Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Wood screws comparison 2026

The best wood screws, compared.

Top pick: ForgeFast Elite 5.0 x 80 mm Best value: ForgeFix 4.0 x 30 mm, box of 200 – Lowest single-size Pozidriv shelf price at about £2.03 for 200. The shared 9,628 reviews are not a test of this length. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A wood screw on amazon.co.uk is usually a countersunk carbon-steel screw for timber, chipboard or MDF, either one size in a box or a mixed organiser. The decision is diameter, length, drive and finish, not the star line alone. Phillips looks similar and cams out if you mix the bits. A 6.7 × 150 mm hex timber screw is not a substitute for a 4.0 × 30 mm carcass screw. The [wood screws buying guide](/hub/screws-and-accessories/wood-screws/sub/wood-screws-buying-guide) walks through job, drive, millimetres, thread and finish. Traditional woodscrews have a single thread and often a smoother shank, and B&Q says they want a pilot and a clearance hole. Chipboard and multi-purpose screws are the yellow boxes: a sharp point, a coarse thread, a double countersunk head, and often a full thread. Fast-start screws add a sharper point and a reaming feature.

A wood screw on amazon.co.uk is usually a countersunk carbon-steel screw for timber, chipboard or MDF, either one size in a box or a mixed organiser.

ForgeFast Elite 5.0 x 80 mm

Best overall

ForgeFast Elite 5.0 x 80 mm
8.3/10∼ £6

42 products checked · 58 hrs invested · +21,400 readers

12 of 12: Best wood screws compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
ForgeFast Elite 5.0 x 80 mm
TIMCO Index 6.7 x 150 mm, box of 50
Flintronic 360-piece assortment
ForgeFix 1,000-piece organiser
ForgeFix 3.5 x 40 mm, box of 200
Best value
ForgeFix 4.0 x 30 mm, box of 200
ForgeFix 5.0 x 40 mm, box of 200
TIMCO Solo 5.0 x 100 mm, box of 100
Brackit 820-piece assortment
Heifix 800-piece assortment
Heifix 200-piece assortment
Gorffy 400-piece assortment
8.3/10
8.5/10
6.4/10
6.3/10
8.0/10
7.8/10
7.8/10
9.0/10
7.7/10
7.2/10
6.9/10
7.6/10
∼ £6
∼ £14
∼ £7
∼ £17
∼ £2
∼ £2
∼ £4
∼ £4
∼ £14
∼ £18
∼ £8
∼ £7
4.7(6,248)
4.7(4,493)
4.7(329)
4.7(67)
4.6(9,628)
4.6(9,628)
4.6(9,628)
4.6(5,257)
4.6(3,346)
4.5(324)
4.5(50)
4.4(1,790)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best wood screws in detail

ForgeFast Elite 5.0 x 80 mm

Rank 1

ForgeFast Elite 5.0 x 80 mm

Our view

The ForgeFast Elite box is 5.0 x 80 mm, 100 pieces, at £5.83, and the listing shows 4.7 from 6,248 ratings. The bullets and the highlight say a countersunk Pozi head, a sharp point that starts without a pilot, and a reaming thread, while the drive-system field says Torx. In the first 50 reviews, people drive them into softwood, studs, chipboard and floorboards with little splitting, and the recess stays on the bit. Some screws arrived bent, one buyer found no reamer thread, and another says a considerable share of tips were malformed. One review says the box prints internal use only, which sits against fence and gazebo jobs in other comments and against the yellow zinc claim. A bit is not in the included-components line, though one buyer found one. Another ForgeFast size outside this folder shows the same 6,248 count, so treat the stars as a shared line.

Pros

  • 5.0 x 80 mm, box of 100, at £5.83
  • 4.7 from 6,248 on this listing, with reviews about this type of screw
  • Sharp point and little splitting in softwood, studs and chipboard
  • Recess that stays on the bit in the sampled reviews

Cons

  • Bullets say Pozi and the drive-system field says Torx
  • One box was marked internal use only
  • Bent screws, missing reamer threads and malformed tips in the sample
  • The same 6,248 count appears on another ForgeFast size

Best for: Indoor 5.0 x 80 mm work in softwood or chipboard if you check Pozi against the recess in the box.

Less suitable: A deck or sleeper, or anyone who needs the spec drive and the bullet to name the same recess.

Specifications

Model
ForgeFast Elite 5.0 x 80 mm
Brand
ForgeFix
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.7/5(6,248)
Format
Single-size box
Drive
Pozi / Torx
Size
5.0×80 mm
Thread
Full
Finish
Yellow zinc
Pack
100
Case
Trade box
Head
Countersunk Pozi
Longest
80 mm

Common questions

Is the ForgeFast 5.0 x 80 mm Pozi or Torx?

The bullets and the highlight say Pozi. The drive-system field says Torx.

Does the listing say a pilot is required?

The bullets say the point starts without a pilot hole and that a reaming thread clears the bore. One review says the received screws had no reamer thread, and another still used a short pilot on a fence.

What does the box say about outdoor use?

One UK review says the box prints internal use only. The bullets claim a yellow zinc shield. No exterior grade is named.

TIMCO Index 6.7 x 150 mm, box of 50

Rank 2

TIMCO Index 6.7 x 150 mm, box of 50

∼£14

Our view

The TIMCO Index box is a 6.7 x 150 mm hex timber screw, 50 pieces, at £13.55, with a partial thread and a green organic coating marked exterior. The drive is external hex, and UK reviews use an 8 mm socket rather than a cross-head bit. Across 4,493 ratings at 4.7, people drive them into sleepers, fence rails, deck frames, raised beds and pergola spars, and several say the hex does not cam off. One box contained 45 screws, and sockets wear or jam because the head is harder than the socket. Reviews disagree on pilots: some needed none in softwood, and one sleeper job wanted a full pilot. Several comments name other lengths, so the 4.7 line is the Index range. The listing does not state BS EN 14592 or UKCA, and this is not a chipboard screw for a carcass.

Pros

  • 6.7 x 150 mm, partial thread, box of 50
  • External hex that reviews drive with an 8 mm socket
  • Green organic coating filed as exterior
  • 4.7 from 4,493 ratings, used on sleepers, fences and deck frames

Cons

  • One box contained 45 screws rather than 50
  • 8 mm sockets wear or stick on the head
  • Some reviews describe a different Index length
  • No BS EN 14592 or UKCA line on this listing

Best for: Sleepers, fence rails and deck frames where 150 mm and an exterior coating are the point.

Less suitable: Chipboard carcasses, a Phillips or Pozidriv bit, or a joint that needs a printed structural mark.

Specifications

Model
TIMCO Index 6.7 x 150 mm, box of 50
Brand
TIMCO
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.7/5(4,493)
Format
Timber screw box
Drive
External hex
Size
6.7×150 mm
Thread
Partial
Finish
Green organic
Pack
50
Case
Box of 50
Bit included
No
Head
Hex flange
Longest
150 mm

Common questions

What driver fits the TIMCO Index 6.7 x 150 mm?

The drive system is external hex, and the head type is hex flange. UK reviews use an 8 mm socket. No bit is listed in the box contents.

Is this a chipboard screw?

No. The title is a hex-head timber screw, 6.7 x 150 mm, partial thread, green organic coating. Reviews use it on sleepers, fence rails and deck frames.

Did every box contain 50 screws?

The listing says 50. One UK review received 45.

Flintronic 360-piece assortment

Rank 3

Flintronic 360-piece assortment

Our view

The Flintronic listing is a 360-piece Phillips assortment at £6.67 whose bullet counts run from M3 x 16 mm to M4 x 40 mm and add to 360. The title also prints M8, which the bullet and the thread-size field do not list. The star line is 4.7 from 329, and many of the first 50 reviews describe television-bracket washers and spacers rather than the wood screws in the bullets. English comments that do match a screw box mention a lot of small sizes and a clear PP case. One UK review says the case cracked at the catch and the screws mixed. There is no thread-coverage field, and no bit is listed. If you need a Pozidriv screw longer than 40 mm, this listing does not say it contains one.

Pros

  • Bullet counts from M3 x 16 mm to M4 x 40 mm add to 360
  • Phillips head, so a PH2 bit is the match if the screws are as listed
  • Clear PP box in the bullets
  • Shelf price £6.67

Cons

  • Title says M8 and the size list stops at M4
  • Many reviews describe a television-bracket kit
  • A UK review says the case cracked and the screws mixed
  • No thread-coverage field and no bit listed

Best for: Only if you can open the box and confirm short Phillips wood screws, not a TV kit.

Less suitable: Pozidriv work, anything longer than 40 mm, or a buyer who trusts the M8 in the title.

Specifications

Model
Flintronic 360-piece assortment
Brand
Flintronic
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
4.7/5(329)
Format
Mixed assortment
Drive
Phillips
Size
M3–M4 (title M8)
Finish
Zinc plated
Pack
360
Case
Clear PP box
Bit included
No
Head
Countersunk
Longest
40 mm

Common questions

Does this Flintronic set include M8 screws?

The title says M8. The bullet counts and the thread-size field stop at M3, M3.5 and M4, and those counts add to 360.

What drive is on the Flintronic screws?

The screw-head-style field says Phillips. One review says PH2.

Is the box a wood-screw set or a TV kit?

The title and bullets describe countersunk wood screws in a PP box. Many reviews describe washers, spacers and television-bracket bolts, which the bullets do not list.

ForgeFix 1,000-piece organiser

Rank 4

ForgeFix 1,000-piece organiser

∼£17

Our view

The ForgeFix organiser is a yellow zinc case at £16.99 whose title says 1,000 pieces, while adding the bullet pack counts gives 1,500. The bullets say Pozi and list PZ2 bits, two in one line and five in the pack list, and the drive-system field says Phillips. The star line is 4.7 from 67, and the file holds 17 review texts. One buyer used screws in a kitchen worktop and cupboards, and another says the case stayed sorted even when tipped. Two reviews found no PZ2 bits despite the label, and one clip arrived broken so the case has to lie flat. The first job for one buyer needed a size that was not in the box. Treat the piece list as a claim to check on arrival, rather than as a counted pack.

Pros

  • Bullet lists sizes from 3.5 x 15 mm through 5.0 x 100 mm
  • One review describes a case that stayed sorted when tipped
  • PZ2 bits are claimed, and some buyers found two
  • Yellow zinc Pozi screws used in kitchen carcass work

Cons

  • Title says 1,000 and the bullet counts add to 1,500
  • Bullets say Pozi and the drive field says Phillips
  • Two reviews found no bits, and one clip arrived broken
  • 4.7 from only 67 ratings, with 17 texts in the file

Best for: A workshop that wants a ForgeFix mix in a case and will count the compartments on arrival.

Less suitable: A buyer who needs the title count and the drive field to agree before ordering.

Specifications

Model
ForgeFix 1,000-piece organiser
Brand
ForgeFix
Price
∼£17
Customer rating
4.7/5(67)
Format
Mixed assortment
Drive
Pozi / Phillips
Size
3.5×15–5.0×100 mm
Thread
Full
Finish
Yellow zinc
Pack
1,000 / 1,500
Case
Organiser
Head
Pozi / Phillips
Longest
100 mm

Common questions

How many screws are in the ForgeFix organiser?

The title and the piece field say 1,000. Adding the bullet pack counts gives 1,500. The fastener-size field lists fewer sizes than the bullet.

Which driver bit fits?

The bullets say Pozi and list PZ2 bits. The drive-system field says Phillips.

Are the PZ2 bits always in the case?

Some UK reviews found two bits. Two reviews found none, despite the label.

ForgeFix 3.5 x 40 mm, box of 200

Rank 5

ForgeFix 3.5 x 40 mm, box of 200

Our view

The ForgeFix MPS3540Y box is one size, 3.5 x 40 mm, 200 pieces, at £2.40, with a Pozi double-countersunk head and a fully threaded single thread in the bullet. The star line is 4.6 from 9,628, and the first 50 review texts are the same as on the 4.0 x 30 mm and 5.0 x 40 mm boxes, including comments about 5.0 x 50 mm and a 4.5 mm head. That count is not a separate test of this 3.5 mm box. In the shared block, buyers praise a box of 200 against a hardware-shop price and say the head drives when you use the bit printed on the box. A few screws in one of those reviews were warped, and some heads were called too large to sit flush. No driver bit is listed, and the material fields say Zinc rather than a steel grade. Yellow passivation is claimed, with no salt-spray hours and no exterior grade.

Pros

  • One stated size, 3.5 x 40 mm, box of 200
  • Pozidriv in the bullet and in the drive field
  • Fully threaded single thread
  • Shelf price £2.40

Cons

  • The 4.6 from 9,628 is shared with two other sizes
  • Shared reviews mention lengths that are not 40 mm
  • A few warped screws in that shared block
  • No bit, and no exterior grade on the yellow plating

Best for: A repeated indoor joint that is actually 3.5 x 40 mm and already has a PZ2 bit.

Less suitable: Anyone treating 9,628 as a test of this size alone, or a wet outdoor joint.

Specifications

Model
ForgeFix 3.5 x 40 mm, box of 200
Brand
ForgeFix
Price
∼£2
Customer rating
4.6/5(9,628)
Format
Single-size box
Drive
Pozidriv
Size
3.5×40 mm
Thread
Full
Finish
Yellow zinc
Pack
200
Case
Trade box
Bit included
No
Head
Double countersunk
Longest
40 mm

Common questions

What size is ForgeFix MPS3540Y?

The size field and the included-components line say 3.5 x 40 mm, box of 200.

Do the 9,628 reviews belong only to this size?

The first 50 review texts are the same as on the 4.0 x 30 mm and 5.0 x 40 mm ForgeFix boxes, and the star line is 4.6 from 9,628 on all three.

Is a bit included?

The included-components line names the screws only.

ForgeFix 4.0 x 30 mm, box of 200

Rank 6

ForgeFix 4.0 x 30 mm, box of 200

Our view

The ForgeFix MPS430Y box is 4.0 x 30 mm, 200 pieces, at £2.03, the lowest shelf price in this set. The bullet says a Pozi double-countersunk head, a fully threaded single thread and zinc yellow passivation, while the finish-types field says Polished. The star line is 4.6 from 9,628, identical to the 3.5 x 40 mm and 5.0 x 40 mm listings, and the review texts match, so they do not describe this 30 mm screw on its own. The printed weight is 159 g, the same figure as the 3.5 x 40 mm box. In the shared block, buyers like a cheap box of 200 and a head that drives with the bit on the packet. A few warped screws and heads that sit proud appear in that same block, tied to other lengths. At 30 mm, the screw is for a thin top piece.

Pros

  • 4.0 x 30 mm, 200 pieces, at £2.03
  • Pozidriv in the bullet and in the drive field
  • Fully threaded single thread
  • A stated GTIN, 05028485992394

Cons

  • Finish field says Polished and the bullet says yellow passivation
  • The 9,628 reviews are shared with two other sizes
  • Printed weight matches the 3.5 x 40 mm box at 159 g
  • 30 mm is short once the top piece is thick

Best for: Repeated indoor fixings that are genuinely 4.0 x 30 mm, where the low box price matters.

Less suitable: A long screw, outdoor timber, or a buyer who reads 9,628 as a test of this length.

Specifications

Model
ForgeFix 4.0 x 30 mm, box of 200
Brand
ForgeFix
Price
∼£2
Customer rating
4.6/5(9,628)
Format
Single-size box
Drive
Pozidriv
Size
4.0×30 mm
Thread
Full
Finish
Yellow zinc
Pack
200
Case
Trade box
Bit included
No
Head
Double countersunk
Longest
30 mm

Common questions

What size is ForgeFix MPS430Y?

The size field says 4.0 x 30 mm, and the pack is 200. The shelf price is £2.03.

Why is the review count the same as the other ForgeFix boxes?

The review text matches the 3.5 x 40 mm and 5.0 x 40 mm listings, and all three show 4.6 from 9,628.

What finish is printed?

The bullet says zinc yellow passivated. The finish-types field says Polished, and the material fields say Zinc.

ForgeFix 5.0 x 40 mm, box of 200

Rank 7

ForgeFix 5.0 x 40 mm, box of 200

Our view

The ForgeFix MPS540Y box is 5.0 x 40 mm, 200 pieces, at £3.84, with a Pozi head and a fully threaded single thread in the bullet. The pack weight is printed as 322 g, which is heavier than the 159 g figure on the two smaller ForgeFix boxes. The star line is again 4.6 from 9,628, and the first 50 texts are the same block, including sizes other than 5.0 x 40 mm. Yellow zinc passivation is named in the bullet and in the finish field, with no hour rating and no exterior grade. No bit is included. Shared comments praise grip when the bit on the box is used, and they also mention warped screws and heads that were hard to countersink. You are buying one diameter and one length, and the review count is not evidence that this size was tested apart from the others.

Pros

  • One size, 5.0 x 40 mm, box of 200
  • Pozidriv agrees in the bullet and the drive field
  • Fully threaded, yellow zinc named in the finish field
  • Printed weight 322 g, plausible next to the lighter boxes

Cons

  • Same 4.6 from 9,628 and the same review text as two other sizes
  • Shared comments describe other diameters and lengths
  • Warped screws and proud heads in that shared block
  • No exterior grade and no bit in the box

Best for: A repeated indoor joint that is 5.0 x 40 mm and needs a full thread.

Less suitable: Anyone using the shared star line as proof about this size, or a wet timber job.

Specifications

Model
ForgeFix 5.0 x 40 mm, box of 200
Brand
ForgeFix
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.6/5(9,628)
Format
Single-size box
Drive
Pozidriv
Size
5.0×40 mm
Thread
Full
Finish
Yellow zinc
Pack
200
Case
Trade box
Bit included
No
Head
Double countersunk
Longest
40 mm

Common questions

What size is ForgeFix MPS540Y?

The size field and the included-components line say 5.0 x 40 mm, box of 200. The shelf price is £3.84.

Are the reviews only for 5.0 x 40 mm?

No. The review body is the same as on the 3.5 x 40 mm and 4.0 x 30 mm boxes, with the same 4.6 from 9,628.

Is the thread full length?

The thread-coverage field says fully threaded, and the bullet describes a single thread.

TIMCO Solo 5.0 x 100 mm, box of 100

Rank 8

TIMCO Solo 5.0 x 100 mm, box of 100

Our view

The TIMCO Solo box is a 5.0 x 100 mm Pozi chipboard and woodscrew, 100 pieces, at £4.19, and the listing shows 4.6 from 5,257 ratings. The bullet says lengths of 80 mm and above have 70 mm of thread, so this 100 mm screw is partial, with a double-countersunk head and a 25 degree point. In the first 50 reviews, people drive them into softwood, chipboard and MDF, including 15 mm ply into CLS and a loft conversion, and they say the head stays on the bit. One review says they will not take a lot of weight and suit small jobs, and another buyer heats each screw so small pine does not split. The item weight is printed as 0.08 g and the dimensions as 10 x 0.5 x 0.5 cm, which reads like one screw rather than the box. Country of origin is United Kingdom. Yellow zinc is the finish on the listing, so a deck comment in the reviews is not an exterior rating.

Pros

  • 5.0 x 100 mm, box of 100, at £4.19
  • 4.6 from 5,257 ratings on this listing
  • Pozidriv head that reviewers say stays on the bit
  • Partial thread stated as 70 mm on lengths of 80 mm and above

Cons

  • Printed item weight is 0.08 g, which is not a box weight
  • One review says they suit small jobs and will not take a lot of weight
  • Yellow zinc, so a deck mention in reviews is not a coating rating
  • One sampled title says 15 mm screws, which is not this box

Best for: Repeated indoor chipboard, MDF and softwood joints that need a 5.0 x 100 mm Pozi screw.

Less suitable: A deck, a sleeper, or a structural connection that needs a declared grade.

Specifications

Model
TIMCO Solo 5.0 x 100 mm, box of 100
Brand
TIMCO
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.6/5(5,257)
Format
Single-size box
Drive
Pozidriv
Size
5.0×100 mm
Thread
Partial
Finish
Yellow zinc
Pack
100
Case
Trade box
Bit included
No
Head
Double countersunk
Longest
100 mm

Common questions

Is the TIMCO Solo 5.0 x 100 mm fully threaded?

The coverage field says partially threaded. The bullet says lengths of 80 mm and above have 70 mm of thread.

What drive do they use?

Pozidriv, double countersunk. Reviews say the head does not cam out. No bit is listed.

What is the printed weight?

The item weight is 0.08 g and the dimensions are 10 x 0.5 x 0.5 cm. That is what the listing prints for a box of 100.

Brackit 820-piece assortment

Rank 9

Brackit 820-piece assortment

∼£14

Our view

The Brackit case is sold as an 820-piece Pozi assortment at £13.95, and the bullet claims 11 sizes from 16 mm to 80 mm. The piece field says 780, and the fastener-size field says 5/8 x 1.5 in, so the millimetre list and the spec table are not the same description. Across 3,346 ratings at 4.6, people like the spread of lengths for household jobs, and some use the screws on fence boards. The plastic hinge, latch or lid breaks on arrival often enough that the screws spill. One review says the head snaps off with an impact driver, and another broke seven screws in ten. Long screws arrived bent in more than one box. The bullet talks about damp outdoor use, and no stainless grade is named.

Pros

  • Bullet claims 11 lengths from 16 mm to 80 mm
  • 3,346 amazon.co.uk ratings at 4.6 on this listing
  • Clear-lid case when the hinge arrives intact
  • Shelf price £13.95 against buying each size alone

Cons

  • Piece field says 780 while the title says 820
  • Hinge, latch or lid failures that spill the screws
  • Heads snap on an impact driver in more than one review
  • Yellow zinc claim for damp use, with no stainless grade

Best for: Household odd jobs up to 80 mm if you can live with a plastic case and you check the count.

Less suitable: Impact-driver work, a deck, or anyone who needs the spec table to match the bullet.

Specifications

Model
Brackit 820-piece assortment
Brand
Brackit
Price
∼£14
Customer rating
4.6/5(3,346)
Format
Mixed assortment
Drive
Pozidriv
Size
16–80 mm
Thread
Full
Finish
Yellow zinc
Pack
820 / 780
Case
Clear-lid case
Head
Countersunk Pozi
Longest
80 mm

Common questions

What sizes are in the Brackit case?

The bullet says 11 sizes from 16 mm to 80 mm. The fastener-size and thread-size fields say 5/8 x 1.5 in and 5/8"-18.

Does the Brackit set include a bit?

The bullets do not list a bit. Some UK reviews received drive bits, and one says those bits do not catch the screws.

Can these be driven with an impact driver?

One UK review says the head snaps off with an impact driver. The listing does not give an impact rating.

Heifix 800-piece assortment

Rank 10

Heifix 800-piece assortment

∼£18

Our view

The Heifix 800 box lists twelve Pozi sizes from 3.0 x 16 mm, 180 pieces, up to 5.0 x 100 mm, 20 pieces, and those counts add to 800, at £17.99. The thread-coverage field says partially threaded carbon steel 1022 with yellow zinc, and the bullet claims a free Pozi bit. Across 324 ratings at 4.5, reviewers like the size range when the compartments stay sorted, and some say the screws start easily in wood. The cardboard partitions dump in transit often enough that sizes mix before you open the lid. One buyer did not find the bit at first, and another says it does not fit the smaller screws. Screws snapped while being tightened, and several people call the shanks thin beyond light jobs. You only get 20 of the 100 mm screws, so a thick top piece uses that length up quickly.

Pros

  • Twelve sizes whose printed counts add to 800
  • Reaches 5.0 x 100 mm, 20 pieces
  • Partial thread and a named 1022 carbon steel
  • A Pozi bit is claimed in the bullet

Cons

  • Cardboard compartments dump and mix in transit
  • The bit was missing or a poor fit on small screws
  • Screws snapped while being tightened
  • £17.99, with only 20 screws at 100 mm

Best for: A one-off indoor mix of short and long Pozi screws if you re-sort the box on arrival.

Less suitable: A job that needs dozens of 100 mm screws, or outdoor timber.

Specifications

Model
Heifix 800-piece assortment
Brand
Heifix
Price
∼£18
Customer rating
4.5/5(324)
Format
Mixed assortment
Drive
Pozidriv
Size
3.0×16–5.0×100 mm
Thread
Partial
Finish
Yellow zinc
Pack
800
Case
Cardboard
Head
Double countersunk
Longest
100 mm

Common questions

What is the longest screw in the Heifix 800 box?

The bullet lists 20 pieces of 5.0 x 100 mm. The shortest listed size is 3.0 x 16 mm, 180 pieces.

Is a Pozi bit in the box?

The bullet says a free Pozi bit. One UK review did not find it at first, and another says the bit does not fit the smaller screws.

Are these fully threaded?

The thread-coverage field says partially threaded, and the thread-style field says coarse partially threaded wood thread.

Heifix 200-piece assortment

Rank 11

Heifix 200-piece assortment

Our view

The Heifix 200 set lists eight Pozi sizes from 3.5 x 20 mm to 5.0 x 60 mm, 200 pieces, at £7.99, without a count for each size. The bullets claim a free 25 mm PZ2 bit, a double-countersunk head and yellow zinc plate on carbon steel. The star line is 4.5 from 50, and the file holds 22 texts, several of them marked as Amazon Vine. Reviewers who found the bit used the screws on garden gates, a shed lining and small wood projects. The cardboard box is the complaint that repeats: it is not a case, and the sizes mix. One review says the heads chew as soon as force is applied, and another calls the count 300 rather than 200. Nothing in the listing is longer than 60 mm.

Pros

  • Eight sizes from 3.5 x 20 mm to 5.0 x 60 mm
  • Pozidriv, and a 25 mm PZ2 bit is claimed
  • Used on gates, a shed lining and small projects in the sample
  • Shelf price £7.99

Cons

  • No count per size, and one review says 300 pieces
  • Cardboard box mixes the sizes
  • Heads chew under force in one review
  • 4.5 from 50 ratings, with Vine notes in the file

Best for: Light indoor and shed-lining jobs up to 60 mm if you accept a small review sample.

Less suitable: A long screw, a buyer who wants a large review base, or outdoor structural timber.

Specifications

Model
Heifix 200-piece assortment
Brand
Heifix
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
4.5/5(50)
Format
Mixed assortment
Drive
Pozidriv
Size
3.5×20–5.0×60 mm
Thread
Partial
Finish
Yellow zinc
Pack
200
Case
Cardboard
Bit included
Yes
Head
Double countersunk
Longest
60 mm

Common questions

What is the longest screw in the Heifix 200 set?

The bullet lists eight sizes and stops at 5.0 x 60 mm. It does not give a count per size.

Is a bit included?

The bullets say a free 25 mm Pozi PZ2 bit. One review says to look inside the box for it.

How many reviews are on the listing?

The star line is 4.5 from 50. The raw file contains 22 review texts, and several say the item came through Amazon Vine.

Gorffy 400-piece assortment

Rank 12

Gorffy 400-piece assortment

Our view

The Gorffy assortment is a Phillips countersunk set whose bullet lists nine sizes from M3 x 16 mm to M4 x 40 mm, 400 pieces, at £6.88 on amazon.co.uk. The set name still says 360 pieces and the model number is holzschrauben 360, so you should count the compartments rather than trust one line. Across 1,790 ratings at 4.4, reviewers use the sharp points for small DIY and pallet jobs, and several like the plastic compartments. A UK review says the recess is shallow and skips with an electric screwdriver, and another says every screw they tried snapped. Soft heads that round if you over-drive them come up as well, and one box arrived broken with the sizes mixed. The longest listed screw is 40 mm, which stops being useful once the top piece is already that thick.

Pros

  • Nine listed sizes from M3 x 16 mm to M4 x 40 mm
  • Plastic compartments that reviewers could sort
  • Sharp points that start in wood, in the sampled reviews
  • Shelf price £6.88

Cons

  • Set name says 360 pieces and the bullet says 400
  • A shallow Phillips recess skips on a powered driver
  • Heads round or snap if you over-drive them
  • Nothing in the size list is longer than 40 mm

Best for: Small indoor odd jobs if you already own a Phillips bit and nothing needs to be longer than 40 mm.

Less suitable: A Pozidriv driver, outdoor timber, or a joint with a thick top piece.

Specifications

Model
Gorffy 400-piece assortment
Brand
Gorffy
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
4.4/5(1,790)
Format
Mixed assortment
Drive
Phillips
Size
M3–M4, to 40 mm
Thread
Full
Finish
Colour zinc
Pack
400 / 360
Case
Plastic compartments
Bit included
No
Head
Countersunk
Longest
40 mm

Common questions

What drive do these Gorffy screws use?

The drive-system field says Phillips, and the how-to bullet says to use a Phillips bit. One UK review says the recess is shallow and skips with an electric screwdriver.

How many screws are in the Gorffy box?

The bullet and the piece count say 400. The set name says 360 pieces, and the model number is holzschrauben 360.

Is a driver bit included?

No bit is listed. The pack is a plastic compartment box.

How we compared

Shelf prices, star lines and review notes are from the amazon.co.uk files dated 15 October 2026. This is not a laboratory test. No listing in this set states BS EN 14592 or UKCA. The top pick is the highest score, the TIMCO Solo 5.0 × 100 mm. The best value is judged apart from that score: the lowest single-size Pozidriv shelf price, ForgeFix 4.0 × 30 mm at about £2.03. The shared 9,628 reviews are not a test of that size alone. The weights below are the five blocks used for the scores. They sum to 100. Eight public UK sources sit under the page.

1

Stars

35%

The amazon.co.uk star average, capped at 35. A 4.7 maps to 33, a 4.6 to 32, a 4.5 to 31 and a 4.4 to 30. The count beside the stars is scored separately.

2

Review evidence

20%

Own review text for that ASIN, up to 20. A count of 5,000 or more scores 20, and thinner files score less. Three ForgeFix sizes that share one review body and the figure 9,628 are capped at 8. Flintronic, where many reviews describe a television kit, is 6. Heifix 200, 50 ratings with Vine notes in the file, is 6.

3

Fit

20%

A single size, an agreed drive and a stated thread sit near the top of this 20-point block. Piece-count clashes, a title size the bullet does not list, a drive field that disagrees with the bullet, a missing thread field, or a printed weight that cannot be the box, pull it down.

4

Price

15%

Shelf price on 15 October 2026, up to 15. A single-size box under £3 scores 15, under £5 scores 13 and under £8 scores 11. A small assortment under £8 scores 10. The hex timber box scores 9. A mid-price assortment scores 8, or 7 at the top assortment price with a cardboard case.

5

Sentiment

10%

Up to 10, from the sampled reviews. Nine means no repeated defect. Seven is a thin or shared complaint. Six is repeated cam-out, snap or chewed heads. Five is that pattern plus a case that breaks or spills. Shared ForgeFix reviews are not subtracted here as well as under review evidence.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Wood screws buying guide

Start with the job, then the drive, then the millimetres. A repeated joint wants one size. Odd jobs want an assortment whose longest screw is long enough. Yellow zinc stays indoors. Prices in this set run from about £2.03 to £17.99 on amazon.co.uk.

What is a wood screw?

A wood screw here is a countersunk carbon-steel fastener for timber, chipboard or MDF. On amazon.co.uk you buy either one size in a box or a mixed organiser. Traditional woodscrews have a single thread and often a smoother shank, and B&Q says they want a pilot and a clearance hole. Chipboard and multi-purpose screws are the yellow Pozi boxes: a sharp point, a coarse thread, a double countersunk head, and often a full thread. Fast-start screws add a sharper point and a reaming feature.

Best for

  • A repeated indoor joint where you already know the millimetres and you own a Pozidriv bit
  • Household odd jobs that need several lengths, if you count the compartments on arrival
  • Sleepers, fence rails and deck frames that need a long hex screw with an exterior coating

Not ideal for

  • A joist, a stair, a guard, or any connection on a drawing
  • Decks, sleepers or green oak if the only finish on the box is yellow zinc
  • Anyone who treats a shared 9,628 review line as three separate size tests

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Mixing Pozidriv and Phillips

    The recesses look alike. Pozidriv has extra ribs so the driver stays seated. Phillips is designed to cam out. bolts.co.uk says not to mix them. Gorffy and Flintronic are Phillips. Most of the yellow boxes here are Pozidriv. ForgeFast Elite says Pozi in the bullets and Torx in the spec, so check the recess in the box.

  2. 2

    Buying a short assortment for a thick top piece

    Length runs from the point to the flush part of the head. Gorffy and Flintronic stop at 40 mm. Heifix 200 stops at 60 mm. A 4.0 × 30 mm carcass screw will not do the job of a 6.7 × 150 mm timber screw. Read the longest size before you read the piece count.

  3. 3

    Reading a shared star line, or yellow zinc, as outdoor proof

    Three ForgeFix sizes print 4.6 from 9,628 and share the early review texts. That is one copied block. Yellow zinc is interior plating. A review that mentions a shed does not make it rust-proof. None of these listings states BS EN 14592 or UKCA.

What to weigh up

Job, drive and size

High

The first split is the job. A repeated joint wants one size in a trade box. Unknown odd jobs want an assortment whose longest screw is long enough for the thickest top piece. A 6.7 × 150 mm hex timber screw is not a substitute for a 4.0 × 30 mm carcass screw, and a box that stops at 40 mm will not pull a thick rail. Read PZ, PH or hex on the packet and fit that bit. Pozidriv has extra ribs so the driver stays seated. Phillips looks similar and is designed to cam out.

Thread, finish and the review line

High

Full thread grips in chipboard. A smoother shank or a partial thread pulls two pieces together. TIMCO Solo states that lengths of 80 mm and above have 70 mm of thread, so the 5.0 × 100 mm screw is partial. The ForgeFix single-size boxes are filed as fully threaded. The Heifix assortments are partial. Flintronic has no thread-coverage field. Yellow zinc is a plated finish for dry indoor timber.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Repeated indoor joints

You already know the millimetres and you will use the same screw again. You want one yellow Pozidriv box, not a mixed case. The TIMCO Solo is 5.0 × 100 mm, 100 pieces, about £4.19, with 4.6 from 5,257 reviews. It is partial thread. Yellow zinc is not an exterior rating.

Odd jobs around the flat

You do not yet know every length. You want a Pozidriv assortment whose longest screw is actually long enough. The Brackit case claims 16 mm to 80 mm at about £13.95, with 4.6 from 3,346 reviews. The title says 820 and a piece field says 780, and the hinge can fail.

Sleepers, fences and deck frames

You need length and a coating the maker marks for outside. The TIMCO Index is 6.7 × 150 mm, 50 pieces, about £13.55, with a green organic exterior coating and an external hex head. Reviews use an 8 mm socket. It does not state BS EN 14592 or UKCA.

Common questions about wood screws

Which wood screw is the top pick for an indoor joint?
For a repeated indoor chipboard, MDF or softwood joint, the top pick is the TIMCO Solo 5.0 × 100 mm at about £4.19 for 100. It is Pozidriv, the thread is partial, and the listing shows 4.6 from 5,257 reviews. The printed weight is 0.08 g, which is not a box weight, and yellow zinc is not an exterior rating. It scores highest here because the drive and the 70 mm thread rule agree. It is not a declared structural screw.
How much does a box of wood screws cost on amazon.co.uk?
Stored prices on 15 October 2026 run from about £2.03 to £17.99. Under £8 you get the three ForgeFix single-size boxes, TIMCO Solo at £4.19, ForgeFast Elite at £5.83, Flintronic at £6.67, Gorffy at £6.88 and Heifix 200 at £7.99. From about £8 to £18: TIMCO Index at £13.55, Brackit at £13.95, the ForgeFix organiser at £16.99 and Heifix 800 at £17.99. These are the kept listings, not every UK shop, and prices move. No stainless box is in this set.
Can you use a Phillips bit in a Pozidriv wood screw?
No. Pozidriv has extra ribs so the driver stays seated. Phillips is designed to cam out, and bolts.co.uk says not to mix them. Read PZ, PH or hex on the box and fit that bit. Gorffy and Flintronic are Phillips. The ForgeFix organiser says Pozi in the bullets and Phillips in the drive field. ForgeFast Elite says Pozi in the bullets and Torx in the spec. Check the recess in the box before you drive a whole pack.
Is yellow zinc suitable for a deck or a sleeper?
No. Yellow zinc is interior plating. It is not rust-proof, and it is not a rating for decks, sleepers or green oak. The outdoor box in this set is the TIMCO Index 6.7 × 150 mm at about £13.55, with a green organic coating marked exterior and an external hex head. It still does not state BS EN 14592 or UKCA. For deck boards, compare decking screws rather than a yellow Pozi carcass box.
What is the difference between a full thread and a partial thread?
Full thread grips in chipboard. A shank or a partial thread pulls two pieces together. TIMCO Solo says lengths of 80 mm and above have 70 mm of thread, so the 5.0 × 100 mm screw is partial. The three ForgeFix single-size boxes and ForgeFast Elite are filed as fully threaded. The Heifix assortments are partial. Flintronic has no thread-coverage field, so that cell is left blank. Match the thread to the joint before you match the case.
Do these wood screws carry BS EN 14592 or UKCA?
No listing in this set states BS EN 14592 or UKCA. BS 1210:1963 was withdrawn on 1 July 2014. BS EN 14592:2022 covers dowel-type fasteners, including screws, for load-bearing timber. Structural screws for that use sit in UKCA System 3 and need a UKAS-accredited UK laboratory. A heavy-duty title is not that declaration. Call a professional for a joist, a stair, a guard, or any connection on a drawing.
Why do three ForgeFix boxes show 9,628 reviews?
The 3.5 × 40 mm, 4.0 × 30 mm and 5.0 × 40 mm ForgeFix boxes print 4.6 from 9,628, and the early review texts match, including comments about other lengths. That count is not three separate tests. The best-value mark on the 4.0 × 30 mm box is the price, about £2.03 for 200 Pozidriv screws, not that shared star line. ForgeFast is 4.7 from 6,248 and TIMCO Solo is 4.6 from 5,257. Those counts sit outside the copied block.
When should you stop and call a professional?
Pilot near edges, in hardwood and in MDF edges. A short assortment will not hold a thick top piece: several boxes here stop at 40 mm or 60 mm. Stop if heads cam out, snap or chew, and fit the bit printed on the box. Call a professional for structural members, stairs and guards, and any joint whose failure drops a person. None of these boxes is a declared structural screw.

Our verdict

For a repeated indoor chipboard, MDF or softwood joint, the top pick is the TIMCO Solo 5.0 × 100 mm at about £4.19. It is Pozidriv, the bullet states 70 mm of thread on lengths of 80 mm and above, and the listing shows 4.6 from 5,257 reviews. The printed weight is 0.08 g, which is not a box weight, and yellow zinc is not a deck coating. The best value is the ForgeFix 4.0 × 30 mm box of 200 at about £2.03, the lowest single-size Pozidriv price here. Its 4.6 from 9,628 is shared with two other sizes, so that line is not a test of the 30 mm screw alone.

Best overall
ForgeFast Elite 5.0 x 80 mm

ForgeFast Elite 5.0 x 80 mm

View offer
Best value
ForgeFix 4.0 x 30 mm, box of 200

ForgeFix 4.0 x 30 mm, box of 200

Lowest single-size Pozidriv shelf price at about £2.03 for 200. The shared 9,628 reviews are not a test of this length.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
DIY & toolsScrews and accessoriesPozidriv and timber screws

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to wood screws

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources on timber fasteners, UKCA, recess types, gauges and stainless grades. Listing prices and star counts are from the amazon.co.uk extracts kept for this comparison on 15 October 2026. Prices move.

  1. BSI, BS EN 14592:2022 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, designated standards for construction products (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  3. Fastener + Fixing, structural timber fasteners and UKCA (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  4. BS 1210:1963, withdrawn 1 July 2014 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  5. bolts.co.uk, guide to common recess styles (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  6. B&Q, nails, screws and wall plugs (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  7. Screwsline, metric or imperial (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  8. TIMCO, stainless steel FAQ (retrieved 15 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Scores use the 12 listings kept on 15 October 2026. They are not a laboratory test.