Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Waterproof work glove size and care

Updated: 17 October 2026

A size L has already left you with numb fingertips, or a wash has turned a latex palm sticky. Waterproof work glove size and care is the tape, the care line on that listing, and the point where a hole finishes the pair. It is not a second ranking. Prices are on our [waterproof work gloves comparison](/hub/protective-clothing/waterproof-work-gloves). The Products Compared editorial team used EN ISO 21420 figures and care fields from 15 October 2026. This is not a laundry trial. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

A size L has already left you with numb fingertips, or a wash has turned a latex palm sticky. Waterproof work glove size and care is the tape, the care line on that listing, and the point where a hole finishes the pair.

Our top picks

Baratec Baratec 12 pairs, size 9/L

Best overall

Baratec Baratec 12 pairs, size 9/L
8.5/10about £28.65
SLARMOR SLARMOR Jx-zs-l, size L

Alternative

SLARMOR SLARMOR Jx-zs-l, size L
6.5/10about £29.99
On this page

Measure the hand in millimetres

Measure the dominant hand. Take the circumference about 20 mm from the crotch between thumb and index finger, as the SS-EN ISO 21420 sheet does, and the length from the base of the palm to the tip of the middle finger. If the two numbers point at different sizes, do not force the tighter one. Too small hurts dexterity and circulation. Too loose slips on a wet handle. Size 8, often labelled M, is 203 mm around and 182 mm long. Size 9, often labelled L, is 229 mm and 192 mm. Baratec still prints EN 420 beside EN 388, which is the seller's mark, not a reason to ignore the millimetres. A correct size can still feel short. SLARMOR's L reviews mention short fingers and a wrist that is not covered. On OriStout's medium, a usual size 10 found an 11 tight. What to buy, once the size is honest, starts on the waterproof work gloves buying guide.

Read the care line on that listing

Follow the care line on the ASIN in your hand. Hand wash is what GAVOROHANS, PROGANDA medium, Baratec, and OriStout print. PROGANDA large says cold water, no machine dry, away from heat. KAYGO's bullets cap water at 40°C. The flintronic pages disagree. The two-pair L page says machine washable and tumble dry low. The two-pair M page says machine washable. The six-pair page says hand wash in cold water, air dry, no machine and no dryer. Prefer that cautious line unless you are sure which pack you hold. A Ga812 review says repeated washing left the coat sticky and no longer waterproof. SLARMOR's care is not stated, so do not invent a tumble for the leather.

Dry them, and keep a spare

A clean glove that is still wet is not a spare. GAVOROHANS reviews say air drying can take four or five days, and deep dirt can need another wash. Keep them off a radiator. Other brands' dipped-glove notes prefer a brush, mild soap, and cold water, because a normal wash can damage latex. Use that as a picture of gentle drying, not as the care field on these ASINs. The coating traps sweat, and a wet fleece or terry liner holds it longer. A second pair is how you work the next day. If only the size L flintronic page says tumble dry low, leave that permission on that page. A knit cuff can still let water in at the wrist after a careful dry. A larger letter does not seal it. Warmth against feel is on thermal or unlined waterproof work gloves.

Retire a holed or sticky pair

Stop when water can pass a hole, a cut, or a thorn rip. A PROGANDA review says a slight thorn rips them and rain stays out only until the hole. A flintronic review reports a hole after a day of light gardening. That is a pattern, not a life in months. Uvex's care poster says not to use a glove with holes, cuts, or heavy abrasion. A sticky film is the same ending: the Ga812 review describes washing that killed the waterproofing while the knit still looked whole. At work, HSE expects reusable PPE to stay serviceable and expects defects to be reported. At home, if your finger comes out wet, the pair is finished. Which construction to buy, once the size is honest, is on best waterproof work gloves.

Common questions

How do I measure instead of trusting M or L?
Use the dominant hand. Circumference is about 20 mm from the thumb-index crotch. Length runs from the palm base to the middle fingertip. If they disagree, do not pick the tighter size. Then check whether that brand runs short. SLARMOR's large and OriStout's medium both do, in this capture.
What is size 8 and size 9 in millimetres?
Size 8 (M) is 203 mm circumference and 182 mm length. Size 9 (L) is 229 mm and 192 mm. Those are the EN ISO 21420 figures used here. Baratec still prints the older EN 420 mark on a size 9/L pack. The millimetres are the check.
Why do reviews say the large is small?
The label and the hand do not always match. SLARMOR L reviews mention short fingers and an open wrist. Some OriStout buyers moved up from the medium. Baratec's 9/L sits with those misses. Measure, then read the reviews for that ASIN.
Can I machine-wash these latex gloves?
Only if that listing says so, and the review pattern is still hostile. Most pages say hand wash. Two flintronic two-pair pages allow a machine, and one says tumble dry low. The six-pair page forbids both. A GAVOROHANS review says washing ended the waterproofing. If you are unsure, use the stricter line.
Why keep a second pair?
Air drying can take four or five days, and the coating does not breathe. A second pair is how you work tomorrow. Do not copy the flintronic tumble line onto fleece or leather whose care field does not allow it. SLARMOR's care is not stated at all.
When is a hole the end of the glove?
As soon as water can pass, including a thorn rip or a sticky film. There is no rated life in months. Uvex says not to wear a holed or heavily abraded glove. At work, report it and replace it. A knit cuff that leaks at the wrist is a different fault: a larger size will not seal it.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings used for this comparison. Shelf prices, stars and review counts were captured on 15 October 2026.

  1. HSE, choosing gloves (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. HSE, latex allergies (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. HSE, HSG262, managing skin exposure risks at work (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. HSE, PPE Regulations 2022 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. HSE, PPE product safety and supply (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. Cromwell Safety Glove Guide, August 2023 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. Granberg, EN ISO 21420:2020 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. amazon.co.uk listings for the eleven gloves in this set (retrieved 15 October 2026)