Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Mini cordless drill comparison 2026

The best mini cordless drills, compared.

Top pick: FADAKWALT 12V drill – Largest review base among the 12 V pistols here: 4.4 from 1,204 reviews, for flat-pack and small holes, at £24.99. Best value: FAHEFANA 12V mini combi – Cheapest 12 V kit here at £20.99, with a stated 2.0 Ah battery and 4.4 from 372 reviews. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A mini cordless drill on amazon.co.uk is one of three tools: a compact 12 V pistol with a keyless chuck of about 10 mm, a pen for holes under about 3 mm, or a 3.6–4 V driver sold as a drill because twist bits sit in the case. People buy them for flat-pack furniture, picture hooks, caravan kits and craft, not for brick. A usable one has a clutch you can set low, a chuck or collet that grips, a stated battery size, and a charger rather than a USB lead on its own. The [mini cordless drill buying guide](/hub/screws-and-accessories/mini-cordless-drill/sub/mini-cordless-drill-buying-guide) sets out type, chuck, torque and charging.

A mini cordless drill on amazon.co.uk is one of three tools: a compact 12 V pistol with a keyless chuck of about 10 mm, a pen for holes under about 3 mm, or a 3.6–4 V driver sold as a drill because twist bits sit in the case.

FADAKWALT 12V drill

Best overall

FADAKWALT 12V drill
8.8/10∼ £25

36 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +18,400 readers

10 of 10: Best mini cordless drills compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 10
Best overall
FADAKWALT 12V drill
Best value
FAHEFANA 12V mini combi
DongCheng 4V screwdriver
DEKOPRO 12V drill
MQFORU 3.6V drill-driver
Uolor 3-speed drill pen
Draymora 3-speed drill pen
Zestecho 3-speed drill pen
Lyai silver drill pen
NiuLumea mini hand drill
8.8/10
8.8/10
8.8/10
8.6/10
8.4/10
8.0/10
7.6/10
7.4/10
5.6/10
–/10
∼ £25
∼ £21
∼ £17
∼ £24
∼ £14
∼ £27
∼ £16
∼ £15
∼ £14
∼ £6
4.4(1,204)
4.4(372)
4.4(199)
4.3(521)
4.2(2,474)
4.0(1,827)
3.8(17)
3.7(9)
2.8(7)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best mini cordless drills in detail

FADAKWALT 12V drill

Rank 1

FADAKWALT 12V drill

∼£25

Our view

The FADAKWALT 12 V pistol, model 8212, is the tool in this set that UK reviewers use for flat-pack and small household holes. At £24.99 it holds 4.4 stars from 1,204 amazon.co.uk reviews and ranks 3 in Combi Drills. The listing gives a 9.53 mm keyless chuck, 650 rpm, a 1.3 Ah battery and a charger, plus wood bits, masonry bits, a flexible shaft and an extension. Review comments cluster around small home jobs and straightforward charging, and one UK review says that when a hole is needed the tool behaves more like a screwdriver. The same listing states both 20 Nm and 177 inch-pounds, so those torque figures disagree with each other and should be read as seller claims. Masonry bits in the box do not make it a hammer drill, and UK reviews on these 12 V kits put brick beyond them. The 1.3 Ah pack is the smaller stated battery among the 12 V kits that name a capacity, which matches the weaker-battery comments.

Pros

  • 4.4 stars from 1,204 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Rank 3 in Combi Drills
  • 9.53 mm keyless chuck with a charger in the box
  • 1.3 Ah battery stated, unlike several kits here
  • Reviewers use it for flat-pack and small home jobs

Cons

  • Torque lines disagree: 20 Nm and 177 inch-pounds
  • A UK review says it drives screws better than it drills
  • Masonry bits in the box do not add hammer action
  • 1.3 Ah is the smaller stated pack among the 12 V kits

Best for: You want a compact 12 V pistol for flat-pack screws and small holes in wood or plastic, and you want the largest review base among the 12 V kits here.

Less suitable: Holes in brick or concrete, or 1 mm holes in resin and beads.

Specifications

Model
FADAKWALT 12V drill
Brand
FADAKWALT
Price
∼£25
Customer rating
4.4/5(1,204)
Voltage
12 V
Chuck
9.53 mm keyless
Torque
20 Nm / 177 in-lb
Speed
650 rpm
Battery
1.3 Ah
Charging
Charger
Charger in box
Yes
Work light
Yes
Hammer action
No

Common questions

Does this FADAKWALT include a charger?

Yes. The included-components line lists the drill, a 1.3 Ah lithium battery, and a charger.

Can the included masonry bits drill brick?

The listing includes masonry bits. A UK review says that when a hole is needed the tool behaves more like a screwdriver. It is not a hammer drill.

FAHEFANA 12V mini combi

Rank 2

FAHEFANA 12V mini combi

∼£21

Our view

The FAHEFANA 12 V mini combi is the cheapest 12 V kit in this comparison, at £20.99, with 4.4 stars from 372 amazon.co.uk reviews. The listing states a 2.0 Ah battery and a fast charger it claims will fill in about an hour, on a 0.38 inch keyless chuck. The 42-piece box includes 10 drill bits, 10 screwdriver bits, screws, plugs, an extension and a flexible shaft, and the stated torque is 250 inch-pounds. No speed in rpm is given, so you cannot compare it with the 650 rpm and 800 rpm lines on the other 12 V drills. UK reviews place it on light indoor screwdriving and small holes, and they say masonry and concrete are beyond it. One review found empty LED holes where a work light was claimed. At £4 less than the FADAKWALT you get a larger claimed battery and a thinner review base, and the listed weight is 1.29 kg.

Pros

  • Cheapest 12 V kit here at £20.99
  • Stated 2.0 Ah battery and a fast charger
  • 4.4 stars from 372 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • 42-piece kit on a 0.38 inch keyless chuck

Cons

  • One review found empty LED holes
  • No rpm figure on the listing
  • UK reviews say it is not for masonry or concrete
  • Smaller review base than the FADAKWALT

Best for: You want a 12 V kit for light indoor screws and small holes, and the stated battery size matters more to you than the largest review count.

Less suitable: Brick, concrete, or anyone who needs a published speed and a work light they can count on.

Specifications

Model
FAHEFANA 12V mini combi
Brand
FAHEFANA
Price
∼£21
Customer rating
4.4/5(372)
Voltage
12 V
Chuck
0.38 inch keyless
Torque
250 in-lb
Battery
2.0 Ah
Charging
Fast charger
Charger in box
Yes
Work light
Claimed
Hammer action
No

Common questions

Will this FAHEFANA drill masonry?

UK reviews say it is for light indoor jobs and not for masonry or concrete.

What battery does the listing include?

A 2.0 Ah Li-ion battery and a fast charger. The listing claims a full charge in about an hour.

DongCheng 4V screwdriver

Rank 3

DongCheng 4V screwdriver

∼£17

Our view

The DongCheng DCPL04-5 is a 4 V straight screwdriver at £16.98, with 4.4 stars from 199 amazon.co.uk reviews and rank 10 in Drill Drivers. It lists 5 Nm in three steps, 300 rpm, a 2000 mAh battery, Type-C charging, eight bits, a case and a named drill attachment, in a 710 g body. The title is a cordless electric screwdriver, so screwdriving is the job even though a drill attachment is in the included-components line. A UK review says the lowest of the three steps still snapped a terminal screw, which means delicate electrical screws are safer finished by hand. The LED is claimed. No masonry use is supported. It sits in the same score band as the 12 V pistols because the star line and the stated battery are solid, and it remains a low-torque driver rather than a mini drill for timber holes.

Pros

  • 4.4 stars from 199 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Stated 2000 mAh battery and 5 Nm in three steps
  • 300 rpm, eight bits and a case at £16.98
  • Lighter torque than the 12 V pistols for ordinary screws

Cons

  • Title is a screwdriver, and fit as a drill is uncertain
  • Lowest torque step snapped a terminal screw in a UK review
  • Type-C cable, no UK 3-pin charger brick named
  • 199 reviews is a modest base next to the MQFORU

Best for: You drive small furniture and assembly screws and want a stated battery size without buying a 12 V pistol.

Less suitable: Delicate electrical terminals, pilot holes in timber, or masonry.

Specifications

Model
DongCheng 4V screwdriver
Brand
DongCheng
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.4/5(199)
Voltage
4 V
Chuck
1/4 in hex
Torque
5 Nm
Speed
300 rpm
Battery
2.0 Ah
Charging
Type-C cable
Charger in box
No
Work light
Claimed
Hammer action
No

Common questions

Is the DongCheng a drill?

The title is a cordless electric screwdriver. The included-components line names a drill attachment. Treat screwdriving as the main job.

Is the lowest torque gentle enough for socket screws?

A UK review says the lowest of the three steps still snapped a terminal screw. Finish delicate electrical screws by hand.

DEKOPRO 12V drill

Rank 4

DEKOPRO 12V drill

∼£24

Our view

The DEKOPRO 12 V drill, model DKCD12XL02G-S2-new, lists 12 Nm and 800 rpm at £23.99, with 4.3 stars from 521 amazon.co.uk reviews and rank 10 in Combi Drills. The case is small and specific: six twist bits from 2 mm to 6 mm, six screwdriver bits, a magnetic holder, and the kit names PZ1 and PZ2, which is the useful detail if you assemble chipboard furniture. Charging is a Type-C cable described as 1.5 A, and no amp-hour figure is given, so the 1.5 A line is the cable, not a battery size. The title weight is 1.65 lb. UK reviews in the file include a unit that stopped charging and bit holders that arrived broken, so check the first charge before you rely on it. The LED is claimed. It suits pictures, flat-pack and light DIY, and it is still not a hammer drill.

Pros

  • 4.3 stars from 521 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • Stated 12 Nm and 800 rpm, a cleaner torque line than the FADAKWALT
  • Kit names PZ1 and PZ2 bits for furniture screws
  • Twist bits from 2 mm to 6 mm in a case

Cons

  • No amp-hour figure for the battery
  • Type-C cable only, no UK 3-pin charger brick named
  • A review pattern of a unit that stopped charging
  • Bit holders that arrived broken in UK reviews

Best for: You want a light 12 V drill for picture hooks and flat-pack, and you care that the kit names Pozidriv bits.

Less suitable: Anyone who wants a stated battery capacity, or a separate UK charger brick in the box.

Specifications

Model
DEKOPRO 12V drill
Brand
DEKOPRO
Price
∼£24
Customer rating
4.3/5(521)
Voltage
12 V
Chuck
0.38 inch
Torque
12 Nm
Speed
800 rpm
Charging
Type-C cable
Charger in box
No
Work light
Claimed
Hammer action
No

Common questions

How does this DEKOPRO charge?

The listing includes a Type-C cable described as 1.5 A. It does not name a separate UK 3-pin charger brick.

Is the battery capacity stated?

No amp-hour figure is given. The 1.5 A line matches the charging cable, not a stated battery size.

MQFORU 3.6V drill-driver

Rank 5

MQFORU 3.6V drill-driver

∼£14

Our view

The MQFORU TY002 is filed as a cordless screwdriver and titled as a cordless drill, at £13.99 with 4.2 stars from 2,474 amazon.co.uk reviews and rank 3 in Drill Drivers. The spec line says 3.5 Nm and 250 rpm, while a bullet says 3 Nm and 220 rpm, so the listing disagrees with itself on both torque and speed. The handle moves to a second position, an LED is fitted, and the case holds screwdriver bits, twist bits and a flexible shaft. UK reviews mainly describe flat-pack screwdriving, with short battery life a repeated limit and one unit that died on second use. Charging is a USB cable, no UK 3-pin brick is named, and no amp-hour figure is stated. Listed weight is 1.1 kg. Twist bits in the box do not turn this into a 10 mm chuck drill.

Pros

  • 4.2 stars from 2,474 amazon.co.uk reviews
  • £13.99, well under the 12 V kits
  • Low stated torque, about 3 to 3.5 Nm, for furniture screws
  • Dual-position handle, LED and a storage case

Cons

  • Item type is a screwdriver, not a 10 mm chuck drill
  • Torque and speed lines disagree inside the listing
  • Reviews report short battery life
  • One unit died on second use, and charging is USB only

Best for: You are assembling flat-pack and light fittings, and you do not need to bore holes with ordinary twist bits.

Less suitable: Pilot holes, shelves that need a 6 mm bit, or any masonry.

Specifications

Model
MQFORU 3.6V drill-driver
Brand
MQFORU
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.2/5(2,474)
Voltage
3.6 V
Chuck
Hex bits
Torque
3–3.5 Nm
Speed
220–250 rpm
Battery
Built-in
Charging
USB cable
Charger in box
No
Work light
Yes
Hammer action
No

Common questions

Is this MQFORU a drill or a screwdriver?

The item type is Cordless Screwdriver. The title calls it a cordless drill and the box includes twist bits. UK reviews mainly describe flat-pack screwdriving.

Does it come with a mains charger?

The listing includes a USB charging cable. A UK 3-pin charger brick is not named.

Uolor 3-speed drill pen

Rank 6

Uolor 3-speed drill pen

∼£27

Our view

The Uolor UKH067 is a 4.2 V drill pen, not a pistol, at £26.99 with 4.0 stars from 1,827 amazon.co.uk reviews. It weighs 140 g, measures 12.5 × 1.6 × 1.6 cm, and runs three speeds from 5,000 to 18,000 rpm. The box is ten bits from 0.6 mm to 2.2 mm plus an Allen key, so the collet will not take a 6 mm wood bit. The listing claims up to 30 minutes after a charge, and a UK review needed extra charges while drilling many 1 mm holes in plywood. USB charging is listed, and a separate UK 3-pin brick is not named. Rank 24 in Drill Drivers reflects how often people buy it, not a capacity to hang shelves. At £26.99 it costs more than the FADAKWALT 12 V and still only makes craft-scale holes.

Pros

  • 4.0 stars from 1,827 amazon.co.uk reviews, the deepest pen base here
  • Bits from 0.6 mm to 2.2 mm for resin, beads and models
  • 140 g and a slim 12.5 cm body
  • Three speeds from 5,000 to 18,000 rpm

Cons

  • Collet will not hold a household twist bit
  • £26.99, dearer than the 12 V top pick
  • A UK review needed extra charges on many 1 mm plywood holes
  • USB cable only, no UK 3-pin charger named

Best for: You drill holes under about 2 mm in resin, plastic, beads or thin ply, and you accept short runs between charges.

Less suitable: Flat-pack, shelves, or any hole that needs a bit larger than 2.2 mm.

Specifications

Model
Uolor 3-speed drill pen
Brand
Uolor
Price
∼£27
Customer rating
4.0/5(1,827)
Voltage
4.2 V
Chuck
0.6–2.2 mm
Speed
5,000–18,000 rpm
Battery
Up to 30 min
Charging
USB cable
Charger in box
No
Hammer action
No

Common questions

What bit sizes does the Uolor include?

Ten bits from 0.6 mm to 2.2 mm, plus an Allen key. The collet is not a 10 mm chuck.

How long does the listing say it runs?

The bullet claims up to 30 minutes after a charge. A UK review needed extra charges while drilling many 1 mm holes in plywood.

Draymora 3-speed drill pen

Rank 7

Draymora 3-speed drill pen

∼£16

Our view

The Draymora MiniDrillPen-1 is a 4.2 V drill pen at £15.99, with 3.8 stars from 17 amazon.co.uk reviews and rank 35 in Drill Drivers. The listing claims three speeds from 5,000 to 18,000 rpm, a built-in battery with 30-plus minutes, USB charging and a weight of 130 g. The spec voltage is 4.2 V, and another line says one 12 V battery is required, so the listing contradicts itself before you switch it on. Bits are claimed around 0.8–1.2 mm in one place and a bullet claims 10 bits. Some UK reviews say it has no bite in wood and that the bit will not lock in the collet, while others use it for light craft. Seventeen reviews is a thin base for a 3.8 average. A separate UK 3-pin charger is not named.

Pros

  • £15.99, under the Uolor pen
  • 130 g pen body for light craft
  • Three speeds listed from 5,000 to 18,000 rpm
  • Some reviewers use it for light craft holes

Cons

  • Only 3.8 stars from 17 reviews
  • Listing states both 4.2 V and a 12 V battery
  • UK reviews say the collet will not lock the bit
  • Reviews also say it has no bite in wood

Best for: You want a cheap pen for very light craft and you can return it if the collet will not hold.

Less suitable: Wood, pearls, or any job where a slipped bit ruins the piece.

Specifications

Model
Draymora 3-speed drill pen
Brand
Draymora
Price
∼£16
Customer rating
3.8/5(17)
Voltage
4.2 V / 12 V
Chuck
0.8–1.2 mm
Speed
5,000–18,000 rpm
Battery
30+ min
Charging
USB
Charger in box
No
Hammer action
No

Common questions

Why do two voltages appear?

The spec voltage is 4.2 V. Another line says one 12 V battery is required. Both are on the listing and they conflict.

Do UK reviews say it drills wood?

Some reviews say it has no bite in wood and that the bit will not lock in the collet. Others use it for light craft.

Zestecho 3-speed drill pen

Rank 8

Zestecho 3-speed drill pen

∼£15

Our view

The Zestecho F3 is a 3.7 V drill pen at £14.99, with 3.7 stars from 9 amazon.co.uk reviews and a listed weight of 90 g. The box is the pen and 10 small bits, charged by USB, and three speeds are claimed with no rpm figure. One UK reviewer used it for lighting in a 1:12 doll's house, which is the scale this pen is built for. Another returned it because it would not drill pearls. Rank 2 in Hand Drills is a category position, not evidence that it bores timber. The listed dimensions of 50 × 30 × 10 mm are very small next to the Uolor’s 12.5 cm body, so check the live photos before you assume the same shape. Nine reviews is a small base, and a separate UK 3-pin charger is not named.

Pros

  • £14.99 with 10 small bits included
  • 90 g, light enough for model work
  • A UK reviewer used it on a 1:12 doll's house
  • USB rechargeable, so no separate battery to buy

Cons

  • Only 3.7 stars from 9 reviews
  • Returned in one review because it would not drill pearls
  • No rpm figure, and the collet size is not stated
  • No UK 3-pin charger named

Best for: You make small models, such as doll's-house lighting, and the holes stay in thin craft materials.

Less suitable: Pearls, timber, or anything that needs a bit you can measure and lock with confidence.

Specifications

Model
Zestecho 3-speed drill pen
Brand
Zestecho
Price
∼£15
Customer rating
3.7/5(9)
Voltage
3.7 V
Chuck
Pen collet
Speed
3 speeds
Charging
USB
Charger in box
No
Hammer action
No

Common questions

What did UK reviewers use this Zestecho pen for?

One reviewer used it for lighting in a 1:12 doll's house. Another returned it because it would not drill pearls.

Is a mains charger listed?

The listing says USB rechargeable and includes the pen and 10 bits. A separate UK 3-pin charger is not named.

Lyai silver drill pen

Rank 9

Lyai silver drill pen

∼£14

Our view

The Lyai LZ18 silver drill pen is £13.69 with 2.8 stars from 7 amazon.co.uk reviews, the weakest star line in this set. The kit lists bits from 0.6 mm to 2.2 mm, an Allen key, three speeds and a USB claim of up to 60 minutes. Voltage, torque and rpm are not stated. Reviews say it stalled while widening a 1.7 mm hole in plastic and stalled in 4 mm softwood trim, which is the opposite of what a high speed number is meant to promise. The listed weight of 12 g is far below the 90–140 g pens in this comparison, so treat that figure as unreliable. Rank 65 in Hand Drills does not offset the reviews. Six UK review texts sit behind the average, so the stall is a pattern on a tiny sample, not a workshop measurement.

Pros

  • Bits listed from 0.6 mm to 2.2 mm
  • £13.69, under most pens here
  • USB charging claimed, with an Allen key in the box

Cons

  • 2.8 stars from only 7 reviews
  • Stalled in thin plastic and in 4 mm softwood
  • Voltage, torque and rpm are not stated
  • Listed weight of 12 g looks implausible

Best for: Almost no household job in this comparison. Only consider it if you can test a single tiny hole and return it the same week.

Less suitable: Wood trim, widening plastic holes, shelves, or anyone who wants a reviewed pen.

Specifications

Model
Lyai silver drill pen
Brand
Lyai
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
2.8/5(7)
Chuck
0.6–2.2 mm
Speed
3 speeds
Battery
Up to 60 min
Charging
USB
Charger in box
No
Hammer action
No

Common questions

Did UK reviewers get holes in wood or plastic?

Reviews say it stalled widening a 1.7 mm plastic hole and stalled in 4 mm softwood trim.

How many reviews are on the listing?

The listing shows 2.8 out of 5 from 7 reviews. Six UK review texts are in the raw file.

NiuLumea mini hand drill

Rank 10

NiuLumea mini hand drill

Our view

The NiuLumea mini hand drill is £6.49, and the amazon.co.uk listing in this capture has no Customer Reviews line, so there is no star rating to quote. It claims a keyless chuck for bits from 0.5 mm to 3.2 mm, Type-C charging with no plug, an LED, and bits described as carbon steel. Listed weight is 78 g and the claimed size is about 9 × 3.5 × 3.5 cm. The bullet says it is not for masonry and claims small holes in wood, plastic and similar soft materials, which is a seller statement with no UK review behind it. Voltage, torque and speed are all absent. Rank 106 in Drill Drivers does not replace missing reviews. At this price you are buying an unrated listing, and a return under the Consumer Rights Act 2015 is your practical check if it will not run.

Pros

  • Lowest price in the set at £6.49
  • Bits claimed from 0.5 mm to 3.2 mm
  • Listing states it is not for masonry
  • 78 g claimed, with Type-C charging

Cons

  • No star rating and no Customer Reviews line
  • Voltage, torque and speed are not stated
  • No UK 3-pin plug, Type-C only
  • Soft-material claims have no review texts behind them

Best for: You are willing to spend £6.49 on an unrated listing for a tiny hole in a soft material, and you will return it if it fails.

Less suitable: Any job where you need reviews, a stated voltage, or a hole you cannot afford to spoil.

Specifications

Model
NiuLumea mini hand drill
Brand
NiuLumea
Price
∼£6
Chuck
0.5–3.2 mm
Charging
Type-C
Charger in box
No
Work light
Claimed
Hammer action
No

Common questions

Is there a UK star rating?

No. The raw listing has no Customer Reviews line, so the rating is not stated.

Does the listing say it drills masonry?

No. The bullet says it is not for masonry. It claims small holes in wood, plastic, and similar soft materials.

How we compared

The figure beside each model starts from the amazon.co.uk star line on 16 October 2026, weighted by how many ratings sit behind it, then moves for the job the listing can do, a stated battery, a named charger and the price inside that type. It is not a laboratory test, and it is not stars times 20. The top pick is the 12 V pistol with the largest review base for light household screwdriving and small timber holes. The best value is the cheapest 12 V kit here, with a larger stated battery than that pistol. The DongCheng shares the top score and does not take either pick, because the title is a 4 V screwdriver. The weights below sum to 100. Eight sources sit under the page.

1

Type and job

25%

A 12 V pistol suits furniture and small holes in wood or plastic. A pen suits resin, beads and thin sheet. A 3.6–4 V hex driver is for screws, not boring. A masonry bit in the box does not create hammer action.

2

Chuck or collet

20%

A keyless chuck around 10 mm takes ordinary twist bits. A pen collet takes about 0.5–3 mm. A 1/4 inch hex takes screwdriver bits. If the collet will not grip, the listing fails this check.

3

Torque you can limit

15%

DEKOPRO lists 12 Nm, DongCheng lists 5 Nm, and FADAKWALT lists both 20 Nm and 177 inch-pounds. Use the clutch. Drill mode strips furniture cams.

4

Battery and charger

20%

Prefer a stated amp-hour and a charger in the box. A Type-C or USB lead still needs a safe UK 3-pin mains source. Charge while you are awake, not overnight and not on a bed.

5

Reviews on your material

20%

Read the count beside the stars, and read whether the reviews mention your material. High stars on a pen do not predict shelf-hanging. A missing Customer Reviews line is not a score.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Mini cordless drill buying guide

Start with the job, not the rpm. Flat-pack and small holes in wood or plastic need a 12 V pistol. Resin, beads and models need a pen. Screws without a hole need a 3.6–4 V driver. Then check the chuck, a clutch you can set low, a stated battery, and whether a charger is in the box. Prices in this set run from £6.49 to £26.99 on amazon.co.uk.

What is a mini cordless drill?

A mini cordless drill on amazon.co.uk is not one tool. In this set it is a compact 12 V pistol with a keyless chuck around 10 mm (the listings say 9.53 mm or 0.38 inch), a pen for holes under about 3 mm, or a 3.6–4 V driver sold as a drill because a few twist bits are in the case. Shoppers use them for flat-pack furniture, picture hooks, caravan kits, and craft such as resin, beads and models. They are not for brick.

Best for

  • Flat-pack and rental DIY, where a 12 V pistol or a low-torque driver is enough and a pen is the wrong shape
  • Craft and models, if the holes stay under about 3 mm and a short run between charges is acceptable
  • Light indoor screwdriving, where a full-size drill is tiring and brick is not part of the job

Not ideal for

  • Brick, concrete, or any fixing where a masonry bit is being asked to do the work of a hammer drill
  • Shelves and structural timber, or a wall where cables or pipes may be hidden
  • Anyone treating a missing star line, or 2.8 from seven reviews, as evidence the tool will drill

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Buying on rpm, or treating a driver as a drill

    The Uolor’s 5,000–18,000 rpm does not make it a shelf drill. The MQFORU is filed as a screwdriver, and the DongCheng title is a 4 V screwdriver. Twist bits in the box do not create a 10 mm chuck. Match the form to the hole you actually need.

  2. 2

    Driving screws in drill mode

    Drill mode strips furniture cams. Use the clutch, and keep torque low on chipboard. The DongCheng’s lowest of three steps still snapped a terminal screw in a UK review, so finish delicate electrical screws by hand. Kit bits and listing photos are not a reason to skip that step.

  3. 3

    Reading a masonry bit as hammer action

    None of these listings is a masonry drill. UK reviews on the 12 V kits say concrete and brick are beyond them. A combi label on a 12 V pistol does not add a hammer. Repeated masonry, and any wall where cables or pipes may be hidden, is a job for a suitable drill or a professional.

What to weigh up

Type, chuck and torque

High

Form comes first, because these listings are not one product. A 12 V pistol, with a keyless chuck around 10 mm, is the tool for flat-pack screws and small holes in wood or plastic. In this set that is the FADAKWALT, the FAHEFANA and the DEKOPRO, from £20.99 to £24.99. A pen is for resin, beads, models and thin sheet. The Uolor collet takes 0.6–2.2 mm bits and will not hold a 6 mm wood bit. A 3.6–4 V straight tool with a 1/4 inch hex, such as the DongCheng or the MQFORU, is for driving screws.

Battery, charger and reviews

High

Prefer a battery size you can read. FAHEFANA states 2.0 Ah, FADAKWALT states 1.3 Ah, and DongCheng states 2000 mAh. DEKOPRO gives no amp-hour, and the 1.5 A line on that listing is the Type-C cable, not a battery. The MQFORU, the pens and the NiuLumea do not state an amp-hour. A charger in the box is named for the FADAKWALT and the FAHEFANA. The others list a USB or Type-C lead, and a lead still needs a safe UK 3-pin mains source. Charge while you are awake, not overnight and not on a bed.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Flat-pack and rental DIY

You are driving furniture screws and the odd small hole in wood or plastic, and you do not want a pen. The FADAKWALT 12 V is £24.99, with 4.4 from 1,204 reviews, a 9.53 mm keyless chuck and a stated 1.3 Ah battery. The torque lines disagree, and it will not drill brick.

Craft and models

You need holes under about 2 mm in resin, beads, models or thin ply, and you can live with short runs between charges. The Uolor pen is £26.99, with 4.0 from 1,827 reviews and bits from 0.6 mm to 2.2 mm. It costs more than the 12 V top pick and will not hang a shelf.

A small 12 V with a stated battery

A full-size drill is tiring for light indoor screws, and you want the cheapest 12 V kit here with a larger stated pack. The FAHEFANA is £20.99, with 4.4 from 372 reviews and a stated 2.0 Ah battery. No rpm is listed, one review found empty LED holes, and masonry is beyond it.

Common questions about mini cordless drills

Which mini cordless drill is the top pick for small household holes?
For light household screwdriving and small holes in wood or plastic, the top pick in this set is the FADAKWALT 12 V at £24.99. It has 4.4 from 1,204 amazon.co.uk reviews, a 9.53 mm keyless chuck, a stated 1.3 Ah battery and a charger. The listing gives both 20 Nm and 177 inch-pounds, so those torque lines disagree. It is not a hammer drill. The FAHEFANA shares the score and costs £20.99.
How much does a mini cordless drill cost on amazon.co.uk?
On the amazon.co.uk listings kept for 16 October 2026, the 12 V pistols in this set cost £20.99 to £24.99. Pens and 3.6–4 V drivers cost £6.49 to £26.99. The Uolor pen is £26.99, which is a dear pen rather than a pistol. The NiuLumea is £6.49 and has no star rating. These are shelf prices for the kept listings, not every UK shop, and they move.
What should you check before you buy a mini cordless drill?
Match the type to the job. A 12 V pistol suits furniture and small holes in wood or plastic. A pen suits resin, beads and thin sheet. A 3.6–4 V hex driver is for screws, not boring. Then check the chuck, a clutch you can set low, a stated battery size, and whether a charger is named or only a USB lead. A masonry bit in the box does not create hammer action.
Will a mini cordless drill drill brick or concrete?
No. None of these listings is a masonry drill. A masonry bit in the case does not add hammer action. UK reviews on the 12 V kits say concrete and brick are beyond them, and the NiuLumea bullet says it is not for masonry. BS EN 62841-2-1 covers hand-held drills and impact drills, not rotary hammers. For repeated holes in brick, use a drill made for that wall.
Should you buy a 12 V pistol or a drill pen?
Buy a 12 V pistol for flat-pack and small holes in timber or plastic. Buy a pen, such as the Uolor, for holes under about 2–3 mm in resin, beads, models or thin sheet, and accept a short run between charges. The Uolor costs £26.99, more than the FADAKWALT, and its collet takes 0.6–2.2 mm bits only. A pen’s stars do not predict shelf-hanging. The Lyai, at 2.8 from 7 reviews, stalled in 4 mm softwood.
Is a 3.6 V or 4 V model actually a drill?
Often it is a screwdriver with twist bits in the box. The MQFORU item type is a cordless screwdriver, at £13.99, and UK reviews mainly describe flat-pack screwdriving. The DongCheng title is a 4 V screwdriver, even though a drill attachment is named. Its lowest torque step snapped a terminal screw in a UK review, so finish delicate electrical screws by hand. A larger household drill is a different comparison: the cordless drill comparison.
How should you charge a mini cordless drill, and when do you stop?
Prefer a stated battery and a charger, not a USB lead on its own. A Type-C cable still needs a safe UK 3-pin mains source. Use the original charger, and stop if the pack swells or smells. Charge while you are awake, not overnight and not on a bed. If a battery is smoking or swollen, get out, and call 999 if it is on fire. The Consumer Rights Act 2015 gives you 30 days to reject faulty goods.

Our verdict

For light household screwdriving and small holes in wood or plastic, the top pick is the FADAKWALT 12 V at £24.99. It has 4.4 from 1,204 amazon.co.uk reviews, the largest review base among the 12 V pistols here, with a 9.53 mm keyless chuck, a stated 1.3 Ah battery and a charger. The torque lines disagree, and a UK review says it drives better than it drills. The best value is the FAHEFANA at £20.99, the cheapest 12 V kit in this set, with a stated 2.0 Ah battery and 4.4 from 372 reviews. No speed is listed, and one review found empty LED holes. The DongCheng shares the same score at £16.98, but the title is a 4 V screwdriver, so it does not take either pick.

Best overall
FADAKWALT 12V drill

FADAKWALT 12V drill

Largest review base among the 12 V pistols here: 4.4 from 1,204 reviews, for flat-pack and small holes, at £24.99.

View offer
Best value
FAHEFANA 12V mini combi

FAHEFANA 12V mini combi

Cheapest 12 V kit here at £20.99, with a stated 2.0 Ah battery and 4.4 from 372 reviews.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
DIY & toolsScrews and accessoriesCordless drills

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to mini cordless drills

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources on drill safety, product safety, the 30-day right to reject, work equipment and lithium-ion charging. Listing prices and star counts are from the amazon.co.uk extracts kept for this comparison on 16 October 2026. Prices move.

  1. Electrical Safety First, drills (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. BSI, BS EN 62841-2-1:2018+A12:2022 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK, General Product Safety Regulations 2005 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 22 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. HSE, Providing and using work equipment safely (INDG291) (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. HSE, Electrical systems on construction sites (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. Scottish Fire and Rescue, lithium-ion batteries (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. amazon.co.uk listings for the ASINs in this set (retrieved 16 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Scores use the 10 listings kept on 16 October 2026. They are not a laboratory test.