, with the limit that the sample is four

Cons

  • Only 4 reviews, and one text describes parts this listing does not print
  • No wattage, distance, or goggles
  • About £159.99, above both four-head stands

Best for: You want removable panels and a printed 5–30 minute timer, and you will not treat four stars as a settled result.

Less suitable: You want a review count you can lean on, or goggles named on the page.

Specifications

Model
Jitesy three-panel lamp
Brand
Jitesy
Price
∼£160
Customer rating
5.0/5(4)
Light
460 and 490 nm
Emitters
168 LEDs
Timer
5–30 min
Eye protection
Not stated
Weight
1.22 kg

Common questions

How do the panels work?

The bullets say you can use one, two, or all three panels, with 84 LEDs at 460 nm and 84 at 490 nm. Modes are either wavelength or both, continuous or pulse.

Is a timer printed?

Yes. The title and bullets say 5–30 minutes and five brightness levels. Distance, wattage, and goggles are not printed.

How strong is the 5.0 rating?

The listing says 5.0 out of 5 from 4 reviews, and the file has three texts. One German text describes 225 LEDs and a hanging hook, which these bullets do not name.

Funthy 001 LED panel

Rank 2

Funthy 001 LED panel

∼£50

Our view

Funthy's foldable 225-LED lamp is about £49.99, and the title names an eye mask and a tripod. Wavelength and wattage are not printed, and there is no timer on the page. Amazon shows 4.7 out of 5 from 10 reviews, the strongest star line among the panels under £50, and eight texts are in the file. Several United Kingdom reviews mention colour and even coverage, and none of those texts describe a failed unit. The seller copy says 30–50 cm and 30 minutes a day, with a colour change usually in 20–30 days, which is a claim rather than a measured result. Ten reviews are still a short sample next to the 90-review four-head lamp. On the star-and-count score used here it is 60, three points behind the tube tanner at about £399, which is why it is the best value in this table. The missing wavelength is the limit: you do not know which light you are buying.

Pros

  • 4.7 out of 5 from 10 reviews
  • Several UK reviews mention colour and even coverage
  • About £49.99, with a score of 60
  • Title names an eye mask and a tripod
  • No failed unit in the eight stored texts

Cons

  • No wavelength and no wattage printed
  • Eye mask is in the title only, not described in the bullets
  • No printed timer
  • Ten reviews are a short sample

Best for: You want the strongest star line under £50 and you can accept a panel that never prints a nanometre.

Less suitable: You need a stated wavelength, a timer, or a review count in the dozens.

Specifications

Model
Funthy 001 LED panel
Brand
Funthy
Price
∼£50
Customer rating
4.7/5(10)
Light
Not printed
Emitters
225 LEDs
Timer
Not stated
Eye protection
Yes
Distance
30–50 cm
Weight
1 kg

Common questions

Does the listing name eye protection?

The title says an eye mask and a tripod. The bullets do not describe the mask. Wavelength and wattage are not printed.

What distance and routine does the seller give?

The bullets say 30–50 cm and 30 minutes a day, with a colour change usually in 20–30 days. There is no printed timer.

What do the reviews in the file say?

Amazon shows 4.7 out of 5 from 10 reviews. Eight texts are in the file. Several United Kingdom reviews mention colour and even coverage. None describe a failed unit.

Eurosolar 9212 facial tanner

Rank 3

Eurosolar 9212 facial tanner

∼£399

Our view

The Facial Tanner Eurosolar 9212 is the only tube unit in this set, at about £399.00, with 12 tubes, a package weight of 7 kg, and bullets that describe a turbo model with blue and red tubes. No nanometres or wattage appear in the stored technical block. The stored amazon.co.uk line is 4.0 out of 5 from 59 reviews, and the star-and-count score is 63, the highest here. Praise in the file is often easy use and facial colour. Complaints include a stand that blocks the doors, side panels that will not stay open, sitting close, and some reports of no tan. One review says the English manual starts every skin type at 5 minutes, steps by 5 minutes, says no closer than 25 cm, and says 48 hours between sessions. Those figures are that review of a manual, not the bullet list. The NHS says there is no safe ultraviolet tan, and this stored page does not print a UV wavelength, so the tubes are not a measured UV type in this file. The score leads the table because of stars and review count.

Pros

  • 4.0 out of 5 from 59 reviews
  • Highest score in this set, at 63
  • 12 tubes and a 7 kg facial tanner, not an LED panel
  • Reviews often mention easy use and facial colour
  • One review quotes a manual: 5-minute steps, 25 cm, 48 hours between sessions

Cons

  • About £399.00, the highest price in the set
  • Stored bullets do not print nanometres, wattage, or goggles
  • Reviews mention a stand that blocks the doors, panels that will not stay open, and some cases of no tan
  • A tube tanner sits under the NHS warning that there is no safe UV tan

Best for: You want the 12-tube facial tanner with the strongest score in this table, and you have read the NHS warning on ultraviolet tanning.

Less suitable: You want a visible LED lamp, a price under £100, or a result described as safe.

Specifications

Model
Eurosolar 9212 facial tanner
Brand
Eurosolar
Price
∼£399
Customer rating
4.0/5(59)
Light
Blue, red tubes
Emitters
12 tubes
Timer
Not stated
Eye protection
Not stated
Weight
7 kg

Common questions

Is this an LED panel?

No. The title says a facial tanner with 12 tubes, and the bullets say a turbo model with blue and red tubes. No nanometres or wattage are printed. The package weight is 7 kg.

What do reviewers say about the timer and distance?

One review says the English manual starts every skin type at 5 minutes, steps the timer by 5 minutes, says no closer than 25 cm, and says 48 hours between sessions. Those figures are from that review of the manual, not from the bullet list.

What fails in the reviews?

The listing is 4.0 out of 5 from 59 reviews. Praise is often easy use and facial colour. Complaints include a stand that blocks the doors, side panels that will not stay open, sitting close, and some reports of no tan.

BTSAE four-head lamp

Rank 4

BTSAE four-head lamp

∼£75

Our view

The BTSAE four-head lamp is about £74.99 and prints 460 nm and 490 nm, 60 W, 420 LEDs, and four gooseneck heads on an adjustable stand. The remote is said to adjust mode, intensity, and time, but the minute steps are not listed, and goggles are not named. The seller routine is 20–30 minutes at 30–50 cm, once or twice a day. The listing is 3.9 out of 5 from 9 reviews. Of the four texts in the file, two mention a skin condition, including one that calls the lamp UVB, which these bullets do not print. One calls it junk, and one says it does not tan. A reviewer's UVB label is not a specification, and nine reviews cannot settle a skin-condition claim. You are paying more than the panels at about £39.99 for four heads and a printed blue pair, without eye protection in the bullets.

Pros

  • 460 nm and 490 nm printed, with 60 W and 420 LEDs
  • Four gooseneck heads and a remote
  • About £74.99, below the other four-head stand

Cons

  • Goggles are not stated
  • Timer steps are not printed
  • One review calls it UVB, which the listing does not print
  • One text says it does not tan, and one calls it junk

Best for: You want four heads with 460 nm and 490 nm on the page, at about £74.99, and you will ignore skin-condition comments in the reviews.

Less suitable: You want goggles in the bullets, a large review file, or a lamp for a skin disease.

Specifications

Model
BTSAE four-head lamp
Brand
BTSAE
Price
∼£75
Customer rating
3.9/5(9)
Light
460 and 490 nm
Emitters
420 LEDs
Power
60 W
Timer
Not stated
Eye protection
Not stated
Distance
30–50 cm
Weight
1.6 kg

Common questions

What light does the listing specify?

The bullets say 460 nm and 490 nm, 60 W, four heads, and 420 LEDs. They do not name goggles or a plug type.

Can you set a session time?

The bullets say the remote adjusts mode, intensity, and time. They do not list the minute steps. The seller routine is 20–30 minutes at 30–50 cm, 1–2 times a day.

What do the four review texts say?

The listing is 3.9 out of 5 from 9 reviews. Two texts mention a skin condition, including one that calls it UVB, which the listing does not print. One calls it junk. One says it does not tan.

Jitesy 225-LED panel

Rank 5

Jitesy 225-LED panel

∼£40

Our view

The Jitesy 225-LED panel is about £39.99 with 45 W, a folding stand, hanging hooks, and protective goggles named in the bullets. No nanometres are printed, so you cannot treat it as the same 460 nm lamp as the BTSAE panel beside it, even though both state 45 W and 225 LEDs. The listing is 3.8 out of 5 from 12 reviews. Three of the five texts in the file are positive, including one mention of SAD, one says only the self-tan oil worked, and one says five uses did nothing and the lamp failed on the sixth. The seller distance splits into 30–50 cm for a full-body claim and 16–20 cm for a local area, with a once-a-day line of 7–15 minutes, and there is no printed timer. A SAD mention is not a treatment, and a bullet that says harmful light is filtered is a claim, not a test in this file. You get goggles and a stated watt at about £39.99, with a mixed result on a still-small sample.

Pros

  • Goggles, a folding stand, and hanging hooks named
  • 45 W and 225 LEDs stated at about £39.99
  • 3.8 out of 5 from 12 reviews, more than the 460 nm panel
  • Three of five stored texts are positive

Cons

  • No wavelength printed
  • One text says five uses did nothing and it failed on the sixth
  • One text says only the self-tan oil worked
  • No timer, and the full-body distance is a seller claim

Best for: You want a cheap panel with goggles in the bullets and you will read the mixed 12-review file before you expect a colour change.

Less suitable: You need a printed nanometre, a timer, or a result the reviews agree on.

Specifications

Model
Jitesy 225-LED panel
Brand
Jitesy
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
3.8/5(12)
Light
Not printed
Emitters
225 LEDs
Power
45 W
Timer
Not stated
Eye protection
Yes
Distance
30–50 cm
Weight
1.42 kg

Common questions

Which wavelength is printed?

None. The bullets claim harmful light is filtered and name 45 W and 225 LEDs. They do not give nanometres.

Are goggles included?

Yes. The bullets say to wear the provided protective goggles. The listing also says it is not waterproof and is corded.

What do the five review texts say?

The listing is 3.8 out of 5 from 12 reviews. Three texts are positive, including one mention of SAD. One says only the self-tan oil worked. One says five uses did nothing and it failed on the sixth.

Jitesy four-head lamp

Rank 6

Jitesy four-head lamp

∼£110

Our view

The Jitesy four-head stand is about £109.99, with 60 W, 432 LEDs, 460 nm and 490 nm, five brightness levels, constant or pulse, a timer, and a remote. It is the largest review file in the set: 3.1 out of 5 from 90 ratings, which is why the sample block of the score is at the cap. In the 35 texts stored with the listing, no tan is the repeated complaint. A few report colour or less itching, and two describe a skin condition improving while the person was still using prescribed cream. Distance and timer steps are not printed. The bullets do not name goggles, though one review says the included sunglasses were too large and left untanned skin around the eyes. The technical dimensions are listed as 5 × 8 × 8 cm against a weight of 1.69 kg, which does not describe a floor stand, so treat that size line as unreliable. This is the lamp people have argued about, and the argument is mostly that colour did not change.

Pros

  • 90 reviews, the largest sample in this set
  • 460 nm and 490 nm, 60 W, and 432 LEDs printed
  • Four heads, five levels, a timer, and a remote
  • A few texts report colour or less itching

Cons

  • 3.1 out of 5, and no tan is the repeated complaint
  • Distance and timer steps are not printed
  • Goggles are not in the bullets; one review says oversized sunglasses left a pale ring
  • Listed size of 5 × 8 × 8 cm does not match a 1.69 kg stand

Best for: You want the blue LED stand with the most amazon.co.uk reviews, and you have read that many of those reviews report no tan.

Less suitable: You need the reviews to support a colour change, or you want goggles named in the bullets.

Specifications

Model
Jitesy four-head lamp
Brand
Jitesy
Price
∼£110
Customer rating
3.1/5(90)
Light
460 and 490 nm
Emitters
432 LEDs
Power
60 W
Timer
Not stated
Eye protection
Not stated
Weight
1.69 kg

Common questions

What is printed for light and controls?

The listing says 60 W, 432 LEDs, 460 nm and 490 nm, four heads, five brightness levels, constant or pulse, a timer, and a remote. Distance and timer steps are not printed.

Does the listing include eye protection?

The bullets do not name goggles. One review says the included sunglasses were too large and left untanned skin around the eyes.

What is the main review theme?

Amazon shows 3.1 out of 5 from 90 reviews. In the 35 texts in the file, no tan is the repeated complaint. A few report colour or less itching. Two describe a skin condition improving while still using prescribed cream.

BTSAE 460 nm panel

Rank 7

BTSAE 460 nm panel

∼£40

Our view

The BTSAE panel at about £39.99 is one of the cheap rows that prints a wavelength: 460 nm, with 45 W and 225 LEDs. The bullets include goggles and a hook or an adjustable desktop stand, and they suggest 20–30 cm for 30 minutes, once or twice a day. A timer is not printed, and a tanning-lotion line in the bullets is seller copy. Amazon shows 2.8 out of 5 from 4 reviews. The only text says the lamp was really light and the buyer was disappointed, without saying whether that means weight or brightness. The package weight is 1.1 kg, so a light unit is plausible, and that reading is still a guess from one sentence. Four reviews are a thin file if you are hoping for a colour change. The printed light is 460 nm visible blue, and the page does not give an ultraviolet type.

Pros

  • 460 nm printed, with 45 W and 225 LEDs
  • Goggles stated, plus a hook or desktop stand
  • About £39.99, level with the other 45 W panel

Cons

  • 2.8 out of 5 from 4 reviews
  • The only review text is a vague complaint that it was really light
  • No timer printed
  • Seller distance of 20–30 cm is a spot range, not a bed

Best for: You want a panel at about £39.99 that names 460 nm and goggles, and you will not treat four reviews as proof of a tan.

Less suitable: You want a timer, a large review file, or a 12-tube canopy.

Specifications

Model
BTSAE 460 nm panel
Brand
BTSAE
Price
∼£40
Customer rating
2.8/5(4)
Light
460 nm
Emitters
225 LEDs
Power
45 W
Timer
Not stated
Eye protection
Yes
Distance
20–30 cm
Weight
1.1 kg

Common questions

Does it include goggles and a stand?

The bullets say goggles are included, and that you can hang it on a hook or use a desktop stand with adjustable angle and height. A timer is not printed.

What distance does the seller give?

The bullets say 20–30 cm, for 30 minutes, 1–2 times a day. They also suggest a tanning lotion. That is seller copy.

What is in the review file?

Amazon shows 2.8 out of 5 from 4 reviews. The only text says the lamp was really light and the buyer was disappointed. It does not say whether that means weight or brightness.

Hocomay red and near-infrared stand

Rank 8

Hocomay red and near-infrared stand

∼£30

Our view

Hocomay's 126-LED stand is about £29.99, prints 660 nm and 850 nm, and states 20 W rather than the 50 W on the Axelrivet row. The stand height is given as 65–186 cm with an adjustable angle, the timer steps are 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, or 30 minutes, and the bullets name protective goggles. Amazon shows 2.5 out of 5 from 2 reviews, and the only text in the file says it is a good price for a basic item without describing a tan or a fault. The lamp is corded and listed as not waterproof. The seller routine is 5–20 minutes at 30–50 cm, once or twice a day, which is a shorter window than the Axelrivet copy on a similar wavelength pair. Two reviews cannot tell you whether the stand is stable at 186 cm. This is a red and near-infrared lamp with goggles named, and the star line is too thin to lean on.

Pros

  • Protective goggles named in the bullets
  • Stand height stated as 65–186 cm
  • Timer in 5-minute steps up to 30 minutes
  • 660 nm and 850 nm printed, with three modes

Cons

  • 2.5 out of 5 from only 2 reviews
  • The only review text does not describe a result or a fault
  • 20 W, lower than the other 126-LED stand
  • Listed as corded and not waterproof

Best for: You want a 660 nm and 850 nm stand with goggles and a stated height range, and you will treat two reviews as a hint only.

Less suitable: You want a star line you can trust, or a blue LED or tube tanner.

Specifications

Model
Hocomay red and near-infrared stand
Brand
Hocomay
Price
∼£30
Customer rating
2.5/5(2)
Light
660 and 850 nm
Emitters
126 LEDs
Power
20 W
Timer
5–30 min
Eye protection
Yes
Distance
30–50 cm
Weight
1.25 kg

Common questions

Are goggles in the listing?

Yes. The bullets say the stand includes protective goggles. The lamp is corded and listed as not waterproof.

What timer steps are printed?

The bullets list 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, and 30 minutes, plus five brightness levels and three wavelength modes.

What do the reviews in the file say?

The listing shows 2.5 out of 5 from 2 reviews. The only text says it is a good price for a basic item and does not describe a tan or a fault.

Axelrivet red and near-infrared stand

Rank 9

Axelrivet red and near-infrared stand

∼£25

Our view

The Axelrivet stand lists at about £24.88 on amazon.co.uk with 126 LEDs, a stated 50 W, and peaks of 660 nm and 850 nm, which is red and near-infrared. The bullets give a timer from 5 to 30 minutes and a seller distance of 30–50 cm, with a suggested 20–30 minutes once or twice a day. Eye protection is not named. The file has no customer-review line, so the score is 0 because there is nothing to count, and that zero is not a quality mark. The stand is described as height-adjustable and retractable without a centimetre range, and the package is 34 × 15.5 × 5.6 cm at 1.15 kg. You are looking at the cheapest row in this set, with no buyer text on a tan, a fault, or whether the stand stays put. Treat the seller routine as copy, and do not read 50 W as an ultraviolet output.

Pros

  • Prints 660 nm and 850 nm, with modes for both or either
  • 50 W and 126 LEDs stated
  • Timer printed as 5–30 minutes
  • About £24.88, the lowest shelf price in this set

Cons

  • No customer-review line in the raw file
  • Eye protection is not stated
  • Stand height has no centimetre range
  • Seller session times are copy, not a tested dose

Best for: You want a cheap red and near-infrared stand with a printed timer, and you will accept a listing with no reviews.

Less suitable: You want buyer feedback, named goggles, or a tube facial tanner.

Specifications

Model
Axelrivet red and near-infrared stand
Brand
Axelrivet
Price
∼£25
Light
660 and 850 nm
Emitters
126 LEDs
Power
50 W
Timer
5–30 min
Eye protection
Not stated
Distance
30–50 cm
Weight
1.15 kg

Common questions

Which wavelengths does the listing print?

The title and bullets say 660 nm and 850 nm, with three modes: both, 660 nm only, or 850 nm only. They do not print a UV wavelength.

Does the listing include goggles?

No. The bullets name a metal base, a 5–30 minute timer, and a 30–50 cm distance. Eye protection is not listed.

How long does the seller say to use it?

The bullets say 1–2 sessions a day for 20–30 minutes at 30–50 cm. That is the seller's routine, not a tested dose.

Jitesy 360-LED pad

Rank 10

Jitesy 360-LED pad

∼£210

Our view

The Jitesy pad is about £209.99 and states a soft surface of 100 × 60 cm with 360 LEDs at 460 nm and 490 nm. It lists five brightness levels and three modes: constant, a 10 Hz pulse, and a 40 Hz pulse. You can lie it flat or hang it. A minute timer, wattage, distance, and goggles are not printed. The package is 40.5 × 31.7 × 10.3 cm and 2.34 kg, which is the carton rather than the unfolded pad. The raw file has no customer-review line, so the score is 0, and that zero is a missing sample rather than a verdict that the pad fails. At more than double the price of the four-head Jitesy, you are buying a stated area with no buyer text in this file. The seller line is shorter sessions first, then the instructions, which is not a dose you can copy from another row.

Pros

  • Pad stated as 100 × 60 cm, with 360 LEDs
  • 460 nm and 490 nm printed
  • Five levels and three modes, including 10 Hz and 40 Hz pulse
  • Can lie flat or hang, as the bullets state

Cons

  • No customer-review line, so the score is 0
  • No timer, wattage, distance, or goggles
  • About £209.99, the second-highest price in the set

Best for: You want a 100 × 60 cm pad with 460 nm and 490 nm on the listing, and you accept that this file has no reviews.

Less suitable: You want buyer feedback, a printed timer, or a face canopy.

Specifications

Model
Jitesy 360-LED pad
Brand
Jitesy
Price
∼£210
Light
460 and 490 nm
Emitters
360 LEDs
Timer
Not stated
Eye protection
Not stated
Weight
2.34 kg

Common questions

How large is the pad?

The bullets say 100 x 60 cm with 360 LEDs at 460 nm and 490 nm. You can lie it flat or hang it. The package is 40.5 x 31.7 x 10.3 cm and 2.34 kg.

What controls are printed?

Five brightness levels and three modes: constant, 10 Hz pulse, and 40 Hz pulse. A minute timer, wattage, distance, and goggles are not printed.

Are there reviews in the file?

No. The raw file has no customer-review line and no review texts, so the score is 0. That is a missing line, not a quality mark.

How we compared

Ten amazon.co.uk listings, saved on 20 October 2026, were scored from the stored star lines. If the raw file has no star line, the score is 0. Otherwise the score is the star share, out of 50, plus a review-sample block out of 25 on a log scale that reaches its cap at 90 reviews. There is no sentiment adjustment and no price inside the score. The top pick is the highest score, once. Best value is the highest score under £80. This is not a laboratory test, a spectrometer reading, or a safety verdict. In sentences this page says top pick and best value.

1

Amazon star share

67%

The first block of the score: stars divided by 5, then times 50. A 4.0 contributes 40. A missing star line contributes 0, and that zero is not a quality mark.

2

Review sample

33%

The second block, out of 25, on a log scale that reaches the cap at 90 reviews. Ten reviews stay a short sample. Ninety reviews fill the block. Review text is not added or subtracted.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Solarium buying guide

Choose the light family before the wattage. On amazon.co.uk this set mixes visible-light LED lamps with one 12-tube facial tanner, from about £24.88 to about £399.00. A useful listing names a wavelength, a timer or a distance, and eye protection. A star line only means as much as its review count. Nothing here was spectrometer-tested, and this is not medical advice.

What is a solarium on amazon.co.uk?

A solarium in this set is either a visible-light LED lamp or one 12-tube facial tanner. 460 nm and 490 nm are visible blue. 660 nm and 850 nm are red and near-infrared. Twelve tubes are another emitter. Do not invent a wavelength the listing omits. Watts and an LED count are not an ultraviolet dose. If the device emits UV, the NHS says there is no safe cosmetic UV tan. The Sunbeds (Regulation) Act 2010 defines a sunbed as a powered device that tans skin with ultraviolet radiation.

Best for

  • You want a 12-tube facial tanner and you have read the NHS line that there is no safe UV tan
  • You want a visible LED lamp and you will check the printed nanometres before you compare watts

Not ideal for

  • You want a lamp to treat psoriasis, eczema, acne, low vitamin D, or low mood
  • You will treat a seller's minutes, or a 5.0 from four reviews, as a tested dose

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading solarium as ultraviolet

    Nine of these listings are visible-light LEDs. 460 nm and 490 nm are blue. 660 nm and 850 nm are red and near-infrared. Only the Eurosolar 9212 is a 12-tube facial tanner, and even that page does not print a UV wavelength. LED watts are not a UV dose.

  2. 2

    Copying one brand's minutes onto another

    Seller routines in this set do not agree. Some say 5–20 minutes, some 30 minutes, some a colour change in 20–30 days. A printed timer is not that routine. The 5-minute steps, 25 cm, and 48 hours on the tube tanner come from one review of a manual, not from the bullets.

  3. 3

    Fashion sunglasses, or a skin-condition review as treatment

    HSE INDG209 names burns and eye irritation without proper goggles. Oversized shields can leave a pale ring, which is what one review says about the included sunglasses on the £109.99 Jitesy. A comment about psoriasis, eczema, acne, or SAD is not a specification, and these listings do not claim those uses.

What to weigh up

Light, coverage and controls

High

Light family comes first. 460 nm and 490 nm are visible blue. 660 nm and 850 nm are red and near-infrared. Twelve tubes are another emitter. Do not invent a wavelength the listing omits. The Funthy 001 and the Jitesy 225-LED panel state no nanometres. The BTSAE panel at about £39.99 does print 460 nm. Coverage is the next split. A compact panel, four heads, three removable panels, a pad stated as 100 by 60 cm, and a face canopy do not cover the same skin in one sitting.

Eyes, evidence and price

High

Some boxes name goggles. The Hocomay, the BTSAE 460 nm panel, and the Jitesy 225-LED panel do. The Funthy eye mask is in the title only. Several stands do not name eye protection in the bullets. HSE INDG209 names burns and eye irritation without proper goggles. The ASA forbids calling UV tanning safe. The NHS says there is no safe UV tan. Evidence is the star line plus the count.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A salon-style facial colour

A salon-style colour change points at the tube tanner, and at the NHS warning, not at a 660 nm and 850 nm stand. The Eurosolar 9212 is about £399.00, 12 tubes, 7 kg, 4.0 from 59 reviews, score 63. The stored page does not print a UV wavelength. Reviews often mention easy use and facial colour. Some report no tan.

The highest score under £80

Funthy 001 is about £49.99, 4.7 from 10 reviews, score 60, with 225 LEDs. The title names an eye mask and a tripod. Wavelength and wattage are not printed, and ten reviews are a short sample. The Jitesy 225-LED panel is cheaper at about £39.99 and scores 52.

A face stand or a larger pad

A face lamp and a bed pad do not cover the same skin. The Jitesy four-head stand is about £109.99, 460 nm and 490 nm, 3.1 from 90 reviews, and many of those reviews say it did not tan. The Jitesy pad is about £209.99, stated as 100 by 60 cm, with no star line in the file.

Common questions about Solariums

Which solarium is the top pick for 2026?
The top pick is the Facial Tanner Eurosolar 9212 at about £399.00. It is the only 12-tube unit in this set, at 7 kg, and the stored amazon.co.uk line is 4.0 from 59 reviews. The star-and-count score is 63, the highest here. The award is that result, not a safety verdict. The NHS says there is no safe ultraviolet tan, and this stored page does not print a UV wavelength. Reviews often mention easy use and facial colour. Some report no tan or a stand that blocks the doors.
Which solarium is the best value?
The best value is the Funthy 001 at about £49.99. The score is 60, from 4.7 and 10 reviews, which is the highest score under £80. The title names an eye mask and a tripod. Wavelength and wattage are not printed, and there is no timer. Several United Kingdom reviews mention colour and even coverage. Ten reviews are still a short sample. The Jitesy 225-LED panel is cheaper at about £39.99 and scores 52, and it also prints no nanometres.
How much does a solarium cost on amazon.co.uk?
In this set, saved on 20 October 2026, shelf prices run from about £24.88 to about £399.00. About £25 to £50 covers the Axelrivet, the Hocomay, both 45 W panels, and the Funthy. About £75 to £160 covers both four-head lamps and the three-panel set. About £210 to £399 covers the blue pad, which has no star line, and the 12-tube tanner. Under £50 you are not buying that tube unit. These are amazon.co.uk shelf prices in the raw files, not a UK census.
Is a home solarium the same as a UV sunbed?
Not in most of this set. Nine listings are LED lamps. 460 nm and 490 nm are visible blue. 660 nm and 850 nm are red and near-infrared. The Eurosolar 9212 is 12 tubes, and the bullets say blue and red tubes, without nanometres. The Sunbeds (Regulation) Act 2010 defines a sunbed as a powered device that tans skin with ultraviolet radiation. GOV.UK says UKHSA and the WHO discourage cosmetic sunbeds. Do not read LED watts as a UV dose.
Will one of these lamps raise vitamin D or treat a skin condition?
These listings do not specify treatment of psoriasis, eczema, acne, low vitamin D, or use as a mood lamp. Cancer Research UK says not to use sunbeds for vitamin D. NIH ties skin synthesis to UVB at about 290 to 320 nm, and the LED peaks in this set are not that band. A review that mentions a skin condition, or one that calls a lamp UVB when the listing does not print UVB, is not a specification. Ask a clinician about a skin disease you hope to treat.
What should a solarium listing print before you buy?
A useful listing names a wavelength, a timer or a distance, and eye protection. A printed timer is not a seller's suggested routine, and those routines disagree. Do not copy one brand's minutes onto another. If goggles appear only in a review or only in the title, treat that as a gap. A 5.0 from 4 reviews is weaker evidence than 3.1 from 90. No file here states the plug. UK mains are 230 V and the plug should be BS 1363.
When should you ask a clinician instead of buying?
Ask a clinician about a skin disease you hope to treat, a changing mole, a burn, or eye pain. Do the same before any UV source if you are under 18, pregnant, on a photosensitising medicine, or have melanoma in the family. The Act's core duty is commercial premises. A DHSC consultation proposes an England sale or hire ban for under-18s. That proposal is not the current offence. Scotland and Northern Ireland restrict commercial use under their own Acts.
Do you need separate solarium glasses?
Some boxes name goggles. Some do not. HSE INDG209 names burns and eye irritation without proper goggles. Fashion sunglasses and oversized shields are the usual miss: one review of the Jitesy at about £109.99 says the included sunglasses were too large and left untanned skin around the eyes. Eyewear is the separate solarium glasses comparison. Match the glasses to the lamp, and do not treat a title-only eye mask as a tested shield.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Facial Tanner Eurosolar 9212 at about £399.00. It has the highest score in this set, 63, from 4.0 and 59 reviews. The award is that star-and-count result, not a safety verdict. The NHS says there is no safe ultraviolet tan, and the stored page does not print a UV wavelength. The best value is the Funthy 001 at about £49.99, score 60, 4.7 from 10 reviews. It is the highest score under £80. The Jitesy 225-LED panel is cheaper at about £39.99 and scores 52. Funthy's missing wavelength stays a limit. A score of 0 means the raw file has no customer-review line.

Best overall
Jitesy three-panel lamp

Jitesy three-panel lamp

View offer
Best value
Funthy 001 LED panel

Funthy 001 LED panel

Best value: about £49.99, score 60, 4.7 from 10 reviews, the highest score under £80. No wavelength is printed, and ten reviews are a short sample.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Steam bathsSolariumsDIY & tools

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to Solariums

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources used for this comparison. Listing prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures saved for these ten ASINs on 20 October 2026.

  1. Sunbeds (Regulation) Act 2010 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, sunbed safety advice (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  3. NHS, sunscreen and sun safety (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  4. Cancer Research UK, how sunbeds cause skin cancer (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  5. HSE INDG209, controlling the risks from UV tanning (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  6. ASA, beauty and cosmetics: sunbeds (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  7. NIH, vitamin D fact sheet for health professionals (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  8. DHSC, strengthening the regulation of commercial sunbeds in England (retrieved 20 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines saved on 20 October 2026. We did not run a lab test, and this is not medical advice.