Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Outdoor hot tub comparison 2026

The best Outdoor hot tubs, compared.

Top pick: Lay-Z-Spa Aruba AirJet (2–3) – Top pick: listed cover, Type VI filter and Freeze Shield named, 4.4 from 30 UK-headed reviews, at about £394.74 for 2–3 seats. Best value: MSpa Tekapo 6 – Best value on price at about £399.00 for a stated 180 cm square, with 3.0 from 25 reviews and a UK deflation return left in view. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

Quality is a seat count you will use, a size that is not a parcel measurement, a cover and a filter named in the box, a stated voltage, and a UK review trail. A jet count that changes between the title and the bullets is not that evidence. Seats, the base, the cover and the supply are set out in the [outdoor hot tub buying guide](/hub/steam-baths/outdoor-hot-tub/sub/outdoor-hot-tub-buying-guide). An outdoor hot tub is a portable inflatable spa sold on amazon.co.uk. It is not a rigid acrylic shell with moulded seats and a dedicated electrical job. Air-jet inflatables dominate the set: bubble generators, often around 600 W where a watt figure is printed, and jet claims from 110 to 180 that sometimes disagree inside a single listing.

Quality is a seat count you will use, a size that is not a parcel measurement, a cover and a filter named in the box, a stated voltage, and a UK review trail.

Lay-Z-Spa Aruba AirJet (2–3)

Best overall

Lay-Z-Spa Aruba AirJet (2–3)
9.2/10∼ £395

32 products checked · 67 hrs invested · +22,100 readers

9 of 9: Best Outdoor hot tubs compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 9
Best overall
Lay-Z-Spa Aruba AirJet (2–3)
EASE.ZONE inflatable spa (4–6 title)
Best value
MSpa Tekapo 6
Generic inflatable spa (81 in title)
SENODON bubble spa (2–3, 130 in title)
SENODON spa with headrests (2–3)
SENODON 72 inch (2–4 title)
Generic 72 inch round (2–3)
Generic 206 cm inflatable (4–6)
9.2/10
9.2/10
6.4/10
1.0/10
1.0/10
1.0/10
1.0/10
1.0/10
1.0/10
∼ £395
∼ £668
∼ £399
∼ £591
∼ £660
∼ £660
∼ £661
∼ £731
∼ £746
4.4(30)
4.4(13)
3.0(25)
–
–
–
–
–
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best Outdoor hot tubs in detail

Lay-Z-Spa Aruba AirJet (2–3)

Rank 1

Lay-Z-Spa Aruba AirJet (2–3)

∼£395

Our view

The Lay-Z-Spa Aruba (BW60061GB) is a round 2–3 person AirJet listed at £394.74, rated 4.4 from 30 amazon.co.uk reviews, and weighed at 26.3 kg with item dimensions of 170 × 66 × 170 cm. The included line names the spa, a pool cover, the pump, a Type VI filter cartridge, a ChemConnect dispenser and a repair patch, and the bullets state 110 AirJets, a digital panel up to 40 °C, and Freeze Shield. Four written reviews in the listing are headed United Kingdom: buyers describe a tub that fits a tight space, about ten minutes of daily care once a chemical kit and a vac are added, and one calls the price a very good buy. The same listing includes a liner that leaked air from purchase, with visible damage, and email support described as slow when a replacement liner was requested. One UK reviewer called the printed instructions next to useless and used a video guide, and another bought a separate thermal cover for about £80 to cut the running cost. The power-source field says Battery Powered, while the heater bullets and a UK review about switching the spa off overnight describe mains use, and no BS 1363 plug or watt figure is printed. A two-year manufacturer warranty is the line on the page. The catalogue rank in this capture is 1 in Hot Tubs, which is a sales cell rather than a soak test.

Pros

  • About £394.74, 4.4 from 30 amazon.co.uk reviews, with the written sample headed United Kingdom
  • Cover, Type VI filter, ChemConnect dispenser and a repair patch are named in the box line
  • 110 AirJets and a stated maximum of 40 °C, with Freeze Shield named on the listing
  • Two-year manufacturer warranty is printed, and the empty weight is 26.3 kg

Cons

  • One UK review reports a leaking liner and slow email support on a replacement
  • Printed instructions are called poor, and one buyer added a thermal cover at about £80
  • Power field says Battery Powered; plug type and heater watts are not stated

Best for: You want a 2–3 person inflatable for a small patio and you have read the UK leak review before you order.

Less suitable: You need six adults, a printed wattage, or a power line that does not clash with the heater.

Specifications

Model
Lay-Z-Spa Aruba AirJet (2–3)
Brand
Lay-Z-Spa
Price
∼£395
Customer rating
4.4/5(30)
Seats
2–3
Size
170 × 66 × 170 cm
Shape
Round
Jets
110
Maximum
40 °C
Cover
Pool cover
Filter
Type VI
Supply
Battery field
Empty weight
26.3 kg

Common questions

Does the Aruba listing include a cover?

The included-components line lists 1 pool cover, plus the spa, pump, a Type VI filter cartridge, a ChemConnect dispenser and a repair patch.

What supply does the Aruba listing state?

The power-source field says Battery Powered. The bullets describe heating to 40 °C, and no battery is specified.

How hot does the Aruba listing say it gets?

The bullets say the digital control panel heats the water up to 40 °C (104 °F).

EASE.ZONE inflatable spa (4–6 title)

Rank 2

EASE.ZONE inflatable spa (4–6 title)

∼£668

Our view

The EASE.ZONE 7150018 is a round inflatable at £667.92, rated 4.4 from 13 amazon.co.uk reviews, and listed at 29 kg with an external size of 2.08 × 2.08 × 0.65 m. The specification bullet prints 130 water jets, a 600 W hydromassage line, an integrated 1200 W heater and a rise written as 0.5 / 1 °C/h, on a 220–240 V supply, with laminated PVC at 0.6 mm. The box line names a cover, an underlay and two filter cartridges with a dust cover. Seat text on the same page says 4–6, a field of 4, and 4+2, while volume lines say 910 L, 1000 litres and a 1000 L flow figure together. An internal dimension of 63.0 × 65 cm sits beside the 2.08 m outside, which cannot both describe the water. Three written reviews are headed Italy, so they are not British shopper text: one would put three adults in a tub sold for six, one says the jets only move the water, and storage once it is packed is called large. Assembly required is No, and an Italian review still describes putting it together. A year-round bullet has no freeze procedure, and no BS 1363 plug is stated.

Pros

  • 1200 W heater, 130 jets and a 220–240 V line are printed, with PVC thickness stated at 0.6 mm
  • Cover, underlay and two filter cartridges are listed
  • External size is stated at 2.08 × 2.08 × 0.65 m, and the star line is 4.4 from 13

Cons

  • The written reviews are headed Italy, including a three-adult limit and jets described as only moving the water
  • Seat, volume and internal-size lines disagree on the same listing, and the heat rate is printed as a pair
  • About £667.92 with no freeze procedure and no plug type

Best for: You want the printed 1200 W and the 2.08 m outside size, and you will ignore the six-person title.

Less suitable: You want UK reviews, one seat count, or a winter procedure on the listing.

Specifications

Model
EASE.ZONE inflatable spa (4–6 title)
Brand
EASE.ZONE
Price
∼£668
Customer rating
4.4/5(13)
Seats
4–6
Size
2.08 × 2.08 × 0.65 m
Shape
Round
Jets
130
Maximum
40 °C
Power
1200 W heater
Cover
Listed
Filter
Two cartridges
Supply
220–240 V
Empty weight
29 kg

Common questions

What heater output is printed?

The specification bullet says an integrated 1200 W heating system and a rise of 0.5 / 1 °C/h. Both rates are printed.

What is included besides the tub?

The accessories bullet lists a cover, an underlay and two filter cartridges with a dust cover.

Where were the written reviews posted?

The three written reviews in the listing are headed Italy. The star line is 4.4 from 13 on the amazon.co.uk listing.

MSpa Tekapo 6

Rank 3

MSpa Tekapo 6

∼£399

Our view

The MSpa Tekapo (C-TE062) is a square inflatable at £399.00, 180 × 180 × 68 cm and 25 kg, with a seating field of 6 and a capacity line of 245 gallons. The amazon.co.uk line is 3.0 from 25 reviews, the lowest star line in this set. Three of the sixteen written reviews are headed United Kingdom: a second-time buyer unpacked and inflated a replacement in about 20 minutes and found it quieter, while another is sending the tub back because it keeps going down. A France review says the width suited four adults, which is not a UK measurement and still sits under the six-seat title. The voltage field says 230 V AC and the power-source field says DC/CA, and no plug type is stated. Cover and filter are absent from any included-components list, a remote is not confirmed in the box, and a 40% energy-saving motor is a bullet with no test method. A UV disinfectant line is printed on the same bullet, which is not a sanitiser result you can treat as measured. Heat that reaches temperature and then stops appears in United States and Canada reviews; those comments are not British shopper text, and the UK listing already records the deflation return.

Pros

  • About £399.00 with a stated square of 180 × 180 × 68 cm and a 230 V AC voltage field
  • 132 jets are printed, and one UK owner of an older Tekapo reported a quieter replacement
  • A UK setup note puts unpacking and inflation at about 20 minutes before filling started

Cons

  • 3.0 from 25 reviews, including a UK return because the tub keeps going down
  • The six-seat claim is not confirmed by a UK review; a France comment describes four adults
  • No cover or filter list; the power field also says DC/CA; the 40% saving has no method

Best for: You already want this 180 cm square Tekapo and you will check whether it holds air after the first night.

Less suitable: You need a listed cover, one supply figure, or a star line that is not dragged down by deflation reports.

Specifications

Model
MSpa Tekapo 6
Brand
MSpa
Price
∼£399
Customer rating
3.0/5(25)
Seats
6
Size
180 × 180 × 68 cm
Shape
Square
Jets
132
Supply
230 V; also DC/CA
Empty weight
25 kg

Common questions

How many seats does the Tekapo listing claim?

The title says 6 seater and the seating-capacity field says 6. The listing does not include a UK review that confirms six adults.

What electrical supply is printed for the Tekapo?

The voltage field says 230 volts (AC). The power-source field says DC/CA. No plug type is stated.

Does the Tekapo listing list a cover or a filter?

No included-components list is on the page. Cover and filter are not stated.

Generic inflatable spa (81 in title)

Rank 4

Generic inflatable spa (81 in title)

∼£591

Our view

This generic inflatable is listed at £590.99 with no star line and no written reviews in the listing, and the page was first dated 31 May 2026. The title says 4–6 people and 81×28 in, while the part number KM-vmoQ5m--72x28in contains 72×28 in, so the size you would order is not one figure. A bullet offers relaxation for 2–3 or 4–6 people in the same sentence, and the jet line is 150 in the title and 150–180 in the bullet, with three intensity levels. The stated range is 20–40 °C, a 72-hour auto shut-off is printed, and a cover plus dual filter cartridges are named, with a built-in inflation pump and six-colour LED lighting. Heater watts, voltage, plug type, weight and litres are all unstated, and the listing questions on heat-up time, year-round use and storage have no hours or winter steps. The model string A-1 is the same string as the £730.99 round listing, which has a different part number and a different title size. An energy-saving design is claimed with no percentage and no method. You are buying a box-contents list and a size clash, with no UK review to check either.

Pros

  • About £590.99 with a cover and dual filter cartridges named on the page
  • A 20–40 °C range, three bubble levels and a 72-hour shut-off are printed
  • Tool-free setup and a built-in inflation pump are claimed

Cons

  • No star line and no written reviews in the listing
  • Title size 81×28 in clashes with 72×28 in inside the part number, and seat lines clash too
  • Voltage, plug, weight and heater watts are unstated

Best for: You can verify the inflated size with the seller before you pay about £590.99 for a listing with no reviews.

Less suitable: You need a UK review trail, one printed size, or a stated voltage.

Specifications

Model
Generic inflatable spa (81 in title)
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£591
Seats
4–6; also 2–3
Size
81 or 72 × 28 in
Jets
150–180
Maximum
40 °C
Cover
In the title
Filter
Dual cartridges
Shut-off
72 hours

Common questions

Which size does this listing print?

The title says 81×28 in. The part number is KM-vmoQ5m--72x28in, which contains 72×28 in.

Is a cover named?

Yes. The title says the spa comes with a cover, and the insulation bullet also refers to an insulated cover.

How long does the listing say heating takes?

The listing asks the question and does not give hours or a watt figure. The stated range is 20–40 °C.

SENODON bubble spa (2–3, 130 in title)

Rank 5

SENODON bubble spa (2–3, 130 in title)

∼£660

Our view

This SENODON bubble spa is listed at £659.88 with no star line and no written reviews. The title says 2–3 people and 130 jets with a thermal cover, the seating field says 3, and the capacity field says 907 litres, at 27 kg. The item dimensions are 66 × 58 × 38 cm, which is a parcel size rather than a filled tub of that litre claim, and the listing gives no separate inflated diameter. The jet field repeats 130 while a bullet says 150–180 air jets, with a stated maximum of 40 °C, a 72-hour shut-off, dual filter cartridges, and a fast-heating line that has no watt figure. The supply line is corded electric, voltage and plug type are unstated, and assembly required is No, which still leaves inflation and filling to you. The model string SHENGDONG SHOP and the 27 kg weight match the other two SENODON listings in this set, at £659.99 and £660.85, so the pages are easy to buy twice. There is no customer text to show whether the thermal cover or the 907-litre line describes the tub that arrives.

Pros

  • A thermal cover is named in the title, not only in an energy slogan
  • 907 litres and three seats are printed in the capacity fields
  • Dual filter cartridges are named, with a 72-hour shut-off stated

Cons

  • No star rating, no written reviews and no voltage
  • 130 jets in the title fight 150–180 in a bullet
  • 66 × 58 × 38 cm cannot describe an inflated tub without a manual you do not get here
  • Three lookalike SENODON listings share one model string

Best for: You are comparing duplicate listings and will confirm the inflated size from paperwork on delivery, not from the centimetre field alone.

Less suitable: You want one clear size, one jet count, or a UK review before you spend about £660.

Specifications

Model
SENODON bubble spa (2–3, 130 in title)
Brand
SENODON
Price
∼£660
Seats
2–3
Size
66 × 58 × 38 cm
Jets
130 or 150–180
Maximum
40 °C
Cover
Thermal cover
Filter
Dual cartridges
Supply
Corded
Shut-off
72 hours
Empty weight
27 kg

Common questions

How many jets does this SENODON listing state?

The title and the jet field say 130. A bullet says 150–180 air jets.

Is a thermal cover named?

Yes. The title includes a thermal cover. There is no separate components table.

What are the printed item dimensions?

66 × 58 × 38 cm. The listing does not give a separate inflated diameter.

SENODON spa with headrests (2–3)

Rank 6

SENODON spa with headrests (2–3)

∼£660

Our view

The SENODON spa at £659.99 titles foam headrests and 130 air jets for 2–3 people, with a bullet that says 150 jets on a 600 W bubble generator. Item dimensions again read 66 × 58 × 38 cm, the same small box figure as the other SHENGDONG SHOP listings, while capacity is 299 gallons with no imperial or US label. Assembly required is No, with one-touch inflation claimed, and a 72-hour auto power-off is printed. An energy line of up to 50% saved when used with the insulating cover has no test method, and the cover is not listed in a components line, only inside that percentage sentence. Foam headrests appear in the title alone. There is no review line, no voltage and no plug type, and the manufacturer and model fields duplicate the other SENODON copies at £659.88 and £660.85.

Pros

  • 600 W bubble generator and a 20–40 °C range are stated
  • Foam headrests are named in the title
  • Assembly required: No, with one-touch inflation claimed

Cons

  • No reviews and no mains voltage printed
  • Cover inclusion is unclear outside the 50% energy sentence
  • 130 jets in the title versus 150 in the bullet
  • Same model string and weight as two other SENODON ASINs

Best for: You want the headrest wording in the title and you will treat the three SENODON pages as one copy family until a manual proves a difference.

Less suitable: You need a cover named in the box, or you will not buy a listing whose size field is 66 cm on every duplicate.

Specifications

Model
SENODON spa with headrests (2–3)
Brand
SENODON
Price
∼£660
Seats
2–3
Size
66 × 58 × 38 cm
Jets
130 or 150
Maximum
40 °C
Power
600 W bubbles
Cover
Energy line only
Filter
Built-in
Supply
Corded
Shut-off
72 hours
Empty weight
27 kg

Common questions

Are foam headrests listed?

They are in the title only. The listing has no components list that repeats them.

What energy figure is printed?

The bullet says up to 50% energy consumption saved when used with the insulating cover. No test method is given.

Does the size match a filled spa?

The item dimensions are 66 × 58 × 38 cm. The title does not give an inflated diameter in centimetres.

SENODON 72 inch (2–4 title)

Rank 7

SENODON 72 inch (2–4 title)

∼£661

Our view

This SENODON page is £660.85 and prints a 72 inch title for 2–4 people with 110 jets, a heater, a filter and a ground cloth, and it has no star line or written reviews. A bullet says 2–3 people, the seating field says 3, and another bullet says 150 air jets from a 600 W bubble generator, so the title and the body disagree on both seats and jets. Capacity is 299 gallons, the stated maximum is 40 °C, and a 72-hour shut-off is printed. Item dimensions are 66 × 58 × 38 cm at 27 kg, the same parcel line as the other SENODON listings, under the same model string SHENGDONG SHOP. The insulating cover is used in a claim of up to 50% energy saved, with no method, and it is not a separate components table. Supply is corded electric, with voltage and plug unstated, and assembly required is No. At about a pound more than the £659.88 SENODON listing you are looking at a 72 inch phrase and a ground-cloth title, not at a second measured tub. Nothing in the listing shows a UK buyer inflating it to 72 inches.

Pros

  • The title names a heater, a filter and a ground cloth on a 2–4 person line
  • A 600 W bubble figure, 40 °C and a 72-hour shut-off are printed in the bullets
  • Empty weight is stated at 27 kg

Cons

  • No reviews, and the title’s 72 inch and 110 jets disagree with 66 × 58 × 38 cm and a 150-jet bullet
  • Seat lines are 2–4, 2–3 and a seating field of 3 on the same listing
  • The 50% cover claim has no method, voltage is unstated, and the model string is shared

Best for: You have measured the space for a real 72 inch circle and the seller has confirmed this ASIN inflates to that size.

Less suitable: You would treat 72 inch, 110 jets or 2–4 people as settled because the title says so.

Specifications

Model
SENODON 72 inch (2–4 title)
Brand
SENODON
Price
∼£661
Seats
2–4; field 3
Size
72 in; 66 cm box
Jets
110 or 150
Maximum
40 °C
Power
600 W bubbles
Cover
50% claim only
Filter
In the title
Supply
Corded
Shut-off
72 hours
Empty weight
27 kg

Common questions

How many people does this listing claim?

The title says 2–4 person. A bullet says 2–3 people. The seating-capacity field says 3.

Which jet count is printed?

The title says 110 air jets. The massage bullet says 150 air jets and a 600 W bubble generator.

Is a ground cloth named?

Yes. The title lists a heater, a filter and a ground cloth.

Generic 72 inch round (2–3)

Rank 8

Generic 72 inch round (2–3)

∼£731

Our view

This generic round inflatable is listed at £730.99 for a 72 inch, 2–3 person title with 130 air jets, a heater pump, filter cartridges, an insulated cover and a ground cloth, and the listing has no star line and no written reviews. The capacity field says 907 litres. A bullet then says 150–180 air jets, three intensity levels and six-colour LED lighting, with a range of 20–40 °C and a 72-hour shut-off. Assembly required is No, beside a tool-free setup claim and a built-in inflation pump, while voltage, plug and weight are unstated. The model string A-1 matches the £590.99 generic, which carries a different part number and an 81×28 in title, so the shared model is not one checked product. The last bullet in the listing ends mid-phrase. At about £140 more than that other A-1 listing, and about £70 more than the SENODON pages, you are paying for a title that lists the cover and the ground cloth together, with nothing in the listing to show a buyer confirming the 72 inch circle or the 907 litres.

Pros

  • Insulated cover and ground cloth are named in the title
  • 72 inch round footprint and 907 litres are stated in the fields
  • 20–40 °C and a 72-hour shut-off are printed

Cons

  • No reviews, no weight and no voltage
  • 130 jets in the title versus 150–180 in a bullet
  • Highest generic band without a UK opinion
  • Truncated bullet in the listing

Best for: You want a round 72 inch claim with cover and cloth in the title, and you will wait for reviews before you trust the jet count.

Less suitable: You need a named brand, a stated plug, or proof the 72 inch title matches what arrives.

Specifications

Model
Generic 72 inch round (2–3)
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£731
Seats
2–3
Size
72 in round
Shape
Round
Jets
130 or 150–180
Maximum
40 °C
Cover
In the title
Filter
In the title
Shut-off
72 hours

Common questions

What does the title say is in the box?

Heater pump, filter cartridges, insulated cover and ground cloth, with 130 air jets, on a 72 inch round 2–3 person spa.

Which jet count should you read?

The title says 130 air jets. A bullet says 150–180 air jets.

Is a voltage printed?

No. Voltage, plug type and weight are not stated on the listing.

Generic 206 cm inflatable (4–6)

Rank 9

Generic 206 cm inflatable (4–6)

∼£746

Our view

This generic inflatable is the highest price in the set at £745.99, with no star line and no written reviews, and the listing was first dated 10 June 2026. The size lines are a 206 cm diameter, an inner diameter of 176 cm and a depth of 71 cm, with a 455-gallon claim and seating from 2 to 6. Massage is 150 bubble jets from a 600 W generator, three wave modes, and an automatic stop after 40 minutes, plus a 72-hour shut-off and six LED modes. The maximum temperature is printed as 104 °F, heater watts are unstated, and PTC drainage is said to heat at a low water level. An insulated cover appears only inside a claim of up to 80% energy-cost savings, which has no method, and a ground cloth is not named. Drop-stitch PVC is claimed to burst above 25 psi, with a 50% higher compressive-strength line and no baseline, while voltage, plug and weight are unstated. A colder-weather sentence has no freeze steps. You would be paying the top price in this set for the most complete diameter line, with no review to show the tub holds 2 to 6 people.

Pros

  • Diameter, inner diameter and depth are printed: 206 cm, 176 cm and 71 cm
  • 150 bubble jets, a 600 W generator, a 40-minute bubble stop and a 72-hour shut-off are printed
  • The maximum is stated as 104 °F, and external filtration is claimed

Cons

  • About £745.99 with no reviews, and the cover exists only inside an untested 80% energy sentence
  • Heater watts, voltage, plug and weight are unstated
  • A 2-to-6 seat claim has no UK review, and there is no freeze procedure

Best for: You have a base for a 206 cm circle and you accept an unreviewed listing at the top of this price band.

Less suitable: You want a components list that names the cover on its own, a UK review, or a stated heater wattage.

Specifications

Model
Generic 206 cm inflatable (4–6)
Brand
Generic
Price
∼£746
Seats
2–6
Size
206 cm diameter
Shape
Round
Jets
150
Maximum
104 °F
Power
600 W bubbles
Cover
80% claim only
Filter
External
Shut-off
72 hours

Common questions

What maximum temperature is printed?

The bullet says 104 °F. A 20–40 °C range is not printed on this ASIN.

How large does the listing say the tub is?

Diameter 206 cm, inner diameter 176 cm, depth 71 cm, with a 455-gallon claim and seating from 2 to 6.

Is the insulated cover a separate line item?

It appears only in the sentence that claims up to 80% energy-cost savings. There is no components list.

How we compared

Nine amazon.co.uk listings in this outdoor set were read for seats, size, box contents, supply and winter wording. There is no laboratory soak. Scores already on the listings put the Lay-Z-Spa Aruba and the EASE.ZONE listing at 88, and the MSpa Tekapo at 60. The top pick is the Aruba, once: a listed cover, a UK review sample, and Freeze Shield named. Best value is the Tekapo at about £399.00, with the 3.0 from 25 reviews left visible. Listings with no star line stay in the table and do not receive a badge. In sentences this page says top pick and best value.

1

Seats you will use

25%

Titles say 2–3, 4–6 or 6, while seating fields often say 3 or 4. The smaller figure that the fields and the reviews can support is the one that counts. A six-seat title with a review that describes three or four adults is marked down.

2

Size and base

25%

A filled tub is not the parcel cell. Item dimensions of 66 × 58 × 38 cm are not a 72 inch circle. Water is about 1 kg per litre, so a deck or balcony needs a structural check before anyone fills the tub.

3

Cover and filter

20%

A cover, a ground cloth and a filter count when they are named in the box contents or the title, not only inside a 40, 50 or 80 per cent energy sentence. Those percentages have no test method.

4

Supply

20%

A stated voltage that does not fight another field on the same page. No listing prints a BS 1363 plug. An extension lead is not a supply. A new outdoor circuit in England is notifiable under Part P.

5

Winter wording

10%

Only a named freeze feature, with the brand limit attached, scores here. Freeze Shield is not a free 40 °C. A year-round sentence with no procedure does not count as a winter plan.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
10 sources checked

Outdoor hot tub buying guide

Read seats, the filled size, the box contents and the supply before the star count. On amazon.co.uk these nine outdoor listings are inflatable spas, from about £394.74 to about £745.99. A jet count that changes inside one listing is not a quality score. Energy lines of 40, 50 or 80 per cent have no test method. A hard shell is outside this table.

What is an outdoor hot tub?

An outdoor hot tub in this comparison is a portable inflatable spa sold on amazon.co.uk. It is not a rigid acrylic shell with moulded seats and a dedicated electrical job. The nine kept listings run from about £394.74 to about £745.99. Air-jet inflatables dominate the set: bubble generators, often around 600 W where a watt figure is printed, and jet claims from 110 to 180 that sometimes disagree inside a single listing.

Best for

  • Couples who want a 2–3 person inflatable on a small patio
  • Renters who can pack an inflatable away

Not ideal for

  • A permanent hard-shell spa with moulded seats
  • A holiday let, which is a business spa

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Trusting a jet count that changes

    Several listings print one jet count in the title and another in a bullet, from 110 against 150 to 130 against 150–180. The EASE.ZONE page says 130 jets and an Italian review says they only move the water. Use a count only when the title and the bullet agree, and do not treat a larger number as a better soak.

  2. 2

    Reading assembly: No as ready to use

    Assembly required: No still leaves inflation and filling to you. A UK note on the Tekapo puts unpacking and inflation at about 20 minutes before filling started. Lay-Z-Spa’s colder-month note says at least 24 hours at about 1.5–2 °C per hour. Do not expect a same-day soak because a field says no assembly.

  3. 3

    Grass, an extension lead, or a deck that was not checked

    Do not site these tubs on grass, and do not use an extension lead. Water is about 1 kg per litre. Ask a structural person before a deck or balcony takes a filled tub. A new outdoor circuit in England is notifiable under Part P. Call an electrician for that circuit.

What to weigh up

Seats and filled size

High

The first cut is how many people will actually sit down. Titles in this set say 2–3, 4–6 or 6. Seating fields often say 3 or 4. The Tekapo title and field both say 6, and a France review still describes four adults. The EASE.ZONE page says 4–6, a field of 4, and 4+2, while an Italian review would put three adults in it. Buy the smaller honest number. Size is the next cut, and the parcel cell is not the tub.

Cover, filter and supply

High

A cover and a filter count when the listing names them in the box or the title. The Aruba lists a pool cover, a Type VI cartridge, a ChemConnect dispenser and a repair patch. EASE.ZONE lists a cover, an underlay and two cartridges. The Tekapo has no included-components list, so cover and filter stay unstated. Two SENODON pages and the £745.99 generic mention a cover inside a 50 or 80 per cent energy sentence. Those percentages have no test method. Do not budget a saving from them.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A couple on a small patio

You want 2–3 seats, a cover that is listed, and Freeze Shield named. The Lay-Z-Spa Aruba at about £394.74 is the top pick: Type VI filter, ChemConnect dispenser and a repair patch on the box line, at 4.4 from 30 reviews. One UK review reports a liner that leaked. The power field says Battery Powered, which the heater bullets contradict. Empty weight is 26.3 kg.

A family reading a six-seat title

You are looking at a square about 180 cm and a seating field of 6. The MSpa Tekapo at about £399.00 is the best value on price, and the star line is 3.0 from 25 reviews. A UK buyer is sending one back because it keeps going down. A France review describes four adults, not six. Cover and filter are not listed.

Our recommendation

View offer

A renter who can pack it away

You want an inflatable you can deflate, not a shell that stays. The Aruba is the smaller patio tub with a UK review trail. If you need a printed 1200 W heater and a 2.08 m outside size, the EASE.ZONE at about £667.92 states both, and its written reviews are headed Italy. A permanent shell is a different purchase.

Common questions about Outdoor hot tubs

Which outdoor hot tub is the top pick for 2026?
The top pick is the Lay-Z-Spa Aruba at about £394.74. It is a round 2–3 person AirJet with a pool cover, a Type VI filter and Freeze Shield named, at 4.4 from 30 amazon.co.uk reviews. One UK review reports a liner that leaked. The power field says Battery Powered, which the heater bullets contradict, and no watt figure or BS 1363 plug is printed. This is not a hard-shell test.
Which outdoor hot tub is the best value?
The best value is the MSpa Tekapo at about £399.00. It is a square of 180 × 180 × 68 cm with a seating field of 6 and 132 jets printed. The star line is 3.0 from 25 reviews, including a UK return because the tub keeps going down. A France review describes four adults. Cover and filter are not listed, and the power field says 230 V AC and also DC/CA.
How much does an outdoor hot tub cost on amazon.co.uk?
In this set the nine inflatables run from about £394.74 to about £745.99. Entry is the Aruba at about £394.74 and the Tekapo at about £399.00. Mid is one generic at about £590.99. The upper band is the SENODON copies near £660, the EASE.ZONE at about £667.92, and generics at about £730.99 and £745.99. Rigid shells from about £2,599 are not ASINs here. These are the saved shelf prices, not the price on the day you buy.
Do you need planning permission for a portable hot tub in England?
Planning Portal says a typical portable garden hot tub does not need planning permission in England. A listed building, a conservation area or an enclosure can. Other UK nations use their own systems. Permitted development does not cancel building regulations. A new outdoor circuit in England is notifiable under Part P. Ask the planning authority if the house is listed or the tub will sit in a new building.
Can you run one of these tubs from an extension lead?
No. Do not use an extension lead. Electrics follow BS 7671, and IET Guidance Note 7 points outdoor tubs at Section 702. Use a 30 mA RCD of the type the manufacturer specifies, and prefer an isolator 2 m from the edge. No listing states a BS 1363 plug. The Aruba power field says Battery Powered, which the heater bullets contradict. Call an electrician for a new outdoor circuit. In England that work is notifiable under Part P.
Will Freeze Shield keep the water at 40 °C in winter?
No. Only the Aruba listing names Freeze Shield. Lay-Z-Spa says that feature heats to about 10 °C when the air is below 6 °C, and only while the pump has power. It is not a free 40 °C. Other listings omit a freeze procedure. Lay-Z-Spa’s colder-month note says at least 24 hours at about 1.5–2 °C per hour. These pages give no duty cycle, so there is no honest daily running cost.
Why do three SENODON listings look the same?
The three SENODON pages, at about £659.88, £659.99 and £660.85, share the model string SHENGDONG SHOP, a 27 kg weight and item dimensions of 66 × 58 × 38 cm. Jet counts and seat lines still change from page to page. None has a star line. The 66 cm cell is a parcel size, not a filled 72 inch tub. Treat them as one copy family until a manual proves a difference.
Where do indoor inflatable baths and hard shells sit?
Covers and indoor inflatable baths were removed from this outdoor set. Those baths are the separate hot tub comparison. A rigid shell is a different product. UK shell retailers publish tubs from about £2,599, and that range is not an ASIN here. Choose a shell only if you want a permanent tub. HSE HSG282 does not cover a private home spa that is not let.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Lay-Z-Spa Aruba at about £394.74. It is the 2–3 person AirJet with a pool cover, a Type VI filter and Freeze Shield named, at 4.4 from 30 amazon.co.uk reviews. One UK review reports a leaking liner, and the power field says Battery Powered while the heater bullets describe mains use. The best value is the MSpa Tekapo at about £399.00, a 180 cm square with a seating field of 6 and 3.0 from 25 reviews, including a UK return for deflation. Cover and filter are not listed on that page. None of these rows is a laboratory test, and none is a hard-shell spa.

Best overall
Lay-Z-Spa Aruba AirJet (2–3)

Lay-Z-Spa Aruba AirJet (2–3)

Top pick: listed cover, Type VI filter and Freeze Shield named, 4.4 from 30 UK-headed reviews, at about £394.74 for 2–3 seats.

View offer
Best value
MSpa Tekapo 6

MSpa Tekapo 6

Best value on price at about £399.00 for a stated 180 cm square, with 3.0 from 25 reviews and a UK deflation return left in view.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Steam bathsOutdoor hot tubsDIY & tools

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
10 sources checked

Guides to Outdoor hot tubs

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources and Lay-Z-Spa’s own pages, as listed in the research digest. Listing prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures for these nine ASINs. Retrieved 21 October 2026.

  1. Planning Portal hot tub FAQ (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK permitted development technical guidance (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. IET domestic electrical supplies to hot tubs (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. IET Wiring Matters, hot tubs, July 2021 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. Approved Document P (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. Ofgem price cap, 1 October to 31 December 2026 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. HSE HSG282 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  8. Lay-Z-Spa Freeze Shield (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  9. Lay-Z-Spa winter use (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  10. Lay-Z-Spa setup essentials (retrieved 21 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines in this set. We did not run a lab test.