Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Waterproof work gloves comparison 2026

The best waterproof work gloves, compared.

Top pick: flintronic 2 pairs, L Best value: PROGANDA 2 pairs, medium – About £5.99 for two unlined pairs, with 508 reviews, against about £5.32 for one fleece pair. Not for a cold yard or a printed standard. Updated 17 October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

A waterproof work glove on amazon.co.uk is usually a reusable latex-coated knit for wet handling. Some listings add a fleece or acrylic liner. A leather winter glove with a waterproof layer named on the page is less common. People in the UK buy them for gardening, yards and stables, car washing, light building, cold rooms, and rain on site. They are not chemical gauntlets, and they are not chainsaw gloves. Quality starts with whether the coating covers the hand you actually get wet, whether a liner matches the season, and whether a size in millimetres matches your hand. A title that says waterproof is not an EN 511 result and not an EN 374 result. The checks before you pay are in the [waterproof work gloves buying guide](/hub/protective-clothing/waterproof-work-gloves/sub/waterproof-work-gloves-buying-guide). Rain and wet tools suit an unlined latex dip.

A waterproof work glove on amazon.co.uk is usually a reusable latex-coated knit for wet handling. Some listings add a fleece or acrylic liner.

flintronic 2 pairs, L

Best overall

flintronic 2 pairs, L
6.7/10∼ £5

36 products checked · 54 hrs invested · +17,200 readers

11 of 11: Best waterproof work gloves compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 11
Best overall
flintronic 2 pairs, L
Baratec 12 pairs, size 9/L
Best value
PROGANDA 2 pairs, medium
PROGANDA 2 pairs, large
KAYGO KG150, size L
GAVOROHANS Ga812, orange, M/8
OriStout OR0070016, grey, M
GAVOROHANS 6201w, 2 pairs, L
SLARMOR Jx-zs-l, size L
flintronic 6 pairs, M
flintronic 2 pairs, M
6.7/10
8.4/10
7.8/10
7.7/10
7.6/10
7.8/10
8.3/10
8.4/10
6.5/10
6.7/10
6.0/10
∼ £5
∼ £29
∼ £6
∼ £6
∼ £8
∼ £5
∼ £10
∼ £10
∼ £30
∼ £10
∼ £5
4.8(82)
4.6(139)
4.5(508)
4.5(508)
4.5(425)
4.5(202)
4.4(5,964)
4.4(946)
4.4(99)
4.4(68)
4.4(68)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best waterproof work gloves in detail

flintronic 2 pairs, L

Rank 1

flintronic 2 pairs, L

Our view

The flintronic size L listing is £5.49, with a latex coat, an elastic cuff, and a stated length of 24.5 cm, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.8 from 82 reviews. The title and unit count say two pairs, while number of items says 4, so the pack fields disagree, and no liner is named. A review says to buy the same glove with thermal inners if you want warmth, and that this pair is the cheaper unlined one. The care line says machine washable and tumble dry low, which differs from the six-pair page, and there is a six-month warranty field and no EN code. Choose it for mild outdoor tasks if you check how many gloves arrive. Skip it for winter, and do not treat 4.8 from 82 reviews as a large evidence base.

Pros

  • £5.49
  • 4.8 from 82 reviews
  • Elastic cuff and 24.5 cm length stated
  • Six-month warranty field

Cons

  • Pack-count fields disagree
  • No liner
  • Machine-wash line conflicts with the six-pair page
  • No EN code

Best for: Mild outdoor tasks if you count the gloves that arrive.

Less suitable: Winter warmth, or anyone who needs the pack count to agree.

Specifications

Model
flintronic 2 pairs, L
Brand
flintronic
Price
∼£5
Customer rating
4.8/5(82)
Lining
Not stated
Coating
Latex
Waterproof claim
Field only
Stated standard
Not stated
Pack
Count disagrees
Care
Machine wash
Size
L
Cuff
Elastic cuff
Touchscreen
Not stated
Main job
Garden, outdoor

Common questions

How many gloves does the page count?

The title and unit count say two pairs. Number of items says 4. Those fields disagree.

Is a liner named?

No. A review says to buy the same glove with thermal inners if you want warmth, and that this pair is the cheaper unlined one.

What care line is printed?

Machine washable and tumble dry low. That differs from the six-pair flintronic page, which says hand wash and no dryer.

Baratec 12 pairs, size 9/L

Rank 2

Baratec 12 pairs, size 9/L

∼£29

Our view

The Baratec twelve-pack is the top pick in this set because it is the only listing that prints a mechanical code, EN 388:2016 2121X beside EN 420, at £28.65 for twelve size 9/L pairs. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 139 reviews, and the bullets say the latex palm on nylon is waterproof to the wrist. Read 2121X as modest: abrasion 2, coupe cut 1, tear 2, puncture 1, and no ISO cut letter. No liner is named, and one review says they are a fair waterproof glove and not warm in winter. Some reviewers say the waterproofing went after a few days of hard use, while others report about a week of concreting. That pattern is not a rated life and not a cement assessment. Choose it as a van spare with a printed code, and skip it for winter warmth or a high cut level.

Pros

  • Only printed EN 388:2016 2121X in the set
  • Twelve size 9/L pairs at £28.65
  • Bullets say waterproof to the wrist
  • 4.6 from 139 reviews

Cons

  • 2121X is a modest mechanical score
  • No liner, and a review says not warm in winter
  • Hard-use reviews disagree on how many days the film lasts

Best for: A van or site box of unlined rain spares, where a printed mechanical code matters.

Less suitable: Winter warmth, a high cut level, or wet cement.

Specifications

Model
Baratec 12 pairs, size 9/L
Brand
Baratec
Price
∼£29
Customer rating
4.6/5(139)
Lining
Not stated
Coating
Latex palm
Waterproof claim
To the wrist
Stated standard
EN 388:2016 2121X
Pack
12 pairs
Care
Hand wash
Size
9/L
Cuff
Pull-on
Touchscreen
Not stated
Main job
Trade and gardening

Common questions

What does the printed EN 388 code say?

The bullets say EN388:2016 2121X and EN420, and that Intertek tested them. Read as a buyer, 2121X is abrasion 2, coupe cut 1, tear 2, puncture 1, and no ISO cut letter.

Are they described as warm?

No liner is named. One review says they are a fair waterproof glove and not warm in winter.

What do site reviews say about life?

Some report the waterproofing gone after a few days of hard use. Others report concreting for about a week and say they last longer than pairs they had been replacing daily.

PROGANDA 2 pairs, medium

Rank 3

PROGANDA 2 pairs, medium

Our view

The PROGANDA medium two-pack is the best value in this set: £5.99 for two pairs, latex-coated, with no liner named, and 4.5 from 508 reviews. The listing job is gardening. A review says they are waterproof and not suitable for winter because they are not breathable. Another says they rip on a slight thorn, though rain stays out until there is a hole. The United Kingdom reviews match the large PROGANDA listing, so the text is not unique to medium. No EN code is printed. Choose it for mild rain and wet tools when you want a cheap spare. Skip it for a cold yard, thorns, or a workplace that needs a printed standard.

Pros

  • Two pairs at £5.99
  • 4.5 from 508 reviews
  • Unlined latex for wet-tool feel
  • Hand-wash care line

Cons

  • No liner, and a review says not for winter
  • A slight thorn can rip them
  • Review text matches the large listing
  • No EN code

Best for: Mild rain and gardening when you want two cheap unlined spares.

Less suitable: A cold yard, brambles, or a site that needs a printed standard.

Specifications

Model
PROGANDA 2 pairs, medium
Brand
PROGANDA
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.5/5(508)
Lining
Not stated
Coating
Latex ultra-grip
Waterproof claim
Field only
Stated standard
Not stated
Pack
2 pairs
Care
Hand wash
Size
Medium
Cuff
Pull-on
Touchscreen
Not stated
Main job
Gardening

Common questions

Is a thermal liner named?

No. A review says they are waterproof and not suitable for winter because they are not breathable.

Do the reviews mention thorns?

Yes. One review says they rip on a slight thorn even though rain stays out until there is a hole.

Is the review text unique to this size?

No. The 50 United Kingdom reviews match the large PROGANDA listing.

PROGANDA 2 pairs, large

Rank 4

PROGANDA 2 pairs, large

Our view

The PROGANDA large two-pack is £5.97, latex-coated, with no liner named, and the same 4.5 from 508 reviews as the medium listing. This page says wash in cold water, do not machine dry, and dry away from heat. The spec says long sleeve, and the weight is 180 g against 150 g on the medium listing. The reviews are the same text as the medium listing, including a line that says one size only. No EN code is printed. Choose it if you already know you need the larger label for gardening in the rain. Skip it if you need reviews written about this size, or if the job is winter.

Pros

  • Two large pairs at £5.97
  • Cold-wash care line is specific
  • Long-sleeve field on the spec

Cons

  • Same review text as the medium listing
  • A review line says one size only
  • No liner and no EN code

Best for: Rainy gardening if you have already checked that large is your size.

Less suitable: Winter warmth, or proof that the reviews belong only to this size.

Specifications

Model
PROGANDA 2 pairs, large
Brand
PROGANDA
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.5/5(508)
Lining
Not stated
Coating
Latex ultra-grip
Waterproof claim
Field only
Stated standard
Not stated
Pack
2 pairs
Care
Cold wash
Size
Large
Cuff
Long sleeve
Touchscreen
Not stated
Main job
Gardening

Common questions

How does care differ from the medium PROGANDA listing?

This page says wash in cold water, do not machine dry, and dry away from heat. The medium page only says hand wash.

What is the sleeve field?

The spec says long sleeve. Weight is 180 g, against 150 g on the medium listing.

Are the reviews specific to large?

The 50 reviews are the same text as the medium listing, including a line that says one size only.

KAYGO KG150, size L

Rank 5

KAYGO KG150, size L

Our view

The KAYGO KG150 is one black size L pair at £7.98, with a double latex sandy palm and no liner named. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 425 reviews. The bullets say they are for wet work where full hand immersion is not required, and one review says they keep hands dry for hours in a wet garden and are not for a full dunk. Care is hand wash, and the bullets cap wash water at 40°C. The page says nitrile free and powder free, and one buyer with existing eczema reports a strong skin reaction. No EN 374 or EN 511 code is printed. Choose it for wet handling that stays short of a dunk. Skip it if you need to submerge your hands, or if latex has already irritated your skin.

Pros

  • Bullets exclude full immersion
  • 4.5 from 425 reviews
  • Wash water capped at 40°C in the bullets
  • £7.98

Cons

  • Not for a full dunk
  • Latex, and nitrile free
  • One eczema review reports a strong skin reaction
  • No EN 374 or EN 511 code

Best for: Wet garden handling that does not dunk the hands.

Less suitable: Submersion, chemicals, or skin that already reacts to latex.

Specifications

Model
KAYGO KG150, size L
Brand
KAYGO
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
4.5/5(425)
Lining
Not stated
Coating
Double latex
Waterproof claim
No full dunk
Stated standard
Not stated
Pack
1 pair
Care
Hand wash, 40°C
Size
L
Cuff
Elastic cuff
Touchscreen
Not stated
Main job
Wet handling

Common questions

Can you submerge them?

The bullets say they are for wet work where full hand immersion is not required. One review says they keep hands dry for hours in a wet garden and are not for a full dunk.

What wash limit is printed?

The care field says hand wash. The bullets say tempered water not exceeding 40 C, a short cycle, and a cold rinse.

Do reviews mention skin?

One buyer with existing eczema reports a strong skin reaction. The palm is latex, and the page says nitrile free.

GAVOROHANS Ga812, orange, M/8

Rank 6

GAVOROHANS Ga812, orange, M/8

Our view

The GAVOROHANS Ga812 is one orange size M/8 pair at £5.32, the lowest shelf price here, with a fleece liner and a double latex coat. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 202 reviews. Special features say insulated, thorn proof, and waterproof, but no EN 388 puncture digit is printed, and the care field says hand wash. One review says a washing machine affects the coating, and another says repeated washing made the outside sticky and ended the waterproofing. Most winter-work reviews call them waterproof, though one vine-harvest review says they were not. Choose it for a cheap fleece pair in a cold garden. Skip it if you will machine-wash them, or if you need a tested puncture level.

Pros

  • Lowest shelf price, £5.32
  • Fleece liner and double latex
  • 4.5 from 202 reviews

Cons

  • Thorn proof has no puncture digit
  • Washing can end the waterproofing
  • One review says they were not waterproof

Best for: A cheap single fleece pair for cold garden work.

Less suitable: Machine washing, or a tested puncture level.

Specifications

Model
GAVOROHANS Ga812, orange, M/8
Brand
GAVOROHANS
Price
∼£5
Customer rating
4.5/5(202)
Lining
Fleece
Coating
Double latex
Waterproof claim
Field only
Stated standard
Not stated
Pack
1 pair
Care
Hand wash
Size
M/8
Cuff
Pull-on
Touchscreen
Not stated
Main job
Cold outdoor work

Common questions

Is thorn proof a tested claim?

Special features say insulated, thorn proof, and waterproof. No EN 388 puncture digit is printed.

What do reviews say about washing?

The care field says hand wash. One review says a washing machine affects the coating, and another says repeated washing made the outside sticky and ended the waterproofing.

Does every review call them waterproof?

No. Most winter-work reviews do. One vine-harvest review says they were comfortable and not waterproof.

OriStout OR0070016, grey, M

Rank 7

OriStout OR0070016, grey, M

∼£10

Our view

The OriStout OR0070016 is one grey medium pair at £9.99, with an acrylic terry liner and a sandy latex palm. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 5,964 reviews, the largest count in this set. The bullets aim it at winter work and cold storage and claim a touchscreen, and there is no EN code in the captured fields. Reviews say check the chart, a usual size 10 found an 11 tight, and the waterproofing comments are mixed. One review says they are not fully waterproof when tried, and another says light rain stays out. A high count is not a British Standard. Choose it for the best-reviewed terry liner here. Skip it if your usual size has already missed, or if you need a printed water test.

Pros

  • Largest review count in the set, 4.4 from 5,964
  • Acrylic terry liner named
  • Aimed at winter work and cold storage
  • £9.99

Cons

  • No EN code
  • One review says not fully waterproof
  • Medium ran tight for some usual larger sizes

Best for: Winter work or a cold room when you want the terry liner with the most reviews.

Less suitable: A printed EN 511 result, or a hand that already finds mediums tight.

Specifications

Model
OriStout OR0070016, grey, M
Brand
OriStout
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.4/5(5,964)
Lining
Acrylic terry
Coating
Sandy latex
Waterproof claim
Field only
Stated standard
Not stated
Pack
1 pair
Care
Hand wash
Size
Medium
Cuff
Pull-on
Touchscreen
Claimed
Main job
Winter, cold store

Common questions

Is a touchscreen claimed?

Yes. Special features say touchscreen, and the bullets name graphene on the palm dip. There is no EN code in the captured fields.

What do reviews say about fit?

This listing is medium. Reviews say check the chart: a usual size 10 found an 11 tight, and one buyer who takes a 10 bought an 11.

Are they fully waterproof in every review?

The field says waterproof. One review says they are not fully waterproof when tried. Another says light rain stays out and heavy rain holds for a while. One review says the liner came loose.

GAVOROHANS 6201w, 2 pairs, L

Rank 8

GAVOROHANS 6201w, 2 pairs, L

∼£10

Our view

The GAVOROHANS 6201w is two blue size L pairs at £9.99, with a thick polar fleece liner and a double latex coat. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 946 reviews. The care field says hand wash, and reviews say air drying can take four or five days. Waterproof is a product field, not an EN 511 digit, and no EN 388 code is printed. One review still reports cold fingertips, so the fleece does not guarantee warm fingers. Choose it for cold outdoor work when you want a spare pair in the same pack. Skip it if you need a printed standard or thin fingertips for fiddly work.

Pros

  • Thick polar fleece named, two pairs
  • 4.4 from 946 reviews
  • £9.99 for the pack
  • Hand-wash care line

Cons

  • No EN 388 or EN 511 code
  • Air drying can take four or five days
  • One review reports cold fingertips

Best for: Cold garden or yard work when you want two fleece pairs.

Less suitable: A printed standard, or fine work that needs bare-latex feel.

Specifications

Model
GAVOROHANS 6201w, 2 pairs, L
Brand
GAVOROHANS
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.4/5(946)
Lining
Fleece
Coating
Double latex
Waterproof claim
Field only
Stated standard
Not stated
Pack
2 pairs
Care
Hand wash
Size
L
Cuff
Pull-on
Touchscreen
Not stated
Main job
Cold outdoor work

Common questions

Does the listing print an EN standard?

No. Waterproof is a product field. The bullets name a double latex coat and Aquavent. There is no EN 388 or EN 511 code in the captured fields.

How should you wash them?

The care field says hand wash. Reviews say air drying can take four or five days, and that deep dirt can need more than one wash.

Are they described as warm?

Yes. The title and material features name a thick polar fleece liner. One review still reports cold fingertips.

SLARMOR Jx-zs-l, size L

Rank 9

SLARMOR Jx-zs-l, size L

∼£30

Our view

The SLARMOR Jx-zs-l is one brown size L pair at £29.99, with a cowhide palm and 100 g Thinsulate named in the bullets. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 99 reviews, and the cuff is hook-and-loop. Material features say abrasion-resistant, puncture-resistant, and waterproof, and those words are not an EN 388 or EN 511 string. Several reviews say the large runs small, with short fingers and a wrist that is not fully covered, while warmth is praised in the cold. The bullets claim a touchscreen, one review says it is not easy, and care is not stated. Choose it when you want a leather palm and a named insulation weight and will accept less feel. Skip it if you need a true size L or a printed standard.

Pros

  • Cowhide palm
  • 100 g Thinsulate named
  • Hook-and-loop cuff
  • Warmth praised in cold-weather reviews

Cons

  • £29.99 for one pair
  • Large runs small in several reviews
  • No EN 388 or EN 511 code
  • Touchscreen claim is weak in one review

Best for: Cold work where you want a leather palm and named insulation.

Less suitable: A true size L, a printed standard, or fine fingertip work.

Specifications

Model
SLARMOR Jx-zs-l, size L
Brand
SLARMOR
Price
∼£30
Customer rating
4.4/5(99)
Lining
Thinsulate 100 g
Coating
Cowhide palm
Waterproof claim
Field, TPU named
Stated standard
Not stated
Pack
1 pair
Size
L
Cuff
Hook-and-loop
Touchscreen
Claimed
Main job
Winter work

Common questions

Is an EN 388 or EN 511 code printed?

No. Material features say abrasion-resistant, puncture-resistant, and waterproof. Those words are not a digit string.

What do reviews say about the large?

Several say it runs small, with short fingers and a wrist that is not fully covered. Warmth is praised by people who have worn them in the cold.

Does the touchscreen claim hold in reviews?

The bullets claim a touchscreen. One review says the touchscreen is not easy.

flintronic 6 pairs, M

Rank 10

flintronic 6 pairs, M

∼£10

Our view

The flintronic six-pack is six medium pairs at £9.99, latex on nylon, with 4.4 from 68 reviews. No liner is named: one review expected a lining and did not find one, while another buyer chose them because thick lined gloves made precise work harder. Material features include the word cut-resistant, and there is no EN 388 digit string. Care is hand wash in cold water, air dry, and no machine or dryer. One review reports a hole after a day of light gardening, while others praise a six-pack for a garden, a shed, and boat repairs. Choose it when you want several unlined spares. Skip it if you read cut-resistant as a test.

Pros

  • Six pairs at £9.99
  • Hand wash and no dryer, clearly stated
  • Unlined, which some buyers wanted for precise work

Cons

  • Cut-resistant has no EN 388 digits
  • A hole after a day of light gardening in one review
  • Only 68 reviews
  • No liner

Best for: Several unlined spares for light gardening, a shed, or boat repairs.

Less suitable: A cut test, a lining, or hard wear on day one.

Specifications

Model
flintronic 6 pairs, M
Brand
flintronic
Price
∼£10
Customer rating
4.4/5(68)
Lining
Not stated
Coating
Latex, nylon
Waterproof claim
Field only
Stated standard
Not stated
Pack
6 pairs
Care
Hand wash
Size
M
Cuff
Elastic band
Touchscreen
Not stated
Main job
Garden, outdoor

Common questions

Does the page show a cut code?

No. Material features include the word cut-resistant. There is no EN 388 digit string.

Are they lined?

No liner is named. One review says the buyer expected a lining and did not find one. Another bought them because thick lined gloves made precise work harder.

What failed in the reviews?

One review reports a hole after a day of light gardening. Others praise a six-pack for gardening, a shed, and boat repairs.

flintronic 2 pairs, M

Rank 11

flintronic 2 pairs, M

Our view

The flintronic size M two-pair listing is £5.49, latex, with a stated length of 23.5 cm, and 4.4 from 68 reviews. The title and number of items say two pairs, while unit count says 4. This page says machine washable. The six-pair page says hand wash in cold water and no dryer. The reviews match the six-pair file, including comments about a pack of six, so they are not a separate medium-pair test. No liner and no EN code are named. Choose it only if you have checked the pair in hand and you want an unlined medium for light gardening. Skip it if you need reviews that clearly belong to this pack.

Pros

  • £5.49
  • 23.5 cm length stated
  • Machine-wash line on this page

Cons

  • Pack-count fields disagree
  • Reviews match the six-pair file
  • Care line conflicts with the six-pair page
  • No liner and no EN code

Best for: Light gardening in an unlined medium, after you count the gloves in the parcel.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs reviews that belong only to this pack.

Specifications

Model
flintronic 2 pairs, M
Brand
flintronic
Price
∼£5
Customer rating
4.4/5(68)
Lining
Not stated
Coating
Latex
Waterproof claim
Field only
Stated standard
Not stated
Pack
Count disagrees
Care
Machine wash
Size
M
Cuff
Elastic cuff
Touchscreen
Not stated
Main job
Garden, outdoor

Common questions

Do the pack fields agree?

The title and number of items say two pairs. Unit count says 4. They do not agree.

Is the care line the same as the six-pair page?

No. This page says machine washable. The six-pair page says hand wash in cold water and no dryer.

Whose reviews are in the file?

The 16 reviews match the six-pair listing, including comments about a pack of six.

How we compared

Eleven amazon.co.uk listings were scored from shelf prices, stars and review counts captured on 15 October 2026. Each glove gets an editorial score from 0 to 100: stars up to 30, review volume up to 20, a claim you can check up to 15, liner for the job up to 14, price in this set up to 12, and a printed standard up to 8. Those six bands total 99 on the score sheet. The weights below use 13 for price so the published parts total 100, and the price band still awards at most 12. Deductions sit outside the weights. The score is not the star rating times 20. A higher score is a rank inside this set. It is not EN 511, EN 374-2, or a UKCA mark. There was no wear trial and no laboratory score.

1

Stars

30%

Amazon.co.uk stars divided by 5, multiplied by 30, and rounded half up. The star line is not turned into the whole score.

2

Review volume

20%

5,000 or more reviews score 20. 500–4,999 score 16, or 14 if the stored review text is shared with another ASIN. Smaller files score less, down to 4 under 70 reviews.

3

Claim you can check

15%

A coating, waterproof wording and a care line that agree score 12 to 14. An explicit immersion limit scores 15. A review that contradicts the water claim drops this part to 11. Pack-count fields that disagree score 8.

4

Liner for the job

14%

Fleece, terry, or a named Thinsulate weight scores 14. Unlined, when the page does not pretend otherwise, scores 9.

5

Price in this set

13%

About £3 a pair or less in a multi-pack scores 12 on the score sheet. A twelve-pack near £2.40 a pair scores 11. One pair at £29.99 scores 3. The weight is 13 so the six parts total 100. The sheet still stops at 12.

6

Printed standard

8%

EN 388 digits on the listing score 8. No digit string scores 0. A modest 2121X is not deducted again as a missing code.

Independent review
Last updated: 17 October 2026
8 sources checked

Waterproof work gloves buying guide

Most of this set is a reusable latex-coated knit for wet handling, sometimes with a fleece or acrylic liner. The decision is the job, what waterproof means on that listing, and whether a size in millimetres matches your hand. A title that says waterproof is not an EN 511 or EN 374 result. Prices below are amazon.co.uk shelf prices captured on 15 October 2026, not a live re-check and not a market average.

What is a waterproof work glove?

A waterproof work glove on amazon.co.uk is usually a reusable latex-coated knit for wet handling, sometimes with a fleece or acrylic liner, and less often a leather winter glove with a waterproof layer named on the listing. People in the UK buy them for gardening, yards and stables, car washing, light building, cold rooms, and rain on site. They are not chemical gauntlets and they are not chainsaw gloves. The job comes first. Rain and wet tools suit an unlined latex dip.

Best for

  • Garden, yard and stable work when you will replace a split pair
  • A van spare for rain, if you read the printed code and do not treat it as chemical PPE

Not ideal for

  • Fuel, solvent, cement, or a task with a safety data sheet
  • Anyone with a latex allergy, or a site that must document PPE

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading waterproof as a water test

    EN 511 water penetration is pass or fail after 30 minutes submerged. None of these listings prints that digit. EN 374-2 is what the Health and Safety Executive cites for wet-work waterproofing, and it is not printed here either.

  2. 2

    Trusting the letter L

    Size 9 (L) is 229 mm circumference and 192 mm length under EN ISO 21420. Baratec, SLARMOR and OriStout reviews say a labelled size missed the hand. A twelve-pack in the wrong size is twelve unused pairs.

  3. 3

    Washing the coating until it fails

    Machine washing is blamed for a cracked or sticky film. On the GAVOROHANS orange pair, a review says repeated washing ended the waterproofing. Drying can take days, which is why reviewers keep a second pair.

What to weigh up

What the waterproof claim actually is

High

A full dip and a palm dip are different jobs. KAYGO’s bullets say full hand immersion is not required, and one review says the pair is not for a dunk. Baratec’s bullets say waterproof to the wrist and print EN 388:2016 2121X beside EN 420. That mechanical code is modest: abrasion 2, coupe cut 1, tear 2, puncture 1, and no ISO cut letter. It is not an EN 511 water digit. EN 511 is pass or fail after 30 minutes submerged, and none of these tables shows it.

Liner, size and care

High

Fleece, terry, or a named Thinsulate weight is the cold-yard choice. Unlined latex is the mild-rain choice, with more feel and little warmth. Size 8 is 203 mm around the hand and 182 mm long. Size 9 is 229 mm and 192 mm. EN ISO 21420:2020 replaced EN 420, and Baratec still prints EN 420. Knit cuffs let water in at the wrist. Coatings do not breathe. Hand wash is the care line on most of these pages, and the two flintronic two-pair pages say machine wash while the six-pair page says no dryer.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

A van spare with a printed code

You want rain spares in the van and a mechanical code you can read on the listing. The Baratec twelve-pack prints EN 388:2016 2121X beside EN 420, at about £28.65 for twelve size 9/L pairs. The code is modest, no liner is named, and a review says they are not warm in winter.

Mild rain and a cheap spare

Gardening in the rain, when you want two unlined pairs and you do not need a printed standard. The PROGANDA medium two-pack is about £5.99, with 4.5 from 508 reviews. A review says they are not for winter, and a slight thorn can rip them.

A cold yard or a cold room

Fleece under latex for outdoor work when you want a spare pair in the same pack. The GAVOROHANS 6201w is two size L pairs at about £9.99, with 4.4 from 946 reviews. No EN code is printed, and one review still reports cold fingertips.

Common questions about waterproof work gloves

Which waterproof work glove is the top pick in 2026?
The Baratec twelve-pack, size 9/L, is the top pick in this set. It is the only listing that prints a mechanical code, EN 388:2016 2121X beside EN 420, at about £28.65 for twelve pairs. Read 2121X as modest: abrasion 2, coupe cut 1, tear 2, puncture 1, and no ISO cut letter. No liner is named. amazon.co.uk shows 4.6 from 139 reviews. This is not a laboratory result and not an EN 511 pass.
How much do waterproof work gloves cost?
Shelf prices captured on amazon.co.uk on 15 October 2026 run from about £5.32 to about £29.99. Entry pairs and two-packs sit around £5.32 to £7.98. Mid listings at £9.99 include a GAVOROHANS fleece two-pack, a flintronic six-pack and the OriStout terry pair. The Baratec twelve-pack is about £28.65. The SLARMOR leather pair is about £29.99. These are captured shelf prices, not a market average.
What should you check before you buy waterproof work gloves?
Start with the job. Rain and wet tools suit an unlined latex dip. A cold yard or cold store suits fleece or terry, or a lined leather palm if you will accept less fingertip feel. Then read what waterproof means on that page: a full dip, a palm dip, or a line that full immersion is not required. If a workplace needs a standard, look for printed digits. A letter size alone is not a measurement.
Does waterproof on the title mean EN 511?
No. EN 511 water penetration is a pass, marked 1, or a fail, marked 0, after 30 minutes submerged. None of these amazon.co.uk tables prints an EN 511 code, and none prints EN 374-2, which is what the Health and Safety Executive cites for wet-work waterproofing. A waterproof field, or the word waterproof in a title, is not that test. Only Baratec prints a mechanical code, and that code is EN 388, not a water test.
Should you buy lined waterproof gloves or an unlined pair?
Unlined latex knits, such as PROGANDA, flintronic, KAYGO and the Baratec twelve-pack, give more feel and little warmth. Fleece or terry under latex, such as the GAVOROHANS pairs and the OriStout, suits a winter yard or a cold room, and fingertips can still chill. The SLARMOR is a cowhide palm with 100 g Thinsulate named. If the job is insulation compared as winter gloves, use the winter work gloves comparison. No listing here prints EN 511.
Are these gloves suitable if you have a latex allergy?
Most of this set is natural rubber latex. The Health and Safety Executive says people with a latex allergy should not wear latex gloves. The KAYGO page says nitrile free, and one buyer with existing eczema reports a strong skin reaction. This set is not a nitrile range. These gloves are not a treatment for dermatitis. If skin reacts, or you already have a latex allergy, stop and get a proper assessment rather than another latex dip.
Can you use waterproof work gloves for chemicals, fuel or cement?
No. For chemicals, the Health and Safety Executive points to EN 374-3 plus breakthrough time, permeation and degradation for that substance. None of these listings prints that. A water glove is the wrong product for fuel, solvent or cement. Baratec reviews mention concreting, and that pattern is not a cement assessment. If the task has a safety data sheet, or the site must document PPE, use the proper assessment. A home gardening purchase is not that employer duty.
When should you replace a pair, and how should you wash it?
Coatings do not breathe, so sweat builds up, and reviewers keep a second pair because drying can take days. Machine washing is blamed for a cracked or sticky film. On the GAVOROHANS orange pair, one review says repeated washing ended the waterproofing. Retire a pair when you can see a hole: rain stays out only until the film is split. A hole after hard use in some reviews is a pattern, not a rated life in months.

Our verdict

The Baratec twelve-pack is the top pick: the only printed EN 388:2016 2121X, waterproof-to-the-wrist wording, and twelve pairs at about £28.65. The code is modest, and no liner is named. The PROGANDA medium two-pack is the best value at about £5.99 for two pairs, about £3 a pair, against about £5.32 for one GAVOROHANS fleece pair, with 508 reviews against 202. Those two both score 68. The other nine have no award. None of these scores is EN 511, EN 374-2, or a laboratory test.

Best overall
flintronic 2 pairs, L

flintronic 2 pairs, L

View offer
Best value
PROGANDA 2 pairs, medium

PROGANDA 2 pairs, medium

About £5.99 for two unlined pairs, with 508 reviews, against about £5.32 for one fleece pair. Not for a cold yard or a printed standard.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - DIY & tools editor
DIY & tools editor
Protective clothingDIY & toolsamazon.co.uk listings

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: 17 October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to waterproof work gloves

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings used for this comparison. Shelf prices, stars and review counts were captured on 15 October 2026.

  1. HSE, choosing gloves (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. HSE, latex allergies (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. HSE, HSG262, managing skin exposure risks at work (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. HSE, PPE Regulations 2022 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. HSE, PPE product safety and supply (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. Cromwell Safety Glove Guide, August 2023 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. Granberg, EN ISO 21420:2020 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. amazon.co.uk listings for the eleven gloves in this set (retrieved 15 October 2026)

This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through these links we earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. The scores are unaffected. They use amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources, not a laboratory test.