Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: Caiqinlen 4.5 kW steam generator Best value: Mxmoonant 6 kW sauna heater – Best value: about £269.00, with the same 6 kW and 5–9 m³ band. The star line is 3.8 from 8, and a UK review reports a dent. Updated October 2026.
A sauna heater is one of three products: an electric stone stove for a dry sauna, a steam generator for a wet cabin or shower, or a wood stove for an outdoor tent.
Match the listing’s type and the room band printed on that page to the room you are fitting. A 6 kW stone stove is about 26 A at 230 V, so it needs a dedicated circuit. None of these seven includes a 13 A lead, and stones are extra on the stone stoves.
Those checks are in the [sauna heater buying guide](/hub/steam-baths/sauna-heater/sub/sauna-heater-buying-guide).
An electric stone stove is for a dry cabin, with water poured on stones you buy separately. A steam generator heats water and sends vapour to a nozzle, for a wet room around the 25–55°C band printed on the steam listings. The wood stove here is the unit: 16 kg of stainless steel for an outdoor tent and for cooking, with a damper and a spark-arrestor claim.
A sauna heater is one of three products: an electric stone stove for a dry sauna, a steam generator for a wet cabin or shower, or a wood stove for an outdoor tent.
A sauna heater is one of three products: an electric stone stove for a dry sauna, a steam generator for a wet cabin or shower, or a wood stove for an outdoor tent.
Match the listing’s type and the room band printed on that page to the room you are fitting. A 6 kW stone stove is about 26 A at 230 V, so it needs a dedicated circuit. None of these seven includes a 13 A lead, and stones are extra on the stone stoves.
Those checks are in the [sauna heater buying guide](/hub/steam-baths/sauna-heater/sub/sauna-heater-buying-guide).
An electric stone stove is for a dry cabin, with water poured on stones you buy separately. A steam generator heats water and sends vapour to a nozzle, for a wet room around the 25–55°C band printed on the steam listings. The wood stove here is the unit: 16 kg of stainless steel for an outdoor tent and for cooking, with a damper and a spark-arrestor claim.
A sauna heater is one of three products: an electric stone stove for a dry sauna, a steam generator for a wet cabin or shower, or a wood stove for an outdoor tent. Match the listing’s type and the room band printed on that page to the room you are fitting. A 6 kW stone stove is about 26 A at 230 V, so it needs a dedicated circuit. None of these seven includes a 13 A lead, and stones are extra on the stone stoves. Those checks are in the sauna heater buying guide.
The Caiqinlen generator is listed at about £193.05 as a 4.5 kW, 220 V steam unit with a 35–55°C band, an LED display, and a 1–60 minute timer. The bullets also claim water-shortage protection, dry-burn prevention, and over-voltage protection, and they say the tank is about 20% larger than an ordinary tank. The size line is a package of 48.2 × 39.1 × 17.5 cm and 7.6 kg. No room volume and no material are printed. The listing tells elderly people, pregnant women, and people with heart disease, high blood pressure, or diabetes not to use it unless a physician guides them. amazon.co.uk shows 4.7 from 4 reviews. The only text says the price and that delivery was on time.
Pros
Temperature band and timer are both printed
Water-shortage, dry-burn, and over-voltage lines are on the listing
About £193.05 is below the CGOLDENWALL kit in this set
Cons
No room band and no material
Only one review text, and it does not describe steam
A plug and a drain are not stated
Best for: You are pricing a small steam shower, and you will confirm the room band, the material, and the drain from the manual before ordering.
Less suitable: You need a dry sauna, a stated cubic-metre band, or more than a two-word UK review.
The Mxmoonant WS-37-WJY is listed at about £297.00 as a 6 kW wall stove for a stated 5–9 m³, with digital time and temperature control. The body line is 48 × 34 × 57 cm and 13.56 kg. Stones of 18–20 kg and a plug are both stated as not included, and the notice asks for a licensed electrician because the heater is written for 215–240 V single-phase and 380–415 V three-phase. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 8 reviews. One UK review says it heated quickly and that the timer switched the sauna off. A German review says the temperature sensor failed and the unit was returned. A French review says a 16 A supply stopped it after about five minutes and that a 32 A breaker with 6 mm² cable was used.
Pros
One 6 kW figure and a printed 5–9 m³ band
Plug and stone weight are both named as missing
Body size 48 × 34 × 57 cm and 13.56 kg is on the listing
A UK review describes the timer switching off
Cons
Single-phase and three-phase are both printed
A German review reports a dead sensor and a return
Eight reviews is still a thin sample, and only one text is from the United Kingdom
Best for: You are fitting a dry home sauna in the stated 5–9 m³ band, and you will hand the data plate and the wiring diagram to an electrician and buy stones separately.
Less suitable: You want a 13 A plug, stones in the box, or a single supply voltage already settled on the listing.
Does the Mxmoonant WS-37-WJY include sauna stones?
The notice says 18–20 kg of sauna stones are required and that the stones are not included. A review from France also says to buy about 20 kg extra.
Does this 6 kW heater come with a plug?
The notice says it does not come with a plug and that a licensed electrician should do the wiring. The same notice lists 215–240 V single-phase and 380–415 V three-phase.
What room size does the listing claim?
The bullets say the 6 kW heater is for sauna rooms of 170–300 ft³, written on the same line as 5–9 m³.
The CGOLDENWALL CNA 643D is listed at about £426.54 as a 4.5 kW steam generator for a stated 3–4.5 m³, with a 25–55°C touch controller and a timer from 30 minutes to 12 hours. The body is 35 × 18 × 24 cm and 12 kg, in stainless steel. The box list names a nozzle, a 10 m control cable, a 3 m probe, a drain valve, and a safety valve. The voltage field says 220 V and the pattern field says 380V. amazon.co.uk shows 4.0 from 6 reviews, and none of the three written reviews is from the United Kingdom. A German review describes about two years of weekly steam-shower use. An Italian review says the safety valve vented about 15 minutes after switch-off.
Pros
Room band, temperature band, and a parts list are all printed
Drain valve and safety valve are named in the box
Aroma at the steam head is claimed
Cons
220 V and 380V are both printed
An Italian review reports the safety valve opening after switch-off
No review text from the United Kingdom on the listing
Best for: You are building a small wet room in the stated 3–4.5 m³, and you will match the data plate to the supply and plumb the drain.
Less suitable: You want a dry stone sauna, or a single voltage already settled on the listing.
The included-components line lists a steam generator, steam nozzle, 10 m control cable, 3 m temperature probe, LED digital controller, drain valve, and safety valve.
Which voltage does this generator use?
The voltage field says 220 volts and the pattern field says 380V. The listing does not resolve which supply the data plate is built for.
What temperature band is printed?
The title and bullets say 25–55°C. A Spain review describes a 4 m² steam room reaching 45 degrees in under 45 minutes.
The Anjur 39984 is listed at about £172.22 as a dry wall stove with knobs on the front, a timer capped at 3 hours, and a claimed 110°C. The title says 3–6 kW and the colour field says 4.5 kW, so the listing does not give one current to hand an electrician. The body is stated as 43 × 32 × 62 cm and 9.5 kg, and the bullets ask for 20 kg of stones that are not included. amazon.co.uk shows 4.0 from a single review, and that review text is not on the listing. Voltage is written as 220–240 V in the bullets and 220 V in the title, and a plug is not mentioned. The mounting line says about 18 cm from the ground. Hotel and spa appear in the title and are not a commercial rating.
Pros
Stated body 43 × 32 × 62 cm and 9.5 kg
Internal knobs, a 3-hour timer, and a 110°C claim are on the listing
20 kg of stones is named, even though they are extra
Cons
Title power 3–6 kW conflicts with a 4.5 kW colour field
Only one amazon.co.uk review, and no review text on the listing
No cubic-metre band and no plug sentence
Best for: You want a dry wall stove with a stated 3-hour timer, and you will confirm the data-plate kilowatts before any circuit is designed.
Less suitable: You need one kilowatt figure, a room band, or more than a single star rating before ordering.
The WILLOWYBE stove10 is listed at about £221.99 as a 16 kg stainless wood stove, 45 × 68 × 49 cm, for an outdoor sauna tent and for cooking. The bullets claim an adjustable damper, a viewing window, a foldable body, and a chimney cap that reduces sparks. There is no kilowatt figure and no plug. amazon.co.uk shows 3.9 from 164 reviews. Of the first 50 texts, two are from the United Kingdom and describe fast heat, outdoor cooking, and a heavy carry. Other reviews in that set, mostly from Canada and the United States, repeat a warped top plate, a grate that no longer accepts the ash tray, smoke from open seams, and a chimney joint that stopped drafting. One Canada review says it does not fold. The listing does not show a Defra exemption.
Pros
Weight, size, and outdoor use are stated
Damper and a spark-arrestor claim are on the listing
164 reviews, including UK notes on heat and cooking
Cons
Repeated reports of warping and smoke after hard sauna firing
No room-volume band and no kilowatt figure
A foldable claim is contradicted by one review on the listing
Best for: You want a portable wood stove for an outdoor tent, and you will keep the fire moderate and the flue outdoors.
Less suitable: You are fitting an indoor electric sauna, or you need a confirmed smoke-control exemption.
No. The title is an outdoor wood stove for a sauna tent and for cooking. The technical line gives 16 kg and 45 × 68 × 49 cm, and no kilowatt or voltage figure.
Can it be used for cooking?
The bullets say it is suitable for cooking or drying gear. A UK review used the top for vegetables in foil and a side rack for a pot.
What do the reviews say about durability?
In the first 50 reviews, several people say the top plate, grate, or stone basket warped, and that smoke leaked after the seams or the chimney joint failed. Two UK reviews praise the heat and the steel.
The Mxmoonant WS-15-WJY is listed at about £269.00 as a 6 kW wall stove for the same stated 5–9 m³ band as the WS-37-WJY. The notice again says there is no plug, that both 215–240 V single-phase and 380–415 V three-phase are supported, and that 14–18 kg of stones are extra. The size line on the listing is a package of 59.5 × 47.5 × 36 cm and 12.86 kg, not a product-body measurement. amazon.co.uk shows 3.8 from 8 reviews, and the three written reviews on the listing are from the United Kingdom. They describe a fast heat-up and an install in under 20 minutes, and one describes a large dent in the casing.
Pros
About £269.00 with one 6 kW figure and a 5–9 m³ band
No-plug sentence and a stone weight are both on the listing
Three UK reviews describe use, including a fast heat-up
Cons
A UK review reports a large dent on arrival
Only package dimensions are printed
Single-phase and three-phase are both printed
Best for: You want the lower of the two 6 kW Mxmoonant shelf prices, and you will inspect the casing and confirm the circuit before use.
Less suitable: You need product-body dimensions on the listing, or stones and a plug in the box.
The notice says the heater does not come with a plug and that a licensed electrician should wire it. It lists 215–240 V single-phase and 380–415 V three-phase.
Are the sauna stones in the box?
The notice says 14–18 kg of stones are required and are not included. A UK review says rocks were not supplied and the buyer reused stones from an older heater.
What did UK reviews say about the casing?
One UK review says it heated quickly and was installed in under 20 minutes. Another says it arrived with a large dent and that the packing looked unmarked.
The Alvinlite heater is listed at about £123.49. The title says 6 kW, 220 V, stainless steel, and an internal controller for wet and dry use. The bullets say a thermostat holds the set temperature, that heat-up can take 30–60 minutes depending on room size, and that the back support frame is adjusted. They do not give cubic metres, a stone weight, a plug, a weight, or product dimensions. amazon.co.uk shows 3.5 from 4 reviews. One UK review says it had been used numerous times. The other says a corner was damaged and that there were no instructions.
Pros
About £123.49 is the lowest shelf price in this set
The title states one 6 kW figure
One UK review says it was used more than once
Cons
No room band, stone weight, plug line, or body size
A UK review reports no instructions and corner damage
Wet and dry is a title claim only
Best for: You already have the manual and the room band from another source, and you are comparing this shelf price.
Less suitable: You need a cubic-metre band, a stone weight, or a wiring diagram before the electrician arrives.
Is the Alvinlite heater for a wet sauna or a dry sauna?
The title says wet and dry. The bullets do not give a stone weight or a separate steam-generator description.
Does the listing include a timer?
The bullets do not state a maximum time. They do say the room can take 30–60 minutes to reach the set temperature.
Did buyers receive instructions?
One UK review says there were no instructions while the buyer was wiring it, and that a corner arrived damaged. Another UK review says it had been used numerous times.
How we compared
Seven amazon.co.uk listings, saved on 20 October 2026, were read against star rating and review count, whether the page states one type and one output, a room or temperature band, the supply or fuel, and what is missing. There is no laboratory test. A stated kilowatt figure is the listing claim. Approved Document P and BS 7671 section 703 are safety limits, not score points. A wood stove is scored as a wood stove. The top pick is the Mxmoonant WS-37-WJY at about £297.00, with one 6 kW figure, a 5–9 m³ band, and 4.4 from 8 reviews. Best value is the Mxmoonant WS-15-WJY at about £269.00, the same band, with 3.8 from 8 reviews and a dent already noted. In sentences this page says top pick and best value.
1
Amazon evidence
25%
Star rating and review count on amazon.co.uk. Eight reviews is still a thin sample, so this block cannot reach its full weight. A listing with no review text scores low even if a star line exists. Reviews outside the United Kingdom are noted as such.
2
Listing fit
40%
A clear type, one output figure, a room or temperature band, an explicit supply or fuel, a named control, and a plain statement of what is missing. A kilowatt range, a 220 V field next to 380 V, or package dimensions standing in for the body lose points.
3
Review outcome
20%
A review that describes heat and a working control scores higher than a listing with no text. Damage on arrival, a missing manual, a failed sensor, a safety valve that opens after switch-off, and a warped stove body are deductions.
4
Value
15%
Shelf price in GBP against a page an electrician or a tent user could start from. The lowest printed price does not win this block. The best-value award is the lower of the two 6 kW stone stoves that still state one power and a 5–9 m³ band.
Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Sauna heater buying guide
Choose the type before the kilowatt headline. A sauna heater here is a stone stove, a steam generator, or an outdoor wood stove, and the seven amazon.co.uk listings saved on 20 October 2026 run from about £123.49 to about £426.54. Quality is a printed room band, one output figure, a supply you can show an electrician, and a plain line for what is missing. The top pick is the Mxmoonant WS-37-WJY at about £297.00, with a 5–9 m³ band and 4.4 from 8 reviews.
What is a sauna heater in this comparison?
A sauna heater on amazon.co.uk in this set is one of three products. An electric stone stove is for a dry cabin, with water poured on stones you buy separately. A steam generator heats water and sends vapour to a nozzle, for a wet room around the 25–55°C band printed on the steam listings. The wood stove here is the WILLOWYBE unit: 16 kg of stainless steel for an outdoor tent and for cooking, with a damper and a spark-arrestor claim. Infrared cabins are outside this set.
Best for
A dry cabin where the printed 5–9 m³ band matches the room you measured
A small wet room, or an outdoor tent with the flue kept outside
Not ideal for
An infrared cabin, or a heater you expect to run from a 13 A plug
Anyone who needs stones, a plug, and one settled voltage already in the box
Mistakes to avoid
1
Mixing a steam generator with a stone stove
A stone stove is for a dry sauna and water on stones. A steam generator is for a wet room around 25–55°C. The WILLOWYBE unit is a wood stove for an outdoor tent. Using one listing’s type for another room is the split this set is here to catch.
2
Ignoring glass, or pasting on a Harvia band
Harvia’s English guide adds 1.2 m³ for each square metre of glass or bare masonry, then asks you to sit near the middle of that heater’s own range. Only the two Mxmoonant stoves print 5–9 m³ here, and CGOLDENWALL prints 3–4.5 m³. Do not copy a Harvia band onto a marketplace listing that prints none.
3
Expecting stones, a 13 A plug, or an indoor wood fire
Stones are extra on the stone stoves that name a weight. None of the seven includes a 13 A lead. A 6 kW stove is about 26 A at 230 V. The WILLOWYBE stove was not confirmed on the Defra smoke-exempt list. Keep that flue outdoors.
What to weigh up
Type and room band
High
Type is the first cut. A stone stove, here the two Mxmoonant models, the Alvinlite, and the Anjur, is for a dry cabin. A steam generator, the CGOLDENWALL and the Caiqinlen, heats water for a nozzle. The WILLOWYBE is wood, for a tent. Infrared cabins are outside this set.
The room band has to be the one printed on that listing. Harvia sizes an electric stone heater at about 1 kW per cubic metre and adds 1.2 m³ for each square metre of glass or bare masonry.
Supply, stones, and what is missing
High
Watts divided by 230 is the shop method for amps. About 3 kW is the 13 A region. 4.5 kW is about 20 A. 6 kW is about 26 A, which SaunaShop treats as a dedicated circuit. In England and Wales a new circuit is notifiable under Approved Document P, and a sauna-heater room is a special location. BS 7671 section 703 keeps zone 1 to the heater. Zone 3 equipment must stand 125°C and cables 170°C, with IPX4 as the minimum.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🏡
A dry cabin in the stated band
You are fitting an insulated home sauna and you can pay an electrician and buy stones. The Mxmoonant WS-37-WJY at about £297.00 is the top pick: one 6 kW figure, a stated 5–9 m³ band, digital control, and 18–20 kg of stones named as extra. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 8 reviews. Single-phase and three-phase are both printed.
You want vapour around the printed 25–55°C band, not a 90°C stone stove. The CGOLDENWALL CNA 643D at about £426.54 is the steam kit in this set: a stated 3–4.5 m³, a nozzle, a drain valve, and a safety valve. amazon.co.uk shows 4.0 from 6 reviews. The voltage field says 220 V and the pattern field says 380V.
You want a wood stove for a garden tent and you will keep the flue outdoors. The WILLOWYBE stove10 at about £221.99 is 16 kg, with a damper and a spark-arrestor claim. amazon.co.uk shows 3.9 from 164 reviews. Reviews repeat warping and smoke leaks. It was not confirmed on the Defra smoke-exempt list.
The top pick is the Mxmoonant WS-37-WJY at about £297.00. It is a 6 kW wall stone stove for a stated 5–9 m³, with digital control and a body of 48 × 34 × 57 cm. Stones of 18–20 kg and a plug are both named as missing. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 8 reviews. One UK review says the timer switched the sauna off. A German review reports a dead sensor. Both single-phase and three-phase are printed.
Which sauna heater is the best value?
The best value is the Mxmoonant WS-15-WJY at about £269.00. It states the same 6 kW and 5–9 m³ band, with no plug and 14–18 kg of stones extra. amazon.co.uk shows 3.8 from 8 reviews. The three written reviews are from the United Kingdom. They describe a fast heat-up, and one reports a large dent. Only package dimensions are printed. Skip it if you need the product-body size on the listing.
How much does a sauna heater in this set cost?
On the amazon.co.uk pages saved on 20 October 2026, these seven run from about £123.49 to about £426.54. Alvinlite is about £123.49. Anjur is about £172.22. Caiqinlen steam is about £193.05. The WILLOWYBE wood stove is about £221.99. The two Mxmoonant 6 kW stoves are about £269.00 and about £297.00. CGOLDENWALL steam is about £426.54. Harvia prices are not in these listings.
Should you buy a stone stove, a steam generator, or a wood stove?
Choose the type before the kilowatt figure. A stone stove is for a dry sauna, with water on stones you buy separately. A steam generator is for a wet room around the 25–55°C band printed on the steam listings. The WILLOWYBE unit is a 16 kg wood stove for an outdoor tent and for cooking. Infrared cabins are outside this set. A steam unit in a dry stone cabin, or a tent stove indoors, is the mix to avoid.
What size sauna heater do you need?
Size from the band printed on that listing. Harvia’s English guide uses about 1 kW per cubic metre, then adds 1.2 m³ for each square metre of glass or bare masonry, and tells you to sit near the middle of the heater’s own range. Do not paste a Harvia band onto these marketplace heaters. The two Mxmoonant stoves print 5–9 m³. CGOLDENWALL prints 3–4.5 m³. The other four do not print a cubic-metre band.
Does any sauna heater here run on a 13 A plug?
None of these seven includes a plug-and-play 13 A lead. SaunaShop.co.uk shows that a 6 kW stove is about 26 A at 230 V, so it needs a dedicated circuit. About 3 kW is the 13 A region. 4.5 kW is about 20 A. In England and Wales a new circuit is notifiable under Approved Document P, and a sauna-heater room is a special location. A CE line is not a BS 7671 certificate. An electrician confirms the circuit.
What is not in the box?
Stones are extra where a weight is printed: 18–20 kg on the Mxmoonant WS-37, 14–18 kg on the WS-15, and 20 kg on the Anjur. Alvinlite does not state a stone weight. Neither Mxmoonant includes a plug. Caiqinlen does not state a plug or a drain. CGOLDENWALL names a nozzle, a drain valve, and a safety valve. Its voltage field says 220 V and the pattern field says 380V.
Which 6 kW sauna heater should you shortlist?
If you want a 6 kW stone stove, start with the two Mxmoonant listings. Each states one power figure and a 5–9 m³ band, and neither includes a plug. The WS-37 at about £297.00 is the top pick. The WS-15 at about £269.00 is the best value, with a dent noted in a UK review. Alvinlite says 6 kW at about £123.49 and prints no room band. Other 6 kW stoves in this hub are on the 6 kW sauna heater comparison.
Our verdict
The top pick is the Mxmoonant WS-37-WJY at about £297.00. It states one 6 kW figure, a 5–9 m³ band, digital control, a body of 48 × 34 × 57 cm, and 18–20 kg of stones as extra. amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 8 reviews. A UK review says the timer switched off. A German review reports a dead sensor. Both single-phase and three-phase are printed, and there is no plug. The best value is the Mxmoonant WS-15-WJY at about £269.00: the same 6 kW and 5–9 m³ band, 14–18 kg of stones extra, and 3.8 from 8 reviews, with a UK note of a dented casing and only package dimensions printed. None of these seven was metered, and none includes a 13 A lead.
Heinrich W. is the editor for Leisure & sport at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked
Guides to Sauna heaters
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources used for this comparison. Listing prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures saved for this set on 20 October 2026.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines saved on 20 October 2026. We did not run a lab test.