Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. Our editors compare products independently. Some links go to shops, and we may earn a commission. More info
Top pick: Pfanner Protos Integral Arborist (black) – Highest score: own table prints EN 12492 and EN 397, with a face shield, hearing protection and vents that open and close. Best value: Protos Integral Arborist (red/yellow) – About £227.70 sits in the specialist band, with a fine visor and integral hearing protection named on the page. Updated October 2026.
A Protos forestry helmet is the Protos kit for chainsaw work, sold in the UK as a model for the ground and a model for work at height. You tell them apart by the chin strap and the standards on the page. Forest is described with EN 397, EN 352-3 and EN 1731 and without a chin strap. A complete kit means those marks, English instructions, a declaration of conformity, and a head size inside 54–62 cm.
The [Protos forestry helmet buying guide](/hub/protective-clothing/protos-forestry-helmet/sub/protos-forestry-helmet-buying-guide) is the checklist before you click.
Off the ground, the Health and Safety Executive recommends a helmet to BS EN 12492, so you buy a helmet to that standard. EN 397 helmets are only recommended for ground work.
UK model pages often include the coarser visor. Gustharts states it is not for climbing and cannot be fitted with a chin strap afterwards. The Arborist kit is muffs, usually the finer visor, a chin strap and a crash absorber, for chainsaw work at height. UK shops state EN 397 and EN 12492 for that shell.
A Protos forestry helmet is the Protos kit for chainsaw work, sold in the UK as a model for the ground and a model for work at height. You tell them apart by the chin strap and the standards on the page.
A Protos forestry helmet is the Protos kit for chainsaw work, sold in the UK as a model for the ground and a model for work at height. You tell them apart by the chin strap and the standards on the page. Forest is described with EN 397, EN 352-3 and EN 1731 and without a chin strap. A complete kit means those marks, English instructions, a declaration of conformity, and a head size inside 54–62 cm.
The [Protos forestry helmet buying guide](/hub/protective-clothing/protos-forestry-helmet/sub/protos-forestry-helmet-buying-guide) is the checklist before you click.
Off the ground, the Health and Safety Executive recommends a helmet to BS EN 12492, so you buy a helmet to that standard. EN 397 helmets are only recommended for ground work.
UK model pages often include the coarser visor. Gustharts states it is not for climbing and cannot be fitted with a chin strap afterwards. The Arborist kit is muffs, usually the finer visor, a chin strap and a crash absorber, for chainsaw work at height. UK shops state EN 397 and EN 12492 for that shell.
A Protos forestry helmet is the Protos kit for chainsaw work, sold in the UK as a model for the ground and a model for work at height. You tell them apart by the chin strap and the standards on the page. Forest is described with EN 397, EN 352-3 and EN 1731 and without a chin strap. A complete kit means those marks, English instructions, a declaration of conformity, and a head size inside 54–62 cm. The Protos forestry helmet buying guide is the checklist before you click.
The black Pfanner Protos Integral Arborist is the listing in this set that prints EN 12492 and EN 397 on its own specification line, with integrated hearing protection, a face shield and vents that open and close. The amazon.co.uk header is £59.99, which does not match UK specialist shelves in October 2026 at about £190 excluding VAT up to £276, so you confirm the live offer before you treat that figure as the price. The star line is 4.8 from 226 ratings. The written reviews on the listing are from the United States, Germany and France, and none is marked as a United Kingdom review. Those reviews describe all-day comfort once the fit is learned, muffs that fold back, and a chin-strap channel you can use with one hand. The same listing includes a headband with no simple dial, a metal shield that dented, foam that came free, small chips through the mesh, and one helmet that started falling apart after a month. The table weight is 1.36 kg. No SNR and no 54–62 cm line appear on this listing.
Pros
Own specification line names EN 12492 and EN 397
Bullets describe integrated hearing protection and a two-finger face shield
Vents are described as opening and closing
4.8 from 226 ratings, the largest star line in this set
Cons
Raw header of £59.99 does not match UK specialist shelves
Review texts are not marked as United Kingdom reviews
Mesh grade and SNR are not stated
Reviews include foam that detaches and one helmet failing within a month
Best for: You want the Arborist listing that prints EN 12492 and EN 397, and you will check the live price before you pay.
Less suitable: You need a header you can set beside a UK shop at about £190–£276, or a 54–62 cm line on the page.
The specification line says EN 12492 and EN 397. The bullets also describe integrated hearing protection and a face shield, without an SNR or a mesh grade.
Can the vents be closed?
The bullets say the vents can be opened or closed for wet, hot or cold conditions.
Why is the price hard to use?
The listing shows £59.99. Other Protos rows in this comparison, and UK specialist shops, sit much higher. The figure is stored as printed, not as a checked live offer.
The red and yellow Protos Integral Arborist is listed at £227.70, inside the UK specialist band for this helmet, with a fine visor, integral hearing protection and a table weight of 1.36 kg. The listing does not print EN 397 or EN 12492, so you cannot tick the standard from this page alone. The star line is 4.8 from 129 ratings, and the review texts are from the United States, Germany and France rather than marked United Kingdom reviews. Reviewers describe a chin strap, climbing use, and muffs that retract once the cradle is set. Fine particles still pass the mesh, which is why one reviewer added safety glasses, and ear pads and the sweat band come loose in use. Adjustment takes time: one owner needed a video, and a reviewer with a 24 inch head said they were at the maximum of the one size. The model number on the table is 205002-10-12, and a bullet says made in Germany.
Pros
£227.70 sits in the specialist price band on this listing's own table
Title and bullets name a fine visor and integral hearing protection
Reviews describe a chin strap and a fit that stays put when you look down
4.8 from 129 ratings, with spare parts mentioned by owners
Cons
No EN number is printed on the listing
Head size in centimetres is not stated
Reviews say fine chips pass the mesh and that pads come loose
Review texts are not marked as United Kingdom reviews
Best for: You want an Arborist-titled helmet at a header price you can compare with a UK shop, and you will read the standard on the box.
Less suitable: You need EN 12492 printed on the amazon.co.uk page, or a stated size for a very large head.
None. The bullets and the specification table do not name EN 397 or EN 12492. The title calls it an arborist helmet with a fine visor and hearing protection.
Does the listing say it is for climbing?
The listing asks the question and does not answer it. Reviews on the listing describe a chin strap and climbing use. Those reviews are not marked as United Kingdom reviews.
The yellow and black Pfanner Protos Integral Arborist is £253 on the listing, with a table weight of 975 g, which a bullet also writes as 2.15 pounds. The title says arborist and full brim, and the header sits in the specialist band. The bullets do not name a visor, hearing protection, EN 397 or EN 12492, and the listing question about a visor is unanswered. An adjustable strap is mentioned, without the Maclip name used on UK Arborist pages. The star line is 4.8 from 26 ratings. The only review text is the word Excelente, from the United States, so there is no fit, chip or strap report to use. At £253 this row costs more than the red and yellow listing and still does not show the mesh grade or the standard.
Pros
£253 header is inside the specialist band on this listing's own table
Table weight is stated as 975 g
A bullet names an adjustable strap and ventilation
Cons
Visor, hearing protection and EN numbers are not on the page
The only review text is one word, so the 4.8 from 26 ratings has no detail
Higher header than the red and yellow Arborist, with less of the kit described
Best for: You already want this yellow and black colour and you will match the box to EN 12492 before you leave the ground.
Less suitable: You need the listing itself to name a visor, muffs or a standard.
This Forest URL titles a Protos Integral with metal visor F39 and a head size of 54–62 cm, at a header of £59.99. The bullets name EN 397, EN 352-3 and EN 1731, integrated hearing protection, ventilation, and a fine metal visor G16 with 16 openings per square centimetre. The title and the bullets do not agree on F39 versus G16. The details block names ASIN B01N6KXRCS, not this URL, so the ABS shell, black colour and buckle are not clean facts for B019N87OI0. There is no star line. Three short reviews are on the listing, and one United Kingdom review says the helmet arrived with no chin strap while still calling the fit snug. A Forest kit is the ground helmet and is sold without a climbing chin strap, and £59.99 is not the specialist shelf of about £180–£190. No SNR is printed.
Pros
Title states 54–62 cm
Bullets name EN 397, EN 352-3 and EN 1731
Hearing protection and a metal visor are named in the included-components line
One United Kingdom review describes a snug fit
Cons
Title says F39 and the bullets say G16
Details block names a different ASIN
£59.99 is not a sourced Forest price
One United Kingdom review says no chin strap was in the box
Best for: You are comparing Forest wording and the 54–62 cm line, and you will not treat £59.99 as the shop price.
Less suitable: You climb, or you need a specification table that names this ASIN.
This second Forest URL repeats the title that says metal visor F39 and 54–62 cm, and the bullets that say a G16 visor with 16 openings per square centimetre. The header price is £49.99 and the picture is its own. The details block matches the other Forest listing and names ASIN B01N6KXRCS, so the EN 397, EN 352-3 and EN 1731 lines are not tied cleanly to this URL. There is no star line and no review text, which means the chin-strap comment on the other Forest listing is not evidence here. Hearing protection is named in the copied included-components line, and no SNR is printed. £49.99 is not a sourced Forest price against UK shops at about £180–£190. Until a live offer shows a specification table for this ASIN, the row is a title, a picture and a header.
Pros
Own picture and a header price of £49.99 are stored for this URL
The title states 54–62 cm
The copied bullets name a metal visor and hearing protection
Cons
No star line and no review text
Details block names a different ASIN
F39 in the title clashes with G16 in the bullets
£49.99 is not the specialist Forest shelf
Best for: You want to see that a second Forest URL exists, and you will open the live page before you rely on the copied table.
Less suitable: You want reviews, a star line, or a specification block that names this ASIN.
How is this listing different from the other Forest URL?
The listing has its own picture and a price of £49.99. The specification block matches the other Forest listing and names ASIN B01N6KXRCS, not this URL.
Which standards do the bullets name?
The bullets say EN 397, EN 352-3 and EN 1731. There is no SNR figure on the listing.
Is there a review score?
No. This listing has no star line and no review text.
The title says Pfanner Protos Integral Arborist and the header says £233, which sits in the specialist band. The specification table and the reviews on the listing are a copy of B07FX8Y5XX, including that ASIN, so EN 12492, the 1.36 kg weight and the 4.8 from 226 ratings are not this listing's figures. Nothing on the listing names a colour, a visor grade, hearing protection or a head size for B07FXXGF1R. The picture is stored. £233 is only a header until the page shows its own table, and it should not be read as a checked live offer. Do not use the copied review praise as a reason to choose this URL over the red and yellow listing, which does name a visor and muffs at £227.70.
Pros
Header price of £233 sits in the specialist band
A product picture is stored for this URL
Cons
Specification block and reviews belong to B07FX8Y5XX
No visor, standard or weight is stored for this ASIN
No star line of its own
Best for: You are comparing a £233 header with the other Arborist prices and you will open the live page for its own table.
Less suitable: You want EN 12492, a weight or a review score that belongs to this ASIN.
The title says Pfanner Protos Integral Arborist and the header says £49.99. The specification block, the 4.8 from 226 ratings and the review texts on the listing are a copy of B07FX8Y5XX, so those standards, that weight and those stars are not facts for this URL. No visor grade, head size, hearing-protection line or chin strap is stored against B00K1A6KN0. The picture is its own. £49.99 is not a specialist Arborist price, and figures in that band are an unverified header rather than a cheaper Protos. You cannot tell from this listing whether a visor and muffs would arrive. Open the live offer and read the table that belongs to this ASIN before you compare it with the black or red and yellow rows.
Pros
The title names a Pfanner Protos Integral Arborist
A product picture is stored for this URL
Cons
Specification block and reviews belong to another ASIN
No standard, visor, weight or size is stored for this URL
£49.99 is not a sourced Arborist price
No star line of its own
Best for: You are sorting which titles in this comparison are not a complete listing.
Less suitable: You want to buy an Arborist from this URL using the facts on the listing.
The details table on the listing is a copy of ASIN B07FX8Y5XX. Those standards are not repeated as facts for this URL.
What price is on the listing?
The header shows £49.99. Nothing else on the listing confirms that this URL is a complete helmet at that price.
Is there a review score for this URL?
No. The 4.8 from 226 ratings on the listing sits in the copied block for B07FX8Y5XX.
How we compared
Seven amazon.co.uk Protos listings were scored from the star line, the review count, what each listing’s own table states, and whether the header sits in the UK specialist band. Shop prices in the sources are a price check, not a second score. This is not a laboratory test. A star rating is not a British impact test, and it is not a United Kingdom review sample unless the text is marked as one. The four weights below sum to 100.
1
Amazon evidence
25%
No star line scores 0. Otherwise the block uses the star line, a volume band, and 3 extra points only when a written review is marked United Kingdom. The block is capped at 25.
2
Listing fit
40%
Points come from the listing’s own table: helmet type, the Forest or Arborist standards, visor, hearing protection, chin strap, a 54–62 cm line, and vents. A details block that names another ASIN loses 12. The floor is 0. The block is capped at 40.
3
Review outcome
20%
Repeated comfort with a named limit scores higher than a one-word review or no text. A return, foam that comes free, or a helmet failing within a month lowers the block. Copied review blocks are not scored twice. The block is capped at 20.
4
Price credibility
15%
A header inside about £180–£276 on the listing’s own table scores more when a visor and hearing protection are both named. Headers at £49.99 or £59.99 are not treated as a cheaper Protos. The block is capped at 15.
Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
9 sources checked
Protos forestry helmet buying guide
Choose on job height first, then the standard printed on that listing’s own table, then head size, mesh and muffs, then whether the header matches a UK shop. A star line does not add a certificate.
What a Protos forestry helmet is
A Protos forestry helmet is the Pfanner Protos Integral kit for chainsaw work. The split is the job height. Off the ground, the Health and Safety Executive recommends a helmet to BS EN 12492, so you buy the Arborist. On the ground, EN 397, EN 14052 or EN 12492 can be suitable, and the Forest is the ground kit. EN 397 helmets are only recommended for ground work.
The Forest is integrated muffs and a metal visor for ground forestry. UK model pages often include the coarser G16 visor.
Best for
Chainsaw work on the ground, with a Forest or another accepted ground helmet
Chainsaw work at height, with an Arborist you can match to EN 12492
A buyer who will ignore headers near £50 and read the standard on the box
Not ideal for
Anyone who plans to add a chin strap to a Forest and then climb
A buyer who needs the amazon.co.uk stars to be marked United Kingdom reviews
Anyone treating the helmet as complete protection against a chainsaw cut
Mistakes to avoid
1
Buying the Forest and then climbing
The Forest is the ground kit. A UK dealer states it is not for climbing and that a chin strap cannot be fitted afterwards. Off the ground, HSE recommends a helmet to BS EN 12492. That is the Arborist, not a Forest with a strap added later.
2
Reading 4.8 stars as a British test
The 4.8 lines are amazon.co.uk star counts. The written reviews on these listings are mostly from the United States, Germany or France, and they are not marked as United Kingdom reviews. A star rating is not a British impact test and it does not fill in a missing EN number.
3
Treating about £50 as the Protos price
UK specialist shelves in October 2026 sit about £180–£190 for a Forest and about £190 excluding VAT up to £276 for an Arborist. Headers at £49.99 or £59.99, including the black row, are not a sourced entry tier. A table that names another ASIN is not a cheaper complete helmet.
What to weigh up
Job height and the standard on the box
High
Off the ground, buy the Arborist. The Health and Safety Executive recommends a helmet to BS EN 12492 for aerial tree work. On the ground, EN 397, EN 14052 or EN 12492 can be suitable, and the Forest is the kit sold without a climbing chin strap. A UK dealer says you cannot add that strap later and then climb.
In this set, only the black Arborist prints EN 12492 and EN 397 on its own specification line.
Head size, mesh, muffs and a credible price
High
The standard shell is 54–62 cm. A small neck pad is sold for about 52–60 cm and a large neck closure for about 56–64 cm. The Forest titles in this set state 54–62 cm. The Arborist rows do not. Measure before you order. Mesh to EN 1731 does not replace EN 166 glasses. Reviews of the red and yellow helmet say fine chips still pass the mesh, and those reviews are not marked as United Kingdom reviews. Muffs count only when they seal. UK shops print SNR 26 dB and one Swiss page prints 27 dB.
Which option suits you?
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
🧗
Chainsaw work off the ground
The Health and Safety Executive recommends a helmet to BS EN 12492 once you leave the ground. The black Arborist is the listing in this set that prints EN 12492 and EN 397 on its own table. The stored header of about £59.99 is not the specialist shelf, so you check the live price and the mark on the box. Do not convert a Forest by adding a chin strap.
On the ground, EN 397, EN 14052 or EN 12492 can be suitable, and the Forest is the ground kit. This Forest URL names EN 397, EN 352-3 and EN 1731 in the bullets, with a 54–62 cm line. The title says F39 and the bullets say G16, and the details block names another ASIN, so you read the box. A UK dealer states a Forest is not for climbing.
You still need the same standards if you cut only occasionally. The red and yellow Arborist is about £227.70, with a fine visor, integral hearing protection and 4.8 from 129 ratings. No EN number is printed, and the review texts are not marked as United Kingdom reviews. Read EN 12492 on the box before you leave the ground.
Which Protos forestry helmet is the top pick in this set?
The top pick is the black Pfanner Protos Integral Arborist. Its own specification line prints EN 12492 and EN 397, with integrated hearing protection, a face shield and vents that open and close. The star line is 4.8 from 226 ratings, and the written reviews are not marked as United Kingdom reviews. The stored header is about £59.99. UK specialist Arborist shelves in October 2026 run from about £190 excluding VAT to £276, so you confirm the live offer. This score is not a lab test.
Should you buy the Forest or the Arborist?
Buy the Arborist if you leave the ground. The Health and Safety Executive recommends a helmet to BS EN 12492 for aerial tree work. Buy the Forest for chainsaw work on the ground, where EN 397, EN 14052 or EN 12492 can be suitable. A UK dealer states that a Forest is not for climbing and that a chin strap cannot be fitted afterwards. Do not add a strap and call the Forest an Arborist.
What should the listing and the box show?
Match the box to a stated certificate: EN 397 and, for the Arborist, EN 12492; hearing to EN 352-3; mesh to EN 1731. Workplace PPE on the Great Britain market should be UKCA or CE marked, with English instructions and a declaration of conformity. A missing EN number on an amazon.co.uk page is not filled in from a dealer site. Mesh to EN 1731 does not replace glasses or goggles to BS EN 166.
Why are amazon.co.uk headers near £50 not the Protos price?
UK specialist shelves in October 2026 sit about £180–£190 for a Forest and about £190 excluding VAT up to £276 for an Arborist. Raw amazon.co.uk headers at £49.99 or £59.99 are stored as printed. They are not a sourced entry tier, including on the black Arborist row. A table that names another ASIN is not a verified cheaper Protos. A basic EN 397 kit from another brand at about £30 is a different product.
What head size fits a Protos forestry helmet?
The standard shell is 54–62 cm. A small neck pad is sold for about 52–60 cm and a large neck closure for about 56–64 cm. Measure before you order. Two Forest titles in this set state 54–62 cm. The Arborist rows here do not state a centimetre size. One review of the red and yellow helmet, not marked as a United Kingdom review, said a 24 inch head was at the maximum of the one size.
Do the muffs and the mesh replace glasses?
No. Muffs count only when they seal, and mesh to EN 1731 does not replace EN 166 glasses. UK shops print SNR 26 dB and one Swiss page prints 27 dB, so use the figure on your own muffs rather than one number for every saw. HSE warns against muffs that take the ear below about 70 dB, because warnings disappear. The action values are 80 dB(A) and 85 dB(A), and the limit after protection is 87 dB(A).
Do you still need gloves and the rest of the kit?
A helmet does not replace the rest of the chainsaw kit. You still need protection for your hands, legs and feet, which this comparison does not score. Hearing is BS EN 352-1, BS EN 352-2 or BS EN 352-3, and eye protection is BS EN 166. The chainsaw gloves comparison is the separate listing set for the gloves. Employers still need trained operators under PUWER. Northern Ireland’s HSENI page carries the same kind of minimum list.
When should you stop and get competent help?
Stop and get competent help if you use a chainsaw at work without training, if the shell has taken a blow, or if you employ people and have no noise assessment. Do not drill the shell. UK shops say replace the shell every five years, but they do not share one start date, so read the stamp. No helmet gives complete protection against a chainsaw cut. A star rating is not a British impact test.
Our verdict
The top pick is the black Pfanner Protos Integral Arborist. It has the highest score because its own specification line prints EN 12492 and EN 397, with integrated hearing protection, a face shield and vents that open and close. The stored header is about £59.99, which does not match UK specialist shelves at about £190 excluding VAT up to £276, so you confirm the live offer. The best value is the red and yellow Protos Integral Arborist at about £227.70. That header sits in the specialist band, and the page names a fine visor and integral hearing protection. It does not print an EN number. Review texts on both rows are not marked as United Kingdom reviews. No score here is a lab test, or a claim that the helmet stops a chainsaw.
Best overall
Pfanner Protos Integral Arborist (black)
Highest score: own table prints EN 12492 and EN 397, with a face shield, hearing protection and vents that open and close.
Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.
Updated: October 2026
9 sources checked
Guides to Protos forestry helmets
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources for helmet standards, hearing, mesh and PPE supply. Listing prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures stored in this set, not a live re-check. UK specialist shelves are the price check. Retrieved 19 October 2026.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk with the tag pcuk26-21. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are the UK listing lines in this set. We did not run a lab test.